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North Carolina’s Reference to the Internal Revenue Code Updated - Impact 
on 2015 North Carolina Corporate and Individual income Tax Returns 

Governor McCrory signed into law Session Law 2016-6 (Senate Bill 726) on June 1, 2016.  The 
legislation updated North Carolina’s reference to the Internal Revenue Code to the Code as enacted as of 
January 1, 2016.  As a result, North Carolina corporate and individual income tax laws generally follow 
the Protecting Americans From Tax Hikes Act of 2015 (“PATH”), which extended, and in some cases 
made permanent, several provisions in federal law that had sunset at the end of 2014.   The law decouples 
from (does not follow) PATH in six instances.  The table below identifies those instances and describes 
each difference and which lines on the tax returns are impacted. 

 

 Federal Provision State Provision for 2015 NC  C Corporate 
Return 

NC Individual 
Return 

1 Bonus depreciation is 
extended to property 
placed in service in 2015, 
2016 and 2017. 

Addition required for 85% 
of bonus depreciation 
deducted on federal return. 

Include on Form 
CD-405, Schedule 
H, Line 1.g. 

Include on Form 
D-400 Schedule S, 
Part A, Line 3. 

2 Code section 179 dollar 
and investment 
limitations of $500,000 
and $2,000,000, 
respectively, extended to 
2015.  These amounts 
will increase for inflation 
beginning with tax year 
2016.   

NC dollar and investment 
limitations of $25,000 and 
$200,000, respectively, 
extended to 2015 and made 
permanent.  Addition 
required for 85% of the 
difference between the 
deduction using federal 
limitations and the deduction 
using NC limitations. 

Include on Form 
CD-405, Schedule 
H, Line 1.g. 

Include on Form 
D-400 Schedule S, 
Part A, Line 3. 

3 The treatment of 
mortgage insurance 
premiums as qualified 
residence interest is 
extended for 2015 and 
2016. 

Mortgage insurance 
premiums are not treated as 
qualified residence interest. 

Not applicable Exclude from 
Form D-400 
Schedule S, Part 
C, Line 13. 
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4 The exclusion from gross 
income for cancellation 
of qualified principal 
residence debt is 
extended for 2015 and 
2016.  

Cancellation of qualified 
principal residence debt is 
not excluded from gross 
income. 

Not applicable Include on Form 
D-400 Schedule S, 
Part A, Line 3. 

5 The exclusion from gross 
income for qualified 
charitable distributions 
from an IRA by a person 
who has attained age 70 
½ is extended for 2015 
and 2016. 

Qualified charitable 
distributions from an IRA by 
a person who has attained 
age 70 ½ are not excluded 
from gross income.  The 
distributions are allowable 
as a charitable contribution. 

Not applicable Include addition 
on Form D-400 
Schedule S, Part 
A, Line 3. 

Deduct 
contribution on 
Form D-400 
Schedule S, Part 
C, Line 18 if 
itemizing 

6 The deduction for 
qualified tuition and 
related expenses is 
extended for 2015 and 
2016. 

Qualified tuition and related 
expenses are not deductible. 

Not applicable Include addition 
on Form D-400 
Schedule S, Part 
A, Line 3. 

 

Any person who has already filed a 2015 North Carolina income tax return and whose federal taxable 
income (C corporation) or federal adjusted gross income (individual) is impacted by the amendments to 
federal law included in PATH or by the provisions of PATH from which North Carolina has decoupled 
must file an amended North Carolina return.  If the amended return reflects additional tax due, the 
taxpayer will avoid a late-payment penalty if the additional tax reflected on the amended return is paid 
when the amended return is filed.  If the amended return reflects additional tax due, interest is due on the 
additional tax from the date the tax was due (April 15, 2016 for calendar year taxpayers; the fifteenth day 
of the fourth month after the end of the tax year for fiscal year taxpayers) until the additional tax is paid.  
The interest rate is 5% per year through December 31, 2016.  For the interest rate in effect after December 
31, 2016, see www.dornc.com/taxes/rate.html on or after December 1, 2016.     
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@ncdor

 *** State Taxes Only *** 

To file Form D-400, Individual Income Tax Return, use eFile (above)!

1. Visit www.dornc.com/electronic/index.html to access NCDOR Online File and Pay.
2. Select a form.
3. Follow the instructions.

Pay by MasterCard or Visa (convenience fees) or bank draft with no convenience fees.

Top Reasons to Use eFile
3	 File Federal and State together or not - your choice! 
3		 Faster, easier processing.
3		 Direct deposit for your State tax refund.
3		 Pay by bank draft with no convenience fees.
3		 Schedule estimated payments up to 12 months in advance.
3		 Schedule extension payments up to 6 months in advance.
3		 Email confirmation when your tax forms/payments are received.
3		 File prior year returns - 2 years prior to current filing year.

www.facebook.com 
NorthCarolinaDepartmentofRevenue

*Sample eligibility requirement, tax year 2014. Eligibility requirements and features vary by provider.  

NCDOR Tax Tips: Make Filing Easier with eServices
NCDOR eServices: www.dornc.com/electronic/index.html   

Other Popular eServices at www.dornc.com
 

• Income Tax Estimator - estimate your 2015 tax liability.  
• Income Tax Law Changes - for your information.
• eAlerts - join NCDOR email list for tax-related updates and bulletins.

Free Tax Assistance
VITA (Volunteer Income Tax Assistance) and TCE (Tax Counseling for the Elderly) for qualifying taxpayers - www.irs.gov or 1-800-829-1040. 

*** Federal and/or State Taxes ***

1. Visit www.dornc.com/electronic/e-file.html to access 
a list of eFile providers and products. Prices start at 
$7.95*. 

2. Select a product - before making a final selection, check 
product specifications to make sure it meets your filing 
needs; eFile fees are charged by the provider, not 
NCDOR.

3. Follow product instructions.

                                                   OR

1. Choose a trusted tax professional to eFile for you. The 
tax professional will explain any fees. 

*** Federal and/or State Taxes ***

You must start from our website to eFile for Free!

1. Visit www.dornc.com/electronic/individual/software.html 
to see if you qualify - adjusted gross income (AGI) for 
married filing jointly can be up to $95,000*.

2. Select a product - before making a final selection, check 
product specifications to make sure it meets your filing 
needs.  

3. Follow product instructions. 

How To eFile for Free How To eFile for a Fee 

Join nearly 90% of fellow North 
Carolinians who file and pay 
electronically - choose the 

eService that is right for you.
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Before You Begin

North Carolina’s individual income tax forms are designed for electronic scanning that permits faster processing with fewer error.  
To avoid unnecessary delays caused by manual processing, please follow the guidelines below:

Important:  You must enter your social security number(s) in the appropriate boxes on the forms. Otherwise, we may be unable 
to process your return.

 
 Be sure to enter your complete address on your return, including your apartment number, if applicable.
 Make sure you have received all of your W-2s, 1099s, and other tax documents that you need to prepare your return.
 Do not submit photocopies of the return.  Submit original forms only.  Do not use any prior year forms.
 Use black or blue ink only.  Do not use red ink or pencil.  
 Write your numbers in the boxes like this:
 Do not use dollar signs ($), commas, decimal points, or other punctuation marks like this:
      Do not use brackets to indicate negative numbers.  Negative numbers are indicated by filling in the circle next to the 

number.
 Do not enter zeros or draw lines in boxes where no data is required.
 Round off to the nearest whole dollar.  Drop amounts under 50 cents and increase amounts from 50 cents to 99 cents to the 

next whole dollar.
 Use capital letters.
 Print letters and numbers like this:  
 

 Fill in applicable circles completely.  Example: 

Page Page Page
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 Tax Credits .....................................8
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 Overpayments ..............................11
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For information about any additional changes to the 2015 tax law or any other developments 
affecting Forms D-400, D-400 Schedule S, D-400 TC, D-400 Schedule AM, or these instructions, 
go to www.dornc.com.

For tax year 2015,  an amended return indicator has been added to Form D-400.  To amend your 2015 individual income tax 
return, you must use Form D-400 for tax year 2015, fill in the circle indicating Amended Return, and complete and attach 
Form D-400 Schedule AM, 2015 North Carolina Amended Schedule, to the front of Form D-400.  Note:  Beginning with 
the tax year 2015, you no longer use a separate tax form (Form D-400X) to amend your original return.  All changes 
will be made on Form D-400.  For further information, see Page 17, Instructions for Filing 2015 Amended Returns.

Change in Tax Rate:  
The individual income tax rate is reduced to a flat 5.75 percent for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015.

New Deduction for Tax Year 2015:
Deduction for Compensation Received from the Eugenics Sterilization Compensation Fund.  You may claim a deduction 
for the amount of compensation that you received from the Eugenics Sterilization Compensation Fund as compensation 
received under the Eugenics Asexualization and Sterilization Compensation Program, to the extent the compensation is 
included in federal adjusted gross income.  Claim this deduction on Form D-400 Schedule S, Part B, Line 11, Other Deductions 
From Federal Adjusted Gross Income.

Changes to N.C. Itemized Deductions: 
You may continue to claim either the N.C. standard deduction or N.C. itemized deductions.  New:  N.C. itemized deductions 
now include medical and dental expenses.   

Important Information

•	 You	must	attach	Form	D-400	Schedule	S	(2015	North	Carolina	Supplemental	Schedule)	to	Form	D-400	if	you	
complete Parts A, B, C, or D of Form D-400 Schedule S.  Otherwise, we may be unable to process your return.

Part A.  Additions to Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
Part B.  Deductions from Federal Adjusted Gross Income 
Part C.  Claimed N.C. Itemized Deductions 
Part D.  Computation of North Carolina Income for Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents  

Note: Do not complete Part C of Form D-400 Schedule S if the N.C. standard deduction is claimed on Form 
D-400, Line 11.

• Form D-400 TC (2015 Individual Income Tax Credits) is required to be filed if you claim any tax credits on Line 16 of Form 
D-400.  If you do not attach Form D-400TC, the tax credit(s) may be disallowed.

• Form D-400 Schedule AM, 2015 North Carolina Amended Schedule is required if you amend your 2015 return.  Please 
attach Form D-400 Schedule AM to the front of Form D-400 and fill in the circle on Form D-400 indicating that the return 
is an amended return.

• We are unable to process your return if you submit different versions of tax forms and schedules as shown below.  Do 
not mix different versions of tax forms and schedules.  All forms and schedules submitted must be the same 
version.  

a. Traditional Paper Return  (Handwritten)
b. Traditional Web  (Printed off computer and handwritten)
c. Web Fill-in  (Form is completed using computer; then printed)
d. Software Generated Forms (Computer generated)

What’s New
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Instructions for Filing Form D-400
The information contained in this booklet is 
to be used as a guide in the preparation of a 
North Carolina individual income tax return 
and is not intended to cover all provisions 
of the law.

Filing Requirements

 The minimum gross income filing requirements 
under North Carolina law are different from the 
filing requirements under the Internal Revenue 
Code because North Carolina has its own 
standard deduction and no longer allows a 
personal exemption allowance.

Who is required to file a North Carolina 
individual income tax return?

• Every resident of North Carolina whose income 
for the taxable year exceeds the amount for his 
filing status shown in the Filing Requirements 
Chart.

