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INTRODUCTION 

 
 

The 2007 legislative session brought many changes to the Revenue laws and the 
North Carolina Department of Revenue.  Most significant to the Department was the 
passage of SB 242.  This legislation made numerous changes to our procedures for 
assessments and refunds, as well as taxpayers’ methods of appeals.  These changes 
impact almost every part of the NCDOR, and significantly impact taxpayer rights, so please 
take a few moments to review this portion of the document.  In addition, we want to alert you 
that the General Assembly chose to use a number of effective dates for these changes, 
including altering tax years in the future.  These dates are noted in the appropriate portion of 
the narrative, so please read these fully. 
 

In terms of tax policy changes, the General Assembly permanently extended the 
4.25% State sales tax rate, and gave counties the option of enacting an additional sales tax 
or a land transfer tax.  Legislation was also passed to reinforce the State’s position on 
captive real estate investment trusts (REITs) and further clarify the requirements for taking a 
tax credit for conservation donations to limit abuse of these incentives.  A new tax credit was 
created for biodiesel producers, while the incentive for research and development was 
enhanced.  The General Assembly also chose to create a North Carolina Work Opportunity 
Tax Credit (WOTC) equal to 6% of the federal WOTC.  In a similar move to follow the federal 
government, the legislature created a State Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) equal to 3.5% 
of the federal EITC.  (This provision has a delayed effective date).  The long-term care tax 
credit was re-instituted, a tax credit for adoption was created, and special tax treatment was 
created for software publishers, property coverage contracts, aircraft parts manufacturers 
and intermodal rail facilities. 
 

These are just a few of the many changes outlined in this 82-page document.  I hope 
you find this helpful over the coming years.     
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SECTION 

1 
PERSONAL TAXES 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

ESTATE TAX  
  
  

This section was amended to clarify that a person who fails to report a 
federal correction or determination is subject to the penalties in G.S. 
105-236. 

G.S. 105-32.8 – 
Federal Determination 
that Changes the 
Amount of Tax 
Payable to the State:    

(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; SB 
242, s. 6; S.L. 07-491.)    

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX  
 

  
This subdivision was added to require an addition to federal taxable 
income for the amount of a donation made to a nonprofit organization 
for which a credit is claimed under G.S. 105-129.16H.  G.S. 105-
129.16H provides tax credits to taxpayers who donate money to a tax-
exempt nonprofit organization for the purpose of providing funds for 
the organization to construct, purchase, or lease renewable energy 
property.   

G.S. 105-134.6(c)(5b) 
– Addition to Federal 
Taxable Income for 
Amounts Donated to 
Nonprofit Organization 
to Enable the Nonprofit 
to Acquire Renewable 
Energy Property:    

(Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; SB 3, 
s.13(c); S.L. 07- 397.)  
  

G.S. 105-134.6(d)(4) – 
Enhance North 
Carolina National 
College Savings 
Program (529 Plan):   

The 2006 General Assembly enacted legislation to allow a deduction 
of up to $750 ($1,500 on a joint return) for amounts contributed to the 
Parental Savings Trust Fund (North Carolina’s 529 Plan).   The 
deduction was effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2006, and was available only if the taxpayer’s adjusted gross income 
was less than the following amount for the taxpayer’s filing status 
(Married, filing jointly - $100,000; Head of household - $80,000; Single 
- $60,000; Married, filing separately - $50,000).  The legislation was 
subsequently amended by Session Law 2006-221 to increase the 
maximum deduction for contributions to the Fund to $2,000 ($4,000 on 
a joint return) effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2007.  

 
 
 
  

 The 2007 General Assembly amended this subdivision by removing 
the adjusted gross income limitations and increasing the maximum 
deduction for contributions to the Fund to $2,500 ($5,000 on a joint 
return).  Consequently, for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2007, the deduction is available to any taxpayer who made a qualifying  
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G.S. 105-134.6(d)(6) – 
Deduction for 
Voluntary Firefighters 
and Rescue Squad 
Workers:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-151.12 – 
Credit for Certain Real 
Property Donations:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

contribution to the Fund regardless of the amount of the taxpayer’s 
adjusted gross income. 
 
Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2012, the 
adjusted gross income limitations are reinstated. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; HB 
1473, ss. 31.19(c) and (d); S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This subdivision was added to allow a $250 deduction to a taxpayer 
who is an eligible firefighter or an eligible rescue squad worker.  In the 
case of a married couple filing a joint return, each spouse may qualify 
separately for the deduction.  An individual may not claim a deduction 
as both an eligible firefighter and as an eligible rescue squad worker in 
a single tax year.   
 
An eligible firefighter is defined as an unpaid member of a volunteer 
fire department who attended at least 36 hours of fire department drills 
and meetings during the taxable year.  An eligible rescue squad 
worker is defined as an unpaid member of a volunteer rescue or 
emergency medical services squad who attended at least 36 hours of 
rescue squad training and meetings during the taxable year.  
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; HB 
1473, s. 31.24(a); S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This section was amended to limit the application of this section to 
individuals or pass-through entities and to replace a generic, catch-all 
phrase, “other similar land conservation purposes,” with specific 
qualifying conservation purposes, including forestland or farmland 
conservation, watershed protection, conservation of natural areas, 
conservation of natural or scenic river areas, conservation of 
predominantly natural parkland, and historic landscape conservation.  
The statute also requires that in addition to the DENR certification that 
the type of land qualifies, a self-contained appraisal report or a 
summary appraisal report must be filed with the income tax return.  For 
fee simple absolute donations of real property, the taxpayer may 
provide documentation of the county’s appraised value of the property, 
as adjusted by the sales assessment ratio, in lieu of the an appraisal 
report. 
 
New subsection (a1) was added to clarify that the aggregate amount of 
credit allowed to an individual for one or more donations in a taxable 
year is $250,000.  In the case of property owned by a married couple 
filing a joint return, the new subsection increases the maximum credit 
to $500,000.  Previously, the maximum credit allowed to a married 
couple filing a joint return was $250,000. 
 
Prior to January 1, 2007, the $250,000 cap for individuals claiming a 
conservation tax credit was not applied to pass-through entities as a 
whole.  Instead, the pass-through entity received tax credits of up to  

 2



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-151.28 - 
Credit for Premiums 
Paid on Long-Term 
Care Insurance 
Reenacted: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

$250,000 for each owner making a qualifying donation.  This provision 
expired effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, 
so that pass-through entities claiming the conservation credit are 
limited to a maximum credit of $250,000.  However, the 2007 General 
Assembly added new subsection (a2), which increases the cap for 
pass-through entities to a maximum credit of $500,000, the same as 
the amount for corporations.  Consequently, each individual owner of a 
pass-through entity is allowed a credit equal to the owner’s allocated 
share of the credit, not to exceed $250,000.  Each corporation that is 
the owner of a pass-through entity is allowed a credit equal to the 
owner’s allocated share of the credit, not to exceed $500,000.   
 
If an owner’s share of a pass-through entity’s credit is limited due to 
the maximum allowable credit for a taxable year, the pass-through and 
its owners may not reallocate the unused credit among the other 
owners. 
   
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; HB 
463, s. 2, S.L. 07-309.) 
 
This statute, originally enacted in 1998 and repealed for tax years after 
2003, was reenacted for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2007.  The statute provides an individual income tax credit to a 
taxpayer who pays premiums during the taxable year on a qualified 
long-term care insurance contract that offers coverage to either the 
individual, the individual's spouse, or a dependent for whom the 
individual was allowed to deduct a personal exemption on the 
individual's federal tax return for the taxable year.   The credit is equal 
to 15% of the premium costs but may not exceed $350 for each 
contract for which the credit is claimed.    
 
As originally enacted in 1998, there were no income limitations with 
respect to who could claim the credit.  However, as reenacted, the 
long-term care credit is allowed only to a taxpayer whose adjusted 
gross income is less than the amount shown below for the taxpayer’s 
filing status.   
 

Married, filing jointly - $100,000 
Head of household - $80,000 
Single - $60,000 
Married, filing separately - $50,000   

 
A nonresident or part-year resident is allowed a prorated credit based 
on the percentage of the taxpayer's total income that is taxable for 
North Carolina income tax purposes. The credit may not exceed the 
taxpayer's tax for the year reduced by the sum of all other credits 
allowed. Any unused portion of the credit may not be carried over to 
subsequent years.  A credit is not allowed for any premiums paid with 
income that is excluded from gross income or that was deducted in 
arriving at federal taxable income.  
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G.S. 105-151.31 – 
Refundable Earned 
Income Tax Credit 
(Effective for tax years 
beginning on or after 
January 1, 2008):   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-151.32 – Tax 
Credit for Adoption 
Expenses:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The credit for premiums paid on long-term care insurance is not 
allowed to an estate or trust.  
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, and 
expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013; HB 
1473, ss. 31.5(a) and (b); S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This section was added to provide a State earned income tax credit to 
an individual who claims an earned income tax credit under section 32 
of the Internal Revenue Code.  The credit is 3.5% of the amount of the 
earned income tax credit the individual qualified for on the federal 
return.   
 
If the credit exceeds the tax liability reduced by the sum of all credits 
allowable, the excess is refunded to the taxpayer.  Section 3507 of the 
Internal Revenue Code, Advance Payment of Earned Income Credit, 
does not apply to the State earned income tax credit. 
 
A nonresident or part-year resident is allowed a prorated credit based 
on the percentage of the taxpayer's total income that is taxable for 
North Carolina income tax purposes. 
 
The earned income tax credit is not allowed to an estate or trust. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, and 
expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013; HB 
1473, ss. 31.4(a) and (b); S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This section was added to provide an adoption tax credit to an 
individual who is allowed a federal adoption tax credit under section 23 
of the Internal Revenue Code.  The credit is 50% of the amount of the 
federal credit. 
 
A nonresident or part-year resident is allowed a prorated credit based 
on the percentage of the taxpayer's total income that is taxable for 
North Carolina income tax purposes.  The credit may not exceed the 
taxpayer's tax for the year reduced by the sum of all other credits 
allowed. Any unused credit may be carried forward for the next 
succeeding five years. 
 
The tax credit for adoption expenses is not allowed to an estate or 
trust. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, and 
expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013; HB 
1473, ss. 31.6(a) and (b); S.L. 07-323.) 
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G.S. 105-159 – 
Federal Corrections:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-163.6A – 
Federal Corrections:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-163.9 – 
Conforming Change:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-197.1 – 
Federal Corrections:   
 
 

This section was amended to remove language on which the 
Department relied to make any corrections to a taxpayer’s North 
Carolina income tax return when a federal determination changed the 
taxpayer’s federal taxable income.  As amended and specifically stated 
in G.S. 105-241.10, the Department may assess additional tax that 
results only from adjustments related to the federal determination.  A 
proposed assessment may not include an amount that is outside the 
scope of this liability.  
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; SB 
242, s. 16, S.L. 07-491.) 
 

WITHHOLDING TAX 
 
Previously, if the amount of taxes an employer was required to 
withhold and pay under the Code was corrected or otherwise 
determined by the federal government, the employer had two years to 
file a return reflecting the corrected or determined amount.  This 
section was amended to reduce to six months the time allowed to file a 
return reflecting the corrected or determined amount. (This change is a 
technical change and conforms to the changes made last year to other 
federal corrections statutes.) 
 
The section was also amended to remove language on which the 
Department relied to make any corrections to an employer’s State 
withholding tax return when a federal determination changed the 
amount that is required to be withheld and paid under the Code.  As 
amended and specifically stated in G.S. 105-241.10, the Department 
may assess additional tax that results only from adjustments related to 
the federal determination.  A proposed assessment may not include an 
amount that is outside the scope of this liability.  
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; SB 
242, s. 17, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This section was amended to delete the references to repealed G.S. 
105-266 and replace them with references to new G.S. 105-241.6 and 
105-241.21.   
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; SB 
242, s. 18, S.L. 07-491.) 
 

GIFT TAX 
 
The section was amended to remove language on which the 
Department relied to make any corrections to a taxpayer’s net gifts 
when a federal determination changed the net gifts.  As amended and 
specifically stated in G.S. 105-241.10, the Department may assess 
additional tax that results only from adjustments related to the federal  
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G.S. 105-163.011(c) – 
Application Process:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-163.015 – 
Sunset Extended:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

determination.  A proposed assessment may not include an amount 
that is outside the scope of this liability.  
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; SB 
242, s. 22, S.L. 07-491.) 
 

TAX CREDITS FOR QUALIFIED 
BUSINESS INVESTMENTS 
 
Under prior law, the date for filing a credit application was April 15 of 
the year following the calendar year in which the investment was 
made.  However, a taxpayer could extend the deadline to September 
15 by filing a written request for extension by April 15.  An application 
not filed by April 15, or by September 15 with a valid extension, was 
not accepted.   
 
Under the new law, the extension provisions have been repealed.  The 
date by which an application should be filed remains April 15.  
However, an application will be considered timely if filed by October 15 
of the year following the calendar year in which the investment was 
made.  An application filed after October 15 will not be accepted.  
  
(Effective January 1, 2008 and applies to applications filed on or after 
that date; HB 1598, s. 2, S.L. 07-422.) 
 
The credit for qualified business investments was scheduled to sunset 
for investments made on or after January 1, 2008.  The credit now 
sunsets for investments made on or after January 1, 2011. 
 
(Effective August 23, 2007; HB 1598, s. 1, S.L. 07-422.) 
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SECTION 

2 
C O R P O R A T E ,  E X C I S E  A N D   
I N S U R A N C E  T A X  

 
 

 
 
 

  

GROSS RECEIPTS 
AMUSEMENT TAX 

 
 
 
 

  
This subsection was amended to clarify that a “nonprofit arts 
organization”, exempt from the gross receipts tax on amusements, 
is one that is exempt from income tax under G.S. 105-130.11(a)(3) 
and is primarily organized to offer choral and theatrical 
performances. 

G.S. 105-40(7a) – 
Clarifying Change: 
 
 
 

  
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 2, S.L. 07-527.)  
  
This subsection was amended to clarify that the duration of a single 
arts festival is limited to seven consecutive days.   Without the 
clarification, a person could hold an event every weekend for three 
weeks and call it one festival, circumventing the provision in the 
statute that limits the number of arts festivals per year to two. 

G.S. 105-40(10) – 
Clarifying Change: 
 
 
 

  
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 3.(a), S.L. 07-527.)  
  
This subsection was amended to clarify that the duration of a single 
community festival is limited to seven consecutive days.   Without 
the clarification, a person could hold an event every weekend for 
three weeks and call it one festival, circumventing the provision in 
the statute that limits the number of community festivals per year to 
one. 

G.S. 105-40(11) – 
Clarifying Change: 
 
 
 
 

  
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 3.(b), S.L. 07-527.)   
  

PRIVILEGE TAXES  
 

  
This statute, which addressed the manner of obtaining a privilege 
license from the Department, was repealed.  The statutory process 
to obtain a license was added to G.S. 105-109(b). 

G.S. 105-104 – 
Repealed:   

  
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 2, S.L. 07-491.)   
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G.S. 105-109(b) – 
Process to Obtain a 
Privilege License:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chapter 58, Article 92 – 
Fire Safe Cigarettes: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-113.35 – Tax 
on Tobacco Products 
Other Than Cigarettes; 
Use of Proceeds: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
This subsection was amended to include the statutory process for 
obtaining a privilege license that had previously been addressed in 
repealed G.S. 105-104.  To obtain a license, a person must submit 
an application for the license and payment of the required tax to the 
Department.  An application for a license is considered a return.  
Upon receipt of the completed application and payment, the 
Department must issue the license. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 7, S.L. 07-491.) 
 

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX 
 
This new article adopts a cigarette fire safety standard already 
implemented in New York and other states as a safety measure to 
reduce the likelihood that cigarettes will cause fires and result in 
deaths, injuries, and property damage.  The manufacturer must test 
cigarettes and file a certification with the Department of Insurance 
that the cigarettes meet the safety standards.  Each package must 
be marked to indicate compliance with the safety act.  Inventory on 
hand is exempt from the marking requirement.  However, the 
retailer or wholesaler must have documentation to confirm that the 
cigarettes were purchased prior to the effective date and that the 
quantity purchased was comparable to the cigarettes purchased 
during the same period of the prior year.  The act requires 
distributors, agents, and retail dealers to submit to inspection of the 
products by the Commissioner of Insurance, the Secretary of 
Revenue, or the Attorney General, and their employees.  The act 
allows for seizure of cigarettes in violation of this act by any law 
enforcement personnel or duly authorized representative of the 
Commissioner of Insurance.  Seized contraband is to be turned 
over to the Department of Revenue for destruction after the 
manufacturer is given the opportunity to inspect the cigarettes. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2010; HB 1785, s. 1, S.L. 07-451.) 
 
This section was amended to increase the tax rate on other tobacco 
products (OTP) from 3% of the cost price of products to 10%.  The 
7% increase is to be credited to the newly established University 
Cancer Research Fund.  A wholesale or retail dealer of OTP who 
has inventory on hand on the effective date of the tax rate increase 
is subject to the additional “floor” tax on those products.  The 
additional tax must be reported within 20 days after the date of the 
increase. 
 
(Tax rate increase effective October 1, 2007; HB 1473, s. 6.23(a), 
floor tax provisions; s. 6.23(d), S.L. 07-323.) 
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G.S. 105-113.82(a) – 
Clarifying Change: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-116(b) – Time 
for Paying Tax by 
Electric Power 
Companies:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-122(a) – Due 
Date:   
 
 
 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE 
LICENSE AND EXCISE TAXES 
 
Statutorily determined percentages of the excise taxes collected on 
malt beverages, fortified and unfortified wines are distributed 
annually to qualifying local governments. This subsection was 
amended to clarify that the term “net amount”, the amount to which 
the percentages are applied, means gross collections minus 
refunds and amounts credited to the Department of Commerce for 
the North Carolina Wine and Grape Growers Council. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 4, S.L. 07-527.) 
 

FRANCHISE TAX 
 
Under prior law, an electric power company paid its franchise tax 
due under G.S. 105-116 quarterly, monthly, or semimonthly based 
on when it was required to pay its sales and use tax.   
 
As amended, an electric power company that is consistently liable 
for less than $100 per month in franchise tax is required to pay its 
tax on a quarterly basis.  The tax is due at the same time the 
quarterly return is due.  An electric power company that is 
consistently liable for more than $100 per month in franchise tax is 
required to pay its tax on a monthly basis.  The tax is due by the 
20th day of the month following the calendar month for which the 
payment applies.  In addition, if an electric power company’s liability 
is consistently at least $10,000 per month, the electric power 
company must prepay the next month’s tax liability at the same time 
that it is paying the current month’s liability.  The prepayment must 
equal at least 65% of any of the following: 
 

o The amount of tax due for the current month. 
o The amount of tax due for the same month in the preceding 

year. 
o The average monthly amount of tax due in the preceding 

calendar year. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 1915, s. 10, S.L. 06-33.) 
 
This subdivision was amended to change the due date of franchise 
tax returns that are filed on an annual basis to the 15th day of the 
fourth month following the end of the corporation’s income year.   
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 10, S.L. 07-491.  Note:  This 
change conforms to the change in the due date for corporate  
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G.S. 105-122(c) – 
Authority for a Taxpayer 
to Petition the 
Augmented Tax Review 
Board to Consider an 
Alternative Method of 
Apportionment 
Repealed:   
 
G.S. 105-122(c1)(2) – 
Alternative 
Apportionment: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-122.1 – Credit 
for Additional Annual 
Report Fees Paid by 
Limited Liability 
Companies Subject to 
Franchise Tax: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

income tax returns in G.S. 130.17(b), which is effective for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2008.  The annual franchise 
tax return and the corporate income tax return are filed by a 
taxpayer on the same tax form; therefore, the due date of those two 
tax returns must be the same.  The Department is proceeding under 
the belief that the effective date of the change to the due date for 
the franchise tax return is a technical error.  The Department will 
recommend that the technical error be corrected by the 2008 
session of the General Assembly.  Franchise tax returns and 
corporate income tax returns filed in 2008 will be due on the 15th 
day of the third month following the end of the corporation’s income 
year.) 
 
 
This subdivision was repealed to conform to the repeal of the 
statute authorizing the Tax Review Board. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 2, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
 
 
 
This subdivision was amended to grant the Secretary of Revenue 
authority to approve an alternative method of apportionment if the 
taxpayer establishes by clear and cogent evidence that the 
statutory formula operates to subject a greater portion of the capital 
stock base to tax than is attributable to its business in the State.  
This authority was formerly under the purview of the Augmented 
Tax Review Board.  If granted, the order can apply to no more than 
three years.  If denied, the Secretary’s decision is final and is not 
subject to administrative or judicial review.  A corporation 
authorized to use an alternative formula may apportion its capital 
stock base in accordance with the alternative method or the 
statutory method.  
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 11, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This subsection was amended to make a conforming change to a 
cross-reference to the statute that sets the corporation annual 
report fee.  G.S. 55-1-22(a) was amended to add a subsection to 
impose an $18 fee for electronically filed annual reports.  The 
traditional paper report fee is increased to $25.  The allowable 
credit is the difference between the annual report fee the limited 
liability company has to pay and the annual report fee that a 
corporation pays if it files a paper report. 
 
