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North Carolina Certificate of Compliance

Publish Date: August 02, 2021 at 7:14:33 PM

Effective Date: August 01, 2021
Approved By: Ronald G. Penny
Title: Secretary of Revenue
Submitted By: Brooks Hemphill
Phone: 919-814-1082
Revised Date: July 30, 2021

As the chief executive of the state’s tax agency, | declare that this Certificate of Compliance is true, correct, and complete to the best of my
knowledge and belief.

Changes were made to the following areas of this document (indicated by a "v'*"):

v Answers Laws or Rules Comment (Notes)

v _ Effective/Conforming Dates v_ Certificate's Revised Date

Reference Number of changed items (may include a brief description of the change):
N/A

Each item in this Certificate of Compliance is an administrative practice, process, or definition contained in the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement
(SSUTA) (http://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/index.php?page=modules) as amended through May 20, 2021 and related rules and appendices.

This certificate indicates if the state laws, regulations or administrative practices follow the administrative practice, process, or definition. Any exception or further
explanation is listed in the notes column.
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SECTION TOPIC DOCUMENT DESCRIPTION Is this If so, provide the For SST Notes (e.g., administrative
COMMENTS/ requirement citation for legal conforming practices, noncompliance
REFERENCE TO CRIC met by law, authority (statute, case, changes, explanations, etc.)
INTERPRETATIONS regulation or regulation, etc.) provide
administrative effective
practice (Yes dates.

or No). Enter
N/A when not
applicable.

Section 107 Presidentially declared
states of emergency

107010 Has the state taken any No
action affecting their
sales and use tax laws or
regulations in response to
a presidentially declared
state of emergency?

107020 Did the state provide at N/A
least 30 days between
the enactment and the
effective date of the
legislative or executive
action?

2 of 51 8/25/2021, 12:04 PM



North Carolina 2021.0 - Streamlined Sales Tax

3 of 51

https://sst.streamlinedsalestax.org/CC/Form/4677

107030 If the state did not N/A
provide at least 30 days
between the enactment
date and the effective
date, does the state
provide the seller liability
relief for incorrectly
collecting tax if (1) the
seller properly collected
the tax based on the law
immediately preceding
the action; (2) the seller’s
failure to properly collect
the tax does not extend
beyond thirty days after
the effective date of the
action; and (3) any tax
collected by the seller
must be remitted to the
state?
Section 301 State level
administration
301010 Does the state provide state level Yes G.S.
administration of state and local 105-469, 105-483, 105-4
sales and use taxes? 98, 105-507.2,
105-509.1,
£40.4 1055443
301020 Are sellers and purchasers only Yes G.S. 105-471
required to register with, file returns
and remit funds to a state-level
authority?
301030 Does the state provide for the Yes G.S. 105-469, 105-472
collection of any local taxes and
distribute them to the appropriate
taxing jurisdictions?
301040 Are audits conducted only by the Yes G.S. 105-164.30, State conducted audits only

state or by others authorized by the
state to conduct an audit that
includes both state and local taxes?

105-469
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301050

Are local jurisdictions prohibited
from conducting independent sales
or use tax audits of sellers and
purchasers except where
authorized by state law to conduct
an audit for the state and all local
jurisdictions, subject to the same
confidentiality and other protections
and the same administrative and
appeal procedures granted audits
conducted by the state?

Yes

G.S. 105-469

State conducted audits only

Section 302 State and local tax base

302010

Is the tax base for local jurisdictions
identical to the state tax base,
excluding (1) federal prohibitions;
(2) motor vehicles, aircraft,
watercraft, modular homes,
manufactured homes or mobile
homes; (3) fuels used to power
motor vehicles, aircraft,
locomotives, or watercraft; (4)
electricity, piped natural or artificial
gas or other fuels delivered by the
seller; and (5) energy as defined in

Yes

G.S.

105-467, 105-483, 105-4
98, 105-507.2, 105-536,
105-474

Food exceptions noted under
Section 308 A-2.

302020

Section.302(4)2
7

Does the tax base differ for state
and local jurisdictions for motor
vehicles, aircraft, watercraft,
modular homes, manufactured
homes or mobile homes?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4

10/1/2003,
1/1/2006, 1/1/2
014, 10/1/2015

Motor vehicles are exempt from
sales and use tax (G.S.
105-164.13(32)). Watercraft are
subject to preferential State sales
and use taxes only. Manufactured
homes, modular homes, and
aircraft are subject to general State
sales and use tax rate only as the
local sales and use taxes do not

apply.
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302030 Does the tax base differ for state Yes G.S. G.S. 105-164.13(11) specifically
and local jurisdictions for fuels used 105-164.4, 105-164.13, 1 exempts motor fuels as defined in
to power motor vehicles, aircraft, 05-467, 105-468 G.S. 105-449.60. (Motor fuels tax)
locomotives or watercraft? G.S. 105-164.13(11a) exempts

sales of diesel fuel to railroad
companies for use in rolling stock
other than motor vehicles. Aviation
gasoline and jet fuel are subject to
the "combined general rate" which
is the State's general rate of tax set
in G.S. 105-164.4(a) plus the sum
of the rates of the local sales and
use tax authorized by Subchapter
VIII for every county in the State.
G.S. 105-164.13(11b) exempts
sales of aviation gasoline and jet
fuel to an interstate air business for
use in a commercial aircraft as
defined in G.S. 105-164.13(45a).

302040 Does the tax base differ for state Yes G.S. 105-164.4(a)(9) and Electricity, piped natural gas,
and local jurisdictions for electricity, (15), 105-164.13, 105-16 aviation gasoline and jet fuel are
piped natural or artificial gas or 4.13E subject to the "combined general
other fuels delivered by the seller? rate" which is the State's general

rate of tax setin G.S. 105-164.4(a)
plus the sum of the rates of the
local sales and use tax authorized
by Subchapter VIII for every county
in the State. There are exemptions
from State and local taxes for fuel
noted throughout G.S. 105-164.13
and for qualifying and conditional
farmers listed in G.S. 105-164.13E.
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302050 Does the tax base differ for state Yes G.S. 105-164 4, Electricity, piped natural gas,
and local jurisdictions for "energy" 105-164.13, 105-164.13E aviation gasoline and jet fuel are
as defined in Section 302(4)? subject to the "combined general

rate" which is the State's general
rate of tax setin G.S. 105-164.4(a)
plus the sum of the rates of the
local sales and use tax authorized
by Subchapter VIII for every county
in the State. Other energy items
are subject to the general State and
applicable local and transit rates of
tax unless specifically exempt.

There are exemptions from State
and local taxes noted

throughout G.S. 105-164.13 and for
qualifying and conditional farmers
listed in G.S. 105-164.13E.

3020557 This isn't a compliance C.1. Does the state allow the N/A
issue but is something reporting of items with a different
sellers and their agents local base on the SER?
should know.
302060 This isn't a compliance C.2. Does the state provide N/A
issue but is something information on the different bases in
sellers and their agents a separate boundary file using the
should know. format approved by the Governing
Board?
302065 This isn't a compliance C.4. Did the state notify the N/A
issue but is something Governing Board that it requires the
sellers and their agents separate reporting of these taxes
should know. on the SER and make the

requirement effective no sooner
than the first day of a calendar
quarter beginning at least 6 months

after notifying the Governing
Board?

Section 303 Seller registration

303010 Is the state capable of pulling Yes
registration information from the
central registration system?
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303020 Does the state exempt a seller Yes G.S. 105-164.29 There is not a registration fee for
without a legal obligation to register sales and use taxes in North
from paying registration fees? Carolina.
303030 Does the state allow a seller to Yes G.S. 105-164.42E(4)
register on the central registration
system without a signature?
303040 Does the state allow an agent to Yes G.S.
register a seller on the central 105-164.42E(4), 105-164.
registration system? 421
Section 304 Notice for state tax
changes

304010 Failure to meet these A1. Does the state provide sellers Yes G.S. 105-164.42L(c) 8/23/2013 30 days rate change requirement
does not take a state out with as much advance notice as added effective 8/23/13 by S.L.
of compliance. practicable of a rate change? 2013-414, s. 15.

304020 A2. Does the state limit the No State sales tax rate change is not
effective date of a rate change to limited to 1st day of a calendar
the first day of a calendar quarter? quarter. G.S. 105-466 limits local

rate changes to 1st day of calendar
quarter.

