
Corporations Required to File

Every corporation doing business in North Carolina and every 
inactive corporation chartered or domesticated here must file an 
annual franchise and income tax return using the name reflected on 
the corporate charter if incorporated in this State, or on the certificate 
of authority if incorporated outside this State. A franchise tax is 
imposed on corporations for the privilege of doing business in this 
State even though the activities are exempt from income tax under 
P.L. 86-272.  For a corporation that is subject to both income tax and 
franchise tax, its apportionment factor is the same for both taxes.
For a corporation that is subject to franchise tax but not income tax, 
its apportionment factor for computing the amount of franchise tax
due is the same factor that would be used if its activities that are
protected by P.L. 86-272 were subject to income tax in this State.

North Carolina Political Organizations

North Carolina political organizations must file Form CD-405 if 
the organization has gross taxable income of more than $100.  
Organizations must first complete federal Form 1120-POL to 
determine the organization’s federal taxable income.  

When completing the North Carolina return, the political organization 
is not required to complete Schedules A and C, which are used to 
calculate  franchise tax.  The political organization may also attach 
a copy of its federal return instead of completing Schedule G.  If 
North Carolina adjustments are applicable, Schedule H must be 
completed.  The remainder of Form CD-405, Schedules I through 
O, is not applicable.

In general, a NC political organization must file Form CD-405 by the 
15th day of the fourth month following the close of the income year.  
The due date may be extended for six months if the extension, Form 
CD-419, is received timely.  Interest and applicable penalties may
be imposed if the organization is required to file Form CD-405 and
fails to file the form by the due date.

GENERAL INFORMATION
The information contained in these instructions is to be 
used as a guide in the preparation of the North Carolina 
C-Corporation tax return and is not intended to cover all
provisions of the law.

For further information on North Carolina tax law, refer 
to administrative rules, bulletins, directives, and other 
publications issued by the Department of Revenue,  
(“Department”), as well as opinions issued by the Attorney 
General’s office.

The Department has published the “2024 Tax Law Changes” 
resource document. This document gives a brief summary 
of the tax law changes made by the 2024 General Assembly 
regardless of when the changes take effect, as well as 
changes made by prior General Assemblies that take effect 
for tax year 2024.  For detailed information concerning these 
changes  click on “Taxes and Forms,” “Corporate Income 
and Franchise Tax,” and select “2024 Tax Law Changes.”

Alternative Method of Filing – eFile

There are many advantages to filing electronically including:

• File the corporation’s state and federal returns at the same
time.

• Pay by bank draft with no convenience fee.
• File current, amended and prior year returns.
• Make payments up to the due date of the tax, schedule

estimates up to 12 months out and extensions up to 6
months out.

You can eFile the corporation’s income tax return for a fee using 
an NCDOR approved software provider or a tax professional. Visit 
ncdor.gov/file-pay for more information.

When and Where to File

Franchise and income tax returns are due on the 15th day of the 
fourth month following the close of the income year.  An income year 
ending on any day other than the last day of the month is deemed 
to end on the last day of the calendar month ending nearest to the 
last day of the actual income year. 

Income tax returns for cooperative or mutual associations are due 
on or before the 15th day of the ninth month following the close of 
the income year; however, these corporations, if subject to franchise 
tax, must file a franchise tax return by the 15th day of the fourth 
month following the close of the income year.  Mail returns to:

North Carolina Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 25000, 
Raleigh, NC 27640-0500

Tax Rates

The franchise tax rate is $1.50 per $1,000 (.0015) of the first 
$1,000,000 of the corporation’s net worth, with a maximum of $500. 
If the net worth base exceeds $1,000,000, multiply the amount 
over $1,000,000 by $1.50 per $1,000 (.0015) and add $500.  The 
minimum franchise tax is $200.00 with no maximum except for a 
qualified holding company.  The corporate income tax rate is 2.5% 
of net income attributed to North Carolina.

Where to Get Forms

In an effort to save the cost of printing and mailing tax booklets, 
the Department does not print or mail franchise and corporate 
income tax forms.  Franchise and corporate income tax forms are 
available on the Department’s website.  Go to “Taxes and Forms,” 
“Corporate Income and Franchise Tax,” and click on “Download 
Forms and Instructions.”  The website offers forms that can be 
downloaded or filled in online and printed.  Tax returns that can not 
be processed by the Department’s imaging and scanning equipment 
will be returned to the taxpayer with instructions to file on an 
acceptable form.  

New Corporations

A new corporation (newly incorporated, newly domesticated out-
of-state corporation, or other corporation commencing business in 
the State) is required to file a franchise and income tax return with 
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this Department by the 15th day of the fourth month following the 
close of its first income year of twelve (12) months or less.  The 
taxable year for a new corporation in this State is presumed to end 
the calendar month preceding the month of incorporation unless 
otherwise established by the filing of the required return indicating 
the taxable year adopted.  In no case may the first taxable year 
exceed 12 months unless it is clearly shown that the corporation 
has adopted a method of accounting using the 52-53 week reporting 
period.  A franchise and income tax return is due annually as 
long as the corporation remains incorporated, domesticated, 
or continues to do business in this State.

http://ncdor.gov/file-pay


Estimated Income Tax

Corporations that expect to have an income tax liability to this 
State of $500 or more are required to file Form CD-429, Corporate 
Estimated Income Tax, and pay estimated income tax.  To file and 
pay estimated tax online, go to “File and Pay,” “eServices,” and 
select “Corporate Estimated CD-429.”

Specific Instructions for Filing Form CD-405
Period Covered

File the 2024 return for calendar year 2024 and fiscal years that 
begin in 2024.  You must use the same taxable period on your North 
Carolina return as on your federal return.

Note:  The 2024 Form CD-405 may also be used if:

	 The corporation has a tax year of less than 12 months that begins 
in 2024.  If the corporation’s tax year is less than 12 months, 
fill in the beginning and ending dates for the tax year.

	 The 2025 Form CD-405 is not available at the time the 
corporation is required to file its return.

Important.  Returns submitted to the Department that do not 
meet the specified criteria  will be returned to the taxpayer with 
instructions to refile the return on an acceptable form.

Demographic and Other Taxpayer Information  

Name, Address, and Identification Numbers.  Print the 
corporation’s true legal name (as set forth in the corporate charter), 
address, federal identification number, and North Carolina Secretary 
of State number on the appropriate lines.  Include in this section 
the corporation’s primary NAICS code as reported to the Division 
of Employment Security within the Department of Commerce. 
(For further information regarding the NAICS code, see the North 
American Industry Classification System as published by the Federal 
Office of Management and Budget.)

Note.  If a change in address occurs after the return is filed, 
use Form NC-AC, Business Address Correction, to notify the 
Department of the new address.
 
Gross Receipts/Sales and Total Assets.  Enter the corporation’s 
gross receipts or sales from all business operations for the tax year.  
Also, enter the corporation’s total assets (as determined by the 
accounting method regularly used in keeping the corporation’s 
books and records) at the end of the tax year.

