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DIRECTIVE 
 

Subject:      Remote Sales – Repeal of Transaction Thresholds 
Tax:             Sales and Use Tax 
Law:            Session Law 2024-28, Section 2.1 
Issued By:  Sales and Use Tax Division 
Date:           July 1, 2024 
Number:     SD-24-1 
 
This directive provides the interpretation of the Secretary of Revenue regarding the repeal of 
the transaction threshold for remote sellers. 
 
The following important information is addressed in this directive: 
 

• Overview of Remote Seller Thresholds 
• Repeal of Transaction Thresholds 
• Information for Remote Sellers Who Exceeded the Transaction Thresholds 
• Examples 

 
 
Background 
 
North Carolina requires a retailer that makes a remote sale1 (“Remote Seller”) to collect and 
remit sales and use tax when it is engaged in business in the State.  A Remote Seller is 
engaged in business if it meets any of the conditions found in N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 105-
164.3(83) and 105-164.8(b).   
 
Since 2018, the conditions have included thresholds for determining whether a remote seller 
is engaged in business in the State (“Remote Seller Thresholds”).  The Remote Seller 
Thresholds included thresholds based on the number of transactions sourced to the State 
(“Transaction Thresholds”) and thresholds based on the gross sales sourced to the State 
(“Sales Thresholds”).   
 
 
Repeal of Transaction Thresholds 
 
Effective July 1, 2024, Session Law 2024-28 repeals the Transaction Thresholds.  After the 
repeal, the Remote Seller Thresholds only include Sales Thresholds.  After the change, the 
Remote Seller Thresholds are as follows: 

 
1 A remote sale is a “sale of an item ordered by mail, telephone, Internet, mobile phone application, or another 
method by a retailer who receives the order in another state and delivers the item or makes it accessible to a 
person in this State or causes the item to be delivered or made accessible to a person in this State or performs 
a service sourced to this State. It is presumed that a resident of this State who makes an order was in this State 
at the time the order was made.”  N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-164.3. 

https://www.ncleg.gov/Sessions/2023/Bills/House/PDF/H228v8.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_105/GS_105-164.3.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_105/GS_105-164.3.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_105/GS_105-164.8.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/Sessions/2023/Bills/House/PDF/H228v8.pdf
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• The retailer makes gross sales in excess of $100,000 from remote sales sourced to 

this State, including sales as a marketplace seller, for the previous or the current 
calendar year. 

 
• The retailer is a marketplace facilitator that makes gross sales in excess of $100,000, 

including all marketplace-facilitated sales for all marketplace sellers, from sales 
sourced to this State for the previous or the current calendar year. 

 
Remote Sellers Exceeding the Transaction Thresholds  
 
Prior to July 1, 2024, Remote Sellers may have registered with the Department and obtained 
a certificate of registration (“Registration”) solely because they exceeded the Transaction 
Thresholds.  A Remote Seller may cancel its Registration if it meets the following 
requirements:  

(1) Did not make gross sales2 sourced to North Carolina of more than $100,000 during 
2023.   

(2) Did not make gross sales2 sourced to North Carolina of more than $100,000 from 
January 1, 2024, through the date it cancels its Registration in 2024.   

(3) Is not otherwise engaged in business in the State. 

If a Remote Seller meets all the above criteria, it may elect to cancel its Registration or 
remain registered with the Department.  However, the Remote Seller must continue to collect 
sales and use tax, file returns, and remit sales and use tax until it cancels its Registration.   

To cancel a Registration, the Remote Seller must3 file Form NC-BN, Out-of-Business 
Notification.  The form can be completed and filed online at ncdor.gov.  The Remote Seller 
must list the date it wishes to end its Registration in the space provided for “Date of 
Permanent Closure.”  The date must be on or after the date the form is filed.       
 
A Remote Seller that cancels its Registration and later becomes engaged in business in the 
State, must re-register with the Department and resume filing returns and collecting and 
remitting sales and use tax. 
 
 
Examples 
 
Example 1.  Pencil Shop is based in California.  Pencil Shop’s only North Carolina activity is 
making remote sales of pencils.  During 2023, Pencil Shop had 350 transactions sourced to 
North Carolina and its gross sales sourced to North Carolina were $10,000.  During 2023, 
Pencil Shop registered and began collecting North Carolina sales and use tax.  As of July 1, 
2024, Pencil Shop has $5,000 in gross sales sourced to North Carolina for the year.   
 

