Press Releases

The North Carolina Department of Revenue (NCDOR) will follow the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and officially open the 2021 individual income tax filing season and begin accepting and processing individual income tax returns on Friday, Feb. 12.

The North Carolina motor fuels tax for gasoline, diesel, and alternative fuels will remain at 36.1 cents per gallon for the period of Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2021. The inspection tax will be .0025 cents per gallon.     

 A Wake County caterer was arrested Tuesday on felony tax charges filed by the North Carolina Department of Revenue.

Marcus Vegas, 51, of Cary, was charged on December 15, 2020 with five counts of Embezzlement of State Property. 

A Hendersonville businessman was arrested Wednesday on felony tax charges filed by the North Carolina Department of Revenue.

Larry Lee Crume, Jr., 59, of Hendersonville, was charged on December 2, 2020 with two counts of Embezzlement of State Property.

 A Wake County caterer was arrested Tuesday on felony tax charges filed by the North Carolina Department of Revenue.

Marcus Vegas, 51, of Cary, was charged on December 15, 2020 with five counts of Embezzlement of State Property. 

A Raleigh businesswoman pleaded guilty Tuesday in Wake County District Court to a tax charge filed by the North Carolina Department of Revenue.

A Charlotte businesswoman was arrested last Thursday on felony tax charges filed by the North Carolina Department of Revenue.

The North Carolina Department of Revenue (NCDOR) issued a reminder today that applications for $335 Extra Credit Grants are due by Thursday, Oct. 15.

An Asheville attorney was arrested Monday on felony and misdemeanor tax charges filed by the North Carolina Department of Revenue.

Taxpayers who received 6-month extensions on their state individual income tax returns in April must file those returns by Thursday, Oct. 15. Taxpayers who mail those returns to the N.C. Department of Revenue must have them postmarked by Oct.

Subscribe to Press Releases