(Statutory reference effective for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2007; HB 1473, s. 30.6(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
 
 



 

 11

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.2A(a)- 
Technical Change: 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.2A(d) – 
Report: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.16D(b1) – 
Credit for Constructing 
Renewable Fuel 
Facilities: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.16E – 
Credit for Small 
Business Employee 
Health Insurance:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

TAX INCENTIVES FOR NEW 
AND EXPANDING 
BUSINESSES 
 
This section was amended to clarify that Article 3A is repealed for 
activities that occur in taxable years beginning on or after January 
1, 2007. 
 
(Effective August 30, 2007; HB 1595, s. 5, S.L. 07-515.) 
 
This subsection was amended to set June 1, 2007 as the date for 
the Department of Commerce to issue its final impact study report 
regarding the Article 3A credits. 
 
(Effective August 30, 2007; HB 1595, s. 4, S.L. 07-515.) 
 

BUSINESS AND ENERGY TAX 
CREDITS 
 
Under prior law, a taxpayer who, after initially qualifying for the 
alternative production credit, failed to meet the requirements for that 
section forfeited the entire credit even if the taxpayer qualified for 
the lesser production credit.  This section was amended to permit 
the taxpayer to limit the forfeiture of the alternative production credit 
to the amount claimed in excess of the credit that could be claimed 
under the standard production credit.  The taxpayer is liable for 
taxes avoided as a result of the alternative credit.  Tax and interest 
are due within 30 days after the forfeiture. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2007; HB 1473, s. 31.9, S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This section was added to Article 3B to provide a tax credit to a 
small business that provides health insurance for all of its eligible 
employees during the taxable year.   
 
Subsection (a) provides that a taxpayer provides health benefits if it 
pays at least 50% of the premiums for health care coverage that 
equals or exceeds the minimum provisions of the basic health care 
plan of coverage recommended by the Small Employer Carrier 
Committee pursuant to G.S. 58-50-125 or if its employees have 
qualifying existing coverage.  The credit is limited to insurance paid 
for an eligible employee whose total wages or salary from the 
business does not exceed $40,000 on an annual basis.  The 
amount of credit per employee is the lesser of $250 or the 
taxpayer’s actual cost of providing health benefits for the taxable 
year. 
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G.S. 105-129.16E(b) – 
Technical Change: 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.16F – 
New Tax Credit for 
Biodiesel Producers:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.16G – 
New Work Opportunity 
Tax Credit:   
 
 

Subsection (b) requires nonresident or part-year resident individuals 
and multistate corporations to reduce the credit calculated under 
subsection (a).  An individual determines his credit by multiplying 
the calculated credit in subsection (a) by the percentage of total 
income subject to North Carolina tax determined pursuant to G.S. 
105-134.5(b) or (c).  A corporation determines its credit by 
multiplying the calculated credit in subsection (a) by the 
apportionment of apportionable income percentage determined 
pursuant to G.S. 105-130.4.    
 
Subsection (c) provides definitions for “eligible employee,” 
“qualifying existing coverage,” and “small business.”  “Eligible 
employee” is defined by cross-reference to G.S. 58-50-110.  
“Qualifying existing coverage” is defined by cross-reference to G.S. 
58-50-130(a)(4a).  “Small business” is defined as a taxpayer that 
employs no more than 25 eligible employees throughout the taxable 
year. 
 
Subsection (d) provides that the credit expires for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2009. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; 
SB 1741, s. 24.4(a), S.L. 06-66.) 
 
This subsection was amended to replace the term “business” with 
the term “apportionable” when referring to “business income.”  This 
conforms to the change in the definition of “business income” 
enacted by the 2002 General Assembly. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 5, S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This section was added to Article 3B to provide a tax credit to 
biodiesel providers that produce at least 100,000 gallons of 
biodiesel during the taxable year.  The credit is equal to the per 
gallon excise tax the producer paid on the biodiesel under Article 
36C of Chapter 105.  “Biodiesel” is defined for purposes of this 
section as “liquid fuel derived in whole from agricultural products, 
animal fats, or wastes from agricultural products or animal fats.”   
The credit does not apply to tax paid on diesel fuel included in a 
biodiesel blend.  The maximum annual credit is $500,000.  The 
credit expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2010. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
SB 1741, s. 24.8(a), S.L. 06-66.) 
 
This section was added to Article 3B to permit a taxpayer who is 
allowed a federal work opportunity tax credit under Part IV, Subpart 
F of the Internal Revenue Code to take a credit against its North 
Carolina income or franchise tax equal to 6% of the federal credit 
amount. 
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G.S. 105-129.16H – 
Credit for Donations to a 
Nonprofit Organization 
for Acquisition of 
Renewable Energy 
Property: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.35(b) – 
Allocation: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.55 – 
Credit for North Carolina 
Research and 
Development:   
 
 
 
 
 

(Effective January 1, 2007; HB 1473, s. 31.21, S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This section was added to Article 3B to allow a credit to a taxpayer 
who donates money to a tax-exempt nonprofit organization to 
construct, purchase, or lease renewable energy property.  The 
amount of the credit is the taxpayer’s proportionate share of the 
credit the nonprofit could have taken under G.S. 105-129.16A if the 
nonprofit were subject to tax.  The taxpayer must take the credit in 
the year the property is placed in service.  The installment 
requirements for nonresidential property in G.S. 105-129.16A do 
not apply.  The nonprofit organization must provide each taxpayer 
who made a donation a statement describing the property, setting 
out the cost of the property, the amount of the credit the 
organization could claim if it were subject to tax, and the taxpayer’s 
share of the credit.  A taxpayer claiming a credit under this section 
may not deduct this donation as a charitable contribution. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
SB 3, s. 13(a), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
Note: Two new tax credits were enacted as G.S. 105-129.16G.  
The Reviser of the Statutes has advised the Department that the 
credit for donations to a nonprofit organization for acquisition of 
renewable energy property will be codified as G.S. 105-129.16H.  
 

HISTORIC REHABILITATION 
TAX CREDITS 
 
This section was amended to remove the 2008 sunset on the pass-
through entity special allocation provisions, thereby making those 
provisions permanent. 
 
(Effective August 28, 2007; HB 1259, s. 1, S.L. 07-461.) 
 

RESEARCH AND 
DEVELOPMENT 
 
This section was amended to enhance the credit for qualified North 
Carolina research expenses by increasing the percentage used to 
determine the credit amount.  The percentage for small business 
and tier-one research was increased from 3% to 3.25%.  For other 
research, the percentage for expenses up to $50 million increased 
from 1% to 1.25%; for expenses from $50 million to $200 million, 
the percentage increased from 2% to 2.25%; and for expenses over 
$200 million, the percentage increased from 3% to 3.25%.  The  
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New Article 3J – Tax 
Credits for Growing 
Businesses:   
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.80 – 
Legislative Findings:   
 
G.S. 105-129.81 – 
Definitions:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

percentage for North Carolina university research expenses 
increased from 15% to 20%. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning January 1, 2007; HB 1473, s. 
31.8, S.L. 07-323.) 
 

TAX CREDITS FOR GROWING 
BUSINESSES 
 
This new Article was enacted to replace the tax credits generally 
available under Article 3A of Chapter 105 with more narrowly 
focused credits for job creation and business investment.  The 
Article consists of sections G.S. 105-129.80 through G.S. 105-
129.89.  The Article is effective for taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2007. 
 
This subsection sets out the legislative findings for why the tax 
credits in this Article are warranted. 
 
This section sets out the definitions that apply to Article 3J.   
 
Subdivision (1) defines “agrarian growth zone” by cross-reference 
to the definition of that term in G.S. 143B-437.10. The 2007 General 
Assembly made a technical change to correct the statutory 
reference.  The correct reference is G.S. 143B-437.010. 
 
Subdivision (2) defines “aircraft maintenance and repair” as “the 
provision of specialized maintenance or repair services for 
commercial aircraft or the rebuilding of commercial aircraft.” 
 
Subdivision (3) defines “air courier services” as “the furnishing of air 
delivery of individually addressed letters and packages for 
compensation, in interstate commerce, except by the United States 
Postal Service.” 
 
Subdivision (4) defines “business property” as “tangible personal 
property that is used in a business and capitalized under the Code.” 
 
Subdivision (5) defines “company headquarters” as “a corporate, 
subsidiary, or regional managing office, as defined by NAICS in 
United States industry 551114, that is responsible for strategic or 
organizational planning and decision making for the business on an 
international, national, or multistate regional basis.” 
 
Subdivision (6) defines “cost.”  For property owned by the taxpayer, 
cost is determined pursuant to regulations adopted under Code 
section 1012.  For property that the taxpayer leases from others, 
cost is the value as determined pursuant to G.S. 105-130.4(j)(2). 
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Subdivision (7) defines “customer service call center” as “the 
provision of support service by a business to its customers by 
telephone or other electronic means to support products or services 
of the business.  For the purposes of this definition, an 
establishment is primarily engaged in providing support services by 
telephone or other electronic means only if at least sixty percent 
(60%) of its calls are incoming or at least sixty percent (60%) of its 
other electronic communications are initiated by its customers.” 
 
Subdivision (8) defines “development tier” as “the classification 
assigned to an area pursuant to G.S. 143B-437.08.” 
 
Subdivision (9) defines “electronic shopping and mail order houses” 
as “an industry in electronic shopping and mail order houses 
industry group 4541 as defined by NAICS.” 
 
Subdivision (10) defines “establishment” by cross-reference to the 
definition of that term in 29 C.F.R. § 1904.46, as it existed on 
January 1, 2002. 
 
Subdivision (11) defines “full-time job” as “a position that requires at 
least 1,600 hours of work per year and is intended to be held by 
one employee during the entire year.  A full-time employee is an 
employee who holds a full-time job.” 
 
Subdivision (12) defines “hub” by cross-reference to the definition of 
that term in G.S. 105-164.3. 
 
Subdivision (13) defines “information technology and services” as 
“an industry in one of the following: 
 

a. Internet service providers, Web search portals, and data 
processing subsector 518 as defined by NAICS. 

b. Software publishers industry group 5112 as defined by 
NAICS. 

c. Computer systems design and related services industry 
group 5415 as defied by NAICS.” 

 
Subdivision (14) defines “long-term unemployed worker” as “an 
individual that has been totally unemployed for at least the 
preceding 26 consecutive weeks as evidenced by records 
maintained by the Employment Security Commission.” 
 
Subdivision (15) defines “manufacturing” as “an industry in 
manufacturing sectors 31 through 33, as defined by NAICS, but not 
including quick printing or retail bakeries.” 
 
Subdivision (16) defines “motorsports facility” as “a motorsports 
racetrack classified in the United States racetrack national industry 
711212, as defined by NAICS.” 
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Subdivision (17) defines “motorsports racing team” as “a 
professional racing team primarily engaged in the research and 
development, design, manufacture, repair, maintenance, and 
operation of motor vehicles used in live motorsports racing events 
before a paying audience.” 
 
Subdivision (18) defines “NAICS” as “the North American Industry 
Classification System adopted by the United States Office of 
Management and Budget as of December 31, 2002.” 
 
Subdivision (19) defines “new job” as “a full-time job that represents 
a net increase in the number of the taxpayer’s employees 
statewide.  A new employee is an employee who holds a new job.  
The term does not include a job currently located in this State that is 
transferred to the business from a related member of the business.” 
 
Subdivision (20) defines “overdue tax debt” by cross-reference to 
the term as defined in G.S. 105-243.1.” 
 
Subdivision (21) defines “purchase” by cross-reference to the term 
as defined in Code section 179. 
 
Subdivision (22) defines “related member” by cross-reference to the 
term as defined in G.S. 105-130.7A. 
 
Subdivision (23) defines “research and development” as “an 
industry in scientific research and development services industry 
group 5417 as defined by NAICS.” 
 
Subdivision (24) defines “urban progress zone” as “the classification 
assigned to an area pursuant to G.S. 143B-437.09.” 
 
Subdivision (25) defines “warehousing” as “an industry in 
warehousing and storage subsector 493 as defied by NAICS.” 
 
Subdivision (26) defines “wholesale trade” as “an industry in 
wholesale trade sector 42 as defined by NAICS.” 
 
Subsection (a) of this section provides that this Article is repealed 
effective for business activities that occur on or after January 1, 
2011.  Subsections (b), (c), and (d) require the Department of 
Commerce to study the effect of this Article’s tax credits on tax 
equity and the effectiveness of the credits and to report the results 
and any recommendations to the General Assembly biennially 
beginning June 1, 2009. 
 
Subsection (a) of this section provides that a taxpayer is eligible for 
a credit under this Article only with respect to activities occurring at 
an establishment whose primary activity is one of the twelve listed 
below.  The primary activity of an establishment is determined 
based on the establishment’s principal product or group of products  
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produced or distributed, or services rendered.  The twelve primary 
activities are: 

 
1. aircraft maintenance and repair. 
2. air courier services hub. 
3. company headquarters, but only if the additional 

eligibility requirements of subsection (b) of this section 
are satisfied. 

4. customer service call centers. 
5. electronic shopping and mail order houses. 
6. information technology and services. 
7. manufacturing. 
8. motorsports facility. 
9. motorsports racing team. 
10. research and development. 
11. warehousing. 
12. wholesale trade. 
 

Subsection (b) provides additional eligibility requirements for 
company headquarters.  The taxpayer must create at least 75 new 
jobs at the company headquarters within a 24-month period.  
Meeting the job creation requirement makes the taxpayer eligible 
for credits with respect to the company headquarters for three 
taxable years beginning with the year in which the job creation 
requirement is satisfied.  After the three-year eligibility period 
expires, the taxpayer can qualify for a new three-year eligibility 
period by creating an additional 75 new jobs within a 24-month 
period.  Creating an additional 75 jobs during a three-year eligibility 
period does not extend the eligibility period. 
 
Subsection (c) requires a taxpayer to meet a wage standard to be 
eligible for credits in a development tier two or three area.  If the 
activity occurs in a tier one area, the taxpayer does not have to 
meet a wage standard. 
 
Jobs that are in tier two or three areas that are also within an urban 
progress zone or an agrarian growth zone must pay an average 
weekly wage that is at least equal to 90% of the lesser of the 
average wage for all private employers in the State and the average 
wage for all private employers in the county.  Jobs that are in tier 
two or three areas and are not within an urban progress zone or an 
agrarian growth zone must pay an average weekly wage that is at 
least equal to the lesser of 110% of the average wage for all private 
employers in the State and 90% of the average wage for all private 
employers in the county.  The Department of Commerce will publish 
the wage standard for each county on an annual basis. 
 
In making the wage calculation, the taxpayer must include any jobs 
that were filled for at least 1,600 hours during the calendar year the 
taxpayer engages in the activity that qualifies for the credit even if 
those jobs were not filled at the time the taxpayer claims the credit.   
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Only full-time jobs are included in the calculation.  A taxpayer with a 
taxable year other than a calendar year must use the wage 
standard for the calendar year in which the taxable year begins. 
 
Subsection (d) requires a taxpayer to provide health insurance for 
all of the full-time jobs at the establishment with respect to which a 
credit is claimed when the taxpayer engages in the activity that 
qualifies for the credit and for each subsequent year in which an 
installment or carryforward of a credit is claimed.  If the taxpayer 
ceases to provide health insurance for the jobs during a taxable 
year, the credit expires and the taxpayer may not take any 
remaining installments or carryforwards of the credit.  A taxpayer 
provides health insurance if it pays at least 50% of the premiums for 
health care coverage that equals or exceeds the minimum 
provisions of the basic health care plan of coverage recommended 
by the Small Employer Carrier Committee pursuant to G.S. 58-50-
125. 
 
Subsection (e) requires a taxpayer to have a good environmental 
record.  Having a good environmental record means that, at the 
time the taxpayer claims a credit, there is no pending 
administrative, civil, or criminal enforcement action against the 
taxpayer based on alleged significant violations of an environmental 
program administered by the Department of Environment and 
Natural Resources and there has been no final determination of the 
taxpayer's responsibility for one of these violations within the last 
five years. 
 
Subsection (f) requires a taxpayer to have a good OSHA record.  
Having a good OSHA record means that, at the time the taxpayer 
claims a credit, there are no citations against the taxpayer under the 
Occupational Safety and Health Act at the establishment for which 
the credit is claimed that have become final orders within the past 
three years for willful serious violations or for failing to abate serious 
violations. 
 
Subsection (g) provides that a taxpayer is ineligible for an Article 3I 
tax credit if the taxpayer has an overdue tax debt at the time the 
taxpayer claims an installment or carryforward of a credit. 
 
Subsection (h) provides for expiration of the credits allowed under 
this Article if, during the period that installments of a credit accrue, 
the taxpayer is no longer engaged in an eligible business at the 
establishment or if the number of jobs of an eligible company 
headquarters falls below the minimum number required in 
subsection (b).  If credits expire, the taxpayer may not take any 
future installments of the credits but may continue to claim any 
unused installments of the credits carried forward from earlier 
years.  A change in the development tier designation of the location 
of an establishment does not result in expiration of credits. 
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Subsection (i) provides for forfeiture of the credits allowed under 
this Article if the taxpayer was not eligible for the credits for the 
calendar year in which the taxpayer engaged in the activity for 
which the credit was claimed.  A taxpayer forfeits the credit for 
investment in real property (G.S. 105-129.89) if the taxpayer fails to 
timely create the number of required new jobs or to timely make the 
required level of investment.  A taxpayer that forfeits a credit is 
liable for all past taxes avoided as the result of claiming the credit, 
plus interest at the rate established under G.S. 105-241.1(i) 
computed from the date the taxes would have been due if the credit 
had not been allowed.  The past taxes and interest are due 30 days 
after the date the credit is forfeited.  If the taxes and interest are not 
paid by the due date, the taxpayer is subject to the penalties 
provided in G.S. 105-236. 
 
Subsection (j) addresses change in ownership of a business.  For 
purposes of this subsection, the term “business” means a taxpayer 
or an establishment.  The sale, merger, consolidation, conversion, 
acquisition or bankruptcy of a business or any transaction by which 
a business reformulates itself as another business does not create 
new eligibility with respect to credits for which the predecessor was 
not eligible.  The successor business can take any credit or carried-
over portion of a credit that its predecessor could have taken if the 
predecessor had a tax liability.   
 
The acquisition of a business is a new investment that creates new 
eligibility for credits if (1) the business closed before it was 
acquired; (2) the business was required to file a notice of plant 
closing or mass layoff under the federal Worker Adjustment and 
Retraining Notification Act before it was acquired; or (3) the 
business was acquired by its employees directly or indirectly 
through an acquisition company under an employee stock option 
transaction. 
 
Subsection (k) provides that a taxpayer can request in writing from 
the Department of Revenue specific advice regarding eligibility for a 
credit under this Article.  A taxpayer may not legally rely upon 
advice offered by any other State or local government official or 
employee regarding eligibility for a credit. 
 
Subsection (l) authorizes a taxpayer to sign a letter of commitment 
with the Department of Commerce to undertake specific activities at 
a specific site within the next two years.  The letter of commitment 
must be signed after the Department of Commerce calculates the 
development tier designations for the next year but before the 
beginning of the year.  If the taxpayer engages in activities within 
the next two years as provided in the letter of commitment, the 
taxpayer can calculate its credits based on the establishment’s 
development tier designation and urban progress zone or agrarian 
growth zone designation in the year in which the letter of 
commitment was signed.  If the taxpayer does not meet the terms of  
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the letter of commitment, it may still qualify for credits but must use 
the development tier designation and urban progress zone or 
agrarian growth zone designation in effect at the time the taxpayer 
engages in the activity. 
 
Subsection (a) provides that the tax credits in this Article may be 
claimed against the franchise tax, the corporate or individual 
income tax, and the gross premiums tax.  The taxpayer may divide 
a credit among those taxes.  Carryforwards of a credit may also be 
divided among those taxes without regard to which taxes the credit 
was claimed against in earlier years. 
 
Subsection (b) provides that the credits may not exceed 50% of the 
cumulative amount of taxes against which they may be claimed, 
reduced by the sum of all other tax credits allowed against those 
taxes.  This limitation applies to the cumulative amount of credit, 
including carryforwards. 
 
Subsection (c) provides that, as a general rule, the unused portion 
of the credit for creating jobs or the credit for investing in business 
property may be carried forward for five years and the unused 
portion of the credit for investing in real property may be carried 
forward for fifteen years.  A twenty-year carryforward applies if the 
taxpayer obtains a written determination from the Department of 
Commerce that the taxpayer is expected to purchase or lease, and 
place in service in connection with an eligible business within a two-
year period, at least $150,000,000 worth of business and real 
property.  If the taxpayer does not make the required level of 
investment, the carryforward period is reduced from twenty to five 
years. 
 
Subsection (d) establishes a special statute of limitations for 
claming tax credits under this Article.  A taxpayer must claim a 
credit within six months after the date set by statute for the filing of 
the return that coincides with the year that the taxpayer qualified for 
the credit, including any extensions of that date. 
 
Subsection (a) imposes a fee of $500.00 for each type of credit the 
taxpayer intends to claim with respect to an establishment.  There is 
no fee for a credit in an enterprise tier one or tier two area.  The fee 
is due at the time the return is due for the taxable year in which the 
taxpayer engaged in an activity for which the taxpayer is eligible for 
a credit.  No credit will be allowed for a taxable year until all 
outstanding fees have been paid. 
 