• Every part-year resident who received 
income while a resident of North Carolina 
or who received income while a nonresident 
attributable to the  ownership of any interest 
in real or tangible personal property in North 
Carolina or derived from a business, trade, 
profession or occupation carried on in North 
Carolina, or is derived from gambling activities 
in North Carolina and whose total income for 
the taxable year exceeds the amount for his 

Filing Status
A Return is  Required if Federal

Gross Income Exceeds
(1) Single ..................................................................................................................................$ 7,500
(2) Married - Filing Joint Return ...............................................................................................$ 15,000 
(3) Married - Filing Separate Return  .......................................................................................$ 7,500
  If spouse does not claim itemized deductions ...............................................................$ 7,500  
      If spouse claims itemized deductions ............................................................................ 0
(4) Head of Household .............................................................................................................$ 12,000
(5) Qualifying Widow(er) with dependent child.........................................................................$ 15,000
(6) Nonresident alien ................................................................................................................$ 0

filing status shown in the Filing Requirements 
Chart.

• Every nonresident who received income for 
the taxable year from North Carolina sources 
that was attributable to the ownership of any 
interest in real or tangible personal property 
in North Carolina or derived from a business, 
trade, profession, or occupation carried on in 
North Carolina, or is derived from gambling 
activities in North Carolina and whose total 
income from all sources both inside and 
outside of North Carolina equals or exceeds 
the amount for his filing status shown in the 
filing requirements.

• If you had North Carolina income tax withheld 
during the year but your income is below the 
amount required for filing, as shown in the 
Filing Requirements Chart, you must still file 
a return to receive a refund.

 If you were not required to file a federal income 
tax return but your gross income from all sources 
both inside and outside of North Carolina equals 
or exceeds the amount for your filing status 
shown in the filing requirements, you must 
complete a federal return and attach it to your 
North Carolina income tax return to show how 
your federal adjusted gross income, deductions, 
and exemptions were determined.

 You and your spouse must file a joint North 
Carolina return if you file a joint federal income 
tax return, and both of you were residents of 

North Carolina or both of you had North Carolina 
taxable income. 

 If you file a joint federal return and your spouse 
is a nonresident of North Carolina and had no 
North Carolina taxable income, you may file a 
joint State return or a married filing separately 
State return.  Once you file a joint return, you 
cannot choose to file separate returns for that 
year after the due date of the return.  If you 
choose to file a separate North Carolina return, 
you must complete either a federal return as 
married filing separately reporting only your 
income and deductions or a schedule showing 
the computation of your separate income and 
deductions and attach it to your North Carolina 
return.  You must also include a copy of your joint 
federal return unless your federal return reflects 
a North Carolina address.

When filing a joint return, include the name and 
social security number of each spouse on the 
return. Both spouses are jointly and severally 
liable for the tax due on a joint return. However, 
a spouse will be allowed relief from a joint State 
income tax liability attributable to a substantial 
understatement by the other spouse if the spouse 
qualifies for innocent spouse relief of liability for 
federal tax attributable to the same substantial 
understatement by the other spouse under 
Internal Revenue Code Section 6015.

Filing Requirements Chart

Note:  There is no additional standard deduction available for taxpayers age 65 or older or blind.  Also, there is no longer a separate chart 
for children and other dependents.

The Income Tax Return 

All individuals (including part-year residents and nonresidents) must file their income tax return on Form D-400.  If applicable, be sure to read the section 
entitled Information for Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents.

When to File

If you file your return on a calendar year basis, it is due on or before April 15 of the following year. However, for tax year 2015, you have until Monday, 
April 18, 2016 to file your return because April 15 is the Emancipation Day holiday observed in the District of Columbia.  A fiscal year return is due on the 
15th day of the 4th month following the end of the taxable year. When the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, the return is due on or before 
the next business day. A fiscal year return should be filed on a tax form for the year in which the fiscal year begins (For example:  A  2015 tax form should 
be used for a fiscal year beginning in 2015).

Nonresident Aliens:  Nonresident aliens are required to file returns at the same time they are required to file their federal returns.
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line 1-877-252-4052 (toll-free) will also give 
you the status of your current refund.  You can 
also obtain amended return refund information.   
Service is available 24 hours a day seven days 
a week.  You will need the first social security 
number and the amount of refund shown on your 
return when you call.

How to Pay Your Tax

 If you owe additional tax, you can pay online 
by bank draft or credit or debit card using 
Visa or MasterCard.  To pay online, go to the 
Department’s website at www.dornc.com and 
click on eServices.  

 You can also pay by check or money order.  
Do not send cash.  The Department will not 
accept a check, money order, or cashier’s check 
unless it is drawn on a U.S. (domestic) bank 
and the funds are payable in U.S. dollars.  Make 
your check or money order payable  to the N.C. 
Department of Revenue for the full amount due.   
Write “2015 D-400” and your name, address, and 
social security number on your payment.  If you 
are filing a joint return, write both social security 
numbers on your payment in the order that they 
appear on the return.  If you do not pay your tax 
online, you may go to our website and generate 
a personalized Form D-400V. Enclose the 
voucher with your return and payment, and mail 
to the address listed on page 2 of Form D-400.  
If you use tax software to prepare your return, 
be sure to include with your return and payment 
the Form D-400V generated by the software 
package.  If you owe additional tax on a 2015 
amended return, see page 17, Instructions for 
Filing 2015 Amended Returns. Form D-400V 
Amended should be used when making a 
payment for a 2015 amended return.

Estimated Income Tax

You are required to pay estimated income tax 
if the tax shown due on your return, reduced by 
your North Carolina tax withheld and allowable 
tax credits, is $1,000 or more regardless of the 
amount of income you have that is not subject 
to withholding. Each payment of estimated tax 
must be accompanied by Form NC-40, North 
Carolina Individual Estimated Income Tax.  
If you are filing estimated tax for the first time, 
contact any of our offices so that appropriate 
forms can be mailed to you.  You can also pay 
your estimated tax online at www.dornc.com.  
Click on eServices.

You should prepare your estimated tax 
carefully, both to avoid having to pay a large 
amount of tax when you file your return, and 
to avoid owing interest for underpayment of 
estimated income tax. Payment of estimated tax 
does not relieve you of your responsibility for filing 
a return if one is due.

Statute of Limitations 

Generally, to receive a refund, your return 
must be filed within three years from the date 
the original return was due or within two years 
after the tax was paid, whichever date is later. 

However, special rules extending the time for 
filing refund claims beyond the normal three 
year statute of limitations apply to overpayments 
attributable to (1) worthless debts or securities, 
(2) capital loss carrybacks, (3) net operating 
loss carrybacks, or (4) a contingent event. For 
overpayments resulting from worthless debts or 
securities, the period of time for demanding an 
overpayment is seven years; for overpayments 
resulting from capital loss or net operating loss 
carrybacks, the period of time is three years from 
the due date of the return for the year in which 
the loss was incurred rather than three years 
from the due date of the return for the year to 
which the loss is carried back. If you are subject 
to a contingent event and file notice with the 
Secretary of Revenue, the period to request a 
refund of an overpayment is six months after the 
contingent event concludes. For more specific 
guidance regarding a contingent event, please 
refer to our website:
www.dornc.com/taxes/certainevents.html.

Amended Returns

New for tax year 2015, an amended return 
indicator has been added to Form D-400. There 
is no longer a separate D-400X, Amended North 
Carolina Individual Income Tax Return to amend 
your 2015 return.  You must amend your 2015 
return by filing Form D-400 and filling in the circle 
indicating Amended Return and also complete 
Form D-400 Schedule AM, 2015 North Carolina 
Amended Schedule.  See Page 17, Instructions 
for Filing 2015 Amended Returns.   

Penalties and Interest

Failure	to	file	penalty. Returns filed after the 
due date are subject to a penalty of 5 percent of the 
tax for each month, or part of a  month, the return 
is late (maximum 25 percent of the additional tax). 
If you file your return late, include this penalty on 
Line 26b of Form D-400.

Failure to pay penalty. Returns filed after 
April 15 without a valid extension are subject 
to a late-payment penalty of 10 percent of the 
unpaid tax. If you have an extension of time for 
filing your return, the 10 percent penalty will apply 
on the remaining balance due if the tax paid by 
the original due date of the return is less than 
90 percent of the total amount of tax due. If the 
90 percent rule is met, any remaining balance 
due, including interest, must be paid with the  
income tax return on or before the extended 
due date to avoid the late-payment penalty.  If 
your payment is late, figure the amount of the 
penalty and include on Line 26b of Form D-400.  
The late-payment penalty will not be assessed if 
the amount shown due on an amended return is 
paid with the return. Proposed assessments of 
additional tax due are subject to the 10 percent 
late-payment penalty if payment of the tax is not 
received within 45 days of the assessment.

Other penalties. There are other penalties for 
negligence, filing a frivolous return, and fraud. 
Criminal penalties also apply for fraud with intent 
to evade or defeat the tax and for willful failure to 
file a return, supply information, or pay the tax. 

Extensions

If you cannot file your return by the due 
date, you may apply for an automatic 6-month 
extension of time to file the return. To receive 
the extension, you must file Form D-410, 
Application for Extension for Filing Individual 
Income Tax Return, by the original due date 
of the return. You can file Form D-410 online 
at www.dornc.com.  Click on eServices.  You 
should apply for an extension even if you believe 
you will be due a refund but cannot file by the 
due date. 

You are not required to send a payment of the 
tax you estimate as due to receive the extension; 
however, it will benefit you to pay as much as you 
can with the extension request.  An extension 
of	time	for	filing	the	return	does	not	extend	
the time for paying the tax.  If you do not pay 
the amount due by the original due date, you 
will owe a 10 percent late-payment penalty and 
interest.  The late-payment penalty will not be due 
if you pay at least 90 percent of your tax liability 
through withholding, estimated tax payments, or 
with Form D-410 by the original due date.

A late-filing penalty may be assessed if 
your return is filed after the due date (including 
extensions).  The penalty is 5 percent per month 
(25 percent maximum) on the remaining tax due.

If you do not file the application for extension 
by the original due date of the return, you are 
subject to both a late-filing penalty and a late-
payment penalty.  

Out of the Country:  If you were a U.S. citizen 
or resident and were out of the country on the 
regular due date of your return (April 15), you are 
granted an automatic 4-month extension for filing 
your North Carolina return if you fill in the “Out 
of the Country” circle on Page 1 of your return. 
”Out of the Country” means you live outside the 
United States and Puerto Rico and your main 
place of work is outside the United States and 
Puerto Rico, or you are in military service outside 
the United States and Puerto Rico.  The time for 
payment of the tax is also extended; however, 
interest is due on any unpaid tax from the original 
due date of the return until the tax is paid. If you 
are unable to file the return within the automatic 
4-month extension period, an additional 2-month 
extension may be obtained by following the 
provisions in the first paragraph of this section; 
however, Form D-410 must be filed by the 
automatic 4-month extended date of August 15.

General Refund Information

If you owe another State or local agency, 
the amount you owe may be deducted from 
your refund.  If you have an outstanding federal 
income tax liability, the Internal Revenue Service 
may claim your North Carolina refund.

Need to Call Us About Your 
Refund?

You can check the status of your refund at 
www.dornc.com.  The automated refund inquiry 
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of 2009 prohibits North Carolina from taxing the 
income earned for services performed in North 
Carolina by a spouse of a servicemember stationed 
in North Carolina if (1) the servicemember is 
present in North Carolina solely in compliance with 
military orders; (2) the spouse is in North Carolina 
solely to be with the servicemember; and (3) the 
spouse is domiciled in the same state as the 
servicemember. If all three of the conditions are 
met, an employer is not required to withhold North 
Carolina tax from wages paid to the military spouse. 
A spouse who does not meet these requirements 
should see “Information for Part-Year Residents 
and Nonresidents.” The Act does not apply to 
military spouses who are domiciled in North 
Carolina. Withholding from wages paid to military 
spouses domiciled in North Carolina is still required.

Death of the Taxpayer

 If you are the spouse or personal representative 
of an individual who died prior to filing a return, you 
may be required to file a return on the decedent’s 
behalf.   If so, enter the date of death in the 
applicable box on Page 1 of Form D-400 to indicate 
the return is being filed for a deceased individual.

 An Income Tax Return for Estates and Trusts, 
Form D-407, must be filed for an estate for the 
period from the date of death to the end of the 
taxable year if the estate had taxable income 
from North Carolina sources or income which 
was for the benefit of a North Carolina resident, 
and the estate is required to file a federal return 
for estates and trusts.

 If you are filing a return for an unmarried 
individual who died during the year, enter the 
date of death in the applicable box and enter 
the name of the deceased and the address of 
the executor, administrator, or court-appointed 
representative.  The executor, administrator, or 
court-appointed representative should fill in the 
circle above the deceased taxpayer information 
on Page 1 and sign the return.  When filing a 
separate return for a decedent who was married 
at the time of death, enter the date of death, the 
name of the deceased, and the address of the 
surviving spouse.  The surviving spouse should 
sign the return.  In either case, be sure to enter 
the date of death in the space provided.

 If you are a court-appointed representative, 
attach to the return a copy of the certificate 
that shows your appointment.  A refund due 
on a return filed for a deceased taxpayer by a 
person other than a surviving spouse, executor, 
administrator or a court-appointed representative 
will be mailed to the Clerk of Superior Court of 
the county in which the taxpayer resided.

Information for Part-Year 
Residents and
Nonresidents

If you move your legal residence into or out 
of North Carolina during the tax year, you are a 
resident of two different states during two different 
periods of the tax year.

You are a nonresident if you maintain your legal 

residence in another state or country even though 
you may temporarily reside in North Carolina. If 
you reside in North Carolina for more than 183 
days of a tax year, you are presumed to be a 
resident for income tax purposes in the absence 
of factual proof of residence in another state. 
However, your absence from North Carolina for 
more than 183 days raises no presumption that 
you are not a resident.

If you file a joint federal return and your spouse 
is a nonresident of North Carolina and had no 
North Carolina taxable income, you may file a 
joint State return or a married filing separately 
State return.  If you choose to file a separate 
North Carolina return, you must complete either 
a federal return as married filing separately 
reporting only your income and deductions or 
a schedule showing the computation of your 
separate income and deductions and attach it to 
your North Carolina return. You must also include 
a copy of your joint federal return unless your 
federal return reflects a North Carolina address. 
Note: Itemized nonbusiness deductions of a 
married couple may be claimed by a spouse 
only if that spouse was obligated to pay the 
items and actually paid the amount during the 
year. In the case of a joint obligation (such as 
mortgage interest and real estate taxes), the 
deduction is allowable to the spouse who actually 
paid the item.

Part-year residents and nonresidents receiving 
income from North Carolina sources must 
determine the portion of their federal gross 
income, as adjusted, that is subject to North 
Carolina income tax by completing Lines 21 
through 23 on Form D-400 Schedule S, Part 
D. See the instructions for Lines 21 and 22 on 
Page 13.

A part-year resident receiving partnership 
income from a partnership doing business in 
North Carolina and in one or more other states 
must prorate his share of the partnership’s 
income attributable and not attributable to North 
Carolina between his periods of residence and 
nonresidence in accordance with the number 
of days in each period. Include on Line 21 of 
Form D-400 Schedule S, Part D your share of 
partnership income determined for the period 
of residence and your share of the partnership 
income attributable to North Carolina during the 
period of nonresidence.

If you have income from sources within another 
state or country while you are a resident of North 
Carolina and the other state or country taxes you 
on such income, you may be eligible to claim a 
tax credit on your North Carolina return. See 
“Credit for Tax Paid to Another State or Country” 
on Page 15 for additional information.

Line Instructions for 
Filing Form D-400

The references to line numbers on federal 
income tax forms were correct at the time of 
printing.  If they have changed and you are 
unable to determine the proper line to use, 
please contact the Department of Revenue.

  Collection Assistance Fee.  Any tax, penalty, 
and interest not paid within 90 days after the debt 
becomes collectible is subject to a 20 percent 
collection assistance fee.   

   Interest. Interest is due on tax not paid by April 
15, even though you may have an extension of time 
for filing your return.   You may obtain the current 
interest rate from any of the Department’s offices.  
If you pay your tax late, figure the amount of interest 
due and include it on Line 26c of Form D-400.

 Interest on the underpayment of estimated 
tax.  Compute interest on any underpayment 
of estimated income tax on Form D-422, 
Underpayment of  Est imated Tax by 
Individuals.   Interest is not due if each payment 
equals 25 percent of the lesser of 90 percent (66 
2/3 percent for farmers and fishermen) of the tax 
due on your current year’s return or 100 percent 
of the tax due on your previous year’s return.  
If interest is applicable, add the interest to the 
tax due, and include the full payment with your 
return.   If a refund is due, subtract the amount 
of the interest from the refund.  

N. C. Education Endowment 
Fund Contribution

You may contribute to the N.C. 
Education Endowment Fund by 
making a contribution or designating 
some or all of your overpayment to 
the Fund (to designate your overpayment, see 
Page 11, Line 31). To make a contribution, simply 
enclose Form NC-EDU and your payment. If you 
owe additional tax due on your return and would 
also like to make a contribution to the fund, you 
may write one check and enclose the check with 
both Form NC-EDU and Form D-400V (Form 
D-400V Amended if filing an amended return). 
Your election to contribute to the Fund cannot 
be changed after you file your return. Additional 
contributions to the Fund may be made by 
mailing your contribution directly to the North 
Carolina Department of Public Instruction, Cash 
Collections, 6331 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 
North Carolina 27699-6331. Checks should be 
made payable to “North Carolina Department of 
Public Instruction” with an indication either on the 
check or in an attached note that it is a contribution 
for the NC Education Endowment Fund.

United States Armed Forces Pay

If you are serving in the United States Armed 
Forces and your legal residence is North 
Carolina, you are liable for North Carolina income 
tax and North Carolina income tax should be 
withheld from your pay regardless of where you 
may be stationed. If you are a legal resident 
of another state stationed in North Carolina 
on military orders, you are not liable for North 
Carolina income tax on your military pay, but 
income from other employment, a business, or 
tangible property in North Carolina is subject to 
North Carolina income tax. 

Military Spouses 

The Military Spouses Residency Relief Act 
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Lines 1 through 5 - Filing 
Status

Check the same filing status you checked on 
your federal return. Important: If either you or 
your spouse is a nonresident and had no North 
Carolina taxable income for the tax year, see 
Page 5.

Line 6 - Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income

Enter your federal adjusted gross income 
from your federal return. If federal adjusted 
gross income is a negative number, enter the 
negative amount and fill in the circle to indicate 
that the amount is negative.  (Note: If you 
are completing a web fill-in form on the 
Department’s website, enter a minus sign to 
indicate a negative number.)

Line 7 - Additions to Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income

See Page 12, Instructions for Form D-400 
Schedule S, for information about additions to 
federal adjusted gross income.

Line 9 - Deductions from 
Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income

See Page 12, Instructions for Form D-400 
Schedule S for information about deductions from 
federal adjusted gross income.

Line 11 - N.C. Standard 
Deduction or N.C. Itemized 
Deductions

 IMPORTANT: Do not enter your federal 
standard deduction or federal itemized 
deduction on Line 11, Form D-400.  The 
N.C. itemized deductions do not include all 
itemized deductions reported on your federal 
return.

 Fill in the circle to indicate if you are claiming 
the N.C. standard deduction or N.C. itemized 
deductions.  Note:  Fill in one circle only.

 You may deduct from federal adjusted gross 
income either the N.C. standard deduction or 
N.C. itemized deductions.  However, if you 
are	 (1)	married	filing	 a	 separate	 return	 for	
North Carolina income tax purposes and your 
spouse itemizes deductions, (2) a nonresident 
alien,	or	(3)	filing	a	short-year	return	because	
of a change in your accounting period, you 
are not entitled to the standard deduction. 
Note: A short-year return does not relate to 
a taxpayer who files a return as a part-year 
resident.

N.C. Standard Deduction

Important: Do not complete Form D-400 Schedule S, Part C. N.C. Itemized Deductions, if you 
claim the N.C. standard deduction shown in the chart below.

Use the following chart to determine the amount of your N. C. standard deduction to enter on line 11.

N.C. Itemized Deductions 

No itemized deductions included on federal Form 1040 (Schedule A) are allowed as N.C. itemized 
deductions except	qualified	home	mortgage	 interest,	 real	 estate	property	 taxes,	 charitable	
contributions, and medical and dental expenses.  See Page 13, Instructions for Form D-400 
Schedule S, if you claim N.C. itemized deductions.  You must attach Form D-400 Schedule S to 
Form D-400 if you claim N.C. itemized deductions.

• The sum of qualified home mortgage interest and real estate property taxes claimed, under sections 
163(h) and 164 of the Code, respectively, may not exceed twenty thousand dollars ($20,000).   

• Charitable contributions allowed as a deduction under section 170 of the Code are allowed without 
limitation.

• New for tax year 2015: Medical and dental expenses allowed as a deduction under section 213 
of the Code are deductible. (From Line 4 of Schedule A, Federal Form 1040.)   

The N.C. itemized deductions are not subject to the overall limitation on itemized deductions under 
section 68 of the Code.

Line 13 - Part-Year Residents and Nonresidents

Part-year residents and nonresidents, see Page 13, Instructions for Form D-400 Schedule S and 
complete the Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Worksheet on Page 14.  You must complete Form 
D-400 Schedule S, Part D Lines 21 through 23 and enter on Line 13 of Form D-400 the decimal amount 
from Line 23 of Form D-400 Schedule S.  You must attach Form D-400 Schedule S to Form D-400 
if you are a part-year resident or nonresident of North Carolina.

Line 14 - North Carolina Taxable Income

• If you were a resident of North Carolina for the entire year, enter the amount from Line 12 on Line 14.

• If you were a part-year resident or nonresident, multiply the amount from Line 12 by the decimal 
amount on Line 13.

Line 15 - North Carolina Income Tax

To calculate your tax, multiply your North Carolina Taxable Income, Line 14 by 5.75% (0.0575).

Line 16 - Tax Credits

See Page 15 for information about tax credits. Complete Form D-400TC, Individual Tax Credits, 
if you are entitled to one or more of the credits.

 

 If	your	filing	status	is:	 Your	standard	deduction	is:	
  Single  $ 7,500
  Married filing jointly/Qualifying widow(er)  $ 15,000
  Married filing separately
   If spouse does not claim itemized deductions  $ 7,500       
   If spouse claims itemized deductions   0
  Head of household  $ 12,000

N.C. Standard Deduction Chart
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               NC Taxable Income                                                                                                   NC Taxable Income
                                (D-400, Line 14)                                                                                                  (D-400, Line 14)  
   Use Tax   Use Tax
 At Least But Less Than Amount At Least    But Less Than   Amount      
   $ 0 2,200 $ 1 $ 23,000 24,400  $ 16
 2,200 3,700 2 24,400 25,900 17
 3,700 5,200 3 25,900 27,400 18
 5,200 6,700 4 27,400 28,900 19
 6,700 8,100 5 28,900 30,400 20
 8,100 9,600 6 30,400 31,900 21
 9,600 11,100 7 31,900 33,300 22
 11,100 12,600 8 33,300 34,800 23
 12,600 14,100 9 34,800 36,300 24
 14,100 15,600 10 36,300 37,800 25
 15,600 17,000 11 37,800 39,300 26
 17,000 18,500 12 39,300 40,700 27
 18,500 20,000 13 40,700 42,200 28
 20,000 21,500 14 42,200 43,700 29
 21,500 23,000 15 43,700 45,200 30 
    45,200 and over               Multiply NC 
                     Taxable Income  
             by .0675% (.000675)

Use Tax Table

The estimated amount is .0675% (.000675) of North Carolina taxable income.  If you 
believe the estimate from the table is too high for your out-of-state purchases, you  
may estimate what you think you owe.

Line 18 – Consumer Use Tax

(If you certify that no Consumer Use Tax is due you must fill in circle on Line 18, Form D-400.)
  
 North Carolina use tax is due by individuals on tangible personal property, including delivery charges, and certain digital property purchased, leased 
or rented inside or outside this State for storage, use, or consumption in North Carolina. Use tax is due on taxable services sourced to North Carolina. 
Individuals must pay use tax when retailers or facilitators do not collect tax on taxable transactions. Retailers or facilitators that are not “engaged in business” 
in this State are not required to collect North Carolina’s sales tax. Some out-of-state retailers or facilitators voluntarily collect North Carolina sales tax as a 
convenience to their customers. Retailers or facilitators that are not “engaged in business” may include mail-order companies, television shopping networks, 
and firms selling over the internet.

Items subject to sales and use tax include but are not limited to the following:

• Tangible personal property, including but not limited to:
o Computers and other electronic equipment;
o Home furnishings;
o Clothing;
o Jewelry;
o Sporting goods;
o Audio compact discs (CDs), tapes, and records;
o ATVs (All Terrain Vehicles).

• Digital property, which includes the following when delivered or accessed electronically: 
o An audio work. Examples include, but are not limited to, ringtones, digital music, readings of books or other written materials, speeches, and 

other sound recordings.
o An audio visual work. Examples include, but are not limited to, movies, motion pictures, musical videos, news and entertainment programs, 

and live events.
o A book, magazine, newspaper, newsletter, report, or another publication.
o A photograph or a greeting card.

• Prewritten software including electronic downloads of software.
• Purchases or recharges of prepaid telephone calling cards and phones.
• Service contracts to maintain or repair tangible personal property or a motor vehicle.
• Admission tickets to an entertainment activity purchased outside the state where admission to the activity may be gained in the state.

 The use tax is calculated and due at the same rate as the sales tax. For January 1, 2015 through March 31, 2015, the rate was 7.5% in Durham and 
Orange Counties, 7.25% in Mecklenburg County, 7% in Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, 
Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes 
Counties, and 6.75% in all other counties. For April 1, 2015 through December 31, 2015, the rate was 7.5% in Durham and Orange Counties, 7.25% in 
Mecklenburg County, 7% in Alexander, Anson, Ashe, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, 
Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties, and 6.75% 
in all other counties. If you paid another state’s sales or use tax that was legally due on out-of-state purchases, that amount may be credited against the 
North Carolina use tax due. Credit is allowed for another state’s sales tax paid against the 4.75% general rate of North Carolina sales tax due. Separate 
credit is allowed for another state’s local tax paid against the North Carolina local and transit sales and use tax due. You may not claim a credit for sales 
tax or value-added tax paid to another country. You should report use tax on purchases of food subject to the reduced rate of tax on Form E-554 and use 
tax on purchases of boats and aircraft on Form E-555. Businesses should report and remit sales and use tax on Form E-500.
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Use Tax Worksheet 2 - Taxpayers Who Do Not Have Records of All Out-of-State Purchases
1. For purchases of items that cost less than $1,000, see the Use Tax Table on the previous page to estimate the use
 tax due based on your North Carolina taxable income shown on Form D-400, Line 14 and enter the amount .................  1. ___________

2.  For purchases of items that cost $1,000 or more:

  2a - Enter the total amount of purchases, including delivery charges, of $1,000 or more for 1/1/15 through
   3/31/15 ................................................................................................................................................................  2a. ___________

  2b - Multiply Line 2a by 7.5% (.075) in Durham and Orange Counties; 7.25% (.0725) in Mecklenburg County;
   7% (.07) in Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene,
   Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson,
   Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties; and 6.75% (.0675) in all other counties, and enter the amount ....  2b. ___________

  2c - Enter the total amount of purchases, including delivery charges, of $1,000 or more for 4/1/15 through
   12/31/15 ..............................................................................................................................................................  2c. ___________

  2d - Multiply Line 2c by 7.5% (.075) in Durham and Orange Counties; 7.25% (.0725) in Mecklenburg County; 7% (.07)
   in Alexander, Anson, Ashe, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene,
   Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson,
   Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties; and 6.75% (.0675) in all other counties, and enter the amount ........  2d. ___________

3.  Add Lines 1, 2b, and 2d and enter the total amount of use tax due ...............................................................................  3. ___________

4. Enter the tax legally due and paid to another state on the purchases. This amount may not exceed the amount
 on Line 3 .........................................................................................................................................................................  4. ___________

5. Subtract Line 4 from Line 3 and enter the result, rounded to the nearest whole dollar, here and on Form
 D-400, Line 18 ................................................................................................................................................................  5. ___________

Use Tax Worksheet - Taxpayers Who Have Records of All Out-of-State Purchases
1. Enter the total amount of out-of-state purchases, including delivery charges, for 1/1/15 through 3/31/15 .....................  1. ___________

2. Multiply Line 1 by 7.5% (.075) in Durham and Orange Counties; 7.25% (.0725) in Mecklenburg County; 7% (.07) in
 Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, Harnett,
 Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson,
 Surry and Wilkes Counties; and 6.75% (.0675) in all other counties, and enter the amount ..........................................  2. ___________

3. Enter the total amount of out-of-state purchases, including delivery charges, for 4/1/15 through 12/31/15 ...................  3. ___________

4. Multiply Line 3 by 7.5% (.075) in Durham and Orange Counties; 7.25% (.0725) in Mecklenburg County; 7% (.07)
 in Alexander, Anson, Ashe, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, 
 Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson,
 Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties; and 6.75% (.0675) in all other counties, and enter the amount ...........  4. ___________

5.  Enter the tax legally due and paid to another state on the purchases. This amount may not exceed the total of
 Lines 2 and 4 ..................................................................................................................................................................  5. ___________

6.  Add Lines 2 and 4, then subtract Line 5 and enter the result, rounded to the nearest whole dollar, here and on
 Form D-400, Line 18 .......................................................................................................................................................  6. ___________

Lines 20a and 20b -  N.C. 
Income Tax Withheld

Enter your North Carolina tax withheld on Line 
20a. If you are married and you file a joint return, 
enter your North Carolina withholding on Line 20a 
and your spouse’s withholding on Line 20b.  Do 
not include any income tax withheld for a state 
other than North Carolina or any other tax amounts 
that were withheld.

Be sure to attach to your return your original 
or a copy of the original State wage and tax 
statements (Form W-2), 1099 statements, or other 
statements verifying North Carolina tax withheld.  
It is not necessary to attach 1099 statements 
on which no North Carolina income tax withheld 
is reported unless you are claiming a Bailey 
retirement deduction (See Form D-400 Schedule 
S, Part B, Line 8).  Wage and tax statements 

or 1099 statements generated by tax software 
programs cannot be used to verify North Carolina 
tax withholding.

Line 21 - Other Tax Payments

a - 2015 Estimated Tax - Enter any estimated 
income tax payments for 2015 (including any 
portion of your 2014 refund that was applied 
to your 2015 estimated income tax). See Page 
6 for additional information about estimated 
income tax.

b - Paid with Extension - If you filed an automatic 
extension of time, enter the amount of North 
Carolina income tax paid with the extension.

c - Partnership - If you are a nonresident partner, 
enter your share of the tax paid to North 
Carolina by the manager of the partnership 
on your distributive share of the partnership 

income. Include with your return a copy of 
Form NC K-1 for Form D-403 provided by 
the partnership to verify the amount claimed.

d - S Corporation - If you are a nonresident 
shareholder of an S corporation, enter your 
share of the income tax paid to North Carolina 
by an S corporation on your distributive share 
of the S corporation income.  Include with your 
return a copy of Form NC K-1 for Form CD-
401S provided by the S corporation to verify 
the amount claimed.

Lines 22 - Amended Returns 
Only - Previous Payments

New:  Only complete this line if you are 
amending your 2015 return.

Enter the amount of tax paid with original 
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Line 27 - Pay This Amount

Add Lines 26a, 26d, and 26e and enter the 
total on Line 27.  This is the total tax, penalties, 
and interest due.  Mail your return and payment to 
the North Carolina Department of Revenue,  P. 
O. Box 25000, Raleigh, North Carolina 27640-
0640.  Make your check or money order payable 
to the NC Department of Revenue.  Important:  
The Department will not accept a check, money 
order, or cashier’s check unless it is drawn on a 
U.S. (domestic) bank and the funds are payable 
in U.S. dollars.  

You may also pay electronically or generate a 
personalized payment voucher Form D-400V or 
Form D-400V Amended (2015 Amended Return) 
by visiting www.dornc.com. If you are filing a 2015 
amended return, please see Instructions for 
Filing 2015 Amended Return, page 17.

Line 28 - Overpayment 

If Line 19 is less than Line 25, you have 
overpaid your tax. Subtract Line 19 (and any 
amount shown on Line 26e) from Line 25 and 
enter the amount of the overpayment on Line 28.

Line 29 - Estimated Income Tax

If you have overpaid the tax, you may elect 
to have a portion of your refund applied to your 
estimated tax for the following year by entering 
the amount to be applied on Line 29.  The election 
cannot be changed after you file your return.  The 
last allowable date for making a 2016 estimated 
tax payment is January 15, 2017; therefore, to 
apply a portion of your refund to 2016 estimated 
tax, you must file your 2015 return by January 15, 
2017.  Please see Instructions for Filing 2015 
Amended Returns, Page 17.