304030 A3. Does the state notify sellers of Yes Form E-505 provided to all
legislative changes in the tax base registered taxpayers annually after
and amendments to sales and use legislative session and posted to
tax rules and regulations? website. Additional notices posted

to website on specific topics on a
regular basis and a number of such
notices are provided to all
registered taxpayers by either U.S.
mail or electronic email.
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304040

C. Does the state relieve the seller
of liability for failing to collect tax at
the new rate if the state fails to
provide for at least thirty days
between the enactment of the
statute providing for a rate change
and the effective date of such rate
change if (1) the seller collected tax
at the immediately preceding
effective rate and (2) the seller's
failure to collect at the newly
effective rate does not extend
beyond thirty days after the date of
enactment of the new rate? Note:
This liability relief does not apply if
the state establishes the seller
fraudulently failed to collect tax at
the new rate or solicits purchasers
based on the immediately

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42L(c)

8/23/2013

The 30 days rate change

2013-414.

requirement was added effective
8/23/13 by Sec. 15 of S.L.

Section 305

Local rate and
boundary change

crecadinarate
= gral

305010

Does the state have local
jurisdictions that levy a sales or use
tax? If yes, answer the following
questions.

Yes

G.S.

105-467, 105-468, 105-4
83, 105-498, 105-507.2,
105-509.1, 105-510.1, 10
5-511.3, 105-536, S.L.
1967-1096.

305020

A. Does the state limit the effective
date of local rate changes to the
first day of a calendar quarter after
a minimum of 60 days notice?

Yes

G.S. 105-466

305030

B. Does the state limit the effective
date of local rate changes from
catalog sales wherein the
purchaser computed the tax based
on local tax rates published in the
catalog only on the first day of a

calendar quarter after a minimum of
120 HQ\JIQ notice?

Yes

G.S. 105-466

7/15/2003
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305040

C. Does the state limit local
boundary changes for the purposes
of sales and use taxes to the first
day of calendar quarter after a
minimum of 60 days notice?

Yes

G.S.

105-466

Not statutory authority regarding 60
days but administrative policy. A
county must give the Secretary at
least 90 days advance notice of a
new tax levy or tax rate change.

305050

D. Does the state provide and
maintain a database with boundary
changes?

Yes

G.S.

105-164.42L

10/1/2005

305060

E. Does the state provide and
maintain a database identifying all
jurisdictional rate information using
the FIPS codes?

Yes

G.S.

105-164.42L

10/1/2005

305070

F1. Does the state provide and
maintain a database that assigns
each five digit and nine digit zip
code within the member state to the
proper tax rate and jurisdiction?

Yes

G.S.

105-164.42L

10/1/2005

305080

F2. Does the state apply the lowest
combined tax rate imposed in a zip
code if the area in that zip code
includes more than one tax rate?

Yes

G.S.

105-164.42L

10/1/2005

305090

G. Does the state provide address-
based boundary database records
for assigning taxing jurisdictions
and their associated rates? If yes,
answer the following questions.

Yes

G.S.

105-164.42L

10/1/2005

305100

1. Are the records in the same
format as database records in F?

Yes

G.S.

105-164.42L

10/1/2005

305110

2. Do the records meet the
requirements of the Federal Mobile
Telecommunications Sourcing Act?

Yes

305120

SSTGB Rule 502

H. If the state has met the
requirements of subsection (F) and
elected to certify vendor provided
address-based databases for
assigning tax rates and jurisdiction:

Yes

Have certified one vendor's
database based on sample records
and verified that the correct
jurisdiction is associated with valid
address.
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305130

1. Are those databases in the same
format as the database records
approved pursuant to (G) of this
section?

No

305140

2. Do those databases meet the
requirements of the Federal Mobile
Telecommunications Sourcing Act
(4 U.S.C.A. Sec. 119 (a))?

No

Section 306

Relief from certain
liability

306010

Does the state relieve sellers and
CSPs from liability to the state and
its local jurisdictions for collecting
the incorrect amount of tax because
of reliance on state provided data
on rates, boundaries, and
jurisdiction assignments?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42I,
105-264

10/1/2005

Section 307

Database requirements
and exceptions

307010

A. Does the state provide a
database per Section 305, in
downloadable format?

Yes

10/1/2005

Website

307020

If the state designates a vendor to
provide the Section 305 database
does the vendor's database meet
the requirements of Sections 305,
306 and 307 and is provided at no
cost to the user of the database?

N/A

Section 308

State and local tax rates
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308010 A1. Does the state have more than No G.S. 105-164.4 Telecommunications service and
one state sales and use tax rate on ancillary service, video
items of personal property or programming, spirituous liquor,
services other than (1) fuel used to other than mixed beverages,
power motor vehicles, aircraft, electricity, piped natural gas, and
locomotives, or watercraft; (2) aviation gasoline and jet fuel are
electricity, piped natural or artificial subject to the "combined general
gas, or other fuels delivered by the rate" which is the State's general
seller; (3) the retail sale or transfer rate of tax setin G.S. 105-164.4(a)
of motor vehicles, aircraft, plus the sum of the rates of the
watercraft, modular homes, local sales and use tax authorized
manufactured homes, or mobile by Subchapter VIII for every county
homes; or (4) energy as defined in in the State.

Section 302(4)?

308020 A2. Does the state have a single Yes G.S. 10/1/2003 Food and food ingredients subject
additional tax rate on food and food 105-164.4, 105-164.13B, to 2% local tax in NC that is
ingredients and drugs as defined by 105-467, 105-483, 105-4 administered as if it were a State
state law pursuant to the 98, 105-506.2, 105-537, tax. Drugs are taxable unless they
Agreement? S.L. 1967-1096 are exempt under G.S.

(Mecklenburg) 105-164.13. G.S. 105-506.2 and
G.S. 105-538 clarify that if a
bundled transaction contains food
subject to the local rate of 2% and
the "food" in the bundled
transaction exceeds ten percent,
the provisions of G.S. 105-164.4D
bundled transactions apply.

308030 B1. If the state has local No G.S. Local jurisdiction rates are either
jurisdictions with a sales or use tax, 105-164.4, 105-164.13B, 2%, 2.25%, 2.5%, or 2.75%.
does any local jurisdiction have 105-467, 105-483, 105-4
more than one sales tax rate or one 98, 105-507.2, 105-537,
use tax rate? S.L. 1967-1096

(Mecklenburg)

308040 B2. If the state has local Yes Counties may levy additional rates
jurisdictions with a sales and use under G.S. 105-507.2 and 105-537.
tax are the local sales and use tax Same taxable base for all local
rates identical? jurisdictions.

308045 This isn't a compliance D.1. Does the state allow the No

issue but is something
sellers and their agents
should know.

reporting of items with a different
local rate on the SER?

8/25/2021, 12:04 PM




North Carolina 2021.0 - Streamlined Sales Tax

https://sst.streamlinedsalestax.org/CC/Form/4677

308050

This isn't a compliance
issue but is something

sellers and their agents
should know.

D.2. Does the state provide
information on the different rate in a
separate boundary file using the
format approved by the Governing
Board?

No

308055

This isn't a compliance
issue but is something

sellers and their agents
should know.

D.4. Did the state notify the
Governing Board that it requires the
separate reporting of these taxes
on the SER and make the
requirement effective no sooner
than the first day of a calendar
quarter beginning at least 6 months

after notifying the Governing
Board?

No

Section 310

General sourcing rules

A. Does the state source a retail
sale, excluding lease or rental, of a
product as follows:

310010

CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2007-2

1. If received at business location of
seller, then sourced to that
location?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(a)(2)

S.L. 2012-79, Section 2.8 amends
sourcing provisions to conform to
SSUTA.

310020

2. If not received at business
location of seller, then sourced to
location of receipt?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(a)(3)

S.L. 2012-79, Section 2.8 amends
sourcing provisions to conform to
SSUTA.

310030

3. If subsections 1 & 2 do not apply,
then sourced to address of
purchaser in business records of
seller that are maintained in
ordinary course of seller's

businass?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(a)(3)

S.L. 2012-79, Section 2.8 amends
sourcing provisions to conform to
SSUTA.

