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E-595SL
BOR Application for Direct Pay Permit
o for Qualifying Spirituous Liquor

Office Use

You should not apply for a direct pay permit unless you intend to purchase a single container of
spirituous liquor that costs fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) or more.

1. Federal Employer ID No.: - or Social Security No.:
(If request is for more than one account ID with the same FEIN,
2. N.C. Sales and Use Tax Account ID: attach a sheet and list the account IDs, trade names, and business
. locations in N.C.)
(If applicable)

3. Legal Business Name or Person’s Name:

4. Trade Name (DBA Name):

(If applicable)
5. Business Location in N.C.:  Street
(If applicable)
(Not P.O. Box Number) City State Zip Code County
6. Mailing Address: Street or P.O. Box

City State Zip Code

A direct pay permit issued under this application can only be used to purchase single containers of
spirituous liquor, as defined in N.C. Gen. Stat. §18B-101, that cost fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) or
more. The permit cannot be used to make any other purchases.

Signature: Date:
| certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this application is accurate and complete.

Name (Print): Title:

E-mail: Phone:

Mail to: N.C. Department of Revenue, Sales and Use Tax Division, P. O. Box 871, Raleigh, NC 27602-0871
or Fax to: (919) 715-0295
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General Information

The Department will not issue a direct pay permit if this application does not include all required information.

¢ A Qualifying Spirituous Liquor Direct Pay Permit authorizes its holder to purchase qualifying spirituous liquor without
paying tax to the seller. If a customer provides the permit to a seller, the seller should not collect any tax on the qualifying
spirituous liquor from the permit holder. A Qualifying Spirituous Liquor Direct Pay Permit does not apply to any purchase
other than the purchase of qualifying spirituous liquor.

e For the purposes of this permit, a “qualifying spirituous liquor” is a single container of spirituous liquor, as defined in N.C.
Gen. Stat. §18B-101, the purchase price of which is equal to or greater than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000).

e The maximum use tax on qualifying spirituous liquor is one thousand dollars ($1,000).

e Upon approval, the Department will issue a Qualifying Spirituous Liquor Direct Pay Permit bearing a direct pay number
for use when purchasing qualifying spirituous liquor.

e To purchase qualifying spirituous liquor without paying tax to the seller, the purchaser must provide the seller a copy of
the Spirituous Liquor Direct Pay Permit, issue Form E-595E, Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement Certificate of
Exemption, or provide the required data elements to the seller. The direct pay permit number issued by the Department
should be entered for letter “J Direct pay permit # under “4 Reason for exemption” on Form E-595E.

e The Department may revoke a direct pay permit if the holder of the permit does not file and pay required sales and use
tax returns or otherwise fails to comply with the Sales and Use Tax Laws.

¢ If you have questions, you may contact the Sales and Use Tax Division by phone at 919-814-1082 or by mail addressed to

“Sales and Use Tax Division, North Carolina Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 871, Raleigh, North Carolina, 27602-0871.”
Line by Line Instructions

Line 1 - Enter the following information for the applicant. If you are applying as a business entity, enter the information for

your business entity. If you are applying as an individual, enter your SSN and name. Enter your Federal Employer

Identification Number (FEIN) or Social Security Number, as applicable. A separate application must be completed

for each FEIN or individual.

Line 2 - If you have an existing North Carolina Sales and Use Tax Account ID Number, enter your Account ID Number. If
you do not, leave this line blank.

Line 3- Enter your legal business name or your full legal name.

Line 4 - If your business has a trade name, enter your trade name. If you are an individual or do not have a trade name,
leave this field blank.

Line 5- Ifyou are a business, enter your business address. If you are not or do not have a street address in North Carolina,
leave this line blank.

Line 6 - Enter the mailing address to which all correspondence concerning the Direct Pay Permit should be mailed.