Initial  Return.  If this is the corporation’s first return in North 
Carolina, fill in the appropriate circle.

Final Return.  If the corporation ceases to exist or leaves North 
Carolina during the tax year, fill in the appropriate circle.  Since 
franchise taxes are paid in advance or at the beginning of the income 
year, corporations are not subject to franchise tax after the end of 
the income year in which articles of dissolution or withdrawal are 
filed with the Secretary of State unless the corporation engages in 
business activities not reasonably incidental to winding up its affairs.  
This provision applies, however, only to those corporations 
that voluntarily file articles of dissolution or withdrawal with the 
Secretary of State of North Carolina. Although the final income 
tax return must be filed on a franchise and income tax return form, 
the schedules relating to franchise tax should be disregarded.

Short Year Return.  If this is not the taxpayer’s initial return nor the 
taxpayer’s final return and the corporation has a tax year of less 
than 12 months, fill in the appropriate circle.

Amended Return.  If filing an amended return, fill in the appropriate  
circle.  A complete explanation as to the reason(s) for filing an 
amended return, including specific schedule and line number 
references, must be included on Schedule J of the return.  If any 
change is made to corporate net income by the Internal Revenue 
Service,  taxpayers  are required to file an amended North Carolina 
return within six (6) months after being notified of the correction 
or final determination.  A penalty is imposed for failure to comply 
with this filing requirement.  Corporations filing amended returns 
with additional tax due should use Form CD-V Amended.  (For 
more information on Form CD-V Amended, see page 5.)

Captive REIT.  A captive REIT is defined for NC tax purposes as 
a REIT whose shares or certificates of beneficial interest are not 
regularly traded on an established securities market and are more 
than 50% owned or controlled by a person subject to NC corporate 
income tax.  REITs owned by other REITs or listed Australian property 
trusts are excluded from the definition of captive REIT.  If the REIT 
meets the definition of a captive REIT, fill in the appropriate circle.      

Tax Exempt.  Certain corporations organized under Chapter 55A 
are exempt from franchise tax and income tax under G.S. 105-125 
and 105-130.11, respectively.  However,  these corporations are 
not exempt on “unrelated business income” earned  in excess of 
$1,000 annually.  The term “unrelated business income” is the same 
as defined under the Internal Revenue Code except as noted in 
G.S. 105-130.11(b).  Income tax returns for nonprofit entities that 
are tax exempt are due on or before the 15th day of the fifth month 
following the close of the tax year.  If the corporation is a tax 
exempt entity, fill in the appropriate circle. 

Non U.S./Foreign.  Certain foreign corporations, other than those 
having an office or place of business in the United States or a FSC 
or former FSC, are required to file their federal income tax returns 
by the 15th day of the seventh month instead of by the 15th day of 
the fourth month.  North Carolina law permits these corporations to 
file Form CD-405 on the 15th day of the seventh month instead of by 
the 15th day of the fourth month.  If the corporation is classified 
as a foreign corporation for federal income tax purposes and 
files its return by the 15th day of the seventh month, fill in the 
appropriate circle.

Combined Return.   If the Secretary has either allowed or required 
a corporation to file a combined North Carolina corporate income 
tax return, fill in the appropriate circle.  A corporation cannot 
file a combined tax return in North Carolina without the written 
permission of the Secretary. For more information on how to file a 
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Extensions

An extension of time to file the franchise and income tax return may 
be granted for six (6) months if the extension application is received 
timely.  Without a valid extension, a return filed after the statutory 
due date will be delinquent and subject to interest and all applicable 
penalties provided by law.  To receive an extension, taxpayers must 
file the application by the original due date of the return.  You can 
apply for an extension and pay your tax online. Go to “File and 
Pay,” “eServices,” and select “Corporate Extension CD-419.”

A taxpayer that receives an automatic extension to file a federal 
corporate income tax return will be granted an automatic state 
extension to file the N.C. C-Corporation tax return, Form CD-405. In 
order to receive the automatic state extension, you MUST fill in the 
“Federal Extension” circle on page 1 of Form CD-405.



combined return, go to “Taxes and Forms,” “Corporate Income 
and Franchise Tax,” “Download Forms and Instructions,” and 
select “CD-405 CW instructions.”

NC-Rehab.  Article 3L, which became effective January 1, 2016, 
established two new credits for rehabilitation of historic structures 
in North Carolina.  The Article provides for a tax credit for 
rehabilitating income-producing historic structures and a tax credit 
for rehabilitating nonincome-producing structures.  Corporations 
taking a credit under Article 3L must complete Form NC-Rehab, 
“2024 Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credits,” and place it on the front 
of the completed Form CD-405.  If the corporation has attached 
Form NC-Rehab, fill in the appropriate circle.

NC-478.  Corporations taking a credit limited by statute to 50% of 
tax must complete Form NC-478, “Summary of Tax Credits Limited 
to 50% of Tax,” and place it on the front of the completed Form 
CD-405.  If the corporation has attached Form NC-478 to Form 
CD-405, fill in the appropriate circle. 

Escheatable (Abandoned or Unclaimed) Property.   Every 
corporation holding property of North Carolina residents that 
is unclaimed and abandoned under General Statutes Chapter 
116B must certify the holding of the escheatable property on its 
income tax return by filling in the appropriate circle.  For questions 
concerning escheatable property, call (866) 622-2741 or write to: NC 
Department of State Treasurer, Unclaimed Property Division, 
P.O. Box 20431, Raleigh, N.C. 27619-0431.

Federal Extension. Fill in the circle to certify that the corporation 
was granted an automatic extension to file their 2024 federal income 
tax return. Important: You must certify that you were granted an 
automatic federal extension. Otherwise, your state return will be 
subject to applicable penalties.

N.C. Education Endowment Fund.  A corporation may elect 
to contribute to the N.C. Education Endowment Fund. To make 
a contribution, complete Form NC-EDU and enclose the form 
and applicable payment with the tax return. Form NC-EDU is 
available on the Department’s website. Go to “Taxes and Forms,” 
“Corporate Income and Franchise Tax,” “Download Forms  
and Instructions,” and select “NC-EDU.” (For more information 
on the Education Endowment Fund, see page 6.)
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Rounding Off to Whole Dollars

Corporations must round the amounts on the return and  
accompanying schedules to the nearest whole dollar.  Taxpayers 
should drop any amount less than 50 cents and increase any amount 
of 50 cents or more to the next whole dollar.

Computation of Franchise Tax - Schedule  A 
 
Lines 1 and 2 - Franchise Tax

North Carolina imposes a franchise tax upon corporations for the 
opportunity and privilege of transacting business in the State.  
Franchise tax is measured by a corporation’s net worth (Schedule C). 

