A-101 Estate Tax Return

Web .
10-11 North Carolina Department of Revenue
(For deaths occurring on or after January 1, 2011)
Decedent’s First Name (USE CAPITAL LETTERS FORNAMEANDADDRESS)  M.I.  Last Name
Amended
Decedent's SSN Date of Death (MM-DD-YY) Was the decedent a resident  If yes, enter county of residence Return
of North Carolina?
Yes No Court Appointed:
Personal Representative’s Federal Y
Personal Representative’s Legal Name (If applicable) Employer ID Number (If applicable) es
No
Personal Representative’s First Name M.l.  Last Name Personal Representative’s SSN
Address Apartment Number
City State Zip Code Telephone
Fill in circle and complete information below if the closing certificate should be mailed to a
person other than the personal representative. Attorney or Accountant
First Name M.l.  Last Name
Address Apartment Number
City State Zip Code Telephone

Fill in applicable circles:
A federal extension of 6 months was requested for filing the federal estate return

A federal extension was requested for paying the estate tax due under IRC Section 6161

A federal extension exceeding 6 months was requested for filing the federal estate return due to the personal representative being out of the country

You elect installment payments in the same manner as elected for federal estate tax payments under IRC section 6166

Estate Tax Computation (Complete Lines 1 through 21)

1. Total gross estate (From Federal Form 706, Page 1, Line 1)

2. Allowable deductions (From Federal Form 706, Page 1, Line 2)

3. Taxable estate (before state death tax deduction) (Line 1 minus Line 2)
4. Adjusted taxable gifts (From Federal Form 706, Page 1, Line 4)

5. AddLines3and4

6. Compute tax on amount on Line 5 using Table A-Unified Rate Schedule in Federal
Form 706 Instructions

7. Total federal gift tax payable (From Federal Form 706, Page 1, Line 7)
8. Line 6 minus Line 7
9. Allowable unified credit (From Federal Form 706, Page 1, Line 11)

10. Line 8 minus Line 9 (Do not enter less than zero)

11. Enter the amount from Line 3

12. Less adjustment to taxable estate

3. .00

5. .00
6. .00

> o .00

10. .00

1. .00
12, 60000 .00
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13. Adjusted taxable estate (Line 11 minus Line 12, do not enter less than zero) 13. .00

14. Compute tax on amount on Line 13 using the State Death Tax
Credit Table on Page 3 14. .00

15. Enter the lesser of lines 10 or 14
(Important: If decedent was a North Carolina resident and all property
was located in North Carolina, enter amount on this line on line 16 15. 00
below. Otherwise, complete the applicable computation below to "
determine the North Carolina estate tax to enter on line 16.)

16. North Carolina estate tax > 16. .00
17. Prior payments. Explain in an attached statement. > 17. .00
18. North Carolina estate tax due (Line 16 minus Line 17) p 18. .00
19. Penalty p 19. .00
20. Interest p 20. .00
21. Total tax, penalty, and interest (Add Lines 18, 19, and 20) Pay this amount > 21. _00

The computations below determine the estate tax due for resident decedents who owned property outside of North Carolina and for
nonresident decedents who owned property inside North Carolina.

You must complete the fields below to determine the amount to enter on Line 16. If the decedent owned real property in another state or
was a nonresident, you must attach a complete copy of Federal Form 706 to this return.

Computation for North Carolina Resident Decedent with Property Outside of North Carolina

22. Enter the gross value of property included on Line 1 that has a tax situs in another state P> 22. .00
23. Divide Line 22 by the amount of the total gross estate (From Line 1) 23.

(Enter result as a decimal amount rounded to four decimal places) .
24. Enter the amount from Line 15 24. .00
25. Multiply the amount on Line 24 by the decimal amount on Line 23 25. .00
26. Subtract Line 25 from Line 24 (Enter result here and on Line 16) 26. .00

Computation for Nonresident Decedent with Property Inside North Carolina

27. Enter the gross value of real property included on Line 1 that is located in

North Carolina plus the gross value of personal property included in Line 1 27.

that has a tax sﬂus in Ngrth Carolina Y > .00
28. Divide Line 27 by the amount of the total gross estate (From Line 1) 28.

(Enter the result as decimal amount rounded to four decimal places) .
29. Multiply the amount on Line 15 by the decimal amount on Line 28 29.

(Enter the result here and on Line 16) -00

— List all NC counties in which decedent owned real estate (Enter first five letters):

County County County County
Fill in circle
> > > > if additional
counties and
County County County County attach list of
| 4 | 2 > > counties.
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Decedent’s Social Security Number

Representative’s Signature

Date

Signature - | authorize each person shown on page 1 to receive and inspect confidential tax information regarding the estate of this decedent. | certify that, to the best of
my knowledge, this return is accurate and complete. If prepared by a person other than the personal representative, this certification is based on all information of which the
preparer has any knowledge.

Preparer’s Signature

Date

Print Name of Preparer

Preparer’s Telephone

Use the State Death Tax Credit Table below to determine the amount to enter on Page 2, Line 14.