Line 30 - N. C. Nongame and 
Endangered Wildlife Fund

Help keep North Carolina 
wild by contributing any 
portion of your refund to 
the N.C. Nongame and 
En d a n g e re d  W i l d l i f e 
Fund. Your tax deductible 
contributions are essential to monitoring and 
managing our wildlife populations, including turtles, 
flying squirrels, frogs, mussels, salamanders, and 
hundreds of bird species from terns and pelicans 
to woodpeckers and warblers. Conserving these 
species and their habitats is important to our state, 
our economy, and our quality of life. If wildlife 
conservation is important to you, please give what 
you can and help conserve North Carolina’s wildlife 
for future generations to enjoy.

If you wish to contribute to the Fund, enter 
the amount of your contribution on Line 30. 
Your election to contribute to the Fund cannot 
be changed after you file your return. If you 
are not due a refund, you may still contribute 
to this Fund by donating online or mailing 
your donation directly to the North Carolina 
Wildlife Resources Commission, 1702 Mail 

return (Form D-400, Line 27) plus any additional 
tax paid after the original return was filed.  If you 
did not pay the entire balance due shown on your 
original return, enter the actual amount that was 
paid. Do not include payments of interest or 
penalties.  Please see Instructions for Filing 
2015 Amended Return, page 17.

Lines 24 - Amended Returns 
Only - Previous Refunds

New:  Only complete this line if you are 
amending your 2015 return.

Enter the amount of overpayment, if any, shown 
on the original return (Form D-400, Line 28). If the 
overpayment claimed on your original return was 
previously adjusted by the Department, enter the 
adjusted overpayment on this line. The amount 
includes any portion that was refunded or applied 
to any outstanding debt, to estimated tax, or 
contributed to the N.C. Nongame and Endangered 
Wildlife Fund or the N.C. Education Endowment 
Fund. Do not include interest you received on any 
refund. Please see Instructions for Filing 2015 
Amended Return, Page 17.

Lines 26a through 26e - Tax, 
Penalties, and Interest

a - If Line 19 is more than Line 25, you owe  
additional tax.  Subtract Line 25 from Line 19 
and enter the result on Line 26a.  If Line 25 is 
negative, treat Line 25 as a positive number, 
add Lines 19 and 25 and enter the additional 
tax on Line 26a.

b - Penalties - See “Penalties and Interest” on 
Pages 6 and 7 to determine if any penalties 
apply to you.

c - Interest - See “Penalties and Interest” on Page 
7 to determine if you owe interest.

d - Total of penalties and interest.
e - Interest on the  Underpayment of Estimated 

Income Tax and Exceptions- You may owe 
interest if you underpaid  your estimated tax for 
any payment period.  You will not owe interest 
if you had no tax liability in the prior year or if 
this year’s tax liability, less any amount withheld 
and  allowable tax credits, is less than $1,000.    
Complete Form D-422 to see if you owe 
interest.  Enter the interest on Line 26e.  The 
interest will increase your tax liability or reduce 
your overpayment.  You do not have to attach 
Form D-422 or Form D-422A to your return; 
however, maintain the form for your records.

Exception to Underpayment of Estimated Tax:

• Enter an “F” in the box if you are a farmer or 
fisherman.  You will not owe interest if you are 
a farmer or fisherman and pay the tax due by 
March 1, 2016.  You are a farmer or fisherman 
if you received at least two-thirds of your gross 
income for the year from farming and fishing.

• Enter an “A” in the box if you completed Form 
D-422A, Annualized Income Installment 
Worksheet, in determining the  amount to enter 
on Line 26e.

Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-
1700. Checks should be made payable to the 
Nongame & Endangered Wildlife Fund. For 
more information about the Fund or to donate 
online, check out www.ncwildlife.org/GiveDonate.  
Please see Instructions for Filing 2015 
Amended Returns, Page 17.

Line 31 - Contribution 
of Overpayment to N.C. 
Education Endowment Fund 

If you wish to contribute all or 
part of your refund to the N.C. 
Education Endowment Fund, enter 
the amount of your contribution on 
Line 28. Your election to contribute 

to the Fund cannot be changed after you file your 
return. Additional contributions to the Fund may be 
made by mailing your contribution directly to the 
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction, 
Cash Collections, 6331 Mail Service Center, 
Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-6331. Checks 
should be made payable to “North Carolina 
Department of Public Instruction” with an indication 
either on the check or in an attached note that it is 
a contribution for the NC Education Endowment 
Fund.  Please see Instructions for Filing 2015 
Amended Returns, Page 17.

Line 33 -  Amount to be
Refunded

If you are due a refund, mail your original 
return to the North Carolina Department of 
Revenue, P.O. Box R, Raleigh, North Carolina 
27634-0001.  If you are due a refund on your 
amended return, mail Form D-400 Schedule 
AM, the corrected return, all required schedules, 
and supporting forms to:  North Carolina 
Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 25000, 
Raleigh, NC 27640-0640. Refunds of less than 
$1.00 are made only upon written request.

Line Instructions 
for Filing Form D-400 

Schedule S

The references to line numbers on federal 
income tax forms were correct at the time of 
printing. If they have changed and you are 
unable to determine the proper line to use, 
please contact the Department of Revenue.

If you do not have additions to or deductions 
from federal adjusted gross income, you are not 
claiming N.C. itemized deductions and you are 
not computing North Carolina taxable income 
for part-year residents and nonresidents, do 
not complete or attach Schedule S.

Important: If you enter an amount on 
Line 7, 9, 11 (if claiming N.C. itemized 
deductions), or 13 of Form D-400, you 
must attach Form D-400 Schedule S to 
Form D-400, otherwise, we may be unable 
to process your return.
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Line 7 - Taxable Portion of 
Social Security and Railroad 
Retirement	Benefits

Social security and railroad retirement benefits 
are not subject to State income tax. Enter 
any Title 2 social security benefits received 
under the Social Security Act and any Tier 1 
or Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits received 
under the Railroad Retirement Act that were 
included in federal adjusted gross income. 
Railroad Retirement Act benefits include railroad 
unemployment insurance benefits and railroad 
sickness benefits.

Line	8	-	Retirement	Benefits	
Received by Vested 
Government Retirees (Bailey 
Settlement)

As a result of the North Carolina Supreme 
Court’s decision in Bailey v. State of North 
Carolina, North Carolina may not tax certain 
retirement benefits received by retirees (or by 
beneficiaries of retirees) of the State of North 
Carolina and its local governments or by United 
States government retirees (including military). 
The	exclusion	applies	to	retirement	benefits	
received	from	certain	defined	benefit	plans, 
such as the North Carolina Teachers’ and State 
Employees’ Retirement System, the North 
Carolina Local Governmental Employees’ 
Retirement System, the North Carolina 
Consolidated Judicial Retirement System, the 
Federal Employees’ Retirement System, or the 
United States Civil Service Retirement System, if 
the	retiree	had	five	or	more	years	of	creditable	
service as of August 12, 1989. The exclusion 
also applies to retirement benefits received from 
the State’s§401(k) and §457 plans if the retiree 
had contributed or contracted to contribute to the 
plan prior to August 12, 1989. The exclusion 
does not apply to local government §457 
plans or to §403(b) annuity plans. Benefits 
from other State, local, and federal retirement 
plans may or may not be excluded depending on 
rulings in the Bailey case. The exclusion does 
not	apply	to	retirement	benefits	paid	to	former	
teachers and state employees of other states 
and their political subdivisions.

A retiree entitled to exclude retirement benefits 
from North Carolina income tax should claim a 
deduction on Line 8 for the amount of excludable 
retirement benefits included in federal adjusted 
gross income. Even if all your retirement is 
excludable under Bailey, you must still file a North 
Carolina return if you meet the minimum gross 
filing requirements on Page 5. A copy of Form 
1099-R or W-2 received from the payer must be 
attached to the return to support the deduction.

Line 9 - Adjustment for Bonus 
Depreciation Added Back in 
2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 
2014

North Carolina did not adopt the 50 percent 
bonus depreciation provisions in IRC sections 
168(k) or 168(n) for tax year 2010. Similarly, 
North Carolina did not adopt the provisions of the 
Small Business Jobs Act of 2010 which extended 
the 50 percent bonus depreciation through 2011 
or the Tax Relief Act of 2010 which doubled and 
extended bonus depreciation from 50 percent 
to 100 percent for qualified property acquired 
and placed in service after September 8, 2010 
and before January 1, 2012. In addition, North 
Carolina did not adopt the provisions of The 
Tax Relief Act which makes 50 percent bonus 
depreciation available for qualified property 
placed in service after December 31, 2011 
and before January 1, 2013. Certain long-lived 
property and transportation property is eligible for 
100 percent expensing if placed in service before 
January 1, 2013. The Tax Increase Prevention Act 
of 2014 extended the 50% bonus depreciation 
for property placed in service in 2014.  North 
Carolina did not adopt the bonus depreciation 
provisions under IRC sections 168(k) or 168(n).  
Any amount added to federal taxable income 
or federal adjusted gross income on the 2010, 
2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 State returns may 
be deducted in five equal installments beginning 
with the 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015 State 
returns, respectively. Therefore, enter 20 percent 
of the bonus depreciation added back on the 
2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 State returns.

Line 10 - Adjustment for 
Section 179 Expense Added 
Back in 2010, 2011, 2012, 
2013, and 2014

North Carolina did not conform to the increased 
expense deduction or increased investment limit 
for section 179 property but rather maintained 
the expense deduction and investment limit 
allowed under the Internal Revenue Code as 
of May 1, 2010. North Carolina law provided 
different dollar and investment limitations.  If you 
deducted section 179 expense on your federal 
return, an addition is required equal to 85% of 
the difference between the amount claimed on 
your federal return for section 179 expenses and 
the  North Carolina dollar limitations ($250,000 
for tax years 2010 through 2012 and $25,000 
for tax years 2013 and 2014) and the North 
Carolina investment limitations ($800,000 for 
tax years 2010 through 2012 and $200,000 for 
tax years 2013 and 2014).  Any amount added 
to federal taxable income or federal adjusted 
gross income on your 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 
and 2014 returns may be deducted in five equal 
installments beginning with the 2011, 2012, 
2013, 2014, and 2015 State returns, respectively. 
Therefore, enter 20 percent of the section 179 
expense deduction added back on your 2010, 
2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 State returns.

Part A - Additions to Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income

Line 1 - Interest Income

Enter the amount of interest received from 
notes, bonds, and other obligations of states 
and political subdivisions other than North 
Carolina if not included in federal adjusted gross 
income. This includes exempt interest dividends 
received from regulated investment companies 
(mutual funds) to the extent such dividends do 
not represent interest from obligations of North 
Carolina or its political subdivisions.

Line 2 - Adjustment for 
Domestic Production Activities

North Carolina does not allow the domestic 
production activities deduction. Therefore, if 
you claimed the deduction on Line 35 of federal 
Form 1040, the amount claimed must be added 
to federal adjusted gross income.

Line 3 - Other Additions to 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income

• The amount by which your basis of property 
under federal law exceeds your basis of 
property for State purposes must be added to 
your adjusted gross income in the year that you 
dispose of the property.

•  The amount required to be added under G.S. 
105-153.6 when the State decouples from federal 
accelerated depreciation and expensing.

Line 4 - Total Additions 

 Add Lines 1 through 3.  Enter the total on Line 
4 and on Form D-400, Line 7.

Part B - Deductions from 
Federal Adjusted

Gross Income

Line 5 - State Income Tax 
Refund

Enter the amount of any state or local income 
tax refund included on Line 10 of your federal 
return, Form 1040.

