
Corporations Required to File

Every S corporation doing business in North Carolina and every 
inactive S corporation chartered or domesticated here must file an 
annual franchise and income tax return using the name reflected on 
the corporate charter if incorporated in this State, or on the certificate 
of authority if incorporated outside this State. A franchise tax is 
imposed on corporations for the privilege of doing business in this 
State even though the activities are exempt from income tax under 
P.L. 86-272.  For a corporation that is subject to both income tax and 
franchise tax, its apportionment factor is the same for both taxes.
For a corporation that is subject to franchise tax but not income tax, 
its apportionment factor for computing the amount of franchise tax
due is the same factor that would be used if its activities that are
protected by P.L. 86-272 were subject to income tax in this State.

New S Corporations

A new S corporation (newly incorporated, newly domesticated out-of-
state corporation, or other corporation commencing business in the 
State) is required to file a franchise and income tax return with the 
Department by the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of 
its first income year of twelve (12) months or less.  The taxable year 
for a new corporation in this State is presumed to end the calendar 
month preceding the month of incorporation unless otherwise 
established by the filing of the required return indicating the taxable 
year adopted.  In no case may the first taxable year exceed 12 months 
unless it is clearly shown that the corporation has adopted a method 
of accounting using the 52-53 week reporting period.  A tax return is 
due annually as long as the corporation remains incorporated, 
domesticated, or continues to do business in this State.

GENERAL INFORMATION
The information contained in these instructions is to be used as 
a guide in the preparation of the North Carolina S-Corporation 
tax return and is not intended to cover all provisions of the law.
For further information on North Carolina tax law, refer to 
administrative rules, bulletins, directives, and other publications 
issued by the Department of Revenue, (“Department”), as well 
as opinions issued by the Attorney General’s office.
The Department has published the “2022 Tax Law Changes” 
resource document. This document gives a brief summary 
of the tax law changes made by the 2022 General Assembly 
regardless of when the changes take effect, as well as changes 
made by prior General Assemblies that take effect for tax year 
2022.  For detailed information concerning these changes click 
on “Taxes and Forms,” “Corporate Income and Franchise 
Tax,” and select “2022 Tax Law Changes.”

2022

Election to be S Corporation

There is no separate S election for North Carolina income tax 
purposes.  There is no provision to elect a different filing method 
for State income tax purposes.

Termination of S Election

The S corporation election will terminate for North Carolina purposes 
at the same time and for the same taxable period the termination 
is effective for federal tax purposes.

Estimated Income Tax

Estimated income tax payments are not required on behalf of 
nonresident shareholders filing a composite tax return.  However, a 
Taxed S Corporation is generally required to make estimated income 
tax payments if the Taxed S Corporation expects to have a N.C. 
income tax liability of $500 or more. An S corporation that did not 
make the election to be a Taxed S Corporation is not required to pay 
estimated income tax.  If the S corporation makes any prepayments 
of income tax for nonresidents or the Taxed S Corporation makes 
estimated tax payments, the S corporation must claim these 
prepayments or estimated payments on Schedule B, Line 20b.

Tax Rates

The franchise tax rate is $200 for the first one million dollars 
($1,000,000) of the corporation’s tax base and $1.50 per $1,000 
of its tax base that exceeds one million dollars ($1,000,000). The 
franchise tax can be no less than $200 with no maximum except 
for a qualified holding company.  The corporate income tax rate for 
composite filers and Taxed S Corporations is based on the current 
individual income tax rate.

When and Where to File

The S corporation tax return is due on the 15th day of the fourth 
month following the close of the income year.  An income year 
ending on any day other than the last day of the month is deemed 
to end on the last day of the calendar month ending nearest to the 
last day of the actual income year.   Mail returns to:
North Carolina Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 25000
Raleigh, NC 27640-0500

Extensions

An extension of time to file the franchise and income tax return may 
be granted for six (6) months if the extension application is received 
timely.  Without a valid extension, a return filed after the statutory 
due date will be delinquent and subject to interest and all applicable 
penalties provided by law.  To receive an extension, taxpayers must 
file the application by the original due date of the return.
You can apply for an extension and pay your tax online.  Go to  
“File and Pay,” “eServices,” and select “Corporate Extension 
CD-419.”
A taxpayer that receives an automatic extension to file a federal 
corporate income tax return will be granted an automatic state 
extension to file the N.C. S-Corporation tax return, Form CD-401S. 
In order to receive the automatic state extension, you MUST fill in 
the “Federal Extension” circle on page 1 of Form CD-401S.

Computer Generated Substitute Forms

A corporation may file its North Carolina Franchise and Corporate 
Income tax return on computer generated tax forms approved by 
the Department.  A list of software developers that have received 
approval is available on the Department’s website.  To view a 
list of approved software developers, go to “File and Pay,” and 
click on “Corporate and Franchise Tax” under “eFile Through 
Approved Software Vendor,” and select “Corporate Income 
and Franchise.”  Tax returns that can not be processed by the 
Department’s  imaging and scanning equipment will be returned 
to the taxpayer with instructions to file on an acceptable form.  
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Where to Get Forms

In an effort to save the cost of printing and mailing tax booklets, 
the Department does not print or mail franchise and corporate 
income tax forms.    Franchise and corporate income tax forms 
are available on the Department’s website.  Go to “Taxes and 
Forms,” “Corporate Income and Franchise Tax,” and click on 
“Download Forms and Instructions.”  The website offers forms 
that can be downloaded or filled in online and printed. 
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Demographic and Other Taxpayer Information

Name, Address, and Identification Numbers.  Print or type the 
corporation’s true legal name (as set forth in the corporate charter), 
address, federal identification number, and North Carolina Secretary 
of State number on the appropriate lines.  Include in this section 
the corporation’s primary NAICS code as reported to the Division 
of Employment Security within the Department of Commerce. 
(For further information regarding the NAICS code, see the North 
American Industry Classification System as published by the Federal 
Office of Management and Budget.)

If a change in address occurs after the return is filed, use Form 
NC-AC, Business Address Correction, to notify the Department 
of the new address.  

Gross Receipts/Sales and Total Assets.  Enter the corporation’s 
gross receipts or sales from all business operations for the tax year.  
Also, enter the corporation’s total assets (as determined by the 
accounting method regularly used in keeping the corporation’s 
books and records) at the end of the tax year.

Initial Return.  If this is the corporation’s first return in North 
Carolina, fill in the appropriate circle. 

