Notices and Updates

The N.C. Department of Revenue recently published a notice about four counties that have levied an additional 0.25 percent local sales and use tax. The additional taxes are effective April 1, 2019.

Read the notice.

The NCDOR is aware that some taxpayers may be financially impacted by the partial federal government furlough.

The N.C. Department of Revenue (NCDOR) has published corporate and individual income tax bulletins that reflect recent law changes. The bulletins cover the administrative interpretation and application of state tax laws.

Review the Corporate Income Tax Bulletin.

Review the Individual Income Tax Bulletin.

The N.C. Department of Revenue has published a notice about revisions to alcoholic beverage tax forms. The revisions to the forms will help ensure consistency in the reporting and paying of alcoholic beverage taxes.

Read the notice.

The North Carolina Department of Revenue's interest rate for January 1, 2019 through June 30, 2019 will be 6%.

On or before June 1 and December 1 of each year, the Secretary of Revenue establishes the interest rate to be in effect during the six-month period beginning on the next succeeding July 1 and January 1, respectively. The rate applies to refunds and assessments. G.S. 105-241.21.

More information

The North Carolina excise tax rate for motor fuels and alternative fuels will be 36.2 cents per gallon for the period January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2019.

The N.C. Department of Revenue has published the 2018 Tax Law Changes book, which summarizes the recent legislative changes to the state's Revenue laws. The changes are detailed by taxing schedule and General Statute.

Read the 2018 Tax Law Changes book

The N.C. Department of Revenue has published new withholding tables and instructions for employers for the upcoming tax season.

The tables incorporate changes for the upcoming tax season including a reduction in the tax rate and an increase in the standard deduction.

Read the tables.  

The NCDOR has published a notice on the option for motor carriers to carry electronic copies of their IFTA and Intrastate licenses.

The change to offer the electronic option goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2019.

Read the notice.

The N.C. Department of Revenue has published a notice that clarifies the prohibited uses for the general direct pay permit. 

Read the notice.