
Application for State Privilege License
North Carolina Department of Revenue

B-202A
Web-Fill

2-14

Signature:
I certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this application is accurate and complete.

Date:

Attach your check or money order to this application.  Payment must be in the form of U.S. currency from a domestic bank.
North Carolina Department of Revenue,  P.O. Box 25000, Raleigh, NC 27640-0100

Computation of Privilege License TaxPart 3.

First-Time Applicant
If first-time applicant, enter start date of activity that requires this license. 

Renewal Applicant
If renewal applicant, enter account number/NCDOR ID for this license. 

Street Address of Business

City State Zip Code (5 Digits) County

Address Where License Is To Be Mailed (If different from street address)

City State Zip Code (5 Digits)

Federal Employer ID Number Business Phone (Include area code)

Loan Agencies, Check Cashers, or PawnbrokersPart 2.

Professional IndividualsPart 1.

Name of Business Where Professional Individual Is Employed (optional)

Address Where License Is To Be Mailed (This address is printed on the license.)

City Zip Code (5 Digits)State County

Social Security Number Daytime Phone (Include area code)

Loan Agency PawnbrokerCheck Casher

For the year beginning July 1,                            and ending June 30,

M.I. Last NameFirst Name

Legal Name of Business

Enter Code Number and License Description from Table on Reverse

1. Total Privilege License Tax Due  (From Table on Reverse)

2. Penalty

3. Interest

4. Total Payment Due  (Add Lines 1 through 3) $

For Office Use Only



Instructions

General Information:  Use this form if you are beginning in business and do not have the required State privilege license.   
If you are renewing your State privilege license, it is preferable to use the renewal notice you received from the Department 
of Revenue instead of this form.  Use a separate form for each profession and each business location.  Professional 
individuals complete Part 1.   Loan agencies, check cashers, or pawnbrokers complete Part 2.  Fill in the applicable circle 
for Parts 1 and 2 to indicate whether this application is a first time applicant or a renewal applicant.  Complete the form in 
blue or black ink.  Do not send a photocopy of this form.  The original form is printed in pink and black ink.

Individuals who engage in the practice of a profession listed in the following table and loan agencies, check cashers, and 
pawnbrokers must obtain a State privilege license and pay a tax before they engage in business.  For purposes of this tax, 
an individual engages in the practice of a profession when the person represents to the public that the person is engaged in 
the profession.  The tax does not apply to an individual who is a salaried employee of a governmental unit unless either the 
unit charges a fee for the services of the employed individual and the individual receives part or all of the fee, either directly 
or indirectly, or the individual engages in practice outside the salaried employment.

 Code   Code
 Number License Description    Tax    Number License Description Tax     
 427 Accountant $50.00 442 Ophthalmologist $50.00
 429 Certified Public Accountant $50.00 443 Optician $50.00
 430 Assistant Accountants (Per  444 Optometrist $50.00
  assistant issued in the name  445 Osteopath $50.00
  of the manager) _____(Number  446 Photographer $50.00
  of Assistants) X $12.50 $  447 Photographer’s Agent $50.00
 431 Architect $50.00 448 Physician $50.00
 432 Art of Healing $50.00 449 Podiatrist $50.00
 433 Attorney $50.00 450 Psychologist $50.00
 434 Chiropodist $50.00 451  Real Estate (Only one license 
 435 Chiropractor $50.00  required if engaged in multiple
 436 Dentist $50.00  real estate activities) $50.00
 437 Embalmer $50.00 452 Veterinarian $50.00 
 438 Engineer $50.00 453 Licensed Home Inspector $50.00
 439 Land Surveyor $50.00 567 Loan Agency $250.00
 440 Landscape Architect $50.00 568 Check Casher $250.00
 441 Naturopath $50.00 569 Pawnbroker $250.00

Tax Year:  The State privilege license tax is an annual tax that is imposed on a fiscal year basis that begins July 1 and 
ends the following June 30.  Enter the appropriate year in the space provided.  A first-time applicant must enter the date the 
applicant will start to engage in the activity that is subject to tax.  The tax must be paid before the applicant engages in the 
activity.  An applicant who starts to engage in an activity after July 1 of a year may not prorate the tax.

Name and Tax Identification Number:  If you are a professional individual other than an assistant accountant, enter your 
name and social security number.  Assistant accountants should enter the name and social security number of their principal 
or manager.  A license issued to an individual who engages in a profession is issued as a personal privilege license and is 
not issued in the name of a firm or another business entity.  If you are a loan agency, check casher, or pawnbroker, enter the 
legal name of the business, any trade name of the business, and the federal employer identification number of the business.  
A license issued to a loan agency, check casher, or pawnbroker is issued in the business name.

Due Date:  An initial annual State privilege license tax is due before the start of the activity that requires the license.  An 
application for an initial privilege license made after the start date of the activity is subject to penalties for failure to obtain 
a license (5% per month, with 25% maximum) and failure to pay a tax when due (10% of tax due).  A renewal of an annual 
State privilege license tax is due by July 1.  A late renewal application is subject to penalties for failure to obtain a license (5% 
per month, with 25% maximum) and failure to pay a tax when due (10% of tax due).  Interest will be due on the unpaid tax.  
The rate is set semiannually by the Secretary of Revenue and is available on the Department’s website, www.dornc.com.

Change of Name or Address:  If your preprinted name or address on the privilege license is incorrect, please call the 
Department at (877) 252-3052 (toll-free) to request a Form NC-AC, Business Address Correction, or you may write to Privilege 
License Tax, Customer Service, PO Box 1168, Raleigh, NC 27602-1168.

Questions:  If you have questions about this form, call toll free 1-877-252-3052. 
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