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INTRODUCTION 
 

 This year, yet again, we saw a number of major tax policy decisions at the General 
Assembly.  On the individual income front, the North Carolina Earned Income Tax Credit 
(EITC) was increased from 3.5% to 5.0% of the federal EITC.  Publicly-traded partnerships 
were also exempted from the informational return and payment requirements previously 
found in G.S. 105-154(c) and (d).  The overall cap on payments under the Qualified 
Business Venture Tax Credit was increased from $7.0 to $7.5 million.  The state-level gift tax 
was also repealed, but only applies to gifts made after January 1, 2009. 
 
 There was also a great deal of activity related to tax credits.  Both the State Port and 
Film Industry credits were modified and extended, while the credit for investment by small 
business employers in their employees’ health benefits was also extended.  In addition, a 
section was added to Article 3B to provide a tax credit to biodiesel providers that produce at 
least 100,000 gallons of biodiesel during a taxable year.  Sunset dates for the Mill 
Rehabilitation Tax Credit, the Research and Development Tax Credit, and the Low-Income 
Housing Tax Credits were also extended.  However, one should check the new sunset dates 
carefully as those dates vary from credit to credit. 
 
 While the policy decisions noted above are significant to affected taxpayers, much of 
the tax discussion at the General Assembly this year focused on sales tax issues.  Included 
as provisions in the final budget document, the legislature this year passed the “Small 
Business Protection Act.”  This legislation provided substantial, retroactive relief to taxpayers 
with liabilities related to what the General Assembly deemed to be “complex sales tax 
issues.”  In addition, new requirements were added for the Department of Revenue related 
to the documentation of some types of oral advice, and new authority was granted to the 
Secretary to reduce taxpayer liabilities when such liabilities create an “unjust result.” 
 
 Many other technical and more complex changes were made and are documented in 
the pages of this guide.  I hope you find this information of value to you in your work related 
to North Carolina’s tax laws. 
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PERSONAL TAXES 
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G.S. 105-32.2(b) – 
Modify Estate Tax 
Law 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-134.2(a) – 
Repeal of the 8.25% 
Tax Rate 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-134.6(b) 
(17a)- Future 
Deduction for Special 
Accelerated 
Depreciation Add-
Back   
 

ESTATE TAX 
 
This subsection was amended to modify the formula for calculating the 
estate tax when property is located in a state other than North Carolina 
and the decedent was a resident of this State at the time of death. The 
amount of estate tax imposed under this section is now reduced by an 
amount computed by multiplying the state death tax credit that would 
have been allowed against the federal taxable estate as of December 
31, 2001 by a fraction, the numerator of which is the gross value of the 
estate that has a tax situs in another state and the denominator of 
which is the value of the decedent’s gross estate.  Under prior law, the 
amount of tax due was reduced by the lesser of the amount of death 
tax paid the other state or the fraction described above. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008 and applies retroactively to the estates of 
decedents for which the statute of limitations for claiming a refund had 
not expired as of December 28, 2007; HB 2436, ss. 28.17 (a) and (b); 
S.L. 08-107.) 
 
 

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX 
 
This subsection was amended by Session Law 2006-66 to repeal the 
8.25% individual income tax rate that applied to higher income 
taxpayers in two phases.  The rate was reduced to 8% for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2007 and to 7.75% for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2008.  
 
(SB 1741, ss. 24.2 (a), (b), and (c), S.L. 2006-66.) 
 
This subdivision was added to provide a deduction from future income 
tax returns for the 50% additional first-year depreciation deduction 
required to be added to federal taxable income under G.S. 105-
134.6(c)(8a).  A taxpayer may deduct 20% of the total amount of 
accelerated depreciation added to federal taxable income in the tax 
year 2008 in each of the first five taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2009. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; HB 
2436, s. 28.1. (h), S.L. 08-107.) 

SECTION 

1 
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G.S. 105-134.6(b)(19) 
- Tax Deduction for 
the Sale of a 
Manufactured Home 
Community to 
Manufactured 
Homeowners 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-134.6(c)(5b) 
- Addition to Federal 
Taxable Income for 
Amounts Donated to 
Nonprofit 
Organization or Unit 
of State or Local 
Government to 
Enable the Nonprofit 
or Government Unit 
to Acquire Renewable 
Energy Property 
 
G.S. 105-134.6(c)(8a) 
– Special Accelerated 
Depreciation Add-
Back 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-151.22 – 
State Ports Tax 
Credit Reporting 
Requirements 
Amended and Tax 
Credit Extended 
 
 
 
 

This subdivision was added to provide a deduction from federal 
taxable income for 5% of the gross purchase price of a qualified sale of 
a manufactured home community.  To qualify, the sale must be a one-
time event to a group composed of a majority of the community’s 
leaseholders or to a nonprofit organization that represents the group of 
leaseholders and notice of the sale must be given to the NC Housing 
Finance Agency pursuant to G.S. 42-14.3. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, and 
expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015; HB 
2436, s. 28.27(b), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subdivision was added by the 2007 Legislature to require a 
taxpayer who claimed a tax credit under G.S. 105-129.16H for a 
donation to a nonprofit organization for acquisition or lease of 
renewable energy property to make an addition to federal taxable 
income for the amount of the donation.  The 2008 Legislature 
amended this subdivision to conform to the amendment to G.S. 105-
129.16H that expanded the credit to include donations to State or local 
governments. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; HB 
2436, s. 28.25(c), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
 
This subdivision was added to require a taxpayer to add to federal 
taxable income a percentage of the 50% first-year bonus depreciation 
deduction allowed for federal income tax purposes under Section 
168(k) of the Internal Revenue Code under the Economic Stimulus Act 
of 2008.  The applicable percentage is 85% of the bonus depreciation 
for the tax year 2008.  Any taxpayer who claimed the bonus 
depreciation for federal purposes for the tax year 2007 and whose 
North Carolina return also reflected that deduction must also add back 
85% of the deduction claimed for the tax year 2007 on the 2008 tax 
return.  This adjustment does not result in a difference in basis of the 
affected assets for State and federal income tax purposes. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; HB 
2436, s. 28.1. (f), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subsection was amended to expand the information the 
Department is required to publish by May 1 of each year concerning 
the State Ports Tax Credit.  Additional information includes the amount 
of charges attributable to imports and the amount of charges 
attributable to exports. 
 
This subsection was amended to extend the sunset of the credit to 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 from January 1, 
2009.  
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, ss. 28.5. (c) and (d); S.L. 08-107.) 
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G.S. 105-151.29 – 
Expand Film Industry 
Credit and Extend 
Sunset 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-151.31 – 
Refundable Earned 
Income Tax Credit 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This section was amended to expand the expenses of a production 
company that qualify for the credit.  Under prior law, compensation 
paid to a highly compensated individual (defined as an individual who 
directly or indirectly receives compensation in excess of one million 
dollars) was not a qualifying expense.  As amended, compensation up 
to one million dollars constitutes a qualifying expense.  Amounts in 
excess of one million dollars are non-qualifying.  Additionally, the cost 
of production-related insurance coverage constitutes a qualifying 
expense as long as the coverage is not purchased from a related 
member as defined for corporate income tax purposes.   
 
Former subsection (j) was recodified as subsection (k).  New 
subsection (j) was added to require a taxpayer to notify the Division of 
Tourism, Film, and Sports Development Division of the Department of 
Commerce of its intent to claim a credit and to provide the following 
information to claim a credit:  
 

• The title of the production 
• The name of the production company 
• A financial contact for the production company 
• The proposed dates of which the production company plans to      

begin filming 
• Any other information required by the Division. 

 
Productions receiving production credits must acknowledge in the 
production credits both the NC Film Office and the regional film office 
responsible for the geographic area in which the filming occurred. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; HB 
2436, ss. 28.24(a), (j), and (k); S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This section was added by the 2007 Session Laws to provide a State 
earned income tax credit to an individual who claims an earned income 
tax credit under Section 32 of the Internal Revenue Code.  The credit 
is 3.5% of the amount of the earned income tax credit the individual 
qualified for on the federal return.   
 
If the credit exceeds the tax liability reduced by the sum of all credits 
allowable, the excess is refunded to the taxpayer.  Section 3507 of the 
Internal Revenue Code, Advance Payment of Earned Income Credit, 
does not apply to the State earned income tax credit. 
 
A nonresident or part-year resident is allowed a prorated credit based 
on the percentage of the taxpayer's total income that is taxable for 
North Carolina income tax purposes. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, and 
expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013; HB 
1473, ss. 31.4(a) and (b); S.L. 07-323.) 
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G.S. 105-154(e) – 
Publicly Traded 
Partnerships 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-163.012(b) 
– Increase Qualified 
Business Venture Tax 
Credit Cap 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-188 – 
Repeal Gift Tax Law 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This subsection was subsequently amended by the 2008 Session 
Laws to increase the earned income tax credit from 3.5% to 5% of the 
amount of credit the individual qualified for under Section 32 of the 
Code.  This change is effective for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2009. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009; HB 
2436, s. 28.9. (a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subsection was added to provide an exception to the information 
return and payment requirements under G.S. 105-154(c) and (d) for a 
publicly traded partnership that is described in Section 7704(c) of the 
Code.  The information return is limited to partners whose distributive 
share of the partnership’s net income during the tax year was more 
than five hundred dollars ($500.00), and the payment requirements do 
not apply.  
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; HB 
2436, s. 28.8. (a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subsection was amended to increase the total amount of all tax 
credits allowed to taxpayers under G.S. 105-163.011 for investments 
made in a calendar year from $7,000,000 to $7,500,000. 
 
(Effective for investments made on or after January 1, 2008; HB 2436, 
s. 28.26. (a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
 

GIFT TAX 
 
The gift tax was repealed effective for gifts made on or after January 1, 
2009.   
 
(Effective January 1, 2009 and applies to gifts made on or after that 
date; HB 2436, s. 28.18. (a), S.L. 08-107.) 
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G.S. 105-41(a)(12) – 
Home Inspector 
Privilege License 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 14-344.1 – 
Internet Sale of 
Admission Tickets in 
Excess of Printed Price 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

PRIVILEGE TAXES 
 
This subdivision was added to impose an annual privilege license 
on home inspectors licensed by the North Carolina Home Inspector 
Licensure Board, a division of the NC Department of Insurance, 
under Article 9F of Chapter 143.  Although the State privilege 
license is due by July 1, 2008, home inspectors will have until 
October 1, 2008 to obtain the privilege license without interest or 
penalty.  The tax for the license is $50.  Cities that impose a license 
tax on home inspectors may collect the tax for fiscal year 2008-
2009 but will be prohibited from doing so on or after July 1, 2009. 
 
(Effective August 9, 2008 and applies to taxable years beginning on 
or after July 1, 2008; HB 2558, S.L. 08-206.) 
 
This new statute was enacted to legislate the activity of reselling 
tickets to admissions over the Internet at more than the face value 
of the ticket.  Resale is permissible as long as the venue where the 
event will be held does not prohibit the resale of the ticket and the 
seller of the ticket guarantees that the purchaser will be refunded 
the purchase price if the event is cancelled, if the purchaser is 
denied access to the event, or if the ticket is not delivered to the 
purchaser in accordance with the agreement, resulting in the 
purchaser missing the event.  The statute does not apply to student 
tickets for sporting events.  The amusement gross receipts tax is 
not imposed on the resale of tickets.  The Internet seller of the 
tickets is required to file a monthly report with the Department of 
Revenue.  Required information includes: 
• Gross receipts derived from the resale of tickets, not including 

the face value of the ticket, 
• Identification of the event and venue where the event will be 

held, 
• Identity of the person from whom the reseller purchased the 

tickets, 
• Acquisition price of the tickets, 
• The price received by the reseller for the tickets, 
• Identity and address of the purchaser of the tickets, if the 

purchaser is also a reseller, 
• Any other information required by the Secretary of Revenue. 
 

SECTION 

2 
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G.S. 105-113.39 – 
Refund of Unsaleable 
Other Tobacco Product 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-113.81A – 
Increase in Wine Tax 
Proceeds Earmarked 
for Grape Growers 
Council 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-114(b)(2) – 
Definition of 
Corporation Expanded 

(Effective August 1, 2008 and expires June 30, 2009; SB 1407, s.1, 
S.L. 08-158.) 
 
