

Sales and Use Tax Division North Carolina Department of Revenue Post Office Box 25000 Raleigh, North Carolina 27640-0001 www.dornc.com

IMPORTANT NOTICE: AUGUST SALES TAX HOLIDAY REPEALED

Effective July 1, 2014, N.C. Gen Stat. § 105-164.13C, which provides a sales and use tax holiday for the first weekend in August, **is repealed** per Session Law 2013-316. The following items of tangible personal property if sold between 12:01 A.M. on the first Friday of August and 11:59 P.M. the following Sunday are no longer exempt from sales and use tax under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-164.13C:

- Clothing with a sales price of one hundred dollars (\$100.00) or less per item.
- School supplies with a sales price of one hundred dollars (\$100.00) or less per item.
- School instructional materials with a sales price of three hundred dollars (\$300.00) or less per item.
- Computers with a sales price of three thousand five hundred dollars (\$3,500.00) or less per item.
- Computer supplies with a sales price of two hundred fifty dollars (\$250.00) or less per item.
- Sport or recreational equipment with a sales price of fifty dollars (\$50.00) or less per item.

Additional Note for Retailers

N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-164.9 provides "[a]ny retailer who shall by any character or public advertisement offer to absorb the tax levied in [Article 5 of Chapter 105] or in any manner directly or indirectly advertise that the tax herein imposed is not considered an element in the price to the purchaser shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. Any violations of the provisions of this section reported to the Secretary shall be reported by him to the Attorney General of the State to the end that such violations may be brought to the attention of the solicitor of the court of the county or district whose duty it is to prosecute misdemeanors in the jurisdiction. It shall be the duty of such solicitor to investigate such alleged violations and if he finds that this section has been violated prosecute such violators in accordance with the law."

<u>Assistance</u>

Questions regarding this notice should be directed to the Taxpayer Assistance and Collection Center at telephone number 1-877-252-3052 (toll-free).