Subsection (b) requires the Department of Revenue to publish a 
report by May 1 of each year providing the following information 
itemized by credit and by taxpayer for the 12-month period ending 
the preceding December 31: 
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a. The number and amount of credits generated and taken  
     for each credit allowed in this Article. 

b. The number and development tier area of new jobs with  
      respect to which credits were generated and to which  
      credits were taken. 
c. The cost and development tier area of business property  

with respect to which credits were generated and to  
which credits were taken. 

d. The cost and development tier area of real property with  
respect to which credits were generated and to which 
credits were taken. 
 

Subsection (a) requires a taxpayer claiming a tax credit under 
Article 3I to maintain and make available for inspection any 
information or records required by the Secretary of Revenue. The 
burden of proving eligibility for a credit and the amount of the credit 
rests upon the taxpayer. 
 
Subsection (b) requires a taxpayer claiming a tax credit under 
Article 3I to provide, in a form prescribed by the Department of 
Revenue, certain qualifying information demonstrating that the 
taxpayer has met the conditions for qualifying for a credit and any 
carryforwards under affirmation with the tax return. 
 
Subsection (a) provides a tax credit for creating jobs to a taxpayer 
that meets the eligibility requirements in G.S. 105-129.83 and 
satisfies the threshold requirements for new jobs in subsection (b).  
The amount of credit for each new job is $12,500 if the job is in a 
development tier one county; $5,000 if the job is in a development 
tier two county; and $750 if the job is in a development tier three 
county.  The amount of credit is increased by $1,000 if the job is 
located in an urban progress zone or an agrarian growth zone.  The 
amount of credit is increased by an additional $2,000 if a job 
located in an urban progress zone or an agrarian growth zone is 
filled by a resident of that zone or by a long-term unemployed 
worker. 
 
Subsection (b) sets out the threshold requirements for new job 
creation that a taxpayer must meet to be eligible for the credit.  A 
taxpayer must create at least 5 new jobs if the establishment is in a 
development tier one county; 10 new jobs if the establishment is in 
a development tier two county; and 15 new jobs if the establishment 
is in a development tier three county.  If the new job is located in an 
urban progress zone or an agrarian growth zone, then the 
development tier one threshold applies.  If a taxpayer creates new 
jobs at more than one establishment in the same county during the 
year, the threshold applies to the aggregate number of jobs created.  
If a taxpayer creates new jobs at eligible establishments in more 
than one county during the year, the threshold applies separately to 
the aggregate number of jobs created in each county. 
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Subsection (b) was revised during the 2007 session of the General 
Assembly to make a technical change.  Language was added to 
clarify that new jobs created in an urban progress zone or an 
agrarian growth zone are not aggregated with jobs created at any 
other eligible establishments regardless of county. 
 
Subsection (c) provides that a job is considered located in a county, 
an urban progress zone or an agrarian growth zone if more than 
50% of the employee’s duties are performed in the county or the 
zone.  The taxpayer determines the number of new jobs created 
during the taxable year by subtracting the average number of full-
time employees the taxpayer had in this State during the 12-month 
period preceding the beginning of the taxable year from the average 
number of full-time employees the taxpayer has in the State during 
the taxable year. 
 
Subsection (d) provides that the credit may be taken in four equal 
installments beginning in the tax year following the year in which the 
new jobs were created.  If a job is no longer filled during any of the 
four installment years, the credit related to that job expires and the 
taxpayer may not take any remaining installments of the credit with 
respect to that job.  If, in one of the installment years, the number of 
the taxpayer’s full-time employees falls below the sum of the 
applicable threshold in subsection (b) and the number of full-time 
employees the taxpayer had in the year before the year in which the 
taxpayer qualified for the credit, the credits with respect to all of the 
new jobs expire and the taxpayer may not take any remaining 
installments of the credits.  The taxpayer may continue to claim any 
unused portions of previous installments of the credit that are 
carried forward under G.S. 105-129.84. 
 
Subsection (e) addresses transferred jobs.  Jobs that are 
transferred by the taxpayer from one area of the State to another 
area or are transferred to the taxpayer from a related member of the 
taxpayer are not considered new jobs.  If in one of the four 
installment years a job for which a credit is claimed is moved to an 
area in a higher-numbered development tier or out of an urban 
progress zone or an agrarian growth zone, the remaining 
installments are allowed only to the extent they would have been 
allowed if the job was initially created in the area to which it was 
moved.  If the job is moved to a lower-numbered development tier 
or into an urban progress zone or an agrarian growth zone, the 
remaining installments are calculated as if the job was initially 
created in the area to which it was moved. 
 
Subsection (f) provides that, for purposes of the new jobs credit, the 
taxpayer satisfies the wage standard requirement only if the 
taxpayer satisfies the requirement with respect to both the new 
jobs, considered collectively, for which a credit is claimed and all of 
the jobs at the establishment, considered collectively, with respect 
to which a credit is claimed. 



 

 23

 
 
 
 
 

G.S. 105-129.88 – 
Credit for Investing in 
Business Property:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Subsection (g) prohibits a taxpayer from claiming a credit under this 
section with respect to jobs for which the taxpayer claimed a credit 
under G.S. 105-129.8. 
 
Subsection (a) provides a tax credit for investing in business 
property to a taxpayer that meets the eligibility requirements in G.S. 
105-129.83, purchases or leases business property and places it in 
service in this State during the taxable year, and satisfies the 
threshold requirements in subsection (c).  Business property is 
eligible if it is not leased to another.  The amount of credit is equal 
to the applicable percentage of the excess of the eligible investment 
amount over the applicable threshold.  The applicable percentage is 
7% in a development tier one county, 5% in a development tier two 
county, and 3.5% in a development tier three county.  If the 
business property is placed in service in an urban progress zone or 
an agrarian growth zone, the applicable percentage is the same as 
for a development tier one area.  The credit may be taken in four 
equal installments beginning in the tax year following the year in 
which the business property is placed in service. 
 
Subsection (b) defines “eligible investment amount” as the lesser of 
(i) the cost of the eligible business property and (ii) the amount by 
which the cost of all of the taxpayer’s eligible business property that 
is in service in the State on the last day of the taxable year exceeds 
the cost of all of the taxpayer’s eligible business property that was 
in service in the State on the last day of the base year.  The base 
year is that year of the preceding three taxable years in which the 
taxpayer had the most eligible business property in service in the 
State. 
 
Subsection (c) provides that the applicable threshold is $0 if the 
eligible business property is placed in service in a development tier 
one county; $1,000,000 if the business property is placed in service 
is in a development tier two county; and $2,000,000 if the business 
property is placed in service in a development tier three county.  If 
the business property is placed in service in an urban progress 
zone or an agrarian growth zone, the applicable percentage is the 
same as for a development tier one area.  If the taxpayer places 
eligible business property in service at more than one establishment 
in the same county during the taxable year, the threshold applies to 
the aggregate amount of eligible business property placed in 
service at all establishments in the county.  If a taxpayer places 
eligible business property in service at eligible establishments in 
more than one county during the year, the threshold applies 
separately to the aggregate amount of eligible business property 
placed in service in each county.  If a taxpayer places eligible 
business property in service at an eligible establishment over a two-
year period, the applicable threshold for the second taxable year is 
reduced by the eligible investment amount for the preceding year. 
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Subsection (c) was revised during the 2007 session of the General 
Assembly to make a technical change.  Language was added to 
clarify that business property placed in service in an urban progress 
zone or an agrarian growth zone is not aggregated with business 
property placed in service at any other eligible establishments 
regardless of county. 
 
Subsection (d) provides for expiration of the credit if, in one of the 
four installment years, the business property with respect to which 
the credit is claimed is disposed of.  The term “disposed of” means 
disposed of, taken out of service, or moved out of State.  In that 
case, the taxpayer may not take any remaining installments of the 
credit for that business property unless the cost of the disposed 
business property is offset in the same taxable year by new 
investment in eligible business property placed in service in the 
same county.  Business property is considered offset if there has 
been a net reduction in the cost of all of the taxpayer’s eligible 
business property in that county of 20% or less.  The taxpayer does 
not include the cost of business property placed in service during 
the taxable year for which the taxpayer claims an Article 3A or 
Article 3B tax credit in the cost of all eligible business property in 
the county for purposes of determining the net reduction.  The 
taxpayer may continue to claim any unused portions of previous 
installments of the credit that are carried forward under G.S. 105-
129.84. 
 
Subsection (e) addresses transferred property.  If, in one of the four 
installment years, business property with respect to which a credit is 
claimed is moved to a county in a higher-numbered development 
tier or out of an urban progress zone or an agrarian growth zone, 
the remaining installments are allowed only to the extent they would 
have been allowed if the property was initially placed in service in 
the area to which it was moved.  If the business property is moved 
to a lower-numbered development tier or into an urban progress 
zone or an agrarian growth zone, the remaining installments are 
calculated as if the property was initially placed in service in the 
area to which it was moved.  Note:  The original law regarding 
moving property to a higher-numbered development tier refers to 
moving property to an urban progress zone or an agrarian growth 
zone instead of out of a zone.  The subsection was revised during 
the 2007 session of the General Assembly to correct this technical 
error. 
 
Subsection (f) provides that, for purposes of the investment in 
business property credit, the taxpayer satisfies the wage standard 
requirement only if the taxpayer satisfies the requirement with 
respect to all of the jobs at the establishment, considered 
collectively, with respect to which a credit is claimed. 
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Subsection (g) prohibits a taxpayer from claiming a credit under this 
section with respect to business property for which the taxpayer 
claimed a credit under G.S. 105-129.9 or G.S. 105-129.9A. 
 
Subsection (a) provides a tax credit for investing in real property to 
a taxpayer that meets the eligibility requirements in G.S. 105-
129.83 and in subsection (b) of this section, purchases or leases 
real property in a development tier one area, and begins to use the 
property in an eligible business during the tax year.  The allowable 
credit is equal to 30% of the eligible investment amount.  Property is 
located in a development tier one area if the property was located in 
a development tier one area at the time the taxpayer applied to the 
Department of Commerce for a determination as required under 
subsection (b).  The eligible investment amount is the lesser of (i) 
the cost of the property and (ii) the amount by which the cost of all 
of the real property that the taxpayer is using in an eligible business 
in the State on the last day of the taxable year exceeds the cost of 
all of the taxpayer’s real property that was in use in an eligible 
business in the State on the last day of the base year.  The base 
year is that year of the preceding three taxable years in which the 
taxpayer was using the most real property in an eligible business in 
the State.  In the case of leased property, the cost of the property is 
considered to be the taxpayer’s lease payments over a seven-year 
period, plus any expenditures made by the taxpayer to improve the 
property before it is used by the taxpayer if the expenditures are not 
reimbursed or credited by the lessor.   
 
The credit may be taken in seven equal installments beginning in 
the tax year following the year in which the real property is first used 
in an eligible business.  When only a part of the property is first 
used in an eligible business in one year and another part is first 
used in a later year, the taxpayer is entitled to separate credits for 
the amounts used in each year.   
 
The basis in any real property for which a credit is allowed under 
this section is reduced by the amount of allowable credit. 
 
Subsection (b) provides that a taxpayer is eligible for the credit for 
investing in real property with respect to an establishment only if the 
taxpayer obtains a written determination from the Department of 
Commerce that the taxpayer is expected to purchase or lease and 
use in an eligible business at that establishment within a three-year 
period at least $10,000,000 of real property and that the 
establishment will create at least 200 new jobs within 2 years of the 
time the real property is first used in an eligible business.  If the 
taxpayer fails to timely make the required level of investment or 
create the required number of jobs, the taxpayer forfeits the credit. 
 
Subsection (c) addresses the mixed use of real property.  If a 
taxpayer uses only part of the property in an eligible business, the 
amount of the credit is reduced by multiplying the credit by the  
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percentage of the total square footage of the property that is used in 
an eligible business. 
 
Subsection (d) provides for expiration of the credit if, in one of the 
seven installment years, the business property with respect to 
which the credit is claimed is no longer used in an eligible business.  
In that case, the taxpayer may not take any remaining installments 
of the credit for that property.  If only part of the property is no 
longer used in an eligible business, the remaining installments of 
the credit are reduced by multiplying the credit by the fraction 
described in subsection (c).  If the number of jobs at the 
establishment is below 200 during the year in which the new job 
threshold was required to be met or in later installment years, the 
credit expires and the taxpayer may not take any remaining 
installments of the credit.  In any of these cases, the taxpayer may 
continue to claim any unused portions of previous installments of 
the credit that are carried forward under G.S. 105-129.84. 
 
Subsection (e) prohibits a taxpayer from claiming a credit under this 
section with respect to real property for which the taxpayer claimed 
a credit under G.S. 105-129.12 or G.S. 105-129.12A. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; 
HB 2170, s. 1.1, S.L. 06-252; technical change to G.S.105-129.81 
(1) effective July 1, 2007; SB 613, s. 33, S.L. 07-484; technical 
changes to G.S.105-129.87(b), G.S.105-129.88(c) and (e) effective 
August 31, 2007; SB 540, ss. 6-8, S.L. 07-527.) 
 

TAX INCENTIVES FOR 
RAILROAD INTERMODAL 
FACILITY 
 
This new Article was enacted to provide an income or franchise tax 
credit to a person who constructs or leases a railroad intermodal 
facility in North Carolina.   
 
This section sets out the definitions that apply to Article 3K.   
 
Subdivision (1) defines “costs of construction” as “the costs of 
acquiring and improving land, constructing buildings and other 
structures, and equipping the facility. In the case of property owned 
or leased by the taxpayer, cost is determined pursuant to 
regulations adopted under section 1012 of the Code.”  A technical 
correction was subsequently made to expand the definition to 
include the costs of “constructing and equipping rail tracks to the 
railroad intermodal facility that are necessary to access and support 
facility operations.” 
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Subdivision (2) defines “Eligible railroad intermodal facility” as “a 
railroad intermodal facility whose costs of construction exceed thirty 
million dollars.” 
 
Subdivision (3) defines “Intermodal facility” as “a facility where 
freight is transferred from one mode of transportation to another.” 
 
Subdivision (4) defines “Railroad intermodal facility” as “an 
intermodal facility whose primary purpose is to transfer freight 
between a railroad and another mode of transportation.” 
 
The credit is equal to 50% of amounts paid by the taxpayer towards 
the costs of construction or under the lease for a railroad intermodal 
facility placed in service during the taxable year.  The taxpayer 
elects the tax to which the credit will be applied when filing the 
return on which the credit is claimed.  The election is binding.  The 
credit is limited to 50% of the tax liability.  Any unused portion may 
be carried forward for ten years. 
 
This section mandates that the taxpayer maintain adequate records 
to substantiate the credit and must provide supporting 
documentation upon request by the Department. 
 
This section requires the Department to publish by May 1 each year 
the number of taxpayers claiming the Article 3K credit, the amount 
of the credit and to which tax it was applied, and the total cost to the 
General Fund. 
 
This section repeals Article 3K for taxable years beginning on or 
after January 1, 2038. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007 
and applies to eligible railroad intermodal facilities placed in service 
on or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.23(a), S.L. 07-323.  Technical 
correction to G.S. 105-129.95(1) effective January 1, 2007; HB 714, 
s. 14.7(a), S.L. 07-345.) 
 
 

CORPORATION INCOME TAX 
 
 
This subdivision was repealed to conform to the repeal of the 
statute authorizing the Tax Review Board. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 2, S.L. 07-491.) 
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G.S. 105-130.4(t1) – 
Alternative 
Apportionment: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.5(a)(18) – 
Addition for Expenses 
Used to Calculate Credit 
for a Film or Television 
Production Repealed:   
 
 
G.S. 105-130.5(a)(19) – 
Addition for Dividends 
Paid by a Captive REIT: 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.5(a)(20) – 
Addition for Donation to 
Nonprofit for Renewable 
Energy Property: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.5(b)(17) – 
Conforming Change: 
 
 
 

This subdivision was added to grant the Secretary of Revenue 
authority to approve an alternative method of apportionment if the 
taxpayer establishes by clear and cogent evidence that the 
statutory formula operates to subject a greater portion of the 
corporation’s income to tax than is attributable to its business in the 
State.  This authority was formerly under the purview of the 
Augmented Tax Review Board.  If granted, the order can apply to 
no more than three years.  If denied, the Secretary’s decision is 
final and is not subject to administrative or judicial review.  A 
corporation authorized to use an alternative formula may apportion 
its capital stock base in accordance with the alternative method or 
the statutory method.  
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 12, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This subdivision, which required an addition to federal taxable 
income for qualifying expenses for which a taxpayer claimed a 
credit under G.S. 105-130.47, was repealed. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; 
HB 1522, s. 1, S.L. 06-220.) 
 
This subdivision was added to require the addition to federal 
taxable income of the dividend paid deduction allowed to a captive 
Real Estate Investment Trust.  A captive REIT is defined in G.S. 
105-130.12. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; 
HB 1473, s. 31.18(a), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This subdivision was added to require a taxpayer who claimed a tax 
credit under G.S. 105-129.16H for a donation to a nonprofit 
organization for acquisition or lease of renewable energy property 
to make an addition to federal taxable income for the amount of the 
donation. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
SB 3, s. 13(b), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
Note:  Two new additions to federal taxable income were enacted 
as G.S. 105-130.5(a)(19).  The Reviser of the Statutes has advised 
the Department that the addition for the amount of the donation to a 
nonprofit organization for acquisition or lease of renewable energy 
property for which a tax credit is claimed under G.S. 105-129.16H 
will be codified as G.S. 105-130.5(a)(20). 
 
This subdivision was amended to conform to changes made to 
Chapter 62A regarding 911 charges remitted to the 911 Fund. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; HB 1755, s. 5, S.L. 07-383.) 
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G.S. 105-130.5(b)(23) – 
Subtraction for 
Dividends Received 
from a Captive REIT: 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.6A(e) – 
Conforming Changes:   
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.12 – 
Captive REIT: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.17(b) - 
Due Date:   
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.20 – 
Federal Corrections: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.34 - 
Conservation Tax Credit 
Modifications: 

This subdivision was added to permit the subtraction from federal 
taxable income of a dividend received from a captive Real Estate 
Investment Trust.  A captive REIT is defined in G.S. 105-130.12. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; 
HB 1473, s. 31.18(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This subsection was amended to change two references to G.S. 
105-241.1, which has been repealed effective January 1, 2008. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 13, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
The amendment to this section, along with the enactment of G.S. 
105-130.5(a)(19) and G.S. 105-130.5(b)(23), create an alternative 
to existing statutory authority to address a corporation’s attempt to 
avoid state taxes through the use of a real estate investment trust.  
A captive REIT is defined as one whose shares or certificates of 
beneficial interest is not regularly traded on an established 
securities market and are more than 50% owned or controlled by a 
person subject to NC corporate income tax.  REITs owned by other 
REITs or listed Australian property trusts are excluded from the 
definition of captive REIT.  The captive REIT is required to add back 
the dividends paid deduction.  The recipient of a dividend from the 
captive REIT will deduct the dividend received.   
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; 
HB 1473, s. 31.18(c), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This subdivision was amended to change the due date of the 
income tax return to the 15th day of the fourth month following the 
end of the corporation’s income year.   
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
SB 242, s. 14, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This section was amended to remove language on which the 
Department relied to make any corrections to a taxpayer’s North 
Carolina income tax return when a federal determination changed 
the taxpayer’s federal taxable income.  As amended and specifically 
stated in G.S. 105-241.10, the Department may only assess 
additional tax that results from adjustments related to the federal 
determination if the taxpayer timely reports the federal 
determination to the Department. A proposed assessment may not 
include an amount that is outside the scope of this liability. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; 
SB 242, s.15, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This section was amended to limit the application of this section to 
C Corporations and to replace a generic, catch-all phrase, “other 
similar land conservation purposes,” with specific qualifying  
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G.S. 105-130.41(c1)(2) 
– Technical Change: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.47(i) - 
Addition for Expenses 
Used to Calculate Credit 
for a Film or Television 
Production Repealed:   
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.48(e) – 
Technical Change: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.41 – Tax 
Imposed on Piped 
Natural Gas: 
 
 
 

conservation purposes, including forestland or farmland 
conservation, watershed protection, conservation of natural areas, 
conservation of natural or scenic river areas, conservation of 
predominantly natural parkland, and historic landscape 
conservation.  The statute also requires that in addition to the 
DENR certification that the type of land qualifies, a self-contained 
appraisal report or a summary appraisal report must be filed with 
the income tax return.  For fee simple absolute donations of real 
property, the taxpayer may provide documentation of the county’s 
appraised value of the property, as adjusted by the sales 
assessment ratio, in lieu of the an appraisal report. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, 
HB 463, s.1, S.L. 07-309.) 
 
This subdivision regarding the Department’s reporting requirements 
with regard to the credit for North Carolina State Ports Authority 
wharfage, handling, and throughput charges was amended to clarify 
that the amount to be reported is the total amount of charges 
assessed for the taxable year.   
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 26.(a), S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This subsection, which provided that a taxpayer cannot claim both a 
tax credit under G.S. 105-130.47 and a deduction for the same 
expenses and required a taxpayer claiming a credit under this 
section to make an addition to federal taxable income for the 
expenses used to calculate the credit as provided in G.S. 105-
130.5(a)(18), was repealed. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; 
HB 1522, s. 2, S.L. 06-220.) 
 
This subsection was amended to require that a taxpayer claiming 
the credit for recycling oyster shells provide with its income tax 
return certification by the Department of Environment and Natural 
Resources only upon request.  Under prior law, submission of the 
certification was mandatory. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 9.(a), S.L. 07-X527.) 
 