Final Return.  If the corporation ceases to exist or leaves North 
Carolina during the tax year, fill in the appropriate circle.  Since 
franchise taxes are paid in advance or at the beginning of the income 
year, corporations are not subject to franchise tax after the end of 
the income year in which articles of dissolution or withdrawal are 
filed with the Secretary of State unless the corporation engages in 
business activities not reasonably incidental to winding up its affairs.  
This provision applies, however, only to those corporations 
that voluntarily file articles of dissolution or withdrawal with the 
Secretary of State of North Carolina.  Although the final income 
tax return must be filed on a franchise and income tax return form, 
the schedules relating to franchise tax should be disregarded.  

Specific Instructions for Filing Form CD-401S

Period Covered

File the 2022 return for calendar year 2022 and fiscal years that 
begin in 2022.  You must use the same taxable period on your North 
Carolina return as on your federal return.

Note:  The 2022 Form CD-401S may also be used if:

	 The corporation has a tax year of less than 12 months that begins 
in 2022.  If the corporation’s tax year is less than 12 months, 
fill in the beginning and ending dates for the tax year.

	 The 2023 Form CD-401S is not available at the time the 
corporation is required to file its return.

Important.  Returns submitted to the Department that do not 
meet the specified criteria will be returned to the taxpayer with 
instructions to refile the return on an acceptable form.

Short Year Return.  If this is not the taxpayer’s initial return nor the 
taxpayer’s final return and the corporation has a tax year of less 
than 12 months, fill in the appropriate circle.

NC-Rehab.  Article 3L, which became effective January 1, 2016, 
established two new credits for rehabilitation of historic structures 
in North Carolina.  The Article provides for a tax credit for 
rehabilitating income-producing historic structures and a tax credit 
for rehabilitating nonincome-producing structures.  Corporations 
taking a credit under Article 3L must complete Form NC-Rehab, 
“2022 Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credits,” and place it on the front 
of the completed Form CD-401S.  If the corporation has attached 
Form NC-Rehab, fill in the appropriate circle.

NC-478.  Corporations taking a credit limited by statute to 50% of 
tax must complete Form NC-478, Summary of Tax Credits Limited 
to 50% of Tax, and place it on the front of the completed Form CD-
401S. If the corporation has attached Form NC-478 to Form 
CD-401S, fill in the appropriate circle. 

Amended Return.  If filing an amended return, fill in the appropriate  
circle.  A complete explanation as to the reason(s) for filing an 
amended return, including specific schedule and line number 
references, must be included on Schedule J of the return.  If any 
change is made to corporate net income by the Internal Revenue 
Service,  taxpayers  are required to file an amended North Carolina 
return within six (6) months after being notified of the correction 
or final determination.  A penalty is imposed for failure to comply 
with this filing requirement.  Corporations filing amended returns 
with additional tax due should use Form CD-V Amended.  (For 
more information on Form CD-V Amended, see page 5.)

Has Nonresident Shareholders. If the corporation has nonresident 
shareholders during the tax year, fill in the appropriate circle.

Escheatable (Abandoned or Unclaimed) Property.   Every 
corporation holding property of North Carolina residents that is 
unclaimed and abandoned under General Statutes Chapter 116B 
must certify the holding of the escheatable property on its income tax 
return by filling in the appropriate circle.  For questions concerning 
escheatable property, call (866) 622-2741 or write to:
 
NC Department of State Treasurer, Unclaimed Property 
Division, P.O. Box 20431, Raleigh, North Carolina 27619-0431

NC-PE is Attached.  A pass-through entity is required to attach Form 
NC-PE to the applicable N.C. tax return if the entity is required to add 
certain items to federal income, or if the entity is allowed to deduct 
certain items from federal income. If the corporation has attached 
Form NC-PE to Form CD-401S, fill in the appropriate circle.

Qualified Subchapter S Subsidiary (QSSS).  For corporate income 
tax purposes, North Carolina follows the federal classification of 
entities under the federal check-the-box regulations.  Determine 
whether or not the corporation meets the qualifications of a QSSS, or 
is the parent of a QSSS and fill in the appropriate circle.  In addition, 
if the corporation is a QSSS, enter the parent’s name and FEIN on 
Schedule F, Line 7.    Qualified Subchapter S Subsidiaries must 
file separate franchise tax returns. 

N.C. Education Endowment Fund.  A corporation may elect 
to contribute to the N.C. Education Endowment Fund. To make 
a contribution, complete Form NC-EDU and enclose the form 
and applicable payment with the tax return. Form NC-EDU is 
available on the Department’s website. Go to “Taxes and Forms,” 
“Corporate Income and Franchise Tax,” “Download Forms  and 
Instructions,” and select “NC-EDU.” (For more information on the 
Education Endowment Fund, see page 6.)

Taxed S Corporation. All S corporations must fill in one circle 
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Rounding Off to Whole Dollars

Corporations must round the amounts on the return and  
accompanying schedules to the nearest whole dollar.  Taxpayers 
should drop any amount less than 50 cents and increase any amount 
of 50 cents or more to the next whole dollar.

answering either “Yes” or “No” to the Taxed S Corporation question on
page 1 of Form CD-401S. The Taxed S Corporation question must be 
answered by all S corporations, not just S corporations that are eligible 
to make the Taxed S Corporation election for the tax year. Note. If the S 
corporation does not answer “Yes” to the Taxed S Corporation question, 
the S corporation is NOT a Taxed S Corporation for the tax year. 

Important. The Taxed S Corporation election is an annual election.

Federal Extension. All S corporations must fill in one circle 
answering either “Yes” or “No” to the Federal extension question on 
page 1 of Form CD-401S. This question must be answered by all S 
corporations, not just S corporations that are granted an automatic 
extension to file federal Form 1120S. Important. You must certify 
that you were granted an automatic federal extension. Otherwise, 
your state return will be subject to applicable penalties.

Computation of Franchise Tax - Schedule  A

Lines 1 and 2 - Franchise Tax

North Carolina imposes a franchise tax upon corporations for the 
opportunity and privilege of transacting business in the State.  
Franchise tax is measured by a corporation’s net worth  (Schedule C). 

Franchise tax is computed by applying $200 to the first one million 
dollars ($1,000,000) of the corporation’s tax base. If the tax base 
exceeds one million dollars ($1,000,000), multiply the amount over 
$1,000,000 by .0015 and add $200.  Franchise tax can be no less 
than $200.

Inactive Corporations.  A corporation that is inactive and without 
assets is subject annually to a minimum franchise tax of $200.  
A return containing a statement of the status of the corporation 
is required to be filed.  Failure to file this return and pay the 
minimum tax will result in suspension of the articles of 
incorporation or certificate of authority.