 

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX 
 
Under prior law, a wholesale dealer or retail dealer could return 
stale or otherwise unsaleable cigars to the manufacturer and 
receive a refund from the Department of the excise tax previously 
paid on the cigars.  The law did not provide a refund for any other 
returned stale or otherwise unsaleable tobacco products.  As 
amended, excise tax may be refunded on the return of any stale or 
unsaleable tobacco products. 
 
Subsection (a) was rewritten to remove language that stated the 2% 
discount allowed for the timely filing of a report and the timely 
payment of tax covered losses due to damage to tobacco products. 
 
Subsection (b) was rewritten to provide that the refund provision 
applied to any tobacco product instead of just cigars. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 and applies to products returned on or 
after that date; HB 2530, s. 4, S.L. 08-207.) 
 
 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE 
LICENSE AND EXCISE TAXES 
 
This section was amended to increase the amount of wine tax 
proceeds earmarked for the North Carolina Grape Growers Council. 
Under prior law, the Department of Revenue credited $200,000 of 
the net proceeds of tax collected on unfortified wine to the 
Department of Commerce on a quarterly basis. As amended, the 
Department will credit quarterly an additional $25,000 from the net 
proceeds of tax collected on unfortified wine for the express 
purpose of research and development.  The original $200,000 is 
now designated for industry promotion.  
 
(Effective October 1, 2008; HB 2436, s. 13.6A, S.L. 08-107.) 
 
 

FRANCHISE TAX 
 
This section was amended by S.L. 06-66 to include in the definition 
of “corporation” an LLC that elects to be treated as a C-Corporation.  
The purpose of the change was to close the loophole that permitted 
an entity to elect corporate status for federal income tax purposes  
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G.S. 105-114.1(a)(5) – 
Conforming Change 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-122(a) – 
Technical Change 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-122 – 
Revenue Laws Study 
Committee Studies 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-125(b) – 
Captive REITs 
 
 
 
 

and avoid franchise tax liability imposed under G.S. 105-122.  By 
specifying “C-Corporation,” the statute left open the possibility for 
an LLC to elect S-Corporation status for federal purposes and 
continue to avoid franchise tax liability.  To close this loophole, the 
definition is further amended to replace the reference to “C-
Corporation” with “corporation.”   The amendment is effective for 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009.  Because the 
general business franchise tax imposed in G.S. 105-122 is for the 
tax year in which the tax becomes due, this amendment will impact 
the franchise tax reported on the 2008 income and franchise tax 
return since it is due on or after April 15, 2009. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009; 
HB 2436, s. 28.7(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This section was amended to replace the reference to “C-
Corporation” with “corporation” thereby making the statute 
applicable to S-Corporations as well as C-Corporations. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009; 
HB 2436, s. 28.7(b), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subsection was amended by S.L. 2007-491 with the intent to 
conform the franchise tax due date to the change in the due date for 
corporate income tax returns.  However, the effective date for 
franchise tax was incorrect.  This legislation corrects the effective 
date such that the change in the due date of both franchise and 
income tax returns to the fifteenth day of the fourth month is 
effective for the tax return due in 2009. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009; 
SB 1704, s. 3.(b), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
The Revenue Laws Study Committee may consider the treatment of 
certain liability accounts as they relate to the computation of the 
franchise tax capital stock, surplus, and undivided profits base of 
corporations in the construction industry.  This relates directly to an 
issue raised by a taxpayer concerning the Department’s position 
that billings in excess of cost do not constitute a definite and 
accrued legal liability.  If the Committee elects to take up the matter, 
it will report its findings to the 2009 General Assembly. 
 
(Effective August 4, 2008; HB 2431, s. 7.2, S.L. 08-181.) 
 
Under prior law, all Real Estate Investment Trusts (REITs) were 
permitted to reduce the franchise tax capital stock base by the 
aggregate market value of its investments in stocks, bonds, 
debentures, or other securities or evidences of debt of other 
corporations, partnerships, individuals, municipalities, governmental 
agencies, or governments.  This section was amended to deny that  
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G.S. 105-129.2A(a4) –  
 Technical Change 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.16E(d) – 
Sunset for Small 
Business Employee 
Health Benefits 
 
G.S. 105-129.16F – 
New Tax Credit for 
Biodiesel Producers 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.16G – 
Clarifying Change 
 
 
 
 
 

reduction in the base to captive REITs as defined for corporate 
income tax purposes. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009; 
HB 2436, s. 28.7(c), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
 

TAX CREDITS FOR NEW AND 
EXPANDING BUSINESSES  
 
This section was amended to correct a statutory reference that 
erroneously referred to Article 3J as Article 3I. 
 
(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 69, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
 

BUSINESS AND ENERGY TAX 
CREDITS 
 
This subsection was amended to extend the sunset.  The credit will 
expire for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2010. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.9A, S.L. 08-107.) 
  
This section was added to Article 3B to provide a tax credit to 
biodiesel providers that produce at least 100,000 gallons of 
biodiesel during the taxable year.  The credit is equal to the per 
gallon excise tax the producer paid on the biodiesel under Article 
36C of Chapter 105.  “Biodiesel” is defined for purposes of this 
section as “liquid fuel derived in whole from agricultural products, 
animal fats, or wastes from agricultural products or animal fats.”   
The credit does not apply to tax paid on diesel fuel included in a 
biodiesel blend.  The maximum annual credit is $500,000.  The 
credit expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2010. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
SB 1741, s. 24.8(a), S.L. 06-66.) 
 
This section was rewritten to make the existing language 
subsection (a) and amended to limit the Work Opportunity Tax 
Credit to wages paid during the taxable year for positions located in 
North Carolina.  A position is located in the State if more than 50% 
of the employee’s duties are performed in this State.  Under prior 
law, the taxpayer was eligible to claim 6% of its federal credit, 
regardless of where the jobs were located. 
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G.S. 105-129.16H – 
Credit for Donations to 
a Nonprofit 
Organization for 
Acquisition of 
Renewable Energy 
Property; Expansion 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.45 – 
Sunset 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Subsection (b) was added to provide that this credit sunsets for 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2012. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
SB 1704, s.2.(a), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This section was added by the 2007 Legislature to Article 3B to 
allow a credit to a taxpayer who donates money to a tax-exempt 
nonprofit organization to construct, purchase, or lease renewable 
energy property.  The amount of the credit is the taxpayer’s 
proportionate share of the credit the nonprofit could have taken 
under G.S. 105-129.16A if the nonprofit were subject to tax.  The 
taxpayer must take the credit in the year the property is placed in 
service.  The installment requirements for nonresidential property in 
G.S. 105-129.16A do not apply.  The nonprofit organization must 
provide each taxpayer who made a donation a statement describing 
the property, setting out the cost of the property, the amount of the 
credit the organization could claim if it were subject to tax, and the 
taxpayer’s share of the credit.  A taxpayer claiming a credit under 
this section may not deduct this donation as a charitable 
contribution. 
 
Two amendments were made to this section by the 2008 
Legislature.  The first amendment expanded the credit to include 
donations to units of State or local governments.  The second 
amendment clarifies that the credit must be taken in the ‘taxable’ 
year in which the property is placed in service. 
 
(New credit effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 
1, 2008; SB 3, s. 13(a), S.L. 07-397.  Expansion of the credit for 
donations to State or local governments is effective for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.25(a), 
S.L. 08-107.  Technical change effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 
70, S.L. 08-134.) 
 

LOW-INCOME HOUSING TAX 
CREDITS  
 
This section was rewritten to extend the sunset for the credit to 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015 instead of 
January 1, 2010.  The sunset applies to developments to which 
federal credits are allocated on or after that date. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.3, S.L. 08-107.) 
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G.S. 105-129.51(b) – 
Sunset 

 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.70 – 
Clarifying and 
Technical Changes 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.71(a) 
and 105-129.72(a)  – 
Clarifying and 
Technical Changes 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-129.75 – 
Sunset 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

RESEARCH AND 
DEVELOPMENT 
 
This section was rewritten to extend the sunset for the credits in 
Article 3F to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 
instead of January 1, 2009. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.2, S.L. 08-107.) 
 
 

MILL REHABILITATION TAX 
CREDIT 
 
Subsection (3) was amended to clarify that the definition of “cost 
certification” includes only expenses incurred with respect to repairs 
or alterations consistent with the Secretary of the Interior’s 
Standards for Rehabilitation.  Subsection (4) was amended to 
delete the reference to “a certified rehabilitation” because that 
language was incorporated into subsection (3).  Subsection (5)d 
was deleted and recodified in G.S. 105-129.71(a). 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.4, S.L. 08-107.) 

These subsections were amended to incorporate the provision 
which establishes the floor for cost certification at $3,000,000 that 
was originally codified in G.S. 105-129.70(5)d.  The term 
“certification” was replaced with “the eligibility certification” because 
it is a defined term. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.4, S.L. 08-107.) 

This section was amended to effectively extend the sunset of the 
credit.  Under prior law, the sunset was effective for expenditures 
incurred on or after January 1, 2011.  As amended, the credit 
sunsets for rehabilitation projects for which an application for an 
eligibility certification is submitted on or after January 1, 2011. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.4.(d), S.L. 08-107.) 
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G.S. 105-130.5(a)(15) 
– Technical Change 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.5(a)(15a) 
– 50% First Year 
Bonus Depreciation 
Add-Back  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.5(a)(20) 
– Addition for Donation 
to Nonprofit for 
Renewable Energy 
Property; Expansion 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.5(b)(11) 
– Clarifying Change 

 
 
 

CORPORATION INCOME TAX 
 
This subdivision was amended to limit the applicability of that 
subdivision to taxable years 2002 through 2005. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.1(c), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
 
This subdivision was added to require a taxpayer to add to federal 
taxable income a percentage of the 50% first-year bonus 
depreciation deduction allowed for federal income tax purposes 
under Section 168(k) of the Internal Revenue Code under the 
Economic Stimulus Act of 2008.  The applicable percentage is 85% 
of the bonus depreciation for the tax year 2008.  Any taxpayer who 
claimed the bonus depreciation for federal purposes for the tax year 
2007 and whose North Carolina return also reflected that deduction 
must also add back 85% of the deduction claimed for the tax year 
2007 on the 2008 tax return.  This adjustment does not result in a 
difference in basis of the affected assets for State and federal 
income tax purposes. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.1(d), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subdivision was added by the 2007 Legislature to require a 
taxpayer who claimed a tax credit under G.S. 105-129.16H for a 
donation to a nonprofit organization for acquisition or lease of 
renewable energy property to make an addition to federal taxable 
income for the amount of the donation.  The 2008 Legislature 
amended this subdivision to conform to the amendment to G.S. 
105-129.16H that expanded the credit to include donations to State 
or local governments. 
 
(New addition effective for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2008; SB 3, s. 13(b), S.L. 07-397; expansion of addition 
effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.25.(b), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subdivision was amended to clarify that the deduction from 
federal taxable income for a business expense that was reduced or 
disallowed for federal income tax purposes because the Code 
allowed a federal tax credit in lieu of a deduction is allowed only to 
the extent that a similar State income tax credit is not allowed for 
the expense. 
 
