Administration and Leadership

The NC Department of Revenue is a Cabinet Agency under the leadership of the Secretary of Revenue, the Chief Operating Officer and three Assistant Secretaries.

Secretary of Revenue Ronald G. Penny

Learn more about the Secretary

The following report to the Secretary of Revenue:

  • Internal Audit Division Director, Daryl Morrison
  • Legislative Liaison, Ken Wright
  • Public Affairs Director, Schorr Johnson
  • Chief Financial Officer, Jacqueline McKoy
  • Office of the Taxpayer Advocate Director, Angela Stephenson
  • Human Resources Director, Chris Midgette
  • General Counsel, Daniel Garner
  • Administrative Officer/Executive Assistant, Cheryl Benedetto

Chief Operating Officer/Chief Information and Security Officer David Roseberry

The following report to the Chief Operating Officer/Chief Information and Security Officer:

  • Submissions Processing
  • Service Strategy
  • Service Design
  • Service Transition
  • Digital Communications


  • Assistant Secretary for Tax Administration, Anthony Edwards
    • Corporate Tax Division
    • Personal Tax Division
    • Excise Tax Division
    • Sales and Use Tax Division
    • Local Government Division
    • Taxpayer Assistance Division
  • Assistant Secretary for Business Services, Angela Altice
    • Business Operations
    • Purchasing
    • Tax Schedule Implementation
    • Customer Service
    • Service Operations
  • Examination Division, Alan Woodard
  • Collection Division, Cale Johnson
  • Tax Enforcement Division, Joe Whittington
  • Tax Analytics, Allison Brown