Net Worth.  Enter the amount of the corporation’s net worth from the 
book balance sheet as of the end of the tax year.  Before making this 
entry, corporations must complete Schedule C of Form CD-401S.  
(See instructions on page 6.)

Holding Company.  Franchise tax payable by a holding company 
on its net worth tax base is limited to an amount not to exceed 
$150,000.  Important.  If the corporation qualifies as a holding 
company, fill in the “Holding Company Exception” circle.

Line 3 - Payment with Franchise Tax Extension

If the corporation filed an application for franchise tax extension, 
Form CD-419, enter the amount of franchise tax paid with the 
extension on Line 3.  (From Form CD-419, Line 9.)  When filing 
an amended return, include the franchise tax extension payment 
claimed on the original return on Schedule B, Line 20b.

Line 4 - Tax Credits 

To take a franchise tax credit on Line 4, corporations must 
complete Form CD-425, Corporate Tax Credit Summary, and file 
it with the tax return.  Taxpayers taking a credit limited by statute to 

50% of tax must also complete Form NC-478, Summary of Tax Credits 
Limited to 50% of Tax, and place it on the front of the completed tax 
return.  Forms for many of these credits, as well as the CD-425 
and NC-478, are available from the Department’s website.

Failure to substantiate a tax credit may result in the 
disallowance of that credit.  (For specific information regarding tax 
credits, refer to the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin.)

Lines 5 and 6 - Franchise Tax Due / Overpaid

Subtract Lines 3 and 4 from Line 2.  If the total of Line 3 plus 4 is less 
than Line 2, additional franchise tax is due.  Enter the amount of 
additional tax due on Line 5 and on Page 2, Line 24.  If the total of 
3 plus 4 is more than Line 2, franchise tax is overpaid.  Enter the 
amount of overpayment on Line 6 and on Page 2, Line 24.  Fill in the 
circle located next to Line 24 to indicate the amount is  overpaid.

Since franchise tax is prepaid, a special computation is sometimes 
required to prevent a duplication of tax when two or more 
corporations with different income years merge or otherwise transfer 
the entire assets from one corporation to the other.  (For specific 
information and the procedure for making this computation, refer 
to the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin.)

(Overpaid franchise tax can offset underpaid income tax in the 
same tax year and vice versa.  See “Tax Due or Overpayment” 
section, on page 4 for line-by-line instructions.)

Line 7 - Shareholders’ Shares of Corporation Income (Loss)

Enter the total amount of income or loss for the S corporation on Line 
7.  Before making this entry, corporations must complete Schedules G 
and H of Form CD-401S.  (See instructions on page 7.)  If the amount 
on Line 7 is negative, enter the amount and fill in the circle 
located next to Line 7 to indicate the amount is negative.  Do not 
use brackets or other symbols to indicate a negative number.

Computation of Income Tax - Schedule B

Line 8 - Adjustments to Federal Taxable Income

Taxpayers must make certain adjustments to federal taxable income 
in arriving at North Carolina taxable income.  Before making this 
entry, corporations must complete Schedule I of Form CD-401S. 
(See instructions on page 7.)  If the amount on Line 8 is negative, 
enter the amount and fill in the circle located next to Line 8 to 
indicate the amount is negative.

Line 10 - Nonapportionable Income

When a corporation has income from sources within North Carolina 
as well as sources outside North Carolina a determination of 
apportionable and nonapportionable income must be made.  If the 
corporation’s business is conducted entirely within North Carolina, 
enter zero on Line 10.  If the business is both within and outside of 
North Carolina, enter the total amount of nonapportionable income 
on Line 10.  Before making this entry, corporations must complete 
Schedule N of Form CD-401S.  (See instructions on page 7.)  If the 
amount on Line 10 is negative, enter the amount and fill in the 
circle located next to Line 10 to indicate the amount is negative. 

Line 11 - Apportionable Income

All income apportionable under the U.S. constitution is apportioned 
to North Carolina and to other states based on the apportionment 
factor.  If the amount on Line 11 is negative, enter the amount 
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Lines 16 through 19 - Composite Tax Returns and 
Taxed S Corporations

Nonresidents Filing Composite.  Lines 16, 18, and 19 are to be 
completed by an S corporation filing a composite income tax return 
on behalf of its nonresident shareholders.  A composite return is 
an income tax return that combines and reports the income and 
tax due of participating nonresident shareholders.  A nonresident 
individual shareholder is not required to file a North Carolina 
individual income tax return, Form D-400, if the shareholder’s only 
income in North Carolina is reported by the S corporation.   If the 
nonresident shareholder is not an individual, the entity must file a 
separate North Carolina tax return.

Taxed S Corporations.  Lines 16 through 19 are to be completed 
by an S corporation that has made an election to be a Taxed S 
Corporation for this taxable year. A Taxed S Corporation pays the 
tax due on behalf of both resident and nonresident shareholders. In 
addition to the nonresident income from Lines 16, 18 and 19, Line 17 
represents the resident portion of taxable income on whose behalf 
the Taxed S Corporation pays the tax due.

Line 14 - Nonapportionable Income Allocated to N.C.

Enter on Line 14 the amount of nonapportionable income allocated 
directly to this State.  Before making this entry, corporations must 
complete Schedule N of Form CD-401S.  (See instructions on page 
7.)  If the amount on Line 14 is negative, enter the amount and 
fill in the circle located next to Line 14 to indicate the amount 
is negative.

Line 18 - Separately Stated Items of Income Attributable 
to Nonresidents Filing Composite or to All Shareholders 
When a Taxed S Corporation Election is Made

Nonresidents Filing Composite.  Enter each nonresident share-
holder’s share of S corporation income required to be separately 
stated for federal income tax purposes if the income is NOT included 
in the amount reported on Schedule B, Line 7. S corporations must 
identify each nonresident shareholder’s share of separately stated 
income items and enter the amount on the North Carolina Schedule 
K, Line 12, and on Form NC K-1, Line 7.  (For more information, see 
the instructions for federal Form 1120S.)  

All Shareholders when Taxed S Corporation Election is Made. 
Enter both resident and nonresident shareholder’s share of S cor-
poration income required to be separately stated for federal income 
tax purposes if the income is NOT included in the amount reported 
on Schedule B, Line 7. (For more information, see the instructions 
for federal Form 1120S.)

Line 19 - North Carolina Income Tax

Nonresidents Filing Composite.  To calculate North Carolina net 
income tax for nonresident shareholder’s filing a composite return, add 
Lines 16 and 18 and multiply the sum by the income tax rate of 4.99%.

