Marketplace facilitators and marketplace sellers having either gross sales in excess of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) sourced to North Carolina, including marketplace-facilitated sales and sales as a marketplace seller, or two hundred (200) or more separate transactions sourced to North Carolina for the previous or current calendar year (collectively “Threshold”) are engaged in business in North Carolina for sales and use tax purposes.

Effective February 1, 2020, an auctioneer that meets the definition of a marketplace facilitator and either of the thresholds described in this Important Notice must collect and remit sales and use tax on the sales price of marketplace-facilitated sales pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-164.4J. The issues addressed herein are based on law changes effective February 1, 2020 and apply to sales occurring on or after that date.

Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 105-277.12, antique airplanes are designated a special class of property under Article V, Sec. 2(2) of the North Carolina Constitution and are eligible for assessment at a reduced tax valuation.  If qualified, they shall be assessed at the lower of their true value or five thousand dollars ($5,000.00).

Local Government Sales and Use Tax Distribution report for the month ending December 31, 2019.


If you are using Microsoft Edge as your browser, please download Adobe Acrobat to ensure that you are able to access all forms.

Important Notice:  Impact of Market Based Sourcing on Private Letter Rulings Issued Prior to January 1, 2020

Instructions to be used by captive insurance companies filing as a consolidated group of captives in completing the 2019 gross premiums tax return

To be used by captive insurance companies filing as a consolidated group

Subscribe to Documents