PIPED NATURAL GAS TAX 
 
This section was amended to phase out the excise tax on piped 
natural gas received by a manufacturer for use in connection with 
the operation of a manufacturing facility or by a farmer to be used 
for any farming purpose other than preparing food, heating 
dwellings, and other household purposes.  To qualify, a person 
must have a manufacturer’s certificate or a farmer’s certificate 
issued under G.S. 105-164.28A. 
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G.S. 105-187.43 – Time 
for Paying Piped Natural 
Gas Tax:   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The following rates per therm apply to piped natural gas received by 
a manufacturer or farmer for the purposes stated above for bills 
issued on or after October 1, 2007 and before July 1, 2008: 

Up to 200  $.032 
201 to 15,000     .024 
15,001 to 60,000   .016 
60,001 to 500,000   .010 
Over 500,000     .002 

 
The following rates per therm apply to piped natural gas received by 
a manufacturer or farmer for the purposes stated above for bills 
issued on or after July 1, 2008 and before July 1, 2009: 

Up to 200  $.025 
201 to 15,000     .019 
15,001 to 60,000   .013 
60,001 to 500,000   .008 
Over 500,000     .002 

 
The following rates per therm apply to piped natural gas received by 
a manufacturer or farmer for the purposes stated above for bills 
issued on or after July 1, 2009 and before July 1, 2010: 

Up to 200  $.014 
201 to 15,000     .010 
15,001 to 60,000   .007 
60,001 to 500,000   .004 
Over 500,000     .001 

 
The excise tax reduced rates are replaced with an exemption from 
the excise tax on piped natural gas for manufacturers and farmers 
for the purposes stated above for bills issued on or after July 1, 
2010. 
 
(Reduced rates effective as explained above; full exemption 
effective for bills issued on or after July 1, 2010; SB 3, s. 11, S.L. 
07-397.) 
 
Under prior law, a taxpayer subject to the piped natural gas tax paid 
the tax twice a month, on the 25th day of the current month and the 
10th day of the next month. 
 
As amended, the piped natural gas tax is payable monthly, on the 
20th day of the month following the calendar month in which the 
liability for the tax accrues.  In addition, if a taxpayer’s piped natural 
gas tax liability is consistently at least $10,000 per month, the 
taxpayer must prepay the next month’s tax liability at the same time 
that it is paying the current month’s liability.  The prepayment must 
equal at least 65% of any of the following: 
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G.S. 58-6-25 - Insurance 
Regulatory Charge: 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 58-6-25(a) – 
Conforming Change:   
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-228.5(d)(3) – 
Adjustment to the Rate 
of the Additional Gross 
Premiums Tax on 
Property Coverage 
Contracts:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

• The amount of tax due for the current month. 
• The amount of tax due for the same month in the preceding 
       year. 
• The average monthly amount of tax due in the preceding  
      calendar year. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 1915, s. 13, S.L. 06-33.) 
 

INSURANCE GROSS 
PREMIUMS TAX 
 
The percentage rate to be used in calculating the insurance 
regulatory charge under this statute is 5.5% for the 2007 calendar 
year. This charge is a percentage of gross premiums tax liability. 
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB 1473, s. 31.12, S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This subsection was amended to conform to the repeal of the 
preferential tax rate for HMOs (see G.S. 105-228.5(d)(6) below). 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007; 
SB 622, s. 38.4(b), S.L. 05-276.) 
 
The 2006 Legislature repealed the additional State and local fire 
and lightning taxes and replaced them with an additional tax on 
property coverage contracts with no reference to fire and lightning 
coverage.  The rate of the new tax was set at 0.85%.  The tax is 
imposed on 10% of the gross premiums from automobile physical 
damage policies, as defined in subparagraph (a), and 100% of the 
gross premiums from all other property coverage policies, as 
defined in subparagraph (b).  The new tax was effective for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2008. 
 
The 2007 Legislature further considered these changes and 
reduced the tax rate from 0.85% to 0.74%. 
 
(Repeal of State and local taxes and enactment of new tax on 
property coverage contracts effective for taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2008; HB 1891, s. 3; S.L. 06-196; reduced rate 
of new tax also effective for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2008; SB 238, s. 1, S.L. 07-250.) 
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G.S. 105-228.5(d)(6) – 
Equalizing the Gross 
Premiums Tax on 
Health Maintenance 
Organizations (HMOs) 
to That of Other 
Insurance Contracts:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-228.5(f) – 
Conforming Changes:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

HMOs first became subject to the gross premiums tax for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2003.  Since that time, 
HMOs have enjoyed preferential tax rates compared to other 
insurance contracts.  This subdivision is repealed effective for 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2007.  As a result, 
gross premiums on insurance contracts issued by HMOs will be 
taxed at 1.9% under G.S. 105-228.5(d)(2). 
 
Subsection (f) of G.S. 105-228.5 requires insurance companies with 
a premium tax liability of $10,000 or more (not including the 
additional local fire and lightning tax) to prepay their gross 
premiums tax in three equal quarterly installments, with each 
installment equal to one-third of their preceding year’s tax liability.  
The installments are due on or before April 15, June 15, and 
October 15.  An uncodified provision provides an exception to the 
general rule for HMOs for the tax year 2007.  For that year, HMOs 
are required to make two installments, with each installment equal 
to one-half of the estimated tax liability for 2007.  The first 
installment is due on or before April 15, 2007 and the second 
installment is due on or before June 15, 2007. 
 
(Increase in rate effective for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2007; SB 622, s. 38.4(a), S.L. 05-276; prepayment of tax 
exception effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 
1, 2007; SB 622, s. 38.4(c), S.L. 05-276.) 
 
This subdivision was amended to change the references regarding 
interest on underpayments or overpayments from G.S. 105-241.1 
and G.S. 105-266, which have been repealed, to G.S. 105-241.21, 
which has been enacted in their place. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 23, S.L. 07-491.) 
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SECTION 

3 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.3 – 
Definition Changes:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

SALES AND USE TAX 
 
 
Some of the definitions are new; some were revised.  The changes 
are as follows and become effective as noted after each definition:  
 
Bundled transaction – (1b).   This definition was added in order 
for North Carolina to remain in compliance with the provisions of the 
Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement.  The term is defined as 
“a retail sale of two or more distinct and identifiable products, at 
least one of which is taxable and one of which is exempt, for one 
nonitemized price.  Products are not sold for one nonitemized price 
if an invoice or another sales document made available to the 
purchaser separately identifies the price of each product.  A 
bundled transaction does not include the retail sale of any of the 
following:   
 

a. A product and any packaging item that accompanies the  
      product and is exempt under G.S. 105-164.13(23). 

 
b. Two or more products whose combined price varies, or  
       is negotiable, depending on the products the purchaser    
       selects. 

 
c. A product accompanied by a transfer of another product  
      with no additional consideration. 

 
d. A product and the delivery or installation of the product. 

 
e. A product and any service necessary to complete the      

        sale.” 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 1, S.L. 07-244.) 
 
Business – (1a).  This definition was recodified as (1d). 
 
 (Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 1, S.L. 07-244.) 
 
Cable Service – (1b).  This definition was recodified as (1f). 
 
 (Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 1, S.L. 07-244.) 
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Eligible railroad intermodal facility – (8f).  This definition was 
added as a result of a new exemption for sales of certain items to 
the owner or lessee of one of these facilities and a refund 
authorized for taxes paid on certain purchases by the owner or 
lessee.  It refers to the definition in G.S. 105-129.95, which provides 
that the term means “a railroad intermodal facility whose costs of  
construction exceed thirty million dollars ($30,000,000).  The term 
“railroad intermodal facility” is defined as “an intermodal facility 
whose primary purpose is to transfer freight between a railroad and 
another mode of transportation.” 
 
(Effective January 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
1473, s. 31.23(b), S.L. 07-323.)   
 
Gross sales – (12).  This definition was rewritten to clarify that the 
term applies to services as well as tangible personal property.  The 
term is defined as “the sum total of the sales price of all retail sales 
of tangible personal property and services.”  There is no substantive 
change. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 1, S.L. 07-244.) 
 
Professional motorsports racing team – (30a).  This definition 
was added as a result of refunds authorized for motorsports racing 
teams.  The term is defined as “a racing team that satisfies all of the 
following conditions:  (a) is operated for profit, (b) a majority of the 
revenues of the team is derived from sponsorship of the racing 
team and prize money, and (c) the team competes in at least sixty-
six percent (66%) of the races sponsored in a single season by a 
motorsports sanctioning body.”  As a result of this definition being 
designated as (30a), the definition of prosthetic device was 
renumbered as (30b).  
 
(Effective July 1, 2007 for purchases made on or after that date; SB 
1741, s. 24.10(a), S.L. 06-66.) 
 
Analytical services – (33a).  This definition was added as a result 
of refunds authorized for a taxpayer engaged in analytical services.  
The term is defined as “testing laboratories that are included in  
national industry 541380 of NAICS or medical laboratories that are 
included in national industry 621511 of NAICS.” 
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB 1473, s. 31.20(a), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
Sales price – (37).  This definition was rewritten to conform to the 
definition as set out in the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax 
Agreement.  The provision stipulating that the value of exempt 
personal property given to the consumer when taxable and exempt 
personal property are bundled together and sold by the retailer as a 
single product or piece of merchandise is included in the term  
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“sales price” was deleted; the provision is addressed in the new 
definition of “bundled transaction” and related tax application 
statute.  A provision for including certain discounts in the term 
“sales price” was added and codifies the current treatment of 
discounts for sales and use tax purposes.  Included in the term, as 
rewritten, are “Discounts that are reimbursable by a third party and 
can be determined at the time of sale through any of the following: 
 

1. Presentation by the consumer of a coupon or other 
documentation. 

2. Identification of the consumer as a member of a group 
eligible for a discount. 

3. The invoice the retailer gives the consumer.” 
 
Stylistic changes were made to the language pertaining to 
discounts that are not included in the term “sales price;” the 
treatment of these discounts for tax purposes is unchanged.  
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 1, S.L. 07-244.) 
 
School instructional material – (37b).  This definition was added 
as a result of a change in the sales tax holiday.  “School 
instructional material” is “defined in the Streamlined Agreement.“  
The Streamlined Agreement defines the term as “written material 
commonly used by a student in a course of study as a reference 
and to learn the subject being taught.  The term is mutually 
exclusive of the terms ‘school supply,’ ‘school art supply,’ and 
‘school computer supply….’”  The following is an all-inclusive list of 
items considered to be school instructional materials:  reference 
books, reference maps and globes, textbooks, and workbooks.  
Prior to this change, the term “school instructional material” was 
included in the term “school supply.” 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
1473, s. 31.14(a), S.L. 07-323.)     
 
School supply – (37d).  This definition was rewritten and recodified 
as a result of the addition of the definition for “school instructional 
material.”  As amended, the definition no longer includes items 
considered to be “school instructional materials.” 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
1473, s. 31.14(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
Streamlined Agreement – (45a).  This definition was amended to 
reflect June 23, 2007 as the most recent date of amendments to the 
Agreement. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 1, S.L. 07-244.) 
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G.S. 105-164.4(a) – 
Maintain State Sales 
Tax Rate:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.4(a) – 
Increase in State Sales 
Tax Rate:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.4(a)(1f)b. 
– Tax on Electricity Sold 
to Manufacturers:   
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.4(a)(1f) – 
Reduced Rate on 
Electricity:   
 
 
 
 
 

The additional ¼% State general sales and use tax, which was 
scheduled to be repealed for sales made on or after July 1, 2007, 
was extended for one month pending resolution of the 2007 
Appropriations Act.  The legislation provides that, for the month of 
July 2007, a retailer who made a good faith effort to comply with the 
law and collect the proper amount of tax will not be held liable for an 
over-collection or under-collection of sales tax as a result of the 
extension of the ¼% State tax.  Additional legislation was enacted 
that permanently extended the ¼% tax; additional legislation also  
contained the “hold-harmless” provision for retailers for the month of 
August 2007. 
 
As a result of the permanent extension of the additional ¼% State 
general tax, the combined general rate of tax that applies only to 
sales of telecommunications service, ancillary service, video 
programming (including cable and direct-to-home satellite service), 
and spirituous liquor remains at 6.75%.  
 
(Temporary one-month extension and hold-harmless provision for 
retailers for the month of July effective June 29, 2007; HB 2044, ss. 
9(a) and 9(b), S.L. 07-145.  Permanent extension effective July 31, 
2007; HB 1473, ss. 31.2(a) and 31.2(b), S.L. 07-323.  Hold-
harmless provision for retailers for the month of August effective 
August 6, 2007; HB 714, s. 14.9(a), S.L. 07-345.) 
 
The State general rate of tax increases from 4.25% to 4.5%.  This 
occurs simultaneously with the reduction in the local sales tax under 
Article 44 from one-half to one-quarter percent. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
H.B. 1473, s. 31.16.3(h), S.L. 07-323.  The State general rate 
further increases from 4.5% to 4.75% simultaneously with the 
repeal of the one-quarter percent tax under Article 44; effective 
October 1, 2009 for sales occurring on or after that date; H.B. 1473, 
s. 31.16.4(g), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This sub-subdivision, which levies a State sales tax at the rate of 
2.83% on sales of electricity to manufacturers, was repealed.  A 
new subdivision (1i) provides for a reduction in the rate. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; SB 
1741, s. 24.19(a), S.L. 06-66.) 
 
This subdivision was rewritten to delete the provision for electricity 
sold to farmers; the sales tax on sales of electricity to farmers is 
imposed in new subdivision (1j).  As rewritten, this subdivision 
imposes the tax on certain sales of electricity to a commercial 
laundry or a pressing and dry-cleaning establishment which is the 
current application. 
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G.S. 105-164.4(a)(1i) – 
Tax on Electricity Sold to 
Manufacturers:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.4(a)(1j) – 
Tax on Electricity Sold to 
Manufacturers and 
Farmers:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.4D – 
Bundled Transactions:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Effective October 1, 2007 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
SB 3, s. 10(b), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
This subdivision imposes a State sales and use tax at the rate of 
2.6% on electricity sold to a manufacturing industry or plant for use 
in connection with the operation of the industry or plant; the 
electricity must be measured by a separate meter or another 
separate device.  Prior to this change, electricity sold to a 
manufacturer for a qualifying purpose is subject to a State rate of 
2.83%.   
 
Legislation enacted by the 2007 General Assembly repealed this 
subdivision as a result of a reduction in the tax rate.  The reduced 
rate of tax is imposed in new subdivision (1j). 
 
(Effective July 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; SB 
1741, s. 24.19(b), S.L. 06-66.  Repeal effective October 1, 2007 for 
sales occurring on or after that date; SB 3, s. 10(a), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
This new subdivision imposes a State sales tax at the rate of 1.8% 
on sales of electricity to manufacturing industries and 
manufacturing plants for use in connection with the operation of the 
industries and plants and to farmers to be used by them for any 
farming purposes other than preparing food, heating dwellings, and 
other household purposes.  The electricity must be measured by a 
separate meter or another separate device. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
SB 3, s. 10(c), S.L. 07-397.  The rate is reduced from 1.8% to 1.4%; 
effective July 1, 2008 for sales occurring on or after that date; SB 3, 
s. 10(d), S.L. 07-397.  The rate is further reduced from 1.4% to 
0.8%; effective July 1, 2009 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
SB 3, s. 10(e), S.L. 07-397.  The subdivision is repealed and sales 
of electricity to manufacturers and farmers are exempt from tax; 
effective July 1, 2010 for sales occurring on or after that date; SB 3, 
s. 10(f), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
This section was rewritten to incorporate provisions of the 
Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement.  New subsection (a) 
provides that a “bundled transaction” is subject to sales and use tax 
unless one of the following applies: 
 

(1) Fifty percent (50%) test. – All of the products in the 
bundle are tangible personal property, the bundle 
includes one or more of the exempt products listed in 
this subdivision, and the price of the taxable products in 
the bundle does not exceed fifty percent (50%) of the 
price of the bundle: 

 
a. Food exempt under G.S. 105-164.13B. 
b. A drug exempt under G.S. 105-164.13(13). 
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G.S. 105-164.12B – 
Tangible Personal 
Property Sold Below 
Cost with Conditional 
Service Contract:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.13 – 
Exemptions and 
Exclusions:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

c. Medical devices, equipment, or supplies exempt 
under G.S. 105-164.13(12). 

 
(2) Allocation. – The bundle includes a service, and the  

retailer determines an allocated price for each product in 
the bundle based on a reasonable allocation of revenue 
that is supported by the retailer’s business records kept 
in the ordinary course of business.  In this circumstance, 
tax applies to the allocated price of each taxable product 
in the bundle. 
 

(3) Ten percent (10%) test. – The price of the taxable 
products in the bundle does not exceed ten percent  
(10%) of the price of the bundle, and no other  
subdivision in this subsection applies. 

 
New subsection (b) provides that, in determining if a bundled 
transaction meets the 50% test or the 10% test, the retailer may use 
either his cost price or his sales price; he may not use a 
combination of cost price and sales price.  In addition, if a bundled 
transaction subject to the 10% test includes a service contract, the 
retailer must use the full term of the contract in determining whether 
the transaction meets the threshold. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 2, S.L. 07-244.) 
 
The catch line of this section was renamed to distinguish it from the 
provisions for “bundled transactions.”  A transaction previously 
referred to as a “bundled transaction” is now referred to as a 
“conditional service contract.”  As rewritten, the term “service 
provider” is replaced with “seller.”  Other editorial changes were 
made, primarily to modernize the language.  A technical change 
was made to correct references to services subject to the 
“combined general rate” rather than the “combined State and local 
general rate.”  There were no substantive changes. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 3, S.L. 07-244.) 
 
The 2007 General Assembly added several new exemptions and 
revised some of the existing exemptions.  The changes and their 
effective dates are as follows: 
 
Baler twine – (1).  The exemption for sales of specific items to a 
farmer for use by the farmer in the planting, cultivating, harvesting, 
or curing of farm crops or in the production of dairy products, eggs, 
or animals was expanded to add baler twine. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 487, s. 1, S.L. 07-500.) 
 
Fuel sold to farmers – (1).  This exemption for sales of specific 
items to a farmer for use by the farmer in the planting, cultivating,  
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harvesting, or curing of farm crops or in the production of dairy 
products, eggs, or animals was rewritten to remove the reference to 
“electricity” in the phrase “fuel other than electricity.”  The sales tax 
on electricity will be phased out. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2010 for sales occurring on or after that date; SB 
3, s. 10(g), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
Electricity sold to farmers – (1b).  This is a new exemption for 
electricity sold to a farmer to be used for any farming purpose other 
than preparing food, heating dwellings, and other household 
purposes. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2010 for sales occurring on or after that date; SB 
3, s. 10(h), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
Commercial fishing exemption – (9).  The exemption for sales of 
boats and other items to persons for use in commercial fishing 
operations was rewritten.  As rewritten, the exemption applies to a 
holder of a standard commercial fishing license issued under G.S. 
113-168.2 for principal use in commercial fishing operations and to 
a holder of a shellfish license issued under G.S. 113-169.2 for 
principal use in commercial shellfishing operations.  The exemption 
also codifies the current practice of allowing the exemption for an 
operator of a for-hire boat, as defined in G.S. 113-174, for principal 
use in the commercial use of the boat.  
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 4, S.L. 07-244.) 
 
Bread sold at a bakery thrift store – (27a).  This is a new 
exemption from the State sales and use tax for sales of bread, rolls, 
and buns at a bakery thrift store.  These items continue to be 
subject to the 2% local sales and use tax applicable to sales of 
qualifying food.  For purposes of the exemption, a “bakery thrift 
store” is defined as a “a retail outlet of a bakery that sells at 
wholesale over ninety percent (90%) of the items it makes and sells 
at the retail outlet day-old bread, rolls, and buns returned to it by 
retailers that acquired these items from the bakery.” 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; SB 1240, ss. 1 and 2, S.L. 07-368.) 
 
Food purchased under food stamp program – (38).  This 
exemption was rewritten to make a technical change to reflect the 
correct federal code for the Food Stamp Program.  Additional 
legislation renamed the Food Stamp Program to reflect the use of 
electronic benefit transfer cards.  The new name of the program is 
“Food and Nutrition Services.” 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 27, S.L. 07-527.  Name 
change effective June 20, 2007; SB 836, s. 9, S.L. 07-97.) 
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G.S. 105-164.13C(a) – 
Change in Sales Tax 
Holiday:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.14(j)(3)b. 
– Refunds for Certain 
Aircraft Manufacturers:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Sales to State agencies – (52).  This exemption was rewritten to 
add “ancillary service” to the list of items that are not included and 
are therefore subject to tax. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 10, S.L. 07-527.) 
 
Items used at eligible railroad intermodal facility – (56).  This is 
a new exemption for sales to the owner or lessee of an eligible 
railroad intermodal facility of intermodal cranes, intermodal hostler  
trucks, and railroad locomotives that reside on the premises of the 
facility and are used at the facility. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
1473, s. 31.23(c), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
Fuel and electricity sold to manufacturers – (56).  This is a new 
exemption for fuel and electricity sold to a manufacturer for use in 
connection with the operation of a manufacturing facility. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2010 for sales occurring on or after that date; SB 
3, s. 10(h), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
*Note:  The legislation providing exemptions for items used at 
eligible railroad intermodal facilities and for fuel and electricity sold 
to manufacturers designated both provisions as (56).  The codifier 
of the Statutes will need to change the designation of one of the 
exemptions. 
 