(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s.2.(b), S.L. 08-134.) 
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G.S. 105-130.5(b)(21a) 
– Future Deduction for 
50% First-Year 
Accelerated 
Depreciation Add-Back 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.5(b)(24) 
– Subtraction for 
Qualified Sale of 
Manufactured Home 
Community 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.16(a) – 
Conforming Change 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.17(b) – 
Due Date 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.41(c1) – 
State Ports Tax Credit 
Reporting 
Requirements 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This subdivision was added to provide a deduction from future 
income tax returns for the 50% additional first-year depreciation 
deduction required to be added to federal taxable income under 
G.S. 105-130.5(a)(15a).  A taxpayer may deduct 20% of the total 
amount of accelerated depreciation added to federal taxable 
income in the tax year 2008 in each of the first five taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2009. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.1.(g), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subdivision was added to provide a deduction from federal 
taxable income for 5% of the gross purchase price of a qualified 
sale of a manufactured home community.  To qualify, the sale must 
be a one-time event to a group composed of a majority of the 
community’s leaseholders or to a nonprofit organization that 
represents the group of leaseholders and notice of the sale must be 
given to the NC Housing Finance Agency pursuant to G.S. 42-14.3. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008 
and expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015; 
HB 2436, s. 28.27.(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This section was amended to conform the corporate officers 
authorized to sign a corporate income tax return with those 
authorized by statute to sign a franchise tax return.  Under prior law, 
the president, vice-president, treasurer, assistant treasurer, 
secretary, or assistant secretary was authorized to sign the return.  
As amended, the assistant treasurer, secretary, or assistant 
secretary are deleted and replaced by the chief financial officer. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2009; 
SB 1704, s. 4.(a), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This subdivision was amended to change the due date of the 
income tax return to the 15th day of the fourth month following the 
end of the corporation’s income year.   
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
SB 242, s. 14, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This subsection was amended to expand the information the 
Department is required to publish by May 1 of each year concerning 
the State Ports Tax Credit.  Additional information includes the 
amount of charges attributable to imports and the amount of 
charges attributable to exports. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.5.(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
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G.S. 105-130.41(d) – 
State Ports Tax Credit 
Sunset 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.47(a) – 
Film Industry Credit 
Expansion 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.47(j) – 
NC Film Office 
Notification and 
Acknowledgement 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-130.47(k) – 
Film Industry Credit 
Sunset 
 
 
 
 
 

This subsection was amended to extend the sunset of the credit to 
taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 from January 1, 
2009. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.5.(b), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This section was amended to expand the expenses of a production 
company that qualify for the credit.  Under prior law, compensation 
paid to a highly compensated individual (defined as an individual 
who directly or indirectly receives compensation in excess of one 
million dollars) was not a qualifying expense.  As amended, 
compensation up to one million dollars constitutes a qualifying 
expense.  Amounts in excess of one million dollars are non-
qualifying.  Additionally, the cost of production-related insurance 
coverage constitutes a qualifying expense as long as the coverage 
is not purchased from a related member as defined for corporate 
income tax purposes.   
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.24.(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
Former subsection (j) was recodified as subsection (k).  New 
subsection (j) was added to require a taxpayer to notify the Division 
of Tourism, Film, and Sports Development Division of the 
Department of Commerce of its intent to claim a credit and to 
provide the following information to claim a credit:  
 

• The title of the production 
• The name of the production company 
• A financial contact for the production company 
• The proposed dates on which the production company plans 

to begin filming 
• Any other information required by the Division. 

 
Productions receiving production credits must acknowledge in the 
production credits both the NC Film Office and the regional film 
office responsible for the geographic area in which the filming 
occurred.  
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.24.(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
Former subsection (j) was recodified as subsection (k) and 
amended to extend the sunset.  The credit will expire for qualifying 
expenses occurring on or after January 1, 2014 instead of January 
1, 2010. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.24.(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
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G.S. 58-6-25 –  
 Insurance Regulatory 
Charge 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-228.5(d)(3) – 
Adjustment to the Rate 
of the Additional Gross 
Premiums Tax on 
Property Coverage 
Contracts 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-228.5B 
(effective until June 30, 
2010) – Conforming 
Change 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-228.5B 
(effective June 30, 
2010) – Technical 
Change 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

INSURANCE GROSS 
PREMIUMS TAX 
 
The percentage rate to be used in calculating the insurance 
regulatory charge under this statute is 5.5% for the 2008 calendar 
year.  This charge is a percentage of gross premiums tax liability. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.13, S.L. 08-107.) 
 
The 2006 Legislature repealed the additional State and local fire 
and lightning taxes and replaced them with an additional tax on 
property coverage contracts with no reference to fire and lightning 
coverage.  The rate of the new tax was set at 0.85%.  The tax is 
imposed on 10% of the gross premiums from automobile physical 
damage policies, as defined in subparagraph (a), and 100% of the 
gross premiums from all other property coverage policies, as 
defined in subparagraph (b).  The new tax was effective for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2008. 
 
The 2007 Legislature further considered these changes and 
reduced the tax rate from 0.85% to 0.74%. 
 
(Repeal of State and local taxes and enactment of new tax on 
property coverage contracts effective for taxable years beginning on 
or after January 1, 2008; HB 1891, s. 3; S.L. 06-196; reduced rate 
of new tax also effective for taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2008; SB 238, s. 1, S.L. 07-250.) 
 
This section was amended to conform to a change in the name of 
the North Carolina Health Insurance Risk Pool Special Fund as 
defined in G.S. 58-50-175.  The term “special” was deleted from the 
name. 
 
(Effective July 28, 2008; HB 2438, s.3.2.(d), S.L. 08-118.) 
 
The catch line is amended to read “Distribution of part of tax 
proceeds to High Risk Pool.” 
 
(Effective July 28, 2008; HB 2438, s.3.2.(e), S.L. 08-118.) 
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SECTION 

3 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.3(8g) – 
Definition of Energy 
Star Qualified Product  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.4(a) – 
Increase in State Sales 
Tax Rate 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.4(a)(1j) – 
Tax on Electricity Sold 
to Manufacturers and 
Farmers 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SALES AND USE TAX 
 
This definition was added as a result of a new sales tax holiday 
authorized by the General Assembly.  The term is defined as “a 
product that meets the energy efficient guidelines set by the United 
States Environmental Protection Agency and the United States 
Department of Energy and is authorized to carry the Energy Star 
label.” 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
2436, s. 28.12(a), S.L. 08-107.)  
 
The State general rate of tax increases from 4.25% to 4.5%.  This 
occurs simultaneously with the reduction in the local sales tax under 
Article 44 from one-half to one-quarter percent as a result of the 
State’s assumption of Medicaid responsibilities for the counties. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(h), S.L. 07-323.  The State general rate further 
increases from 4.5% to 4.75% simultaneously with the repeal of the 
one-quarter percent tax under Article 44; effective October 1, 2009 
for sales occurring on or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(g), 
S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This new subdivision imposes a State sales tax at the rate of 1.4% 
on sales of electricity to manufacturing industries and 
manufacturing plants for use in connection with the operation of the 
industries and plants and to farmers to be used by them for any 
farming purposes other than preparing food, heating dwellings, and 
other household purposes.  The electricity must be measured by a 
separate meter or another separate device. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008 for sales occurring on or after that date; SB 
3, s. 10(d), S.L. 07-397.  The rate is further reduced from 1.4% to 
0.8%; effective July 1, 2009 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
SB 3, s. 10(e), S.L. 07-397.  The subdivision is repealed and sales 
of electricity to manufacturers and farmers are exempt from tax; 
effective July 1, 2010 for sales occurring on or after that date; SB 3, 
s. 10(f), S.L. 07-397.) 
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G.S. 105-164.4B(d)(2) 
– Sourcing of Direct 
Mail 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.13 – 
Exemptions and 
Exclusions 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This subdivision was rewritten to correct a reference to the sourcing 
rule that applies when the purchaser of direct mail does not provide 
the seller a direct pay permit or other information to show the 
jurisdictions to which the direct mail is to be delivered.  In such 
cases, direct mail is sourced to the address from which it was 
shipped.    
 
(Effective August 7, 2008; SB 1632, s. 42, S.L. 08-187.) 
 
The 2008 Session of the General Assembly added two new 
exemptions.  Also included are exemptions enacted by the 2007 
General Assembly with future effective dates.  The changes and 
their effective dates are as follows: 
 
Fuel sold to farmers – (1).  This exemption for sales of specific 
items to a farmer for use by the farmer in the planting, cultivating, 
harvesting, or curing of farm crops or in the production of dairy 
products, eggs, or animals was rewritten to remove the reference to 
“electricity” in the phrase “fuel other than electricity.”  The sales tax 
on electricity will be phased out. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2010 for sales occurring on or after that date; SB 
3, s. 10(g), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
Electricity sold to farmers – (1b).  This is a new exemption for 
electricity sold to a farmer to be used for any farming purpose other 
than preparing food, heating dwellings, and other household 
purposes. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2010 for sales occurring on or after that date; SB 
3, s. 10(h), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
Fuel and electricity sold to manufacturers – (57).  This is a new 
exemption for fuel and electricity sold to a manufacturer for use in 
connection with the operation of a manufacturing facility. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2010 for sales occurring on or after that date; SB 
3, s. 10(h), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
Disaster assistance debit card purchases – (58).  This is a new 
exemption for tangible personal property purchased with a client 
assistance debit card issued for disaster assistance relief by a State 
agency or a federal agency or instrumentality such as the Federal 
Emergency Management Administration (FEMA) or the American 
Red Cross.  Prior to August 1, 2008, such purchases were subject 
to the applicable State and local sales and use tax.  
 
(Effective August 1, 2008, HB 2436, s. 28.6(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
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G.S. 105-164.13B(a) – 
State Sales Tax 
Exemption for Certain 
Bakery Items 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.13C(a) – 
Change in 2008 Sales 
Tax Holiday 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.13D – 
New Sales and Use 
Tax Holiday for Energy 
Star Qualified Products 
 
 
 
 
 

Charges for interior design services in connection with sales  – 
(59).  This is a new exemption for interior design services provided 
in conjunction with the sale of tangible personal property.  In order 
to qualify for the exemption, the charge representing the interior 
design services must be separately stated from the sales price of 
the tangible personal property.    
 
(Effective August 1, 2008, HB 2436, s. 28.20(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This is a new exemption from the State sales and use tax for bakery 
items sold without eating utensils by an artisan bakery.  These 
items are subject to the 2% local sales and use tax applicable to 
sales of qualifying food.  Subdivision (4), which provides that 
“prepared food” is subject to the State and applicable local rates of 
tax, was amended to provide that prepared food other than bakery 
items sold without eating utensils by an artisan bakery is subject to 
the State and local rates of tax.  For purposes of the exemption, the 
term “bakery item” includes bread, rolls, buns, biscuits, bagels, 
croissants, pastries, donuts, danish, cakes, tortes, pies, tarts, 
muffins, bars, cookies, and tortillas.  An “artisan bakery” is defined 
as “…a bakery that meets all of the following requirements:  (a) It 
derives over eighty percent (80%) of its gross receipts from bakery 
items, and (b) Its annual gross receipts, combined with the gross 
receipts of all related persons as defined in G.S. 105-163.010, do 
not exceed one million eight hundred thousand dollars 
($1,800,000).”     
 
(Effective January 1, 2009 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
2436, s. 28.19(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subsection was rewritten to add new subdivision (2a) that 
exempts school instructional materials as defined in G.S. 105-
164.3(37b) with a sales price of three hundred dollars ($300.00) or 
less per item if sold during the sales tax holiday.  Only the following 
items are included in the term “school instructional materials:” 
reference books, reference maps and globes, textbooks, and 
workbooks. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2007 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
1473, s. 31.14(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This new section authorizes a sales and use tax holiday for specific 
products that meet energy efficient guidelines and carry the Energy 
Star label.  The term “Energy Star qualified product” is defined in 
G.S. 105-164.3(8g).  Qualified products are exempt from all State 
and local sales and use taxes if sold between 12:01 a.m. on the first 
Friday of November and 11:59 p.m. the following Sunday.  For 
2008, the dates are Friday, November 7th through Sunday, 
November 9th.  Only the following Energy Star qualified products  
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G.S. 105-164.14(a1) – 
Refunds to Interstate 
Passenger Air Carriers 
Extended 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.14(b) – 
Refunds to Certain 
501(c)(3) 
Organizations 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.14(b) – 
Refunds to University 
Affiliated Nonprofit 
Organizations 
 
 
 
 
 
 

will be exempt from tax during the holiday period:  clothes washers, 
freezers, refrigerators, central air conditioners, room air 
conditioners, air-source heat pumps, geothermal heat pumps, 
ceiling fans, dehumidifiers, and programmable thermostats.  The 
exemption does not apply to rentals of qualified products and to 
sales of qualified products for use in a trade or business, including 
sales to contractors of products that will be installed in buildings or 
structures.  Rentals of qualified products and sales of qualified 
products for use in a trade or business, such as sales to 
contractors, are subject to sales and use tax even when rented or 
sold during the holiday period. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008 for sales made on or after that date; HB 
2436, s. 28.12(b), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
The provision allowing an interstate passenger air carrier a refund 
of the net amount of sales and use tax paid by it in North Carolina 
on fuel during a calendar year in excess of $2,500,000, which was 
scheduled to be repealed for purchases made on or after January 
1, 2009, was extended.  As amended, the refund provision is 
repealed for purchases made on or after January 1, 2011.  
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.23(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subsection was rewritten to clarify the types of entities that 
qualify for semiannual refunds of sales and use taxes paid on direct 
purchases of tangible personal property and certain services for use 
in carrying on the work of the nonprofit entity.  As rewritten, the 
refund provisions apply to an organization that is exempt from 
income tax under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code 
and is not classified in any of the following major group areas of the 
National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities:  Community Improvement 
and Capacity Building, Public and Societal Benefit, or Mutual and 
Membership Benefit.  The provisions pertaining to hospitals not 
operated for profit and qualified retirement homes were not 
changed.   
 