310040

4. If subsections 1, 2 & 3 do not
apply, then sourced to address of
purchaser obtained during
consummation of sale, including
address of purchaser's payment
instrument, if no other address is
available?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(a)(4)

6/26/2012

S.L. 2012-79, Section 2.8 amends
sourcing provisions to conform to
SSUTA.
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310050

5. If subsections 1, 2, 3 & 4 do not
apply, including the circumstance in
which the seller is without sufficient
information to apply the previous
rules, then sourced to location from
which tangible personal property
was shipped, from which digital
good or computer software
delivered electronically was first
available for transmission by seller,
or from which service was provided.

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(a)(5)

6/26/2012

S.L. 2012-79, Section 2.8 amends
sourcing provisions to conform to
SSUTA.

B. Does the state source a lease or
rental of tangible personal property
as follows:

310060

1. If recurring periodic payments,
the first periodic payment is
sourced the same as a retail sale.
Subsequent payments are sourced
to the primary property location for

each period covered by the
:navmanf’)

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(b)

310070

2. If no recurring periodic
payments, then sourced in
accordance with rules of retail sale?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(a)

CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2006-3

C. Does the state source a lease or
rental of motor vehicles, trailers,
semi-trailers, or aircraft that do not
qualify as transportation equipment
as follows:

310080

1. If recurring periodic payments,
then sourced to primary property
location?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(b)(2)

7/15/2003

310090

2. If no recurring periodic
payments, then sourced in
accordance with rules of retail sale?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(a)
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310100

D. Does the state source the retail
sale, including lease or rental, of
transportation equipment in
accordance with rules for retail
sale?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(b)(3)

7/15/2003

310110

1. Does the state define
transportation equipment pursuant
to in Section 310, subsection D?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4B(c)

Section 310.1

Election for Origin-
Based sourcing

Effective January 1, 2010

310500

CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2010-1

Has the state elected to source the
retail sale, excluding lease or
rental, of tangible personal property
and digital goods on where the
order is received?

No

Unless the purchaser receives the
product at the business location of
the seller.

310510

Does the state comply with all the
provisions of 310.1 B and C?

N/A

Section 311

General sourcing
definitions

311010

SSTGB RULES 311.1,
311.2 and 311.3

For the purposes of Section 310,
subsection (A), does the state
define the terms "receive" and
"receipt" to mean: taking
possession of tangible personal
property, making first use of
services, or taking possession or
making first use of digital goods,
whichever comes first? Note: The
terms "receive" and "receipt" do not
include possession by a shipping
company on behalf of the

ouurchasar
T

Yes

Sales and Use Tax
Bulletin 4-1A, G.S.
105-164.4B

6/27/2011 -
digital property

G.S. 105-164.4B amended effective
June 27, 2011 (S.L. 11-330, s. 29).
A purchaser receives digital
property when the purchaser takes
possession of the property or
makes first use of the property,
whichever comes first.

Section 313

Direct mail sourcing
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313010

SSTGB RULES 313.1

A 2. For advertising and
promotional Direct Mail, does the
state provide that upon receipt of a
direct mail form or Exemption
Certificate claiming direct mail, or
other written statement approved
by the state, the seller, in the
absence of bad faith, is relieved of
all obligations to collect, pay or
remit the tax to which the permit

Yes

G.S.

105-164.4E(c), 105-164.2
7A(a1) and Sales & Use
Tax Bulletin 67-5D.3.

8/23/2013

S.L. 13-414, s. 23.(c) effective
8/23/13, adds G.S. 105-164.4E(c).

313020

oartains?
T

A 3. Does the state provide that
upon receipt of jurisdictional
information, the seller shall collect
tax according to purchaser's
submitted information and in the
absence of bad faith, seller is
relieved of further liability?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4E(c),
Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
67-5D

8/23/2013

S.L. 13-414, s. 23.(c) effective
8/23/13, adds G.S. 105-164.4E(c).

313030

A 4. For advertising and
promotional Direct Mail, does the
state require the seller to collect tax
pursuant to Section 310 (A)(5) if the
purchaser does not provide a direct
pay permit, Exemption Certificate
claiming direct mail, or jurisdictional

information?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4E, Sales &
Use Tax Bulletin 67-5D

8/23/2013

S.L. 13-414, s. 23.(c) effective
8/23/13, adds G.S. 105-164.4E(c).

313040

B 1. For other Direct Mail, does the
state require the seller to collect tax
pursuant to Section 310 (A)(3) if the
purchaser does not provide a direct
pay permit or an Exemption
Certificate claiming direct mail?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4E(b),
Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
67-5D

8/23/2013

S.L. 13-414, s. 23.(c) effective
8/23/13, adds G.S. 105-164.4E(b).
Language codifies that "other
direct mail" is sourced pursuant to
Section 310(A)(3) where a direct
pay permit or an Exemption
Certificate claiming direct mail is
not presented to the seller.

313050

B 3.For other Direct mail does the
state provide that upon receipt of a
direct pay permit, Exemption
Certificate claiming direct mail, or
other written statement approved
by the state, the seller, in the
absence of bad faith, is relieved of
all obligations to collect, pay or
remit the tax?

Yes

G.S. 105-16.4E(c),
105-164.27A(a1) and
Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
67-5D.3.

8/23/2013

S.L. 13-414, s. 23.(c) effective
8/23/13, adds G.S. 105-164.4E(c).
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Section 313.1

Origin-based direct mail
sourcing

313510

A. Has the state adopted the origin-
based direct mail sourcing?

No

Section 314

Telecom sourcing rule

314010

SSTGB RULE 314.1

A. Except as required in subsection
C below, does the state source
telecommunication services sold on
a call-by-call basis to each level of
taxing jurisdiction where the call
originates and terminates in that
jurisdiction or each level of taxing
jurisdiction where the call either
originates or terminates and in
which service address is located?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(a1)(2)

314020

B. Except as required in subsection
C below, does the state source
telecommunication service to the
customer's place of primary use if
sold on a basis other than call-by-
call basis?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(a1)

314030

C1. Does the state source the sale
of mobile telecommunication
service, other than air-to-ground
radiotelephone service and prepaid
calling service, to customer's place
of primary use as required under
Mobile Telecommunications
Sourcing Act?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(a2)(1)
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314040

C2. Does the state source the sale
of post-paid calling service to the
origination point of the
telecommunication signal as first
identified by either the seller's
telecommunication system or
information received by the seller
from its service provider, where
system used to transport signals is
not that of the seller?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(a1)(3)

314050

C3. Does the state source the sale
of prepaid wireless calling service
and prepaid calling services in
accordance with Section 310 of the
Agreement, including the option of
the location associated with the
mobile telephone number for
prepaid wireless calling service?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(a2)(2)

314060

C4a. For the sale of private
communication service, does the
state source a separate charge
related to a customer channel
termination point to each level of
jurisdiction in which such customer
channel termination point is
|ﬁl:\mr")

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(e)(1)

314070

C4b. For the sale of private
communication service, does the
state source to the jurisdiction in
which the customer channel
termination points are located when
all customer termination points are
located entirely within one
jurisdiction or levels of jurisdictions?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(e)(1)
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314080

CA4c. For the sale of private
communication service, does the
state source fifty percent in each
level of jurisdiction in which the
customer channel termination
points are located when service for
segments of a channel between
two customer channel termination
points located in different
jurisdictions and which segment of
channel are separately charged ?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(e)(3)

314090

C4d. For the sale of private
communication service, does the
state source to each jurisdiction
based on the percentage
determined by dividing the number
of customer channel termination
points in such jurisdiction by the
total number of customer channel
termination points when service for
segments of a channel located in
more than one jurisdiction or levels
of jurisdiction and which segments
are not separately billed?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(e)(4)

As stated in response to the 2010
compliance review, "the statute
does not clarify that the calculation
is for use for 'service for segments
of a channel located in more than
one jurisdiction and which
segments.' However, reading G.S.
105-164.4C(e) in its entirety
indicates gross receipts from
private telecommunications service
are sourced consistent with Section
314 requirements of SSUTA."