This subsection was rewritten to add new subdivision (2a) that 
exempts school instructional materials with a sales price of three 
hundred dollars ($300.00) or less per item if sold during the sales 
tax holiday.  Only the following items are included in the term 
“school instructional materials”:  reference books, reference maps 
and globes, textbooks, and workbooks. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
1473, s. 31.14(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
Sub-subdivision b., which sets out “aircraft manufacturing” as one of 
the industries eligible for sales and use tax refunds, was expanded 
by defining the term to include manufacturing and assembling of 
parts in addition to complete aircraft.  As rewritten, the refund 
provision also applies to eligible facilities that manufacture or 
assemble aircraft engines, blisks, fuselage sections, flight decks, 
flight deck systems or components, wings, fuselage fairings, fins, 
moving leading and trailing wing edges, wing boxes, nose sections, 
tailplanes, passenger doors, nacelles, thrust reversers, landing 
gear, braking systems, or any combination thereof.  The refund 
provision applies to qualified building materials, building supplies, 
fixtures, and equipment that become a part of the real property of 
the eligible facility. 
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G.S. 105-164.14(m) – 
Refunds of Tax on 
Professional Motor 
Racing Vehicles:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.14(n) – 
Refunds of Tax on 
Analytical Services 
Supplies:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.14(n) – 
Refunds for Eligible 
Railroad Intermodal 
Facilities:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Effective July 1, 2007 for purchases made on or after that date; HB 
1473, s. 31.10(a), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This is a new subsection that authorizes a refund of fifty percent 
(50%) of the sales and use tax paid by a professional motorsports 
racing team in this State on certain tangible personal property that 
comprises any part of a professional motor racing vehicle.  The 
refund provision does not apply to tires or to accessories such as 
instrumentation, telemetry, consumables, and paint.  A refund 
request is due within six months after the end of the State’s fiscal 
year and is barred if filed after the due date. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2007 for purchases made on or after that date; SB 
1741, s. 24.10(b), S.L. 06-66.)    
 
This new subsection, as amended, authorizes a refund to a 
taxpayer engaged in analytical services.  The amount of the refund 
is the greater of the following:  (1) Fifty percent (50%) of the eligible 
amount of sales and use tax paid by a taxpayer engaged in 
analytical services in this State on tangible personal property that is 
consumed or transformed in analytical service activities.  The 
eligible amount is the amount by which sales and use taxes paid by 
the taxpayer in this State in the fiscal year exceed the amount paid 
by the taxpayer in this State in the 2006-2007 State fiscal year.  (2) 
Fifty percent (50%) of the amount of sales and use tax paid by it in 
the fiscal year on medical reagents.  The refund request must be in 
writing and must include information and documentation required by 
the Secretary.  It is due within six months after the end of the 
State’s fiscal year; a refund applied for after the due date is barred. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2007 for purchases made on or after that date; HB 
1473, s. 31.20(b), S.L. 07-323.  Amendment effective July 1, 2007 
for purchases made on or after that date; HB 714, s. 14.6(a), S.L. 
07-345.) 
 
This new subsection authorizes a refund of sales and use taxes 
paid by the owner or lessee of an eligible railroad intermodal facility 
on building supplies, fixtures, and equipment that become a part of 
the real property of the facility.  Liability incurred indirectly for taxes 
paid on these items is considered tax paid by the owner or lessee.  
The refund request must be in writing and include information and 
documentation required by the Secretary.  It is due within six 
months after the end of the State’s fiscal year; a refund applied for 
after the due date is barred. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
1473, s. 31.23(d), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
*Note:  The legislation authorizing refunds of tax on analytical 
service supplies and items that become a part of real property of an 
eligible railroad intermodal facility designated both provisions as  
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G.S. 105-164.15A – 
Effective Date of Rate 
Change:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.16 – 
Prepayments in Lieu of 
Semimonthly Payments:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.16(b1) – 
Monthly Filers:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.16(d) – 
Use Tax on Out-of-State 
Purchases:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

subsection (n).  The codifier of the Statutes will need to change the 
designation of one of the subsections. 
 
This section was rewritten to add provisions for the effective date of 
a rate change for an item that is subject to the combined general 
rate of tax (telecommunications service, ancillary service, video 
programming, and spirituous liquor other than mixed beverages.  
With the legislation authorizing all counties to levy an additional ¼% 
local tax, it clarifies that the combined general rate will increase on 
the date on which the tax becomes effective in the first county or 
group of counties.  It also contains provisions for the effective date 
of a rate change as a result of a change in the State general rate of 
tax or a repeal in the authorization for local taxes.  The heading was 
rewritten to properly reflect the content of the revised section. 
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB1473, s. 31.17(c), S.L. 07-323.)   
 
This section was rewritten to delete the requirement for 
semimonthly payments for taxpayers who are consistently liable for 
at least ten thousand dollars a month in State and local sales and 
use taxes.  A taxpayer in this category must make a monthly 
prepayment of the next month’s tax liability.  The prepayment is due 
on the date a monthly return is due, which is the 20th of the month 
following the calendar month covered by the return.  The 
prepayment must be at least 65% of any of the following: (1) the 
amount of tax due for the current month, (2) the amount of tax due 
for the same month in the preceding year, or (3) the average 
monthly amount of tax due in the preceding calendar year. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 1915, s. 9, S.L. 06-33.) 
 
This subsection was rewritten to make a technical correction.  It 
provides that a taxpayer who is consistently liable for at least 
(previously, “more than”) one hundred dollars ($100.00) but less 
than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) a month in sales and use taxes 
must file a return and pay the taxes due on a monthly basis.   
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 11, S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This subsection was rewritten to codify current administrative 
practice regarding payment of use tax on boats and aircraft.  It 
specifies that the use tax on purchases of boats and aircraft from 
outside the State is not to be reported on the purchaser’s individual 
income tax return. The tax is to be reported on Form E-555, Boat 
and Aircraft Use Tax Return; the return and tax are due on or 
before the 20th day of the month following the month in which the 
purchase was made.  
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 12, S.L. 07-527.) 
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G.S. 105-164.29(d) – 
Revocation of Certificate 
of Registration:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.38(c) – 
Transferee Liability:   
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.42L – 
Databases on Taxing 
Jurisdictions:   
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.44F(a) – 
Distribution of Sales Tax 
on Telecommunications:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.44I – 
Distribution of Sales Tax 
on Video Programming 
and Telecommuni-
cations:   
 
 
 

This subsection was rewritten as a result of the major revision of the 
appeals procedures.  It changes the procedure for revoking a 
wholesale merchant’s or retailer’s certificate of registration to 
parallel the new procedures for refunds and assessment.  As 
rewritten, it requires the Secretary to notify the merchant of the 
proposed revocation, which will become final unless the merchant 
object and files a timely request for a Departmental review. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 19, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This subsection was rewritten as a result of the major revision of the 
appeals procedures.  It makes necessary changes to correspond to 
the new assessment and collection procedures. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 20, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This section was rewritten to codify the current practice of providing 
liability relief to any person who relies on the Department’s rates 
and boundaries databases. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 5, S.L. 07-244.) 
 
This subsection, which authorizes the distribution of part of the 
sales tax on telecommunications service to cities, was rewritten to 
add a provision for a distribution of a percentage of the sales tax 
imposed on telecommunications service to counties and cities.  The 
percentage (18.03%) to be distributed to cities was unchanged; 
7.23% of the taxes collected on telecommunication service will be 
distributed to counties and cities as provided in new section G.S. 
105-164.44I. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2007 and applies to the distribution made 
within 75 days after March 31, 2007 for the quarter starting January 
1, 2007; HB 2047, s. 7, S.L. 06-151.  The percentage to be 
distributed to cities was increased to 18.70%; the percentage to be 
distributed to counties and cities under G.S. 105-164.44I was 
increased to 7.7%; effective January 1, 2007 for taxes collected on 
or after that date; SB 1741, s. 24.1(f), S.L. 06-66.  The percentage 
to be distributed cities will further increase to 19.42%; the 
percentage to be distributed to counties and cities under G.S. 105-
164.44I will increase to 8%; effective July 1, 2007 for taxes 
collected on or after that date; SB 1741, s. 24.1(g), S.L. 06-66.) 
 

This section authorizes a quarterly distribution to counties and cities 
of part of the sales taxes imposed on telecommunications service 
and video programming service.  The percentage of net proceeds of 
taxes collected during the quarter on video programming other than 
direct-to-home satellite service to be distributed to counties and 
cities is 22.61%.  The percentage for direct-to-home satellite service 
is 37%.  The section provides for supplemental PEG channel 
support and requires a county or city to certify to the Secretary by  
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G.S. 105-164.44I(c1) – 
Revised Certification for 
Video Programming and 
Telecommunications 
Tax Distribution:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chapter 323 of the 2007 
Session Laws – 
Transfer for Wildlife 
Resources Commission:   
 
 
 
 
Chapter 525 of the 2007 
Session Laws – Study 
Continuation of 
Exemption for Nutritional 
Supplements Sold by 
Chiropractor: 
 
 

July 15 of each year the number of qualifying PEG channels it 
operates.  There are special provisions for the 2006-2007 fiscal 
year distribution as a result of the change in franchising from the 
local level to the state level.  Subsequent distributions use the 
2006-2007 distribution amounts multiplied by the percentage 
change in the county or city’s population.  The section also provides 
instruction as to the use of proceeds, late information, city changes, 
and ineligible cities. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2007 and applies to the distribution made 
within 75 days after March 31, 2007 for the quarter starting January 
1, 2007; HB 2047, s. 8, S.L. 06-151.  The percentage for video 
programming other than direct-to-home satellite service to be 
distributed to counties and cities was increased to 23.6%; the 
percentage for direct-to-home satellite service to be distributed to 
counties and cities was increased to 37.1%; effective January 1, 
2007 for taxes collected on or after that date; SB 1741, s. 24.1(h), 
S.L. 06-66.  The percentage for video programming other than 
direct-to-home satellite service will further increase to 25%; the 
percentage for direct-to-home satellite service will further increase 
to 37.5%; effective July 1, 2007 for taxes collected on or after that 
date; SB 1741, s. 24.1(i), S.L. 06-66.) 
 

One of the factors on which the distribution is based is the amount 
of cable franchise tax imposed during the first six months of the 
2006-2007 fiscal year as certified to the Secretary by March 15, 
2007.  This new subsection allows a county or city to submit a new 
certification revising the amount of cable franchise tax it imposed if 
the county or city determines the amount imposed differs from the 
amount certified to the Secretary.  Certifications may be submitted 
on or before October 1, 2007 and April 1, 2008 for distributions for 
quarters beginning on or after those dates.   
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 28, S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This act provides that, for the 2007-2008 and 2008-2009 fiscal 
years, the Secretary of Revenue must make a quarterly transfer 
from the State sales and use tax net collections to the State 
Treasurer for the Wildlife Resources Fund to fund legislative salary 
increases for Wildlife Resources Commission employees. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2007; HB 1473, s. 28.15B, S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This act provides that the Revenue Laws Study Committee may 
study whether to continue the sales tax exemption under G.S. 105-
164.13(13c) for nutritional supplements sold by a chiropractic 
physician at a chiropractic office to a patient as part of the patient’s 
plan of treatment. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 864, s. 14, S.L. 07-525.) 
 



 

 46

 
 
 
G.S. 105-467(a)(5a) – 
County Tax Imposed on 
Certain Bundled 
Transactions:   
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-467(a)(5b) – 
County Tax Imposed on 
Certain Bakery Thrift 
Store Products:   
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-472(b1) – First 
One Percent Local Tax 
Distribution:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-501 – 
Distribution of Second 
One-Half Percent Local 
Sales and Use Tax:   
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-519 – Third 
One-Half Percent Local 
Tax Not Imposed on 
Certain Bundled 
Transactions:   
 
 
G.S. 105-520 – 
Distribution of Third 
One-Half Percent Local 
Tax:   

 

LOCAL SALES AND USE TAX 
 
This is a new subdivision that provides that the 1% local tax under 
Article 39 applies to the sales price of a bundled transaction that 
includes qualifying food subject to only the 2% local tax if the price 
of the qualifying food exceeds 10% of the price of the bundle.  
These products are also subject to the ½% rates of tax levied under 
Articles 40 and 42. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 6, S.L. 07-244.) 
 
This is a new subdivision that provides that the 1% local tax under 
Article 39 applies to the sales price of bread, rolls, and buns that 
are sold at a bakery thrift store and are exempt from State tax under 
G.S. 105-164.13(27a).  These products are also subject to the ½% 
rates of tax levied under Articles 40 and 42. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; SB 1240, s. 2, S.L. 07-368.) 
 
This new subsection is added to reduce the county’s allocation by 
the amount of the city’s hold harmless amount.  The reduction does 
not affect the portion of the county’s distribution that is shared with 
its municipalities.  A corresponding change is made to the 
Mecklenburg first one percent local tax. 
  
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(d), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This section alters the method of distributing the proceeds of the 
second one-half percent tax from per capita to point of origin.  The 
amount of the net proceeds allocated to a county is no longer 
adjusted by the statutory adjustment factors. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This section was rewritten to provide that the third one-half percent 
local tax does not apply to the sales price of a bundled transaction 
that includes qualifying food subject to only the 2% local tax if the 
price of the qualifying food exceeds 10% of the price of the bundle. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 8, S.L. 07-244.) 
 
As a result of the reduction of the third one-half percent local tax to 
one-quarter percent, the method of distributing the proceeds of the 
tax changes.  The one-quarter percent tax will be distributed 
monthly on a point of origin basis; no portion of the proceeds of this 
levy will be distributed on a per capita basis. 
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G.S. 105-515 through 
105-520 – Third One-
Half Percent Local Sales 
and Use Tax Repealed:   
 
 
G.S. 105-521 – Hold 
Harmless for Repealed 
Reimbursements:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-522 – City 
Hold Harmless for 
Repealed Local Taxes:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
The sections providing for the adoption, levy, administration, and 
distribution of the third one-half percent tax are repealed. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2009 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(a), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
As a result of the reduction of the third one-half percent local tax to 
one-quarter percent, a hold harmless provision is added to replace 
the repealed reimbursements.  A definition of “replacement 
revenue” is added; this term is defined as the sum of 50% of the 
revenue distributed under Article 40 other than revenue from the 
sale of qualifying food subject to only the 2% local tax and 25% of 
the revenue distributed under Article 39 (first one-cent local tax) or 
under the Mecklenburg first one-cent tax other than revenue from 
the sale of qualifying food subject to only the 2% local tax.  A local 
government is reimbursed if the estimated amount of replacement 
revenue is less than the repealed reimbursement amount.  The 
source of the funds for hold harmless distributions is State sales 
and use tax collections. 
  
(Effective January 1, 2008; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(c), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This is a new section providing that a municipality that was 
incorporated on or before October 1, 2008 and receives a sales and 
use tax distribution under G.S. 105-472 receives a hold harmless 
amount.  The hold harmless amount is 50% of the amount of sales 
and use tax revenue distributed for a month to the municipality 
under Article 40 other than revenue from sales of qualifying food 
subject to only the 2% local tax.  A county must hold the 
municipalities harmless from the repeal of the taxes formerly 
imposed under Article; the municipality’s hold harmless amount is to 
be added to the municipality’s monthly distribution.  The revenue for 
the hold harmless distribution is obtained by reducing each county’s 
monthly allocation under G.S. 105-472(b) or under the 
corresponding provision in the Mecklenburg first one-cent sales tax 
act by the hold harmless amounts for the municipalities in that 
county. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(f), S.L. 07-323.  The 
calculation of the repealed sales tax amount is changed for fiscal 
year 2008-2009; effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for 
months beginning on or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(g), S.L. 
07-323.  The calculation of the hold harmless amount is amended; 
effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months beginning on  
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G.S. 105-523 – County 
Hold Harmless for 
Repealed Local Taxes:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chapter 323 of the 2007 
Session Laws – 
Reduction of Third One-
Half Percent Local Sales 
and Use Tax:   
 
 
 
 
 

or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(c), S.L. 07-323.  For the 
2009-2010 fiscal year, further changes are made in the method of 
calculating the repealed sales tax amount; effective October 1, 
2009; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(e), S.L. 07-323.  Further revisions are 
made in the method of calculating the hold harmless amount; 
effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 714, s. 14.4(a), S.L. 07-345.) 
 
This is a new section requiring the Secretary to make hold harmless 
payments to a county if the “repealed sales tax amount” for a fiscal 
year exceeds the county’s “hold harmless threshold.”  These terms 
are defined in this section.  To determine if the county is eligible for 
a hold harmless payment, the Secretary must estimate a county’s 
repealed sales tax amount and hold harmless threshold for a fiscal 
year and must send an eligible county 90% of its estimated hold 
harmless payment with the monthly distribution made under G.S. 
105-472 for March of that year.  At the end of each fiscal year, the 
Secretary is required to determine the difference between a 
county’s repealed sales tax amount and its hold harmless threshold 
for that year and send the remainder of the county’s hold harmless 
payment for the fiscal year ended June 30 by August 15.  The intent 
of this section is that each county benefit by at least $500,000 
annually from the exchange of a portion of the local sales and use 
taxes for the State’s assumption of responsibility for the non-
administrative costs of Medicaid. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(f), S.L. 07-323.  The 
calculation of the repealed sales tax amount is changed for fiscal 
year 2008-2009; effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for 
months beginning on or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(g), S.L. 
07-323.  The calculation of the hold harmless amount is amended; 
effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(d), S.L. 07-323.   For the 
2009-2010 fiscal year, further changes are made in the method of 
calculating the repealed sales tax amount; effective October 1, 
2009; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(e), S.L. 07-323.  Further revisions are 
made in the method of calculating the repealed sales tax amount; 
effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 714, s. 14.4(b), S.L. 07-345.) 
 
As a result of the State’s assumption of Medicaid responsibilities for 
the counties, this act reduces the one-half percent (½%) sales and 
use tax authorized under Article 44 of Chapter 105 of the General 
Statutes to one-quarter percent (¼%).  No action is required of the 
county; a resolution enacted by the county to levy the one-half 
percent tax is considered to be a resolution authorizing the levy of 
the one-quarter percent tax.  The one-quarter percent reduction is 
offset by a one-quarter percent increase in the State general rate of 
sales and use tax.    
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Chapter 323 of the 2007 
Session Laws – Hold 
Harmless:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chapter 323 of the 2007 
Session Laws – Article 
44 Title:   
 
 
 
 
Article 46 – One-Quarter 
Cent County Sales and 
Use Tax:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-535 – Short 
Title of New Article 46:   
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-536 – 
Limitations on Levying 
New Tax:   
 
 
 

(Effective October 1, 2008 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(a), S.L 07-323.  The remaining one-quarter  
percent (¼%) local tax under Article 44 is repealed; effective 
October 1, 2009 for sales occurring on or after that date; HB 1473, 
s. 31.16.4(a), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This act provides that, effective October 1, 2007, the State begins 
assuming Medicaid responsibilities for the counties over a three-
year period.  There is a county hold harmless provision, and the 
revenue for the hold harmless distribution is to be withheld from 
State sales and use tax collections.  The Secretary is required to 
estimate a county’s hold harmless amount for the 2007-2008 fiscal 
year and send the county 90% of the estimated amount with the 
monthly sales tax distribution for March 2008.  The Secretary must 
determine the county’s actual hold harmless amount for the 2007-
2008 fiscal year and send the remainder to the county by August 
15, 2008.   
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB 1473, ss. 31.16.2(a) through 31.16.2 
(c), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
The title of Article 44 is changed from “Third One-Half Cent (1/2¢) 
Local Government Sales and Use Tax” to “Local Government Hold 
Harmless Provisions” as a result of the incremental repeal of the 
third one-half percent local tax. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2009; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(f), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
A new Article 46 of Subchapter VIII of Chapter 105 was added to 
give counties the authority to impose additional ¼% local sales and 
use taxes.  The new Article consists of G.S. 105-535 through 105-
538.  An explanation of each section follows. 
 
The new Article accompanies another change that gives counties 
the choice of levying the additional sales and use tax or levying a 
county land transfer tax; a county may not levy both taxes. 
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB1473, s. 31.17(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This statute sets out the short title of new Article 46 of Subchapter 
VIII of Chapter 105.  The short title is “One-Quarter Cent (1/4¢) 
County Sales and Use Tax Act.”  
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB1473, s. 31.17(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This statute states that a county cannot levy a tax under Article 46 
unless it has already levied the 1% and the first and second one-
half cent local sales and use taxes.  
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB1473, s. 31.17(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 



 

 50

G.S. 105-537 – Levy of 
New Tax:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-538 – 
Administration of New 
Tax:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chapter 1096 of the 
1967 Session Laws, as 
Amended – 
Mecklenburg County 
Tax Imposed on Certain 
Bundled Transactions:   
 
 
 
 
 
 

This statute specifies that the board of county commissioners can 
hold an election on whether to levy the tax and sets out the 
procedures for a county to follow if it wants to hold an election.  If 
the voters approve the levy, the board may, by resolution, levy the 
tax.  The board cannot levy the tax without an advisory election.  A 
sales and use tax levied under Article 46 may not be in effect in a 
county at the same time as a land transfer tax levied under Article 
60 of Subchapter X of Chapter 105. 
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB1473, s. 31.17(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This statute states that the new ¼% tax is to be administered the 
same as the 1% local sales and use tax, except as specified in 
Article 46.  The new tax does not apply to qualifying food that is 
exempt from State tax under G.S. 105-164.13B and subject only to 
the 1% and two ½% local sales and use taxes.  The proceeds from 
the tax are distributed to the counties; the amounts allocated to 
counties are not divided between the counties and the 
municipalities in the counties.  Notwithstanding statutory 
requirements set out in G.S. 105-467(c), during the 2008 calendar 
year, a tax levied under Article 46 may become effective on the first 
day of any calendar quarter provided the county gives the Secretary 
at least 60 days’ advance notice of the new tax levy. 
 
