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PREFACE 
 

 

The 2020 legislative session brought many changes to the revenue laws and the North 
Carolina Department of Revenue.  The 2020 Tax Law Changes publication is designed for use 
by the North Carolina Department of Revenue personnel and is available to others as a 

resource document.  It provides a brief summary of legislative tax changes made by prior 
General Assemblies that take effect for tax year 2020 as well as changes made by the 2020 
General Assembly, regardless of effective date.  This document includes changes to the tax 

law only and does not include other legislation that impacts the Department of Revenue. 
 
For further information on a specific tax law change, refer to the governing legislation.  

Administrative rules, bulletins, directives, and other instructions issued by the Department, as 
well as opinions issued by the Attorney General’s Office, may provide additional information on 
the application of tax law changes.  I hope you find this information of value as you work with 

North Carolina’s tax laws. 
 
 

Anthony Edwards 
Assistant Secretary of Revenue 
Tax Administration 
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SECTION 1 - PERSONAL TAXES 
 
 

 

 

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX – ARTICLE 4, PART 2 
 

 
G.S. 105-153.5(a)(1) – Standard Deduction Amount: This subdivision was amended by 
the 2019 General Assembly to increase the amount of the North Carolina standard 
deduction for each filing status for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020 to 

the following: 
 

Filing Status Standard Deduction 

Married, filing jointly/surviving 

spouse 
$21,500 

Head of Household $16,125 

Single $10,750 

Married, filing separately $10,750 

 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; SB 557, s. 1.(a), S.L. 2019-246.) 

 
G.S. 105-153.5(a)(2)a. – Charitable Contribution:  This sub-subdivision was amended to 

decouple North Carolina from the temporary increase in the charitable contribution 
deduction limit for qualified charitable contributions allowed under section 170 of the 
Internal Revenue Code (“Code”) for tax year 2020. 

 
For tax year 2020, Section 2205 of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act 
(“CARES Act”) amended section 170 of the Code to temporarily increase the charitable 

deduction limit for qualified contributions from a maximum of 60% of an individual’s 
adjusted gross income (“AGI”) to 100% of AGI.  For federal income tax purposes, an 
individual who claims itemized deductions for tax year 2020 may deduct qualified 

contributions of up to 100% of the individual’s AGI. 

For purposes of the charitable contribution deduction allowed under G.S. 105-153.5(a)(2), 
the General Assembly adopted the Code as of January 1, 2020, which excludes the 

provisions of the CARES Act.  Consequently, an individual who claims North Carolina 
itemized deductions for tax year 2020 may only deduct qualified contributions up to 60% of 
the individual’s AGI. 

(Effective June 30, 2020; H1080, s. 1.(d), S.L. 2020-58.) 

 

SECTION 

1 
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G.S. 105-153.5(a)(2)b. – Mortgage Expense and Property Tax: The Further 
Consolidated Appropriations Act (“FCAA”), enacted by Congress in December 2019, 

extended through tax year 2020, the federal provision that allows an individual an itemized 
deduction for mortgage insurance premiums paid or accrued by treating those premiums 
as qualified residence interest. North Carolina has historically decoupled from this 

provision of the Internal Revenue Code (“Code”). 
 
Sub-subdivision b. was amended to extend the provision originally enacted effective for 

taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014, that caused North Carolina to 
decouple from the Code with respect to mortgage insurance premiums. As amended, an 
individual is not allowed a North Carolina itemized deduction for mortgage insurance 

premiums paid or accrued during the year and treated as qualified residence interest 
under the Code for tax years 2014 through 2020. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; H1080, s. 1.(e), S.L. 2020-58.) 

 
G.S. 105-153.5(a)(2)c. – Medical and Dental Expense: The Further Consolidated 

Appropriations Act (“FCAA”), enacted by Congress in December 2019,  reduced the 
medical and dental expense deduction threshold from 10% of adjusted gross income 
(“AGI”) to 7.5% of AGI for tax years 2019 and 2020.  

 
G.S. 105-153.5(a)(2)(c) provides that an individual is allowed a North Carolina itemized 
deduction for medical and dental expenses for the amount allowed as a deduction under 

section 213 of the Internal Revenue Code (“Code”) for that taxable year. On June 30, 
2020, the 2020 General Assembly updated North Carolina’s reference to the Code to 
include federal tax provisions enacted as of May 1, 2020.  As part of that update, the 

reference to section 213 of the Code was updated from January1, 2019 to May 1, 2020.  
As enacted, this change allows taxpayers who elect to deduct North Carolina itemized 
deductions to deduct qualifying medical and dental expenses that exceed 7.5% of AGI for 

tax years 2019 and 2020.  
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; H1080, s. 1.(a), S.L. 2020-58.) 

 

G.S. 105-153.5(b)(10) – Other Deductions:  In 2009, federal law allowed certain 
taxpayers to elect to defer reporting cancellation of debt income in 2009 and 2010, and 
instead report the income on the federal return ratably over a five-year period beginning in 

2014. The 2009 General Assembly chose not to adopt this provision of federal law.  
Instead, North Carolina law required an addition to federal taxable income in 2009 and 
2010 for any amount of income deferred under Internal Revenue Code section 108(i)(1), 

and provided for a future deduction from federal taxable income for the amount deferred 
for federal tax purposes ratably over a five-year period beginning in 2014. 
 

The 2020 General Assembly repealed this subdivision because there is no longer a need 
for the deduction. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; H1080, s. 4.2, S.L. 2020-58.) 
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G.S. 105-153.5(b) – Other Deductions: The General Assembly enacted S.L. 2020-97, 
which provided various forms of State tax relief to taxpayers affected by the COVID-19 

pandemic.  As part of this law, the General Assembly created the Extra Credit Grant 
program to be administered by the Department of Revenue (“Department”).  As enacted, 
the Department was required to provide a one-time grant of $335 to eligible individuals as 

determined under Section 4.12(d) of S.L. 2020-97. 
 
In addition, G.S. 105-153.5(b) was amended to add new subdivision (14), which provides 

an individual with a new North Carolina income tax deduction equal to the amount of the 
grant received during the tax year to the extent the individual includes the grant amount in 
the computation of adjusted gross income.   
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and expires for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2021; H1105, s. 1.4.(a), S.L. 2020-97.) 

 
G.S. 105-153.5(c2) – Decoupling Adjustments:  The Tax Cuts and Jobs Act (“TCJA”), 

the Further Consolidated Appropriations Act (“FCAA”) and the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and 
Economic Security Act (“CARES Act”) (collectively, “federal tax provisions”) made 
significant changes to the federal individual income tax.  To the extent North Carolina 

follows the Internal Revenue Code (“Code”) as enacted as of May 1, 2020, these 
provisions apply to North Carolina for purposes of calculating an individual’s income tax 
liability.   

 
The General Assembly made extensive changes to subsection (c2) to decouple North 
Carolina from several federal tax provisions.  These changes are as follows: 

 
Cancellation of Qualified Principal Residence Indebtedness  

The FCAA retroactively extended through tax year 2020 the exclusion from gross income 
for the discharge of qualified principal residence indebtedness under section 108 of the 

Code. The General Assembly chose not to adopt this provision of the Code.  Instead, for 
North Carolina tax purposes, the cancelation of qualified principal residence debt is 
included in the calculation of North Carolina taxable income for tax years 2014 through 

2020.  
 
As enacted, subdivision (1) of subsection (c2) requires an individual, for tax years 2014 

through 2020, to add to AGI, the amount of qualified principal residence debt discharged 
during the tax year excluded from federal gross income under section 108 of the Code. 
 

Qualified Tuition and Related Expenses  

The FCAA retroactively extended through tax year 2020 the deduction in arriving at 
adjusted gross income (“AGI”) for qualified tuition and related expenses under section 222 
of the Code.  The General Assembly chose not to adopt this provision of the Code.  

Instead, for North Carolina tax purposes, qualified tuition and related expenses are 
included in the calculation of North Carolina taxable income for tax years 2014 through 
2020. 
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As enacted, subdivision (2) of subsection (c2) requires an individual to add to AGI income 
for tax year 2014 through 2020, the amount of qualified tuition and related expenses 

deducted during the tax year in calculating AGI under section 222 of the Code. 
 
NOL Carryback Incurred in Tax Years 2018, 2019, and 2020 

The TCJA generally eliminated net operating loss (“NOL”) carrybacks and permitted NOLs 
to be carried forward indefinitely.  The CARES Act changed those rules temporarily by 
permitting NOLs incurred in 2018, 2019, and 2020, to be carried back for five years 
preceding the tax year of the loss, unless the individual elects to waive the carryback 

period.  
 

The General Assembly chose not to adopt this provision of the Code.  Instead, for North 
Carolina tax purposes, an NOL incurred in 2018, 2019, and 2020 carried back for federal 

tax purposes must be added to AGI for tax years 2013 and 2019.   
 
As enacted, subdivision (8) of subsection (c2) requires an individual, for tax years 2013, 

2014, 2015, 2016, or 2017, to add to AGI the amount of any 2018 NOL deducted and 
absorbed on a federal tax return under section 172 of the Code. 
 

As enacted, subdivision (9) of subsection (c2) requires an individual, for taxable years 
2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, or 2018, to add to AGI  the amount of any 2019 NOL deducted 
and absorbed on a federal tax return under section 172 of the Code. 

 
As enacted, subdivision (10) of subsection (c2) requires an individual, for taxable years 
2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, or 2019, to add to AGI the amount of any 2020 NOL deducted 

and absorbed on a federal tax return under section 172 of the Code. 
 
As enacted, subdivision (11) of subsection (c2) requires an individual, for taxable years 

2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, or 2019, to add to AGI the amount of any 2018, 
2019, or 2020 NOL carried back and deducted on a federal tax return pursuant to section 
2303(b) of the CARES Act, but not absorbed in that year and carried forward to a 

subsequent year. 
 
As enacted, subdivision (14) of subsection (c2) provides a deduction from AGI for the 

amount of NOL carryback deduction required to be added to a AGI under G.S. 105-
153.5(c2)(8), (9), or (10).  An individual may deduct 20% of the amount added to AGI in 
tax years 2013 through 2019 in each of the first five taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2021. 
 
Note: The addition under G.S. 105-153.5(c2)(8), (9), or (10) is not required for farming 

losses carried back by the individual under the provisions` of section 172(b)(1)(B) of the 
Code.  Moreover, the addition under G.S. 105-153.5(c2)(11) is not required if the individual 
is required to add the unabsorbed NOL to AGI pursuant to G.S. 105-153.5(c)(6). 
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Excess Business Loss Limitation for Tax Years 2018, 2019, and 2020 

The TCJA amended section 461 of the Code to add subsection ( l), which eliminated the 
ability of an individual to deduct trade or business losses greater than $250,000 ($500,000 

for individuals filing a joint return) in any year that begins after December 31, 2017. The 
amount of business loss exceeding the 461(l) limitation is referred to as an “Excess 

Business Loss.” The CARES Act retroactively eliminated the excess business loss 

limitation for tax year 2018 and 2019, and deferred the effective date of the excess 
business loss limitation to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2021.  Thus for 
federal income tax purposes, an individual can fully deduct their business losses for tax 

years 2018 through 2020. 
 

The General Assembly chose not to adopt this provision of the Code.  Instead, for North 
Carolina tax purposes, the excess business loss disallowance rules for individuals as 

defined in section 461(l) of the Code, pre-Cares Act, continue to apply.  
 

As enacted, subdivision (12) of subsection (c2) requires an individual, for taxable years 
2018, 2019, and 2020, to add to AGI an amount equal to the individual’s excess business 

loss, as defined under the provisions of section 461(l) of the Code as enacted as of 
January 1, 2019.  
 

As enacted, subdivision (15) of subsection (c2) provides a deduction from AGI for the 
amount of excess business losses required to be added to AGI under G.S. 105-
153.5(c2)(12).  An individual may deduct 20% of the amount added to an individual’s AGI 

in tax years 2018 through 2020, in each of the first five taxable years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2021. 
 

Note: The addition under G.S. 105-153.5(c2)(12) is not required to the extent an 
individual’s excess business loss was added to AGI under G.S. 105-153.5(c2)(8), (9), or 
(10).  Moreover, federal law provides Qualified Improvement Property (“QIP”) placed in 

service after 2017 now generally qualifies for 100% bonus depreciation under the CARES 
Act.  North Carolina requires an individual to add back federal bonus depreciation in 
accordance with G.S. 105-153.6.  QIP bonus depreciation should not be included in the 

calculation of the individual’s excess business loss to the extent the QIP bonus 
deprecation resulted in an addition to AGI pursuant to G.S. 105-153.6(a). 
 

NOL Carryforward Limitation for Tax Years 2018, 2019, and 2020 

The TCJA amended section 172 of the Code to impose a new 80% NOL limitation starting 
with NOLs generated after January 1, 2018.  Under the provisions of the TCJA, a 
taxpayer’s NOL carryforward deduction was limited to 80% of federal taxable income 

without regard to the NOL deduction. 
 
The CARES Act temporarily removed the 80% NOL limitation for tax years 2018, 2019, 

and 2020, reinstating the limitation for tax years beginning after December 31, 2020. Thus 
for federal income tax purposes, for tax years 2019 and 2020, an individual can utilize 
100% of an NOL carryforward from years 2018 or 2019 to offset federal taxable income. 
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The General Assembly chose not to adopt this provision of the Code. Instead, for North 
Carolina tax purposes, an NOL carryforward deduction taken in tax years 2019 or 2020, 

resulting from an NOL incurred in tax years 2018 or 2019, must be added to AGI to the 
extent that the federal deduction exceeds the amount allowed under the provisions of 
section 172 of the Code as enacted as of January 1, 2019 (i.e. pre-CARES Act). 

  
As enacted, subdivision (13) of subsection (c2) requires an individual to add to AGI the 
amount by which the individual’s NOL carryforward deduction for an NOL arising in 2018, 

2019, or 2020, exceeds the amount allowed under the provisions of section 172(a)(2)(B) of 
the Code, as enacted as of January 1, 2019.  
 

As enacted, subdivision (16) of subsection (c2) provides a deduction from AGI for the 
amount of the 80% NOL carryforward deduction limitation required to be added to AGI 
under G.S. 105-153.5(c2)(13).  An individual may deduct 20% of the amount added to an 

individual’s AGI in tax years 2019 and 2020, in each of the first five taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2021. 
 

Business Interest Expense Limitation 

The TCJA amended section 163(j) of the Code to provide certain limits on the amount of 
business interest expense an individual could deduct in a taxable year.  Under the TCJA, 
the amount of business interest expenses deductible in a tax year cannot exceed the sum 

of: (1) the taxpayer’s business interest income for the tax year, (2) 30% of the taxpayer’s 
adjusted taxable income (“ATI”) for the year, and (3) the taxpayer’s floor plan financing 
interest expense for the year.  The CARES Act temporarily increased the limit on the 

amount of business interest expenses deductible from 30% of a taxpayer’s ATI to 50% of a 
taxpayer’s ATI for tax years 2019 and 2020.  
 

The General Assembly chose not to adopt this provision of the Code.  Instead, for North 
Carolina tax purposes, the business interest expense deduction remains at 30% of an 
individual’s ATI, (i.e. pre-CARES Act). 

 
As enacted, subdivision (17) of subsection (c2) requires an individual, for tax years 2019 
and 2020, to add to AGI an amount equal to the amount by which the individual’s interest 

expense deduction under section 163(j) of the Code exceeds the interest expense 
deduction that would have been allowed under section 163(j) of the Code as enacted as of 
January 1, 2020. 

 
Employer Payments of Student Loans 

The CARES Act excluded certain employer payments of student loans under section 
127(c) of the Code from gross income for tax year 2020.  The General Assembly chose 

not to adopt this provision of the Code.  Instead, employer payments of a student loan 
under section 127(c) of the Code are included in North Carolina taxable income for tax 
year 2020. 
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As enacted, subdivision (18) of subsection (c2) requires an individual to add to AGI the 
amount excluded from gross income for payment by an employer, whether paid to the 

taxpayer or to a lender, of principal or interest on any qualified education loan, as defined 
in section 221(d)(1) of the Code, incurred by the taxpayer for education of the taxpayer.  

