N C DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE P.O. BOX 25000 RALEIGH, NC 27640-0001



North Carolina Withholding Forms and Instructions for Tax Year 2016 (For Employers Who Electronically Pay Withholding Tax Semiweekly)

EFT - Our records show that you pay your North Carolina semiweekly withholding tax by the electronic funds transfer (EFT) method. General instructions for semiweekly payers is being provided in this document. The **Quarterly Income Tax Withholding Return (Form NC-5Q)** is available on this website and must be filed by the required due dates.

E-File - In lieu of paying your withholding tax by the EFT method, you may choose to pay online by bank draft or credit or debit card using Visa or MasterCard.. Go to this website and click on **eServices**.

Withholding Tax Telephone Numbers						
General withholding tax questions Electronic Funds Transfer Helpline Online Payment Assistance	1-877-308-9103 (Local callers dial (919) 814-1501)					
You may also go to the DOR website :	www.domc.com					
or write :	North Carolina Department of Revenue Tax Compliance - Withholding Tax Section P. O. Box 25000 Raleigh, NC 27640-0001					

General Information

Employers who average withholding North Carolina income tax of \$2,000 or more each month are required to pay the tax withheld at the same times they are required to pay the tax withheld on the same wages for federal income tax purposes. Quarterly Income Tax Withholding Return, Form NC-5Q is available on this website and must be filed by the required due dates. Change of Address/Out of Business Notification, form is also available on this website.

Making Payments of North Carolina Income Tax Withheld

Payment Due Dates

Withholding from wages: You are required to withhold North Carolina income tax from salaries and wages of all residents regardless of where earned and from wages of nonresidents for services performed in this State. However, North Carolina withholding is not required from wages paid to a resident for services performed in another state if that state requires the employer to withhold.

The due dates for reporting and paying North Carolina income tax withheld are determined by the due dates for depositing federal employment taxes (income tax withheld and FICA). Each time you are required to deposit federal employment taxes, you must remit the North Carolina income tax withheld on those same wages, regardless of the amount of State tax withheld. You must mail or deliver payment of North Carolina income tax withheld by the due date for depositing the federal taxes. For federal tax purposes, if you withhold \$100,000 or more, the deposit is required on the next banking day. North Carolina law did not adopt that provision of federal law, and the State income tax withholding is due on or before the normal federal semiweekly due date for those wages.

Withholding from nonresidents for personal services performed in North Carolina: You are required to withhold North Carolina income tax from personal services income (non-wage compensation) paid to nonresident individuals and nonresident entities for certain personal services performed in North Carolina. If you pay such compensation, you must file a report and pay the tax quarterly. However, if you withhold from both non-wage compensation and wages, you may choose to report and pay both on one report. If you choose this option, you must pay the withholding from non-wage compensation at the same time the wage withholding is due. You are subject to penalties and interest on both types of withholding based on the due date of the wage withholding. You may also be subject to a change in filing frequency by treating the withholding from non-wage compensation like wage withholding. See Form NC-30. North Carolina Income Tax Withholding Tables and Instructions for Employers, for more information on withholding from nonresidents for personal services performed in North Carolina.

Withholding on Contractors Identified by an ITIN: North Carolina law requires withholding on contractors identified by an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) if the contractor performs services in North Carolina for compensation other than wages. An ITIN is issued to a person who is required to have a taxpayer identification number but does not have and is not eligible to obtain a social security number. If you pay compensation other than wages of more than \$1,500.00 during the calendar year to an ITIN holder, you are required to withhold 4% of the compensation paid. The due dates for filing North Carolina withholding returns and paying the tax withheld from ITIN holders are the same as the general due date for other North Carolina income tax withholdings. See Form NC-30. North Carolina Income Tax Withholding Tables and Instructions for Employers, for more information on withholding on contractors identified by an ITIN.

Withholding on pension payments: A pension payer required to withhold federal income tax under Section 3405 of the Internal Revenue Code on a pension payment to a North Carolina resident must also withhold State income tax from the pension payment. A pension payer that fails to withhold or remit tax that is withheld is liable for the tax. In the case of a **periodic payment**, you must withhold as if the recipient were a single person with zero allowances unless the recipient provides an exemption certificate (Form NC-4P) reflecting a different filing status or number of allowances. For a **nonperiodic distribution**, including an eligible rollover distribution, four percent (4%) of the distribution must be withheld. A recipient may elect not to have income tax withheld from a pension payment unless the pension payment is an eligible rollover distribution. A recipient of a pension payment that is an eligible rollover distribution does not have the option of electing not to have State tax withheld from the distribution. See <u>NC-30</u>, <u>North Carolina Income Tax Withholding Tables and Instructions for Employers</u>, for more information on withholding from pension payments.