(Effective July 1, 2008 for purchases made on or after that date; HB 
2436, s. 28.22(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This subsection was further amended to add an additional category 
of organizations that qualifies for semiannual refunds of sales and 
use taxes.  As amended, a university affiliated nonprofit 
organization (including an entity exempt from taxation as a 
disregarded entity of the nonprofit organization) that procures, 
designs, constructs, or provides facilities to, or for use by, a 
constituent institution of the University of North Carolina is eligible 
for refunds.  Notwithstanding the statutory requirements pertaining 
to due dates, a request for a refund for the period January 1, 2004 
through December 31, 2007 is timely filed if it is submitted to the 
Secretary of Revenue by October 15, 2008.  
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G.S. 105-164.14(j) – 
Refunds to Certain 
Industrial Facilities 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.14(l) – 
Refunds to Motorsports 
Racing Teams or 
Motorsports 
Sanctioning Bodies 
Extended 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.16(e) – 
Simultaneous State 
and Local Changes 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.29(d) – 
Revocation of 
Certificate of 
Registration 
 

(Effective January 1, 2004 for purchases made on or after that date; 
HB 2509, s.1, S.L. 08-154.) 
 
This subsection was rewritten to expand the provision authorizing 
refunds of sales and use taxes paid by an eligible facility on 
qualified building materials, building supplies, fixtures, and 
equipment that become a part of the real property of the eligible 
facility.  New sub-subdivision (3)n. provides that a solar electricity 
generating materials manufacturing industry is now eligible for 
refunds.  Solar electricity generating materials manufacturing 
means the development and production of one or more of the 
following:  (1) Photovoltaic materials or modules used in producing 
electricity, and (2) Polymers or polymer films primarily intended for 
incorporation into photovoltaic materials or modules used in 
producing electricity.  New sub-subdivision (2)d. sets out the wage 
standard eligibility requirement that must be satisfied.  The refund 
provision is repealed for sales made on or after January 1, 2013.  
 
(Effective July 1, 2008 for purchases made on or after that date; HB 
2438, s. 3.10(a), S.L. 08-118.) 
 
The provision allowing a professional motorsports racing team or a 
motorsports sanctioning body a refund of sales and use tax paid by 
it in this State on aviation fuel, which was scheduled to be repealed 
for purchases made on or after January 1, 2009, was extended.  As 
amended, the refund provision is repealed for purchases made on 
or after January 1, 2011.  
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.23(b), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This new subsection was added to clarify how sales and use tax on 
lease or rental payments and installment sale payments is reported 
when the State and local rates change on the same date but the 
“combined general rate” does not change.  When the State and 
local sales and use tax rates change on the same date because 
one increases and the other decreases, but the “combined general 
rate” as defined in G.S. 105-164.3(4a) does not change, taxes 
payable on the gross receipts from the following periodic payments 
are to be reported in accordance with the changed State and local 
rates:  (1) Lease or rental payments billed after the effective date of 
the changes, and  (2) Installment sale payments received after the 
effective date of the changes by a taxpayer who reports the 
installment sale on a cash basis. 
 
(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 11, S.L. 08-134.)   
 
This subsection was rewritten as a result of the major revision of the 
appeals procedures.  It changes the procedure for revoking a 
wholesale merchant’s or retailer’s certificate of registration to 
parallel the new procedures for refunds and assessment.  As 
rewritten, it requires the Secretary to notify the merchant of the  
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G.S. 105-164.38(c) – 
Transferee Liability 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.44I(b) – 
Revision to Video 
Programming and 
Telecommunications 
Tax Distribution for 
Supplemental PEG 
Channel Support 
 
G.S. 105-164.44I(e) – 
Revision to Use of 
Proceeds from 
Supplemental PEG 
Channel Support 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.44J – 
Supplemental PEG 
Channel Support 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

proposed revocation, which will become final unless the merchant 
objects and files a timely request for a Departmental review. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 19, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This subsection was rewritten as a result of the major revision of the 
appeals procedures.  It makes necessary changes to correspond to 
the new assessment and collection procedures. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 20, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
This subsection was rewritten to change the maximum amount of 
supplemental PEG channel support funds a county or city can 
receive.  
 
(Effective August 2, 2008; SB 1716, s. 1, S.L. 08-148.) 
 
 
 
This subsection was rewritten to clarify that the amount of proceeds 
for subsequent fiscal years is the same proportionate amount of 
funds as distributed in fiscal year 2006-2007, and that the funds are 
to be used for the same purpose as in 2006-2007.  
 
(Effective August 2, 2008; SB 1716, s. 2, S.L. 08-148.) 
 
This is new section pertaining solely to supplemental PEG (Public, 
Educational, or Governmental) channel support.  Subsection (a) 
contains definitions of the following terms:  “existing agreement,” 
“PEG channel,” “PEG channel operator,” “qualifying PEG channel,” 
and “supplemental PEG channel support funds.”  Subsection (b) 
specifies the information that cities and counties must include in 
their annual certifications to the Secretary of Revenue.  Cities or 
counties must certify to the Department by July 15th of each year 
the number of qualifying PEG channels provided for use by a cable 
service provider.  The certification must include the following:  (1) 
An identification of each channel as a public, an education, or a 
government channel, (2) The name and signature of the PEG 
channel operator.  If a qualifying PEG channel has more than one 
PEG channel operator, the city or county must include the name of 
each operator of the PEG channel and a PEG channel operator 
may be included on the certification of only one county or city for 
each type of PEG channel that it operates, and (3) Any other 
information required by the Department.  Subsection (c) provides 
additional restrictions as to how the supplemental PEG channel 
support funds are to be used.  Subsection (d) requires a county or 
city to submit a revised certification if the county or city certifies a 
PEG channel in error and to return all supplemental PEG channel 
support funds distributed as a result of the error. 
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Chapter 323 of the 
2007 Session Laws – 
Transfer for Wildlife 
Resources 
Commission 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-467(b) – 
Exemption for Products 
Sold During New Sales 
Tax Holiday 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-472(b1) – 
First One Percent 
Local Tax Distribution 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-501 – 
Distribution of Second 
One-Half Percent Local 
Sales and Use Tax  
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-502 – Use of 
Additional Tax 
Revenue by Counties 
 
 
 
 

For the 2008 certification, the date the certification must be 
submitted is September 15, 2008 rather than July 15, as provided in 
Subsection (b).   
 
(Effective August 2, 2008; SB 1716, s. 3, S.L. 08-148.) 
 
This act provides that, for the 2007-2008 and 2008-2009 fiscal 
years, the Secretary of Revenue must make a quarterly transfer 
from the State sales and use tax net collections to the State 
Treasurer for the Wildlife Resources Fund to fund legislative salary 
increases for Wildlife Resources Commission employees. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2007; HB 1473, s. 28.15B, S.L. 07-323.) 
 
 

LOCAL SALES AND USE TAX 
 
A technical amendment was made to add a reference to sales 
made during the new sales tax holiday for certain Energy Star 
qualified products set out in G.S. 105-164.13D.  Sales of specific 
products made during the holiday are exempt from local sales and 
use taxes as well as State sales and use taxes. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.12(c), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This new subsection is added to reduce the county’s allocation by 
the amount of the city’s hold harmless amount.  The reduction does 
not affect the portion of the county’s distribution that is shared with 
its municipalities.  A corresponding change is made to the 
Mecklenburg first one percent local tax. 
  
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(d), S.L. 07-323.) Repealed 
(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 14(b), S.L. 08-134.) 

 
This section alters the method of distributing the proceeds of the 
second one-half percent tax from per capita to point of origin.  The 
amount of the net proceeds allocated to a county is no longer 
adjusted by the statutory adjustment factors. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This section amends the method of determining the amount 
required to be reserved for the public school capital outlay fund in 
each county.  As a result of the second one-half percent tax 
distribution method changing October 1, 2009, some counties will 
receive less funds under G.S. 105-501.  The county must use sixty 
percent (60%) of the amount of revenue specified in the following: 
(1) The amount of revenue the county receives under G.S. 105- 
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G.S. 105-520 – 
Distribution of Third 
One-Half Percent Local 
Tax 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-515 through 
105-520 – Third One-
Half Percent Local 
Sales and Use Tax 
Repealed 
 
G.S. 105-521 – Hold 
Harmless for Repealed 
Reimbursements 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-522 – City 
Hold Harmless for 
Repealed Local Taxes 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

501(a), and (2) If the amount allocated to the county under G.S. 
105-486 is greater than the amount allocated to the county under 
G.S. 105-501(a), the difference between the two amounts.  This 
new method ensures the public school capital outlay fund is held 
harmless as a result of the Medicaid swap.       
 
(Effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; SB 1704, s. 13(a), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
As a result of the reduction of the third one-half percent local tax to 
one-quarter percent, the method of distributing the proceeds of the 
tax changes.  The one-quarter percent tax will be distributed 
monthly on a point of origin basis; no portion of the proceeds of this 
levy will be distributed on a per capita basis.  
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(b), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
The sections providing for the adoption, levy, administration, and 
distribution of the third one-half percent tax are repealed. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2009 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(a), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
As a result of the reduction of the third one-half percent local tax to 
one-quarter percent, a hold harmless provision is added to replace 
the repealed reimbursements.  A definition of “replacement 
revenue” is added; this term is defined as the sum of 50% of the 
revenue distributed under Article 40 other than revenue from the 
sale of qualifying food subject to only the 2% local tax and 25% of 
the revenue distributed under Article 39 (first one-cent local tax) or 
under the Mecklenburg first one-cent tax other than revenue from 
the sale of qualifying food subject to only the 2% local tax.  A local 
government is reimbursed if the estimated amount of replacement 
revenue is less than the repealed reimbursement amount.  The 
source of the funds for hold harmless distributions is State sales 
and use tax collections. 
  
(Effective January 1, 2008; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(c), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
This is a new section providing that a municipality that was 
incorporated on or before October 1, 2008 and receives a sales and 
use tax distribution under G.S. 105-472 receives a hold harmless 
amount.  The hold harmless amount is 50% of the amount of sales 
and use tax revenue distributed for a month to the municipality 
under Article 40 other than revenue from sales of qualifying food 
subject to only the 2% local tax.  A county must hold the 
municipalities harmless from the repeal of the taxes formerly 
imposed under Article; the municipality’s hold harmless amount is to 
be added to the municipality’s monthly distribution.  The revenue for 
the hold harmless distribution is obtained by reducing each county’s  
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G.S. 105-522(a)(2) – 
City Hold Harmless for 
Repealed Local Taxes 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-522(a)(2) – 
City Hold Harmless for 
Repealed Local Taxes 
Amended 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

monthly allocation under G.S. 105-472(b) or under the 
corresponding provision in the Mecklenburg first one-cent sales tax 
act by the hold harmless amounts for the municipalities in that 
county. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(f), S.L. 07-323.  The 
calculation of the repealed sales tax amount is changed for fiscal 
year 2008-2009; effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for 
months beginning on or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(g), S.L. 
07-323. Repealed (Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 15(b), 
S.L. 08-134.)   The calculation of the hold harmless amount is 
amended; effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months 
beginning on or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(c), S.L. 07-323. 
Repealed (Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 15(c), S.L. 08-
134.)  For the 2009-2010 fiscal year, further changes are made in 
the method of calculating the repealed sales tax amount; effective 
October 1, 2009; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(e), S.L. 07-323. Repealed 
(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 15(e), S.L. 08-134.)  Further 
revisions are made in the method of calculating the hold harmless 
amount; effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months 
beginning on or after that date; HB 714, s. 14.4(a), S.L. 07-345.) 
Repealed (Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 15(f), S.L. 08-
134.) 
 
A technical amendment to subdivision (a)(2) was made to the hold 
harmless calculation to refer to G.S. 105-486 instead of Article 40 
other than revenue from sales of qualifying food subject to only the 
2% local tax.  This amendment does not result in any change to the 
calculated amount.  A technical amendment to subsection (b) 
makes it clear that the hold harmless payments are calculated on 
the basis of amounts allocated for distribution before any 
subtraction for the hold harmless payments, by referencing Article 
39 and Chapter 1096 of the 1967 Session Laws.       
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; SB 1704, s. 14(a), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This amends the city hold harmless calculation to match the 
formulas used in the tables that calculated the impact of the 
“Medicaid swap.”  The calculation is the sum of (a) the amount 
allocated under G.S. 105-486 (Article 40), and (b) amount 
determined by subtracting twenty-five percent (25%) of G.S. 105-
472 (Article 39) or Chapter 1096 of the 1967 Session Laws from 
fifty percent (50%) of G.S. 105-486 (Article 40). 
 
(Effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; SB 1704, s. 15(g), S.L. 08-134.) 
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G.S. 105-523 – County 
Hold Harmless for 
Repealed Local Taxes 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-523(b)(c)(d) – 
County Hold Harmless 
for Repealed Local 
Taxes Amended 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This is a new section requiring the Secretary to make hold harmless 
payments to a county if the “repealed sales tax amount” for a fiscal 
year exceeds the county’s “hold harmless threshold.”  These terms 
are defined in this section.  To determine if the county is eligible for 
a hold harmless payment, the Secretary must estimate a county’s 
repealed sales tax amount and hold harmless threshold for a fiscal 
year and must send an eligible county 90% of its estimated hold 
harmless payment with the monthly distribution made under G.S. 
105-472 for March of that year.  At the end of each fiscal year, the 
Secretary is required to determine the difference between a 
county’s repealed sales tax amount and its hold harmless threshold 
for that year and send the remainder of the county’s hold harmless 
payment for the fiscal year ended June 30 by August 15.  The intent 
of this section is that each county benefit by at least $500,000 
annually from the exchange of a portion of the local sales and use 
taxes for the State’s assumption of responsibility for the non-
administrative costs of Medicaid. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(f), S.L. 07-323.  The 
calculation of the repealed sales tax amount is changed for fiscal 
year 2008-2009; effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for 
months beginning on or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(g), S.L. 
07-323. Repealed (Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 15(b), 
S.L. 08-134.) The calculation of the hold harmless amount is 
amended; effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months 
beginning on or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(d), S.L. 07-323. 
Repealed (Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 15(d), S.L. 08-
134.)  For the 2009-2010 fiscal year, further changes are made in 
the method of calculating the repealed sales tax amount; effective 
October 1, 2009; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(e), S.L. 07-323. Repealed 
(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 15(e), S.L. 08-134.)  Further 
revisions are made in the method of calculating the repealed sales 
tax amount; effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months 
beginning on or after that date; HB 714, s. 14.4(b), S.L. 07-345.) 
Repealed (Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 15(f), S.L. 08-
134.) 
 
This amends subsections (b), (c), and (d) by inserting the city hold 
harmless amount into the calculation of the county hold harmless 
payment.  A technical amendment to subdivision (b)(3) was made 
to the hold harmless calculation to refer to G.S. 105-486 instead of 
Article 40 other than revenue from sales of qualifying food subject 
to only the 2% local tax.  This amendment does not result in any 
change to the calculated amount.   
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; SB 1704, s. 15(a), S.L. 08-134.) 
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G.S. 105-523(b)(3) – 
County Hold Harmless 
for Repealed Local 
Taxes 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chapter 323 of the 
2007 Session Laws – 
Reduction of Third 
One-Half Percent Local 
Sales and Use Tax 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chapter 323 of the 
2007 Session Laws – 
Hold Harmless 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Chapter 323 of the 
2007 Session Laws – 
Article 44 Title 
 
 
 
 
 

This amends the county hold harmless calculation to match the 
formulas used in the tables that calculated the impact of the 
“Medicaid swap.”  The calculation is the sum of subdivision (a.) the 
amount allocated under G.S. 105-486 (Article 40) and subdivision 
(b.) amount determined by subtracting twenty-five percent (25%) of 
G.S. 105-472 (Article 39) or Chapter 1096 of the 1967 Session 
Laws from fifty percent (50%) of G.S. 105-486 (Article 40). 
 
(Effective October 1, 2009 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; SB 1704, s. 15(h), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
As a result of the State’s assumption of Medicaid responsibilities for 
the counties, this act reduces the one-half percent (½%) sales and 
use tax authorized under Article 44 of Chapter 105 of the General 
Statutes to one-quarter percent (¼%).  No action is required of the 
county; a resolution enacted by the county to levy the one-half 
percent tax is considered to be a resolution authorizing the levy of 
the one-quarter percent tax.  The one-quarter percent reduction is 
offset by a one-quarter percent increase in the State general rate of 
sales and use tax.   
 
(Effective October 1, 2008 for sales occurring on or after that date; 
HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(a), S.L 07-323.  The remaining one-quarter 
percent (¼%) local tax under Article 44 is repealed; effective 
October 1, 2009 for sales occurring on or after that date; HB 1473, 
s. 31.16.4(a), S.L. 07-323.)  
 
This act provides that, effective October 1, 2007, the State begins 
assuming Medicaid responsibilities for the counties over a three-
year period.  There is a county hold harmless provision, and the 
revenue for the hold harmless distribution is to be withheld from 
State sales and use tax collections.  The Secretary is required to 
estimate a county’s hold harmless amount for the 2007-2008 fiscal 
year and send the county 90% of the estimated amount with the 
monthly sales tax distribution for March 2008.  The Secretary must 
determine the county’s actual hold harmless amount for the 2007-
2008 fiscal year and send the remainder to the county by August 
15, 2008.   
 
(Effective July 31, 2007; HB 1473, ss. 31.16.2(a) through 
31.16.2(c), S.L. 07-323.) 
 
The title of Article 44 is changed from “Third One-Half Cent Local 
Government Sales and Use Tax” to “Local Government Hold 
Harmless Provisions” as a result of the incremental repeal of the 
third one-half percent local tax. 
 
(Effective October 1, 2009; HB 1473, s. 31.16.4(f), S.L. 07-323.) 
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Chapter 1096 of the 
1967 Session Laws, as 
Amended – 
Mecklenburg First One 
Percent Local Tax 
Distribution 
 
 

 
Chapter 1096 of the 
1967 Session Laws, as 
Amended – Exemption 
for Products Sold 
During New Sales Tax 
Holiday 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.10(b) – 
Collection of Unpaid 
Highway Use Tax 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

G.S. 105-187.51A – 
Privilege Tax on 
Manufacturing Fuel 
 

 

 

A new paragraph is added to reduce the Mecklenburg County’s 
allocation by the amount of the city’s hold harmless amount.  The 
reduction does not affect the portion of Mecklenburg County’s 
distribution that is shared with its municipalities.  A corresponding 
change is made to the first one percent local tax for other counties. 
  
(Effective October 1, 2008 for distributions for months beginning on 
or after that date; HB 1473, s. 31.16.3(e), S.L. 07-323.) Repealed 
(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 14(c), S.L. 08-134.) 

 
A technical amendment was made to add a reference to sales 
made during the new sales tax holiday for certain Energy Star 
qualified products set out in G.S. 105-164.13D.  Sales of specific 
products made during the holiday are exempt from the 1% 
Mecklenburg County local sales and use tax as well as State sales 
and use taxes and other local sales and use taxes. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.12(d), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
 

HIGHWAY USE TAX –  
ARTICLE 5A  
 
This subsection was rewritten as a result of the major revision of the 
appeals procedures.  It provides that the remedies for collection of 
taxes under Article 9 apply to the highway use tax; prior to this 
change, the remedies in G.S. 20-99 apply.  For purposes of this 
subsection, it also grants the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles the 
same authority as the Secretary of Revenue.  
 
(Effective January 1, 2008; SB 242, s. 21, S.L. 07-491.) 
 
 

MANUFACTURING FUEL AND 
CERTAIN MACHINERY AND 
EQUIPMENT– ARTICLE 5F 
 
This section was rewritten to reflect a reduction in the privilege tax 
rate imposed on a manufacturing industry or plant that purchases 
fuel to operate the industry or plant.  The rate is five -tenths percent 
(0.5%). 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008 for fuel purchased on or after that date; SB 
3, s. 12(b), S.L. 07-397.  The rate is further reduced from 0.5% to  
0.3%; effective July 1, 2009 for fuel purchased on or after that date; 
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G.S. 105-187.51B – 
Privilege Tax on 
Industrial Machinery 
Refurbishing 
Companies 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.60 – 
Definitions 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.61 – Tax 
Imposed 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SB 3, s. 12(c), S.L. 07-397.  The section is repealed and purchases 
of fuel by manufacturers are exempt from tax; effective July 1, 
2010; SB 3, s. 12(d), S.L. 07-397.) 
 
This section was rewritten to expand the imposition of the 1% 
privilege tax with a maximum tax of eighty dollars ($80.00) per 
article to include an industrial machinery refurbishing company that 
is included in industry group 811310 of NAICS.  The privilege tax 
will apply to the purchase of equipment or an attachment or repair 
part for equipment that meets all of the following requirements:  (a) 
is capitalized by the company for tax purposes under the Code, (b) 
is used by the company in repairing or refurbishing tangible 
personal property, and (c) would be considered mill machinery 
under G.S. 105-187.51 if it were purchased by a manufacturing 
industry or plant and used by the industry or plant to manufacture 
tangible personal property.    
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.21(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
 

SOLID WASTE DISPOSAL TAX 
– ARTICLE 5G 
 
A new Article 5G of Subchapter I of Chapter 105 was added 
effective July 1, 2008.  The new Article consists of G.S. 105-187.60 
through 105-187.63. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; SB 1492, s. 14(a), S.L. 07-550.) 
 
This section provides that the definitions set out in G.S. 105-164.3 
and G.S. 130A-290 apply to this Article.  
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; SB 1492, s. 14(a), S.L. 07-550.) 

 
This section imposes an excise tax on the disposal of municipal 
solid waste and construction and demolition debris in any landfill 
permitted pursuant to Article 9 of Chapter 130A of the General 
Statutes at a rate of two dollars ($2.00) per ton of waste.  An excise 
tax at the same rate is also imposed on the transfer of municipal 
solid waste and construction and demolition debris to a transfer 
station permitted under the same Article for disposal outside the 
State.  The tax is due on waste and debris received from third 
parties and on waste and debris disposed of by the owner or 
operator; it is payable by the owner or operator of each landfill and 
transfer station. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; SB 1492, s. 14(a), S.L. 07-550.) 
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G.S. 105-187.62 – 
Administration of Tax 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.62 – 
Administration of Tax 
Amended 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-187.63 – Use 
of Tax Proceeds 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This section requires the owner or operator of the landfill or transfer 
station to maintain scales designed to determine waste tonnage 
that are approved by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 
Services.  The owner or operator must record waste tonnage when 
the waste is received and must maintain records required by the 
Secretary of Revenue.  The owner or operator may add the solid 
waste disposal tax due to the charges made to a third party for 
disposal of municipal solid waste or construction and demolition 
debris.  The tax is payable and a return is due to be filed in the 
same manner as required for sales and use tax under G.S. 105-
164.16. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; SB 1492, s. 14(a), S.L. 07-550.) 
 
This section was rewritten to make administrative changes.  The 
owner or operator must record waste tonnage disposed of in a 
landfill or transferred to a station for disposal outside the State.  
This change clarifies that the tax is due only on the tonnage actually 
disposed of in North Carolina or transferred to a transfer station for 
disposal outside North Carolina; if recyclables or other items are 
removed prior to disposal or transfer of the tonnage, tax is not due 
on those items.  The due date for a solid waste disposal tax return 
and payment was changed to provide that the return and payment 
are due on a quarterly basis, regardless of the amount of tax due.  
A return covers a calendar quarter; the return and payment are due 
by the last day of the month following the end of the quarter.  The 
original provision required the return and payment to be filed in the 
same manner as sales and use tax returns.  In addition, a bad debt 
deduction provision was added.  This provision allows an owner or 
operator to recover tax paid on tonnage it received but for which it 
was never compensated.   
 
(Effective August 9, 2008; HB 2530, s. 1, S.L. 08-207.) 
 