Taxed S Corporations.  To calculate North Carolina net income tax 

Line 20a and 20b - Tax Payments and Credits

a. Income Tax Extension.  Taxpayers filing a Form CD-419 enter 
the amount of income tax paid on Line 10 of the CD-419 on Line 
20a.  When filing an amended return, include the income tax 
extension payment claimed on the original return on Schedule 
B, Line 20b.

b. Other Prepayments of Tax.  Enter any income tax payments for 
2022 (including any payment remitted on behalf of nonresident 
shareholders applicable to composite tax return filers and 
estimated tax payments made by Taxed S Corporations) on 
Line 20b.  When filing an amended return, enter the amount of 
previous tax payments (both franchise and income tax) here.  
Important.  If the corporation received a refund for overpaid 
taxes on its original return, enter the sum of all previous 
payments less any refunds received (excluding interest).

Line 20c through 20e - Tax Payments and Credits

Important.  On Lines 20c through 20e, enter only the amount of 
payments and credits attributable to nonresident shareholders 
on whose behalf a composite return is filed or to Taxed S 
Corporations.

c. Partnerships. If the corporation is a nonresident partner 
enter the amount of tax paid to North Carolina on behalf of 
the corporate partner on Line 20c.  Important. If a partnership 
payment is claimed on Line 20c, a copy of Form D-403 NC K-1 
MUST be attached.

d. Nonresident Withholding. Enter the amount of tax withheld 
from a nonresident corporation for nonwage compensation 
during the taxable year on Line 20d.

e. Tax Credits. To take an income tax credit, the S corporation 
must complete Form CD-425, Corporate Tax Credit Summary, 
and file it with the completed tax return.  In order for a composite 
filer or a Taxed S Corporation to take an income tax credit 
limited by statute to 50% of tax, the S corporation or Taxed S 
Corporation must also complete Form NC-478, Summary of 
Tax Credits Limited to 50% of Tax, and place it on the front of 
the completed tax return.  Forms for many of these credits, 
as well as the CD-425 and the NC-478, are available from 
the Department’s website.  Failure to substantiate a tax 
credit may result in the disallowance of the credit.

Line 12 - Apportionment Factor

Enter the apportionment factor percentage as calculated from 
Schedule O of Form CD-401S.  The apportionment factor must 
be calculated four places to the right of the decimal.  (See 
instructions on page 8.)

Lines 22 and 23 - Income Tax Due / Overpaid

Subtract Line 21 from Line 19.  If Line 21 is less than Line 19 additional 
income tax is due.  Enter the amount of additional tax on Line 22 and 
on Line 25.  If Line 21 is more than Line 19, income tax is overpaid.  
Enter the amount of overpayment on Line 23 and on Line 25.  Fill in the 
circle located next to Line 25 to indicate the amount is overpaid.

(Overpaid franchise tax can offset underpaid income tax in the 
same tax year and vice versa.  See “Tax Due or Overpayment” 
below for instructions.)

Lines 24 through 26 - Tax Due or Overpayment

A corporation that overpays its franchise or income tax may elect to 
have its refund applied to an underpaid franchise or income tax liability 
in the same tax year.  The netting of an overpaid tax to an underpaid 
liability is calculated by adding or subtracting Lines 24 and 25.

for Taxed S Corporations, add Lines 16 through 18 and multiply the 
sum by the income tax rate of 4.99%.

and fill in the circle located next to Line 11 to indicate the 
amount is negative.
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Lines 28a through 28c - Interest and Penalties

Interest.  Interest at the rate established by G. S. 105-241.1 is charged 
on taxes paid late even if an extension of time to file is granted.  The 
interest rate on underpayments is the same as the interest rate on 
overpayments.  The rate is established semiannually by the Secretary 
of Revenue and is listed on the Department’s website.  

Failure to File Penalty. Returns filed after the due date are subject 

Line 29 - Total Due

Add Lines 26, 27 and 28c and enter the total on Line 29, but not 
less than zero.  This is the total tax, penalties, and interest due.  
Make your check or money order payable to the North Carolina 
Department of Revenue.  The Department will not accept a check 
or money order  unless it is drawn on a U.S. (domestic) bank and 
the funds are payable in U.S. dollars.  Mail the return, any balance 
due, and a personalized payment voucher, Form CD-V, to:

NC Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 25000,
Raleigh, NC 27640-0500

Form CD-V (Corporate Payment Voucher). Form CD-V is a 
personalized payment voucher that a corporation should send with 
any balance due.  This voucher allows the Department to process 
payments more accurately and efficiently with fewer errors.  To 
generate a personalized payment voucher, go to “Taxes and Forms,” 
“Corporate Income and Franchise Tax,” “Download Forms and 
Instructions,” and select  “CD-V.”  The Department strongly 
encourages the use of the personalized payment voucher.

Form CD-V Amended (Amended Corporate Payment Voucher).  
When filing an amended return, corporations that owe additional tax 
must use  Form CD-V Amended.  Form CD-V Amended allows the 
Department to process amended payments more accurately and 
efficiently with fewer errors.  To generate an amended personalized 
payment voucher, go to “Taxes and Forms,” “Corporate Income 
and Franchise Tax,” “Download Forms and Instructions,” and 
select “CD-V Amended.” 

Important.  You can pay your franchise and corporate income tax 
online.  Go to  “File and Pay,” click on “eServices,” and select 
the tax you are paying. 

Line 30 - Overpayment 

If the sum of Lines 26 through 28c is less than zero, the corporation 
has overpaid its tax. Enter the amount of overpayment on Line 30.

Line 31 - Estimated Income Tax

A corporation may elect to apply part or all of the overpayment shown 
on Line 30 to its estimated income tax for the following year by entering 
the amount to be applied on Line 31.  The election to apply any 
overpayment to 2023 can not be changed after the return is filed.

Important.  To apply an overpayment from 2022 to 2023 
estimated tax, the return must be filed by the last allowable 
date for making 2023 estimated tax payments.

Line 27 - Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax

A Taxed S Corporation that can reasonably expect to have a N.C. 
income tax liability of at least $500 is required to pay estimated tax 
payments in the same manner as a C corporation. Important: An S 
corporation that did not make the election to be a Taxed S Corporation 
is not subject to interest on the underpayment of estimated income tax.

A Taxed S Corporation that does not timely pay the required amount of 
estimated income tax may be subject to interest on the underpayment. 
To determine if interest is due, complete Form CD-429B, “Underpayment 
of Estimated Tax by C Corporations.” Important: A Taxed S Corporation 
may be able to reduce or eliminate underpayment interest if the Taxed 
S Corporation qualifies for one of the exceptions provided by N.C. 
law. (For more information on these exceptions, see “Exceptions to 
Underpayment of Estimated Tax,” below.)