314100

D. Does the state source the sale of
Internet access service to the
customer's place of primary use?

N/A

NC does not tax internet access
service

314110

E. Does the state source the sale of
an ancillary service to the
customer's place of primary use?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(a)

Section 315

Telecom sourcing
definitions

Does the state define the following
terms in sourcing
telecommunications:

315010

A. Air-to-ground radiotelephone
service?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4C(a2)(1)
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315020 B. Ancillary services? Yes G.S. 105-164.3
315030 C. Call-by-call basis? Yes G.S. 105-164.4C(h)(1a)
315040 D. Communications channel? Yes Sales and Use Tax
Bulletin 79-1B.3.
315050 E. Customer? Yes Sales and Use Tax
Bulletin 79-1B.4.
315060 F. Customer channel termination Yes Sales and Use Tax
point? Bulletin 79-1B.5.
315070 G. End user? Yes Sales and Use Tax
Bulletin 79-1B.6.
315080 H. Home service provider? Yes Sales and Use Tax
Bulletin 79-1B.7.
315090 I. Mobile telecommunications Yes G.S. 105-164.3
service?
315100 J. Place of primary use? Yes G.S. 105-164.3
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315110 K. Post-paid calling service? Yes G.S. 105-164.4C(h)(5) Effective June 27, 2011; S.L.
11-330, s. 17 amended the
definition to remove "wireline." In
response to the 2010 compliance
review, the Department provided
the following explanation and was
not found out of compliance. "The
definition of 'postpaid calling
service' as defined per NCGS
105-164.4C(h)(5) does not contain
the specific language '[a] postpaid
calling service includes a
telecommunications service, except
a prepaid wireless calling service,
that would be a prepaid calling
service except it is not exclusively a
telecommunication service. The
definition of 'postpaid calling
service' includes 'a service that
meets all the requirement of a
prepaid wireline telephone calling
service, except the exclusive use
requirement.’ The definition of
'postpaid calling service' is defined
within NCGS 105-164.4C that is
specific to telecommunications

sehice.-and.anci a0 Y-YaViTay-Sl

315120 L. Prepaid calling service? Yes G.S. 105-164.3
315130 M. Prepaid wireless calling service? Yes G.S. 105-164.3
315140 N. Private communication service? Yes G.S. 105-164.4C(h)(7)
315150 O. Service address? Yes Sales and Use Tax

Bulletin 79-1B.9.

Section 316 Enactment of
Exemptions
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316010 Product-based exemptions. If the Yes G.S. 105-164.13
state exempts a product that is
defined in Part Il of the Library of
Definitions does the state do so
consistent with Part Il and Section
3272

316020 Product-based exemptions. Can Yes G.S. 105-164.13
the state confirm that where the
Agreement has a definition for a
product that the state exempts, the
state does not exempt specific
items included within that product
definition unless the definition sets
out an exclusion for such item.

316030 Entity and Use-based exemptions. Yes G.S. 105-164.13
If the state has enacted an entity or
use-based exemption for a product
that is defined in Part Il of the
Library of Definitions does the state
do so consistent with Part Il and
Section 3277

316040 Use-based exemptions. Can the Yes G.S. 105-164.13, G.S. 105-164.13E, effective July 1,
state confirm that any use-based 105-164.13E 2014

exemption for an item does not
constitute a product-based
exemption for a product defined in
the Agreement that includes such
item?

Section 317 Administration of
exemptions

SSTGB RULE 317.1 A. Does the state provide for the
following in regard to purchasers
claiming exemption:

317010 1. Seller shall obtain identifying Yes G.S. 105-164.28, Sales
information from purchaser and and Use Tax Bulletin
reason for claiming exemption? 5-1A.
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317020 2. Purchaser is not required to Yes G.S. 105-164.28, Sales
provide signature, unless paper and Use Tax Bulletin
exemption certificate? 5-1A.
317030 3. Seller shall use standard form for Yes G.S. 105-164.28, Sales Or pertinent data elements are
claiming exemption electronically? and Use Tax Bulletin provided.
D14
317040 4. Seller shall obtain same Yes G.S. Signature not required for remote
information for proof regardless of 105-164.28, 105-164.28A sales
medium? , Sales and Use Tax
Bulletin 5-1A.
317050 5. Does the state issue Yes G.S.
identification numbers to exempt 105-164.27A, 105-164.28
purchasers that must be presented , 105-164.28A
ia sallore?
317060 6. Seller shall maintain records of Yes G.S. 105-164.22
exempt transaction and provide to
state when requested?
317070 The Governing Board has 7. Does the state administer use- Yes G.S.
not defined "does not based and entity-based exemptions 105-164.27A, 105-164.28
burden sellers." The when practicable through a direct , 105-164.28A
burden is on each state pay permit, an exemption
to prove that something certificate, or another means that
other than a direct-pay does not burden sellers.
permit or exemption
certificate meets this
provision.
317080 SSTGB RULE 317.2 8. In the case of drop shipment Yes G.S. 105-164.28 and

sales, does the state allow a third
party vendor to claim a resale
exemption based on an exemption
certificate provided by its
customer/re-seller or any other
acceptable information available to
the third party vendor evidencing
qualification for a resale exemption,
regardless of whether the
customer/re-seller is registered to
collect and remit sales and use tax
in the state where the sale is

sourced?

Sales & Use Tax Bulletins
51-3 and 80-2.
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317090

B. Does the state relieve the seller
from any tax if it is determined that
the purchaser improperly claimed
an exemption and hold the
purchaser liable for the tax,
assuming the exceptions in the

saction?

Yes

G.S.

105-164.28, 105-164.28A
, Sales and Use Tax
Bulletin 5-1A.

317100

C. Does the state relieve a seller of
the tax otherwise applicable if the
seller obtains a fully completed
exemption certificate or captures
the relevant data elements required
under the Agreement within 90
days subsequent to the date of

sala?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.28 and
Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
5-1A.

317110

CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2011-3

D.1. Does the state provide the
seller with 120 days subsequent to
a request for substantiation by a
state, if the seller has not obtained
an exemption certificate as
provided in C, to obtain an
exemption certificate or other
information establishing the

transactionnasnotsubiactiotax?
Yy

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
5-1B.

317120

D.2. Subsequent to the 90-day
period provided in C, does the state
relieve a seller of the tax for
exemption certificates taken in
good faith or other information
establishing the transaction was not
subject to tax that are obtained by
the seller as provided in D.1.?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
5-1B.

317130

G. Does the state post the
Streamlined Exemption Certificate
on its website?

Yes

www.ncdor.gov

317140

The answer to this
question does not impact
certification, but it would
provide useful information
to taxpayers.

2. Does the state require
purchasers to update exemption
certificate information or to reapply
with the state to claim certain
exemption?

No
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317150 3. Does the state relieve a seller of Yes Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
tax if the seller obtains a blanket 5-1A.

exemption certificate for a
purchaser with which the seller has
a recurring business relationship?

Section 318 Uniform tax returns

318010 A. Does the state require the filing Yes G.S. 105-164.16
of only one tax return for each
taxing period for each seller for the
state and all local jurisdictions?

318020 B.1. Does the state require that Yes G.S. 105-164.16
returns be filed no sooner than the
twentieth day of the month following
the month in which the transaction
occurred?

318030 B.2. Does the state provide when Yes G.S. 105-164.43D S.L. 14-3 added G.S. 105-164.43D
the due date for a return falls on a effective May 29, 2014.

Saturday or Sunday or legal
holiday, the return shall be due the
next succeeding business day.

318040 C.1. Does the state accept the SER Yes Department currently limits to
approved by the governing board? CSP's only, https://www.ncdor.gov
/documents/north-carolina-
information-streamlined-sales-tax-
participants

318050 C 2. Does the state require the No https://www.ncdor.gov/documents
submission of exemption /north-carolina-information-
information on part 2 of the SER, streamlined-sales-tax-participants
excluding Model 4 sellers without a
legal requirement to register?

318060 C.3. Does the state allow Model 1, Yes https://www.ncdor.gov/documents
Model 2, and Model 3 sellers to /north-carolina-information-
submit its sales and use tax returns streamlined-sales-tax-participants
in a simplified format that does not
include more data fields than
permitted by the governing board?
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318070 C 3.c. Does the state allow a model Yes Contact with Department would be
4 seller to file an SER? required for filing instructions.
318080 Effective 1-1-2013 C.3.d. Does the state allow sellers Yes Contact with Department would be
not registered under the Agreement required for filing instructions.
to file an SER? https://www.ncdor.gov/documents
/north-carolina-information-
streamlined-sales-tax-participants
318090 D. Does the state require the filing No https://www.ncdor.gov/frequently-
of a return from a seller who asked-questions-about/sales-and-
registers under the Agreement and use-tax-frequently-asked-questions
indicates that it anticipates making
no sales that would be sourced to
that stata?
318095 Required by 1-1-2019 E. Has the state adopted Yes
webservices as the standardized
transmission process that allows for
receipt of uniform tax returns and
other formatted information
approved by the Governing Board?
318100 F. Does the state give notice to a Yes As provided in the October 21,
seller registered under the 2011 response to the preliminary
Agreement, that has no legal report on 2011 Annual
requirement to register in a state, Recertification, under the
who failed to file a return, a Department's delinquency process,
minimum 30 days notice prior to a taxpayer registered for sales and
establishing a liability amount for use tax purposes is not sent a
taxes based solely on the seller's notification of delinquency prior to
failure to timely file? sixty days from the original due
date of the return. Currently the
Department does not establish a
potential liability before or at the
time of sending the notice of
delinquency.
Also, https://www.ncdor.gov
/documents/north-carolina-
information.straamlinad.salas oy
Section 319 Uniform rules for participants
remittance of funds
319010 A1. Does the state require more Yes G.S. 105-164.16 Only those taxpayers required per

than one remittance for each

return?

statute to remit a prepayment.