 
Above-the-Line Deduction for Qualified Charitable Contributions  

The CARES Act allows an eligible individual who does not itemize federal deductions in 

tax year 2020, to deduct $300 of qualified charitable contributions as an adjustment in 
determining AGI, (i.e., an “above-the-line” deduction).  To qualify for the deduction, the 
contribution must be: (1) a cash contribution, (2) made to a qualifying organization as 

determined under the Code, and (3) made during the calendar year 2020.   

 

The General Assembly chose not to adopt this provision of the Code.  Instead, the amount 
of the “above-the-line deduction” taken on the federal return for qualified charitable 

contributions under the CARES Act must be added back to AGI for tax year 2020. 

 

As enacted, subdivision (19) of subsection (c2) requires an individual to add to AGI the 
amount of qualified contributions excluded from AGI under section 62(a)(22) of the Code. 

 
Payment Protection Program Loan Forgiveness and Expenses 

The CARES Act allows an eligible individual to exclude the amount of a forgiven Payment 
Protection Program (“PPP”) loan from gross income.  The General Assembly adopted 

this provision of the Code.  Thus, for federal and State income tax purposes, the amount 
of a forgiven PPP loan is not includable in taxable income. 
 

Importantly, the Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”) issued Notice 2020-32 to provide 
guidance to taxpayers regarding expenses paid using the proceeds of a PPP loan.  
According to the notice, business expenses that would normally be deductible in 

computing federal taxable income may not be deductible if the taxpayer uses funds from a 
forgiven loan to pay such expenses. The General Assembly adopted the position of the 
IRS by amending subdivision (c2) to require an individual to add to AGI the amount of any 

expenses that would normally be deductible under the Code that are excluded from AGI to 
the extent that payment of the expense resulted in forgiveness of a PPP loan. 
 

As enacted, subdivision (20) of subsection (c2) requires an individual to add the amount of 
any expense deducted under the Code to the extent that payment of the expense results 
in forgiveness of a covered loan pursuant to section 1106(b) of the CARES Act, and the 
income associated with the forgiveness is excluded from gross income pursuant to section 

1106(i) of the CARES Act.  Importantly, the term “covered loan” has the same meaning as 
defined in section 1106 of the CARES Act, (i.e., a PPP loan). 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; H1080, s. 1.(f), S.L. 2020-58.) 
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G.S. 105-154(d) – Payment of Tax on Behalf of Nonresident Owner or Partner:   This 
subsection was amended to codify an existing Department practice.  G.S. 105-154(d) 

allows a nonresident partner that is not an individual to execute a nonresident partner 
affirmation, Form D-403 NC-NPA, to affirm that the nonresident partner will timely file a 
North Carolina income tax return and report the partner’s share of the partnership income 

to North Carolina.  Form NC-NPA affirms that the nonresident partner will pay any income 
tax due with its applicable North Carolina tax return. 
 

Under prior law, the statute did not give a due date for Form D-403 NPA to be filed.  As 
amended, Form D-403 NPA must be annually filed by the nonresident partner and 
attached to the partnership return, Form D-403, when the partnership return is due to be 

filed.  If the affirmation is not timely filed with Form D-403, the manager of the business is 
required to pay the tax on the nonresident partner's share of partnership income. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; H1080, s. 4.3, S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

G.S. 105-163.15 – Failure by Individual to Pay Estimated Income Tax; Interest:  If an 
individual’s North Carolina income tax liability after allowable tax credits and North 

Carolina tax withheld is $1,000 or more, the individual is required to pay estimated income 
tax as outlined in G.S. 105-163.15.  If an individual underpays the amount of estimated tax 
due for the tax year, the Secretary is required to assess interest on the amount of the 

underpayment.   
 
In response to the COVID-19 outbreak, the 2020 General Assembly enacted Session Law 

2020-3 to provide State tax relief to North Carolinians.  As part of this legislation, the 
Secretary is required to waive the accrual of interest from April 15, 2020, through July 15, 
2020, (collectively the “COVID Period”) on an underpayment of tax imposed on estimated 

tax payments due during the COVID Period.  
 
(Effective May 4, 2020; SB 704, s. 1.1.(a), S.L. 2020-3.) 

 

S CORPORATION INCOME TAX – ARTICLE 4, PART 1A 
 

G.S. 105-131.8(a) – Tax credits:  This subsection was amended to correct a statutory 
reference that erroneously referred to G.S. 105-151.  The 2013 General Assembly 
recodified G.S. 105-151 as G.S. 105-153.9, effective for taxable years beginning on or 

after January 1, 2014. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; H1080, s. 4.1, S.L. 2020-58.) 
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WITHHOLDING TAX – ARTICLE 4A 
 
G.S. 105-163.1 – Definitions:  The 2019 General Assembly amended this section by 
defining new terms and by simplifying existing terms that apply to Article 4A, effective 

January 1, 2020.  The 2020 General Assembly made an additional change to this section 
by adding subsection (12a) to define an additional term that applies to Article 4.  The 
changes are as follows: 

 
Subsection (1) was amended to define “compensation” as “consideration a payer pays a 
payee.”  

 
Subsection (6a) was added to define an “Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN)” 
as “a taxpayer identification number issued by the Internal Revenue Service to an 

individual who is required to have a U.S. taxpayer identification number but who does not 
have, or is not eligible to obtain, a Social Security number (SSN) from the Social Security 
Administration.” 

 
Previous subsection (6a) was renumbered to subsection (6b) and was amended to define 
an “ITIN contractor” as “an ITIN holder who performs services [in North Carolina] for 

compensation other than wages.” 
 
Previous subsection (6b) was renumbered to subsection (6c) and was amended to define 

an “ITIN holder” as “a person whose taxpayer identification number is an Individual 
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN), including applied for and expired numbers.”  
 

Subsection (9a) was added to define “payee” as any of the following:  
 

a. A nonresident contractor 

b. An ITIN contractor 
c. A person who performs services in [North Carolina] for compensation that fails to 

provide the payer a taxpayer identification number. 

d. A person who performs services in [North Carolina] for compensation that fails to 
provide the payer a valid taxpayer identification number.  The Secretary must notify 
a payer that a taxpayer identification number is not valid. 

 
Subsection (10) was amended to define a “payer” as “a person who, in the course of a 
trade or business, pays compensation.” 

 
Subsection (12a) was added to define a “Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN)” by cross-
reference to G.S. 105-228.90(b)(9). 
 
(Changes made by the 2019 General Assembly effective January 1, 2020; SB 523, s. 6.4.(a), S.L. 
2019-169. Changes made by the 2020 General Assembly effective June 30, 2020; H1080, s. 
4.4.(c), S.L. 2020-58.) 
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G.S. 105-163.3(a) – Certain Payers Must Withhold Taxes; Requirement:  This 
subsection was amended by the 2019 General Assembly to require every payer who pays 

more than $1,500 in compensation to a payee to withhold State income tax from the 
compensation paid to the payee at a rate of 4%.  For purposes of this subsection, the 
definitions of payer, compensation, and payee are defined in G.S. 105-163.1, as amended 

by section 6.4.(a) of Session Law 2019-169. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2020; SB 523, s. 6.4.(b), S.L. 2019-169.) 
 

G.S. 105-163.3(d) – Certain Payers Must Withhold Taxes; Returns, Annual Statement 
and Report:  The 2019 General Assembly amended this subsection to incorporate the 
term “payee” as defined in G.S. 105-163.1, effective January 1, 2020.   

 
As amended and specifically stated in G.S. 105-163.3(d), a payer required to deduct and 
withhold from a payee's compensation under [G.S. 105-163.3] must file a return, pay the 

withheld taxes, and report the amount withheld in the time and manner required under 
G.S. 105-163.6 and G.S. 105-163.7 as if the compensation were wages. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2020; SB 523, s. 6.4.(b), S.L. 2019-169.) 

 
G.S. 105-163.3(f) – Certain Payers Must Withhold Taxes; Payer May Repay Amount 
Withheld Improperly:  The 2019 General Assembly amended this subsection to 

incorporate the term “payee” as the term is defined in G.S. 105-163.1, effective January 1, 
2020.  
 

As amended and specifically stated in G.S. 105-163.3(f), a payer may refund to any 
person any amount the payer withheld improperly from the person under G.S. 105-163.3, if 
the refund is made before the end of the calendar year and before the payer furnishes the 

person the annual statement required by G.S. 105-163(d).  An amount is withheld 
improperly if it is withheld from a payment to a person who is not a payee, if it is withheld 
from a payment that is not compensation, or if it is in excess of the amount required to be 

withheld under G.S. 105-163.3. 
 
(Effective January 1, 2020; SB 523, s. 6.4.(b), S.L. 2019-169.) 
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SECTION 2- CORPORATE TAXES  

 

 

 

 

 

FRANCHISE TAX – ARTICLE 3 
 
G.S. 105-120.2(c)(3) – Franchise or Privilege Tax on Holding Companies:  This 
subdivision was added by the 2019 General Assembly to expand the definition of a holding 

company.  This subdivision includes a corporation that owns copyrights, patents, or 
trademarks that represent more than eighty percent (80%) of its total assets or receives 
more than eighty percent (80%) of its gross income from royalties and license fees. In 

addition, it must be one who is one hundred percent (100%) directly owned by a 
corporation that is a manufacturer as defined by NAICS codes 31 through 33; must 
generate more than five billion dollars ($5,000,000,000) in revenue for income tax 

purposes from goods it manufactures; and must include an investment in the holding 
company in its net worth franchise tax base. 
  
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and is applicable to the 
calculation of franchise tax reported on the 2019 and later corporate income tax returns; SB 557, s. 
2.(a), S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

G.S. 105-122(b)(2) – Determination of Net Worth: Addition for Indebtedness:  This 

subdivision was amended to simplify the calculation for the addition of affiliated 
indebtedness used in calculating the net worth franchise tax base and to make it 
consistent with the interest deduction computed for income tax purposes. As amended, it 

states that a corporation’s net worth is adjusted by adding the amount of indebtedness 
owed that creates net interest expense as defined in G.S. 105-130.7B(b)(3), but does not 
create qualified interest expense as defined in G.S. 105-130.7B(b)(4).  
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2021, and is applicable to the 
calculation of franchise tax reported on the 2020 and later corporate income tax returns; HB 1080, 
s. 5.1.(a), S.L. 2020-58.) 

 

G.S. 105-122(c1) – Apportionment of Franchise or Privilege Tax on Domestic and 
Foreign Corporations:  This subsection was amended by the 2019 General Assembly to 
require a corporate taxpayer that has made a state net loss apportionment election under 

G.S. 105-130.4(t3) to use the statutory apportionment method under subdivision (1) of this 
subsection as if the election had not been made, unless they have been authorized to use 
a different apportionment method under subdivision (2) of this subsection. 

 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; SB 557, s. 3.(d), S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

SECTION 

2 
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G.S. 105-122(c1)(1) – Apportionment of Franchise or Privilege Tax on Domestic and 
Foreign Corporations: Statutory:  This subdivision was amended to remove previous 

language that prohibited the apportionment factor for a wholesale content distributor from 
being less than two percent (2%). The previous language created an apportionment floor 
that was inconsistent with the apportionment factor calculation for income tax for a 

wholesale content distributor under G.S. 105-130.4B. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; HB 1080, s. 5.2.(b), S.L. 2020-
58.) 
 

G.S. 105-122(d)(3) – Computation of Investment in Tangible Property Base:  This 
subdivision from the reorganization of G.S. 105-122 was amended  by the 2019 General 
Assembly to reinstate a deduction for any indebtedness specifically incurred and existing 

solely for and as the result of the purchase of any real estate and any improvements made 
on the real estate. The deduction was previously eliminated in the 2015 General Assembly 
franchise tax simplification changes.  With the reinstatement of the deduction, the term 

“specifically” was added into the phrase “indebtedness incurred” to emphasize the 
connection of the debt incurred specifically to the real estate purchased or improved. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020, and applies to the calculation of 
franchise tax reported on the 2019 and later corporate income tax returns; SB 628, s. 1.3.(b), S.L. 
2017-204.) 

 

CORPORATION INCOME TAX – ARTICLE 4, PART 1 
 
G.S. 105-130.4(l) – Allocation and Apportionment of Income Using Market-Based 
Sourcing for Multistate Corporations:  Sales Factor:  The 2019 General Assembly 

enacted legislation to implement market-based sourcing for multistate income tax 
apportionment.  As part of this legislation, the sales factor was amended to establish that 
receipts are in this State if the taxpayer's market for the receipts is in this State. It provides 

for reasonable approximation if the market for a receipt cannot be determined, and if that 
method is not possible, the receipts are excluded from the denominator of a taxpayer's 
sales factor.  

 
As amended, changes were made to the parameters regarding a taxpayer's market for 
receipts in this State to include the following subdivisions: 

 
1. The sale, rental, lease, or license of real property, if and to the extent the property is 

located in this State. 

2. The rental, lease, or license of tangible personal property, if and to the extent the 
property is located in this State. 

3. The sale of tangible personal property, if and to the extent the property is received 

in this State by the purchaser. For delivery of goods by common carrier or by other 
means of transportation, including transportation by the purchaser, the place where 
the goods are ultimately received after all transportation has been completed is 

considered the place the goods are received by the purchaser. Direct delivery into 
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this State by the taxpayer to a person or firm designated by a purchaser from inside 
or outside the State constitutes delivery to the purchaser in this State.  

4. For a sale of a service, if and to the extent the service is delivered to a location in 
this State.  

5. For intangible property that is rented, leased, or licensed, if and to the extent the 

property is used in this State. Intangible property utilized in marketing a good or 
service to a consumer is "used in this State" if that good or service is purchased by 
a consumer who is in this State.  

6. For intangible property that is sold, if and to the extent the property is used in this 
State. A contract right, government license, or similar intangible property that 
authorized the holder to conduct a business activity in a specific geographic area is 

"used in this State" if the geographic area includes all or part of this State. Receipts 
from a sale of intangible property that is contingent on the productivity, use, or 
disposition of the intangible property is treated as receipts from the rental, lease, or 

licensing of the intangible property as provided under subdivision (5) of this 
subsection (see above). All other receipts from a sale of intangible property shall be 
excluded from the numerator and denominator of the sales factor. 

 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; SB 557, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

G.S. 105-130.4(l1) – Allocation and Apportionment of Income for Corporations:  
Wholesale Content Distributors:  The 2019 General Assembly enacted legislation to 
implement market-based sourcing for multistate income tax apportionment.  As part of this 

legislation, subsection (l1) was added to refer to newly added G.S. 105-130.4A for the 
provisions of market-based sourcing for a “wholesale content distributor.” 
 

This subsection also provides that a wholesale content distributor’s apportionment of 
income to this State to be no less than the amount determined by multiplying two percent 
(2%) by the total domestic gross receipts of the wholesale content distributor from 

advertising and licensing activities.  For purposes of this subsection, the term “wholesale 
content distributor” is defined in G.S. 105-130.4A, discussed below.  
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; SB 557, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2019-246.) 

 
G.S. 105-130.4(l1) – Allocation and Apportionment of Income for Corporations:  

Wholesale Content Distributors:  The 2020 General Assembly amended this subsection 
to correct an error in the wholesale content distributor apportionment language. The 
amendment replaced the term “income apportioned” with “receipts sourced” in determining 

a wholesale content distributor’s apportionment.   
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; HB 1080, s. 5.2.(a), S.L. 2020-
58.) 
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G.S. 105-130.4(l2) – Allocation and Apportionment of Income for Corporations:  
Banks:  The 2019 General Assembly enacted legislation to implement market-based 

sourcing for multistate income tax apportionment.  As part of this legislation, subsection 
(l2) was added to refer to newly added G.S. 105-130.4B for the provisions of market-based 
sourcing for a “bank.”  For purposes of this subsection, the term “bank” is defined in G.S. 

105-130.4B, discussed later in this document. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; SB 557, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

G.S. 105-130.4(s2) – Allocation and Apportionment of Income for Corporations:  
Pipeline Company:  This subsection was amended by the 2019 General Assembly to 

provide that, for companies subject to rate regulation by the Federal Energy Regulatory 
Commission, receipts from the transportation or transmission of petroleum-based liquids or 
natural gas are to be apportioned using traffic units, defined as barrel miles or cubic foot 

miles, in this State during the tax year. This was previously limited to petroleum-based 
liquids pipeline companies with income apportioned by barrel miles.  The definition of a 
barrel mile is one barrel of liquid property transported one mile. A cubic foot mile is defined 

as one cubic foot of gaseous property transported one mile. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; SB 557, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2019-246.) 

 

G.S. 105-130.4(s3) – Allocation and Apportionment of Income for Corporations:  
Electric Power Company:  This subsection was added by the 2019 General Assembly to 

define and provide special apportionment rules for an electric power company. 
 
An electric power company is defined as a company, including any of its wholly owned 

noncorporate limited liability companies, primarily engaged in the business of supplying 
electricity for light, heat, current, or power to persons in this State that is subject to control 
of the N.C. Utilities Commission or the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.   

 
The numerator of its apportionment factor is the average value of real and tangible 
personal property owned or rented and used in this State by the electric power company 

during the taxable year and the denominator is the average value of all real and tangible 
personal property owned or rented and used during the taxable year.   
The average value of real and tangible personal property owned or rented by an electric 

power company is determined by the following: 
 

1. The average value of property is determined by averaging the values at the 

beginning and end of the taxable year. The Secretary may require averaging of  
monthly or other periodic values during the taxable year if reasonably required to 
reflect properly the average value of the corporation’s property. 

2. If an electric power company ceases its operations in this State before the end of its 
taxable year because it intends to dissolve or relinquish its certificate of authority, or 
because of a merger, conversion, or consolidation, or for any other reason, it must 

use the real estate and tangible personal property values as of the first day of the 
taxable year and the last day of its operations in this State to determine the average 
value of the property.  The Secretary may require averaging of monthly or other 
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periodic values during the taxable year if reasonably required to reflect properly the 
average value of the electric power company’s property. 

3. Property owned by an electric power company is valued at its original cost.  
4. Property rented by an electric power company is valued at eight times the net 

annual rental rate.  

5. The net annual rental rate is the annual rental rate paid by an electric power 
company less any annual rental rate received by the electric power company from 
sub-rentals except that sub-rentals are not deducted when they constitute 

apportionable income. 
6. Any property under construction and any property whose income constitutes 

nonapportionable income is excluded from the computation of the average value of 

an electric power company’s real and tangible personal property. 
 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; SB 557, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2019-246.) 

 

G.S. 105-130.4(t3) – Allocation and Apportionment of Income for Corporations:  
State Net Loss Apportionment Election:  This subsection was added by the 2019 

General Assembly to allow a corporate taxpayer with a State net loss balance as of the 
end of its 2019 taxable year, as computed under GS 105-130.8A, to elect to apportion 
receipts from services based on the percentage of its income-producing activities 

performed in this State.  The election must be made on the 2020 tax return and in the form 
prescribed by the Secretary with any supporting documentation required. The election is 
binding and irrevocable until the earlier of the tax year in which the existing State net loss 

balance is fully utilized or has expired.  
 
It also defines State net loss balance as the total amount of State net losses computed 

under G.S. 105-130.8A for taxable years beginning before January 1, 2020, and available 
to carry forward to taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020.  A State net loss 
balance does not include a loss created in a taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 

2020.  If created on or after January 1, 2020, the State net loss must be determined using 
the apportionment for market-based sourcing as set forth in G.S. 105-130.4(l).      
  
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; SB 557, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

G.S. 105-130.4A – Market-Based Sourcing for Wholesale Content Distributors:  The 
2019 General Assembly enacted legislation to implement market-based sourcing for 
multistate income tax apportionment.  As part of this legislation, this section was added to 
set forth provisions concerning market-based sourcing for wholesale content distributors.   

 
Subsection (a) defines terms applicable to the statute which include the following: 
 

1. Customer – A person who has a direct contractual relationship with a wholesale 
content distributor from whom the wholesale content distributor derives gross 
receipts, including a business customer such as an advertiser or licensee, and an 

individual customer that directly subscribes with the wholesale content distributor for 
access to film programming.  

2. Gross receipts – The same meaning as the term "sales" in G.S. 105-130.4. 
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3. Wholesale content distributor – A broadcast television network, a cable program 
network, or any television distribution company owned by, affiliated with, or under 

common ownership with any such network and does not mean or include a 
multichannel video programming distributor or a distributor of subscription-based 
internet programming services.  

 
Subsection (b) establishes the fraction for a wholesale content distributor's receipts factor. 
The numerator of its receipts factor is the sum of the wholesale content distributor’s gross 

receipts from transactions and activity in the regular course of its trade or business within 
this State and the denominator is the sum of the wholesale content distributor’s gross 
receipts from transactions and activity in the regular course of its trade or business 

everywhere.  Receipts from transactions and activities in the regular course of business, 
including advertising, licensing, and distribution activities; but excluding receipts from the 
sale of real or tangible personal property, are in this State if received from a business 

customer who is commercially domiciled in this State. Receipts from an individual 
customer are from sources within this State if the individual’s billing address listed in the 
broadcaster’s books and records is in this State. 

 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; SB 557, s. 3.(b), S.L. 2019-246.) 

 
G.S. 105-130.4B – Market-Based Sourcing for Banks:  The 2019 General Assembly 

enacted legislation to implement market-based sourcing for multistate income tax 
apportionment.  As part of this legislation, this section was added to set forth provisions 
concerning market-based sourcing for banks.   

 
Subsection (a) provides the following definitions applicable to this statute: 
 

1. Bank – Defined in G.S. 105-130.7B.  
2. Billing address – The location indicated in the books and records of the taxpayer 

on the first day of the taxable year, or on the date in the taxable year when the 

customer relationship began, as the address where any notice, statement, or billing 
relating to the customer's account is mailed.  

3. Borrower, cardholder, or payor located in this State – A borrower, credit 

cardholder, or payor whose billing address is in this State.  
4. Card issuer's reimbursement fee – The fee a taxpayer receives from a merchant's 

bank because one of the persons to whom the taxpayer has issued a credit, debit, 

or similar type of card has charged merchandise or services to the card.  
5. Credit card – A card, or other means of providing information, that entitles the 

holder to charge the cost of purchases, or a cash advance, against a line of credit.  

6. Debit card – A card, or other means of providing information, that enables the 
holder to charge the cost of purchases, or a cash withdrawal, against the holder's 
bank account or a remaining balance on the card.  

7. Loan – Any extension of credit resulting from direct negotiations between the 
taxpayer and its customer, and/or the purchase, in whole or in part, of such an 
extension of credit from another. The term includes participations, syndications, 

and leases treated as loans for federal income tax purposes.  
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8. Loan secured by real property – A loan or other obligation of which fifty percent 
(50%) or more of the aggregate value of the collateral used to secure the loan or 

other obligation, when valued at fair market value as of the time the original loan or 
obligation was incurred, was real property.  

9. Merchant discount – The fee, or negotiated discount, charged to a merchant by the 

taxpayer for the privilege of participating in a program whereby a credit, debit, or 
similar type of card is accepted in payment for merchandise or services sold to the 
cardholder, net of any cardholder chargeback and unreduced by any interchange 

transaction or issuer reimbursement fee paid to another for charges or purchases 
made by its cardholder.  

10. Participation – An extension of credit in which an undivided ownership interest is 

held on a prorated basis in a single loan or pool of loans and related collateral. In a 
loan participation, the credit originator initially makes the loan and then 
subsequently resells all or a portion of it to other lenders. The participation may or 

may not be known to the borrower.  
11. Payor – The person who is legally responsible for making payment to the taxpayer.  
12. Real property owned – Real property (i) on which the taxpayer may claim 

depreciation for federal income tax purposes or (ii) to which the taxpayer holds 
legal title and on which no other person may claim depreciation for federal income 
tax purposes or could claim depreciation if subject to federal income tax. Real 

property does not include coin, currency, or property acquired in lieu of or pursuant 
to a foreclosure.  

13. Syndication – An extension of credit in which two or more persons fund and each 

person is at risk only up to a specified percentage of the total extension of credit or 
up to a specified dollar amount.  

14. Tangible personal property owned – Tangible personal property (i) on which the 

taxpayer may claim depreciation for federal income tax purposes or (ii) to which      
the taxpayer holds legal title and on which no other person may claim depreciation 
for federal income tax purposes or could claim deprecation if subject to federal 

income tax. Tangible personal property does not include coin, currency, or property 
acquired in lieu of or pursuant to a foreclosure.  

15. Transportation property – Vehicles and vessels capable of moving under their own 

power as well as any equipment or containers attached to such property. 
Examples of transportation property include aircraft, trains, water vessels, motor 
vehicles, rolling stock, barges, and trailers.  

 
As added, subsection (b) establishes a general receipts factor fraction for a bank and 
includes only the receipts described under the statute as apportionable income for the 

taxable year. The numerator is the total receipts of the taxpayer in this State during the 
taxable year, and the denominator is the total receipts of the taxpayer everywhere during 
the taxable year. The taxpayer would use the same method in calculating receipts for the 

denominator as the numerator. The following are excluded from the receipts factor: 
 

1. Receipts from a casual sale of property; 

2. Receipts exempt from taxation;  
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3. The portion of receipts realized from the sale or maturity of securities or other 
obligations that represent a return of principal;  

4. Receipts in the nature of dividends subtracted under G.S. 105-130.5(b)(3a) and 
(3b) and dividends excluded for federal tax purposes. 

5. The portion of receipts from financial swaps and other similar financial derivatives 

that represent the notional principal amount that generate the cash flow traded in 
the swap agreement.  
 

Subsection (c) provides for the treatment of receipts from the sale, lease, or rental of real 
property in calculating the apportionment factor. Such receipts are included in the 
numerator of the apportionment factor if it is owned by the taxpayer and located in this 

State or receipts from the sublease of real property if the property is located in this State.  
 
Subsection (d) provides for the treatment of receipts from the sale, lease, or rental of 

tangible personal property in calculating the apportionment factor as below: 
 

1. Unless it is transportation property, the numerator of the apportionment factor 

includes receipts from the sale, lease, or rental of tangible personal property owned 
by the taxpayer if the property is located in this State when it is first placed in service 
by the lessee.  

 
2. If the tangible personal property is transportation property owned by the taxpayer, 

receipts from its lease or rental are included in the numerator to the extent that the 

property is used in this State. Aircraft will be considered used in this State and 
receipts included in the numerator as determined by the multiplication of all receipts 
from the lease or rental of the aircraft by a fraction, the numerator of which is the 

number of landings of the aircraft in this State and the denominator of which is the 
total number of landings of the aircraft.  If the extent of use of any transportation 
property in this State cannot be determined, then the property will be considered to 

be used wholly in the state where it has its principal base of operations. A motor 
vehicle will be considered wholly used in the state in which it is registered. 
 

Subsection (e) provides for the treatment of receipts from interest, fees, and penalties from 
loans secured by real property in calculating the apportionment factor.  The numerator of 
the apportionment factor includes interest, fees, and penalties from loans secured by the 

real property if the borrower is located in this State.  If the property is both located in this 
State and one or more other states, such receipts are included in the numerator if more 
than 50% of the fair market value of the real property is located in this State.  If more than 

50% of the fair market value is not located within any one state, then such receipts are 
included in the numerator of the receipts factor if the borrower is located in this State. The 
determination of if the real property securing a loan is located in this State is made as of 

the time the original agreement was made and any and all subsequent substitutions of 
collateral are disregarded.   
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Subsection (f) provides for the treatment of receipts from interest, fees, and penalties from 
loans not secured by real property in calculating the apportionment factor.  The numerator 

of the apportionment factor includes interest, fees, and penalties from loans not secured 
by real property if the borrower is located in this State.   
 

Subsection (g) provides for the treatment of receipts from net gains from the sale of loans 
in calculating the apportionment factor.  The numerator of the apportionment factor 
includes net gains from the sale of loans.  Such net gains include income recorded under 

the coupon stripping rules of section 1286 of the Code.  The amount of net gains from the 
sale of loans included in the numerator is determined as follows: 
 

1. Secured by real property – The amount of net gains, not less than zero, from the 
sale of loans secured by real property is determined by multiplying the net gains by 
a fraction, the numerator of which is the amount included in the numerator of the 

receipts factor pursuant to the special rule for “interest, fees, and penalties from 
loans secured by real property” (see above), and the denominator of which is the 
total amount of interest, fees, and penalties from loans secured by real property. 

The amount of net gains cannot be less than zero.      
2. Not secured by real property – The amount of net gains, not less than zero, from 

the sale of loans not secured by real property is determined by multiplying the net 

gains by a fraction, the numerator of which is the amount included in the numerator 
of the receipts factor pursuant to the special rule for “interest, fees, and penalties 
from loans not secured by real property” (see above), and the denominator of which 

is the total amount of interest, fees, and penalties from loans not secured by real 
property. 

 

Subsection (h) provides for the treatment of receipts from interest, fees, and penalties from 
cardholders in calculating the apportionment factor.  The numerator of the apportionment 
factor includes interest, fees, and penalties charged to credit, debit, or similar cardholders, 

including annual fees and overdraft fees, if the cardholder is located in this State.  
 
Subsection (i) provides for the treatment of receipts from ATM fees in calculating the 

apportionment factor.  The numerator of the apportionment factor includes receipts from 
fees from the use of an ATM owned or rented by the taxpayer, if the ATM is located in this 
State.  The receipts factor includes all ATM fees not forwarded directly to another bank.  

Receipts from ATM fees not sourced under the special rule for “receipts from ATM fees” 
are sourced as “all other receipts” (see below).  
 

Subsection (j) provides for the treatment of receipts from net gains from the sale of credit 
card receivables in calculating the apportionment factor.  The numerator of the 
apportionment factor includes net gains, not less than zero, from the sale of credit card 

receivables multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the amount included in the 
numerator of the receipts factor pursuant to the subsection (h) for “receipts from interest, 
fees, and penalties from cardholders,” and the denominator of which is the taxpayer's total 

amount of interest, fees, and penalties charged to cardholders. 
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Subsection (k) provides for the treatment of miscellaneous receipts in calculating the 
apportionment factor.  The numerator of the apportionment factor includes all of the 

following: 
 

1. Card issuer's reimbursement fees – Receipts from card issuer's reimbursement 

fees if the payor is located in this State.  
2. Receipts from merchant's discount – Receipts from a merchant discount if the payor 

is located in this State.  

3. Loan servicing fees – Receipts from loan servicing fees if the payor is located in this 
State.  

4. Receipts from services – Receipts from services not otherwise apportioned under 

this section if the payor is located in this State.  
5. Receipts from investment assets and activity and trading assets and activity include 

receipts from one or more of the following:  

 
a. Interest and dividends from investment assets and activities and trading 

assets and activities if the payor is located in this State.  

b. Net gains and other income, not less than zero, from investment assets 
and activities and trading assets and activities multiplied by a fraction, the 
numerator of which is the amount included in the numerator of the 

receipts factor of interest and dividends from investment assets and 
activities and trading assets and activities if the payor is located in this 
State, and the denominator of which is the taxpayer's total amount of 

interest and dividends from investment assets and activities and trading 
assets and activities.  

 

Subsection (l) provides for the treatment of all other receipts in calculating the 
apportionment factor.  Any other receipts not specifically addressed by a special rule are 
included in the numerator if the payor is located in this State. 

 
(Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2020; s. 3.(c), S.L. 2019-246.) 

 

G.S. 105-130.5(a)(21) – Addition to Federal Taxable Income for Deferral of Income 

from the Discharge of Indebtedness:  This subdivision was repealed because it is an 
obsolete income tax adjustment. In 2009, certain taxpayers were allowed under the Code 
to elect to defer reporting cancellation of debt income in tax years 2009 and 2010, and 

instead report the income over a five-year period beginning in 2014. North Carolina 
decoupled from this provision and taxpayers were required to recognize the income in 
2009 and 2010, but could deduct the amount recognized as income for federal tax 

purposes for tax years 2014-2018 to avoid being double taxed on the income for State tax 
purposes. This addition is no longer needed since 2018 was the last year the amount 
would have been recognized.  