If the Taxed S Corporation owes interest on the underpayment 
of estimated tax, enter the amount of interest on Line 27. Note: 
Underpayment interest will increase the tax liability of the Taxed S 
Corporation or reduce its overpayment.  Do not attach Form CD-429B 
to the completed tax return. Maintain the form for future reference.

Exceptions to Underpayment of Estimated Tax.  In certain cases,
a Taxed S Corporation may reduce or eliminate underpayment 
interest. If any of the following exceptions apply, enter the applicable 
code in the “exceptions box” located next to Line 27. Also, enter the 
amount of underpayment interest due, if any, on Line 27. Note: If 
no underpayment interest is due, leave Line 27 blank.

 Not a Taxed S Corporation in Prior Year. If the Taxed S 
Corporation did not make the election to be a Taxed S Corporation 
in N.C. during the preceding tax year, the Taxed S Corporation 
is not subject to estimated tax interest. Note: Under N.C. law, 
an S corporation was not permitted to make the election to be a 
Taxed S Corporation prior to January 1, 2022.

 If this exception applies, enter a “P” in the “exceptions box” 
located next to Line 27, and leave Line 27 blank.

 Short Taxable Year. If the Taxed S Corporation’s tax year is less 
than four months, or if the requirements to make an estimated 
tax payment were not met before the first day of the last month 
in the short tax year, the Taxed S Corporation is not subject to 
estimated tax interest.

 If this exception applies, enter an “S” in the “exceptions box” 
located next to Line 27, and leave Line 27 blank.

 Annualized Income. If the Taxed S Corporation annualized its 
taxable income for the tax year, the Taxed S Corporation may be 
able to reduce or eliminate underpayment interest.

 If this exception applies, enter an “A” in the “exceptions box” 
located next to Line 27, and enter the amount of underpayment 
interest due, if any, on Line 27.

to a penalty of 5% of the tax for each month, or part of a month, the 
return is late (maximum 25% of the additional tax).

Failure to Pay Penalty. Returns filed after the original due date 
are subject to a late payment penalty. The applicable rate is 5 
percent (5%) regardless of how late the tax is paid.  

Other Penalties. There are other penalties for negligence, filing a 
frivolous return and fraud. Criminal penalties also apply for fraud 
with intent to evade or defeat the tax and for willful failure to file a 
return, supply information, or pay the tax.

Collection Assistance Fee.  Any tax, penalty, and interest not paid 
within 60 days after a Notice of Collection is mailed will be assessed 
a 20 percent (20%) collection assistance fee. The fee does not apply 
if the tax debt is paid in full or an installment payment agreement is 
established with the Department before the fee is assessed. 
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Net Worth - Schedule C 

A corporation’s net worth is measured by the corporation’s 
total assets without regard to the deduction for accumulated 
depreciation, depletion, or amortization less its total liabilities, 
computed in accordance with generally accepted accounting 

Signature and Verification

An authorized officer must sign and date the completed tax form 
and enter his or her corporate title.  A phone number for the 
corporation, including area code, is also requested.  If a paid 
preparer is used, the preparer must also sign and date the return, 
enter the firm’s federal employer ID number, social security number, 
or PTIN as assigned by the Internal Revenue Service, and fill in the 
applicable circle to denote the type of number used.

Line 33 – Education Endowment Fund

The North Carolina Education Endowment Fund was 
created to provide additional support and funding 
for K-12 public schools. Corporations may elect 
to contribute part or all of their overpayment to the 
North Carolina Education Endowment Fund. If the 
corporation wishes to contribute to the Fund, enter the amount of 
the contribution on Line 33. The election to contribute to the Fund 
cannot be changed after the return is filed.

If the corporation is not due a refund, it may still contribute to this 
Fund by:  (1) making a contribution with the tax return; or (2) mailing a 
donation directly to the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. 
To make a donation directly to the North Carolina Department of Public 
Instruction, mail your donation to:  North Carolina Department of Public 
Instruction, Cash Collections, 6336 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 
North Carolina 27699-6336. Checks should be made payable to the 
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction and should indicate 
it is a contribution for the North Carolina Education Endowment Fund. 

Line 34 - Amount to be Refunded 

Enter the amount of overpayment to be refunded on Line 34.  The 
amount to be refunded cannot exceed Line 30 minus the total of 
Lines 31, 32, and 33.

Corporate Member of a Limited Liability
Company (LLC)

A limited liability company’s income, assets, liabilities, or equity is 
generally not attributed to a corporation that is a member of the LLC.  
However, if the corporation or an affiliated group of corporations 
owns more than 50% of the capital interests in a LLC, the corporation 
must include a percentage of the LLC’s net assets in the calculation 
of the corporation’s franchise tax.  For example:  A partnership 
owns 100% of the capital interests of an LLC.  Corporation A is a 
51% owner of the partnership.  Corporation A constructively owns 
51% of the capital interest in the LLC.  

If all members of the affiliated group are doing business in NC, 
then each member includes the percentage of the LLC’s assets 
equal to the member’s percentage ownership in the LLC.  If some 
of the members of the group are not doing business in NC, then the 
percentage of the LLC’s assets owned by the group are allocated 
among the members that are doing business in NC.  The percentage 
attributed to each member doing business in NC is determined by 
multiplying the percentage of the LLC owned by the entire group by 
a fraction.  The numerator of the fraction is the member’s percentage 
ownership of the LLC and the denominator is the total percentage 
of the LLC owned by all members doing business in NC.  

For example:  An affiliated group of corporations owns 100% of the 
capital interests in an LLC.  The group consists of three corporations.  
Corporation A is doing business in NC and owns 51% of the LLC.  
Corporation B is doing business in NC and owns 10% of the LLC.  
Corporation C is not doing business in NC and owns 39% of the 
LLC.  The percentage of the LLC’s assets required to be included 
in Corporation A’s and Corporation B’s franchise tax is determined 
as follows:

• Corporation A 100%   X   51%  ÷  (51% + 10%)  = 83.61%
• Corporation B 100%   X   10%  ÷  (51% + 10%)  = 16.39%

Important.  If a corporation is required to include a percentage of the 

Line 32 - Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Fund 

Corporations may elect to contribute part or all of 
their overpayment to the North Carolina Nongame 
and Endangered Wildlife Fund. Your tax deductible 
contributions are essential to match private and 
federal grants to pay for conservation projects from 
sea turtles to songbirds, and native fish to bats.  Conserving these 
species and their habitat is made possible by your contributions. 
Your donations provide most of the funds for conservation of 
our endangered species and native backyard wildlife.  If the 
corporation wishes to contribute to the Fund, enter the amount 
of the contribution on Line 32.  The election to contribute to 
the Fund can not be changed after the return is filed.  If the 
corporation is not due a refund, it may still contribute to this Fund 
by mailing your donation directly to the North Carolina Wildlife 
Resources Commission, 1702 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 
North Carolina 27699-1700. Checks should be made payable to 
the Nongame & Endangered Wildlife Fund.  For more information 
about the Fund, check out www.ncwildlife.org/Donate.

principles, (“GAAP”), as of the end of the corporation’s taxable 
year.  If the corporation does not maintain its books and records 
in accordance with GAAP, then the corporation’s net worth is 
computed in accordance with the accounting method used by the 
corporation for federal income tax purposes, as long as the method 
fairly reflects the corporation’s net worth for franchise tax purposes.  
The corporation’s net worth is subject to the following adjustments:

 A deduction for accumulated depreciation, depletion, and 
amortization as determined in accordance with the method used 
for federal tax purposes.