This section, as amended, allows the Secretary of Revenue to 
retain the costs of collection, not to exceed $225,000.  The 
proceeds of the tax, less the costs of collection, are to be distributed 
as follows:  (1) Fifty percent (50%) to the Inactive Hazardous Sites 
Cleanup Fund established by G.S. 130A-310.11, (2) Eighteen and 
seventy-five one hundredths percent (18.75%) is to be distributed to 
cities in the State on a per capita basis and eighteen and seventy-
five one hundredths percent (18.75%) is to be distributed to 
counties in the State on a per capita basis.  Persons who reside 
within a city are not counted in the population of the county or 
counties in which the city is located, and (3) Twelve and one-half 
percent (12.5%) to the Solid Waste Management Trust Fund 
established by G.S. 130A-309.12. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008; SB 1492, s. 14(a), S.L. 07-550.  
Amendment effective July 1, 2008; SB 6, s. 2, S.L. 07-543.) 
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G.S. 105-187.63 – Use 
of Tax Proceeds 
Amended 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 153A-155(c) – 
County Occupancy Tax 
Due on Certain 
Bundled Transactions 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 160A-215(c) – 
City Occupancy Tax 
Due on Certain 
Bundled Transactions 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This section was rewritten to change the manner in which the tax 
proceeds are distributed.  As amended, thirty-seven and one-half 
percent (37.5%) is to be distributed to cities and counties in the 
State on a per capita basis; one-half of this amount must be 
distributed to cities, and one-half to counties.  The population of a 
county does not include the population of a city located in the 
county.  A city or county is excluded from the distribution if it does 
not provide solid waste management programs and services and is 
not responsible by contract for payment for these programs and 
services, unless it is served by a regional solid waste management 
authority.  Funds distributed must be used by a city or county solely 
for solid waste management programs and services; a city or 
county that receives such funds and is served by a regional solid 
waste management authority must forward the amount it receives to 
that authority.  The portions distributed to the Inactive Hazardous 
Sites Cleanup Fund and the Solid Waste Management Trust Fund 
are unchanged.   
 
(Effective August 9, 2008; HB 2530, s. 2, S.L. 08-207.) 
 
 

LOCAL OCCUPANCY TAXES 
 
This statute, which provides for the collection of the county room 
occupancy tax by operators of subject businesses, was rewritten to 
address the taxation of packages that include accommodation 
rentals.  As rewritten, it specifies that when a taxable 
accommodation is furnished as part of a package, the bundled 
transaction provisions in G.S. 105-164.4D apply in determining the 
sales price of the taxable accommodation.   If the bundled 
transaction provisions do not address the type of package offered, 
the operator may determine an allocated price for each item in the 
package based on a reasonable allocation of revenue that is 
supported by its business records kept in the ordinary course of 
business; the tax is due on the allocated price of the taxable 
accommodation.  
 
(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 12(b), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute, which provides for the collection of the city room 
occupancy tax by operators of subject businesses, was rewritten to 
address the taxation of packages that include accommodation 
rentals.  As rewritten, it specifies that when a taxable 
accommodation is furnished as part of a package, the bundled 
transaction provisions in G.S. 105-164.4D apply in determining the 
sales price of the taxable accommodation.   If the bundled 
transaction provisions do not address the type of package offered, 
the operator may determine an allocated price for each item in the 
package based on a reasonable allocation of revenue that is 
supported by its business records kept in the ordinary course of  
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business; the tax is due on the allocated price of the taxable 
accommodation. 
 
(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 12(c), S.L. 08-134.) 
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SECTION 

4  
 
 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-273 – 
Definitions  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-275(29) —
Nonprofit Historic 
Preservation Property 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-275(31e) — 
Leasehold Interest in 
Exempt Real Property 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-275(42a) — 
Taxation of Heavy 
Equipment 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PROPERTY TAX 
 
 
Changes the definition of taxpayer to:  a person whose property is 
subject to ad valorem property taxation by any county or 
municipality and any person who, under the terms of this 
subchapter, has a duty to list property for taxation.  Makes other 
technical changes to the definitions throughout G.S. 105-273. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2008; SB 1876, s. 1.1, S.L. 2008-35.) 
 
Property and easements wholly and exclusively held and used for 
nonprofit historic preservation purposes by a nonprofit historical 
association or institution, including real property owned by a 
nonprofit corporation organized for historic preservation purposes 
and held by its owner exclusively for sale under an historic 
preservation agreement to be prepared and recorded, at the time of 
sale, under the provisions of the Conservation and Historic 
Preservation Agreements Act, Article 4, Chapter 121 of the General 
Statutes of North Carolina. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 72, S.L. 2008-134.)  
 
Excludes from taxation a leasehold interest in real property that is 
exempt under G.S. 105-278.1 and is used to provide affordable 
housing for employees of the unit of government that owns the 
property.  This exclusion requires a one-time application. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2008; HB 1889, s. 7, S.L. 2008-171.)  
 
Excludes from taxation heavy equipment on which a gross receipts 
tax may be imposed under G.S. 153A-156.1 and G.S. 160A-215.2. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2009; SB 1852, s. 1, S.L. 2008-144.) 
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G.S. 105-275(44) — 
Taxation of Drugs 
Given as Free Samples 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-275(45) — 
Taxation of Solar 
Electric Systems 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-277.1B — 
Property Tax 
Homestead Circuit 
Breaker 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-277.1C — 
Provide a Property Tax 
Exclusion for 
Honorably Discharged 
Disabled Veterans and 
Their Surviving 
Spouses 
 
G.S. 105-277.1D — 
Uniform Provisions for 
Payment of Deferred 
Taxes 
 
 
 
 
 

Excludes from taxation free samples of drugs that are required by 
federal law to be dispensed only on prescription and are given to 
physicians and other medical practitioners to dispense free of 
charge in their course of practice. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2008; SB 1878, s. 4, S.L. 2008-146.)  
 
Designates solar energy electric systems used directly and 
exclusively for conversion of solar energy to electricity as a special 
class of property.  Excludes 80% of the appraised value of the solar 
systems from taxation. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2008; SB 1878, s. 5, S.L. 2008-146.) 
 
Numerous technical changes were made to the circuit breaker to 
help with the administration of this new program starting in 2009.  
The residence has to be owned and occupied for at least five years.  
A permanent residence owned and occupied by husband and wife 
as tenants by the entirety is entitled to the full benefit even if only 
one of the owners meets the requirements.  An annual application 
is required for this program.  G.S. 105-282.1(a)(2)e is repealed.   
G.S. 153A-148.1(a) and G.S. 160A-208.1(a) is amended to allow 
the following information to be disclosed:  
 
To include on a property tax receipt the amount of property taxes 
due and the amount of property taxes deferred on a residence 
classified under G.S. 105-277.1B, the property tax homestead 
circuit breaker. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2008; SB 1876, s.1.2-1.5, S.L. 2008-35.) 
 
Provides a property tax exclusion of the first $45,000 of appraised 
value of the residence owned and occupied by a honorably 
discharged disabled veteran or the unmarried surviving spouse of a 
honorably discharged disabled veteran. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2009; HB 2436, s. 28.11, S.L. 2008-107.) 
 
Provides for uniform treatment of all the property tax deferral 
programs.  The following statutes have this statement added 
concerning when deferred taxes are due: 
 
The deferred taxes for the preceding three fiscal years are due and 
payable in accordance with G.S. 105-277.1D when the property 
loses its eligibility for deferral as a result of a disqualifying event. 
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G.S. 105-277.1d(a) — 
Deferred Tax Programs 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-277.2 — 
Present Use Value 
Property Changes 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-277.3 — 
Wildlife Exception 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A disqualifying event is also defined in each of the following 
statutes: 
 
• G.S. 105-275(29a), historic district property held as future site of 

historic structure. 
• G.S. 105-277.1B, the property tax-homestead circuit breaker. 
• G.S. 105-277.4(c), present-use value property. 
• G.S. 105-277.14, working waterfront property. 
• G.S. 105-277.15, wildlife conservation land. 
• G.S. 105-278(b), historic property. 
• G.S. 105-278.6(e), nonprofit property held as future site of low- 

or moderate-income housing. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2008; SB 1876, s. 2.1-2.7, S.L. 2008-35.)  
 
Adds wildlife conservation land to the list of deferred tax programs 
as enacted in Section 2.2 of S.L. 2008-35. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2010; HB 1889, s. 2, S.L. 2008-171.) 
 
Changes the present use value law to allow additional forms of 
ownership to qualify for special tax treatment.  Changes the types of 
business entities and trust, which can qualify for present use value.  
All members of the business entity must be directly or indirectly 
individuals who are actively engaged in farming agricultural land, 
horticultural land or forestland.  Allows land to immediately qualify 
without requiring the deferred taxes to be assumed by the new 
owner as long as the new owner continues to use the land for the 
purpose for which it was classified under the previous ownership. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2008; SB 1878, s. 2, S.L. 2008-146.) 
 
Provides that when an owner of land classified under this section 
does not transfer the land and the land becomes eligible for 
classification under G.S. 105-277.15, no deferred taxes are due. 
The deferred taxes remain a lien on the land and are payable in 
accordance with G.S. 105-277.15. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2010; HB 1889, s. 5, S.L. 2008-171.) 
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G.S. 105-277.3(d1) — 
Easements on 
Qualified Conservation 
Lands Previously 
Appraised at Use 
Value 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-277.15 — 
Taxation of Wildlife 
Conservation Land 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-277.16 — 
Taxation of Low-
Income Housing 
Property 
 
 
 

Property that is appraised at its present-use value under 
G.S. 105-277.4(b) shall continue to qualify for appraisal, 
assessment, and taxation as provided in G.S. 105-277.2 through 
G.S. 105-277.7 as long as the property is subject to an enforceable 
conservation easement that would qualify for the conservation tax 
credit provided in G.S. 105-130.34 and G.S. 105-151.12, without 
regard to actual production or income requirements of this section; 
and the taxpayer received no more than seventy-five percent (75%) 
of the fair market value of the donated property interest in 
compensation.  
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2010; HB 1889, s. 4, S.L. 2008-171.)  
 
Provides a present use value system for wildlife conservation land.  
The land must be managed under a written wildlife habitat 
conservation agreement with the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 
Commission that is in effect as of January 1 of the year for which 
the benefit of this section is claimed and that requires the owner to 
do one or more of the following: 
 

1. Protect an animal species that lives on the land and, as of 
January 1 of the year for which the benefit of this section is 
claimed, is on a North Carolina protected animal list 
published by the Commission under G.S. 113-333. 

 
2. Conserve any of the following priority animal wildlife 

habitats: longleaf pine forest, early successional habitat, 
small wetland community, stream and riparian zone, rock 
outcrop, or bat cave. 

 
It must have been classified under G.S. 105-277.3 when the wildlife 
habitat conservation agreement was signed or the owner must 
demonstrate to both the Wildlife Resources Commission and the 
assessor that the owner used the land for a purpose specified in the 
signed wildlife habitat conservation agreement for three years 
preceding January 1 of the year for which the benefit of this section 
is claimed.  The land has to be at least 20 contiguous acres with no 
more than 100 acres of an owner’s land in a county in the program.  
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2010; HB 1889, s. 1, S.L. 2008-171.) 
 
Designates low-income housing to which the North Carolina 
Housing Finance Agency allocated a federal tax credit under 
Section 42 of the Code as a special class of property.  Requires the 
assessor to use the income approach as the method of valuation 
and requires the assessor to take rent restrictions that apply to the 
property into consideration.  The assessor may not consider the 
income tax credits received under Section 42 of the Code in 
determining the income attributable to the property. 
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G.S. 105-282.1 — 
Application for 
Exemption and 
Exclusion 
 
 
G.S. 105-286 — Time 
for General 
Reappraisal of Real 
Property 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-330 — 
Combined Motor 
Vehicle Registration 
and Property Tax 
System Changes 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-365.1 — 
When and Against 
Whom Collection 
Remedies May Be 
Used 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2009; SB 1878, s. 3, S.L. 2008-146.) 
 
Adds wildlife conservation land to the list of property, which only 
requires a one-time application for exclusion. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2010; HB 1889, s. 3, S.L. 2008-171.)  
 
Changes the schedule for general reappraisal of real property for 
those counties whose population is 75,000 or greater.  If the 
county’s sales assessment ratio determined under G.S. 105-289(h) 
is less than .85 or greater than 1.15, a reappraisal is required to be 
effective no later than January 1 of the third year following the year 
the ratio is reported to the county, or the eighth year following the 
year of the county’s last reappraisal, whichever is earlier.  Removes 
the Fourth Year Horizontal Adjustments provision from the statutes. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2009; SB 1878, s. 1, S.L. 2008-146.)  
 