This statute was amended to add a provision that G.S. 105-468.1, 
which is an administrative provision under the first one percent local 
tax levy, applies to this Article.  The provision states that a new tax 
does not apply to construction materials purchased to fulfill a lump 
sum or unit price contract entered into or awarded, or entered into 
or awarded pursuant to a bid made, before the effective date of the 
tax imposed by a taxing county when the construction materials 
would otherwise be subject to the tax   
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB 1473, s. 31.17(b), S.L. 07-323.  
Amendment effective August 6, 2007; HB 714, s. 14.5(a), S.L. 07-
345.) 
 
A conforming change was made to the Mecklenburg First One Cent 
Sales Tax Act.  New subdivision (5a) provides that the 1% local tax 
under the Mecklenburg Local Act applies to the sales price of a 
bundled transaction that includes qualifying food subject to only the 
2% local tax if the price of the qualifying food exceeds 10% of the 
price of the bundle. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; HB 257, s. 7, S.L. 07-244.) 
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Chapter 1096 of the 
1967 Session Laws, as 
Amended – 
Mecklenburg County 
Tax Imposed on Certain 
Bakery Thrift Store 
Products:   
 
Chapter 1096 of the 
1967 Session Laws, as 
Amended – 
Mecklenburg First One 
Percent Local Tax 
Distribution:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.10(b) – 
Collection of Unpaid 
Highway Use Tax:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.11 – 
Transition from Sales 
Tax to Highway Use 
Tax:   
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.19(a) – 
Distribution/Cost of 
Collection:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A conforming change was made to the Mecklenburg First One Cent 
Sales Tax Act.  New subdivision (5b) provides that the 1% local tax 
under the Mecklenburg Local Act applies to the sales price of 
bread, rolls, and buns that are sold at a bakery thrift store and are 
exempt from State tax under G.S. 105-164.13(27a). 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; SB 1240, s. 3, S.L. 07-368.) 
 
A new paragraph is added to reduce the Mecklenburg County’s 
allocation by the amount of the city’s hold harmless amount.  The 
reduction does not affect the portion of Mecklenburg County’s 
distribution that is shared with its municipalities.  A corresponding 
change is made to the first one percent local tax for other counties. 
  
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(e), S.L. 07-323.) 
 

HIGHWAY USE TAX –  
ARTICLE 5A 
 
This subsection was rewritten as a result of the major revision of the 
appeals procedures.  It provides that the remedies for collection of 
taxes under Article 9 apply to the highway use tax; prior to this 
change, the remedies in G.S. 20-99 apply.  For purposes of this 
subsection, it also grants the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles the 
same authority as the Secretary of Revenue.  
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 21, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This obsolete section was repealed. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 30, S.L. 07-527.) 
 

SCRAP TIRE DISPOSAL TAX – 
ARTICLE 5B 
 
This subsection, which allows the Department to retain from the 
taxes to be distributed an allowance for administrative expenses, 
was rewritten to increase the amount the Department may withhold 
as reimbursement.  The maximum amount that may be retained 
annually as cost of collection, was increased from $225,000 to 
$425,000. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2007; HB 1473, s. 24.2, S.L. 07-323.) 
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G.S. 105-187.19(b) – 
Change in Distribution:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.24 – 
Distribution/Cost of 
Collection:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.31 – Tax 
Imposed:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.50 – 
Article 5F Definitions:   
 
 
 

This subsection was rewritten to change the percentages of the net 
tax proceeds credited to various accounts and distributed to the 
counties on a quarterly basis.  The amount to be credited to the 
Solid Waste Management Trust Fund increases from 5% to 8%.  
The amount to be credited to the Scrap Tire Disposal Account 
decreases from 27% to 22%.  The balance, which increases from 
68% to 70%, is distributed among the counties on a per capita 
basis. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2007; SB 1472, s. 1, S.L. 07-153.) 
 

WHITE GOODS DISPOSAL TAX 
– ARTICLE 5C 
 
This section, which allows the Department to retain from the taxes 
to be distributed an allowance for administrative expenses, was 
rewritten to increase the amount the Department may withhold as 
reimbursement.  The maximum amount that may be retained 
annually as cost of collection, was increased from $225,000 to 
$425,000. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2007; HB 1473, s. 24.1, S.L. 07-323.) 
 

DRY-CLEANING SOLVENT TAX 
– ARTICLE 5D 
 
This section was rewritten to make a conforming change.  The term 
“chlorine-based” was replaced with the term “halogenated 
hydrocarbon-based.”  The rates of ten dollars ($10.00) for each 
gallon of halogenated hydrocarbon-based dry-cleaning solvent and 
one dollar and thirty-five cents ($1.35) for each gallon of 
hydrocarbon-based dry-cleaning solvent are unchanged. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 1362, s. 13, S.L. 07-530.) 
 

MANUFACTURING FUEL AND 
CERTAIN MACHINERY AND 
EQUIPMENT – ARTICLE 5F 
 
This section was rewritten and adds definitions as a result of the 
expansion of the imposition of the 1% privilege tax with a maximum 
tax of eighty dollars ($80.00) per article on certain data center 
purchases.  The term “concurrently maintainable” is defined as  
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“capable of having any capacity component or distribution element 
serviced or repaired on a planned basis without interrupting or 
impeding the performance of the computer equipment.”  The term 
“eligible datacenter” is defined as “a facility that provides 
infrastructure for hosting or data processing services and satisfies 
each of the following conditions: 
 

a. The facility’s power and cooling systems are created and 
maintained to be concurrently maintainable and include 
redundant capacity components and multiple distribution 
paths serving the computer equipment at the facility.  The 
facility must have multiple distribution paths serving the 
computer equipment; however, a single distribution path 
may serve the computer equipment at any one time. 

 
b. The Secretary of Commerce has made a written 

determination of the following: 
 

1. For facilities that are located in a development tier 
one area at the time of application for the written 
determination, that at least one hundred fifty million 
dollars ($150,000,000) in private funds has been or 
will be invested in improvements to real property or 
installed datacenter machinery and equipment, or a 
combination thereof, within five years of the date on 
which the first qualifying improvement is made, 
regardless of any subsequent change in county 
development tier status. 

 
2. For facilities that are not located in a development 

tier one area at the time of application for the written 
determination, that at least three hundred million 
dollars ($300,000,000) in private funds has been or 
will be invested in improvements to real property or 
installed datacenter machinery and equipment, or a 
combination thereof, within five years of the date on 
which the first qualifying improvement is made, 
regardless of any subsequent change in county 
development tier status. 

 
c. The facility satisfies the wage standard and health insurance 

requirements of G.S. 105-129.83. 
 
The term “multiple distribution paths” is defined as “a series of 
distribution paths configured to ensure that failure on one 
distribution path does not interrupt or impede other distribution 
paths.”  The term “redundant capacity components” is defined 
as “components beyond those required to support the computer 
equipment.” 
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G.S. 105-187.51A – 
Privilege Tax on 
Manufacturing Fuel:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.51B – 
Privilege Tax on 
Recyclers and Research 
and Development 
Companies:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-
187.51B(a)(2)c. – 
Privilege Tax on 
Research and 
Development 
Companies:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Effective October 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
1473, s. 31.22(a), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This section was rewritten to reflect a reduction in the privilege tax 
rate imposed on a manufacturing industry or plant that purchases 
fuel to operate the industry or plant.  The rate is reduced from one 
percent (1%) to seven-tenths percent (0.7%). 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007 for fuel purchased on or after that date; 
SB 3, s. 12(a), S.L. 07-397.  The rate is reduced from 0.7% to 0.5%; 
effective July 1, 2008 for fuel purchased on or after that date; SB 3, 
s. 12(b), S.L. 07-397.  The rate is further reduced from 0.5% to 
0.3%; effective July 1, 2009 for fuel purchased on or after that date; 
SB 3, s. 12(c), S.L. 07-397.  The section is repealed and purchases 
of fuel by manufacturers are exempt from tax; effective July 1, 
2010; SB 3, s. 12(d), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
This section was rewritten to expand the imposition of the 1% 
privilege tax with a maximum tax of eighty dollars ($80.00) per 
article to include a research and development company in the 
physical, engineering, and life sciences that is included in industry 
54171 of NAICS.  The privilege tax will apply to the purchase of 
equipment or an attachment or repair part for equipment that meets 
all of the following requirements: (a) is capitalized by the company 
for tax purposes under the Code, (b) is used by the company in the 
research and development of tangible personal property, and (c) 
would be considered mill machinery under G.S. 105-187.51 if it 
were purchased by a manufacturing industry or plant and used in 
the research and development of tangible personal property 
manufactured by the industry or plant.  Purchases by research and 
development companies are currently subject to the combined 
State and local sales or use tax.    
 
(Effective January 1, 2007; SB 1741, s. 24.9(a), S.L. 06-66.  
Effective date changed to July 1, 2007; HB 1891, s. 12, S.L. 06-
196.) 
 
This sub-subdivision was rewritten to clarify one of the requirements 
that must be met in order for a research and development 
company’s purchases to be subject to the privilege tax.  Items that 
would be considered mill machinery parts or accessories (in 
addition to mill machinery) if purchased by a manufacturer in its 
research and development of tangible personal property it 
manufactures are subject to the privilege tax. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2007; SB 540, s. 13(a), S.L. 07-527.) 
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G.S. 105-187.51B(a)(3) 
– Privilege Tax on 
Software Publishers’ 
Machinery and 
Equipment:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.51C – 
Privilege Tax on 
Datacenter Machinery 
and Equipment:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This new subdivision expands the imposition of the 1% privilege tax 
with a maximum tax of eighty dollars ($80.00) per article to include 
a software publishing company that is included in the industry group 
5112 of NAICS and that purchases equipment or an attachment or 
repair part for equipment that meets certain requirements.  In order 
to be subject to the privilege tax, the equipment or an attachment or 
repair part for the equipment must be:  (1) capitalized by the 
company for tax purposes under the Code, (2) used by the 
company in the research and development of tangible personal 
property, and (3) considered mill machinery if it were purchased by 
a manufacturing industry or plant and used in the research and 
development of tangible personal property manufactured by the 
industry or plant. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
HB 1473, s. 31.7(a), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This is a new section that imposes the 1% privilege tax with a 
maximum tax of eighty dollars ($80.00) per article on an eligible 
datacenter, other than one as defined in G.S. 105-164.3(8e) that 
purchases machinery or equipment to be located and used at the 
datacenter.  The machinery and equipment must be capitalized for 
tax purposes under the Code and must be use either:  (1) for 
providing datacenter services, including equipment cooling systems 
for managing the performance of the datacenter property; hardware 
and software for distributed and mainframe computers and servers; 
data storage devices; network connectivity equipment and 
peripheral components and systems; or (2) for generating, 
transforming, transmitting, distributing, or managing electricity, 
including exterior substations and other business personal property 
used for these purposes. 
 
The section includes a forfeiture provision in the event the required 
level of investment for qualification as an eligible datacenter is not 
timely made or any eligible machinery and equipment is not located 
and used at an eligible datacenter.  The section specifies that a 
taxpayer that forfeits the privilege tax rate is liable for all past sales 
and use taxes avoided, computed at the combined general rate of 
tax; a credit is allowed against the sales or use tax owed for 
privilege taxes paid.  There are provisions that stipulate the date 
from which interest is computed. 
 
This section imposing the privilege tax on an eligible datacenter 
expires for sales occurring on or after July 1, 2013. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; 
HB1473, s. 31.22(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
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G.S. 105-187.52(c) – 
Administration of 
Privilege Tax:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.60 – 
Definitions:   
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.61 – Tax 
Imposed:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.62 – 
Administration of Tax:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This is a new subsection that codifies the current administrative 
practice of exempting State agencies from the privilege tax as well 
as from sales and use tax. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 14, S.L. 07-527.) 
 

SOLID WASTE DISPOSAL TAX 
– ARTICLE 5G 
 
A new Article 5G of Subchapter I of Chapter 105 was added 
effective July 1, 2008.  The new Article consists of G.S. 105-187.60 
through 105-187.63. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; SB 1492, s. 14(a), S.L. 07-550.) 
 
This section provides that the definitions set out in G.S. 105-164.3 
and G.S. 130A-290 apply to this Article.  
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; SB 1492, s. 14(a), S.L. 07-550.) 
 
This section imposes an excise tax on the disposal of municipal 
solid waste and construction and demolition debris in any landfill 
permitted pursuant to Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the General 
Statutes at a rate of two dollars ($2.00) per ton of waste.  An excise 
tax at the same rate is also imposed on the transfer of municipal 
solid waste and construction and demolition debris to a transfer 
station permitted under the same Article for disposal outside the 
State.  The tax is due on waste and debris received from third 
parties and on waste and debris disposed of by the owner or 
operator; it is payable by the owner or operator of each landfill and 
transfer station. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; SB 1492, s. 14(a), S.L. 07-550.) 
 
This section requires the owner or operator of the landfill or transfer 
station to maintain scales designed to determine waste tonnage 
that are approved by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services.  The owner or operator must record waste tonnage when 
the waste is received and must maintain records required by the 
Secretary of Revenue.  The owner or operator may add the solid 
waste disposal tax due to the charges made to a third party for 
disposal of municipal solid waste or construction and demolition 
debris.  The tax is payable and a return is due to be filed in the 
same manner as required for sales and use tax under G.S. 105-
164.16. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; SB 1492, s. 14(a), S.L. 07-550.) 
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G.S. 105-187.63 – Use 
of Tax Proceeds:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This section, as amended, allows the Secretary of Revenue to 
retain the costs of collection, not to exceed $225,000.  The 
proceeds of the tax, less the costs of collection, are to be distributed 
as follows:  (1) Fifty percent (50%) to the Inactive Hazardous Sites 
Cleanup Fund established by G.S. 130A-310.11.  (2) Eighteen and 
seventy-five one hundredths percent (18.75%) is to be distributed to 
cities in the State on a per capita basis and eighteen and seventy-
five one hundredths percent (18.75%) is to be distributed to 
counties in the State on a per capita basis.  Persons who reside 
within a city are not counted in the population of the county or 
counties in which the city is located.  (3) Twelve and one-half 
percent (12.5%) to the Solid Waste Management Trust Fund 
established by G.S. 130A-309.12. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; SB 1492, s. 14(a), S.L. 07-550.  
Amendment effective July 1, 2008; SB 6, s. 2, S.L. 07-543.) 
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SECTION 

4  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 161-31 — 
Collection of Delinquent 
Property Taxes:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 153A-357— 
Collection of Delinquent 
Property Taxes:   
 
 
G.S. 105-275 — 
Property Tax – School 
Capital Leases: 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-277.14 — 
Taxation of Working 
Waterfront Property: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-288(a) — 
Property Tax 
Commission Terms:   
 
 
 

 

PROPERTY TAX 
 
Adds Burke County, Caswell County, Greene County, Jones 
County and Wayne County to the list of counties which may, by 
resolution, require the register of deeds not to accept any deed 
transferring real property for registration unless the county tax 
collector has certified that no delinquent taxes are a lien on the 
property described in the deed. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2007; HB 464, s. 1, S.L. 2007-221.) 
 
Adds Gates County to the list of counties, which by resolution, may 
prohibit the issuance of a building permit to a delinquent taxpayer. 
 
 (Effective May 30, 2007; SB 624, s. 1, S.L. 2007-58.) 
 
Adds a new property tax exclusion for real or personal property that 
is subject to a capital lease pursuant to G.S. 115C-531. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2007; HB 63, s. 1, S.L. 2007-477.) 
 
Provides tax relief for working waterfront property by requiring that 
property meeting the definition of a working waterfront be appraised 
at its present use and not at its highest and best use or true value.  
The difference in taxes due on the property appraised at its present 
use and the taxes due on the property appraised at its true value is 
a lien on the property and is to be carried as deferred taxes.  If the 
property loses its qualification as a working waterfront, the current 
taxes are based on the true value of the property and the deferred 
taxes for the preceding three fiscal years become due with interest. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2009; SB 646, s. 1, S.L. 2007-485.)  
 
Provides for all appointments to the Property Tax Commission to be 
four-year terms by changing the term of the member appointed by 
the Speaker of the House of Representatives from two years to four 
years.  Applies to appointments made after July 1, 2007. 
 
(Effective July 28, 2007; HB 1555, s. 1, S.L. 2007-308.) 
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G.S. 105-228.37 — 
Refund of Overpayment 
of Tax: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-290(d) — 
Challenge to an 
Administrative 
Subpoena: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-330.10 — 
Disposition of Interest: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 20-79.1, 20-79.1A, 
105-330.4 and 105-
330.5 — Use of 
Temporary Registration 
Plates or Markers by 
Purchasers of Motor 
Vehicle in Lieu of 
Dealer’s Plates:   
 
G.S. 105-330.1(b) — 
International 
Registration Plan: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Changes the refund request procedures for overpayment of deed 
excise tax.  The board of county commissioners must hold a 
hearing in accordance with the procedures that apply to a hearing 
held by a board of equalization and review on an appeal concerning 
the listing or appraisal of property.  The decision of the county 
board may be appealed to the North Carolina Property Tax 
Commission pursuant to G.S. 105-290.  The decision of the 
Property Tax Commission is subject to judicial review in accordance 
with G.S. 7A-29. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 24, S.L. 2007-491.) 
 
Provides that upon a motion, the Property Tax Commission or a 
member of the Commission may quash a subpoena if it does not 
relate to a matter at issue or if the subpoena fails to describe with 
sufficient particularity why the evidence is required.  A motion to 
quash a subpoena must be heard at least 10 days prior to the 
hearing for which the subpoena was issued.  A denial to quash a 
subpoena is subject to immediate judicial review in the Superior 
Court of Wake County. 
 
(Effective July 20, 2007; SB 1432, s. 3 and s. 4, S.L. 2007-251.) 
 
Clarifies that the interest on unpaid registration fees pursuant to 
G.S. 105-330.4 shall be transferred on a monthly basis to the North 
Carolina Highway Fund for technology improvements within the 
Division of Motor Vehicles.  Also clarifies that the interest generated 
by the funds in the Combined Motor Vehicle and Registration 
Account shall be credited to the account. 
 
(Effective August 29, 2007; HB 1688, s. 7(A), S.L. 2007-471.)   
 
Provides a procedure where by a new motor vehicle owner may 
purchase a vehicle and is not required to pay the taxes at the time 
the application for registration is made.  Clarifies that motor vehicle 
dealers are not required to collect property taxes at the time a 
vehicle is sold. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2010; HB 1688, s. 1, s. 2, s. 3, s. 4 and s. 5, S.L. 
2007-471.) 
 
Adds vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan 
to the list of vehicles not classified under Article 22A.  These 
vehicles are required to be listed with the county assessor in 
January of each year by the owner as of January 1st of each year. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2010; HB 1688, s. 6, S.L. 2007-471.) 
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G.S. 105-277.1 — 
Adjusts the Exclusion 
Amount, Income 
Eligibility Limit, and the 
Definition of Income for 
the Homestead 
Exclusion:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
S.L. 2007-497 Section 
1.2 — Revenue Laws 
Study Committee to 
Study Issue of Indexing 
the Minimum Excluded 
Appraised Value in the 
Homestead Exclusion:   
 
G.S. 105-277.1B — 
Creates New Property 
Tax Homestead Circuit 
Breaker:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-277.3 — 
Modifies Definition of 
Agricultural Land to 
Specifically Include 
Aquatic Species:   
 
 
 
 
 
 

This bill raises the exclusion amount to the greater of $25,000 
(previously $20,000) or 50% of the appraised value of the 
residence.  This bill also raises the income eligibility limit for the 
homestead exclusion to $25,000 for the 2008 tax year.  The limit for 
subsequent years will continue to be adjusted and set by the 
NCDOR according to the cost-of-living adjustments as currently 
required by the statutes.  The bill also changes the definition of 
income by deleting the language “Adjusted gross income, as 
defined in section 62 of the Code, plus all other...” and replacing it 
with the word “All”.  
 
This bill also provides for the election by the taxpayer of the 
traditional homestead exclusion or the newly enacted homestead 
circuit breaker (effective for taxable years beginning on or after July 
1, 2009) when the taxpayer qualifies for both provisions. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2008; HB 1499, s. 2.1 and s. 2.2, S.L. 2007-497 s. 1.1.) 
 
The Revenue Laws Study Committee may study the issue of 
whether to index the minimum excluded appraised value limit in the 
property tax homestead exclusion in G.S. 105-277.1 and, if so, 
which index to use.   
 
(Effective August 30, 2007; HB 1499, s. 1.2, S.L. 2007-497.)  
 
 
This bill creates a new property tax homestead circuit breaker 
program, effective for taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 
2009.  Taxpayers who qualify for and elect this option will pay taxes 
as limited by a percentage of their income.  The unpaid difference in 
taxes will continue on the records as deferred taxes which will 
become payable, for up to three prior years, upon a disqualifying 
event.  An initial application is required, but an application is not 
required in subsequent years unless there are changes that would 
require a review of the qualifications of the property or the owner. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2009; HB 1499, s. 2.3, 2.4, and 2.5, S.L. 2007-497.) 
 