 
2 This includes all sales as a marketplace seller.  If the retailer is a marketplace facilitator this includes 
marketplace-facilitated sales for all marketplace sellers. 
3 If you registered via the Streamlined Sales Tax Registration System, do not use this form.  Any updates must 
be made at sstregister.org. 

https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/sales-and-use-tax/sales-and-use-tax-forms-and-certificates/miscellaneous-forms/nc-bn-out-business-notification
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/sales-and-use-tax/sales-and-use-tax-forms-and-certificates/miscellaneous-forms/nc-bn-out-business-notification
https://www.ncdor.gov/taxes-forms/sales-and-use-tax/sales-and-use-tax-forms-and-certificates/miscellaneous-forms/nc-bn-out-business-notification
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As of July 1, 2024, Pencil Shop is no longer engaged in business in the State because its 
gross sales during 2023 and 2024 do not exceed $100,000 and it is not otherwise engaged in 
business in North Carolina.  Pencil Shop may cancel its Registration.  However, Pencil Shop 
must continue to collect and remit North Carolina sales and use tax until it cancels its 
Registration. 
 
 
Example 2.  Book Seller is based in Iowa.  Book Seller’s only North Carolina activity is 
making remote sales of books.  During 2023, Book Seller did not make any sales sourced to 
North Carolina.  In January and February 2024, Book Seller had 200 transactions sourced to 
North Carolina.  As a result, Book Seller registered and began collecting North Carolina sales 
and use tax.  As of July 1, 2024, Book Seller has $5,000 in gross sales sourced to North 
Carolina for the year.   
 
As of July 1, 2024, Book Seller is no longer engaged in business in the State because its 
gross sales during 2023 and 2024 do not exceed $100,000 and it is not otherwise engaged in 
business in North Carolina.  Book Seller may cancel its Registration.  However, Book Seller 
must continue to collect and remit North Carolina sales and use tax until it cancels its 
Registration. 
 
 
Example 3.  Movie Group is based in Michigan.  Movie Group’s only North Carolina activity is 
making remote sales of digital videos.  During 2023, Movie Group had 1,000 transactions and 
gross sales of $105,000 sourced North Carolina.  As a result, Movie Group registered and 
began collecting North Carolina sales and use tax.  As of July 1, 2024, Movie Group has 
$75,000 in gross sales sourced to North Carolina for the year.   
 
Movie Group is still engaged in business in North Carolina because its gross sales exceeded 
$100,000 during 2023. Movie Group must continue to collect and remit North Carolina sale 
and use tax. 
 
 
Example 4.  Computer Corp is based in Georgia.  Computer Corp’s only North Carolina 
activity is making remote sales of computer software.    During 2023, Computer Corp. had 
205 transactions and had gross sales of $79,000 sourced North Carolina.  As a result, 
Computer Corp. registered and began collecting North Carolina sales and use tax.  As of July 
31, 2024, Computer Corp. has $75,000 in gross sales sourced to North Carolina.  Computer 
Corp. cancelled its Registration effective July 31, 2024.  After it cancelled its Registration, 
Computer Corp’s gross sales sourced to North Carolina during 2024 exceeded $100,000.   
 
Computer Corp was not required to collect North Carolina sales and use tax from July 31, 
2024, until its gross sales exceeded $100,000. Once its gross sales exceed $100,000, 
Computer Corp must re-register with the Department and collect and remit sales and use tax 
because it had gross sales of over $100,000 during the current year. 
 
 

 



 
 
 
 
 

Sales and Use Tax Division Page 4 of 4 July 2, 2024 
 
 

Assistance  
 
If you have questions about this directive, you may call the Department at 1-877-252-3052 
(8:00 am until 4:30 pm EST, Monday through Friday).  
 
To the extent there is any change in the rate or amount of tax, change to a statute or 
regulation, or new case law subsequent to the date of this directive, the provisions in this 
directive may be superseded or voided. To the extent that any provisions in any other notice, 
directive, bulletin, or published guidance regarding the subject of this directive and issued 
prior to the date of this directive conflict with this directive, the provisions contained in this 
directive supersede the previous guidance.  
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