State Death Tax Credit Table
(1 (2) 3 “4) ™ ) @) “4)
Adjusted Taxable Estate Tax on Rate of tax on Adjusted Taxable Estate Tax on Rate of tax on
Equal to or amount in excess over amount Equal to or amount in excess over amount
more than less than column (1) in column (1) more than less than column (1) in column (1)
0 $40,000 0 None 2,040,000 2,540,000 106,800 8.0%
$40,000 90,000 0 0.8% 2,540,000 3,040,000 146,800 8.8%
90,000 140,000 $400 1.6% 3,040,000 3,540,000 190,800 9.6%
140,000 240,000 1,200 2.4% 3,540,000 4,040,000 238,800 10.4%
240,000 440,000 3,600 3.2% 4,040,000 5,040,000 290,800 11.2%
440,000 640,000 10,000 4.0% 5,040,000 6,040,000 402,800 12.0%
640,000 840,000 18,000 4.8% 6,040,000 7,040,000 522,800 12.8%
840,000 1,040,000 27,600 5.6% 7,040,000 8,040,000 650,800 13.6%
1,040,000 1,540,000 38,800 6.4% 8,040,000 9,040,000 786,800 14.4%
1,540,000 2,040,000 70,800 7.2% 9,040,000 10,040,000 930,800 15.2%
10,040,000 | = - 1,082,800 16.0%

General Instructions for North Carolina Estate Tax Return
North Carolina Department of Revenue

North Carolina Estate Tax

Background: For decedents dying on or after January 1, 2005, and before January 1, 2010, North Carolina estate tax
is due on the estate when a federal estate tax would be payable if the federal estate tax was determined without regard to
the deduction for state death taxes. The North Carolina estate tax is equal to the state death tax credit that was allowable
under section 2011 of the Internal Revenue Code as it existed prior to 2002. The tax is calculated using the State Death
Tax Credit Table shown above. The amount of the North Carolina estate tax is limited to the federal estate tax that would
be payable if the federal estate tax was computed without regard to the deduction for state death taxes.

Current Law: The North Carolina estate tax is reinstated effective for those decedents dying on or after January 1,
2011, if a federal estate tax return is required. The 2010 Tax Relief Act, which became law December 17, 2010, reinstates
the federal estate tax retroactively to January 1, 2010. The federal law gives estates the option to elect to apply the estate
tax based on a maximum estate tax rate of 35 percent and an exclusion of $5,000,000 (the portability provision provides an
exclusion amount of $10,000,000 for married couples) with a stepped-up basis, or pay no estate tax and receive a modified
carryover basis in the property passing through the estate.

Although there is no North Carolina estate tax return filed for those who died during 2010, North Carolina law conforms
to the exclusion amounts and the stepped-up basis for estates that chose to pay federal estate tax. For decedents dying on
or after January 1, 2013, the estate tax provisions return to the 2001 rates and exclusion amounts.
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Filing Requirement -- A North Carolina Estate Tax Return (Form A-101) is required to be filed by the personal
representative if a federal estate tax return (Form 706) is required to be filed with the Internal Revenue Service and the
decedent was domiciled in North Carolina at death or the decedent owned real property or tangible personal property located
in North Carolina. If the decedent was domiciled in North Carolina and all property is located in North Carolina, include
copies of pages 1, 2, and 3 of Federal Form 706. If decedent owned property outside of North Carolina or was not domiciled
in North Carolina, include a complete copy of Federal Form 706.

When and Where to File -- A North Carolina Estate Tax Return must be filed with the North Carolina Department of
Revenue at the same time the federal estate tax return is due which is nine months from the date of death. Form A-101 should
be mailed to the North Carolina Department of Revenue, Post Office Box 25000, Raleigh, North Carolina 27640-0100.

IMPORTANT: Copies of pages 1, 2, and 3 of Federal Form 706 must be attached to this return. If the decedent
owned real property in another state or was not domiciled in North Carolina, you must attach a complete copy of
Federal Form 706 to this return.

Paying the Tax -- Payment should include the tax plus any applicable penalties and interest. Include the name of the
estate on the payment. Attach payment to the return and mail to the above address. If a federal extension was requested
for paying the estate tax due under IRC Section 6161, attach supporting documentation of the IRS acceptance of the election
and fill in the applicable circle on page 1.

The personal representative may elect to make installment payments of North Carolina estate tax in the same manner
as elected for federal estate tax payments under section 6166 of the Internal Revenue Code. Acceleration of the federal
payments also accelerates the State payments. If the personal representative elects the same North Carolina installment
payments, attach supporting documentation of the IRS acceptance of the election and fill in the applicable circle on page
1. The personal representative is liable for the estate tax that is not paid within two years after it was due. This liability is
limited to the value of estate assets under the representative’s control.

Penalties and Interest -- If the return is not filed by the due date, a late filing penalty of five percent of the tax (maximum
25 percent) is due for each month, or part of a month, the return is late. If the full amount of tax is not paid by the due date,
a late payment penalty of ten percent of the unpaid tax (minimum $5.00) is due. Interest accrues from the original due date
and continues to accrue until the tax is paid. Contact the Department of Revenue for the current interest rate.

Extensions -- If the North Carolina Estate Tax Return cannot be filed by the due date, an extension of time for filing
the return and paying the tax may be granted. Arequest for an extension must be submitted in writing to the Department (at
the above address) on or before the due date of the return. In lieu of requesting an extension, fill in the applicable circle on
page 1 of Form A-101 if a federal extension was granted. Interest will accrue on any estate tax not paid by the original due
date of the return.

Uniform Valuation -- The personal representative is required to file a copy of the Federal Estate Tax Closing Letter with
the Department within six months of receipt. If changes are made to the federal estate tax return by the Internal Revenue
Service, the personal representative must report the changes to the State by filing an amended North Carolina Estate Tax
Return with a copy of the federal changes. If the amended return and payment of any additional tax due is not received by
the Department within six months of receipt of the report of federal changes, a penalty of five percent of the additional tax
for each month or part of a month that the return is late (minimum $5.00; maximum 25 percent) is due.



