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DOR | E-581A

Web Interstate Carrier Claim for Refund
12-17 H
Combined General Rate Sales and Use Taxes
Legal Name (First 32 Characters) (USE CAPITAL LETTERS FOR YOUR NAME AND ADDRESS) Account ID
Mailing Address FEIN or SSN
City State Zip Code County Period Beginning (MM-DD-YY)
Name of Person We Should Contact if We Have Questions About This Claim Contact Telephone Period Ending (MM-DD-YY)

*This form should only be used by an interstate carrier to request a refund of tax paid at the 7% combined general rate of tax paid on
purchases of Aviation Gasoline and Jet Fuel for quarters beginning on or after January 1, 2016.

1. Total Miles of Operation (Amount to equal Line 1 on Form E-581 for corresponding period.)
2. Miles Operated in North Carolina (Amount to equal Line 2 on Form E-581 for corresponding period.)

3. Ratio of Miles Operated in North Carolina
(Line 2 divided by Line 1; carry decimal to four places (Ex: .7546)) -

4. Total N.C. Combined General Rate Sales and Use Tax Paid on All Purchases of Aviation
Gasoline and Jet Fuel .

5. Total Refund Requested (Multiply Line 3 by Line 4.) $

This form is for use by an interstate carrier pursuant to the provisions of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-164.14(a). Claims for refund must be filed within
60 days after the close of each calendar quarter and covers the purchases during that quarter of aviation gasoline and jet fuel. Refund claims
filed more than 3 years after the due date are beyond the statute of limitations and cannot be accepted.

- Copies of invoices and purchase orders must be submitted with the claim for refund.

In general, the statute of limitations for obtaining a refund of an overpayment is the later of three years after the due date of the return or two years
after payment of the tax. For a claim for refund filed within the statute of limitations, the Department must take one of the following actions within
six months after the date the claim for refund is filed: (1) send the taxpayer a refund of the amount shown due on the claim for refund; (2) adjust
the amount of the refund shown due and send the taxpayer a refund of the adjusted amount; (3) deny the refund and send the taxpayer a notice
of proposed denial; or (4) request additional information from the taxpayer. If the Department does not take one of the actions within six months,
the inaction is considered a proposed denial of the requested refund. A taxpayer who objects to a proposed denial of a refund may request a
Departmental review of the proposed action by filing a Form NC-242, Objection and Request for Departmental Review within the time provided
in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.11. If the Department selects a claim for refund for examination, the taxpayer has the same rights that the taxpayer
would have during an examination of a return by the Department. If the Department determines that a claim for refund was not filed within the
statute of limitations, the refund request will be denied and the Department will issue a notice of proposed denial of refund.

For a full explanation of the Departmental review process, refer to the North Carolina Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights found at www.ncdor.gov or the
provisions of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-241.11.

If you have questions about how to complete this form, call the Taxpayer Assistance and Collection Center toll-free at telephone number
1-877-252-3052.

Signature: Date:
| certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this claim is accurate and complete.

Title: Telephone:

For Departmental Use Only
Combined General Rate of Sales and Use Tax

Refund Approved: As Filed As Corrected

By: Date:

MAIL TO: NC Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 25000, Raleigh, NC 27640-0001