8/25/2021, 12:04 PM




North Carolina 2021.0 - Streamlined Sales Tax

26 of 51

https://sst.streamlinedsalestax.org/CC/Form/4677

319020 A2. If the state requires more than Yes G.S. 105-164.16 Taxpayers owing more that
one remittance for each return does $240,000 per year are required to
it do so only if: (1) seller collects make estimated prepayments.
more than $30,000 in sales and use
taxes in state during preceding
year, (2) any additional remittance
to be determined through a
calculation method, and (3) the
seller is not required to file
2dditignal rat pen?
319030 C. Does the state allow payment to Yes Document "Electronic Funds
be made by both ACH Credit & Transfer Program" is available on
ACH Debit? Department's website.
Also, https://www.ncdor.gov
/documents/north-carolina-
information-streamlined-sales-tax-
participants
319040 D. Does the state provide an Yes Document "Electronic Funds
alternative method for "same day" Transfer Program" is available on
payment if electronic fund transfer Department's website. Also,
fails (electronic check or Fed https://www.ncdor.gov/documents
Wire)? /north-carolina-information-
streamlined-sales-tax-participants
319050 E 1. Does the state provide that if a Yes G.S. 105-164.43D S.L. 14-3 added G.S. 164.43D
due date falls on a Saturday, effective May 29, 2014.
Sunday or a legal holiday in the
state, the taxes are due on the next
succeeding business day?
319060 E 2. Does the state provide that if a Yes G.S. 105-164.43D https://www.ncdor.gov/documents
due date falls on a day the Federal /north-carolina-information-
Reserve Bank is closed, the taxes streamlined-sales-tax-participants,
are due on the next day the Federal or refer to Directives TA-18-1 or
Reserve Bank is open? TA-16-1, as applicable.
319070 F. Does the state require that any Yes
data that accompanies a remittance
to be formatted using uniform tax
type and payment type codes?
Section 320 Uniform rules for

recovery of bad debts
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320010

A. Does the state allow a seller to
take a deduction from taxable sales
for bad debts?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.13(15)

320020

B. Does the state use the definition
of bad debt found in 26 U.S.C. Sec.
166 as basis for calculating a bad
debt recovery, excluding: financing
charges or interest; sales or use
taxes charged on purchase price;
uncollectible amounts on property
that remains in possession of seller
until full price paid; expenses
incurred in attempt to collect debt,
and repossessed property?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
87-1A.

320030

C1. Does the state allow bad debts
to be deducted on the return for the
period during which the bad debt is
written off as uncollectible on and is
eligible be deducted for federal
income tax purposes?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
87-2

320040

C2. If the seller is not required to
file a federal income tax return does
the state allow bad debts to be
deducted on the return for the
period during which the bad debt is
written off as uncollectible on and
would be eligible be deducted for
federal income tax purposes if the
seller was required to file a federal

raturn?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
87-2

320050

D. Does the state require that, if a
deduction is taken for a bad debt
and the debt is subsequently
collected in whole or in part, the tax
on the amount so collected must be
paid and reported on the return files
for the period in which the collection
is made?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
87-4
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320060

E. Does the state provide that,
when the amount of a bad debt
exceeds taxable sales for period
when written off, a refund claim
may be filed within the applicable
statute of limitations (measured
from due date of return on which
bad debt could first be claimed)?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
87-3

320070

F. Does the state provide that if
filing responsibilities are assumed
by a CSP, the state allows the CSP
to claim, on behalf of the seller, any
bad debt allowance?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
87-5

320080

G. Does the state provide that, for
purposes of reporting payment on
previously claimed bad debt, any
payments made are applied first
proportionately to taxable price of
property or service and sales tax
thereon, and secondly to interest,
service charges, and any other
charges?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
87-4

320090

H. Does the state permit allocation
of a bad debt among states if the
books and records of a the party
support allocation among states?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42E(2)(c)

Section 321

Confidentiality and
privacy protections
under Model 1

321010

E. Does the state provide public
notification to consumers, including
exempt purchasers, of state's
practices relating to collection, use
and retention of personally
identifiable information?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42E(9),
105-164.421(b)
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321020

F. Does the state provide that when
any personally identifiable
information is no longer required for
purposes in Section 321 subsection
(D)(4), such information shall no
longer be retained by state?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42E(9),
105-164.421(b)

321030

G. Does the state provide that
when personally identifiable
information regarding an individual
is retained by or on behalf of state,
the state shall provide reasonable
access to information by such
individual and a right to correct
inaccurate information?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42E(9),
105-164.421(b)

321040

H. Does the state provide that if
anyone other than a member state
or person authorized by state law or
the Agreement seeks to discover
personally identifiable information,
state makes reasonable and timely
effort to notify the individual of the
request?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42E(9),
105-164.421(b)

321050

I Is the state's privacy policy
subject to enforcement by state's
AG or other appropriate
government authority?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42E(9),
105-164.421(b)

Section 322

Sales tax holidays

322010

A. Does the state have sales tax
holidays?

No

G.S. 105-164.13C & 105-164.13D
repealed effective July 1, 2014

322020

1. If a state has a holiday, does the
state limit the holiday exemption to
items that are specifically defined in
Part Il or Part IlI(B) of the Library of
Definitions and apply the
exemptions uniformly to state and
local sales and use taxes?

N/A
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322030

2. If a state has a holiday, does the
state provide notice of the holiday
at least 60 days prior to first day of
the calendar month in which the
holiday will begin?

N/A

322040

3. If a state has a holiday, does the
state apply an entity or use based
exemption to items?

N/A

322050

3. If a state has a holiday, does the
state limit a product based
exemption to items purchased for
personal or non-business use?

N/A

322060

4. If a state has a holiday, does the
state require a seller to obtain an
exemption certificate or other
certification from a purchaser for
items to be exempted during a
sales tax holiday?

N/A

322070

B1. If a state's holiday includes a
price threshold, does the state
provide that the threshold includes
only items priced below threshold?

N/A

322080

B2. If a state's holiday includes a
price threshold, does the state
exempt only a portion of the price of
an individual item during holiday?

N/A

322090

C. Does the state meet each of the
procedural requirements for
holidays?

N/A

322100

1. Layaway sales?

N/A

322110

2. Bundled sales?

N/A

322120

3. Coupons and discounts?

N/A
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322130

4. Splitting of items normally sold
together?

N/A

322140

5. Rain checks?

N/A

322150

6. Exchanges?

N/A

322160

7. Delivery charges?

N/A

322170

8. Order date and back orders?

N/A

322180

9. Returns?

N/A

322190

10. Different time zones?

N/A

Section 323

Caps and thresholds

323010

1. Does the state have any caps or
thresholds on the application of
rates or exemptions based on the
value of a transaction or item other
than clothing, motor vehicles,
aircraft, watercraft, modular homes,
manufactured homes or mobile
homes or instances where the
burden of administration has been
shifted from the retailer?

No

G.S. 105-164.4

Only excluded items have caps.

323020

2. Does the state have any caps
that are based on application of
rates unless the application of rates
are administered in a manner that
places no additional burden on

atgilar)

No

G.S. 105-164.4

323030

B. Do local jurisdictions within the
state that levy sales or use tax have
caps or thresholds on application of
rates or exemptions that are based
on value of transaction or item?

No

G.S. 105-467, G.S.
105-468, G.S. 105-483,
G.S. 105-498, G.S.
105-507.2, G.S. 105-537,
S.L.1967-1096
(Mecklenburg)

323040

D.1. Does the state have cap or
threshold on the value of clothing?

