Monday, September 17, 2018

Important Notice: Tax Relief for Victims of Hurricane Florence

Raleigh, NC
Sep 17, 2018

The North Carolina Department of Revenue (NCDOR) announced today state tax relief for certain victims of Hurricane Florence and its aftermath in conjunction with federal tax relief from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

In response to Governor Roy Cooper’s request for help due to Hurricane Florence and President Donald Trump’s major disaster declaration, the following counties are federally-declared as of Sept. 17, 2018: Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Harnett, Lenoir, Jones, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Robeson, Sampson, and Wayne.

The federal tax relief gives taxpayers in the federally-declared counties until January 31, 2019 to file certain individual and business tax returns and make certain tax payments that were due on or after Sept. 7, 2018 through Jan. 31, 2019.  This same relief period will apply for North Carolina taxes due by taxpayers in federally-declared counties. Additionally, the NCDOR will waive all penalties for these taxpayers.

Taxpayers should read the full Important Notice for details including exceptions and instructions. As the list of federally-declared counties may grow, taxpayers should check this website for updated information.

Important Notice on Hurricane Florence

Related Topics: