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Law:  N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-120.2(c)(2) 
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Date:  March 6, 2018 
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Purpose   
 
The North Carolina Department of Revenue (“Department”) has received several 
inquiries regarding the computation of gross income from corporations in 
determining whether a taxpayer meets the definition of a “holding company” under 
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-120.2 in calculating a corporation’s annual franchise tax 
liability.  Specifically, should a taxpayer compute “gross income” from corporations 
on a legal entity basis or as computed for corporate income tax purposes in 
applying the test in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-120.2(c)(2)? 
 
Statutory Authority 
 
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-122 requires every corporation that is incorporated, 
domesticated, or doing business in the state to pay a franchise tax.  The tax is 
imposed on the largest of three bases: 1) the value of the corporation’s net worth 
apportioned to North Carolina (the “net worth base”); 2) the value of the 
corporation’s investment in North Carolina tangible property (the “tangible property 
base”); or 3) fifty-five percent (55%) of the appraised value of the corporation’s 
North Carolina tangible property (the “appraised value base”).  The tax is levied at 
the rate of $1.50 per $1000 of the largest of the three bases, with a minimum of 
$200. 
 
The franchise tax payable by a corporation that is classified as a “holding 
company” pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-120.2 is limited to $150,000 when 
levied on its net worth base.  There is no maximum limitation of franchise tax 
payable on a corporation’s net worth base when a corporation does not meet the 
holding company definition.  Also, if the franchise tax is determined from either the 
tangible property base or the appraised value base, there is not a maximum 
limitation of franchise tax payable by a corporation that is classified as a holding 
company. 
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In determining if a corporation meets the definition of a holding company the 
Department relies upon N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-120.2(c), which provides that: 
  

For purposes of this section, a ‘holding company’ is a corporation 
that satisfies at least one of the following conditions: 
 

(1) It has no assets other than ownership interests in 
corporations in which it owns, directly or indirectly, more 
than fifty percent (50%) of the outstanding voting stock or 
voting capital interests. 
 

(2) It receives during its taxable year more than eighty percent 
(80%) of its gross income from corporations in which it 
owns directly or indirectly more than fifty percent (50%) of 
the outstanding voting stock, voting capital interests, or 
ownership interests. 

 
The inclusion of the phrase “gross income from corporations” in the holding 
company definition in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-120.2(c)(2) is subject to interpretation 
because a definition of the phrase “gross income” is not specifically provided for in 
Article 3.  However, gross income is defined for corporate income tax purposes.  
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-130.2(9) defines gross income for corporate income tax 
purposes as follows: 
 

“Gross income. – Defined in section 61 of the [Internal Revenue] Code.” 
 
Section 61 of the Internal Revenue Code states, in part: 
  
 “…gross income means all income from whatever sourced derived…” 
 
Discussion 
 
Because the definition of gross income is not defined in Article 3 but in Part 1 of 
Article 4, the Department’s interpretation of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-120.2(c)(2) is 
that corporate income tax principles for computing “gross income from 
corporations” is applicable for determining whether a corporation qualifies as a 
holding company.  Further, because the Department’s definition of gross income 
refers to the Internal Revenue Code and the Department adopts these corporate 
income tax principles, the Department looks to the corporation’s federal return for 
its gross income.   
 
The Federal Form 1120 does not contain one specific line item to aggregate gross 
income.  Accordingly, the Department looks to Federal Form 1120 lines 1-11 (as 
calculated on a separate entity basis for North Carolina purposes) to establish a 
corporation’s total income under Section 61 of the Internal Revenue Code, and 
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determine whether a corporation qualifies under the gross income test of N.C. Gen. 
Stat. § 105-120.2(c)(2).   
 
Therefore, in determining whether a corporation receives 80% of its income under 
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-120.2(c)(2), the recipient corporation’s income would include 
income items from a disregarded limited liability company (“LLC”) because the LLC 
does not file a separate federal or State tax return, and these amounts of gross 
income are included in the Federal Form 1120 (as calculated on a separate entity 
basis for North Carolina purposes).  Correspondingly, in determining the source of 
the gross income received, the Department would apply similar corporate income 
tax principles.  Therefore, amounts received from a corporation meeting the 
ownership tests in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-120.2(c)(2) would include gross income 
items from any disregarded LLCs of that corporation in calculating whether the 
recipient corporation meets the more than 80% of gross income requirement in 
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-120.2(c)(2).  
 
Questions 
 
Questions regarding this Directive may be directed to the Corporate Tax Division 
at (919) 814-1163 or you may write to the Corporate Tax Division at P.O. Box 871, 
Raleigh, NC 27602-0871. 
 