No
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323050

D.2. If the state has a threshold on
clothing, does the state meet each
of the following requirements:

323060

a. Either provide that (1) the entire
price if the item is taxable if the
price is over the threshold or (2)
only the portion of the price of each
item over the threshold is taxable?

N/A

323070

b. The price threshold of each

individual item is greater than
$440°2

N/A

323080

c. If the state adopts a clothing
threshold under this Section of the
Agreement and a sales tax holiday
on clothing under Section 322 of
the Agreement, does the state
provide that the clothing threshold
under this Section does not apply
during the sales tax holiday on

clathing?
=4

N/A

Section 324

Rounding rule

324010

1. Does the state provide that the
tax computation must be carried to
the third decimal place?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
3-1D.

324020

2. Does the state provide that the
tax must be rounded to a whole
cent using a method that rounds up
to next cent whenever third decimal
place is greater than four after?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
3-1D.

324030

B.1. Does the state allow sellers to
elect to compute tax due on a
transaction, on a item or invoice
basis, and shall allow rounding rule
to be applied to aggregated state
and local taxes?

Yes

Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
3-1C.
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324040

B.2. Can the state confirm that it
has repealed any requirements for
sellers to collect tax on bracket
system?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.10

Section 325

Customer refund
procedures

325010

C. Does the state provide that a
cause of action against seller does
not accrue until the purchaser has
provided written notice to the seller
and the seller has had 60 days to
respond? Notice must contain
information necessary to determine
validity of request.

Yes

G.S. 105-164.11

325020

D. Does the state provide for
uniform language in regard to
presumption of a reasonable
business practice when a seller: I)
uses either a provider or a system,
including a proprietary system, that
is certified by the state; and ii) has
remitted to state all taxes collected,
less deductions, credits or
collection allowances?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.11,
105-164.42H,
105-164.42I

Section 326

Direct pay permits

326010

Does the state provide for a direct
pay authority that allows the holder
of a direct pay permit to purchase
otherwise taxable goods and
services without payment of tax to
the supplier at the time of

ourchasg?
)

Yes

G.S. 105-164.27A

Section 327

Library of definitions
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327010

A. If term defined in Library appears
in state's statutes, rules or
regulations, has the state adopted
the definition in substantially the
same language as the Library
definition?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.3

327020

B. Can the state confirm that it does
not use a Library definition that is
contrary to meaning of Library
definition?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.3

327030

SSTGB RULES 327.1,

APPENDIX L (Health
Care Lists) and
APPENDIX N (Candy
Products) and CRIC
INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2006-5

C. Except as provided in Sections
316 and 332 and Library, can the
state confirm that it imposes tax on
all products and services included
within each Part Il or Part 11I(B)
definition or exempts from tax all
products or services within each
definition, including all products and
services listed in the rules,
appendices and interpretive

opinions adopted by the Governing
Baoacd?

Yes

G.S.
105-164.3, 105-164.13

Section 328

Taxability matrix

328010

A1. Has the state completed the
Library of Definitions portion of the
taxability matrix in the
downloadable format approved by
Governing Board?

Yes

328020

A2. Has the state completed the
Tax Administration Practices portion
of the taxability matrix in the
downloadable format approved by
the Governing Board?

Yes

328030

B. Does the state provide notice of
changes in the taxability matrix as
required by the Governing Board?

Yes
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328040 C.Does the state relieve sellers and Yes G.S. 105-164.42L, S.L. 13-414, s. 15 effective 8/23/13,
CSPs from liability to the state and 105-264 specifically added taxability matrix
its local jurisdictions for having to G.S. 105-164.42L. S.L. 16-5
charged and collected incorrect tax effective 5/11/16 specifically adds
resulting from erroneous data in the the Secretary will provide relief for
Library of Definitions section of the underpayment until 10 days after
taxability matrix? the date of notification by the
Secretary where a person relies on
erroneous information provided in a
taxability matrix.
328060 E. If the state taxes specified digital Yes
products, has the state noted such
in the Library of Definitions section
of the taxability matrix?
328070 F. If the state has a sales tax N/A Sales Tax Holiday statutes repealed
holiday, has the state noted the effective July 1, 2014.
exemption in the Library of
Definitions section of the taxability
maatriv?
Section 329 Effective date for rate
changes
Does the state provide that the
effective date of rate changes for
services covering a period starting
before or ending after the statutory
effective date is as follows:
329010 1. For a rate increase, the new rate Yes G.S. 105-164.15A 10/1/2005, Effective June 27, 2011; S.L.
shall apply to the first billing period 6/27/2011 11-330, s. 17 amended statute to
starting on or after the effective resolve compliance issue from
date? 2010.
329020 2. For a rate decrease, new rate Yes G.S. 105-164.15A 10/1/2005
shall apply to bills rendered on or
after the effective date?
Section 330 Bundled Transactions
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330010

SSTGB RULES 330.1
and 330.2

A. Has the state adopted and does
the state utilize the core definition
of "bundled transaction" to
determine tax treatment?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4D and
Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
16-1A.

10/1/2007

C. Can the state confirm that for
bundled transactions that include
telecommunication service,
ancillary service, internet access, or
audio or video programming service
the following rules apply:

330020

1.For transactions that include both
taxable and nontaxable items, the
price attributable to nontaxable
items is exempt if the provider can
identify the price by reasonable and
verifiable standards from its books
and records.

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4D(a)(2)

10/1/2007

330030

2. For transactions that include
products subject to different tax
rates, the total price may be treated
as attributable to the products
subject to tax at the highest tax rate
unless the provider can identify by
reasonable and verifiable standards
the portion of the price attributable
to the products subject to tax at the
lower rate from its books and
records that are kept in the regular
course of business for other
purposes, including, but not limited
to, non-tax purposes?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.4D(a)(2)

10/1/2007

330040

SSTGB RULE 330.3

D. If the state otherwise has not
specifically imposed tax on the
retail sales of computer software
maintenance contracts, does the
state treat software maintenance
contracts as provided in this
section?

Yes

Taxability Matrix

Section 331

Relief from certain
liability for purchasers
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A. Does the state provide relief for
purchasers from liability for penalty
to that state and its local
jurisdictions for having failed to pay
the correct amount of sales or use
tax in the following circumstances:

331010

1. A purchaser's seller or CSP
relied on erroneous data provided
by the state on tax rates,
boundaries, taxing jurisdiction
assignments, or in the taxability

matrix completed by the state
Nurepiant 10 Saction 3222

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42L,
105-264

331020

2. A purchaser holding a direct pay
permit relied on erroneous data
provided by the state on tax rates,
boundaries, taxing jurisdiction
assignments, or in the taxability
matrix completed by the state
pursuant to Section 328?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42L,
105-264

331030

3. A purchaser relied on erroneous
data provided by the state in the
taxability matrix completed by the
state pursuant to Section 328?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42L,
105-264

General administrative provision.
S.L. 2013-414, s. 15, specifically
adds taxability matrix to G.S.
105-164.42L

331040

4. A purchaser using databases
pursuant to subsections (F), (G),
and (H) of Section 305 relied on
erroneous data provided by the
state on tax rates, boundaries, or
taxing jurisdiction assignments?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42L
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331050

B. (Except where prohibited by a
member state's constitution) Does
the state relieve a purchaser from
liability for tax and interest to the
state and its local jurisdictions for
having failed to pay the correct
amount of sales or use tax in the
circumstances described in Section
331 A, provided that, with respect
to reliance on the taxability matrix
completed by the state pursuant to
Section 328, such relief is limited to
the state's erroneous classification
in the taxability matrix of terms
included in the Library of Definitions
as "taxable" or "exempt", "included
in sales price" or "excluded from
sales price" or "included in the
definition" or "excluded from the

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42L,
105-264

Section 332

Specified Digital
Products

definition”

332010

SSTGB RULES 332.1
and 332.2

A. Does the state include specified
digital products, digital audio-visual
works, digital audio works, or digital
books in its definition of ancillary
services, computer software,
telecommunication services or
tangible personal property?