Repeals G.S. 105-330.2.  Provides that unregistered motor vehicles 
are subject to a discovery pursuant to G.S. 105-312 unless the 
vehicle has been taxed as a registered vehicle for the current year.  
Provides the accounting for the 60% interest of the first month’s 
interest collected on unpaid property taxes on motor vehicles.  
Provides for a memorandum of understanding to be entered into by 
the Division of Motor Vehicles and the Property Tax Division of the 
Department of Revenue.  Delays the effective date of 
implementation of the Combined Motor Vehicle Registration and 
Property Tax System until January 1, 2011. 
 
(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 61-66, S.L. 2008-134.) 
 
Provides the date of delinquency after which the tax collector may 
use delinquent tax collection remedies.  For a non-deferral tax, the 
delinquency date is the date interest begins.  For deferred taxes, 
the delinquency date is the date a disqualifying event occurs except 
for the death of the owner under the circuit breaker program.  Under 
the circuit breaker program the delinquency date is the first day of 
the ninth month following the death of the owner. 
 
Also provides who the taxpayer is for the purposes of enforced 
collection of property tax.  For real property, it is the owner of record 
as of the date of delinquency.  For personal property, it is the owner 
of record as of January 1 of the calendar year in which the taxes 
are due.  For motor vehicles, it is the owner of record as of the date 
the registration is renewed or applied for. 
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G.S. 153A-156.1 —
Heavy Equipment 
Gross Receipts Tax in 
Lieu of Property Tax 
 
 
G.S. 160A-215.2 —
Heavy Equipment 
Gross Receipts Tax in 
Lieu of Property Tax 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Effective for taxes imposed for taxable years beginning on or after 
July 1, 2008; SB 1876, s.2.8, S.L. 2008-35.) 
 
Allows a county by resolution to impose a gross receipt tax at the 
rate of one and two-tenths percent (1.2%) on the gross receipts 
from the short-term lease or rental of heavy equipment. 
 
(Effective on August 2, 2008; SB 1852, s. 2, S.L. 2008-144.) 
 
Allows a city by resolution to impose a gross receipt tax at the rate 
of eight-tenths percent (0.8%) on the gross receipts from the short-
term lease or rental of heavy equipment. 
 
(Effective on August 2, 2008; SB 1852, s. 3, S.L. 2008-144.) 
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SECTION 

5  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.37(a) – 
Definitions 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.38 – 
Technical 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.44 – 
Clarifying 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.47 – 
Technical 
 

 
G.S. 105-449.47A – 
Technical 

 
 
G.S. 105-449.50 – 
Repealed 

MOTOR FUELS TAX 
 
 
This statute was amended to add definitions for International Fuel 
Tax Agreement and qualified motor vehicle. This statute was also 
amended to modify the current definitions for motor carrier, motor 
vehicle, and operations. The definition additions and modifications 
were for clarification, with the exception of the motor vehicle 
definition, which was modified to include special mobile equipment 
within the definition. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 16, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to add a period at the end of the 
sentence. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 17, S.L. 08-134.) 

 
This statute was amended to allow the Department to include 
information received from SHP when determining a potential liability 
of motor carriers.  A technical change was also added to remove 
the dated term “identification marker” and replace it with a more 
commonly used and defined term of “decal.” 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 18, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to remove the dated term “identification 
marker” and replace it with a more commonly used term of “decal.” 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 19, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to remove the dated term “identification 
marker” and replace it with a more commonly used term of “decal.” 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 20, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
 This statute was repealed as the required information on 
application forms is identified in the General Administration statutes. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 21, S.L. 08-134.) 
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G.S. 105-449.51 – 
Technical 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.52 – 
Technical 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.52(b) – 
Conforming 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.60 – 
Definitions 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.65 – 
License Requirement 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.66 – 
Conforming 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.68 – 
Technical 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.69(c) – 
Technical 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This statute was amended to remove the dated term “identification 
marker” and replace it with a more commonly used term of “decal.” 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 22, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to remove the dated term “identification 
marker” and replace it with a more commonly used term of “decal.” 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 23, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to conform the appeals language to that 
of the administrative review based on legislation passed during the 
previous legislative session. 
 
(Effective July 25, 2008; SB 1704, s. 8, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to add definitions for clarity, move 
definitions that are currently located in other areas of the statutes, 
remove cross-references to other statutes wherever possible, 
reference a federal regulation, and to renumber the definitions. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 24, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to limit the motor fuel transporter 
licensing requirement to those motor fuels transporters that 
transport motor fuel for compensation. This statute also removes 
the multiple activity reference for motor fuel transporters. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 25, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to move the definitions included in this 
statute to the definitions section for consistency.  Also, a technical 
change was made to the term bulk end-user. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 26, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error to the 
term bulk end-user. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 27, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to remove permissive supplier from the 
list requiring a Federal Certificate of Registry.  Permissive supplier 
is included in the definition of supplier; therefore, the inclusion is 
redundant. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 28, S.L. 08-134.) 
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G.S. 105-449.70(a) – 
Technical 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.74 – 
Conforming 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.75 – 
Clarifying 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.81 – 
Taxation of Fuel Grade 
Ethanol 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.82(c) – 
Imposition of Tax on 
Unlicensed Exporters 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.83A – 
Clarifying 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.84A – 
Imposition of Tax on 
Unlicensed Suppliers 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.85 – 
Technical 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.86(b) – 
Technical 
 
 
 
 

This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 29, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to make a conforming change to have 
the same requirements for identifying the importer category as the 
current statutes have for identifying the supplier category. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 30, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify the payment responsibilities of 
all licensees rather than just the supplier upon cancellation of the 
license. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 31, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to impose the excise tax on fuel grade 
ethanol once it is removed from production storage, is removed 
from a terminal, or is imported into this State and not delivered to a 
licensed terminal. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 32, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to impose the excise tax on motor fuel 
sold to unlicensed exporters. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 33, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify that tax payments on fuel grade 
ethanol are payable by the fuel alcohol provider. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 34, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to impose the excise tax on motor fuel 
transferred within the terminal transfer system to an unlicensed 
supplier.  The tax liability is payable by the person transferring the 
fuel, the person receiving the fuel, and the terminal operator 
location at which the fuel was transferred. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 35, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 36, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error to the 
terms bulk end-user and end-seller. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 37, S.L. 08-134.) 
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G.S. 105-449.87(b) –
Technical 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.89 – 
Restrictions and 
Technical 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.91 – 
Conforming 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.96 – 
Technical 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.97(c) – 
Technical 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.100 – 
Conforming 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.101 – 
Clarifying 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.102 – 
Conforming 
 
 
 
 

This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error to the 
term bulk end-user. 
 
 (Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 38, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to restrict the transfer of fuel from a 
terminal to a marine vessel to licensed suppliers.  This statute was 
further amended to correct a grammatical error to the term bulk 
end-user. 
 
 (Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 39, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to identify the tax responsibility of 
purchasers of motor fuel to the supplier. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 40, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to remove the majority of the return 
schedule sorting requirements that are obsolete due to electronic 
filing.  The statute was further amended to modify the filing 
requirements for sales to exempt entities.  The law was previously 
amended to no longer allow a distributor to use an exempt access 
card at the terminal.  This change would remove that enabling 
language from this reporting statute. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 41, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error to the 
term bulk end-user. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 42, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to require licensed terminal operators to 
report transactions from out-of-state terminals with this State as its 
destination.  This conforms to what is currently practiced.  The 
statute was further amended to conform the structure of the statute 
to that of other like statutes. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 43, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify the person responsible for filing 
a motor fuels transporter return. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 44, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to conform the structure of the statute to 
that of other like statutes. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 45, S.L. 08-134.) 
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G.S. 105-449.105 – 
Denial of Refund 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.105A(a) 
– Clarifying 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.105A 
(a)(1) – Technical 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.108(a) – 
Conforming 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.115(b) – 
Clarifying 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.117(a) – 
Conforming 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.121(b) – 
Technical 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.130 – 
Definitions 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.131 – 
Technical 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This statute was amended to change the heading to more 
accurately reflect the statute.  The statute was further amended to 
disallow the refund on motor fuel exported by an unlicensed 
exporter. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 46, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify that the filing frequency of the 
kerosene refunds is monthly. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 47, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error to the 
term end-user. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 48, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to conform the refund return due dates 
to the filing frequencies as established. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 49, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to clarify the information that is required 
on the shipping document. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 50, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to conform to current practice and 
terminology. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 51, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to remove the term “distributor” from the 
list of those that the Department may audit.  A distributor is included 
in the definition of a person, as defined by statute.  
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 52, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to update cross-references and to 
correct a grammatical error to the term bulk end-user. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 53, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error to the 
term bulk end-user. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 54, S.L. 08-134.) 
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G.S. 105-449.133(a) – 
Technical  
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.137(a) – 
Technical 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.138 – 
Technical 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-449.139(c) – 
Technical 
 
 
 
G.S. 119-15 – 
Definitions 
 
 
 
G.S. 119-18(a) – 
Clarifying 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error to the 
term bulk end-user. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 55, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error to the 
term bulk end-user. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 56, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error to the 
term bulk end-user. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 57, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to correct a grammatical error to the 
term bulk end-user. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 58, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to add definitions for aviation gasoline 
and jet fuel and to update cross-references. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 59, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to identify all fuel products subject to the 
inspection tax.  
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; SB 1704, s. 60, S.L. 08-134.) 
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SECTION 

6  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-228.90(b)(1b) 
– Reference to the 
Internal Revenue Code 
Updated 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-241.11(a) – 
Clarifying Change 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-241.14(c) – 
Clarifying Change 
 
 
 
 

GENERAL  
 
 
This subdivision was amended to update the reference to the 
Internal Revenue Code from January 1, 2007 to May 1, 2008. Any 
amendments to the Internal Revenue Code enacted in 2007 that 
increase North Carolina taxable income for the 2007 taxable year 
become effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2008. 
 
Note: This implies that North Carolina has conformed to all of the 
tax provisions of the federal Economic Stimulus Act of 2008.  
However, separate provisions in G.S. 105-130.5(a) and G.S. 105-
134.6(c) result in the State not immediately conforming to the 50% 
first-year bonus depreciation allowance.    
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.1(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This section was amended to clarify the time for requesting a review 
after a proposed denial of a refund.  The Department is deemed to 
have denied a request for refund if it takes no action within six 
months of the request for refund.  Under prior law, a taxpayer had 
45 days after the date the refund was deemed denied to request a 
review.  Because the Department was concerned that taxpayers 
might not track the deemed denial date and inadvertently lose their 
opportunity to request a review, it recommended a modification of 
the statute to the General Assembly.  As amended, a taxpayer may 
still request a review after a request for refund is deemed denied; 
however, the 45 day time period to request a review does not begin 
until the Department mails or delivers in person to the taxpayer a 
notice of denial.  
  
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008 
and applies to all requests for refunds pending on or filed on or after 
that date; SB 1704, s. 5(a), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This section was amended to clarify that failure to issue a notice of 
final determination within the required time does not affect the 
validity of either a proposed assessment or a proposed denial of a 
refund.  As originally enacted, a proposed denial of a refund was 
omitted from the statute. 
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G.S. 105-241.22(1) – 
Clarifying Change 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-242.2 – 
Technical Change 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-249.2(b) – 
Technical Change 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-251 – 
Technical and 
Clarifying Changes 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-259 – 
Disclosure 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Effective for taxable years beginning of or after January 1, 2008; 
SB 1704, s. 6.(a), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This section was amended to clarify that the Department may 
collect tax, interest and penalty on a no-remit return even if the 
taxpayer does not show interest and penalty on the return.    As 
originally written, the Department could collect a tax when a 
taxpayer filed a return showing tax due with the return but did not 
pay the amount shown due.  As amended, “showing tax due” was 
replaced with “showing an amount due” to clarify that the 
Department is not limited to collecting only the tax amount shown 
due on the return. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
SB 1704, s. 7.(a), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This section, originally codified as G.S. 105-253, was amended to 
make stylistic and clarifying changes and to include partners and 
managers of partnerships in the list of responsible persons who 
may be assessed for certain unpaid trust taxes owed by the 
business entity. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2008 and applies to taxes that become collectible 
on or after that date; SB 1704, s. 10.(a), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This section was amended to correct a statutory cross-reference to 
G.S. 105-236(a)(2),(3), and (4).  It was erroneously referred to as 
G.S. 105-236(2),(3), and (4). 
 
(Effective August 7, 2008; SB 1632, s.16, S.L. 08-187.) 
 
