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Important Notice Regarding Fire Safe Cigarettes 

 
 

 
The State of North Carolina has enacted NC Fire Safety Standard and Fire Fighter 
Protection Act  (GS 58, Article 92) requiring that all cigarettes sold or offered for sale in 
NC meet the criteria for reduced ignition propensity cigarettes.  This law is expected to 
significantly reduce the number of people killed or injured by fires caused by cigarettes 
left burning in North Carolina, when it goes into effect on January 1, 2010. 

On January 1, 2010 cigarette distributors and retailers are required to begin selling only 
cigarettes that have been certified to be in compliance with Article 92. The North 
Carolina Department of Insurance, Office of State Fire Marshall, Fire Safety Programs 
section will be administrating this Act.  Manufacturers are required to provide 
distributors a letter certifying compliance.  You may also search here on the NCDOI-
Office of State Fire Marshal Fire Safety Programs site for the cigarette brand styles that 
are currently certified.  The default marking for compliant cigarettes is ‘FSC’ in 8 point 
type or larger near the UPC code on the pack and the carton.  Manufacturers may apply 
for approval to use an alternate marking. They must provide a copy of this approval to 
distributors.   

In summary, manufacturers and distributors can face fines of up to $100,000 and 
retailers, fines of up to $25,000 for cigarette sales in violation of the law.  To enforce the 
provisions of this Article, the Attorney General, the Department of Revenue, and the 
Commissioner, their duly authorized representatives, and other law enforcement 
personnel may examine the books, papers, invoices, and other records of any person in 
possession, control, or occupancy of any premises where cigarettes are placed, stored, 
sold, or offered for sale, as well as the stock of cigarettes on the premises.  In addition 
to monetary penalties, any cigarettes that have been sold or offered for sale that do not 
comply with Article 92 shall be subject to forfeiture as contraband and subsequently 
destroyed.  

 
 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/ByArticle/Chapter_58/Article_92.html
http://www.ncdoi.com/OSFM/FireSafetyPrograms/FSC_Home.asp