No

G.S. 105-164.3

1/1/2010

332020

D1. Is the state's tax on specified
digital products, digital audio-visual
works, digital audio works, or digital
books construed to apply only to
the end user unless specifically
imposed on someone other than
the end user?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.3,
105-164.4(a)(1)b, 105-16
4.13(43b)

1/1/2010
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332030

D2. Is the state's tax on specified
digital products, digital audio-visual
works, digital audio works, or digital
books construed to apply only on a
sale with the right of permanent use
unless specifically imposed on a
sale with less than permanent use?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.3,
105-164.4(a)(1)b, 105-16
4.13(43b)

1/1/2010

332040

D3. Is the state's tax on specified
digital products, digital audio-visual
works, digital audio works, or digital
books construed to apply only on a
sale which is not conditioned upon
continued payment from the
purchaser unless specifically
imposed on a sale which is
conditioned upon continued
payment from the purchaser?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.3,
105-164.4(a)(1)b

332050

D4. Does the state's taxability
matrix indicate if the state's tax is
imposed on a product transferred
electronically to a person other than
the end user or on a sale with the
right of less than permanent use
granted by the seller or which is
conditioned upon continued
payment from the purchaser?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.3,
105-164.4(a)(1)b

332060

G. Is the state's tax treatment of the
sale of a digital code the same as
the tax treatment of specified digital
product or product delivered
electronically to which the digital
code relates?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.3,
105-164.4(a)(1)b

Exemptions pursuant to G.S.
105-164.13(43)

Section 333

Use of Specified Digital
Products

Effective January 1, 2010

333010

Excluding prewritten computer
software, does the state include
any product transferred
electronically in its definition of
tangible personal property?

No
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Section 334 Prohibited replacement
taxes
334010 SSTGB RULE 334 Does the state have any prohibited No
replacement taxes?
Section 335 Tax Administration
Practices
335010 No state shall be found Did the state complete the Tax Yes
out of compliance with Administration Practices section of
the Agreement because the taxability matrix by the first day
the effect of the state's of the calendar month that is at
laws, rules, regulations, least 60 days after the date the
and policies do not follow Governing Board selects a
each of the tax disclosed and/or best practice and
administration practices submit it to the Executive Director
adopted by the for posting on the Governing
Governing Board. Board's website?
Section 401 Seller participation
401010 SSTGB RULE 401.1 A. Does the state participate in the Yes
Governing Board's online
registration system?
401020 B. Does the state provide that it will Yes G.S. 105-164.42E(5)
not use a seller's registration with
the central registration system and
collection of taxes in member states
as the sole factor in determining
whether seller has nexus with state
for tax at any time?
Section 402 Amnesty for

registration
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402010 CRIC INTERPRETIVE A.1. Does the state provide Yes G.S. 105-164.42K 10/1/2005 Sales and Use Tax Amnesty Notice
OPINIONS 2006-8 and amnesty to a seller who registers dated September 2008
2006-9 through the Streamlined registration

system for the state in which the
amnesty is sought if the seller pays
or collects and remits the applicable
tax in accordance with Agreement
on sales made to purchasers in all
full member states in which the
seller makes sales, provided the
seller was not so registered in state
in 12-month period preceding
effective date of state's participation
in the Agreement? Sellers that are
only making wholesale sales in a
state which does not require
wholesalers to register and sellers
who only make sales through a
marketplace facilitator in a state
which does not require those
sellers to register, would not be
required to register in those states

tocualififor amnashy

402020 A.2. Does the state provide that Yes G.S. 105-164.42K 10/1/2005
their amnesty will preclude
assessment for tax together with
penalty and interest for sales made
during the period the seller was not
registered in the state, provided
registration occurs within 12
months of the effective date of
state's participation in the

Acreamant?
=4

402030 A.3. For states that join the Yes
Agreement after the seller has
already registered under the
Agreement, does the state provide
amnesty to those sellers in
accordance with A.1. and A.2.
above?

41 of 51 8/25/2021, 12:04 PM



North Carolina 2021.0 - Streamlined Sales Tax

https://sst.streamlinedsalestax.org/CC/Form/4677

402040

CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2006-2

B. Does the state provide that its
amnesty is not available to a seller
who has received a notice of audit
from that state and the audit is not
yet resolved, including any related
administrative and judicial
processes?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42K

10/1/2005

402050

CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2006-1

C. Does the state provide that its
amnesty does not apply to taxes
already paid to the state or to taxes
already collected by a seller?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42K

10/1/2005

402060

CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINIONS 2006-6,
2006-8 and 2006-9

D. Does the state provide that its
amnesty is fully effective, absent
fraud or misrepresentation of
material fact, as long as the seller
continues registration and
continues payment of taxes for
period of at least 36 months? Did
the state toll its statute applicable to
asserting a tax liability during 36

maonth ogriad?
y

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42K

10/1/2005

402070

E. Does the state provide that its
amnesty is applicable only to taxes
due from a seller in its capacity as
seller and not in its capacity as a
buyer?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42K

10/1/2005

Section 403

Method of remittance

403010

Does the state provide that the
seller may select one of the
technology models?

Yes

403020

A. Model 1-seller selects CSP as
agent to perform all functions
except remit tax on its own

ourchasas?
T

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42I

10/1/2005

403030

B. Model 2-seller selects CAS

which calculates amount of tax
due?

Yes

G.S. 105-164.42H
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403040 C. Model 3-seller utilizes own Yes G.S. 105-164.42J
proprietary system that has been
certified as a CAS?

Section 404 Registration by an

agent
404010 Does the state provide that the Yes G.S. 105-164.42|
seller may be registered by an
EYar=Yat w2l
404020 This isn't a compliance Does the state require that the No
issue but is something written agent appointments be
sellers and their agents submitted to the state?
should know.

Section 501 Provider and System
Certification

501010 SSTGB RULES 501.1, A. Does state law provide for Yes G.S. 105-164.42] 10/1/2005
501.2, 501.3, 501.4, provider and system certification to
501.5, 501.6, 501.7 and aid in the administration of sales
501.8 and use tax collection?

Section 502 State review and
approval of Certified
Automated System
Software and Certain
Liability Relief

502010 A. Can the state confirm that it Yes G.S. 105-164.42H, 10/1/2005
reviews software submitted for 105-164.42I
certification as a CAS under
Section 501?

502020 B. Does the state provide liability Yes G.S. 105-164.42H, Issue was addressed during the
relief to CSP's and model 2 sellers 105-164.421, 105-264 2011 annual certification review and
for reliance on the certification? the State responded and

referenced G.S. 105-264. State
was not found out of compliance.

502030 C. Does the state provide liability Yes G.S.
relief to CSP's in the same manner 105-164.28, 105-164.28A
as provided to sellers under Section , 105-264
3172
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502040 E. Does the state allow the CSP or Yes Included in contract terms
model 2 seller 10 days to correct
classification of items found to be in
error before holding the CSP or
model 2 seller liable?
Section 601 Monetary allowance
under Model 1
601010 A. Does the state provide a Yes G.S. 105-164.42| NC has a separate contract with
monetary allowance to a CSP in each CSP
Model 1 in accordance with the
terms of the contract between the
governing board and the CSP?
Section 602 Monetary allowance for
Model 2 sellers
602010 SSTGB RULES 602.1 Does the state provide monetary Yes G.S. 105-164.42E(7)
and 602.2 allowance to Model 2 sellers
pursuant to the Governing Board's
rules?
APPENDIX C - LIBRARY OF
DEFINITIONS
Please verify for each item that
the state uses the definition
provided by the Agreement. If the
item is not applicable in your
state, answer "N/A."
Part | Administrative
definitions
AD010 SSTB RULE 330.1 Bundled transaction Yes G.S. 105-164.4D and
Sales and Use Tax
Bulletin 16-1A.
AD020 SSTGB RULE 327.4 and Delivery charges Yes G.S. 105-164.3 and
CRIC INTERPRETIVE Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
OPINION 2015-2 22-1A.
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AD030 SSTGB RULE 327.6 and Direct mail Yes G.S. 105-164.3
CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINIONS 2006-12 and
2008-2
AD040 Lease or rental Yes G.S. 105-164.3 and
Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
1.1B 7
ADO050 Purchase price Yes G.S. 105-164.3
AD060 Retail sale or Sale at retail Yes G.S. 105-164.3
AD070 SSTGB RULES 327 .4, Sales price Yes G.S. 105-164.3
327.7 and 327.9 and
AMENDED DEFINITION
ON SEPTEMBER 186,
2015 RELATING TO THE
EXCLUSION FOR
CERTAIN FEDERAL
EXCISE TAXES AND
EEEQS
ADO080 Telecommunications nonrecurring N/A
charges
AD090 CRIC INTERPRETIVE Tangible personal property Yes G.S. 105-164.3
OPINION 2009-1
Part Il Product definitions CLOTHING
PDO0O10 Clothing Yes G.S. 105-164.3 A definition for clothing was
readopted effective 1/1/2017 [S.L.
16-94, s. 38.5(d)].
PD020 Clothing accessories or equipment N/A The definition for clothing
accessories or equipment was
repealed effective 5/11/2016 [S.L.
16-5, s. 3.2(a)].
PD022 Diapers Yes G.S. 105-164.3
PDO030 Essential clothing N/A
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PD040 CRIC INTERPRETIVE Fur clothing N/A
OPINION 2006-5

PDO050 Protective equipment N/A The definition for protective
equipment was repealed effective
6/21/17 (S.L. 17-39, s. 5.).