This bill states that land used to farm aquatic species can be 
agricultural land if the land meets the income requirements, and if 
the land in production is at least five acres or has produced at least 
20,000 pounds of aquatic species for commercial sale annually, 
regardless of size. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2008; HB 1499, s. 3.1, S.L. 2007-497.) 
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S.L. 2007-497 Sections 
4.1 and 4.2 — Revenue 
Laws Study Committee 
to Study Tax Relief for 
Nondevelopmental 
Property:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Revenue Laws Study Committee may study ways to address 
the inability of landowners to pay property taxes while maintaining 
nondevelopmental uses. 
 
(Effective August 30, 2007; HB 1499, s. 4.1 and s. 4.2, S.L. 2007-
497.) 
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SECTION 

5  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.39 – 
Reference Change: 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.52 – 
Clarifying: 
 
 
 
G. S. 105-449.72(a)(2) – 
Bond Requirement 
Adjustment: 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.80(a) – 
Fuel Tax Rate Cap: 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.81(3a) – 
Repealed: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

MOTOR FUELS TAX 
 
 
This statute was amended to change the refund processing cross-
reference to G.S. 105-241.7. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 40, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify that a penalty imposed under 
this section is payable to the agency that assessed the penalty. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 16(a), S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This statute was amended to modify the bond requirement for a fuel 
alcohol provider or biodiesel provider.  The bond amount is the 
same as that for the blender, no bond is required unless the annual 
liability is at least $2,000. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 17(a), S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This statute was amended to cap the variable wholesale component 
of the motor fuel excise tax at 12.4¢ per gallon. 
 
(Effective for the period of July 1, 2007 – June 30, 2009; HB 1473, 
s. 31.15(a), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This statute was repealed because there was conflicting point of 
taxation statutes for fuel alcohol and biodiesel. Prior to the law 
change, this statute placed the imposition of the tax at the point of 
sale. Fuel alcohol and biodiesel are defined in the definition of 
motor fuels and tax is imposed motor fuel at the terminal rack or 
upon importation to this State.  
 
(Effective January 1, 2007; SB 540, s. 38(a), S.L. 07-527.) 
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G.S. 105-449.88 – 
Exemption:  
   
   
   
   
G.S. 105-449.115(f) – 
Clarifying:   
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.115(g) – 
Clarifying: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.115A(c) – 
Clarifying: 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.117(b) – 
Clarifying: 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.118 – 
Clarifying: 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.118A – 
Clarifying: 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.119 – 
Administrative Review: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This statute was amended to exempt biodiesel from the excise tax if 
the fuel was produced by an individual for use in a private 
passenger vehicle owned by the individual. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007; SB 1272, s. 1, S.L. 07-524.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify that a penalty imposed under 
this section is payable to the agency that assessed the penalty. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 16(b), S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This statute was amended to remove the seven-day time limit for 
obtaining a diversion number without being assessed the penalty. 
This amended statute also clarifies that the transporter is not 
required to verify that the tax was paid in order to have a penalty 
waived. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 18(a), S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify that defense for the penalty 
imposed under this section is payable to the agency that assessed 
the penalty. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 16(c), S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify that a penalty imposed under 
this section is payable to the agency that assessed the penalty. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 16(d), S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify that a penalty imposed under 
this section is payable to the agency that assessed the penalty. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 16(e), S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify that a penalty imposed under 
this section is payable to the agency that assessed the penalty. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 16(f), S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This statute was amended to conform to the Department’s revised 
administrative review process. The statutes did not change the 
requirement that payment of the penalty must be made before the 
administrative review is granted. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 41, S.L. 07-491.) 
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G.S. 119-17 – 
Repealed: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This statute was repealed because this statute describes the usage 
of the fuel. The inspection tax is on the fuel itself without regard to 
the usage. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 20, S.L. 07-527.) 
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SECTION 

6  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-228.90(b)(1b) 
– Reference to the 
Internal Revenue Code 
Updated: 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-228.90(b)(7) – 
Conforming Change:   
 
 
 
G.S. 105-236(a)(4) – 
Conforming Change:   
 
 
 
G.S. 105-239.1 - 
Transferee Liability:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

GENERAL  
 
This subdivision was amended to update the reference to the 
Internal Revenue Code from January 1, 2006 to January 1, 2007. 
Any amendments to the Internal Revenue Code enacted in 2006 
that increase North Carolina taxable income for the 2006 taxable 
year become effective for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2007. 
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB 1473, s. 31.1, S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This subdivision was amended to conform to the new assessments, 
refunds, and appeals processes explained below. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 25, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This subdivision was amended to conform to the new assessments, 
refunds, and appeals processes explained below. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 26, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This statute establishes a lien on property sold for inadequate 
consideration if the transferor owes tax and is insolvent at the time 
of transfer or is made insolvent by transfer of the asset.  If the 
transferee subsequently sells or disposes of the property before the 
State can execute on its lien, the transferee can be held personally 
liable for the fair market value of the property.   
 
Under old law, the Department docketed a certificate of tax liability 
and requested the clerk of court to issue an execution against it to 
foreclose upon the transferred property.  The transferee was 
allowed to recoup any payments made to the transferor before 
funds were applied to the tax debt.    
 
Under the new law, a proposed assessment is sent to the 
transferee, essentially transferring the liability to that person.  The 
Department has the burden of proof to establish that the person to 
whom the property was transferred is liable.  Upon sale of the 
transferred property, the transferee is allowed to recoup any  
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G.S. 105-241(b)(2) – 
Electronic Funds 
Transfer Required for 
Prepayment Taxes:   
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-242(a) - Levy 
and Sale:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-242(b) - 
Garnishment and 
Attachment:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

payments made to the transferor before funds are applied to the tax 
debt.   
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 27, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
A conforming change was made to the provision requiring payment 
by electronic funds transfer for taxpayers who are required to make 
prepayments. The provision was rewritten as a result of the change 
from semimonthly payments to prepayments for a taxpayer who is 
consistently liable for at least $10,000 a month in State and local 
sales and use taxes.  
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 31, S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This statute provides the authority and legal mechanism for the 
Department to seize and sell real and tangible personal property to 
satisfy unpaid tax debt.  The law was updated to simplify and 
modernize the language.  No significant changes to the process for 
seizing property are evident in the bill. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 28, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This statute provides the authority and legal mechanism for the 
Department to seize intangible property, such as wages and bank 
deposits, to satisfy unpaid tax debt.  The changes simplify and 
modernize the language of the statute.  The bill also includes 
several significant changes to the process for administering 
garnishments. 
 
Under old law, the method of service for garnishments followed 
Rule 4 of the North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure.  Once a 
garnishment was served, the garnishee had 10 days to offer a 
defense or setoff of the garnishment.  If no timely response was 
offered, the garnishee was responsible for withholding and remitting 
any funds held or owed by the garnishee to the debtor taxpayer to 
the Department of Revenue.  If the garnishee did not offer a valid 
defense within 10 days, and failed to turn over property as required 
by the garnishment, the Department could seek court action to 
transfer the debt to the garnishee.  The Department had to file suit 
against the garnishee in the superior court in the county in which 
the garnishee resided or operated a business.  The process to 
transfer tax to the garnishee was complicated and rarely used by 
the Department.  Additionally, the Department was required to send 
a copy of the 105-242(b) with all garnishments served.   
 
Under the new law, the person in possession of property owed to or 
owned by a debtor taxpayer becomes liable for the debt upon 
service of the garnishment and attachment.  This liability is limited 
to the amount the person is holding on behalf of the taxpayer, 
reduced by any amounts owed by the taxpayer to the garnishee.  
The new statute simplifies the procedure for holding the garnishee  
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G.S. 105-242(c) - 
Certificate of Tax 
Liability:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-242.1 - 
Procedures for 
Attachment and 
Garnishment:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

liable.  Occasionally, a garnishee will fail to offer a valid defense 
within the time required by statute and will also refuse to turn over 
property subject to the garnishment.   The Department is no longer 
required to seek court action to transfer the debt to the garnishee. 
 
This method of service and other related procedures were removed 
from G.S. 105-242.  G.S. 105-242.1, Procedures for Attachment 
and Garnishment, was enacted to provide these procedures.   
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s.29, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This statute provides the method by which the Department issues a 
tax lien and makes past-due tax debts a public record.  The 
certificate of tax liability (CTL) is indexed in the records of the 
county clerks of superior court with other judgments.  It establishes 
a lien on both the real and personal property owned by the subject 
taxpayer from the date it is recorded.   
 
The new law clarifies that the CTL is a judgment.  It should be 
docketed in the county where the taxpayer resides or has property.  
The new statute adds that the Department should docket the CTL in 
Wake County if the taxpayer neither resides in nor owns property 
located in North Carolina.  The law also clarifies that the standard 
judgment interest rate set forth in G.S. 24-1 applies to CTLs.   
 
Under both the new and old laws, the tax represented on a CTL 
abates after 10 years.  Under the old law, the tolling of the 10-year 
period stopped during 5 specific events provided by statute.  A new 
event is added to stop the tolling of the 10-year period.  The new 
event allows the subject taxpayer to waive the abatement of tax for 
any period.  This change gives the Department additional flexibility 
in negotiating more favorable repayment terms to taxpayers owing 
past due taxes but owning property. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 31, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This new statute describes how garnishments and attachments are 
to be issued and released.  It also provides the procedures for 
holding a garnishee liable that fails to respond to a garnishment and 
attachment.   
 
Under the new law, the method of serving garnishments and 
attachments no longer follows the NC Rules of Civil Procedure.  
Garnishments issued by the Department are served using the same 
methods as tax assessments as provided in G.S. 105-241.20.  
Alternatively, they may be served using registered or certified mail.   
 
The new law no longer requires the Department to send a copy of 
the statute with the garnishment.  Rather, it must provide an 
explanation of the liability of a garnishee for tax owed by a taxpayer.   
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G.S. 105-243 - Taxes 
Recoverable by Action:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-243.1 - 
Collection of Tax Debts:   
 
 
 
 

 
The new law gives garnishees 30 days to respond to the 
garnishment.  A new procedure is established for handling 
responses from garnishees that offer a defense to the garnishment.  
The taxpayer must offer the defense in writing within 30 days of 
service.  The defense must state why the garnishee is not subject to 
the garnishment.  Upon receipt, the Department must schedule a 
conference to discuss the defense with the garnishee.  If the 
Department does not agree with the garnishee’s position, the 
Department may proceed to hold it liable for the tax using the 
Department’s administrative assessment authority as provided in 
G.S. 105-241.9. 
 
The new law requires that a letter of release be sent to the 
garnishee anytime a garnishment is paid in full or released for other 
reasons.  Identifying information, including the taxpayer’s name, 
address and full social security or federal identification number must 
be included in the letter. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 30, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
 
This statute provides a method for the Department to seek a 
judgment issued by a court to facilitate collection of a tax liability.   
 
Under old law, the Secretary could bring court action against a 
corporation that failed to pay taxes, fees, or penalties.  Prior to 
bringing suit, the Secretary was required to issue a civil execution to 
the sheriff in the county where the corporation was based or held 
property.  If the sheriff returned the execution without recovering the 
debt, the Secretary could then request the Attorney General’s office 
to bring suit against the company.   
 
The changes simplify and modernize the language of the statute 
and conforms it to other changes to Article 9 of Chapter 105.  Under 
prior law, only corporate entities were subject to action under the 
statute.  This change extends the Secretary’s authority to bring suit 
against all taxpayer entities, including corporations, individuals, and 
partnerships.  It no longer requires the issuance of a civil execution 
prior to seeking the judgment.  It specifies that this judgment is not 
subject to a claim for homestead exemption.  It also provides the 
courts in which the Attorney General may bring the action. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 33, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This statue establishes the Collection Assistance Fee and provides 
how it is to be used.  It also allows the Department to outsource 
debts owed by non-resident taxpayers.  The statue was revised to 
conform to other changes to Article 9 of Chapter 105.   
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 33, S.L. 07-491.) 
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G.S. 105-253(b) - 
Responsible Officers:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-256 – Change 
to Caption and 
Additional Requirement:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-258(a) – 
Clarifying: 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-258.1(a) – 
Conforming Change:   
 
 
 
G.S. 105-259(b)(1) – 
Disclosure:   
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-259(b)(7) – 
Disclosure: 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-259(b)(38) – 
Disclosure: 
 
 
 
 

This statute allows the Department to transfer liabilities incurred by 
a responsible officer of a corporation or limited liability company.  
 
The statute was modified to conform to the new assessment and 
review process.  It also updates the definition of “responsible 
officer” to include the title “chief financial officer.” 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 34, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
The caption of this statute was amended to call the information 
required to be prepared by the Secretary of Revenue publications 
instead of reports.  Subdivision (a)(9) was added to require the 
Department to publish final decisions from contested tax cases to 
conform to the new appeals process explained below. 
 
Caption change effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 35, S.L. 07-
491; additional publication requirement effective January 1, 2008; 
SB 242, s. 36, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify that the Secretary may examine 
data and summons persons for a tax as defined in G.S. 105-
228.90(b)(7). Prior to this change the statutes referred to this 
Subchapter, which included only Subchapter I. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 15, S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This subsection was amended to conform to the new assessments, 
refunds, and appeals processes explained below. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 37, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This subdivision was amended to permit the Department to disclose 
tax information if ordered to do so by an administrative law judge in 
a contested tax case. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 38, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This statute was amended to include the disclosure of tax 
information to the Joint Operations Center for National Fuel Tax 
Compliance (JOC). North Carolina is a member of the JOC whose 
purpose is to address fuel tax evasion across the United States. 
 
(Effective August 31, 2007; SB 540, s. 34, S.L. 07-527.) 
 
This subdivision was added to permit the Department to verify with 
a nonprofit organization information concerning a tax credit claimed 
by a taxpayer for donations to the nonprofit for acquisition or lease 
of renewable energy property. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 3, s. 13(d), S.L. 07-397.)  
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G.S. 105-262(a) – 
Conforming Change:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This subsection was amended to delete references to the Tax 
Review Board in the statutory language authorizing the Department 
to adopt rules.  The Tax Review Board’s authority was repealed as 
part of the new appeals process explained below. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 39, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
 

REFORM ASSESSMENTS, 
REFUNDS, AND APPEALS 
PROCESSES  
 
Session Law 2007-491 (Senate Bill 242) recodified and revised 
several of the statutes within Article 9 of Chapter 105 to reform the 
existing assessments, refunds, and appeals processes.  The new 
statutes are explained and the repealed statutes are identified 
below.  In general, the effective date of these changes is January 1, 
2008.  If the effective date for a change is other than January 1, 
2008, that effective date is identified within the explanation for that 
statute. 
 
The primary changes from current law and existing administrative 
practice include: 
 

• A uniform procedure for all refunds, including the statute of 
limitations relative to those requests and how requests for 
refunds are handled. 

• When a federal determination has been made and the 
taxpayer timely notifies the Department of the federal 
determination, changes to the taxpayer’s State tax liability 
are limited to those items related to the federal 
determination. 

• The Department no longer has to issue a proposed 
assessment for tax reflected due by a taxpayer on a tax 
return but not paid.  That amount is due and collectible. 

• Hearings on protested assessments or denials of refund 
move from the Department’s Administrative Hearings Officer 
to Administrative Law Judges at the Office of Administrative 
Hearings. 

• Final Decisions issued subsequent to the hearing at the 
Office of Administrative Hearings are appealed to the 
Business Court or Superior Court rather than the Tax 
Review Board. 

• The tax liability must be paid to appeal to the Business 
Court or Superior Court.  Under prior law, the taxpayer had 
to either pay the tax or file a bond. 
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G.S. 105-241.6 – 
Statute of Limitations for 
Refunds:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-241.7 – 
Procedure for Obtaining 
a Refund:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Under prior law, the general statute of limitations for requesting 
refunds on other than constitutional grounds was found in G.S. 105-
266(c) and the statute of limitations for seeking refunds on 
constitutional grounds, as well as any other grounds, was found in 
G.S. 105-267.  The statute of limitations for requesting a refund 
under G.S. 105-266(c) was the later of (i) three years after the date 
set by the statute for the filing of the return or (ii) six months of the 
payment of the tax alleged to be an overpayment.  An agreement 
by a taxpayer to extend the time in which the Department could 
propose an assessment automatically extended the time in which 
the taxpayer could request a refund.  Exceptions to the general rule 
applied to overpayments resulting from worthless debts or 
securities, capital loss and net operating loss carrybacks, and 
federal determinations.  The statute of limitations for requesting a 
refund under G.S. 105-267 was 30 days after payment for a tax 
levied in Articles 2A, 2C, or 2D of Chapter 105 and three years for 
all other taxes. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.6 incorporates the statutes of limitations on 
refunds in G.S. 105-266 and G.S. 105-267 into one statute.  The 
general statute of limitations for requesting a refund is now the 
same for any type of claim for refund.  It is the later of (i) three years 
after the due date of the return or (ii) two years after payment of the 
tax.  The same exceptions as provided for in former G.S. 105-
266(c) still apply. 
 
Note:  If a taxpayer’s right to receive a refund had expired under the 
prior six-month statute of limitations, the new two-year statute of 
limitations does not reopen the taxpayer’s right to a refund. 
 
Under prior law, refunds were issued if the Secretary discovered an 
overpayment or the taxpayer requested a refund under G.S. 105-
266 or demanded a refund under G.S. 105-267 and the Department 
determined that the taxpayer had overpaid the tax.  The discovery 
by the Department or the request or demand for refund by the 
taxpayer had to be within the applicable statute of limitations.  The 
Department could not refund any overpayment before the taxpayer 
filed the final return for the tax period or any overpayment that was 
(i) required to be set off under Chapter 105A, the Setoff Debt 
Collection Act, (ii) elected by the taxpayer to be applied to another 
purpose, such as the next year’s estimated tax or the Wildlife 
Conservation Account (applicable only to income tax 
overpayments), less than $1.00 if an individual income tax refund or 
$3.00 if any other kind of tax.  The law placed no time limitations on 
the Department’s review of requests for refunds under G.S. 105-
266.  Demands for refund under G.S. 105-267 were considered 
denied if not refunded within 90 days. 
 
Subsection (a) of new G.S. 105-241.7 requires the Department to 
refund an overpayment it discovers if the statute of limitations has 
not expired.   
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G.S. 105-241.8 – 
Statute of Limitations for 
Assessments:   
 
 

Subsection (b) permits a taxpayer to request a refund of an 
overpayment by filing an amended return reflecting the 
overpayment or filing a claim for refund that identifies the taxpayer, 
the type and amount of tax overpaid, the applicable tax period, and 
the basis for the claim within the statute of limitations.  Identifying 
the basis for the claim does not limit the taxpayer from changing the 
basis. 
 
Subsection (c) requires the Department to, within six months of 
receiving the amended return or demand for refund, either (i) refund 
the amount requested; (ii) adjust the amount requested, refund the 
adjusted amount, and provide the taxpayer with a reason for the 
adjustment; if the refund is less than requested, the adjusted refund 
is considered a notice of denial for the amount of the requested 
refund that was not refunded; (iii) deny the refund in its entirety and 
send the taxpayer a notice of proposed denial; or (iv) request 
additional information concerning the request for refund.  If a 
taxpayer does not respond to a request for information, the 
Department may deny the refund and issue a notice of proposed 
denial.  If the taxpayer provides the requested information, the 
Department must take one of the actions listed above within the 
latter of (i) the remainder of the six-month period; (ii) 30 days after 
receiving the information; (iii) a time period mutually agreed upon by 
the Department and the taxpayer.  If the Department does not take 
one of these actions within the required time, the inaction is 
considered to be a proposed denial of the requested refund. 
 
Subsection (d) requires a notice of a proposed denial to contain the 
following information: (i) the basis for the proposed denial (the 
stated basis for the denial does not limit the Department from 
changing the basis) and (ii) the circumstances under which the 
proposed denial will become final. 
 
Subsection (e) contains the same restrictions on issuing refunds as 
provided for in former G.S. 105-266(a). 
 
Subsection (f) provides that a proposed denial of a refund by the 
Department is presumed to be correct.  A taxpayer receiving a 
refund for a tax period is not absolved from any tax liability that may 
exist for that tax period. 
 
Note:  If a taxpayer has a pending refund claim as of January 1, 
2008, the Department has six months from January 1 to take action 
on the refund claim before the inaction is considered a proposed 
denial of the requested refund. 
 
Under prior law (G.S. 105-241.1(e)), the general statute of 
limitations for proposing assessments was three years after the 
later of (i) the date the taxpayer filed an application for a license or 
a return or (ii) the date the application or return was required by law 
to be filed.  A taxpayer could agree to extend the time in which the  
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G.S. 105-241.9 – 
Procedure for Proposing 
an Assessment:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Department could assess a taxpayer for an underpayment.  
Exceptions to the general rule applied to assessments resulting 
from federal determinations, forfeiture of a tax credit or tax benefit, 
the subsequent recognition of unrecognized gain from involuntary 
conversion of property, sales of personal residences, or for failure 
to file a return or for filing a false return. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.8 includes all of the provisions of former G.S. 
105-241.1(e) except for the agreement to extend the time in which 
the Department can propose an assessment and the exception 
related to sales of personal residences.  The extension of time 
provision is included in new G.S. 105-241.9(b).  The federal 
provisions addressing when an assessment could be made with 
regard to sales of personal residences had been repealed in earlier 
years so the provision was no longer applicable for State tax 
purposes. 
 