Franchise tax is computed by applying the rate of $1.50 per $1,000 
(.0015) of the first $1,000,000 of the corporation’s net worth, with a 
maximum of $500. If the net worth base exceeds $1,000,000,  apply 
the rate of $1.50 per $1,000 (.0015) to the amount over $1,000,000 
and add $500. The franchise tax can be no less than $200.

Inactive Corporations.  A corporation that is inactive and without 

assets is subject annually to a minimum franchise tax of $200.00  
A return containing a statement of the status of the corporation 
is required to be filed.  Failure to file this return and pay the 
minimum tax will result in suspension of the articles of 
incorporation or certificate of authority.

Net Worth.  Enter the amount of the corporation’s net worth from 
the book balance sheet as of the end of the tax year.  Before making 
this entry, corporations must complete Schedule C of Form CD-405.  
(See instructions on page 6.)

Holding Company.  Franchise tax payable by a holding company 
on its net worth is limited to an amount not to exceed $150,000.  (For 
specific information including a “definition of a holding company,” refer 
to the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin, as well as the 
NC statutes.)  Important.  If the corporation qualifies as a holding 
company, fill in the “Holding Company Exception” circle.

Line 3 - Payment with Franchise Tax Extension

If the corporation filed an application for franchise tax extension, 
Form CD-419, enter the amount of franchise tax paid with the 
extension on Line 3.  (From Form CD-419, Line 9.)  When filing 
an amended return, include the franchise tax extension payment 
claimed on the original return on Schedule B, Line 24b.

Line 4 - Tax Credits 

To take a franchise tax credit on Line 4, corporations must 
complete Form CD-425, Corporate Tax Credit Summary, and 
file it with the tax return.  Taxpayers taking a credit limited by 
statute to 50% of tax must also complete Form NC-478, Summary 
of Tax Credits Limited to 50% of Tax, and place it on the front of the 
completed tax return.  Forms for many of these credits, as well 
as the CD-425 and NC-478, are available from the Department’s 
website.

Failure to substantiate a tax credit may result in the 
disallowance of that credit.  (For specific information regarding tax 
credits, refer to the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin.)

Lines 5 and 6 - Franchise Tax Due / Overpaid
Subtract Lines 3 and 4 from Line 2.  If the total of Line 3 plus 4 
is less than Line 2, additional franchise tax is due.  Enter the 
amount of additional tax due on Line 5 and on Page 2, Line 28.  
If the amount of 3 plus 4 is more than Line 2, franchise tax is 
overpaid.  Enter the amount of overpayment on Line 6 and on 
Page 2, Line 28.  Fill in the circle located next to Line 28 to 
indicate the amount is overpaid.

Since franchise tax is prepaid, a special computation is sometimes 
required to prevent a duplication of tax when two or more 
corporations with different income years merge or otherwise transfer 
the entire assets from one corporation to the other.  (For specific 
information and the procedure for making this computation, refer 
to the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin.)

(Overpaid franchise tax can offset underpaid income tax 
in the same tax year and vice versa.  See the “Tax Due or 
Overpayment” section on page 5 for line-by-line instructions.)

Line 7 - Federal Taxable Income
Enter the amount of federal taxable income before the net operating 
loss deduction from Schedule G, Line 30, or from federal Form 1120, 

Computation of Income Tax - Schedule B 
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Line 12 - Nonapportionable Income

When a corporation has income from sources within North Carolina 
as well as sources outside North Carolina a determination of 
apportionable and nonapportionable income must be made.  If the 
corporation’s business is conducted entirely within North Carolina, 
enter zero on Line 12.  If the business is both within and outside of 
North Carolina, enter the total amount of nonapportionable income 
on Line 12.  Before making this entry, corporations must complete 
Schedule N of Form CD-405.  (See instructions on page 9.)  If the 
amount on Line 12 is negative, enter the amount and fill in the 
circle located next to Line 12 to indicate the amount is negative. 

Line 10 - Contributions
Subject to certain limitations, corporations may deduct contributions 
or gifts made within the income year to qualified donees when 
determining State net income.  North Carolina law does not permit 
a corporation to carry over unused contributions to subsequent 
tax years.  Before making this entry, corporations must complete 
Schedule I of Form CD-405.  (For specific information regarding 
the deduction of contributions, refer to the Corporate Income and 
Franchise Tax Bulletin.)

Line 8 - Adjustments to Federal Taxable Income
Taxpayers must make certain adjustments to federal taxable income 
in arriving at North Carolina taxable income.  Before making this 
entry, corporations must complete Schedule H of Form CD-405. 
(See instructions on page 7.)  If the amount on Line 8 is negative, 
enter the amount and fill in the circle located next to Line 8 to 
indicate the amount is negative.

Line 13 - Apportionable Income
All income apportionable under the U.S. Constitution is apportioned 
to North Carolina and to other states based on the apportionment 
factor.  If the amount on Line 13 is negative, enter the amount 
and fill in the circle located next to Line 13 to indicate the 
amount is negative.

Line 14 - Apportionment Factor
Enter the apportionment factor percentage as calculated from 
Schedule O of Form CD-405.  The apportionment factor must 
be calculated four places to the right of the decimal.  (See 
instructions on page 9.)

Line 16 - Nonapportionable Income Allocated to N.C.
Enter on Line 16 the amount of nonapportionable income allocated 
directly to this State.  Before making this entry, corporations must 
complete Schedule N of Form CD-405.  (See instructions on page 
9.)  If the amount on Line 16 is negative, enter the amount and 
fill in the circle located next to Line 16 to indicate the amount 
is negative.

Line 18 - Percentage Depletion over Cost Depletion on  
    North Carolina Property
Enter on Line 18 the amount by which percentage depletion allowed 
by sections 613 or 613A of the Internal Revenue Code exceeds 
cost depletion for solid minerals or rare earths extracted from North 
Carolina soil or waters.  

Line 19 - State Net Loss

A State net loss for a taxable year is the amount by which allowable 
deductions for the year, other than prior year losses, exceed gross 
income under the Internal Revenue Code for the year adjusted 
as provided in G.S. 105-130.5. Corporations that are required to 
allocate and apportion their net income or loss may carry forward 
to the succeeding year the allocated and apportioned amount of the 
loss. There is no State net loss carryback deduction available. 
(For more information on calculating the State net loss deduction, 
refer to the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin.)

Enter on Line 19 the amount of State net loss brought forward from 
prior years and claimed as a deduction.  (Attach schedule)

Line 23 - North Carolina Net Income Tax 
To calculate North Carolina net income tax, multiply Line 22 by the 
income tax rate of 2.5%. 