 An addition for the amount of indebtedness the corporation 
owes that creates net interest expense, as defined in G.S. 105-
130.7B(b)(3), but does not create qualified interest expense, as 
defined in G. S. 105-130.7B(b)(4).

 If the creditor corporation is subject to North Carolina franchise 
tax, the creditor corporation may deduct the amount of 
indebtedness owed to it by a parent, subsidiary, or affiliated 
corporation to the extent that such indebtedness has been added 
by the debtor corporation.

The term “indebtedness” includes all loans, credits, goods, supplies, 
or other capital of whatsoever nature furnished by a parent, a 
subsidiary, an affiliate, or a noncorporate entity in which the 
corporation or an affiliated group of corporations owns directly or 
indirectly more than fifty percent (50%) of the capital interests of the 
noncorporate entity, other than indebtedness endorsed, guaranteed, 
or otherwise supported by one of these corporations.  The terms 
“parent,” “subsidiary,”  “affiliate,” and “noncorporate entity” have 
the meanings specified in G. S. 105-122(b1). 



Computation of Income (Loss) - Schedule H
Line 1 Enter the ordinary business income (loss) as taken 

from federal Form 1120S, Line 21 or from Schedule 
G, Line 21.

Lines 2-10   Add income or deduct losses on Lines 2 through 10 
that are directly passed to the shareholders as shown 
on federal Schedule K, Lines 2 through 10.

Line 11 Total of Lines 1 through 10; enter on Schedule B, Line 10.

Adjustments to Income (Loss) - Schedule I
Taxpayers must make certain adjustments to federal taxable income in 
arriving at North Carolina taxable income.  Specifically, a shareholder’s 
income (loss) is subject only to the adjustments under individual law 
regardless of the shareholder’s residency status or whether the 
income is attributable to North Carolina.  Form NC-PE lists all of the 
adjustment additions required and adjustment deductions permitted 
by statute for an individual but a number of these adjustments may 
not apply to an S corporation.  Note: Only the adjustments allowed by 
North Carolina law can be claimed on the S Corporation return. (For 
additional details about the State adjustments, see G.S. 105-153.5(b), 
(c), (c1), (c2), and Form D-401, Individual Income Tax Instructions 
available from the Department’s website).

Shareholders’ Pro Rata Share Items - Schedule K
This schedule is provided primarily as a worksheet to all S 
corporations to summarize all the shareholders’ shares of income, 
North Carolina adjustments, and North Carolina tax credits, and to 
show the amount of these items that are apportioned or allocated 
to nonresident shareholders.  The name, address, and  percentage 
of ownership of each shareholder must be listed on Schedule 
K.  A North Carolina resident is required to report its full share of 
corporate income or loss.   A nonresident shareholder, however, 
is only required to report to North Carolina its share of apportioned 
and allocated income or loss.

The S corporation must give each shareholder a copy of Form NC 
K-1.  The NC K-1 is the form used to report each shareholder’s 
share of these items.  The cumulative total of a given line on all 
of the shareholders’ NC K-1s must equal the amount that the 
corporation reports in the Shareholders’ Total column  of Schedule 
K.  A  nonresident shareholder filing a composite income tax return 
must be provided with its share of net tax paid on its behalf by the S 
corporation.  (For additional instructions on Form NC K-1, see page 9.)

In addition, an S corporation doing business in this State must file 

Balance Sheet - Schedule L and Schedule M-1
Complete these schedules only if you do not attach a 
copy of federal Schedule L and Schedule M-1, along 

with all supporting schedules.

Net Income (Loss) Reconciliation for 
Corporations With Total Assets of $10 Million 
or More - Schedule M-3 

Attach a copy of federal Schedule M-3 to the back of 
this form if the corporation’s total assets as reported on 

federal Schedule L equal or exceed $10 million. 

Nonapportionable Income - Schedule N

“Nonapportionable income” means all income other than 
apportionable income.  “Apportionable income” means all income 
that is apportionable under the U.S. Constitution.  Nonapportionable 
income is not subject to apportionment, but is allocated.  

In general, all transactions and activities of a taxpayer that are 
dependent upon, or contribute to the operations of the taxpayer’s 
economic enterprise as a whole, constitute the taxpayer’s trade or 
business.  Income from these type of transactions and activities are 
operational income and therefore apportionable.

Nonapportionable income includes rents and royalties from real or 
tangible personal property, capital gains, interest, dividends, and patent 
and copyright royalties, to the extent they are not dependent upon, or 
contribute to, the operations of the taxpayer’s economic enterprise as 
a whole.  Nonapportionable income must be reduced by the related 
expenses incurred to generate the nonapportionable income.

Attribution of Expenses to Other Income Not Taxed. Under 
general principles of income taxation, expenses are deductible if 
they are incurred to produce taxable income and are not deductible 
if they are incurred to produce income that is exempt from tax.  The 
disallowance of a deduction for expenses related to income not taxed 
is commonly called “attribution of expenses.”  Attribution of expenses 
is required for all nonapportionable income not allocated to North 
Carolina as well as other income exempt from State taxation.

Analysis of N.C. Accumulated Adjustments
Account, N.C. AAA - Schedule M-2

All corporations must maintain an “accumulated adjustments 
account” (AAA) for federal and State purposes.  The N.C. 
accumulated adjustments account, N.C. AAA, may be different 
than the federal AAA for S corporations that were in existence 
prior to 1989.  The computation of the N.C. AAA and N.C. Other 
Adjustments Account is made using the same procedures as the 
federal computation applying the North Carolina amounts.  (See 
instructions for federal Form 1120S and IRC §1368.)