Line 6 - Interest From United 
States Obligations

Enter the amount of interest received from 
notes, bonds, and other obligations of the United 
States (such as U.S. savings bonds, treasury 
notes and bills, etc.) or United States possessions.
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Line 13 - Qualifying Home 
Mortgage Interest 

Enter the amount allowed as a deduction for 
interest paid or accrued during the taxable year 
under section 163(h) of the Code with respect 
to any qualified residence.  If filing as married 
filing separately, see the note in Line 16 below.

Line 14 - Real Estate Property 
Taxes

Enter the amount allowed as a deduction for 
property taxes paid or accrued on real estate 
under section 164 of the Code.  If filing as married 
filing separately, see the note in Line 16 below.

Line 15 - Total Home Mortgage 
Interest and Real Estate 
Property Taxes

Add Lines 13 and 14 and enter the amount.

Line 16 - Qualifying Home 
Mortgage Interest and Real 
Estate Property Taxes Limitation

Total home mortgage interest and real estate 
property taxes may not exceed $20,000.  For 
spouses filing as married filing separately or 
married filing jointly, the total home mortgage 
interest and real estate property taxes claimed by 
both spouses combined may not exceed twenty 
thousand dollars ($20,000). 

Note:  For spouses filing as married filing 
separately with a joint obligation for home 
mortgage interest and real estate property taxes, 
the deduction for these items is allowable to the 
spouse who actually paid them. If the amount of 
home mortgage interest and real estate property 
taxes paid by both spouses exceeds twenty 
thousand dollars ($20,000), the deductions must 
be prorated based on the percentage paid by 
each spouse. For joint obligations paid from joint 
accounts, the proration is based on the income 
reported by each spouse for tax year 2015.

Line 17 - Allowable North 
Carolina Home Mortgage 
Interest and Real Estate 
Property Taxes

Compare Line 15 and Line 16.  Enter whichever 
is less.

Line 11 - Other Deductions 
From Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income

•  The gain from the sale or disposition of North 
Carolina obligations issued before July 1, 1995, 
is deducted from adjusted gross income if the 
law under which the obligations were issued 
specifically exempts the gain.

•  The amount by which your basis of property 
for State purposes exceeds your basis of property 
for federal purposes must be deducted from 
your adjusted gross income in the year that you 
dispose of the property.

• Income that meets both of the following 
requirements:

a. Is earned or received by an enrolled member 
of a federally recognized Indian tribe.

b. Is derived from activities on a federally 
recognized Indian reservation while the 
member resides on the reservation. 
Income from intangibles having a situs 
on the reservation and retirement 
income associated with activities on the 
reservation are considered income derived 
from activities on the reservation.

• The amount that you received from the 
Eugenics Sterilization Compensation Fund as 
compensation received under the Eugenics 
Asexualization and Sterilization Compensation 
Program may be deducted to the extent it is 
included in federal adjusted gross income.

Line 12 - Total Deductions 

Add Lines 5 through 8 and Lines 9f, 10f, and 
11.  Enter the total on Line 12 and on Form 
D-400, Line 9.

Part C - N.C. Itemized 
Deductions 

No itemized deductions included on federal 
Schedule A (Form 1040) are allowed as N.C.  
Itemized Deductions except qualified	 home	
mortgage interest, real estate property taxes, 
charitable contributions, and medical and 
dental expenses.  

New for tax year 2015: Medical and dental 
expenses allowed as a deduction under section 
213 of the Code are deductible.

The itemized deductions are not subject to the 
overall limitation on itemized deductions under 
section 68 of the Code.

 You must attach Form D-400 Schedule 
S to Form D-400 if you claim N.C. itemized 
deductions.

Line 18 - Charitable 
Contributions

Enter the amount of charitable contributions 
allowed as a deduction under section 170 of 
the Code.  Charitable contributions allowed as 
a deduction under section 170 of the Code are 
allowed without limitation.

Line 19 - Medical and Dental 
Expenses

 Enter the amount of medical and dental 
expenses allowed as a deduction under section 
213 of the Code, from Line 4 of Schedule A, 
Federal Form 1040.

Line 20 - N.C. Itemized 
Deductions

 Add Lines 17, 18, and 19.  Enter the amount 
on Line 20 and Form D-400, Line 11.

Part D - Computation of North 
Carolina Taxable Income 

for Part-Year Residents and 
Nonresidents

Lines 21 and 22 - Part- Year 
Resident/Nonresident 
Worksheet

Important: You must fill in applicable 
circles.

• Fill in circle(s) if you or your spouse moved 
into or out of North Carolina during the year and 
enter the dates of residency in the boxes.

• Fill in circle(s) if you or your spouse were 
nonresidents of North Carolina for the entire year.

 If you were a part-year resident of North 
Carolina during taxable year 2015 OR if you were 
a nonresident and you received income from 
North Carolina sources, you must complete the 
worksheet on Page 14 to determine the portion 
of federal gross income, as adjusted, that is 
subject to North Carolina income tax. After you 
complete the worksheet, enter the amount from 
Column B, Line 28 on Form D-400 Schedule S, 
Line 21. Enter the amount from Column A, Line 28 
on Form D-400 Schedule S, Line 22. In Column 
B, enter only the portion of the North Carolina 
additions and deductions shown in Column A that 
are applicable to North Carolina. For example, if 
you received interest income from United States 
obligations of $1,200 evenly during the year and 
you became a North Carolina resident on July 1, 
you should enter $1,200 on Line 21 of Column A 
and $600 on Line 21 of Column B.
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             Column A
Income as Shown on 

Federal Return

Column B
Income Subject to 
North Carolina Tax Income

 1. Wages ..................................................................................................................... 1.  __________________  __________________
 2. Taxable interest ....................................................................................................... 2.  __________________  __________________
 3.  Taxable dividends .................................................................................................... 3.  __________________  __________________
 4. State and local income tax refunds ......................................................................... 4.  __________________  __________________
 5. Alimony received ..................................................................................................... 5.  __________________  __________________
 6. Schedule C or C-EZ business income or (loss) ...................................................... 6.  __________________  __________________
 7. Schedule D capital gain or (loss)............................................................................. 7.  __________________  __________________
 8. Other gains or (losses) ............................................................................................ 8.  __________________  __________________
 9. Taxable amount of IRA distributions ........................................................................ 9.  __________________  __________________
10. Taxable amount of pensions and annuities ........................................................... 10.  __________________  __________________
 11. Schedule E - Rents, royalties, partnerships, S-Corps estates, trusts, etc ..............11.  __________________  __________________
12. Schedule F - Farm income or (loss) ...................................................................... 12.  __________________  __________________
13. Unemployment compensation ............................................................................... 13.  __________________  __________________
14. Taxable amount of Social Security or Railroad Retirement benefits ..................... 14.  __________________  __________________
 15. Other income ......................................................................................................... 15.  __________________  __________________
 16. Add lines 1 through 15 ........................................................................................ 16.  __________________  __________________

North Carolina Additions To Federal Adjusted Gross Income
(See Form D-400 Schedule S, Part A)
 17. Interest income from obligations of states other than NC ..................................... 17.  __________________  __________________
18. Other additions to federal adjusted gross income that relate to gross income...... 18.  __________________  __________________
19. Add Lines 16, 17, and 18..................................................................................... 19.  __________________  __________________

North Carolina Deductions From Federal Adjusted Gross Income
(See Form D-400 Schedule S, Part B)
20. State and local income tax refund  (from Line 4 above) ............................................. 20.  __________________  __________________
 21. Interest from obligations of  the United States or United States’ possessions ...... 21.  __________________  __________________
22. Taxable portion of Social Security or Railroad Retirement benefits ...................... 22.  __________________  __________________
 23. Bailey retirement benefits
  (Enter in Col. A the total of the amount on Line 8, Form D-400 Schedule S). ...............................................23.  __________________  __________________
 24. Adjustment for bonus depreciation
  (Enter in Col. A the total of the amount on Line 9f, Form D-400 Schedule S). ......................................................24.  __________________  __________________
25. Adjustment for 179 expense deduction
  (Enter in Col. A the amount from Line10f, Form D-400 Schedule S) ...................................................................25.  __________________  __________________
26. Other deductions from federal adjusted gross income that relate to gross income ...26.  _________________   __________________
27. Add lines 20 through 26 ...................................................................................... 27.  __________________  __________________
28. Line 19 minus line 27 .......................................................................................... 28.  __________________  __________________

(Enter this amount on Form D400 
Schedule S, Part D, Line 22)

(Enter this amount on Form D400 
Schedule S, Part D, Line 21)

Please retain this worksheet with your records.
Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Worksheet

●  Enter the amount from Column B, Line 28 on Form D-400 Schedule S, Part D, Line 21.
●  Enter the amount from Column A, Line 28 on Form D-400 Schedule S, Part D, Line 22.

Line 21

Enter the amount from Column B, Line 28 of the Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Worksheet shown below.

Line 22

Enter the amount from Column A, Line 28 of the Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Worksheet shown below.

Line 23 

Divide Line 21 by Line 22.  Enter the result as a decimal amount here and on Form D-400, Line 13; round to four decimal places.
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Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Worksheet

Credit for Tax Paid to Another State or Country

When income is taxed by North Carolina for a period during which you were a legal resident of North Carolina and the same income is also taxed by another 
state or country because it was earned in or derived from sources within that state or country, a tax credit may be claimed, but not on the basis of a withholding 
statement alone.  Attach a copy of the return filed with the other state or country and a copy of the check or receipt if a balance of tax was paid with the return. 

Complete the North Carolina return and include all income both within and outside the State. Compute the tax as though no credit is to be claimed. 
Complete Part 1 of Form D-400TC to determine the allowable tax credit. The amount entered on Line 1, Part 1 of Form D–400TC is total income from 
all sources received while a resident of North Carolina, adjusted by the applicable additions and/or deductions to federal adjusted gross income that 
relate to gross income that you listed on Form D–400 Schedule S, Parts A and B.  The amount of net tax paid on Line 6 is any prepayment of tax (tax 
withheld, estimated tax payments, amount paid with extension, etc.) plus any additional tax paid or less any refunds received or expected to be received.  
Attach a copy of the tax return filed with the other state and proof of the payment.  

Include on Line 2, Part 1 of Form D–400TC your share of any S Corporation income that is attributable to and taxed by another state, whether or not 
the other state taxed the income at the individual or corporate level. Include on Line 6, Part 1, Form D–400TC the net tax you paid another state on your  
share of S Corporation income or your pro rata share of the net corporate tax paid by the S Corporation to another state that taxes the corporation rather 
than the shareholder.  Attach a schedule to your return showing the total amount of tax paid to the other state by the S Corporation, and how your pro rata 
share of the tax was determined.

If you claim credit for tax paid to more than one state or country, use the worksheet below to determine the tax credit allowable for each state or 
country.  Determine the total credits for all states by adding the amount on Line 7 of each worksheet and enter the total on Form D-400TC, Line 7a.  Be 
sure to use separate worksheets to determine the separate credits for each state or country.

Nonresidents are not entitled to this tax credit. 