Line 24 - Tax Payments and Credits 
a. Income Tax Extension.  Taxpayers filing a Form CD-419 

enter the amount of income tax paid on Form CD-419, Line 
10 on Line 24a.  When filing an amended return, include the 
income tax extension payment claimed on the original return 
on Schedule B, Line 24b.

b. 2024 Estimated Tax.  Enter any estimated income tax 
payments for 2024 (including any portion of the 2023 
overpayment that was applied to the 2024 estimated income 
tax and any payment remitted through the Electronic Funds 
Transfer Program, EFT) on Line 24b.  When filing an amended 
return, enter the amount of previous tax payments (both 
franchise and income tax) here.  Important.  If the corporation 
received a refund for overpaid taxes on its original return, enter 
the sum of all previous payments less any refunds received 
(excluding interest).

c. Partnership.  If the corporation is a nonresident partner, 
enter the amount of tax paid to North Carolina on behalf of the 
corporate partner on Line 24c.  Important.  If a partnership 
payment is claimed on Line 24c, a copy of Form D-403 NC K-1 
MUST be attached.

d. Nonresident Withholding.  Enter the amount of tax withheld 
from a nonresident corporation for nonwage compensation 
during the taxable year on Line 24d.

e. Tax Credits.  To take an income tax credit on Line 24e, 
corporations must complete Form CD-425, “Corporate Tax 
Credit Summary,” and file it with the tax return.  Taxpayers 
taking a credit limited by statute to 50% of tax must also 
complete Form NC-478, “Summary of Tax Credits Limited to 
50% of Tax,” and place it on the front of the completed tax 
return.  Forms for many of these credits, as well as the 
CD-425 and NC-478, are available from the Department’s 
website.  Failure to substantiate a tax credit may result in 
the disallowance of the credit. 

Line 28 minus Line 29b.  If the amount on Line 7 is negative, 
enter the amount and fill in the circle located next to Line 7 to 
indicate the amount is negative.  Do not use brackets or other 
symbols to indicate a negative number.

A copy of your federal tax return, as filed with the Internal Revenue 
Service, is not required to be attached to the North Carolina return; 
however, the complete federal return must be available to the 
Department upon request.
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Lines 26 and 27 - Income Tax Due / Overpaid

Subtract Line 25 from Line 23.  If Line 25 is less than Line 23 
additional income tax is due.  Enter the amount of additional tax 
on Line 26 and on Line 29.  If Line 25 is more than Line 23, income 
tax is overpaid.  Enter the amount of overpayment on Line 27 and 
on Line 29.  Fill in the circle located next to Line 29 to indicate 
the amount is overpaid.

(Overpaid franchise tax can offset underpaid income tax in the 
same tax year and vice versa.  See “Tax Due or Overpayment” 
below for instructions.) 

Lines 28 through 30 - Tax Due or Overpayment

A corporation that overpays its franchise or income tax may elect to 
have its refund applied to an underpaid franchise or income tax liability 
in the same tax year.  The netting of an overpaid tax to an underpaid 
liability is calculated by adding or subtracting Lines 28 and 29.

Line 31 - Underpayment of Estimated Tax

A corporation that does not make estimated tax payments when 
due may be subject to interest for the period of underpayment.  
Generally, a corporation is subject to interest if its income tax liability 
is $500 or more and it did not timely pay the smaller of the corporate 
income tax liability for 2023 or the current year’s income tax liability.

Use Form CD-429B, “Underpayment of Estimated Tax for 
C-Corporations” (available from the Department’s website), to see 
if underpayment interest is owed.  Enter the amount of interest on 
Line 31.  Do not attach Form CD-429B to the completed tax 
return.  Maintain the form for future reference.

Exceptions to Underpayment of Estimated Tax.  In certain cases, 
a corporation may reduce or eliminate underpayment interest.  If 
any of the following exceptions apply, enter the exception code “E” 
in the box located next to Line 31 along with the amount of interest 
computed, if any.

 Short Taxable Year.  Enter an “E” in the box labeled “Exception 
to Underpayment of Estimated Tax” if the corporation’s tax year is 
less than four months, or the requirements to make an estimated 
payment are not met before the first day of the last month in the 
short tax year.

 Annualized Income.  Enter an “E” in the box labeled “Exception 
to Underpayment of Estimated Tax”  if the corporation annualized 
its income.

Lines 32a through 32c - Interest and Penalties

Interest.  Interest at the rate established by G. S. 105-241.21 is 
charged on taxes paid late even if an extension of time to file is 
granted.  The interest rate on underpayments is the same as the 
interest rate on overpayments.  The rate is established semiannually 
by the Secretary of Revenue and is listed on the Department’s website. 

Failure to File Penalty. Returns filed after the statutory due date 
are subject to a failure to file penalty of 5% of the tax for each 
month, or part of a month, the return is late (maximum 25% of the 
additional tax due).

Failure to Pay Penalty. Returns filed after the original due date 
are subject to a late payment penalty. The applicable rate is 5 
percent (5%) regardless of how late the tax is paid.  

Other Penalties. There are other penalties for negligence, filing a 
frivolous return and fraud. Criminal penalties also apply for fraud 
with intent to evade or defeat the tax and for willful failure to file a 
return, supply information, or pay the tax.

Collection Assistance Fee.  Any tax, penalty, and interest not 
paid within 60 days after a Notice of Collection is mailed will be 
assessed a 20 percent (20%) collection assistance fee. The 
fee does not apply if the tax debt is paid in full or an installment 
payment agreement is established with the Department before 
the fee is assessed. 

Line 33 - Total Due

Add Lines 30 through 32c and enter the total on Line 33, but not 
less than zero.  This is the total tax, penalties, and interest due.  
Make your check or money order payable to the North Carolina 
Department of Revenue.  The Department will not accept a check 
or money order  unless it is drawn on a U.S. (domestic) bank and 
the funds are payable in U.S. dollars.  Mail the return, any balance 
due, and a personalized payment voucher, Form CD-V, to:

North Carolina Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 25000
Raleigh, N.C. 27640-0500

Form CD-V (Corporate Payment Voucher). Form CD-V is a 
personalized payment voucher that a corporation should send with 
any balance due.  This voucher allows the Department to process 
payments more accurately and efficiently with fewer errors.  To 
generate a personalized payment voucher, go to “Taxes and 
Forms,” “Corporate Income and Franchise Tax,” “Download 
Forms and Instructions,” and select  “CD-V.”  The Department 
strongly encourages the use of the personalized payment 
voucher.

Form CD-V Amended (Amended Corporate Payment Voucher).  
When filing an amended return, corporations that owe additional tax 
must use  Form CD-V Amended.  Form CD-V Amended allows the 
Department to process amended payments more accurately and 
efficiently with fewer errors.  To generate an amended personalized 
payment voucher, go to “Taxes and Forms,” “Corporate Income 
and Franchise Tax,” “Download Forms and Instructions,” and 
select “CD-V Amended.” 

Form NC-EDU (N.C. Education Fund Payment Voucher). 
Form NC-EDU is a personalized voucher that a corporation must 
send with any contribution made to the N.C. Education Fund. 
The voucher allows the Department to process the contribution 
accurately and efficiently with fewer errors. To generate the 
N.C. Education Fund personalized payment voucher, go to 
“Taxes and Forms,” “Corporate Income and Franchise Tax,” 
“Download Forms and Instructions,” and select “NC-EDU.”  
Note. If the corporation owes additional tax and would like to 
make a contribution to the N.C. Education Endowment Fund, the 
corporation may write one check for the combined amount of tax 
due plus the contribution. Enclose the check with both Form NC-
EDU and Form CD-V.