N.C. Other Adjustments Account.  The N.C. Other Adjustments 
Account, N.C. OAA, is only adjusted by any items of North Carolina 
income less related expenses that are not included in the N.C. AAA 
account.

Ordinary Income (Loss) From Trade
or Business - Schedule G
The computation of net income from trade or business activities 
follows the determination of ordinary income as defined by the 
Internal Revenue Code, effective April 1, 2021.  S corporations must 
transfer the information from federal Form 1120S, U.S. Income Tax 
Return for an S Corporation (Lines 1 through 21), to Schedule G, or 
attach a copy of the federal form along with all supporting schedules.

MUST BE COMPLETED BY ALL TAXPAYERS
Other Information - Schedule F

LLC’s assets in the calculation of its franchise tax, the corporation 
may exclude its investment in the LLC from the computation of 
the corporation’s net worth.  Also, if the total book value of the 
LLC’s assets never exceed $150,000 during the taxable year, no 
attribution is required.

Form NC-NA for each of its nonresident shareholders. The form is 
due by the 15th day of the fourth month following the first taxable 
period in which the nonresident shareholder became a shareholder 
of the corporation.  For additional instructions on Form NC-NA, go 
to “Taxes and Forms,” “Corporate Income and Franchise Tax,” 
“Download Forms and Instructions,” and select “NC-NA.”
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1. Value of Assets that Produce
 Income Not Taxed  ...........................................

2. Total Assets at Cost  .......................................

3. Line 1 divided by Line 2  .................................

4. Total Income Not Taxed in
 North Carolina  ................................................

5. Total Income (From Schedule G, Line 11) .......

6. Line 4 divided by Line 5  .................................

7. Average Ratio (Line 3 plus Line 6
 divided by 2) ......................................................

8. Expenses, Such as Interest Expense,  Not
 Related to any Particular Type of Income  ....

9. Expenses Attributable to Income
 Not Taxed (Multiply Line 8 by Line 7) ...............

Attribution of Expenses to Income Not Taxed

Note.   As an alternative for expenses attributed to income not 
taxed, other than interest expense, corporations may use the 
procedure set forth in the Code for determining expenses related 
to foreign source income generally referred to as “stewardship.”

Domestic Corporations - Part 1

Domestic corporations and other corporations not apportioning 
franchise or income outside of North Carolina must enter 100% 
on Schedule B, Line 12 and on Schedule C, Line 8.  Domestic 
corporations are those corporations or associations created or 
organized under North Carolina law.  Foreign corporations doing 
business in North Carolina but not taxable in another state must also 
enter 100% for its apportionment factor.

Computation of Apportionment Factor - 
Schedule O

All corporations, domestic or foreign, doing business in North Carolina 
must complete Schedule O to compute the corporation’s net worth 
and North Carolina taxable income.  

Multistate Corporations - Part 2

A corporation having income from business activities that is taxable 
both within and without North Carolina is required to apportion 
its State net income or net loss.  For purposes of allocation and 
apportionment, a corporation is taxable in another state if (i) the 
corporation’s business activity in that state subjects it to a net income 
tax or a tax measured by net income, or (ii) that state has jurisdiction 
based on the corporation’s business activity in that state to subject the 
corporation to a tax measured by net income regardless of whether 
that state exercises its jurisdiction.  For purposes of this section, 
“business activity” includes any activity by a corporation that would 

establish a taxable nexus pursuant to 15 United States Code § 381. 

All income of corporations other than those subject to special 
apportionment must be apportioned to this State by using the sales 
factor.  Calculate the apportionment factor to four places to the 
right of the decimal. 

Sales Factor
The sales factor is a fraction, the numerator of which is the total 
sales of the corporation in this State during the income year, and the 
denominator of which is the total sales of the corporation everywhere 
during the income year.  The following receipts are excluded from 
both the numerator and denominator of the sales factor:

(1) Receipts from any casual sale of property.
(2) Receipts from nonapportionable income.
(3) Receipts exempt from taxation.
(4) The portion of receipts realized from the sale or maturity 

of securities or other obligations that represents a return 
of principal.

(5) The portion of receipts from financial swaps and other 
similar financial derivatives that represents the notional 
principal amount that generates the cash flow traded in the 
swap agreement.

(6) Receipts in the nature of dividends deducted or excluded 
from federal taxable income.

If a corporation is not taxable in another state on its apportionable 
income but is taxable in another state only because of nonapportionable 
income, all sales are treated as having been made in this State.

Sales of tangible personal property are in this State if the property 
is received in this State by the purchaser.  In the case of delivery 
of goods by common carrier or by other means of transportation, 
including transportation by the purchaser, the place at which the 
goods are ultimately received after all transportation has been 
completed is considered the place at which the goods are received 
by the purchaser.  Direct delivery into this State by the taxpayer to 
a person or firm designated by a purchaser from within or without 
the State constitutes delivery to the purchaser in this State.

Other sales are in this State if any of the following applies:
(1) The receipts are from real or tangible personal property 

located in this State.
(2) The receipts are from intangible property and the property 

is used in this State.
(3) The receipts are from services and the service is delivered 

to a location in this State. (For more information, including 
definitions and examples, see the Corporate Income and 
Franchise Tax Bulletin on the Department’s website.)

Special Apportionment Formulas - Part 3

G.S. 105-130.4 and the instructions for completing Form CD-
405, C-Corporation Tax Return, should be consulted for detailed 
information regarding apportionment of income.

Important: Special apportionment formulas apply to certain types of 
businesses.  The Department refers to the North American Industry 
Classification System (NAICS) as a means of determining whether 
a taxpayer’s business operations require the use of a special 
apportionment formula.  See G.S. 105-130.4 for definitions and 
other statutory requirements.

Banks. All income of a bank must be apportioned by multiplying 
the income by a fraction, the numerator of which is the total receipts 
within this State and the denominator which is the total receipts 

Direct Expenses.  All expenses directly connected with the 
production of income not taxed in North Carolina must be used to 
compute the net amount of income not taxed.

Indirect Expenses.  When a corporation earns income that is not 
taxed by this State and incurs expenses, such as interest expense, 
that are not specifically related to any particular income or property, 
the corporation must attribute a portion of these expenses to income 
not taxed in determining North Carolina taxable income.  

To compute the amount of expenses attributable to income not 
taxed, complete the worksheet below.
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for a bank, including definitions and examples, see G.S.105-130.4B 
and the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin on the 
Department’s website.)