General Information for Claiming Tax Credits - Form D-400TC

1. Total	income	from	all	sources	(combined	for	joint	filers)	from	Federal	Form	1040,	Line	22;	1040A,	Line	15;	or	1040EZ,
 Line 4, while a resident of North Carolina, adjusted by the applicable additions shown on Line 1 and Line 3 and
 deductions shown on Lines 5 through 11 of Form D-400 Schedule S, Parts A and B. Do not make any adjustment
 for any portion of Lines 3 or 11 of Form D-400 Schedule S, Parts A and B that does not relate to gross income.  ..........1. _____________

2. The portion of Line 1 that was taxed by the other state or country ...................................................................................2. _____________
 
3. Divide Line 2 by Line 1 and enter the result as a decimal amount (Round to four decimal places) .................................3. _____________

4. Enter total North Carolina income tax (From Form D-400, Line 15) .................................................................................4. _____________

5. Multiply Line 3 by Line 4 ...................................................................................................................................................5. _____________
 
6. Amount of net tax paid to the other state or country on the income shown on Line 2 (See instructions above
 for definition of net tax paid) .............................................................................................................................................6. _____________

7. Enter the lesser of Line 5 or Line 6 ...................................................................................................................................7. _____________

Out-of-State Tax Credit Worksheet

.

Credit for Children

You may claim a child tax credit on your State return for each dependent child for whom a federal child tax credit was allowed under section 24 of the 
Code. The amount of credit allowed for the taxable year is equal to the amount listed in the table below based on your adjusted gross income, as calculated 
under the Code (Form D-400, Line 6). 

The credit for children can be claimed only for a child who was under 17 years of age on the last day of the year. A part-year resident or nonresident 
may claim a prorated credit based on the percentage of income that is subject to North Carolina tax.

Please refer to the chart below and complete the Credit for Children Worksheet on Page 16 to determine the amount of allowable credit.  You must 
enter the number of dependent children for whom you were allowed a federal tax credit and the amount of the credit on Form D–400TC, Part 2, Line 8.

Credit for Children
  Credit Amount
Filing Status AGI per Qualifying Child  
    
Married Filing Jointly/Qualifying Widow(er)  Up to $40,000 $125
 Over   $40,000 and up to $100,000 $100
 Over $100,000 $0

Head of Household                  Up to $32,000 $125
 Over   $32,000 and up to $80,000 $100
 Over $80,000 $0
Single or       
Married Filing Separately  Up to $20,000 $125
 Over   $20,000 and up to $50,000 $100
 Over $50,000 $0 
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Credit for Children Worksheet

1. Multiply the number of children for whom you are entitled to claim the federal child tax credit by $100 or $125
 and enter the result here.  (Full-year residents enter this amount here and on Line 3 below.) ......................................1. _____________

2.  Part-year residents and nonresidents multiply the amount on Line 1 by the decimal amount from Form D-400,
 Line 13 and enter the result here and on Line 3 below. If Line 13 of Form D-400 is more than1.0000, enter the
 amount from Line 1 here and on Line 3 below. ................................................................................................................2. _____________

3. Credit for children (Include the amount on this line in the total on Form D-400TC, Part 2, Line 8.) .................................3. _____________

Credit for Rehabilitating Historic Structure

Qualified	rehabilitation	expenditures	and	rehabilitation	expenses	must	have	been	incurred	before	January	1,	2015.	  The credit for rehabilitating 
a historic structure must be claimed in five equal installments beginning with the taxable year in which the property was placed in service.

 Income-producing – Generally, a taxpayer who is allowed a federal income tax credit under section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code for making 
rehabilitation expenditures for a certified historic structure located in North Carolina is allowed a credit equal to 20% of the expenditures that qualify for the 
federal credit (40% of expenditures if the facility at one time served as a State training school for juvenile offenders).

 Nonincome-producing – Generally, a taxpayer who is not allowed a federal income tax credit under section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code and who 
makes rehabilitation expenses for a State-certified historic structure located in North Carolina is allowed a credit equal to 30% of the rehabilitation expenses 
(40% of expenditures if the facility at one time served as a State training school for juvenile offenders).  To qualify for the credit, the rehabilitation expenses 
must exceed $25,000 within a 24-month period.  You must attach to the return a copy of the certification obtained from the State Historic Preservation Officer 
verifying that the historic structure has been rehabilitated in accordance with the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation.

Credit for rehabilitating an income-producing historic structure:  Enter qualified rehabilitation expenditures in the first year the credit is taken on Line 
10a and the installment amount of the credit on Line 10b of Form D-400TC.   

Credit for rehabilitating a nonincome-producing historic structure:  Enter qualified rehabilitation expenses in the first year the credit is taken on Line 
11a and the installment amount of the credit on Line 11b of Form D-400TC.   

Important:  Any unused portion of either credit may be carried forward for the succeeding five years.  Complete Form D-400TC, Part 3, Line 14 to claim 
tax credits carried over from a previous tax year, if any.    

Credit for Rehabilitating Historic Mill Facility

 To claim a tax credit for rehabilitating a historic mill facility, an application for an eligibility certification must have been submitted before January 1, 2015.  
The taxpayer must provide a copy of the eligibility certification and the cost certification.  The amount of credit depends on the location of the facility and 
whether it was renovated as income producing or nonincome producing property.  The credit may be claimed in the year in which the eligible site is placed 
into service.  When the eligible site is placed into service in two or more phases in different years, the amount of credit that may be claimed in a year is the 
amount based on the qualified rehabilitation expenditures associated with the phase placed into service during that year.

Credit for rehabilitating an income-producing historic mill facility:  Enter qualified rehabilitation expenditures in the year the credit is taken on Line 12a 
and the credit amount on Line 12b.  

Credit for rehabilitating a nonincome-producing historic mill facility:  Enter rehabilitation expenses in the first year the credit is taken on Line 13a and 
the installment amount of the credit on Line 13b.  This credit is claimed in five equal installments beginning with the taxable year in which the property is 
placed in service.

Important:  Any unused portion of either tax credit may be carried forward for the succeeding nine years. Complete Form D-400TC, Part 3, Line 14 to 
claim tax credits carried over from a previous tax year, if any.   

Credit	for	Qualified	Business	Investments		(Repealed effective for investments made on or after January 1, 2014)

The tax credit for qualified business investments was repealed for investments made on or after January 1, 2014.  However, any tax credit previously 
authorized by the Department that was not used because the credit did not exceed the amount of tax liability for the taxable year reduced by the sum of all 
other credits allowable, except tax payments, may be carried forward for the next five succeeding years from the taxable year the credit was authorized.  
Report any carryforwards of the credit for qualified business investments on Form D-400TC, Part 3, Line 14. 
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 •  Credit for investing in machinery and equipment *
 • Credit for creating jobs *  
 • Credit for business property *  
 • Credit for real property *  
 • Credit for research and development
 • Credit for interactive digital media *  
 • Credit for investing in central office or aircraft facility property *  
 • Credit for technology commercialization *  
 • Credit for renewable fuel facility *

 • Credit for investing in low-income housing *  
 • Credit for use of North Carolina ports *  
 • Credit for investing in renewable energy property
 • Credit for work opportunity *  
 • Credit for constructing a railroad intermodal facility
 • Credit for biodiesel producers *  
 • Credit for donating funds to a nonprofit organization
  to enable the nonprofit to acquire renewable energy property.
 •  Credit for renewable energy property facility *

Business Incentive and Energy Tax Credits (Limited to 50% of Tax Liability)

The following tax credits are available as incentives to new and expanding businesses or for investing in renewable energy property or low-income 
housing.  If you believe you are entitled to one or more of the tax credits, contact the Department for Form NC-478 Series or you may download the forms 
from our website at www.dornc.com.   Form NC-478 Series is used to calculate and report tax credits that are limited to 50% of your tax less the sum of 
all other tax credits that you claim.  Complete the form and attach it to the front of your income tax return. 

If you are entitled to one of the following tax credits, enter the amount of the credit on Form D-400TC, Line 18.

Sunset for Tax Credits - Effect on Future Installments and Carryforwards 

In the past two years several tax credits have been repealed. Taxpayers that qualified for these tax credits may continue to take any remaining installments 
and carryforwards of the tax credits after the sunset date if the taxpayer continues to meet the statutory eligibility requirements for each particular tax credit. 

For example, the Article 3J credit for creating jobs is repealed for business activities that occur on or after January 1, 2014. In tax year 2013, a taxpayer, 
who met all eligibility requirements set out in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-129.83 and satisfied the threshold requirement for job creation, created jobs in this 
State. The taxpayer claimed the jobs credit by filing Form NC-478J (the applicable NC-478 series form) and by paying the fee of $500.00 with the 2013 
tax return on April 15, 2014. The taxpayer is allowed to take the first installment of the 2013 jobs credit on its 2014 tax return and the second installment 
on its 2015 return.  Any unused portion of the first or second installment if applicable may be carried forward for the succeeding five years. The taxpayer is 
allowed to continue to take remaining installments as long as the taxpayer continues to meet the requirements of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-129.83 and N.C. 
Gen. Stat. § 105-129.87. If the taxpayer fails to maintain eligibility requirements, remaining installments are forfeited and only the carryforward amount of 
a previously accrued installment may be taken, subject to the carry forward provisions of N.C. Gen. State § 105-129.84. 

These credits have expired and are only available for future installments and unused carryforwards. *  

Important:  Unless otherwise stated, the tax credits described in these instructions may not exceed the tax liability for the 
tax year, reduced by other tax credits.

Tax Rate - 5.75% (.0575)

Instructions for Filing 2015 Amended Returns
New	for	tax	year	2015,	you	must	use	Form	D-400	to	amend	your	original	North	Carolina	individual	income	tax	return.		You	must	fill	in	the	circle	

on Form D-400 indicating Amended Return, attach Form D-400 Schedule AM, 2015 North Carolina Amended Schedule to the front of Form D-400, 
and attach all required schedules and supporting forms. 

Note:  You no longer use a separate tax form (Form D-400X) to amend your original return.  For tax year 2015, all changes will be made on 
Form D-400.

General Instructions
Amended returns on which you owe additional tax are required to be filed and the tax paid within three years after the date on which the original return 

was filed or within three years from the date required by law for filing the return, whichever is later.  Generally, to receive a refund, the amended return must 
be filed within three years of the date the original return was due or within two years after the date the tax was paid, whichever is later. If a valid extension 
was filed, a refund claimed on an amended return may be filed within three years from the extended due date. 

You must amend your 2015 North Carolina return if:

•	You made an error or received additonal information since you filed your original 2015 North Carolina State income tax return.
•	The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) made changes to your 2015 federal return.  You must report the changes to the State by filing an amended return 

within six months from the date you receive the report from the Internal Revenue Service. If you do not amend your State return to reflect the federal 
changes and the Department of Revenue receives the report from the Internal Revenue Service, an assessment may be made by the Department within 
three years from the date of receipt of the report, and you forfeit your right to any refund which might have been due by reason of the changes.

•	You need to report a net operating loss.
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Important
Information

• Complete Form D-400 Schedule AM, 2015 
North Carolina Amended Schedule and 
attach it to the front of Form D-400.  You must 
fill in the circles indicating the reasons you are 
amending your return and explain in detail the 
reason for each change.