PDO060 Sport or recreational equipment N/A The definition for sport or
recreational equipment was
repealed effective 5/11/2016 [S.L.
16-5, s. 3.2(a)l.

COMPUTER RELATED

PDO070 Computer Yes G.S. 105-164.3

PDO080 CRIC INTERPRETIVE Computer software Yes G.S. 105-164.3 Custom computer software under
OPINION 2009-1 G.S. 105-164.3

PD090 Delivered electronically Yes G.S. 105-164.3, Sales & Exemption for software delivered
Use Tax Bulletin 23-2 electronically repealed effective
1/1/10 (Computer Notice 2-10) and
became subject to tax at the same
time that tax was authorized on
digital property. Computer software
accessed via computer at remote
location not subject to tax. Effective
10/1/19, a definition for "transferred
electronically" was enacted in G.S.
105-164.3 which includes
"delivered or accessed

electionically"
Y

PD100 Electronic Yes G.S. 105-164.3

PD110 Load and leave No Exemption for prewritten software
delivered by load and leave
repealed effective 1/1/10.

PD120 SSTGB RULES 309.2 Prewritten computer software Yes G.S. 105-164.3
amd 309.5 and CRIC
INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2009-1
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PD130 SSTGB RULES 309.4 Computer software maintenance No
and 327.5 contract
PD140 Mandatory computer software No
maintenance contract
PD150 Optional computer software No
maintenance contract
SSTB RULE 332.1 DIGITAL PRODUCTS
PD160 Specified digital products Yes G.S. 105-164.3
PD170 Digital audio-visual works Yes G.S. 105-164.3
PD180 Digital audio works Yes G.S. 105-164.3
PD190 Digital books Yes G.S. 105-164.3
FOOD AND FOOD PRODUCTS
PD200 Alcoholic beverages Yes G.S. 105-164.3, 18B-101
PD210 Bottled water No
PD220 SSTGB RULE 327.8 and Candy Yes G.S. 105-164.3
APPENDIX N and CRIC
INTERPRETIVE
OPINIONS 2007-3,
2009-4, 2009-5 and
204232
PD230 Dietary supplement Yes G.S. 105-164.3
PD240 CRIC INTERPRETIVE Food and food ingredients Yes G.S. 105-164.3,
OPINIONS 2010-3 and 105-164.13B(a)
20111
PD250 Food sold through vending Yes G.S. 105-164.3
machinge
PD260 CRIC INTERPRETIVE Prepared food Yes G.S. 105-164.3

OPINIONS 2006-4,
2006-11 AND 2013-3
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PD270 CRIC INTERPRETATIVE Soft drinks Yes G.S. 105-164.3
OPINIONS 2009-2 and
2013-1
PD280 Tobacco Yes G.S. 105-164.3, G.S.
105-113.4

HEALTH-CARE

PD285 Breast pump No
PD286 Breast pump collection and storage No
supplies
PD287 Breast pump kit No
PD290 CRIC INTERPRETIVE Drug Yes G.S. 105-164.3

OPINION 2007-1

PD300 CRIC INTERPRETIVE Durable medical equipment Yes G.S. 105-164.3
OPINION 2015-1 (effective 1/1/08)
PD305 Feminine Hygiene Products N/A

(adopted 5/11/17)

PD310 Grooming and hygiene products N/A

PD320 Mobility enhancing equipment Yes G.S. 105-164.3
PD330 Over-the-counter-drug Yes G.S. 105-164.3
PD340 Prescription Yes G.S. 105-164.3
PD350 CRIC INTERPRETIVE Prosthetic device Yes G.S. 105-164.3

OPINION 2015-1

SSTGB RULE 327.2 TELECOMMUNICATIONS

The following are Tax
Base/Exemption terms:

PD360 Ancillary services Yes G.S. 105-164.3 All ancillary services taxed alike
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PD370 Conference bridging service N/A
PD380 Detailed telecommunications billing N/A
service

PD390 Directory assistance N/A

PD400 Vertical service N/A

PD410 Voice mail service N/A

PD420 Telecommunications service Yes G.S. 105-164.3 7/1/2007

PD430 800 service N/A

PD440 900 service N/A

PD450 Fixed wireless service N/A

PD460 Mobile wireless service N/A

PD470 CRIC INTERPRETIVE Paging service N/A

OPINION 2010-2

PD480 SSTGB RULE 327.2(1) Prepaid calling service Yes G.S. 105-164.3 Effective 6/21/12, S.L. 2012-79, s.
2.7 added the word
"predetermined" in describing units
or dollars. 7/1/2007 Applies to
sales made on or after that date;
S.L. 2011-330, s. 159a amended
the definition to remove "wireline."

PD490 SSTGB INTERPRETIVE Prepaid wireless calling service Yes G.S. 105-164.3 Effective 6/21/12, S.L. 2012-79, s.

OPINION 2015-3 2.7 added the word

"predetermined" in describing units
Ar dallare

PD500 Private communications service Yes G.S. 105-164.4C(h)(7) 7/1/2007

PD510 Value-added non-voice data service Yes Sales & Use Tax Bulletin

79-1B.10.
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The following are Modifiers of Sales
Tax Base/Exemption Terms:

PD520 Coin-operated telephone service N/A
PD530 International N/A
PD540 Interstate N/A
PD550 Intrastate N/A
PD560 Pay telephone service Yes Sales & Use Tax Bulletin
79-1B.8.
PD570 Residential telecommunications N/A
service
Part 11l Sales Tax Holiday
Definitions
HDO010 Disaster Preparedness Supply N/A
HD020 Disaster Preparedness General N/A
Supply
HDO030 Disaster Preparedness Safety N/A
Supply
HDO040 Disaster Preparedness Food- N/A
Related Supply
HDO050 Disaster Preparedness Fastening N/A
Supply
HDO060 Eligible property N/A S.L. 2013-316, s. 3.4(a) repeals

G.S. 105-164.13C, Sales Tax

Holiday statute, effective July 1,
2014

8/25/2021, 12:04 PM



North Carolina 2021.0 - Streamlined Sales Tax

https://sst.streamlinedsalestax.org/CC/Form/4677

HDO70

Energy Star qualified product

N/A

G.S. 105-164.13D, which provided
for a sales and use tax holiday for
Energy Star qualified products, is
repealed effective July 1, 2014. The
definition for Energy Star qualified
product was repealed effective
5/11/2016 [S.L. 16-5, s. 3.2(a)].

HDO080

Layaway sale

N/A

S.L. 2013-316, s. 3.4(a) repeals
G.S. 105-164.13C, Sales Tax

Holiday statute, effective July 1,
2014

HDO090

Rain check

N/A

HD100

CRIC INTERPRETIVE
OPINION 2011-2

School supply

N/A

S.L. 2013-316, s. 3.4(a) repeals
G.S. 105-164.13C, Sales Tax
Holiday statute, effective July 1,
2014. The definition for school
supply was repealed effective
5/11/2016 [S.L. 16-5, s. 3.2(a)].

HD110

School art supply

N/A

S.L. 2013-316, s. 3.4(a) repeals
G.S. 105-164.13C, Sales Tax

Holiday statute, effective July 1,
20414

HD120

School instructional material

N/A

S.L. 2013-316, s. 3.4(a) repeals
G.S. 105-164.13C, Sales Tax

Holiday statute, effective July 1,
2044

HD130

School computer supply

N/A

S.L. 2013-316, s. 3.4(a) repeals
G.S. 105-164.13C, Sales Tax

Holiday statute, effective July 1,
2014

HD140

WaterSense products

N/A
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