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Form E-500S Dry-Cleaning Solvent Tax Return 
General Instructions 

 
 

1. Use Form E-500S to file and report your North Carolina dry-cleaning solvent taxes.  For more 
information on dry-cleaning solvent tax, click here.    

2. A tax return must be filed for each filing period by the due date indicated or a delinquent notice 
for failure to file will be issued by the Department.  The tax shown due must be paid with the 
return or penalty and interest will be assessed by the Department.   If you do not owe any tax 
for a filing period, you must file a return and enter zero (0.00) on Line 6.  Do not write “No Tax 
Due” or any similar text on the return. 

3. Complete the Dry-Cleaning Solvent Tax Return in its entirety on your computer and print the 
return. 

4. If you discontinue business operations or sell your business, complete Form NC-BN, Out-of-
Business Notification, and mail it separate from any return to the Department at the address 
shown on the form. 

5. Payment must be made in U.S. dollars by check or money order drawn on a U.S. (domestic) 
bank payable to the North Carolina Department of Revenue.  Do not mail cash, stamps, or post 
dated checks with a return. 

6. Sign the return and payment and mail to the address on the return.  

 

 

How to Prepare Return: Specific Line Instructions 
 

Line 1 – Halogenated Hydrocarbon-Based Solvent:  Under the column “Gallons,” enter the 
total number of gallons of halogenated hydrocarbon-based solvent sold by a retailer to a dry-
cleaning facility or purchased by a dry-cleaning facility from outside North Carolina for storage, 
use, or consumption within North Carolina.  Compute the tax due on the total “Gallons” at the 
$10.00 per gallon rate and enter that amount under the column “Tax.”  

Line 2 – Hydrocarbon-Based Solvent:  Under the column “Gallons,” enter the total number of 
gallons of hydrocarbon-based solvent sold by a retailer to a dry-cleaning facility or purchased by 
a dry-cleaning facility from outside North Carolina for storage, use, or consumption within North 
Carolina.  Compute the tax due on the total “Gallons” at the $1.35 per gallon rate and enter that 
amount under the column “Tax.” 

Line 3 - Total Tax: Add the tax amounts on Lines 1 and 2, and enter the sum. 

 Line 4 - Penalty:  If the return is filed after the due date, add the Failure to File Return 
penalty of 5% of the tax amount shown on Line 3 for each month, or fraction thereof, that the 
return is filed late.  The maximum Failure to File Return penalty is 25% of the tax amount shown 
on Line 3. 

If the tax was not paid when due, add the Failure to Pay Tax When Due penalty of 10% of 
the tax amount shown on Line 3.      

Line 5 - Interest:  If the return is filed after the due date and tax is due, compute interest on the 
Total Tax amount on Line 3 from the date the taxes were due until paid.  The Secretary of Revenue 
establishes the interest rate on a semiannual basis.  The interest rate is 5% per year or .417% 

http://www.dornc.com/taxes/sales/drycleaning.html
https://www.ncdor.gov/documents/nc-bn-out-business-notification
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per month through December 31, 2019.  Check the Department’s website or contact the 
Department for the interest rate in effect on or after January 1, 2020. 

Line 6 - Total Due:  Enter the total amount due by adding Lines 3, 4, and 5 and pay this amount. 
Do not fold your payment. 

Additional information about dry-cleaning solvent tax may be obtained from the Department’s 
website, www.ncdor.gov. 

 

 
 