The catchline of this statute was amended to include the addition of 
a new subsection that clarifies that when a taxpayer provides 
additional information within the statute of limitations that 
establishes that an assessment or denial of a refund is incorrect, 
the correction must be made.  The correction is not part of the 
process for the administrative or judicial review. 
 
(Effective July 28, 2008; S.B. 1704, s. 71, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
A provision in the ratified bill authorizes an employee of the State to 
provide tax information about tax credits claimed under former 
Article 3A and current Article 3J to the University of North Carolina 
at Chapel Hill to enable the University to compile statistical 
information to fulfill a contractual obligation between the University 
and the General Assembly.  In lieu of extracting the needed 
information from the tax returns, the State may provide a copy of 
the returns to the University for the University to extract the 
information.  This disclosure is an exception to G.S. 105-259, but no 
amendments were made to that section. 
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G.S. 105-259(b)(5d) —
Secrecy Required of 
Officials; Penalty for 
Violation 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-259(b)(38) – 
Disclosure 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-263 – 
Extensions of Time for 
Filing a Report or 
Return 
 
 
G.S. 105-264.1 – 
Secretary’s 
Interpretation 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 150B-31.1(d) – 
Clarifying 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 78, S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This subdivision was amended to add heavy equipment rental tax to 
the list of information that may be disclosed to a county or city on an 
annual basis, when the county or city needs the information for the 
administration of the heavy equipment rental tax. 
 
(Effective on August 2, 2008; SB 1852, s. 4, S.L. 2008-144.) 
 
This subdivision was amended to permit the Department to verify 
with a unit of State or local government information concerning a 
tax credit claimed by a taxpayer for donations to the unit of State or 
local government for acquisition or lease of renewable energy 
property. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2008; 
HB 2436, s. 28.25.(d), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This section was amended to remove the reference to gift tax 
returns as a result of the repeal of the gift tax. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2009 and applies to gifts made on or after that 
date; HB 2436, s. 28.18.(a), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This new section was added to clarify the authority for interpreting 
the application of local occupancy taxes to specific transactions 
since those taxes apply to accommodation rentals that are subject 
to sales and use tax.  It provides that an interpretation by the 
Secretary of Revenue of a law administered by the Secretary 
applies to a local law administered by a unit of local government 
when the local law refers to the State law in determining the 
application of the local law.  A person who is subject to the local law 
or the unit of local government that administers the local law may 
ask the Secretary for an interpretation of the State law that 
determines the application of the local law.  Such an interpretation 
provides the same protections against liability under the local law 
that it provides under the State law. 
 
(Effective July 28, 2008; SB 1704, s. 12(a), S.L. 08-134.) 
 
This statute was amended to allow the lab reports from the 
Department of Agriculture and other State and federal agencies to 
be admissible in a contested tax matter before the Office of 
Administrative Hearings (OAH) without testimony from the agency 
that completed the report.  This is similar to that of law enforcement 
reports. 
 
(Effective July 25, 2008; SB 1704, s. 9, S.L. 08-134.) 
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SECTION 

7  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-237.1 – 
Compromise of Liability 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SMALL BUSINESS 
PROTECTION ACT 
 
Session Law 2008-107 (House Bill 2436) added several new 
statutes to Article 9 of Chapter 105 with regard to assessments 
against small businesses.  Several statutes pertaining to advice 
given to taxpayers by the Department of Revenue were revised.  
The new and revised statutes, which are a result of findings by the 
General Assembly pertaining to compliance issues in complex 
areas of the sales and use tax laws, are explained below. 
 
This section of the law authorizing the Secretary of Revenue to 
compromise the amount of a taxpayer’s liability was rewritten.  The 
finding pertaining to a taxpayer’s insolvency was rewritten to clarify 
that a taxpayer is considered insolvent only if it is plain and 
indisputable that the taxpayer is clearly insolvent and will remain so 
in the reasonable future or the taxpayer has been determined to be 
insolvent in a judicial proceeding.  A new finding was added and 
provides that a taxpayer’s liability may be compromised if collection 
of a greater amount than that offered in compromise would produce 
an unjust result under the circumstances.  The provision specifically 
related to compromising an assessment based upon an action of 
the federal government in making an assessment which is 
subsequently settled, compromised, or adjusted was deleted.  A 
new provision requires that, for a compromised tax liability of at 
least $1,000.00, the Secretary must make a written statement 
setting out the amount of the liability, the aount accepted under the 
compromise, a summary of the facts concerning the liability, and 
the findings on which the compromise is based.  The Secretary 
must sign and keep a record of the statement.  If the compromise 
settles a dispute that is in litigation, the Secretary must obtain the 
approval of the Attorney General before accepting the compromise, 
and the Attorney General must sign the statement describing the 
compromise; for other compromise settlements, approval of the 
Attorney General is not required.   
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.16(f), S.L. 08-107.) 
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G.S. 105-244.2 – 
Reduction of Certain 
Sales Tax 
Assessments Against 
Small Businesses 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This is a new statute that requires the Secretary to reduce an 
assessment against a small business for State and local sales and 
use taxes and to waive any penalties imposed as part of the 
assessment when the assessment is made as the result of an audit 
of the small business and all of the following apply: 
 

1. The gross receipts of the business for the calendar year 
preceding the year in which the audit period begins, 
combined with the gross receipts of all related persons as 
defined in G.S. 105-163.010, do not exceed one million 
eight hundred thousand dollars ($1,800,000). 

2. The business remitted to the Department all the sales and 
use taxes it collected during the audit period. 

3. The business had not been told by the Department in a prior 
audit to collect sales and use taxes in the circumstance that 
is the basis of the assessment, as reflected in the written 
audit comments of the prior audit. 

4. The business made a good faith effort to comply with the 
sales and use tax laws and the assessment is based on the 
incorrect application of one of the following complex areas of 
these laws: 

a. The rate of tax that applies to prepared food. 
b. The distinction between a retailer and a performance 

contractor. 
c. The distinction between a service that is necessary 

to complete the sale of tangible personal property, 
and is therefore taxable, and a service that is 
incidental to the sale of tangible personal property, 
and is therefore not taxable. 

d. The determination of whether a person is a 
manufacturer. 

 
The amount by which a sales and use tax assessment against a 
business must be reduced under the provisions of the Small  
Business Protection Act is a percentage of the assessment.  The 
percentage is determined by the average monthly gross receipts of 
the business for the calendar year preceding the year in which the 
audit period begins, combined with the average monthly gross 
receipts of all related persons as defined in G.S. 105-163.010.  Any 
reduction of an assessment and waiver of penalties imposed as 
part of an assessment apply only to the amount of an assessment 
attributable to the incorrect application of one of the four complex 
areas of the law listed above.  The following table sets out the 
applicable percentage reductions of an assessment: 
 
  Average Monthly Gross              Average Monthly            Percentage 
Receipts of Business Over      Gross Receipts Up To          Reduction 
  
                                         $     0                                                                                                                                                   $50,000                                                                               98%  

 $ 50,000                                   $100,000                          95% 
            $100,000                                  $150,000                          90%
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G.S. 105-258.2 – 
Taxpayer 
Conversations (All 
Taxes) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The provisions for reducing assessments against small businesses 
apply to the following: 
 

1. A proposed assessment that is pending on July 15, 2008. 
2. An assessment that becomes collectible under G.S. 105-

241.22 on or after July 15, 2008. 
3. An assessment that meets all of the following conditions: 

a. It became collectible under G.S. 105-241.22 before 
July 15, 2008, or was identified in a notice of final 
assessment issued under former G.S. 105-241.1 
before July 15, 2008. 

b. It is not paid as of July 15, 2008. 
c. If it had been paid within six months after it became 

collectible under G.S. 105-241.22 or was identified in 
a notice of final assessment issued under former 
G.S. 105-241.1, a timely claim for refund could be 
filed under G.S. 105-241.7 for a refund of the 
assessment. 

4. A claim for refund filed in accordance with G.S. 105-241.7 
for a refund of an assessment. 

 
These provisions expire January 1, 2010.  The expiration applies to 
an assessment that becomes collectible under G.S. 105-241.22 on 
or after the expiration date and to a claim for refund filed on or after 
the expiration date for a refund of an assessment paid before the 
expiration date. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008 and expires January 1, 2010; HB 2436, s. 
28.16(b), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This is a new section requiring the Secretary to document advice 
given to a taxpayer in a conversation between a taxpayer and an 
employee of the Department of Revenue that is conducted by 
telephone or in person and occurs at an office of the Department if 
the conversation is in person.  It does not apply to a conversation 
occurring at a presentation, a conference, or another forum.  The 
taxpayer must give the Secretary the taxpayer’s identifying 
information, ask the Secretary about the application of a tax to the 
taxpayer in specific circumstances, and request that the Secretary 
document the advice in the taxpayer’s records.  The documentation 
may be an entry in the account record of the taxpayer or by another 
method determined by the Secretary; it must set out the date of the 
conversation, the question asked, and the advice given.  
 
(Effective January 1, 2009; HB 2436, s. 28.16(c), S.L. 08-107.) 
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G.S. 105-258.2 – 
Taxpayer 
Conversations (Sales 
Tax) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
G.S. 105-264 – Effect 
of Secretary’s 
Interpretation 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Session Law 2008-107 
– Plan for Recording 
Telephone Calls 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Session Law 2008-107 
– Study of Issues by 
Revenue Laws Study 
Committee 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This new section was amended to add a new subsection for advice 
related to sales tax.  It requires the Secretary to document advice 
given in a conversation with a person who is not registered as a 
retailer or a wholesale merchant when the person gives his name 
and address, describes a business in which he is engaged, asks if 
he is required to be registered, and requests that the advice be 
documented.  The record of the person’s inquiry must include the 
date of the conversation, the person making the inquiry, the 
business described in the conversation, and the advice given. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2009; HB 2436, s. 28.16(d), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
This statute was rewritten to provide that a taxpayer is not liable for 
any penalty or additional assessment attributable to erroneous 
advice, either in writing or verbal, furnished by the Department 
when all of the following conditions are satisfied:  (1) The advice 
was reasonably relied upon by the taxpayer, (2) The penalty or 
additional assessment did not result from the taxpayer’s failure to 
provide adequate or accurate information, and (3) The Department 
provided the advice in writing or the Department’s records establish 
that it provided erroneous verbal advice.   
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.16(e), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
The Department of Revenue is directed to establish a plan for 
recording telephone calls received at the Taxpayer Assistance and 
Collection Center.  The plan must be implemented by July 1, 2010 
and must provide for recording calls for the purpose of training and 
evaluation with respect to customer service and quality control 
measures.  The Department may retain up to $700,000 of the 
amount collected under Article 5 of Chapter 105 in fiscal year 2008-
2009 for this purpose.  Any portion of that amount not used in 2008-
2009 will remain available for this purpose until the system is 
implemented. 
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.16(g), S.L. 08-107.) 
 
The Revenue Laws Study Committee is required to study the 
following issues, report on that study, and make recommendations 
or legislative proposals:  (1) The taxation of services necessary to 
complete the sale of tangible personal property and standards for 
distinguishing between a service that is taxable as one that is 
necessary to complete the sale and a service that is incidental to 
the sale of tangible personal property, (2) The applicability of the 
sales and use tax to performance contracts and standards for 
distinguishing between performance contractors and retailers, and  
(3) The distinction between food and prepared food under the sales 
and use tax laws and whether to eliminate this distinction by 
applying a uniform, revenue-neutral rate to all food.  
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.16(h), S.L. 08-107.) 
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Session Law 2008-107 
– Department of 
Revenue to Report on 
Customer Service 
Improvement Initiatives 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Department of Revenue is required to make a report to the 
Revenue Laws Study Committee prior to the convening of the 2009 
General Assembly on customer service improvement initiatives it 
conducts.  The Department must address, at a minimum, reviews of 
the following issues:  (1) Efforts to ensure that inquiries on 
complicated tax matters are handled or reviewed by appropriate 
Department personnel, (2) Efforts to provide accurate and timely 
information regarding changes in tax law resulting from legislative 
changes, court decisions, or revised interpretations, (3) Outreach 
efforts designed to assist taxpayers, particularly small business 
taxpayers, in complying with the State’s tax laws, (4) Efforts to 
ensure that taxpayers are informed of their right to request written 
advice from the Department upon which they may reasonably rely, 
and (5) Plans to record telephone calls at the Taxpayer Assistance 
and Collection Center.  
 
(Effective July 16, 2008; HB 2436, s. 28.16(i), S.L. 08-107.)      