• Use Form D-400 to make any necessary 
changes to your original return. 	You	must	fill	
in the circle indicating Amended Return.  
Form D-400 should be completed showing 
the corrected amounts for lines 1 through 21.  
(See	Specific	Line	Instructions) 

 Important:  If you filed Form D-400 Schedule 
S or Form D-400TC with your original return, 
then you must file these forms with your 
amended return, even if there are no changes 
to the form(s). 

• Form D-400 Schedule S (Supplemental 
Schedule) must be completed showing the 
corrected amounts.  Form D-400 Schedule S 
is required to be filed if you have reported:

a. additions to federal adjusted gross 
income (Form D-400, Line 7)

b. deductions from federal adjusted gross 
income (Form D-400, Line 9)

c. N.C. itemized deductions (Form D-400, 
Line 11)

d. decimal amount for part-year residents 
and nonresidents (Form D-400, Line 13) 

• Form D-400TC (Individual Income Tax Credits) 
must be completed showing the corrected 
amounts.  Form D-400TC is required to be 
filed if you claimed a tax credit on your original 
or amended return.  See Page 15.

• In addition, the following information must 
be attached to your amended return as 
documentation in support of items that have 
been changed:

- A copy of a federal audit report.
- A copy of federal Form 1040X and 

supporting federal changes if changes 
are also applicable to your federal return.

- W-2s and 1099s to verify a change in 
income tax withheld.

- NC K-1 to verify tax payments made by a 
pass-through entity.

- Federal Form 1045, including Schedule A 
and B, if amending as a result of a net 
operating loss.

Specific	Line
Instructions

 

Form D-400, Line 22, 
Amended Returns Only – 
Previous payments

 Include on Line 22 the amount paid with 
original return (Form D-400, line 27) plus 
additional tax paid since your original return was 
filed. If you did not pay the entire balance due 
shown on your original return, enter the actual 
amount that was paid. Do not include payments 
of interest or penalties.

Form D-400, Line 24, 
Amended Returns Only - 
Previous refunds

 Include on Line 24 the overpayment, if any, 
shown on the original return (Form D-400, 
line 28). If the overpayment claimed on your 
original return was previously adjusted by the 
Department, enter the adjusted overpayment 
on this line. The amount includes any portion 
that was refunded, applied to any outstanding 
debt, or to estimated tax, or contributed to the 
N.C. Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Fund 
or the N.C. Education Endowment Fund. Do not 
include interest you received on any refunds.  

Form D-400, Line 26

 If line 19 is more than Line 25, subtract Line 
25 from Line 19.  If Line 25 is negative, treat Line 
25 as a positive number, and add Lines 19 and 
25.  Enter the tax due amount on Line 26a.

Form D-400, Line 27, Pay 
This Amount

 Add lines 26a, 26d, and 26e and enter the 
total on Line 27.  If you owe additional tax, 
interest is due on that amount from the due date 
of the original return to the date of payment. Go 
to the Department of Revenue website at
www.dornc.com/taxes/rate.html to determine 
the applicable interest rate. Include the accrued 
interest in your payment.

Form D-400, Line 28, 
Overpayment

 Overpayment. If Line 19 is less than line 25, 
subtract Line 19 from Line 25.

Form D-400, Line 29

 Amount of Line 28 to be applied to 2016 
Estimated Income Tax.  If you elected to have 
your original refund applied to your estimated 
tax, do not enter this amount again on Line 29.  

However, you may elect to have an overpayment 
from your 2015 amended return applied to your 
2016 estimated tax if your amended return is filed 
by January	15,	2017.

Form D-400, Lines 30 and 31

 If you wish to contribute an overpayment 
from your 2015 amended return to the N.C. 
Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Fund, enter 
the amount of the contribution on Line 30.  If you 
wish to contribute an overpayment from your 
2015 amended return to the N.C. Education 
Endowment Fund, enter the amount of the 
contribution on Line 31.  If you elected to have 
your original refund applied to either the N.C. 
Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Fund or the 
N.C. Education Endowment Fund, do not enter 
these amounts again on Lines 30 and 31 since 
these amounts have already been deducted from 
your original refund.  

Form D-400, Line 33

 Amount to be refunded.  Subtract Line 32 
from Line 28.

Where to File
Mail Form D-400 Schedule AM, Form D-400, 
all required schedules, supporting forms, and, if 
applicable, payment for the amount shown due 
on Line 27 and Form D-400V Amended to:

N.C. DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
P.O. BOX 25000
RALEIGH, NC 27640-0640

Amended Return Payment Options
Online - You can pay your tax online by bank draft 
or credit or debit card using Visa or MasterCard. 
Go to our website www.dornc.com and click on 
eServices for details.

Payment Voucher - If you do not pay your tax 
online, use payment voucher (Form D-400V 
Amended).

Go to our website at:  https://eservices.dor.
nc.gov/vouchers/d400v_amended.jsp to 
generate a personalized D-400V Amended 
payment voucher. Complete the voucher 
and enclose it with your amended return and 
payment. Do not send cash. Write your name, 
address, and social security number(s) on your 
payment. Note: The Department will not accept a 
check, money order, or cashier’s check unless it 
is drawn on a U.S.(domestic) bank and the funds 
are payable in U.S. dollars. Be sure to enter your 
social security number(s) in the boxes provided 
on the voucher. Please do not staple, tape, paper 
clip, or otherwise attach your payment or voucher 
to your amended return or to each other.
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Do not submit photocopies of the return.  Submit original forms only.  Do not use any prior year forms to file a current  year return.

Double-check your figures, including your social security number.   Accuracy speeds processing of your tax return.

Claim the same filing status you claimed on your federal return.  (Nonresidents see instructions on Page 7.)   If you do not fill in 
the applicable circle to indicate your filing status, processing of your return will be delayed.

Sign and date your return on Page 2.  If you file a joint tax return, both you and your spouse must sign the return.  Staple the 
originals or copies of the original State wage and tax statements in the lower left-hand corner of the return.

You must include a copy of your federal return with your North Carolina return unless your federal return reflects a North Carolina 
address or you file electronically.

If you owe additional tax, you can now pay by bank draft using an approved eFile software product.  You may also pay your tax 
online by bank draft, credit or debit card (Visa or Mastercard) through the NCDOR website at www.dornc.com.   Click on eServices 
for details.  If you do not pay your tax online, go to our website and generate a personalized payment voucher Form D-400V. 
Enclose the voucher with your return and payment, and mail to the address listed on Page 2 of Form D-400. If you do not pay 
online or by payment voucher, mail a check or money order with your return for the full amount due. Please write “2015 D-400”, 
and your name, address, and social security number on the payment. If filing a joint return, write both social security numbers on 
your payment in the order that they appear on the return.  Note: The Department will not accept a check, money order, or cashier’s 
check unless it is drawn on a U.S. (domestic) bank and the funds are payable in U.S. dollars.

Please see Instructions for Filing 2015 Amended Returns, Page 17.

Other Supporting Schedules

What you should send us...
	 Your North Carolina income tax return (Form D-400) 
	 Form D-400 Schedule S if claiming additions to income on Line 7, deductions from income on Line 9, N.C. itemized deductions 

on Line 11 or computation of North Carolina taxable income for part-year residents and nonresidents on Line 13.
	 Form D-400TC if you claimed a tax credit
	 W-2s and 1099s showing North Carolina tax withheld and a 1099R if you claimed a Bailey retirement deduction
	  A check or money order payable to “N.C. Department of Revenue” if you have a balance due. (Note: The   Department will not 

accept a check, money order, or cashier’s check unless it is drawn on a U.S. (domestic) bank and the funds are payable 
in U.S. dollars.)

	 Other North Carolina forms or supporting schedules that are required according to the instructions (Please do not send copies 
of completed worksheets from the instruction booklet or other unnecessary attachments.)

	 A copy of the tax return you filed in the other state if you are claiming a tax credit for tax paid to another state
	 If you are filing an amended return, see Instructions for Filing 2015 Amended Returns, Page 17.

Important:  If you owe tax, do not staple, tape, or otherwise attach your check or 
voucher to your return or to each other.   Instead, just put them loose in the envelope.

Assemble your North Carolina return for mailing in the order shown

Note:	 	 If	 you	 are	 filing	
Form NC-478 series, be 
sure to attach the form to 
the front of your income 
tax return.

Important Reminders

D-400 Sch S

D-400TC

D-400 
Pgs. 1 & 2

(If required)

(If required)

(If required)

one staple
W-2s
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100,000 copies of this booklet were printed at a cost of $14,460 or approximately $0.1446 each

If you are due
a refund: 

N.C. Department of Revenue
P.O. Box R
Raleigh, N.C. 27634-0001

If you are not
due a refund: 

N.C. Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 25000
Raleigh, N.C. 27640-0640

Mailing Addresses for Original Returns Only

Important Toll Free Telephone Numbers
Automated Refund Inquiry Line .............................................................. 1-877-252-4052
Taxpayer Assistance and Forms ............................................................. 1-877-252-3052

Assistance For Disabled, Low Income, and Senior Citizen Taxpayers
If you are disabled, have a low income, or are a senior citizen, income tax returns can be prepared free of charge through the VITA 
(Volunteer Income Tax Assistance)/TCE (Tax Counseling for the Elderly) programs. For locations and dates of assistance, taxpayers 
in North Carolina can call the Internal Revenue Service toll free, 1-800-829-1040, weekdays.

Tax Fraud Hotline   1-800-232-4939
(919) 707-7597 in Wake County

The Department of Revenue provides a toll free number for citizens who wish to report instances of tax fraud.  The number is 
1-800-232-4939 (8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays) and should be called only to report instances of fraud.  

Tax Assistance
Information about individual income tax and tax forms may be obtained from our website at www.dornc.com. You may also call the 
Taxpayer Assistance and Collection Center at 1-877-252-3052 (toll free) for additional assistance in completing your tax forms or to 
request forms.

Property for Sale
Looking for a bargain on good used vehicles, furniture, appliances, tools, and jewelry?  Go to www.dornc.com/taxes/usub/ and click 
on Vehicles and Property Available for Auction.

Maintaining Records
You should keep canceled checks, receipts, or other documentation, including a copy of your federal return, to verify any amount entered 
on your tax return for a period of at least three years from the due date of the return or three years from the date the return is filed, 
whichever is later. Lack of adequate records may result in the disallowance of all or part of the deductions. Your canceled check, money 
order stub, or Departmental receipt showing payment of tax should be kept for at least five years from the due date of the tax return.

Important Notice Regarding Substitute Returns
Any facsimile or substitute form must be approved by the Department of Revenue prior to its use. If you use computer generated 
returns, the software company is responsible for requesting approval and receiving an assigned identification number. The Department 
publishes a list on our website of software developers who have received approval. Photocopies of the return are not acceptable. 
Returns that cannot be processed by our imaging and scanning equipment will be returned to the taxpayer with instructions to refile 
on an acceptable form.

Federal Privacy Act Notice
Disclosing your social security number on your return is required by regulations issued by the Secretary of Revenue under G.S. 105-
152, 155, 251, and 252. Social security numbers are used in the administration of the State’s tax laws and to exchange tax information 
with other states and the Internal Revenue Service. Always list your social security number on any attachments to your return and on 
any correspondence to the Department of Revenue.

N.C. Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 25000, Raleigh, NC 27640-0640

Mailing Address for Amended Returns Only