IMPORTANT.  You can pay your franchise and corporate income 
tax online.  Go to  “File and Pay,” click on “eServices,” and select 
the tax you are paying.

Line 34 - Overpayment

If the sum of Lines 30 through 32c is less than zero, the corporation 
has overpaid its tax.  Enter the amount of overpayment on Line 34.
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Line 35 - Estimated Income Tax 

A corporation may elect to apply part or all of the overpayment 
shown on Line 34 to its estimated income tax for the following year 
by entering the amount to be applied on Line 35.  The election to 
apply any overpayment to 2025 can not be changed after the 
return is filed.

Important.  To apply an overpayment from 2024 to 2025 
estimated tax, the return must be filed by the last allowable 
date for making 2025 estimated tax payments.

Line 36 - Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Fund 

Corporations may elect to contribute part 
or all of their overpayment to the North 
Carolina Nongame and Endangered Wildlife 
Fund. Your tax deductible contributions are 
essential to match private and federal grants 
to pay for conservation projects from sea 
turtles to songbirds, and native fish to bats.  
Conserving these species and their habitat is made possible by 
your contributions. Your donations provide most of the funds for 
conservation of our endangered species and native backyard 
wildlife.  If the corporation wishes to contribute to the Fund, enter the 
amount of the contribution on Line 36.  The election to contribute 
to the Fund can not be changed after the return is filed.  If the 
corporation is not due a refund, it may still contribute to this Fund 
by mailing your donation directly to the North Carolina Wildlife 
Resources Commission, 1702 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North 
Carolina 27699-1702. Checks should be made payable to the NC 
Wildlife Diversity Endowment Fund. For more information about the 
Fund or to donate online, visit  ncwildlife.org/donate and select NC 
Wildlife Diversity Endowment Fund.

Line 37 – Education Endowment Fund

The North Carolina Education Endowment Fund was 
created to provide additional support and funding for 
K-12 public schools. Corporations may elect to contribute 
part or all of their overpayment to the North Carolina 
Education Endowment Fund. If the corporation wishes to contribute 
to the Fund, enter the amount of the contribution on Line 37. The 
election to contribute to the Fund cannot be changed after the 
return is filed.

If the corporation is not due a refund, it may still contribute to 
this Fund by:  (1) making a contribution with the tax return; or (2) 
mailing a donation directly to the North Carolina Department of 
Public Instruction. To make a donation directly to the North Carolina 
Department of Public Instruction, mail your donation to:  North 
Carolina Department of Public Instruction, Cash Collections, 6336 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-6336. Checks 
should be made payable to the North Carolina Department of Public 
Instruction and should indicate it is a contribution for the North 
Carolina Education Endowment Fund. 

Net Worth - Schedule C
A corporation’s net worth is measured by the corporation’s total 
assets without regard to the deduction for accumulated depreciation, 
depletion, or amortization less its total liabilities, computed in 
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, (“GAAP”), 
as of the end of the corporation’s taxable year.  If the corporation 
does not maintain its books and records in accordance with GAAP, 
then the corporation’s net worth is computed in accordance with 
the accounting method used by the corporation for federal income 
tax purposes, as long as the method fairly reflects the corporation’s 
net worth for franchise tax purposes.  The corporation’s net worth 
is subject to the following adjustments:

 A deduction for accumulated depreciation, depletion, and 
amortization as determined in accordance with the method used 
for federal tax purposes.

 An addition for the amount of indebtedness the corporation owes 
that creates net interest expense, as defined in G.S. 105-130.7B(b)
(3), but does not create qualified interest expense, as defined in 
G. S. 105-130.7B(b)(4)(a) through G. S. 105-130.7B(b)(4)(d).

 If the creditor corporation is subject to North Carolina franchise 
tax, the creditor corporation may deduct the amount of 
indebtedness owed to it by a parent, subsidiary, or affiliated 
corporation to the extent that such indebtedness has been added 
by the debtor corporation.

The term “indebtedness” includes all loans, credits, goods, supplies, 
or other capital of whatsoever nature furnished by a parent, a 
subsidiary, an affiliate, or a noncorporate entity in which the 
corporation or an affiliated group of corporations owns directly or 
indirectly more than 50 percent (50%) of the capital interests of the 
noncorporate entity, other than indebtedness endorsed, guaranteed, 
or otherwise supported by one of these corporations.  The terms 
“parent,” “subsidiary,”  “affiliate,” and “noncorporate entity” have 
the meanings specified in G. S. 105-122(b1). 

Signature and Verification

An authorized officer must sign and date the completed tax form 
and enter his or her corporate title.  A phone number for the 
corporation, including area code, is also requested.  If a paid 
preparer is used, the preparer must also sign and date the return, 
enter the firm’s federal employer ID number, social security number, 
or PTIN as assigned by the Internal Revenue Service, and fill in the 
applicable circle to denote the type of number used.

Line 38 - Amount to be Refunded 

Enter the amount of overpayment to be refunded on Line 38.  The 
amount to be refunded cannot exceed Line 34 minus the total of 
Lines 35, 36, and 37.

Important.  This section does not apply to a LLC that is subject 
to franchise tax.  

A limited liability company’s income, assets, liabilities, or equity is 
generally not attributed to a corporation that is a member of the LLC.  
However, if the corporation or an affiliated group of corporations 
owns more than 50% of the capital interests in a LLC, the corporation 
must include a percentage of the LLC’s net assets in the calculation 
of the corporation’s franchise tax.  For example:  A partnership 
owns 100% of the capital interests of an LLC.  Corporation A is a 
51% owner of the partnership.  Corporation A constructively owns 
51% of the capital interest in the LLC.  

If all members of the affiliated group are doing business in NC, 
then each member includes the percentage of the LLC’s assets 
equal to the member’s percentage ownership in the LLC.  If some 
of the members of the group are not doing business in NC, then the 

Corporate Member of a Limited Liability Company (LLC)

http://ncwildlife.org/donate
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Federal Taxable Income - Schedule G

Federal taxable income as defined in the Internal Revenue Code, 
effective as of January 1, 2023 (before net operating loss) is the 
starting point for determining North Carolina taxable income.  If you 
attach a copy of your federal income tax return with all supporting 
schedules, you do not have to complete Schedule G.  A corporation 
included in a consolidated filing for federal income tax purposes 
must attach a copy of its proforma federal tax return.

MUST BE COMPLETED BY ALL TAXPAYERS

Other Information - Schedule F

Adjustments to Federal Taxable Income - Schedule H 

A taxpayer’s North Carolina net income or loss is calculated from 
federal taxable income or loss, plus any additions on Schedule H, 
Line 2, less any deductions on Schedule H, Line 4.  Schedule H 
provides a list of some of the adjustments required by statute but is 
not all-inclusive.  Following is a detailed listing of State adjustments 
to federal taxable income.