 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 5.3., S.L. 2020-58.) 
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G.S. 105-130.5(a)(31) – Addition to Federal Taxable Income for the Amount of 
Interest Deducted in Excess of the Amount Allowed under the Code:  This subdivision 

was added to decouple from the modification of limitation on business interest allowed 
under section 2306 of the CARES Act.  Federal law increased the limit on deductions for 
business interest expense under IRC section 163(j) from thirty percent (30%) to fifty 

percent (50%) of a taxpayer’s adjusted taxable income for tax years 2019 and 2020. As 
amended, the limit on deductions for business interest expense under IRC section 163(j) 
remains at thirty percent (30%) of a taxpayer’s adjusted taxable income as calculated on a 

separate entity basis. This decoupling adjustment requires the taxpayer to add to federal 
taxable income the amount of interest expense deduction under the IRC section 163(j) that 
exceeds what would have been allowed under the Code as of January 1, 2020.   

 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 1.(c), S.L. 2020-58.) 

 

G.S. 105-130.5(a)(32) – Addition to Federal Taxable Income for the Amount of 

Expense Deducted that Results in Forgiveness of a Covered Loan:  This subdivision 
was added to require taxpayers to add the amount of any expense deducted under the 
Code to the extent that such expense payments result in forgiveness of a loan covered 

under section 1106(b) of the CARES Act and the income associated with the forgiveness 
is excluded from gross income under section 1106(i) of the CARES Act to be required to 
be added back. This amendment was made to prevent taxpayers from receiving a double 

tax benefit by receiving a deduction for expenses paid with tax exempt income.  
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 1.(c), S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

G.S. 105-130.5(b)(25) – Deduction from Federal Taxable Income for the Amount 
Added as Deferred Income under the Code:  This subdivision was repealed because it 
is an obsolete income tax adjustment. In 2009, certain taxpayers were allowed under the 

Code to elect to defer reporting cancellation of debt income in tax years 2009 and 2010, 
and instead report the income over a five-year period beginning in 2014. North Carolina 
decoupled from this provision and taxpayers were required to recognize the income in 

2009 and 2010, but could deduct the amount recognized as income for federal tax 
purposes for tax years 2014-2018 to avoid being double taxed on the income for State tax 
purposes. This deduction is no longer needed since 2018 was the last year the amount 

would have been recognized. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 5.3., S.L. 2020-58.) 

 

G.S. 105-130.5A(k) – Secretary’s Authority to Adjust Net Income or Require a 
Combined Return: Proposed Assessment or Refund:  This subsection was amended 
to add that when a refund is determined in whole or in part by a proposed assessment to 

an affiliated group member, the refund cannot be issued until the proposed assessment to 
the affiliated group member has become collectable under G.S. 105-241.22. It further 
states that the amount of the refund shall reflect any adjustments by the Department.  
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This amendment prevents refunds based on a proposed adjustment for intercompany 
transactions from being issued prior to the resolution of the corresponding proposed 

assessment, and the loss of the statute of limitations for the refund to be adjusted 
consistent with the settlement of the assessment amount.  
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 5.4., S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

G.S. 105-130.11(b)(4) – Conditional and Other Exemptions: Unrelated Business 
Income:  This subdivision was repealed. The federal Tax Cut and Jobs Act of 2017 

imposed income tax on unrelated business income from parking facilities provided by 
nonprofit organizations. North Carolina originally enacted this exclusion to ensure that 
nonprofit organizations would not be taxed on such income for State purposes, however 

the Taxpayer Certainty and Disaster Relief Act of 2019 repealed the federal tax provision 
retroactively. Thus, the provision is no longer needed. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 5.5., S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

INSURANCE GROSS PREMIUMS TAX – ARTICLE 8B 
 

G.S. 58-6-25 – Insurance Regulatory Charge:  This section was amended by the 2020 
General Assembly to set the insurance regulatory charge at six and one half percent 

(6.5%) statutorily. Language was removed referencing the General Assembly reviewing 
the rate each year unless it is necessary to change the percentage. 
 

(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 8, S.L. 2020-58.) 

 

G.S. 105-Article 8B – Title:  The title of this section was changed from “Taxes Upon 
Insurance Companies” to “Taxes Upon Insurance Companies and Prepaid Health Plans.” 
This amendment was made to include prepaid health plans in the types of organizations 

subject to the gross premiums tax and the insurance regulatory charge.  
 
(Effective 30 days after becomes law (June 30, 2020) and applies to capitation payments received 
by prepaid health plans on or after that date; SB 808, s. 16.(a)., S.L. 2020-88.) 
 

G.S. 105-228.3 – Definitions:  Amendments were made to the following subsections of 
this section: 
 

(2) The term “capitation payment” was added along with its definition to state that a 
capitation payment is defined as “amounts paid by the Department of Health and Human  
Services to prepaid health plans under capitated contracts for the delivery of Medicaid and 

NC Health Choice services in accordance with Article 4 of Chapter 108D of the General 
Statutes.” 
 

(3) The definition of “captive insurance company” was renumbered as (3). It was 
previously numbered as (1a). 
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(4) The definition of “foreign captive insurance company” was renumbered as (4). It was 
previously numbered as (1b). 

 
(5) The definition of “insurer” was renumbered as (5). It was previously numbered as (2).  
 

(6) The term “prepaid health plan” was added and its definition references what is defined 
in G.S. 108D-1. 
 

(7) The definition of “self-insurer” was renumbered as (7). It was previously numbered as 
(3). 
 
(Effective 30 days after becomes law (June 30, 2020) and applies to capitation payments received 
by prepaid health plans on or after that date; SB 808, s. 16.(b)., S.L. 2020-88.) 
 

G.S. 105-228.5(a) – Taxes Measured by Gross Premiums: Tax Levied:  This 
subsection was amended to include prepaid health plans as defined in G.S. 108D-1(30) in 
the types of organizations subject to gross premiums tax. It also includes prepaid health 

plans in the types of organizations that if subject to gross premiums tax, are not subject to 
franchise or corporate income taxes imposed in Articles 3 and 4, respectively of Chapter 
105.  

 
(Effective 30 days after becomes law (June 30, 2020) and applies to capitation payments received 
by prepaid health plans on or after that date; SB 808, s. 16.(c)., S.L. 2020-88.) 

 

G.S. 105-228.5(b)(5) – Taxes Measured by Gross Premiums: Tax Base: Prepaid 
Health Plans:  This subdivision was added to define the gross premiums tax base for 

prepaid health plans. As amended, subdivision (5) states that a prepaid health plan’s gross 
premiums tax is measured by the gross capitation payments received by the prepaid 
health plan from the Department of Health and Human Services for services provided to 

enrollees in the State Medicaid program or NC Health Choice program in the preceding 
calendar year.  
 
(Effective 30 days after becomes law (June 30, 2020) and applies to capitation payments received 
by prepaid health plans on or after that date; SB 808, s. 16.(c)., S.L. 2020-88.) 
 

G.S. 105-228.5(b1) – Taxes Measured by Gross Premiums: Calculation of Tax Base: 
This subsection was amended to describe the calculation of the tax base for prepaid 
health plans. As amended, it states that gross premiums from business done in this State 

by a prepaid health plan is all capitation payments received from the Department of Health 
and Human Services for the delivery of services to enrollees in the State Medicaid 
program or NC Health Choice program in the calendar year. It further states that the only 

allowable deductions are for capitation payments refunded by a prepaid health plan to the 
State. 
 
(Effective 30 days after becomes law (June 30, 2020) and applies to capitation payments received 
by prepaid health plans on or after that date; SB 808, s. 16.(c)., S.L. 2020-88.) 
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G.S. 105-228.5(c)(4) – Taxes Measured by Gross Premiums: Exclusions:  This 
subdivision lists the premiums that are excluded from gross premiums tax to the extent 

that federal law prevents their taxation under this Article. Amendments were made to the 
following sub-subdivisions of this subdivision: 
 

(b) Medicaid was removed so that only Medicare premiums are listed in this item. 
 
(c) This item was added to include “Medicaid or NC Health Choice premiums, other than 

capitation payments, paid by or on behalf of a Medicaid or NC Health Choice beneficiary” 
to the list of premiums excluded from gross premiums tax to the extent that federal law 
prevents their taxation under this Article.  

 
(Effective 30 days after becomes law (June 30, 2020) and applies to capitation payments received 
by prepaid health plans on or after that date; SB 808, s. 16.(c)., S.L. 2020-88.) 
 

G.S. 105-228.5(d)(2a) – Taxes Measured by Gross Premiums: Tax Rates; 

Disposition: Prepaid Health Plans:  This subdivision was added to establish the gross 
premiums tax rate for prepaid health plans. As amended, subdivision (2a) states that a 
prepaid health plan’s tax rate for gross premiums from capitation payments received is one 

and nine-tenths percent (1.9%); the same rate applicable to other insurance contracts. It 
also states that the net proceeds will be credited to the General Fund.   
 
(Effective 30 days after becomes law (June 30, 2020) and applies to capitation payments received 
by prepaid health plans on or after that date; SB 808, s. 16.(c)., S.L. 2020-88.) 

 

G.S. 105-228.5(f) – Taxes Measured by Gross Premiums: Installment Payments 
Required:  This subsection was amended to replace the term “company” with “taxpayer.” 
The term “taxpayer” was used instead to be inclusive of prepaid health plans, as well as 

insurance companies. As amended, it states that the taxpayer (now including prepaid 
health plans) must remit the installment payment balance by March 15 th following the 
taxable year and that an overpayment of tax will be credited to the taxpayer and applied 

against the taxes imposed on them under this Article. 
 
This subsection was also amended to state that prepaid health plans as well as insurance 

companies may be permitted by the Secretary to pay less than the required estimated 
payment when the insurer or prepaid health plan believes that the total estimated 
payments made for the current year will exceed the total anticipated tax liability for the 

year. Previously, only insurance companies were referenced.  
 
(Effective 30 days after becomes law (June 30, 2020) and applies to capitation payments received 
by prepaid health plans on or after that date; SB 808, s. 16.(c)., S.L. 2020-88.) 
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SECTION 3 - EXCISE TAX  
 
 

 
 
 

 

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX – ARTICLE 2A 
 
G.S. 105-113.4(10) – Definitions:  This subsection was amended by clarifying that the 
definition of sale under Article 2A includes both the transfer of possession of tobacco 
products and the transfer of ownership of tobacco products. Therefore, as amended, sale 

means “[a] transfer of possession, transfer of ownership, a trade, an exchange, or a barter, 

in any manner or by any means, with or without consideration.” 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.1, S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-113.4A(a) – Licenses: General: This subsection was amended requiring 
licensees to conspicuously display each license issued under Article 2A. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.2.(a), S.L. 2020-58) 
 

G.S. 105-113.4A(h) – Licenses: Lists: This subsection was amended allowing the  
Secretary to “make available” certain information requested by licensed manufacturers. 

This amendment allows the Secretary flexibility in how to disclose information maintained 
by the Department. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.2.(a), S.L. 2020-58) 

 
G.S. 105-113.4B(a) – Cancellation or revocation of license: Cancellation:  This 
subsection was amended to clarify the process for cancelling a license under Article 2A. If 

a licensee desires to cancel the license, the licensee must: (1) provide a written request to 
the Secretary to cancel the license, including a proposed effective date of cancellation; 
and (2) return the license to the Secretary before the effective date of cancellation.  

 
If the licensee does not include a proposed effective date of cancellation, the Secretary will 
cancel the license 15 days after the Department receives the written request. If the 

licensee is unable to return the license, the licensee must include written statement 
explaining why the license cannot be returned. If the reasons are satisfactory to the 
Secretary, the Secretary will cancel the license and notify the person whose licensed was 

cancelled. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.3.(a), S.L. 2020-58) 
 
 

SECTION 

3 
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G.S. 105-113.4B(a)-(a1) – Cancellation or revocation of license:  The statutory 
language providing for how licensees can cancel their license and the language setting 

forth Secretary’s authority to revoke a license were previously combined in subsection (a). 
To make the statute more clear, the language governing the Secretary’s authority to 
revoke a license was moved from subsection (a) into the newly created subsection: (a1). 

The catchlines were updated to reflect this change. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.3.(a), S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-113.4B(b) – Cancellation or revocation of license: Procedure:  This 
subsection was amended to clarify that when a licensee fails to attend a hearing where the 
license has not been summarily revoked, the license revocation is effective 15 days after 

the noticed hearing. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.3.(a), S.L. 2020-58) 
 

G.S. 105-113.4E(c) – Modified risk tobacco products: Substantiation: This subsection 
was amended to place the responsibility on the manufacturer to substantiate that a product 
qualifies as a modified risk tobacco product and is subject to a reduced tax rate in 

accordance with G.S. 105-113.4E. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.4., S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-113.4E(d) – Modified risk tobacco products: Forfeiture:  This subsection was 
created from an indebted paragraph in G.S. 105-113.4E(c). It separates the provisions on 
how to substantiate that a tobacco product qualifies as a modified risk tobacco product 

from the provisions requiring certain actions when a tobacco product no longer qualifies as 
a modified risk tobacco product. 
 

As amended, this subsection now requires the manufacturer to notify the Department of 
changes to any tobacco product previously substantiated under G.S. 105-113.4E(c) as a 
modified risk tobacco product. Specifically, if the order from the United States Food and 

Drug Administration (“FDA”) expires, or the FDA does not renew the order or withdraws 
the order, the manufacturer must notify the Department within 14 days of the 
manufacturer’s receipt from the FDA. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.4., S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-113.4G – Records to be kept:  This section was created to consolidate two 
nearly identical statutes within Article 2A requiring persons to maintain records for 
activities requiring licensure. Accordingly, G.S. 105-113.26 and G.S. 105-113.40 were 

repealed. This was not a substantive change and was intended to reduce unnecessary, 
repetitive statutory language and to have one statute govern record keeping requirements 
for all licensees under Article 2A.  

 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.5.(a)-(b), S.L. 2020-58) 
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G.S. 105-113.13(b) – Secretary may require a bond or irrevocable letter of credit: This 
subsection was amended to clarify that the Department may require a bond or an 

irrevocable letter of credit from all distributors regardless of whether a distributor has 
previously failed to pay taxes due.  
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.6.(a), S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-113.27(b) – Non-tax-paid cigarettes:  This subsection was amended to clarify 
that, if done in accordance with Article 2A, a person may sell or offer to sell non-tax-paid 
cigarettes. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.7., S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-113.38 – Secretary may require a bond or irrevocable letter of credit:  This 
section was amended to clarify that the Department may require a bond or an irrevocable 
letter of credit from all wholesale dealers and retail dealers regardless of whether a 

wholesale dealer or retail dealer has previously failed to pay taxes due.  
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.6.(b), S.L. 2020-58) 

 

SEVERANCE TAX – ARTICLE 5I 
 
G.S. 105-187.76(2) – Definitions:  The definition of “Commission” was updated to reflect 
previous statutory changes under Part 6A of Chapter 143B. The term “North Carolina 
Mining and Energy Commission” was replaced with “North Carolina Oil and Gas 

Commission.” 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.8.(a), S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-187.77(d) – Tax on severance of energy minerals: Marginal Gas Rate:  The 

term “Mining and Energy” was stricken. The subsection now refers to the updated 
definition of Commission. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.8.(b), S.L. 2020-58) 

 
G.S. 105-187.80(h) – Returns and payment of tax: Commission Determination:  The 
term “Mining and Energy” was stricken. The subsection now refers to the updated 

definition of Commission. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.8.(c), S.L. 2020-58) 
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TAX ON MOTOR CARRIERS – ARTICLE 36B 
 
G.S. 105-449.37(a)(1) – Definitions; tax liability; application: Definitions: This 

subdivision was amended to incorporate the most recent agreement adopted by the 
International Fuel Tax Association, Inc.: the International Fuel Tax Agreement as of 
December 1, 2018. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.9., S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-449.47(a1) – Licensure of vehicles: License and Decal:  This subsection was 

amended to clarify that if a motor carrier is operating under a temporary permit in 
accordance with G.S. 105-449.49, a motor carrier is not required to display decals on the 
motor vehicle. 

 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.10.(a), S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-449.49(a) – Temporary permits: Permitting Service:  This subsection was 
amended to update the catchline. “Issuance” was replaced with “Permitting Service” to 

clarify the role of a permitting service. A permitting service may obtain temporary permits 
from the Secretary for a fee. These permits can be subsequently issued to motor carriers 
allowing motor carriers to operate for three days without licensing the motor vehicle in 

accordance with G.S. 105-449.47. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.10.(b), S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-449.49(c) – Temporary permits: Licensed Motor Carrier: This subsection was 
added allowing a licensed motor carrier, subject to the International Fuel Tax Agreement, 

to obtain a temporary permit to operate a qualified motor vehicle in the State for 30 days 
without a decal. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.10.(b), S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-449.49(d) – Temporary permits: Permit:  This subsection was added clarifying 
that a motor carrier is required to carry a temporary permit, authorized under this section, 

in the motor vehicle. A motor carrier may be subject to penalties under G.S. 105-449.52 for 
failure to carry a temporary permit. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.10.(b), S.L. 2020-58) 
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GASOLINE, DIESEL, AND BLENDS – ARTICLE 36C 
 
G.S. 105-449.76(a) – Cancellation or revocation of license: Cancellation:  This 
subsection was amended to clarify the process for cancelling a license under Article 36C. 

If a licensee desires to cancel the license, the licensee must: (1) provide a written request  
to the Secretary to cancel the license, including a proposed effective date of cancellation; 
and (2) return the license to the Secretary before the effective date of cancellation.  

If the licensee does not include a proposed effective date of cancellation, the Secretary will 
cancel the license 15 days after the Department receives the written request. If the 
licensee is unable to return the license, the licensee must include written statement 

explaining why the license cannot be returned. If the reasons are satisfactory to the 
Secretary, the Secretary will cancel the license and notify the person whose licensed was 
cancelled. 

 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.3.(b), S.L. 2020-58) 

 
G.S. 105-449.76(a)-(a1) – Cancellation or revocation of license: The statutory language 

providing for how licensees can cancel their license and the language setting forth 
Secretary’s authority to revoke a license were previously combined in subsection (a). To 
make the statute more clear, the language governing the Secretary’s authority to revoke a 

license was moved from subsection (a) into the newly created subsection: (a1). The 
catchlines were updated to reflect this change. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.3.(b), S.L. 2020-58) 

 
G.S. 105-449.76(b) – Cancellation or revocation of license: Procedure:  This 

subsection was amended to clarify that when a licensee fails to attend a hearing where the 
license has not been summarily revoked, the license revocation is effective 15 days after 
the noticed hearing. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.3.(b), S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-449.69A(a)-(b) – Temporary license during disaster response period: 

Temporary License:  This section was added during a previous legislative session 
allowing the Department to issue a temporary license to import, export, distribute, or 
transport motor fuel in this State in response to a disaster declaration.  
 

Subsections (a) and (b) were amended expanding the authority for the Department to 
issue a temporary license in response to a state of emergency as defined in Chapter 
166A. These sections were also amended to restructure how the statute operates, 

providing additional certainty regarding the effective periods of licensure and expanding 
the time period for which a person can begin to operate in response to a state of 
emergency or disaster declaration. 

 
As amended, the person seeking a temporary license must submit an application within 
seven calendar days of engaging in business in this State. The “temporary license is 

effective on the date the applicant engages in business in this State and expires 30 days 
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after that date. Prior to the expiration of the temporary license, the licensee may request . . 
the license be extended for an additional 30 days, if the state of emergency or disaster 

declaration remains in effect.” 
 
The license will not be renewed or a new temporary license granted if the licensee failed to 

comply with Article 36C. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.11., S.L. 2020-58) 
 

G.S. 105-449.77(b) – Records and lists of license applicants and license holders:  
Lists:  This subsection was amended to allow the Secretary flexibility in how to disclose 
licensee information maintained by the Department. Specifically, the Secretary need only 

make licensee information available to other persons licensed under Article 36C.  
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.2.(c), S.L. 2020-58) 

 

G.S. 105-449.125(b)(1)-(2) – Distribution of tax revenue among various funds and 
accounts: Distribution of Remaining Revenue:  These subdivisions were amended 
changing excise tax revenue distributions from revenue collected under Article 36C. The 

allocations between the highway fund and the highway trust fund were modified as follows: 
 

 For excise tax revenue collected by the Department on or after July 1, 2020: Eighty-
one percent (81%) to the Highway Fund; Nineteen percent (19%) to the Highway 
Trust Fund. 

 For excise tax revenue collected by the Department on or after July 1, 2021: Eighty 
percent (80%) to the Highway Fund; Twenty percent (20%) to the Highway Trust 
Fund. 

 For excise tax revenue collected by the Department on or after July 1, 2022: 
Seventy-five percent (75%) to the Highway Fund; Twenty-five percent (25%) to the 

Highway Trust Fund. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2020, July 1, 2021, July 1, 2022; HB 77, s. 4.6., S.L. 2020-91) 

 
Motor Fuel Excise Tax Floor:  Pursuant to Session Law 2020-91, the motor fuel excise 
tax rate calculated by G.S. 105-449.80(a) was modified for the 2021 and 2022 calendar 

years.  
 
For the period beginning January 1, 2021, and ending on December 31, 2021, the motor 

fuel excise tax rate “shall be the greater of thirty-six and one-tenth cents (36.1¢) per gallon 
or the rate calculated pursuant to G.S. 105-449.80(a).”  
 
For the period beginning January 1, 2022, and ending on December 31, 2022, the Session 

Law modifies one variable used in calculating the motor fuel excise tax rate: the preceding 
year’s excise tax rate. Generally, the motor fuel excise tax rate is calculated by using the 
tax rate from the preceding calendar year, multiplied by a percentage of various factors. 

However, this is modified for the period beginning January 1, 2022 where the: 
 



 

42 

 

motor fuel tax rate shall be calculated pursuant to the formula set out in G.S. 105-
449.80(a) using as the amount for the preceding calendar year the amount that the 

motor fuel tax rate would have been for the period beginning on January 1, 2021, 
and ending on December 31, 2021, but for the calculation under this section 
[Section 4.2 of Session Law 2020-91]. 
 

(Effective July 1, 2020; HB 77, s. 4.2., S.L. 2020-91) 
 

ALTERNATIVE FUEL– ARTICLE 36D 
 

G.S. 105-449.134 – Denial, revocation, or cancellation of license:  This section was 

amended to clarify that the cancellation procedures provided for in Article 36C also apply 
to licensees seeking to cancel a license issued under Article 36D. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.12., S.L. 2020-58) 
 

G.S. 105-449.139(c) – Miscellaneous provisions: Lists:  This subsection was amended 

to allow the Secretary flexibility in how to disclose licensee information maintained by the 
Department. Specifically, the Secretary need only make available, annually: (1) licensed 
alternative fuel provider information to licensed bulk end-users and licensed retailers; and 

(2) licensed bulk end-user and licensed retailer information to licensed alternative fuel 
providers. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.2.(d), S.L. 2020-58) 

 

GASOLINE AND OIL INSPECTION AND REGULATION   

CHAPTER 119 – ARTICLE 3 
 

G.S. 119-19(b) – Authority of Secretary to cancel or revoke a license:  This subsection 
was amended to mirror the revocation procedures in Article 36C of Chapter 105. As 
amended, the Secretary must send notices for summary license revocations and notices of 

hearing using “certified mail” instead of “registered mail.” 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.13, S.L. 2020-58)  
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OTHER ADMINISTRATIVE CHANGES 
 
Exemption from the Definition of State Agency Licensing Board:  Session Law 2020-

58 removed the North Carolina Department of Revenue as a state agency licensing board 
as defined under G.S. 93B-1(3).  
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 6.5, S.L. 2020-58) 
 

G.S. 105-259(b)(50) – Secrecy required of officials; penalty for violation: Disclosure 
Prohibited:  This subdivision was amended to allow the Secretary flexibility in how to 

disclose licensee information maintained by the Department and to clarify who can obtain 
taxpayer information. Specifically, the Secretary need only make licensee information 
available to other persons licensed under Article 2A. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.2.(b), S.L. 2020-58) 
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SECTION 4 - SALES AND USE TAX     
 
 

 
 
 

SALES AND USE TAX – ARTICLE 5 
 
 
G.S. 105-164.3 – Definitions:  The Revisor of Statutes is authorized to renumber the 

subdivisions of G.S. 105-164.3 to ensure that the subdivisions are listed in alphabetical 
order and in a manner that reduces the current use of alphanumeric designations, to make 
conforming changes, and to reserve sufficient space to accommodate future additions to 

the statutory section.  There are multiple definitions that have not been renumbered, but 
have been placed in alphabetical order.  
 

The definitions included in Senate Bill 557, Session Law 2019-246, and in House Bill 1079, 
Session Law 2020-6, that are not yet included by the Revisor of Statutes in G.S. 105-
164.3, are marked with an asterisk (*) and included in alphabetical order within the other 

definitions included below and numbered as (*) since the actual number assigned is not 
yet known. 
 

The 2018, 2019, and 2020 General Assembly added new defined terms and amended 
multiple definitions for existing defined terms.  The changes and their effective dates are 
as follows: 

 
Accommodation – (*).  The definition of the term was previously codified as G.S. 105-
164.4F(a)(1) and continues to be defined as “[a] hotel room, a motel room, a residence, a 

cottage, or a similar lodging facility for occupancy by an individual.”  
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(d), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 

 

Accommodation Facilitator – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[a] 

person that contracts, either directly or indirectly, with a provider of an accommodation to 
perform, either directly or indirectly, one or more of the activities listed in this subdivision.  
The term includes a real estate broker as defined in G.S. 93A-2.  The activities are: 

 
a. Market the accommodation and accept payment or collect credit card or other 

payment information for the rental of the accommodation. 
b. List the accommodation for rental on a forum, platform, or other application for a fee 

or other consideration.” 
The “accommodation facilitator” definition is intended to replace the definition of the terms 
“facilitator” in G.S. 105-164.4F(a)(2) and “rental agent” in G.S. 105-164.4F(a)(3) that are 

repealed.   
 

SECTION 

4 
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(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(d), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

Additional Digital Goods – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[a]ll of  

the following if transferred electronically:  
 

a. A magazine, a newspaper, a newsletter, a report, or another publication.  

b. A photograph. 
c. A greeting card.” 

 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2020-6.) 

 

Admission Charge – (*).  The definition of the term was previously codified as G.S. 105-
164.4G(a)(1) and continues to be defined as “[g]ross receipts derived for the right to attend 
an entertainment activity.  The term includes a charge for a single ticket, a multi-occasion 

ticket, a seasonal pass, and an annual pass; a membership fee that provides for 
admission; a cover charge; a surcharge; a convenience fee, a processing fee, a facility 
charge, a facilitation fee, or similar charge; or any other charges included in gross receipts 

derived from admission.” 
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(h), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

Admission Facilitator – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[a] 

person who accepts payment of an admission charge to an entertainment activity and who 
is not the operator of the venue where the entertainment activity occurs.” 
 

The “admission facilitator” definition is intended to replace the definition of the term 
“facilitator” in G.S. 105-164.4G(a)(4) that is repealed.   
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(h), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 

 
Affiliate – (*).  The definition of the term is added and provides that the term is “[d]efined 

in G.S. 105-130.2.” 
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(m), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 

 
Amenity – (*).  The definition of the term was previously codified as G.S. 105-
164.4G(a)(2) and continues to be defined as “[a] feature that increases the value or 

attractiveness of an entertainment activity that allows a person access to items that are  
not subject to tax under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General 
Statutes] and that are not available with the purchase of admission to the same event 

without the feature.  The term includes parking privileges, special entrances, access to 
areas other than general admission, mascot visits, and merchandise discounts.  The term 
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does not include any charge for food, prepared food, and alcoholic beverages subject to 
tax under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes].”  
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(h), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

Capital Improvement – (21).  The definition of the term is amended and provides that a 
capital improvement includes “[o]ne or more of the following: 
“ . . . 

k. [a]n addition or alteration to real property that is permanently affixed or installed to 
real property and is not an activity listed in subdivision (191) of this section as 

repair, maintenance, and installation services.  [Emphasis added.]  

. . .” 
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(m), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

Certain Digital Property – (23).  The definition of the term is amended as “[s]pecified 

digital products and additional digital goods. The term does not include an information 
service or an educational service.”  [Emphasis added.] 
 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2020-6.) 

 
Digital Audio Work – (7).  The definition of the term is amended as “[a] work that results 
from the fixation of a series of musical, spoken, or other sounds, including a ringtone, that 

is transferred electronically.”  [Emphasis added.] 
 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2020-6.) 

 

Digital Audiovisual Work – (9).  The definition of the term is amended as “[a] series of 
related images, that when shown in succession, impart an impression of motion, together 
with accompanying sounds, if any, and that is transferred electronically.”  [Emphasis 

added.] 
 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2020-6.) 

 
Digital Book – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[a] work that is 
generally recognized in the ordinary and usual sense as a book that is transferred 

electronically.” 
 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2020-6.) 

 

Educational Service – (58).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[t]he 
delivery of instruction or training, whether provided in real time, on demand, or at another 
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set time, by or on behalf of a qualifying educational entity where at least one of the 
following conditions applies:  

 
a. The instruction or training is part of the curriculum for an enrolled student.  
b. The instruction or training is encompassed within the institution’s accreditation or  

prepares an enrolled student for gainful employment in a recognized occupation.  
c. The participant is evaluated by an instructor. ‘Evaluated by an instructor’ does not 

include being graded by, scored by, or evaluated by a computer program or an 

interactive, automated method.  
d. The participant is connected to the presenter or instructor via the Internet or other 

networks, allowing the participant to provide, receive, or discuss information through 

live interaction, contemporaneous with the presentation.”  [Emphasis added.]  
 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2020-6.) 
 

Engaged in Business – (65).  The definition of the term is further amended and defined 
as “[a]ny of the following: 

 
 “a. Maintaining, occupying, or using permanently or temporarily, directly or indirectly, or 

through a subsidiary or agent, by whatever name called, any office, place of 

distribution, sales or sample room, warehouse or storage place, or other place of 
business in this State, or permanently or temporarily, directly or through a 
subsidiary, having any representative, agent, sales representative, marketplace 

facilitator subject to the requirements of G.S. 105-164.4J, or solicitor operating or 
transacting business by mobile phone application or other applications in this State. 

The fact that any corporate retailer, agent, or subsidiary engaged in business in this 

State may not be legally domesticated or qualified to do business in this State is 
immaterial.  

… 
e. Making marketplace-facilitated sales subject to the requirements of G.S. 105-

164.4J.”  [Emphasis added.] 

 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(m), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 

 

Entertainment Activity – (*).  The definition of the term was previously codified as G.S. 
105-164.4G(a)(3) and continues to be defined as “[a]n activity listed in this subdivision:  
 

a. A live performance or other live event of any kind, the purpose of which is for 
entertainment. 

b. A movie, motion picture, or film.  

c. A museum, a cultural site, a garden, an exhibit, a show, or a similar attraction. 
d. A guided tour at any of the activities listed in sub-subdivision c. of this subdivision.” 

 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(h), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
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Facilitator – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[a]n accommodation 
facilitator, an admission facilitator, or a service contract facilitator.”  

 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(m), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

Livestock – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[c]attle, sheep, goats, 
swine, horses, or mules.” 

 
(Effective July 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 1079, s. 1.(b), S.L. 
2020-6.) 

 

Marketplace – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[a] physical or 
electronic place, forum, platform, application, or other method by which a marketplace 
seller sells or offers to sell items, the delivery of or first use of which is sourced to this 

State.” 
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(a), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 

 

Marketplace-Facilitated Sale – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as 
“[t]he sale of an item by a marketplace facilitator on behalf of a marketplace seller that 
occurs through a marketplace.” 
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(a), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 

 

Marketplace Facilitator – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[a] 
person that, directly or indirectly and whether through one or more affiliates, does both of 
the following:  

a. Lists or otherwise makes available for sale a marketplace seller's items through a 
marketplace owned or operated by the marketplace facilitator.  

b. Does one or more of the following:  

1. Collects the sales price or purchase price of a marketplace seller's items or 
otherwise processes payment. 

2. Makes payment processing services available to purchasers for the sale of a 

marketplace seller's items.” 
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(a), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

Marketplace Seller – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[a] person 
that sells or offers to sell items through a marketplace regardless of any of the following:  

a. Whether the person has a physical presence in this State. 

b. Whether the person is registered as a retailer in this State.  
c. Whether the person would have been required to collect and remit sales and use 

tax had the sales not been made through a marketplace.  
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d. Whether the person would not have been required to collect and remit sales and 
use tax had the sales not been made through a marketplace.” 

 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(a), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

Qualifying Educational Entity – (170). The definition of the term is added and defined as  

“[a]n entity listed in this subdivision.  For purposes of this definition, references to the 
United States Code mean the United States Code as enacted as of January 1, 2020.  The 
entities are:  

 
a. An elementary or secondary school, as defined in 20 U.S.C. § 7801.  
b. An institution of higher education, as defined in 20 U.S.C. § 1002.” 

 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2020-6.) 

 

Retailer – (195).  The definition of the term is amended and provides “[a]ny of the 
following persons: 

 
a. A person engaged in business of making sales at retail, offering to make sales at 

retail, or soliciting sales at retail of items sourced to this State.  When the Secretary 

finds it necessary for the efficient administration of . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of 
the North Carolina General Statutes] to regard any sales representatives, solicitors, 
representatives, consignees, peddlers, or truckers as agents of the dealers, 

distributors, consignors, supervisors, employers, or persons under whom they 
operate or from whom they obtain the items sold by them regardless of whether 
they are making sales on their own behalf or on behalf of these dealers, distributors, 

consignors, supervisors, employers, or persons as ‘retailers’ for the purpose of . . . 
Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes]. 

. . . 
d. A person required to collect the State tax levied under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 

of the North Carolina General Statutes] or the local taxes levied under Subchapter 
VIII of [Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes] and under Chapter 

1096 of the 1967 Session Laws. 
e. A marketplace facilitator that is subject to the requirements of G.S. 105-164.4J or a 

facilitator that is required to collect and remit the tax under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 

105 of the North Carolina General Statutes].” [Emphasis added.] 
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(m), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

Service Contract Facilitator – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as “[a] 
person who contracts with the obligor of a service contract to market the service contract 
and accepts payment from the purchaser for the service contract.” 
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The “service contract facilitator” definition is intended to replace the definition of the term 
“facilitator” in G.S. 105-164.4I(e) that is repealed.   

 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(j), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 

 

Specified Digital Products – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as 
“[d]igital audio works, digital audiovisual works, and digital books.”   

 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2020-6.) 
 

Transferred Electronically – (*).  The definition of the term is added and defined as 

“[o]btained by the purchaser by means other than tangible storage media and includes 
delivered or accessed electronically.” 
 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(a), S.L. 2020-6.) 

 
SALES AND USE TAX IMPOSITIONS 
 
G.S. 105-164.4(a) – Tax Imposed on Retailers and Certain Facilitators:  This 
subsection is amended to add clarity to the sales and use tax imposition on retail sales of 

and the use, storage, or consumption of digital codes and provides the following: 
“. . . 

(1) The general rate of tax applies to the following items sold at retail: 

. . . 
b. The sales price of certain digital property. The tax applies regardless of 

whether the purchaser of the property has a right to use it permanently or to 
use it without making continued payments. The sale at retail or the use, 
storage, or consumption in this State of a digital code is treated the same as 
the sale at retail or the use, storage, or consumption in this State of certain 

digital property for which the digital code relates."  [Emphasis added.] 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 3.4., S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

G.S. 105-164.4F – Accommodation Rentals:  The subsection G.S. 105-164.4F(a) is 
repealed.  The definition of the term “accommodation” is codified in G.S. 105-164.3.  The 

definition of the terms “facilitator” and “rental agent” in G.S. 105-164.4F(a) are repealed.  
The definition of the term “accommodation facilitator” is added in G.S. 105-164.3. 
 

These subsections are amended and provide the following: 
 

“(b) Tax. – The gross receipts derived from the rental of an accommodation are taxed at 

the general rate set in G.S. 105-164.4.  Gross receipts derived from the rental of an 
accommodation include the sales price of the rental of the accommodation.  The 
sales price of the rental of an accommodation is determined as if the rental were a 
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rental of tangible personal property.  The sales price of the rental of an 
accommodation made by an accommodation facilitator includes any charges or 

fees, by whatever name called, charged by the accommodation facilitator to the 
purchaser of the accommodation that are necessary to complete the rental.  The tax 
is due and payable by the retailer in accordance with G.S. 105-164.16.  

(b1) Retailer. – Except as otherwise provided in subsection (c) of this section, the retailer 
of the rental of an accommodation is one or more of the persons listed below that 
collects the payment, or a portion of the payment, for the rental of the 

accommodation.  In the event the person who collects the payment cannot be 
determined or is a third party that is not listed in this subsection, and subsection (c) 
of this section does not apply, the provider of the accommodation shall be 

considered the retailer of the transaction.  The retailer is liable for reporting and 
remitting the tax due on the portion of the gross receipts derived from the rental        
of the accommodation that the retailer collects.  The retailer may be one or more of 

the following:  
 

(1) The provider of the accommodation. 

(2) An accommodation facilitator. 
(c) Certain Accommodation Facilitator Transactions. – This subsection applies only to 

an accommodation facilitator that is operated by or on behalf of a hotel or a hotel 

corporation, that facilitates the rental of hotel accommodations solely for the hotel or 
the hotel corporation's owned or managed hotels and franchisees, and that collects 
payment, or a portion of the payment, for the rental of an accommodation.  An 

accommodation facilitator subject to this subsection is not considered the retailer of 
the rental of the accommodation.  The accommodation facilitator must send the 
retailer the tax due on the sales price, or the portion of the sales price, the 

accommodation facilitator collected no later than 10 days after the end of each 
calendar month.  An accommodation facilitator that does not send the retailer the 
tax due on the sales price, or the portion of the sales price the accommodation 

facilitator collected, is liable for the amount of tax the accommodation facilitator fails 
to send.  An accommodation facilitator is not liable for tax sent to a retailer but not 

remitted by the retailer to the Secretary.  Tax payments received by a retailer from 
an accommodation facilitator are held in trust by the retailer for remittance to the 
Secretary.  A retailer that receives a tax payment from an accommodation facilitator 

must remit the amount received to the Secretary.  A retailer is not liable for tax due 
but not received from an accommodation facilitator.  

(c1) Accommodation Facilitator Report. – An accommodation facilitator must file with the 
Secretary an annual report by March 31 of each year for the prior calendar year for 

accommodation rentals it makes.  The annual report must be provided in electronic 
format and include the property owner's name, the property owner's mailing 
address, the physical location of the accommodation, and gross receipts 

information for the rentals.  The report may only be used by the Secretary, and any 
person receiving the report, pursuant to G.S. 105-259, for tax compliance purposes. 

(d) Exemptions. – The tax imposed by this section does not apply to the following:  
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(1) A private residence, cottage, or similar accommodation that is rented for 
fewer than 15 days in a calendar year unless the rental of the 

accommodation is made by an accommodation facilitator.  

(2) An accommodation supplied to the same person for a period of 90 or more 
continuous days. 

(3) An accommodation arranged or provided to a person by a school, camp, or 
similar entity where a tuition or fee is charged to the person for enrollment in 
the school, camp, or similar entity."  [Emphasis added.] 

  

G.S. 105-160A-215(c) references a city occupancy tax and is amended to conform to the 
accommodation rental amendments.  

 
G.S. 105-153A-155(c) references a county occupancy tax and is amended to conform to 
the accommodation rental amendments.  

 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(e), 
4.(f), 4.(g), S.L. 2019-246.  There is no obligation to collect the sales and use tax required by this 
section retroactively.  If any provision of this section, or the application of any provision to a person 
or circumstance, is held to be invalid or unconstitutional, then the remainder of this section, and the 
application of the provisions to any person or circumstance, shall not be affected thereby.) 
 

G.S. 105-164.4G – Entertainment Activity:  The subsection G.S. 105-164.4G(a) is 
repealed.  The definition of the term “admission charge” is codified in G.S. 105-164.3.  The 
definition of the term “admission facilitator” is added in G.S. 105-164.3.  The definition of 

the term “amenity” is codified in G.S. 105-164.3.  The definition of the term “entertainment 
activity” is codified in G.S. 105-164.3. The definition of the term “facilitator” in G.S. 105-
164.4G(a) is repealed.    

 
These subsections are amended and provide the following: 
 

“(b) Tax. – The gross receipts derived from an admission charge to an entertainment 
activity are taxed at the general rate set in G.S. 105-164.4.  The tax is due and 
payable by the retailer in accordance with G.S. 105-164.16.  For purposes of the tax 

imposed by this section, the retailer is the applicable person listed below:  
(1) The operator of the venue where the entertainment activity occurs, unless 

the retailer and the admission facilitator have a contract between them 

allowing for dual remittance, as provided in subsection (d) of this section. 
(2) The person that provides the entertainment and that receives admission 

charges directly from a purchaser. 

(3) A person other than a person listed in subdivision (1) or (2) of this subsection 
that receives gross receipts derived from an admission charge sold at retail.  

(c) Admission Facilitator. – An admission facilitator must report to the retailer with 

whom it has a contract the admission charge a consumer pays to the admission 
facilitator for an entertainment activity.  The admission facilitator must send the 
retailer the portion of the gross receipts the admission facilitator owes the retailer 

and the tax due on the gross receipts derived from an admission charge no later 
than 10 days after the end of each calendar month.  An admission facilitator that 
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does not send the retailer the tax due on the gross receipts derived from an 
admission charge is liable for the amount of tax the admission facilitator fails to 

send to the retailer.  An admission facilitator is not liable for tax sent to a retailer but 

not remitted by the retailer to the Secretary.  Tax payments received by a retailer 
from an admission facilitator are held in trust by the retailer for remittance to the 

Secretary.  A retailer that receives a tax payment from an admission facilitator must 

remit the amount received to the Secretary.  A retailer is not liable for tax due but 
not received from an admission facilitator.  The requirements imposed by this 

subsection on a retailer and an admission facilitator are considered terms of the 
contract between the retailer and the admission facilitator.  

(d)   Dual Remittance. – The tax due on the gross receipts derived from an admission 

charge may be partially reported and remitted to the operator of the venue for      
remittance to the Department and partially reported and remitted by the admission 

facilitator directly to the Department.  The portion of the tax not reported and 

remitted to the operator of the venue must be reported and remitted directly by the 
admission facilitator to the Department.  An admission facilitator that elects to remit 

tax under the dual remittance option is required to obtain a certificate of registration 
in accordance with G.S. 105-164.29.  An admission facilitator is subject to the 

provisions of Article 9 of . . . Chapter [105 of the North Carolina General Statutes .”  
[Emphasis added.] 

 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(i), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 

 

G.S. 105-164.4I(a) – Service Contracts:  This subsection is amended to include the 
defined term “service contract facilitator” and provides the following: 
 

“(a) Tax. – The sales price of or the gross receipts derived from a service contract or the 
renewal of a service contract sold at retail is subject to the general rate of tax set in 
G.S. 105-164.4 and is sourced in accordance with the sourcing principles in G.S. 

105-164.4B.  The retailer of a service contract is required to collect the tax due at 
the time of the retail sale of the contract and is liable for payment of the tax.  The 
tax is due and payable in accordance with G.S. 105-164.16.  The retailer of a 

service contract is the applicable person listed below: 
 

(1) When a service contract is sold at retail to a purchaser by the obligor under 
the contract, the obligor is the retailer. 

(2) When a service contract is sold at retail to a purchaser by a service contract 
facilitator on behalf of the obligor under the contract, the service contract 

facilitator is the retailer unless the provisions of subdivision (3) of this 

subsection apply. 
(3) When a service contract is sold at retail to a purchaser by a service contract 

facilitator on behalf of the obligor under the contract and there is an 
agreement between the service contract facilitator and the obligor that states 

the obligor will be liable for the payment of the tax, the obligor is the retailer.  
The service contract facilitator must send the retailer the tax due on the sales 

price of or gross receipts derived from the service contract no later than 10 
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days after the end of each calendar month.  A service contract facilitator that 

does not send the retailer the tax due on the sales price or gross receipts is 
liable for the amount of tax the service contract facilitator fails to send.  A 
service contract facilitator is not liable for tax sent to a retailer but not 

remitted by the retailer to the Secretary.  Tax payments received by a retailer 
from a service contract facilitator are held in trust by the retailer for 

remittance to the Secretary.  A retailer that receives a tax payment from a 
service contract facilitator must remit the amount received to the Secretary.  

A retailer is not liable for tax due but not received from a service contract 

facilitator.  The requirements imposed by this subdivision on a retailer and a 
service contract facilitator are considered terms of the agreement between 

the retailer and the service contract facilitator.” 
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(k), 
S.L. 2019-246.  There is no obligation to collect the sales and use tax required by this section 
retroactively.  If any provision of this section, or the application of any provision to a person or 
circumstance, is held to be invalid or unconstitutional, then the remainder of this section, and the 
application of the provisions to any person or circumstance, shall not be affected thereby.) 
 

G.S. 105-164.4I(e) – Service Contracts:  This subsection is repealed.  The definition of 
the term “service contract facilitator” is codified in G.S. 105-164.3.    
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(k), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

G.S. 105-164.4J – Marketplace Facilitated Sales:  This section is added and provides 
the following:  
 

“(a) Scope. – This section applies to a marketplace facilitator that makes sales, 

including all marketplace-facilitated sales for all marketplace sellers, sourced to this 
State for the previous or the current calendar year that meet either of the following:  

(1) Gross sales in excess of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000). 

(2) Two hundred or more separate transactions. 
(b) Payment of Tax. – A marketplace facilitator that meets the threshold in subsection 

(a) of this section is considered the retailer of each marketplace-facilitated sale it 

makes and is liable for collecting and remitting the sales and use tax on all such 
sales.  A marketplace facilitator is required to comply with the same requirements 
and procedures as all other retailers registered or who are required to be registered 

to collect and remit sales and use tax in this State.  A marketplace facilitator is 
required to collect and remit sales tax as required by this section regardless of 
whether a marketplace seller for whom it makes a marketplace-facilitated sale 

meets any of the following conditions: 
 

(1) Has a physical presence in this State. 

(2) Is required to be registered to collect and remit sales and use tax in this 
State. 
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(3) Would have been required to collect and remit sales and use tax in this State 
had the sale not been made through a marketplace. 

(4) Would not have been required to collect and remit sales and use tax in this 
State had the sale not been made through a marketplace. 

(c) Report. – A marketplace facilitator must provide or make available to each 

marketplace seller the information listed in this subsection with respect to 
marketplace-facilitated sales that are made on behalf of the marketplace seller  
and that are sourced to this State.  The information may be provided in any format 

and shall be provided or made available no later than 10 days after the end of each 
calendar month.  The required information to be provided or made available to each 
marketplace seller is as follows: 

 
(1) Gross sales. 
(2) The number of separate transactions. 

(d) Liability Relief. – The Department shall not assess a marketplace facilitator for 
failure to collect the correct amount of tax due if the marketplace facilitator can 
demonstrate to the Secretary's satisfaction that all of the circumstances listed in this 

subsection apply.  This subsection does not apply with regard to a marketplace-
facilitated sale for which the marketplace facilitator is the marketplace seller or if the 
marketplace facilitator and the marketplace seller are affiliates.  If a marketplace 

facilitator is not assessed for tax due under this section, the marketplace seller is 
liable for the tax due under this section provided the marketplace seller is engaged 
in business in this State.  The circumstances that a marketplace facilitator must 

demonstrate are as follows: 
 

(1) The failure to collect the correct amount of tax was due to incorrect 

information given to the marketplace facilitator by the marketplace seller. 
(2) The marketplace facilitator did not receive specific written advice from the 

Secretary for the transaction at issue. 

(e) Refund of Tax. – If a purchaser receives a refund on any portion of the sales price 
from a marketplace facilitator who collected and remitted the tax on the retail sale, 
the provisions of G.S. 105-164.11A(a) apply. 

(f) Class Actions. – No class action may be brought against a marketplace facilitator in 
any court of this State on behalf of customers arising from or in any way related to 
an overpayment of sales or use tax collected on facilitated sales by a marketplace 

facilitator, regardless of whether that claim is characterized as a tax refund claim.  
Nothing in this subsection affects a customer's right to seek a refund as provided 
under G.S. 105-164.11. 

(g) Agreements. – Nothing in this section shall be construed to interfere with the ability 
of a marketplace facilitator and a marketplace seller to enter into an agreement with 
each other regarding the fulfillment of the requirements of . . . Article [5 of Chapter 

105 of the North Carolina General Statutes], except that an agreement may not 
require a marketplace seller to collect and remit sales and use tax on marketplace-
facilitated sales. 
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(h) Use Tax Obligation. – Nothing in this section affects the obligation of any purchaser 
to remit use tax for any taxable transaction for which a marketplace facilitator does 

not collect and remit sales or use tax. 
(i) Limitation. – This section does not apply to an accommodation facilitator, an 

admission facilitator, or a service contract facilitator whose collection and remittance 

requirements are set out in G.S. 105-164.4F, 105-164.4G, and 105-164.4I, 
respectively." 

 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(c), 
S.L. 2019-246.  There is no obligation to collect the sales and use tax required by this section 
retroactively.  If any provision of this section, or the application of any provision to a person or 
circumstance, is held to be invalid or unconstitutional, then the remainder of this section, and the 
application of the provisions to any person or circumstance, shall not be affected thereby.) 
 
 

G.S. 105-164.4J – Marketplace Facilitated Sales:  This section is amended by adding a 
new subsection and provides the following: 

. . . 
“(j) Grace Period. - The Department shall take no action to assess a person for any tax 

due for a filing period beginning on or after February 1, 2020, and ending prior to 

October 1, 2020, with respect to any of the circumstances listed in this subsection. 
This subsection does not apply to (i) a person that received specific written advice 
from the Secretary for the transactions at issue for the laws in effect for the 

applicable period, (ii) a person that collected tax and failed to remit it to the 
Department, or (iii) the retail sale of inventory that was held for resale. The 
applicable circumstances are:  

(1) The person sells tangible personal property on behalf of the owner of the 
tangible personal property, or the owner's estate, whether by auction or 
through the pricing of items, and the sale was conducted at the owner's 

home or farm. 
(2) The person sells fixtures and equipment held for use in operating a retail or 

wholesale business on behalf of a business, whether by auction or through 

the pricing of items, and the sale is conducted at the business location.”  
 

(Effective June 5, 2020; HB 1079, s. 1.(d), S.L. 2020-6.) 
 

G.S. 105-164.4J – Marketplace Facilitated Sales:  This section is further amended to 

update the language and provides the following: 
 

“(a) Scope. – This section applies to a marketplace facilitator engaged in business in 

this State.  [The marketplace facilitator thresholds are repealed in this subsection, 

but the thresholds are still referenced in G.S. 105-164.8(b)(9).] 
(b) Payment of Tax. – A marketplace facilitator subject to this section is considered the 

retailer of each marketplace-facilitated sale it makes and is liable for collecting and 
remitting the sales and use tax on all such sales. A marketplace facilitator is 
required to comply with the same requirements and procedures as all other retailers 

registered or who are required to be registered to collect and remit sales and use 
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tax in this State. A marketplace facilitator is required to collect and remit sales tax 
as required by this section regardless of whether a marketplace seller for whom it 

makes a marketplace-facilitated sale meets any of the following conditions: 
. . .”  [Emphasis added.] 
 

(Effective July 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 1080, s. 3.3.(a), 
S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS 
 
G.S. 105-164.8(b)(3) – Remote Sales by Retailer that Solicits or Transacts Business 

in this State by Representatives:  This subdivision is amended and provides “[a] retailer 
who makes a remote sale is engaged in business in this State and is subject to tax levied 
under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes] if at least one 

of the following conditions is met: 
. . .  

(3) The retailer solicits or transacts business in this State by employees, independent 

contractors, agents, or other representatives, whether the remote sales subject to 
taxation by this State result from or are related in any other way to the solicitation or 
transaction of business.  A retailer is presumed to be soliciting or transacting 

business by an independent contractor, agent, or other representative if the retailer 
enters into an agreement with a person of this State under which the person, for a 

commission or other consideration, directly or indirectly refers potential customers, 

whether by a link on an Internet Web site or otherwise, to the retailer.  This 
presumption applies only if the cumulative gross receipts from sales by the retailer 
to purchasers in this State who are referred to the retailer by all persons with this 

type of agreement with the retailer is in excess of ten thousand dollars ($10,000) 

during the preceding four quarterly periods.  This presumption may be rebutted by 
proof that the person with whom the retailer has an agreement did not engage in 

any solicitation in the State on behalf of the seller that would satisfy the nexus 

requirement of the United States Constitution during the four quarterly periods in 
question.”  [Emphasis added.] 

 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(b), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

G.S. 105-164.8(b)(9) – Remote Sales into North Carolina:  This subdivision is amended 
and provides “[t]he retailer makes remote sales sourced to this State, including sales as a 

marketplace seller, for the previous or the current calendar year that meet either of the 

following: 
 

a. Gross sales in excess of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000). 
b. Two hundred or more separate transactions.”  [Emphasis added.] 
 

(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(b), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
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G.S. 105-164.8(b)(10) – Marketplace Facilitator is a Retailer:  This subdivision is added 
and provides “[t]he retailer is a marketplace facilitator that makes sales, including all 

marketplace-facilitated sales for all marketplace sellers, sourced to this State for the 
previous or the current calendar year that meet either of the following: 

a. Gross sales in excess of one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000).  

b. Two hundred or more separate transactions." 
 
(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(b), 
S.L. 2019-246.  There is no obligation to collect the sales and use tax required by this section 
retroactively.  If any provision of this section, or the application of any provision to a person or 
circumstance, is held to be invalid or unconstitutional, then the remainder of this section, and the 
application of the provisions to any person or circumstance, shall not be affected thereby.) 

 

EXEMPTIONS AND EXCLUSIONS 
 
G.S. 105-164.13 – Exemptions and Exclusions:  The 2019 and 2020 General Assembly 
repealed, added, amended, and enacted clarifying changes to the exemptions from sales 

and use tax.  The changes and their effective dates are as follows: 
 

       Sales of equipment . . . – (5o).  This subdivision is amended and expands an exemption 

from sales and use tax on “[s]ales of equipment, or an accessory, an attachment, or a 
repair part for equipment that meets all of the following requirements:  

 
a. Is sold to a large fulfillment facility or to a contractor or subcontractor if the purchase 

is for use in the performance of a contract with the large fulfillment facility. 
b. Is used at the facility for any of the following purposes: 

1. In the distribution process, which includes receiving, inventorying, sorting, 

repackaging, or distributing finished retail products. 
2. Baling previously used packaging for resale, sanitizing required by federal 

law, or material handling.  

c. Is not electricity. 
 

If the level of investment or employment required by G.S. 105-164.3(97)b. is not timely 

made, achieved, or maintained, then the exemption provided under this subdivision is 
forfeited. If the exemption is forfeited due to a failure to timely make the required 
investment or to timely achieve the minimum required employment level, then the 

exemption provided under this subdivision is forfeited on all purchases. If the 
exemption is forfeited due to a failure to maintain the minimum required employment 
level once that level has been achieved, then the exemption provided under this 

subdivision is forfeited for those purchases occurring on or after the date the taxpayer 
fails to maintain the minimum required employment level. A taxpayer that forfeits an 
exemption under this subdivision is liable for all past sales and use taxes avoided as a 

result of the forfeiture, computed at the applicable State and local rates from the date 
the taxes would otherwise have been due, plus interest at the rate established under 
G.S. 105-241.21. Interest is computed from the date the sales or use tax would 

otherwise have been due. The past taxes and interest are due 30 days after the date of 
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forfeiture. A taxpayer that fails to pay the past taxes and interest by the due date is 
subject to the provisions of G.S. 105-236.”  [Emphasis added.] 

 
(Effective July 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 1079, s. 2.(a), S.L. 
2020-6.) 
 

Note:  Refund. – A large fulfillment facility is allowed a refund of all North Carolina State 

and local sales and use taxes paid by the large fulfillment facility, or paid by a 
contractor or subcontractor on the large fulfillment facility’s behalf, for purchases of 
items eligible for exemption under G.S. 105-164.13(5o), as amended by this 

section, if the purchase was made on or after April 1, 2020, but before July 1, 2020.  
A request for a refund under this section must be in writing and must include any 
information and documentation required by the Secretary.  A request for a refund 

under this section must be made on or after July 1, 2020, and is due before October 
1, 2020.  A refund allowed under this section is not an overpayment of tax and does 
not accrue interest as provided in G.S. 105-241.21. 

 
(Effective June 5, 2020; HB 1079, s. 2.(b), S.L. 2020-6.) 

  

Sales of a digital audio work or digital audiovisual work . . . to the operator of a 

home school . . . – (72).  This subdivision is added and provides an exemption from sales 
and use tax on “[s]ales of a digital audio work or a digital audiovisual work that is a 
qualifying education expense under G.S. 115C-595(a)(3) to the operator of a home school 

as defined in G.S. 115C-563.” 
 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(b), S.L. 2020-6.) 

 

Sales of a digital audio work or digital audiovisual work that consists of nontaxable 
service content . . . occurring contemporaneously – (73).  This subdivision is added 
and provides an exemption from sales and use tax on “[s]ales of a digital audio work or 

digital audiovisual work that consists of nontaxable service content when the electronic 
transfer of the digital audio work or digital audiovisual work occurs contemporaneously 
with the provision of the nontaxable service in real time.” 
 
(Effective retroactively to October 1, 2019, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 
1079, s. 3.(b), S.L. 2020-6.) 
 

G.S. 105-164.13E – Exemptions for Farmers:  The following subsection is amended as 

follows:  
 
G.S. 105-164.13E(a) – This subsection is amended and provides an exemption from sales 

and use tax on the following purchases by a qualified farmer or conditional farmer if used 
primarily in farming operations: 
. . . 

“(7) Any of the following animals:  
a. Baby chicks and poults.   
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b. Livestock." 
 
(Effective July 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; HB 1079, s. 1.(a), S.L. 
2020-6.) 

 

REFUNDS AUTHORIZED FOR CERTAIN PERSONS 
 
G.S. 105-164.14 – Certain Refunds Authorized:  This section is amended to replace the 
terms “tangible personal property” and “services” with the defined term “items” and 

provides the following: 
“. . . 

(b) Nonprofit Entities and Hospital Drugs. – A nonprofit entity is allowed a semiannual 

refund of sales and use taxes paid by it under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the 
North Carolina General Statutes] on direct purchases of items for use in carrying on 

the work of the nonprofit entity. Sales and use tax liability indirectly incurred by a 

nonprofit entity through reimbursement to an authorized person of the entity for the 
purchase of tangible personal property and services for use in carrying on the work 
of the nonprofit entity is considered a direct purchase by the entity. Sales and use 

tax liability indirectly incurred by a nonprofit entity on building materials, supplies, 
fixtures, and equipment that become a part of or annexed to any building or 
structure that is owned or leased by the nonprofit entity and is being erected, 

altered, or repaired for use by the nonprofit entity for carrying on its nonprofit 
activities is considered a sales or use tax liability incurred on direct purchases by 
the nonprofit entity. The refund allowed under this subsection does not apply to 

purchases of electricity, telecommunications service, ancillary service, piped natural 
gas, video programming, or a prepaid meal plan. A request for a refund must be in 
writing and must include any information and documentation required by the 

Secretary. A request for a refund for the first six months of a calendar year is due 
the following October 15; a request for a refund for the second six months of a 
calendar year is due the following April 15. The aggregate annual refund amount 

allowed an entity under this subsection for the State's fiscal year may not exceed 
thirty-one million seven hundred thousand dollars ($31,700,000).  

 

The refunds allowed under this subsection do not apply to an entity that is owned 
and controlled by the United States or to an entity that is owned or controlled by the 
State and is not listed in this subsection. A hospital that is not listed in this 

subsection is allowed a semiannual refund of sales and use taxes paid by it on 
over-the-counter drugs purchased for use in carrying out its work. The following 
nonprofit entities are allowed a refund under this subsection:  

…  
(c) Certain Governmental Entities. – A governmental entity listed in this subsection is 

allowed an annual refund of sales and use taxes paid by it.  Article [5 of Chapter 
105 of the North Carolina General Statutes] on direct purchases of items. Sales and 

use tax liability indirectly incurred by a governmental entity on building materials, 
supplies, fixtures, and equipment that become a part of or annexed to any building 

or structure that is owned or leased by the governmental entity and is being 
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erected, altered, or repaired for use by the governmental entity is considered a 
sales or use tax liability incurred on direct purchases by the governmental entity for 

the purpose of this subsection. The refund allowed under this subsection does not 
apply to purchases of electricity, telecommunications service, ancillary service, 
piped natural gas, video programming, or a prepaid meal plan. A request for a 

refund must be in writing and must include any information and documentation 
required by the Secretary. A request for a refund is due within six months after the 
end of the governmental entity's fiscal year.  

 This subsection applies only to the following governmental entities: 
. . .”  [Emphasis added.] 
 
The effect is that certain digital property is refundable. 
 
(Effective July 1, 2020, and applies to purchases made on or after that date; HB 1080, s. 3.1.(a), 
S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

OTHER PROVISIONS 
 
G.S. 105-164.16 – Returns and Payment of Taxes:  This section is amended to remove 
unnecessary language and provides the following: 

 
“(d) Use Tax on Purchases. – Use tax payable by an individual who purchases an item, 

other than a boat or aircraft, for a nonbusiness purpose is due on an annual basis. 

For an individual who is not required to file an individual income tax return under 
Part 2 of Article 4 of . . . [Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes] , the 
annual reporting period ends on the last day of the calendar year and a use tax 

return is due by the following April 15. For an individual who is required to file an 
individual income tax return, the annual reporting period ends on the last day of the 
individual's income tax year, and the use tax must be paid on the income tax return 

as provided in G.S. 105-269.14." 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 3.2., S.L. 2020-58.) 

 

G.S. 105-164.22 – Record-Keeping Requirements, Inspection Authority, and Effect of 
Failure to Keep Records:  This section is amended and provides the following: 

 
“(a) Record Keeping Generally. – Retailers, wholesale merchants, facilitators, real 

property contractors, and consumers must keep records that establish their tax 

liability under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes].  
The Secretary or a person designated by the Secretary may inspect these records 
at any reasonable time during the day. 

(b) Retailers. – A retailer's records must include records of the retailer's gross income, 
gross sales, net taxable sales, all items purchased for resale, and any reports or 
records related to transactions with a facilitator with whom it has a contract as 

provided in . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes].  

Failure of a retailer to keep records that establish a sale is 
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exempt under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes] 
subjects the retailer to liability for tax on the sale. 

(c) Wholesale Merchants. – A wholesale merchant's records must include a bill of sale 

for each customer that contains the name and address of the purchaser, the date of 
the purchase, the item purchased, and the sales price of the item.  A wholesale 

merchant must also keep records that establish a sale is exempt from tax and any 
reports or records related to transactions with a facilitator with whom it has a 
contract as provided in . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General 

Statutes].  Failure of a wholesale merchant to keep records that establish a sale is 
exempt from tax under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General 

Statutes] subjects the wholesale merchant to liability for tax at the rate that applies 

to the retail sale of the item. 
(d) Facilitators. – A facilitator's records must include records of the facilitator's gross 

income, gross sales, net taxable sales, all items purchased for resale, any reports 

or records related to transactions with a retailer with whom it has a contract as 
provided in . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 of the North Carolina General Statutes], 
and any other records that establish its tax liability. Failure of a facilitator to keep 

records that establish a sale is exempt from tax under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 105 
of the North Carolina General Statutes] subjects the facilitator to liability for tax on 
the sale. 

(e) Real Property Contractors. – A real property contractor's records must include 
substantiation that a transaction is a real property contract or a mixed transaction 
contract pursuant to G.S. 105-164.4H(a1).  Failure of a real property contractor to 

keep records that establish a real property contract under . . . Article [5 of Chapter 
105 of the North Carolina General Statutes] subjects the real property contractor to 
liability for tax on the sale. 

(f) Consumers. – A consumer's records must include an invoice or other statement of 

the purchase price of an item the consumer purchased from inside or outside the 
State and any sales and use tax paid thereon.   

   
  

Failure of the consumer to keep these records subjects the consumer to liability for tax on 

the purchase price of the item, as determined by the Secretary."  [Emphasis added.] 
 

(Effective February 1, 2020, and applies to sales occurring on or after that date; SB 557, s. 4.(l), 
S.L. 2019-246.) 
 

SPECIAL PROVISIONS 
 

G.S. 105-237.1(a)(9) – Authority:  This subdivision is added and provides “[t]he Secretary 
may compromise a taxpayer's liability for a tax that is collectible under G.S. 105-241.22 
when the Secretary determines that the compromise is in the best interest of the State and 

makes one or more of the following findings: 
. . . 

(9) The taxpayer is an auctioneer licensed under Chapter 85B of the General Statutes, 

and the assessment is for sales tax that the taxpayer failed to collect for the sale of 
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livestock at auction. The Secretary must determine that the taxpayer has made a 
good-faith effort to comply with the tax laws, including being registered as a retailer 

on or before July 1, 2020. This subdivision applies to assessments for any tax due for 
a reporting period ending prior to July 1, 2020. This subdivision does not apply if the 
person received specific written advice from the Secretary for the transactions at 

issue for the laws in effect for the applicable period or for tax collected and not 
remitted to the Department.” 

 
(Effective June 5, 2020; HB 1079, s. 1.(c), S.L. 2020-6.) 
 

G.S. 105-244.4A – Grace period from sales and use tax enforcement actions with 
respect to the sale of certain digital property by certain continuing education and 
professional development providers:  This section is added and provides “’[t]he 

Department shall take no action to assess a person for any sales and use tax due for a 
filing period beginning on or after October 1, 2019, and ending prior to August 1, 2020, 
with respect to the retail sale of digital audio works or digital audiovisual that meet either of 

the conditions listed in this section. This section does not apply to a person that received 
specific written advice from the Secretary for the transactions at issue for the laws in effect 
for the applicable period or to a person that collected tax and failed to remit it to the 

Department.  The conditions are: 
 

(1) The digital audio works or digital audiovisual works consist of continuing education 

instruction approved by an occupational licensing board. 
(2) The digital audio works or digital audiovisual works consist of professional 

development instruction for school board members, administrators, or staff.” 

 
(Effective June 5, 2020; HB 1079, s. 3.(d), S.L. 2020-6.) 

 

G.S. 105-244.4A – Grace period from sales and use tax enforcement actions with 

respect to the sale of certain digital property by certain continuing education and 
professional development providers:  This section was added and provides that the  
“[t]he Department shall take no action to assess a person for any sales and use tax due for 

a filing period beginning on or after October 1, 2019, and ending prior to August 1, 2020, 
with respect to the retail sale of digital audio works or digital audiovisual works that meet 

either of the conditions listed in this section. This section does not apply to a person that 

received specific written advice from the Secretary for the transactions at issue for the 
laws in effect for the applicable period or to a person that collected tax and failed to remit it 
to the Department. The conditions are:  

 
(1) The digital audio works or digital audiovisual works consist of continuing education 

instruction approved or required by an occupational licensing board.  

(2) The digital audio works or digital audiovisual works consist of professional 
development instruction for school board members, administrators, or staff."  
[Emphasis added.] 

 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 3.6., S.L. 2020-58.) 
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SECTION 5 - LOCAL GOVERNMENT 
 

    
 

 

LOCAL GOVERNMENT 
 

G.S. 105-277.4. Agricultural, horticultural and forestland – Application; appraisal at 
use value; notice and appeal; deferred taxes: 

 
105-277.4(b1) – Adds a notice provision to certain disqualification decisions: “If the 
assessor determines that the property loses its eligibility for present-use value 

classification for a reason other than failure to file a timely application required due to 
transfer of the land, the assessor shall provide written notice of the decision as required by 
G.S. 105-296(i). The notice shall include the property's tax identification number, the 

specific reason for the disqualification, and the date of the decision.”   
 
Provides that an appeal from such disqualification must be made within 60 days after date 

of the written notice of the decision of the assessor.   
 
While an appeal from such disqualification is pending, a new appeal is not required for 

subsequent years.  If a property is reinstated in the present-use value classification 
program pursuant to an appeal, the reinstatement applies retroactively to the date of 
disqualification. 

 
If, while an appeal from such disqualification is pending, the assessor determines that the 
property loses its eligibility for present-use value classification for an additional, 

independent reason, “the assessor shall follow the notice and appeal procedure set forth in 
this subsection with regard to the subsequent disqualification.” 
  
(Effective June 12, 2020; SB 315; s. 8, S.L. 2020-18) 
 

G.S. 105-356 – Priority of Tax Liens:  105-356(a)(1) – Provides that the term "lien for 

State taxes" includes a lien for Employment Security contributions under G.S. 96-10. 
 
(Effective May 4, 2020; SB 704; s. 1.4.(b), S.L. 2020-3) 
 
 
 
 
 

SECTION 

5 
 

https://www.ncleg.gov/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_105/GS_105-282.1.html
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SECTION 6 - GENERAL ADMINISTRATION  

 
 

 

 

GENERAL ADMINISTRATION – ARTICLE 9 
 

G.S. 105-228.90(b) – Scope and Definitions: Definitions:  Subdivision (1b) of this 
subsection was amended to update the reference to the Internal Revenue Code from 

January 1, 2019 to May 1, 2020.  Any amendments to the Internal Revenue Code enacted 
after January 1, 2019 that increase North Carolina taxable income for the 2019 taxable 
year become effective for tax year 2020. 

 
An unnumbered (#) subdivision was also added for the definition of the “CARES Act.” As 
defined, it is the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act.  

 
This subsection was further amended to add two new subdivisions as part of a series of 
changes that require a taxpayer to provide the full taxpayer identification number when tax 

documents are filed with the Department.   
 
Subdivision (9) was added to define the term “Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN)” as an 

identification number issued by the Social Security Administration or the Internal Revenue 
Service, excluding a Taxpayer Identification Number for Pending U.S. Adoptions (ATIN) 
and a Preparer Taxpayer Identification Number (PTIN).  

 
Subdivision (10) was added to define the term “Truncated Taxpayer Identification Number 
(TTIN)” by reference to Treasury Regulation section 301.6109-4.  In general, a truncated 

taxpayer identification number is a social security number (SSN) or other identification 
number whereby the first five digits are omitted (e.g., XXX-XX-1234). 
 

The Revisor of Statutes is authorized to renumber the subdivisions of G.S. 105-228.90(b) 
to ensure that the subdivisions are listed in alphabetical order and in a manner that 
reduces the current use of alphanumeric designations, to make conforming changes, and 

to reserve sufficient space to accommodate future additions to the statutory subsection. 
The above amendments may be renumbered by the Revisor of Statutes. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 1.(a,b), 4.4(a), S.L. 2020-58.) 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SECTION 

6 
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G.S. 105-236(a)(10) – Penalties Regarding Informational Returns:  This subdivision 
was amended to add three additional Articles to which a penalty for failure to file an 

informational return timely and a penalty for failure to file an informational return in the 
format prescribed by the Secretary apply. 
 

Under prior law, the penalty for failure to file an informational return timely and the penalty 
for failure to file an informational return in the format prescribed by the Secretary applied to 
the following Articles: 

 

 Article 4A, Withholding Tax 

 Article 5, Sales and Use Tax 

 Article 9, General Administration; Penalties and Remedies 

 Article 36C, Gasoline, Diesel, and Blends  

 Article 36D, Alternative Fuel 
 
As amended, the penalty for failure to file an informational return timely and the penalty for 

failure to file an informational return in the format prescribed by the Secretary apply to the 
following Articles: 
 

 Article 2A, Tobacco Products Tax 

 Article 2C, Alcoholic Beverage License and Excise Tax 

 Article 4, Income Tax 

 Article 4A, Withholding Tax 

 Article 5, Sales and Use Tax 

 Article 9, General Administration; Penalties and Remedies 

 Article 36C, Gasoline, Diesel, and Blends  

 Article 36D, Alternative Fuel 
 
(Effective January 1, 2020, and applies to informational returns due to be filed on or after that date; 
SB 523, s. 5.2.(a), S.L. 2019-169.) 
 

G.S. 105-236.1(a)(3) – Enforcement of Revenue Laws by Revenue Law Enforcement 
Agents: General:  This subdivision was amended to add a new criminal offense to the list 

of offenses for which the Secretary of Revenue may appoint employees of the Criminal 
Investigations Division to serve as revenue law enforcement officers. The added criminal 
offense is for the secrecy of tax information related to G.S. 105-259. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 6.1, S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

G.S. 105-237.1(a)(9) – Authority:  This subdivision was added and provides that the 
Secretary may compromise the liability of an auctioneer licensed under Chapter 85B of the 
General Statutes if the assessment is for sales tax that the taxpayer failed to collect  for the 

sale of livestock at auction if certain conditions are met.  A complete explanation is located 
under Special Provisions of the Sales and Use Tax section of this document.  
 
(Effective June 5, 2020; HB 1079, s. 1.(c), S.L. 2020-6.) 
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G.S. 105-241.8(b) – Statute of Limitations for Assessments: Exceptions:  This statute 
was amended to add new subdivision (2a) to the list of exceptions to the general statute of 

limitations for proposing an assessment.  As enacted, subdivision (2a) provides a ten-year 
statute of limitations applicable to a tax assessment for trust taxes collected but not 
remitted to the State.   

 
As amended and specifically provided in G,S, 105-241.8(b)(2a), if a taxpayer, as a trustee, 
collects taxes on behalf of the State, but fails to remit all the taxes held in trust when due, 

the period for proposing as assessment is the later of the following: 
 

a. Ten years from the due date of the return. 

b.   Ten years after the taxpayer filed the return. 
 

(Effective June 30, 2020 and applies to assessments not barred by the statute of limitations prior to 
that date; HB 1080, s. 6.2.(a), S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

G.S. 105-241.13 – Action on Request for Review:  This section, which addresses the 

Department’s actions on timely requests for Departmental review, was amended to add 
additional clarifying language and to move a sentence found in subsection (c) to a more 
appropriate place in subsection (b).  Importantly, the substance of the law effectively 

remains the same.   
 
Under prior law, subsection (c) provided that if a taxpayer fails to attend a scheduled 

conference on the proposed denial of a refund or a proposed assessment without notifying 
the Department, the Department and the taxpayer are considered to be unable to resolve 
the issue. 

 
The additional language inserted into subsection (b) clarifies that the Department and the 
taxpayer may mutually agree to reschedule the conference.  As was with the prior law, 

subsection (b) now provides that if the taxpayer fails to attend the scheduled conference 
on the proposed denial of a refund or a proposed assessment, the Department and the 
taxpayer are considered to be unable to resolve the taxpayer's objection. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 4.5, S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

G.S. 105-242.2(f) – Personal Liability When Certain Taxes Not Paid:  This subsection 

was added to state that the scope of section 105-242.2 does not “apply to, or limit the 
criminal liability of any person.” This amendment clarifies that the civil tax liability statute 
has no applicability to the criminal liability of a person.  
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 6.3, S.L. 2020-58.) 
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G.S. 105-243.1(a)(1) – Collection of Tax Debts: Definitions: Overdue Tax Debt:  This 
subdivision was amended to update the definition of an overdue tax debt to any part of a 

tax debt that remains unpaid 60 days or more after it becomes collectible under G.S. 105-
241.22. The term does not include tax debt for which the taxpayer enters into an 
installment agreement within 60 days after the debt becomes collectible. Under prior law, 

the definition applied to any part of a tax debt that remained unpaid 90 days or more after 
it became collectible. 
 
(Effective August 1, 2020, and applies to tax debts that become collectible after that date; HB 
1080, s. 6.4.(a), S.L. 2020-58.) 

 
G.S. 105-243.1(d) – Collection of Tax Debts:  Fee:  This subsection was amended by 

the 2019 General Assembly to allow the Department to impose a collection assistance fee 
60 days after a tax debt is deemed collectible under G.S. 105-241.22.  Under prior law, the 
collection assistance fee was assessed 90 days after the debt was deemed collectible.  

Additionally, the requirement that the Department mail a separate collection fee notice to 
the taxpayer earlier than 60 days after the debt becomes collectible has been removed. 
The 2020 General Assembly made an amendment to the effective date of the legislation 

passed for this subsection under S.L. 2019-169. As amended, the effective date was 
changed from January 1, 2020 to August 1, 2020. 
 
(Effective August 1, 2020, and applies to tax debts that become collectible on or after that date; SB 
523, s. 5.1.(a), S.L. 2019-169 and HB 1080, s. 6.4.(b), S.L. 2020-58.) 

 
The 2020 General Assembly further amended this subsection to state that the Department 
must notify the taxpayer 60 days prior to imposing the collection assistance fee on an 

overdue tax debt. Language was removed that stated the fee was imposed on an overdue 
tax debt that remained unpaid for 60 days or more. As amended, the fee is tied to when 
notice is given to the taxpayer. The amendment also provides that notice of the fee may be 

included on the collection notice. These changes were made to be consistent with the 
amendment made to this subsection by the 2019 General Assembly.  
 
(Effective August 1, 2020, and applies to tax debts that become collectible after that date; HB 
1080, s. 6.4.(a), S.L. 2020-58.) 

 

G.S. 105-244.4A – Grace Period from Sales and Use Tax Enforcement Actions with 
Respect to the Sale of Certain Digital Property by Certain Continuing Education and 
Professional Development Providers:  This section was added and provides that the 

Department shall take no action to assess a person for any sales and use tax due for a 
filing period beginning on or after October 1, 2019, and ending prior to August 1, 2020, 
with respect to the retail sale of digital audio works or digital audiovisual works that meet 

certain conditions.  A complete explanation is located under Special Provisions of the 
Sales and Use Tax section of this document.  
 
(Effective June 5, 2020; HB 1079, s. 3.(d), S.L. 2020-6; Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 3.6., 
S.L. 2020-58.) 
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G.S. 105-252.1 – Use of a TTIN:  To reduce the risk of identity theft, the Internal Revenue 
Service (“IRS”) issued regulations permitting a person to truncate a payee’s identification 

number on a statement the person gives to the payee (i.e., authorizes the use of a 
Truncated Taxpayer Identification Number (TTIN), as the term is defined by Treasury 
Regulation section 301.3109-4).  Importantly, the regulations do not allow the use of a 

TTIN on tax documents filed with the IRS. 
 
Article 9 of Chapter 105 was amended to add a new section to specify that a TTIN may not 

be used on any return, statement, or other document required to be filed with or furnished 
to the Department unless specifically authorized by law. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 4.4.(b), S.L. 2020-58.) 
 

G.S. 105-259(b)(49) – Secrecy Required of Officials; Penalty for Violation: Disclosure 
Prohibited:  This subdivision was amended to allow the Department of Revenue to 

disclose information regarding Article 8B tax information with the North Carolina 
Department of Health and Human Services. Previously, information concerning a tax 
imposed under Article 8B could only be shared with the Department of Insurance. This 

subdivision also was amended to clarify that the reference to “Department” is for the 
Department of Revenue.  
 
(Effective August 1, 2020, and applies to capitation payments received by prepaid health plans on 
or after that date; SB 808, s. 16.(e)., S.L. 2020-88.) 

 

G.S. 105-259(b)(50) – Secrecy Required of Officials; Penalty for Violation: Disclosure 
Prohibited:  This subdivision was amended to allow the Secretary flexibility in how to 
disclose licensee information maintained by the Department and to clarify who can obtain 

taxpayer information. Specifically, the Secretary need only make licensee information 
available to other persons licensed under Article 2A. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 2.2.(b), S.L. 2020-58.) 

 

G.S. 105-269.8(c) – Contribution by Individual for Early Detection of Breast and 

Cervical Cancer: Sunset:  The sunset of this contribution was extended.  The 
contribution was scheduled to expire for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 
2021.  As rewritten, the contribution now sunsets for taxable years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2026. 
 
(Effective June 30, 2020; HB 1080, s. 7.1, S.L. 2020-58.) 

 
 
 
 