Making Payments: Electronic Funds Transfer payments are made by the ACH debit payment method or the ACH credit payment method as explained in the EFT Information Booklet. You can also pay your withholding tax online by bank draft or credit or debit card using Visa or MasterCard. For details, go to this website and click on **eServices**.

Late payments: A penalty of 10% of the tax will be assessed for failure to make timely payment of the income tax withheld. Interest will be assessed at a daily rate from the due date until paid.

Adjustments: If you overpaid the tax withheld for a prior payday, you may reduce the payment of the tax withheld for a subsequent payday by that amount, if in the same quarter. Refunds will not be made electronically. If you do not make an adjustment for the overpayment during the quarter, the overpayment will reflect on the quarterly tax return. If the liability is underpaid, contact an EFT representative for instructions for the additional amount due. (Note: A late-payment penalty does not apply when additional tax due is paid upon discovery.) If your payment falls under the "shortfall" provisions of Federal Regulation 31.6302-1, you will not be subject to interest on the additional tax due.

Change of Address / Out of Business Notification

North Carolina Department of Revenue

Out of Business Notification a Department of Revenue thholding Tax
If business has moved to ano ⁺⁺ , N' C c ur y, enter new county.
mational Nel? street address
New mailing address (if different from street address):

Mail to: NCDOR, Documents and Payments Processing Division, P.O. Box 25000, Raleigh NC 27640-0001

Filing Your North Carolina Quarterly Income Tax Withholding Return, Form NC-5Q

Filing Requirements/Due Dates: The North Carolina Quarterly Income Tax Withholding Return, Form NC-5Q, reconciles the tax paid for the guarter with the tax withheld for the guarter. Form NC-5Q guarterly return is available on this website. The form must be filed each guarter on or before the last day of the month following the close of the quarter. Due dates for Form NC-5Q are the same as your federal quarterly returns (Federal Form 941). You have 10 additional days to file Form NC-5Q if you made all your required payments during the quarter and no additional tax is due.

No Payroll: If you did not have a payroll during the guarter, you must still file a guarterly tax return and enter "0" on lines 1 and 2. Sign Form NC-5Q and file by the due date.

Final Payroll: If you have stopped doing business or no longer have employees, you can close your North Carolina withholding tax account by completing and returning a "Change of Address/Out of Business Notification" form.

Adjustments: When completing Form NC-5Q, the total tax shown for each period should be the correct North Carolina tax required to be withheld, regardless of the amount paid. If the tax withheld exceeds the tax paid, the additional amount due must be submitted with Form NC-5PX. Form NC-5PX is available on the Department's website. Do not send payment with the quarterly return, Form NC-5Q. If you paid more than the correct amount for a guarter, the overpayment will be refunded to you.

Amended Returns: Blank copies of Form NC-5Q for filing amended returns are available from our website. Amended returns must be clearly marked "amended" at the top of Form NC-5Q.

Filing the Annual Withholding Reconciliation, Form NC-3

All employers must file Form NC-3, Annual Withholding Reconciliation and the statement information for each Form W-2 and 1099, electronically by January 31 of the succeeding year. A failure to file penalty will be assessed on any form filed after January 31. If you stop doing business in North Carolina during the year, or cease paying compensation, you must file Form NC-3, Annual Withholding Reconciliation within thirty days of the last payment of compensation. The Secretary may, upon a showing of good cause, waive the electronic submission requirement. Please visit the Department's website at www.dornc.com/enc3 for additional information. If you have received a waiver from the electronic submission process, you may download Form NC-3 by visiting www.dornc.com/downloads/wh_forms.html. Amended Annual Withholding Reconciliation, Form NC-3X: You can amend a previously electronically filed Form NC-3 by electronically filing Form NC-3X. Please visit the Department's website at www.dornc.com/enc3 for additional information. If you did not electronically file Form NC-3, you may download Form NC-3X by visiting www.dornc.com/downloads/wh forms html. If you file Form NC-3X, include with the form only corrected W-2 and 1099 statement information for verification.

Additional information

Change of Address/Out of Business Notification: Use the "Change of Address/Out of Business Notification" form located on this website to notify the Department of Revenue that you have moved, changed your address, or that you are no longer in business. Do not use Form NC-5Q to notify the Department of an address or trade name change since such information is not recorded during the automated processing of guarterly tax returns.

For More Information on Income Tax Withheld: These instructions do not contain complete information about North Carolina income tax withholding laws. Additional information is available in Form NC-30, North Carolina Income Tax Withholding Tables and Instructions for Employers. Form NC-30 is available on this website



Quarterly Income Tax Withholding Return North Carolina Department of Revenue

This return is for semiweekly payers only. Monthly and quarterly payers use Form NC-3.