Additions to Federal Taxable Income 
The following additions to federal taxable income must be made in 
determining State net income:

(1) Taxes based on or measured by net income by whatever 
name called and excess profits taxes.

(2) Interest paid in connection with income exempt from State 
income tax.

(3) Contributions deducted on the federal return.
(4) Interest income earned on bonds and other obligations of other 

states or their political subdivisions, less allowable amortization 
on any bond acquired on or after January 1, 1963.

(5) The amount by which gains have been offset by the capital 
loss carry-over allowed under the Internal Revenue Code.  

percentage of the LLC’s assets owned by the group are allocated 
among the members that are doing business in NC.  The percentage 
attributed to each member doing business in NC is determined by 
multiplying the percentage of the LLC owned by the entire group by 
a fraction.  The numerator of the fraction is the member’s percentage 
ownership of the LLC and the denominator is the total percentage 
of the LLC owned by all members doing business in NC.  

For example:  An affiliated group of corporations owns 100% of the 
capital interests in an LLC.  The group consists of three corporations.  
Corporation A is doing business in NC and owns 51% of the LLC.  
Corporation B is doing business in NC and owns 10% of the LLC.  
Corporation C is not doing business in NC and owns 39% of the 
LLC.  The percentage of the LLC’s assets required to be included 
in Corporation A’s and Corporation B’s franchise tax is determined 
as follows:

• Corporation A 100%   X   51%  ÷  (51% + 10%)  = 83.61%
• Corporation B 100%   X   10%  ÷  (51% + 10%)  = 16.39%

Important.  If a corporation is required to include a percentage of the 
LLC’s assets in the calculation of its franchise tax, the corporation 
may exclude its investment in the LLC from the computation of 
the corporation’s net worth.  Also, if the total book value of the 
LLC’s assets never exceed $150,000 during the taxable year, no 
attribution is required.

(All gains recognized on the disposition of assets must be 
included in determining State net income or loss in the year 
of disposition.)

(6) Net operating loss deducted on the federal return. 
(7) Payments to or charges by a parent, subsidiary, or affiliated 

corporation in excess of fair compensation in all intercompany 
transactions.

(8) The amount of tax credits allowed against North Carolina 
income tax.  In lieu of the addback of tax credits to federal 
taxable income, taxpayers must reduce the amount of 
credit available by the current income tax rate.   

(9) The amount of percentage depletion in excess of cost 
depletion applicable to mines, oil and gas wells, and other 
natural deposits.

(10) The amount allowed under the Code for depreciation for a utility 
plant acquired by a natural gas local distribution company.

(11) The amount of royalty payments required to be added by 
G.S. 105-130.7A, to the extent deducted in calculating federal 
taxable income.

(12) The amount of gross income from international shipping 
activities excluded from federal taxable income as a result of 
the corporation electing to be subject to the tonnage tax under 
subchapter R of Chapter 1 of the Internal Revenue Code.

(13) The amount of dividends paid deduction allowed under the 
Internal Revenue Code to a captive REIT, as defined by G.S. 
105-130.12.

(14) The amount allowed as a deduction under section 163(e)(5)
(F) of the code for an original issue discount on an applicable 
high yield discount obligation.

(15) The amount required to be added under G.S. 105-130.5B 
when the State decouples from federal accelerated 
depreciation and expensing.

(16) The amount of net interest expense to a related member.  (See 
“Limitation on Qualified Interest for Certain Indebtedness” on 
Page 9.)

(17) The amount of gain excluded under IRC Section 1400Z-2 
and reinvested into an Opportunity Fund.

(18)  The amount of gain permanently excluded under IRC Section 
1400Z-2 from the sale or exchange of an investment in an 
Opportunity Fund.

(19)  The amount deducted pursuant to IRC Section 250 for foreign 
derived intangible income and global intangible low-taxed 
income.

(20)  The amount deducted pursuant to IRC Section 965(c) for 
repatriation income.

(21)  The amount for payments made to an affiliate or subsidiary 
that is not subject to corporate income tax pursuant to 
the exceptions for critical infrastructure disaster relief 
provided under G.S. 166A-19.70A, to the extent deducted 
in calculating federal taxable income.

(22) The amount of interest expense deduction under IRC Section 
163(j) that exceeds what would have been allowed under the 
Code as of January 1, 2020.  An addition is not required to 
the extent the amount was added under another provision.

(23) The amount of any expense deducted under the Code to 
the extent the expense is allocable to income that is either 
wholly excluded from gross income or wholly exempt from 
tax for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2023.

Deductions from Federal Taxable Income
The following deductions from federal taxable income must be made 
in determining State net income:
(1) Interest income from obligations of the United States or its 

possessions net of direct or indirect expenses related to the 
income.

(2) Interest, net of related expenses, received from North 
Carolina obligations included in federal taxable income.

(3) Payments received from an affiliated corporation not 
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deductible by the corporation under North Carolina law.
(4) The amount of dividends received from sources outside 

the United States as determined under Section 862 of the 
Internal Revenue Code, to the extent included in federal 
taxable income.

(5) Any amount included in federal taxable income under Section 
78, Section 951, Section 951A or Section 965 of the Code.

(6) State net losses incurred by the corporation.  (A State net 
loss must be deducted on Schedule B, Line 19.)

(7) Contributions to the extent provided under G.S. 105-130.9.
(8) The amount of losses realized on the sale or other disposition 

of assets not allowed under Section 1211(a) of the Internal 
Revenue Code.  All losses recognized on the disposition of 
assets must be included in determining State net income or 
loss in the year of disposition.

(9) The portion of undistributed capital gains of regulated 
investment companies included in federal taxable income 
and on which the federal tax paid by the regulated investment 
company is allowed as a credit or refund to the shareholder 
under Section 852 of the Internal Revenue Code.

(10) The amount by which an ordinary and necessary business 
expense has been reduced on the federal income tax return 
because a federal tax credit or a federal employee retention 
tax credit was claimed in lieu of the deduction on that return.

(11) The amount by which the tax basis of certain property is 
reduced as the result of compliance with federal investment 
tax credit provisions.

(12) The  amount  of  natural  gas  expansion  surcharges  
collected by a natural gas local distribution company under 
G.S. 62-158.

(13) Wireless enhanced 911 service charges collected under G.S. 
62A-43 and remitted to the Wireless Fund under G.S. 62A-43.

(14) The amount of royalty payment received from a related 
member who added the payments to income under G.S. 
105-130.7A for the same taxable year.

(15) The amount of  a dividend received from a captive REIT, as 
defined by G.S. 105-130.12. 

(16) The amount allowed as a deduction under G.S. 105-130.5B 
as a result of an add-back of special federal accelerated 
depreciation and section 179 expense.  (See Adjustment 
for Bonus Depreciation.) 