Under prior law, the procedure for proposing an assessment was 
included in G.S. 105-241.1(a).  If the Department discovered that 
any tax was due, the Department was required to notify the 
taxpayer in writing of the kind and amount of tax due.  The notice 
had to describe the basis for the proposed assessment and identify 
the amounts of any tax, interest, and penalties included in the 
proposed assessment.  The notice also had to advise the taxpayer 
that the proposed assessment would become final unless the 
taxpayer timely requested a hearing.  The proposed assessment 
had to be based on the best information available and was 
presumed to be correct. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.9 includes the provisions of former G.S. 105-
241.1(a) and the provision of former G.S. 105-241.1(e) regarding an 
agreement to extend the time in which the Department can propose 
an assessment.  Subsection (a) authorizes the Department to 
propose an assessment for tax due.  The proposed assessment 
must be based on the best information available and is presumed to 
be correct. 
 
Subsection (b) requires the Department to propose an assessment 
within the statute of limitations for proposed assessments (see G.S. 
105-241.8 above) unless the taxpayer waives the limitations period 
in writing.  The waiver can be for either a definite or indefinite time.  
The Department may then propose an assessment at any time 
within the extended time. 
 
Subsection (c) requires the Department to give a taxpayer a written 
notice of a proposed assessment.  The notice must contain (i) the 
basis for the proposed assessment (the statement of the basis does 
not limit the Department from changing the basis); (ii) the amount of 
tax, interest, and penalties, stated separately, and (iii) the 
circumstances under which the proposed assessment will become 
final and collectible. 
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G.S. 105-241.10 – Limit 
on Refunds and 
Assessments After a 
Federal Determination:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-241.11 – 
Requesting Review of 
Proposed Denial of 
Refund or Proposed 
Assessment:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Current law (G.S. 105-130.20 for corporate income tax, G.S. 105-
159 for individual income tax, G.S. 105-163.6A for withholding tax, 
and G.S. 105-197.1 for gift tax) permits the Department, when 
made aware of a correction or determination of a taxpayer’s federal 
tax liability by the Internal Revenue Service, to consider all available 
evidence to determine the taxpayer’s correct State tax liability.  The 
term “all available evidence” means evidence of any kind from any 
source, whether or not the evidence was considered in the federal 
correction or determination. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.10 places limitations on the amount of refund or 
proposed assessment that can be issued when the Department is 
notified by a taxpayer of a federal correction or determination and 
the general statute of limitations has expired.  If a taxpayer timely 
files a return reflecting a federal determination that affects the 
amount of State tax payable, the taxpayer is entitled to a refund 
only if the refund is the result of adjustments related to the federal 
determination.  Likewise, the taxpayer is liable for additional tax 
only if the additional tax is the result of adjustments related to the 
federal determination.  For example, an individual income tax return 
for a taxpayer whose exemption for a dependent is disallowed by 
the Internal Revenue Service could also be adjusted to disallow the 
credit for children for the same dependent but could not be adjusted 
to disallow an interest expense deduction.  A corporate income tax 
return for a corporation whose gross receipts are increased by the 
Internal Revenue Service could also be adjusted to adjust the 
apportionment factor for the increased receipts but could not be 
adjusted to disallow tax credits. 
 
Note:  The change in this section is effective for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2007. 
 
Prior law did not statutorily authorize taxpayers to request a review 
of proposed assessments or adjustments to refunds.  Under prior 
law (G.S. 105-241.1(c) for proposed assessments, G.S. 105-
266.1(a) for refunds requested), a taxpayer who objected to a 
proposed assessment in writing within 30 days or whose refund 
requested was reduced or denied was entitled to a hearing before 
the Department’s Hearings Officer.  It was the Department’s 
administrative practice to review the proposed assessments or 
adjustments to refunds upon receipt of the taxpayer’s request for 
hearing, to correspond with the taxpayer to explain the adjustments 
and to seek additional information from the taxpayer, either in 
writing or via an informal conference, in an attempt to resolve the 
taxpayer’s objections prior to proceeding to a hearing. 
 
Subsection (a) of new G.S. 105-241.11 authorizes a taxpayer who 
objects to a proposed assessment or a proposed denial of refund to 
request the Department to review the proposed action.  The request 
for review must be filed within 45 days after (i) the date the notice of 
the proposed assessment or the proposed denial of refund was  
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G.S. 105-241.12 – 
Result When Taxpayer 
Does Not Request a 
Review:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

mailed to the taxpayer, if delivered by mail; (ii) the date the notice of 
the proposed assessment or the proposed denial of refund was 
delivered to the taxpayer, if delivered in person; or (iii) the date that 
inaction by the Department on a request for refund was considered 
a proposed denial of the refund (see G.S. 105-241.7(c)). 
 
Subsection (b) provides that a request for the Department to review 
a proposed assessment or a proposed denial of refund is 
considered filed (i) for a request that is delivered in person, the date 
it is delivered; or (ii) for a request that is not delivered in person, the 
date the Department receives it. 
 
Under former law (G.S. 105-241.1(d)), a proposed assessment 
became final without further notice if the taxpayer did not timely 
request a hearing.  A taxpayer who did not timely request a hearing 
on a proposed assessment could still obtain a hearing by paying the 
liability in full and then requesting a refund.  The law contained no 
time limitation for requesting a hearing on a denied or reduced 
refund if the request for refund had been timely filed. 
 
Subsection (a) of new G.S. 105-241.12 provides that a proposed 
denial of a refund becomes final and is not subject to further 
administrative or judicial review if the taxpayer does not file a timely 
request for the Department to review the proposed denial.  A 
taxpayer whose proposed denial of a refund becomes final may not 
file another amended return or refund claim to obtain the denied 
refund. 
 
Subsection (b) provides that a proposed assessment becomes final 
and is not subject to further administrative or judicial review if the 
taxpayer does not file a timely request for the Department to review 
the proposed assessment.  Upon payment of the tax, the taxpayer 
may request a refund of the tax paid.  If a proposed assessment 
becomes final because the taxpayer does not file a timely request 
for a review, the Department must send the taxpayer a notice of 
collection before it attempts to collect the tax.  The notice must 
contain (i) a statement that the proposed assessment is final and 
collectible; (ii) the amount of tax, interest, and penalties due; and 
(iii) an explanation of the collection options available to the 
Department if the taxpayer does not pay the liability reflected on the 
notice and any remedies available to the taxpayer concerning these 
collection options. 
 
Note:  If a taxpayer’s right to request a hearing on a proposed 
assessment had expired before January 1, 2008 because the 
taxpayer did not submit a written request for a hearing within 30 
days, the extended period of time to request a review effective 
January 1, 2008 (45 days) does not apply because that proposed 
assessment became final prior to January 1, 2008. 
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G.S. 105-241.13 – 
Action on Request for 
Review:   
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-241.14 – Final 
Determination after 
Department Review:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Prior law did not statutorily address the Department’s actions on 
requests for reviews. 
 
Subsection (a) of new G.S. 105-241.13 requires the Department, 
when it receives a timely request for a review of a proposed 
assessment or proposed denial of a refund, to conduct a review of 
the proposed action and either (i) grant the refund or remove the 
assessment; (ii) schedule a conference with the taxpayer; or (iii) 
request additional information from the taxpayer concerning the 
requested refund or proposed assessment. 
 
Subsection (b) requires the Department to schedule a conference 
with a taxpayer if it’s review of a proposed assessment or proposed 
denial of a refund does not result in granting the refund requested 
or removing the assessment.  The conference may either be face-
to-face or by telephone.  The Department must give the taxpayer 30 
days notice of the time and place set for the conference unless the 
Department and the taxpayer agree to a conference in less than 30 
days.  The purpose of the conference is for the parties to attempt to 
resolve the case.  The conference is informal; no testimony under 
oath is taken; the rules of evidence do not apply; and the taxpayer 
may present any objections to the proposed action.  The taxpayer 
may designate a representative to act on the taxpayer’s behalf at 
the conference. 
 
Subsection (c) provides that, after the Department conducts a 
conference on a proposed assessment or proposed denial of 
refund, the Department and the taxpayer either (i) agree on a 
settlement; (ii) agree that additional time is needed to resolve the 
issue; or (iii) are unable to resolve the taxpayer’s objection to the 
proposed action.  If a taxpayer fails to attend the conference without 
notifying the Department, the Department and the taxpayer are 
considered to be unable to resolve the issue. 
 
Prior law did not statutorily address the Department’s actions on 
requests for reviews.  If the Department and the taxpayer were 
unable to resolve the issues, the next step was for the taxpayer to 
proceed to a hearing before the Department’s Hearings Officer or to 
pay the tax and file suit to recover the alleged overpayment. 
 
New subsection (a) of G.S. 105-241.14 requires the Department to 
issue a notice of final determination if the Department and the 
taxpayer are unable to resolve the taxpayer’s objection to a 
proposed denial of refund.  The notice must state the basis for the 
final determination and inform the taxpayer of the procedure for 
contesting the determination.  The statement of the basis does not 
limit the Department from changing the basis. 
 
Subsection (b) requires the Department to issue a notice of final 
determination if the Department and the taxpayer are unable to 
resolve the taxpayer’s objection to a proposed assessment.  The  
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G.S. 105-241.15 – 
Contested Case Hearing 
on Final Determination:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

notice must contain (i) the basis for the determination; such basis 
may be stated on the notice or in a separate document (the 
statement of the basis does not limit the Department from changing 
the basis); (ii) the amount of the tax, interest, and penalties due; (iii) 
the procedure the taxpayer must follow to contest the final 
determination; (iv) a statement that the amount due stated on the 
notice is collectible if the taxpayer does not contest the final 
determination; and (v) an explanation of the collection options 
available to the Department if the taxpayer does not pay the liability 
reflected on the notice and any remedies available to the taxpayer 
concerning these collection options. 
 
Subsection (c) requires the Department to conclude its review of the 
proposed assessment or proposed denial of a refund and to issue a 
final determination if needed within nine months of the date the 
taxpayer filed the request for review.  The Department and the 
taxpayer may mutually agree to extend the time limit.  Failure by the 
Department to issue a final determination within nine months does 
not affect the validity of a proposed assessment. 
 
Note:  Timely protests of proposed assessments or denials of 
refunds filed before January 1, 2008 and pending as of that date will 
be considered requests for review under the new law without the 
taxpayer having to submit a new request.  The Department has nine 
months from January 1, 2008 to conclude its review of the proposed 
assessment or proposed denial of a refund and to issue a final 
determination if needed. 
 
Under prior law (G.S. 105-241.1(c) for proposed assessments, G.S. 
105-266.1(a) for refunds requested), administrative tax hearings 
were heard before the Department’s Hearings Officer. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.15 provides that a taxpayer who disagrees with 
a notice of final determination issued by the Department may 
petition for a contested case hearing before an administrative law 
judge at the Office of Administrative Hearings pursuant to Article 3 
of Chapter 150B of the General Statutes.  A taxpayer may not 
petition for a contested case hearing until the Department has 
issued a notice of final determination.  Pursuant to G.S. 150B-23(f), 
the petition for a contested case hearing must be filed within 60 
days of the date the Department mails or personally delivers the 
notice of final determination.  The taxpayer does not have to pay 
the additional tax due prior to the contested case hearing. 
 
For information about the contested tax case hearings process, 
please consult the Office of Administrative Hearings web page at 
http://www.ncoah.com. 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.ncoah.com/
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G.S. 105-241.16 – 
Judicial Review of 
Decision After 
Contested Case 
Hearing:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-241.17 – Civil 
Action Challenging 
Statute as 
Unconstitutional:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-241.18 – 
Reserved for Future 
Law: 
 
 
G.S. 105-241.19 – 
Declaratory Judgments, 
Injunctions, and Other 
Actions Prohibited:   
 
 
 
 
 
 

Under former law (G.S. 105-241.2(a) for proposed assessments, 
G.S. 105-266.1(c) for refunds requested), a taxpayer who did not 
agree with the Hearing Officer’s Final Decision could appeal to the 
Tax Review Board without having to pay the tax or could pay the 
tax and file suit in Superior Court.  A taxpayer who appealed to the 
Tax Review Board and who did not receive a favorable decision 
from the Tax Review Board could pay the tax or file a bond with the 
Department and appeal that decision to Superior Court. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.16 provides that a taxpayer who receives an 
unfavorable decision in a contested case hearing may appeal the 
decision by filing a petition for judicial review with the Superior 
Court of Wake County and a Notice of Designation to designate the 
case as a mandatory complex business case to be heard by the 
Business Court.  The appeal must be filed within 30 days after 
receipt of the final decision for the contested case hearing.  The 
taxpayer must pay the tax liability set forth in the final decision to 
appeal.   
 
Under prior law, neither the Department’s Hearings Officer nor the 
Tax Review Board could render a decision on the constitutionality of 
a statute. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.17 provides that a taxpayer who claims that a 
tax statute is unconstitutional may bring a civil action with the 
Superior Court of Wake County and filing a Notice of Designation to 
designate the case as a mandatory complex business case to be 
heard by the Business Court.  To bring a civil action, the taxpayer 
must have (i) exhausted the prehearing remedy by receiving a 
notice of final determination from the Department; (ii) commenced a 
contested case at the Office of Administrative Hearings; (iii) 
received a dismissal notice from the Office of Administrative 
Hearings; (iv) paid the tax, penalties, and interest due pursuant to 
the Department’s notice of final determination; and (v) filed the civil 
action within two years of the dismissal. 
 
 
 
 
 
Prior law did not address declaratory judgments or injunctions. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.19 provides that the remedies in G.S. 105-
241.11 through G.S. 105-241.17 are the exclusive remedies for 
disputing the denial of a requested refund, the taxpayer’s liability for 
a tax, or the constitutionality of a tax statute.  All other actions, 
including a declaratory judgment and an injunction to prevent the 
collection of a tax, are barred. 
 
 



 

 79

G.S. 105-241.20 – 
Delivery of Notices to 
the Taxpayer:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-241.21 – 
Interest on Taxes:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Under prior law (G.S. 105-241.1(b)), the Department was required 
to deliver a proposed assessment notice to a taxpayer either in 
person or by U.S. mail sent to the taxpayer’s last known address.  A 
notice mailed to a taxpayer was presumed to have been received 
by the taxpayer unless the taxpayer made an affidavit to the 
contrary within 90 days after the notice was mailed.  If the taxpayer 
made an affidavit, the notice was considered delivered on the date 
of the affidavit.  The law did not address delivery of notices of 
proposed denials of refund or final assessments. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.20 includes the provisions of former G.S. 105-
241.1(b) with respect to proposed assessments and extends those 
provisions to a proposed denial of refund, a notice of collection, and 
a final determination. 
 
Under prior law (G.S. 105-241.1(i) for assessments and G.S. 105-
266(b) for refunds, the Department, on or before June 1 and 
December 1 of each year, established the interest rate to be in 
effect during the six-month period beginning on July 1 and January 
1, respectively.  The Department was required to give due 
consideration to current market conditions and to the rate to be in 
effect on that date pursuant to the Internal Revenue Code while 
determining the rate.  If no new rate was established, the rate in 
effect for the previous six-month period remained in effect.  The rate 
could not be less than 5% nor exceed 16%.   
 
Interest accrued on an underpayment of tax, exclusive of any 
penalties assessed, from the date set by statute for payment of the 
tax until the tax was paid.  Interest accrued on an overpayment of 
income tax or gross premiums tax beginning 45 days after the later 
of (i) the date the final return was filed; (ii) the date the final return 
was due to be filed; or (iii) the date of the overpayment, determined 
in accordance with Code sections 6611(d), (f), (g) and (h).  Interest 
accrued on an overpayment of any other type of tax beginning 90 
days after the date the tax was paid.   
 
For purposes of calculating interest, a refund was considered paid 
on a date determined by the Department that was no sooner than 
five days after the refund check was mailed.  A refund set off 
against a debt pursuant to the Setoff Debt Collection Act (Chapter 
105A) was considered paid five days after the Department mailed 
the taxpayer a notice of the setoff unless the agency that requested 
the setoff returned the refund to the taxpayer.  In that case, the 
refund was considered paid five days after the agency mailed the 
taxpayer the refund check. 
 
Subsection (a) of new G.S. 105-241.21 incorporates the provisions 
of prior law about establishing the interest rate without change. 
 
Subsection (b) incorporates the provisions of prior law regarding the 
accrual of interest on an underpayment of tax without change. 
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G.S. 105-241.22 – 
Collection of Tax:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-241.23 – 
Jeopardy Assessment 
and Collection:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Subsection (c) incorporates the provisions of prior law regarding the 
accrual of interest on an underpayment of tax with one change.  As 
amended, a franchise tax payable on an annual basis now accrues 
interest beginning 45 days after the latter of the three tests instead 
of 90 days after the date the tax was paid. 
 
Subsection (d) incorporates the provisions of prior law regarding 
when a refund is considered paid without change. 
 
Under prior law, the Department could collect a tax if the taxpayer 
did not timely (i) request a hearing with respect to a proposed 
assessment; (ii) petition the Tax Review Board for review of the 
Hearings Officer’s Final Decision in an administrative tax hearing; or 
(iii) pay the tax after the Tax Review Board issued its decision on 
the appeal of the Hearings Officer’s Final Decision unless the 
taxpayer filed a bond with the Department and appealed the 
decision to Superior Court.  If the taxpayer filed a return showing 
additional tax due but did not pay the tax, the Department could not 
immediately collect the tax; instead, the Department was required to 
propose an assessment for the liability. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.22 provides that the Department can collect a 
tax when (i) a taxpayer files a return showing tax due on the return 
and does not pay the amount shown due; (ii) the Department sends 
a notice of collection after the taxpayer does not file a timely 
request for a review of a proposed assessment; (iii) the taxpayer 
and the Department agree on a settlement concerning the amount 
of tax due; (iv) the Department issues a notice of final determination 
with respect to a proposed assessment and the taxpayer does not 
file a timely petition for a contested case hearing; (v) a final decision 
is issued on a proposed assessment of tax after a contested case 
hearing; or (vi) the Office of Administrative Hearings dismisses a 
petition for a contested case for lack of jurisdiction because the 
issue is the constitutionality of a statute.   
 
Under prior law (G.S. 105-241.1(g)), the Department could, within 
the statute of limitations, immediately assess any tax if the 
Department determined that collection of the tax was in jeopardy 
and the immediate assessment was necessary to protect the 
State’s interest.  The Department was required to give the taxpayer 
a notice of proposed assessment within 30 days after the jeopardy 
assessment.  Within 5 days after issuing the jeopardy assessment 
that was not the result of a criminal investigation or was not for a 
liability for the unauthorized substance tax, the Department was 
required to give the taxpayer a written statement of the information 
upon which the Department relied in making the assessment.  The 
taxpayer could request the Department to review the jeopardy 
assessment by filing a request within 30 days of receipt of the 
written statement or within 30 days of when the statement was due.  
If the taxpayer made a timely request for review, the Department 
was required to determine if making the jeopardy assessment was  
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Statutes Repealed to 
Conform to the New 
Processes for 
Assessments, Refunds, 
and Appeals:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

reasonable under all of the circumstances and whether the amount 
of the tax was reasonable.  The Department had to give the 
taxpayer written notice of its determination within 30 days of the 
request for review. 
 
Under prior law (G.S. 105-241.5)), the taxpayer could, within 90 
days after the earlier of the date the taxpayer received the 
Department’s determination or the date the taxpayer should have 
received the determination, bring a civil action in Superior Court 
seeking review of the jeopardy action. 
 
New G.S. 105-241.23(a) incorporates the provisions of former G.S. 
105-241.1(g) regarding the authority to issue a jeopardy 
assessment and the requirement to issue a notice of proposed 
assessment within 30 days.  The subsection also authorizes the 
Department to use any of the collection remedies in G.S. 105-242 
and provides that the Department does not have to wait any period 
of time after taking the jeopardy action to use those remedies. 
 
Subsection (b) incorporates the provisions of former G.S. 105-
241.1(g) regarding the requirement to provide a written statement of 
the basis for the jeopardy action within 5 days and the authority of 
the taxpayer to ask the Department to review the jeopardy action. 
 
Subsection (c) incorporates the provisions of former G.S. 105-
241.5. 
 
(G.S. 105-241.10 is effective for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2007; G.S. 105-241.6 through .9 and G.S. 105-241.11 
through .23 are effective January 1, 2008.  The procedures for 
review of disputed tax matters apply to assessments of tax that are 
not final as of January 1, 2008 and to claims for refund pending on 
or filed on or after January 1, 2008.  Matters for which a petition for 
review was filed with the Tax Review Board under G.S. 105-241.2 
before January 1, 2008 are not affected by the enactment of the 
new appeals process; SB 242, s. 1, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
The following statutes in Article 9 of Chapter 105 were repealed to 
conform to the new processes for assessments, refunds, and 
appeals enacted in G.S. 105-241.6 through G.S. 105-241.23: 
 
G.S. 105-239 G.S. 105-241.1 G.S. 105-241.2 
G.S. 105-241.3 G.S. 105-241.4 G.S. 105-241.5 
G.S. 105-266 G.S. 105-266.1 G.S. 105-267 
G.S. 105-269.2   
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 2, S.L. 07-491.) 


