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Why is the North Carolina Department of Revenue (NCDOR) requiring informational reporting? 
 
In 2015, the North Carolina General Assembly passed G.S. 105-251.2 requiring informational 
reporting. The purpose of this law is to provide the NCDOR with third party information that will 
help identify compliance with the Revenue Laws of North Carolina.  
 

Who is required to provide information? 
 
The following groups are required to comply with North Carolina G.S. 105-251.2:  

o ABC Stores within the ABC System 
o Beer and Wine Wholesalers 
o Holders of Unfortified Winery, Fortified Winery, Brewery, or Distillery permits 
o Occupational Licensing Boards 
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What information is required? 
 
The information required is listed in the Templates specific to your business type.  This can be 
found on the NCDOR website: https://www.ncdor.gov/file-pay/guidance-information-reporting.  
Notices specific to Alcohol Vendors and Occupational Licensing Boards are mailed in the spring 
of each year.  The notices are also published to the NCDOR website.  The legislation (G.S. 105-
251.2) lists some fields that are required and additional information that “the Secretary deems 
necessary” to determine compliance.  
 

Will this information be requested every year? 
 
Yes. This is an annual requirement set forth through North Carolina G.S. 105-251.2.  The NCDOR 
will request the preceding calendar year’s information each year.   
 

When is the information due? 
 
Information for the preceding calendar year is due to the NCDOR by the first business day in July.   
 

Calendar Year Due Date 

2021 Friday, July 1, 2022 

2022 Monday, July 3, 2023 

2023 Monday, July 1, 2024 
  

Where can I find instructions for Information Reporting? 
 
The NCDOR mailed Notices in March 2022.  A copy of the Notice was also published to the 
Department website.  A copy of the Notice, file layout templates, common errors for alcohol 
vendors and additional information can be found online at  

https://www.ncdor.gov/file-pay/guidance-information-reporting 
 

How do I find the NC Sales Tax ID for my customers? 
 
Beer and Wine vendors are required to include the NC Sales Tax ID within the Customer file.  The 
NC Sales Tax IDs should be provided to the vendor by the customer in accordance with North 
Carolina G.S. 105-164.28(a) (1).  The NC Sales Tax ID can be found on a completed Form E-595 
Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement Certificate of Exemption in Section 5, row G Resale 
#. Alternatively, NC Sales Tax ID can be found using the Sales Tax ID Database on the NCDOR 
website using the link below. Instructions on how to search using a wildcard are included below 
the search feature.  

https://eservices.dor.nc.gov/salesdatabase/ 
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Is there a penalty for failure to submit information? 
 
Yes.  Beginning July 1, 2019 a penalty of fifty dollars ($50) per day with a maximum of one 
thousand dollars ($1,000) may be assessed for failure to file the Information Reporting 
Requirement as outlined in NC G.S. 105-236(a) (10) (c).  
 

Is there a penalty for submitting data in a different format than requested? 
 

Yes. Beginning July 1, 2019 a penalty of two hundred dollars ($200) will be assessed for “failure 
to file in the format prescribed by the Secretary” per NC G.S. 105-236(a) (10) (d).  

Errors referenced on the “Common Errors” list for both ABC Boards and Beer and Wine 
Distributors will be considered submission in a format different than requested and may be 
assessed the $200 penalty.  The “Common Error” list is for example purposes and is not all-
inclusive.   

How can I submit data? 
 
The business or board can choose to submit data through either email or the File Transfer Protocol 
(FTP) portal. The FTP Portal will be available no earlier than May 1, 2022.  If the combined file 
size of all files is larger than 25 megabytes the sender will need to send multiple emails or use the 
FTP portal.  NCDOR requests that all Occupational License Board submissions are completed in 
an encrypted manner as the data contains Social Security Numbers. Details regarding file 
submission can be found within the Email and FTP Submission Instructions (Alcohol Vendors and 
Licensing Board Only) Section located on the NCDOR website: 
 

https://www.ncdor.gov/file-pay/guidance-information-reporting 
 

 
Do I still have an Information Reporting requirement if my business (A) Makes no wholesale sales 
(B) Sells only to a distributor or (C) Only makes wholesale sales to itself? 
 
Yes. The Submitter file must be submitted to the NCDOR via email to InfoReporting@ncdor.gov.  
A copy of the Submitter file template can be found on the NCDOR website.  Further information 
may be requested to verify the information provided.    
 
If it is determined that the information provided in this email is not accurate, the fine for Failure 
to Submit information may be applied.   
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The Secretary of Revenue may not request information more than one time per calendar year.  
What does this mean exactly? 
 
The Secretary will request the information be provided by the due date each year for the preceding 
calendar year.  This same information will not be requested again if you have submitted 
information by the due date and the information is error-free.  The agency maintains the right to 
contact you for information that was requested and not provided, not provided by the due date, or 
contained errors and must be resubmitted.  Any information correctly submitted to the Department 
under this legislative requirement will not be requested again.  However, requests for years that 
have not been submitted may continue to be requested for specific taxpayers.  For example, if you 
have submitted data for 2020 but did not for 2019 or 2018, the Department may request data for 
calendar years 2019 and 2018 for a specific taxpayer.   
 

What is the best way to communicate with NCDOR about Information Reporting? 
 
Questions specific to Information Reporting (pursuant to G.S. 105-251.2) should be sent to 
InfoReporting@ncdor.gov All emails should include the name and phone number of a contact 
person.   
 
For assistance in all other matters, please refer to https://www.ncdor.gov/  
 
A list of telephone numbers for specifics topics can be found at https://www.ncdor.gov/contact-
us/customer-service 
 