(17) The amount of  qualified interest expense to a related 
member.  This deduction is allowed only to the extent the 
expense has been added back under G.S. 105-130.5(a)
(25).  (See “Limitation on Qualified Interest for Certain 
Indebtedness” on Page 9.)

(18)  The amount paid from the State Emergency Response and 
Disaster Relief Reserve Fund.

(19)  The amount included under IRC Section 1400Z-2 that was 
included in North Carolina taxable income in a prior year.

(20)  The amount received as an economic incentive under the 
Job Maintenance and Capital Development Fund (JMAC), 
the Jobs Development Investment Grant Program (JDIG), 
or the One North Carolina Fund.

(21)  Any amount of interest expense deduction under IRC Section 
163(j) added to taxable income for taxable years 2019 and 
2020 and not otherwise disallowed by G.S. 105-130.7B may 
be deducted in five equal installments in each of the first five 
taxable years beginning tax year 2021.

(22) The amount received under the Business Recovery Grant 
Program, the ReTOOLNC Grant Program and rent and utility 
assistance pursuant to Section 3.3 of S.L. 2020-4 to the 
extent included in federal taxable income.

Other Adjustments to Federal Taxable Income
The following other adjustments to federal taxable income must be 
made in determining State net income:

(1) No deduction is allowed for annual amortization of bond 
premiums applicable to any bond acquired prior to January 
1, 1963.  The amount of premium paid on any such bond is 
deductible only in the year of sale or other disposition.

(2) Federal taxable income must be increased or decreased to 
account for any difference in the amount of depreciation, 
amortization, or gains or losses applicable to property that 
has been depreciated or amortized by use of a different 
basis or rate for State income tax purposes than that used 
for federal purposes.

(3) No deduction is allowed for any direct or indirect expenses 
related to income not taxed. For dividends received that are 
not taxed, the adjustment for expenses may not exceed an 
amount equal to 15% of the dividends.  (See “Attribution of 
Expenses to Other Income not Taxed,” below.)

(4) Federal taxable income must be increased or decreased to 
account for the recovery of previously deducted amounts 
that differ for State income tax purposes.

Adjustment for Bonus Depreciation.  As in the past, North Carolina 
did not adopt the 50% bonus deprecation provisions in IRC sections 
168(k) or 168(n) for property placed in service for tax year 2024. An 
addition is required for 85% of the amount of bonus depreciation 
deducted on the federal return.  Note: Any amount of the bonus 
depreciation added to federal adjusted gross income on your 2024 
State return may be deducted in five equal installments over your first 
five taxable years beginning with the tax return for taxable year 2025.

Attribution of Expenses to Other Income Not Taxed. Under 
general principles of income taxation, expenses are deductible if 
they are incurred to produce taxable income and are not deductible 
if they are incurred to produce income that is exempt from tax.  The 
disallowance of a deduction for expenses related to income not 
taxed is commonly called “attribution of expenses.”  Attribution of 
expenses is required for all nonapportionable income not allocated to 
North Carolina as well as other income exempt from State taxation.

Direct Expenses.  All expenses directly connected with the 
production of income not taxed in North Carolina must be used to 
compute the net amount of income not taxed.

Indirect Expenses.  When a corporation earns income that is not 
taxed by this State and incurs expenses, such as interest expense, 
that are not specifically related to any particular income or property, 
the corporation must attribute a portion of these expenses to income 
not taxed in determining North Carolina taxable income.  

To compute the amount of expenses attributable to income not 
taxed, use the formula outlined in the following worksheet.

1. Value of Assets that Produce
 Income Not Taxed  ...........................................
2. Total Assets at Cost  .......................................
3. Line 1 divided by Line 2  .................................
4. Total Income Not Taxed in
 North Carolina  ................................................

5. Total Income (From Schedule G, Line 11) .......

6. Line 4 divided by Line 5  .................................
7. Average Ratio (Line 3 plus Line 6
 divided by 2) ......................................................
8. Expenses, Such as Interest Expense,  Not
 Related to any Particular Type of Income  ....
9. Expenses Attributable to Income
 Not Taxed (Multiply Line 8 by Line 7) ...............

Attribution of Expenses to Income Not Taxed
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Note.   As an alternative for expenses attributed to income not taxed, 
other than interest expense, corporations may use the procedure 
set forth in the Code for determining expenses related to foreign 
source income generally referred to as “stewardship.”

Limitation on Qualified Interest for Certain Indebtedness.  In 
determining State net income, a deduction is allowed only for 
qualified interest expense paid or accrued by the taxpayer to a 
related member during a taxable year.  Qualified interest expense 
is defined as the amount of net interest paid or accrued to a related 
member in a taxable year.  The deduction is allowed only to the 
extent of the taxpayer’s proportionate share of interest paid or 
accrued to a person who is not a related member during the same 
taxable year.  G.S. 105-130.7B(b)(4) provides certain exceptions 
to the limitation on interest paid or accrued to a related entity.  
Specifically, the limitation does not apply if one or more of the 
following applies:

a. Tax is imposed by the State under Article 105 on the related 
member with respect to the interest.

b. The related member pays a net income tax or gross receipts 
tax to another state with respect to the interest income.

c. The related member is organized under the laws of a foreign 
country that has a comprehensive income tax treaty with the 
United States and that country taxes the interest income at 
a rate equal to or greater than the rate imposed under G.S. 
105-130.3.

d. The related member is a bank.
e.  The proportionate amount of interest paid or accrued to a 

related member that has already been disallowed by section 
163(j) of the Code.

(For more information, including definitions and examples, see G.S. 
105-130.7B  and the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin 
on the Department’s website.)

Complete this schedule only if you do not attach
a copy of federal Form 1120, Schedule L,

along with all supporting schedules.

Balance Sheet - Schedule L 

Reconciliation of Income (Loss) - Schedule M-1 
Analysis of Unappropriated Retained Earnings - 
Schedule M-2

Complete these schedules only if you do not attach a
copy of federal Form 1120, Schedules M-1 and M-2, along

with all supporting schedules.

Net Income (Loss) Reconciliation for Corporations 
With Total Assets of $10 Million or More - 
Schedule M-3 

Attach a copy of federal Schedule M-3 to the back of 
this form if the corporation’s total assets as reported on 

federal Schedule L equal or exceed $10 million. 

Nonapportionable Income - Schedule N

“Nonapportionable income” means all income other than 
apportionable income.  “Apportionable income” means all income 
that is apportionable under the U.S. Constitution.  Nonapporationable 

income is not subject to apportionment, but is allocated.  

In general, all transactions and activities of a taxpayer that are 
dependent upon, or contribute to the operations of the taxpayer’s 
economic enterprise as a whole, constitute the taxpayer’s trade or 
business.  Income from these type of transactions and activities are 
operational income and therefore apportionable.