Account ID	Date Quarter Ended	Do not send payment with this
<u> </u>	(MM-DD-YY)	form. Use Form NC-5PX to pay additional tax and interest.
Business Name and Address		
Legal Name (USE CAPITAL LETTERS FOR YOUR NAME AND)	ADDRESS)	
Street Address		· · · · · · · · · · · ·
City	Sta	ate Zip Code (5 Digit)
This form must be filed	d on or before the last day o the nont	th following the elose cane quarter.
1. Total tax required to (From Line IV on rea		

	AIL TO: North Carolina Department of Revenue, Post Office Box 25000, F	00
4	and enter underpayment	
	Life 1 is more than Line 2, subtract	
2.	Total payments to Nor 😳 🛪 📲a tor quarter	

Signature:	Date:
I certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this return is accurate and complete.	
Title:	Phone: ()

Account ID

Legal Name (First 10 Characters)

Page 2 NC-5Q Web 8-14

Employer's Record of State Tax Liability See NC-30 for more information about withholding tax returns.

Complete this schedule by entering the N.C. income tax required to be withheld each payday, not payments.

	Complete this schedule by entering the N.C. income tax required to be withheld each payday, not payments. I. Tax Withheld - First Month of Quarter								
				ieit					
1	. 00	8	. 00	15	-00	22	.00	29	•00
2	. 00	9	-00	16	-00	23	. 00	30	.00
3	. 00	10	. 00	17	.00	24	. 00	31	.00
4	.00	11	_ 00	18	.00	25	.00		
5	.00	12	.00	19	.00	26	.00		
6	.00	13	.00	20	.00	27	.00		
7	.00	14	.00	21	.00	28	.00		
І. Т	otal tax required to	be v	withheld for first mo	onth	of quarter			١.	0(
			II. Tax Withh	eld	- Second Mo 1	, f	Quarter		U
1	-00	8	_00	15	.00	22	00	29	- 00
2	.00	9	.()	16	Ci	2	.00	30	.00
3	-00		.00	17	•00	24	. 00	31	. 00
4	.00	11	61072	18	.00	25	.00		
5	_ ∩℃	-	.00	19	.00	26	.00		
6	.00	13	.00	20	.00	27	.00		
7	.00	14	. 00	21	.00	28	.00		
П	Fotal tax required to	be	withheld for secon	d me	onth of quarter			п.	•00
			III. Tax With	he	ld - Third Month	of	Quarter		-00
1	. 00	8	•00	15	•00	22	•00	29	•00
2	. 00	9	.00	16	.00	23	. 00	30	•00
3	. 00	10	. 00	17	•00	24	. 00	31	•00
4	_ 00	11	.00	18	.00	25	.00		
5	. 00	12	. 00	19	.00	26	.00		
6	.00	13	.00	20	.00	27	.00		
7	.00	14	.00	21	.00	28	.00		
III. Total tax required to be withheld for third month of quarter						. 00			
IV. Total for Quarter (Add Lines I, II, and III; enter here and on Line 1 on front)					IV.	. 00			

Withholding Tax Instructions For Employers Subject To The Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Requirement



Employers who remitted more than \$240,000.00 in North Carolina withholding taxes during a twelve month period will be notified of the requirement to remit payments by electronic funds transfer (EFT).

As an employer subject to the electronic funds transfer requirement, you will no longer file **Form NC-5P**, **Withholding Payment Voucher**. The payment information which accompanies the funds transfer constitutes the filing of the NC-5P.

You must continue to file the **North Carolina Quarterly Income Tax Withholding Return, Form NC-5Q.** The form is available on this website and must be filed by the required due dates.

Annual Withholding Reconciliation, Form NC-3 must be filed electronically on or before January 31. Additional information is available on our website at <u>www.dornc.com/enc3</u>.

Please refer to the section entitled "Making Payments of North Carolina Income Tax Withheld" for information concerning payment due dates, penalty and interest, and adjustments.

Employers who are not required to remit payments by EFT may voluntarily participate in EFT. Call (toll-free) 1-877-308-9103 for more information. Local callers dial (919) 814-1501. You may also go to this website and click on **eServices**.

North Carolina Department of Revenue Contact Information

Additional information about withholding tax and tax forms may be obtained from the Department's website at <u>www.dornc.com</u>. Taxpayers may also call the Taxpayer Assistance and Collection Center at 1-877-252-3052 (toll free) to obtain the information and to request forms.

Taxpayers may receive other important notices about law changes and related tax matters by subscribing to the Department's Tax Update Email List, which can be located by choosing the "E-Alerts" option on the Department's home page.