Wholesale Content Distributors. All receipts of a wholesale 
content distributor must be apportioned by multiplying the receipts 
by a fraction, the numerator of which is the gross receipts within this 
State and the denominator which is the gross receipts everywhere. 
Note: In no event may the amount of receipts sourced to this State 
be less than the amount determined by multiplying two percent 
(2%) by the total domestic gross receipts of the wholesale content 
distributor from advertising and licensing activities. (For more 
information, including definitions and examples, see G.S.105-
130.4A and the Corporate Income and Franchise Tax Bulletin on 
the Department’s website.)

Electric Power Companies. All income of an electric power 
company must be apportioned by multiplying the income by a 
fraction, the numerator of which is the average value of property 
within this State and the denominator which is the average value 
of property everywhere. (For more information, including definitions 
and examples, see G.S.105-130.4(s3) and the Corporate Income 
and Franchise Tax Bulletin on the Department’s website.)

Pipeline Companies.  All income of a pipeline company must be 
apportioned by multiplying the income by a fraction, the numerator of 
which is the number of traffic units in this State and the denominator 
of which is the number of traffic units of the company everywhere.  
(See G.S. 105-130.4(s2) for more information.)

Air and Water Transportation.  All income of an air or water 
transportation company must be apportioned by the ratio of revenue-
ton miles in North Carolina to total revenue-ton miles.  A revenue-ton 
mile is one ton of passenger, freight, mail, or other cargo carried 
one mile; each passenger is deemed to weigh 200 pounds.  (See 
G.S. 105-130.4(s) for more information, including a definition of an 
air transportation corporation.)

Railroads.  All income of a railroad company must be apportioned 
by multiplying the income by a fraction, the numerator of which is 
the “railway operating revenue” from business done in this State 
and the denominator of which is the total railway operating revenue 
of the company everywhere.  (See G.S. 105-130.4(m) for a detailed 
definition of railway operating revenue.)

Motor Carriers.  All income of a motor carrier of property or 
passengers must be apportioned by multiplying the income by a 
fraction, the numerator of which is the number of vehicle miles in this 
State and the denominator of which is the total number of vehicle 
miles of the company everywhere.  The words “vehicle miles” mean 
miles traveled by vehicles owned or operated by the company 
hauling property for a charge, carrying passengers for a fare, or 
traveling on a scheduled route.  (Complete the worksheet below.)

Computation of Apportionment Factor for Motor
Carriers - Vehicle Miles Factor

3. Percentage of Mileage in N.C. Factor
 (Divide Line 1 by Line 2; enter amount
 here and on Schedule O, Part 3) ...............  %.

2. Total number of vehicle miles
 traveled everywhere ..................................  

1. Number of vehicle miles traveled in N.C. ..  

Forms and Instructions for the NC-478 Series

Forms and Instructions for the NC-478
series are available from the Department’s website.

Shareholder’s Share of North Carolina Income, 
Adjustments, and Credits - Form NC K-1

Form NC K-1 is the form used by all S corporations to 
report to each shareholder its share of the S corporation’s 
income, adjustments, tax credits, etc.  Prepare and give a 
Form NC K-1 to each entity that was a shareholder in the 
S corporation at any time during the tax year.  Form NC 
K-1 must be provided to each shareholder on or before 
the due date of the return.  (Form NC K-1 is available 
from the Department’s website.)  

Shareholders that are residents of North Carolina must 
be provided with the total amount of their proportionate 
share of the following items:
 
1. North Carolina adjustments to federal taxable 

income, NC K-1, Lines 2 and 3.
2. Shareholder’s distributive share of tax credits, NC 

K-1, Line 4.  When reporting the distributive share 
of tax credits, a list of the amount and type of each 
tax credit must be provided to the shareholder.

3. Any tax withheld from nonwage compensation 
for personal services in North Carolina by the S 
corporation, NC K-1, Line 5.

Shareholders that are nonresidents of North Carolina 
must be provided with their share of the same items 
listed above for North Carolina residents, along with 
the following items:
 
1. North Carolina income apportioned and allocated 

for business activities occurring outside of North 
Carolina, NC K-1, Line 6.

2. Shareholder’s share of separately stated items of 
income, NC K-1, Line 7.

3. Any North Carolina income tax paid by the 
S corporation on behalf of the nonresident 
shareholder, NC K-1, Line 8.

Shareholders of S corporations that elect to be a Taxed 
S Corporation must be provided with their share of the 
same items listed above from NC K-1, Lines 1 through 
7, along with Lines 1 and 2 below:

1. Shareholder’s share of North Carolina taxable income 
if the amount is less than zero, NC K-1, Line 9. 

2.  Shareholder’s share of North Carolina taxable 
income if the amount is greater than zero, NC K-1, 
Line 10. 
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Shareholder’s Share of N.C. Additions and Deductions - Form NC K-1 Supplemental Schedule

NC K-1 Supplemental Schedule is used by all S corporations to report to each shareholder, the shareholder’s share of North Carolina 
adjustment addition and deduction items from Form NC-PE. In Column  A  report the shareholder’s share of North Carolina adjustment 
addition and deduction items from all sources. In addition, if applicable, in Column B report the amount of each item that is from sources within 
North Carolina. The S corporation may have to complete Column B for non-individual shareholders and for individual shareholders who were 
nonresidents of North Carolina at the end of the year. The S corporation may also have to complete Column B for individual shareholders 
who move into North Carolina during the S corporation’s tax year because these part-year residents will need the information in Column B to 
correctly complete their tax return.

1. Total of all resident shareholder’s share of income (or loss) from all sources modified by N.C.
 adjustments applicable to resident shareholder’s share of income (or loss) ....................................................................1. _____________

2. Portion of Line 1 that was taxed by another state or country. ...........................................................................................2. _____________
 
3. Divide Line 2 by Line 1 and enter the result as a decimal amount (Round to four decimal places) .................................3. _____________

4. Total of all resident shareholder’s share of the tax due amount (All resident shareholder’s share of the tax due
 amount from Form CD-401S, Schedule B, Line 19) .........................................................................................................4. _____________

5. Multiply Line 4 by Line 3 ...................................................................................................................................................5. _____________
 
6. Amount of net tax paid to the other state or country on the income shown on Line 33 ....................................................6. _____________

7. Enter the lesser of Line 5 or Line 6. To determine the total amount of credit for income tax paid to another state
 or country, add the amount of Line 7 on each worksheet and enter the total on Form CD-425, Part 5, Line 38a ............7. _____________

Out-of-State Tax Credit Worksheet
(Use a separate worksheet to determine the separate credit for each state or country.)

.

Tax Credit for Taxes Paid to More Than One State or Country 

If the Taxed S Corporation is claiming a tax credit for N.C. resident shareholders for taxes paid to more than one state or country, use the 
following worksheet. (See Form CD-425, Part 5)