Nonapportionable income includes rents and royalties from real or 
tangible personal property, capital gains, interest, dividends, and 
patent and copyright royalties, to the extent they are not dependent 
upon, or contribute to, the operations of the taxpayer’s economic 
enterprise as a whole.  Nonapportionable income must be reduced 
by the related expenses incurred to generate the nonapportionable 
income.  (For an acceptable means of computing related expenses 
to nonapportionable income, see “Attribution of Expenses to 
Other Income Not Taxed.”) 

Domestic Corporations - Part 1

Domestic corporations and other corporations not apportioning 
franchise or income outside of North Carolina must enter 100% 
on Schedule B, Line 14 and on Schedule C, Line 8.  Domestic 
corporations are those corporations or associations created or 
organized under North Carolina law.  Foreign corporations doing 
business in North Carolina but not taxable in another state must also 
enter 100% for its apportionment factor.

Multistate Corporations - Part 2

A corporation having income from business activities that is taxable 
both within and without North Carolina is required to apportion 
its State net income or net loss.  For purposes of allocation and 
apportionment, a corporation is taxable in another state if (i) the 
corporation’s business activity in that state subjects it to a net income 
tax or a tax measured by net income, or (ii) that state has jurisdiction 
based on the corporation’s business activity in that state to subject the 
corporation to a tax measured by net income regardless of whether 
that state exercises its jurisdiction.  For purposes of this section, 
“business activity” includes any activity by a corporation that would 
establish a taxable nexus pursuant to 15 United States Code § 381. 

All income of corporations other than those subject to special 
apportionment must be apportioned to this State by using the sales 
factor.  Calculate the apportionment factor to four places to the 
right of the decimal. 

Sales Factor
The sales factor is a fraction, the numerator of which is the total 
sales of the corporation in this State during the income year, and the 
denominator of which is the total sales of the corporation everywhere 
during the income year.  The following receipts are excluded from 
both the numerator and denominator of the sales factor:

(1) Receipts for any casual sale of property.
(2) Receipts from nonapportionable income.
(3) Receipts exempt from taxation.
(4) The portion of receipts realized from the sale or maturity 

of securities or other obligations that represent a return of 

Computation of Apportionment Factor - 
Schedule O
All corporations, domestic or foreign, doing business in North Carolina 
must complete Schedule O to compute the corporation’s net worth 
and North Carolina taxable income.  
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principal.
(5) The portion of receipts from financial swaps and other 

similar financial derivatives that represents the notional 
principal amount that generates the cash flow traded in the 
swap agreement.

(6) Receipts in the nature of dividends deducted or excluded 
from federal taxable income.

If a corporation is not taxable in another state on its apportionable 
income but is taxable in another state only because of 
nonapportionable income, all sales are treated as having been 
made in this State.

Sales of tangible personal property are in this State if the property 
is received in this State by the purchaser.  In the case of delivery 
of goods by common carrier or by other means of transportation, 
including transportation by the purchaser, the place at which 
the goods are ultimately received after all transportation has 
been completed is considered the place at which the goods are 
received by the purchaser.  Direct delivery into this State by the 
taxpayer to a person or firm designated by a purchaser from 
within or without the State constitutes delivery to the purchaser 
in this State.

Other sales are in this State if any of the following applies:
(1) The receipts are from real or tangible personal property 

located in this State.
(2) The receipts are from intangible property and the property 

is used in this State. 
(3) The receipts are from services and the service is delivered 

to a location in this State. (For more information, including 
definitions and examples, see the Corporate Income and 
Franchise Tax Bulletin on the Department’s website.)

 

Special Apportionment Formulas - Part 3

G.S. 105-130.4 and the instructions for completing Form CD-
405, C-Corporation Tax Return, should be consulted for detailed 
information regarding apportionment of income.

Important: Special apportionment formulas apply to certain types of 
businesses.  The Department refers to the North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) as a means of determining whether 
a taxpayer’s business operations require the use of a special 
apportionment formula.  See G.S. 105-130.4 for definitions and 
other statutory requirements.

Banks. All income of a bank must be apportioned by multiplying 
the income by a fraction, the numerator of which is the total receipts 
within this State and the denominator which is the total receipts 
everywhere. (For more information about what constitutes a receipt 
for a bank, including definitions and examples, see G.S.105-130.4B 
and the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin on the 
Department’s website.)

Wholesale Content Distributors. All receipts of a wholesale 
content distributor must be apportioned by multiplying the receipts 
by a fraction, the numerator of which is the gross receipts within this 
State and the denominator which is the gross receipts everywhere. 
Note: In no event may the amount of receipts sourced to this State 
be less than the amount determined by multiplying two percent 
(2%) by the total domestic gross receipts of the wholesale content 
distributor from advertising and licensing activities. (For more 
information, including definitions and examples, see G.S.105-
130.4A and the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin on 
the Department’s website.)

Electric Power Companies. All income of an electric power 
company must be apportioned by multiplying the income by a 
fraction, the numerator of which is the average value of property 
within this State and the denominator which is the average value 
of property everywhere. (For more information, including definitions 
and examples, see G.S.105-130.4(s3) and the Corporate Income 
and Franchise Tax Bulletin on the Department’s website.)

Pipeline Companies.  All income of a pipeline company must be 
apportioned by multiplying the income by a fraction, the numerator of 
which is the number of traffic units in this State and the denominator 
of which is the number of traffic units of the company everywhere.  
(See G.S. 105-130.4(s2) for more information.)

Air and Water Transportation.  All income of an air or water 
transportation company must be apportioned by the ratio of revenue-
ton miles in North Carolina to total revenue-ton miles.  A revenue-ton 
mile is one ton of passenger, freight, mail, or other cargo carried 
one mile; each passenger is deemed to weigh 200 pounds.  (See 
G.S. 105-130.4(s) for more information, including a definition of an 
air transportation corporation.)

Railroads.  All income of a railroad company must be apportioned 
by multiplying the income by a fraction, the numerator of which is 
the “railway operating revenue” from business done in this State 
and the denominator of which is the total railway operating revenue 
of the company everywhere.  (See G.S. 105-130.4(m) for a detailed 
definition of railway operating revenue.)

Motor Carriers.  All income of a motor carrier of property or 
passengers must be apportioned by multiplying the income by a 
fraction, the numerator of which is the number of vehicle miles in this 
State and the denominator of which is the total number of vehicle 
miles of the company everywhere.  The words “vehicle miles” mean 
miles traveled by vehicles owned or operated by the company 
hauling property for a charge, carrying passengers for a fare, or 
traveling on a scheduled route.  (Complete the worksheet below.)

Computation of Apportionment Factor for Motor
Carriers - Vehicle Miles Factor

3. Percentage of Mileage in N.C. Factor
 (Divide Line 1 by Line 2; enter amount
 here and on Schedule O, Part 3) ...............  %.

2. Total number of vehicle miles
 traveled everywhere ..................................  

1. Number of vehicle miles traveled in N.C. ..  




