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NORTH CAROLINA’S REFERENCE TO THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE UPDATED - 
IMPACT ON 2014 NORTH CAROLINA CORPORATE AND INDIV IDUAL INCOME TAX 
RETURNS 
 
Governor McCrory signed into law Session Law 2015-2 (Senate Bill 20) on March 31, 2015.  The legislation 
updated North Carolina’s reference to the Internal Revenue Code to the Code as enacted as of January 1, 
2015.  As a result, North Carolina corporate and individual income tax law generally follows the Tax 
Increase Prevention Act of 2014 (“TIPA”), which extended several provisions in federal law that had sunset 
at the end of 2013.   The law does not follow (decouples from) TIPA in six instances.  The table below 
identifies those instances and describes each difference and which lines on the tax returns are impacted. 
 
 

 Federal Provision State Provision NC  C Corporate 
Return 

NC Individual 
Return 

1 Bonus depreciation is 
extended to property 
placed in service in 
2014. 

Addition required for 
85% of bonus 
depreciation deducted on 
federal return. 

Include addition 
on Form CD-405, 
Schedule H, Line 
1.g. 

Include addition on 
Form D-400 
Schedule S, Part 
A, Line 3. 

2 Code section 179 dollar 
and investment 
limitations are increased 
to $500,000 and 
$2,000,000, 
respectively, for 2014. 

Dollar and investment 
limitations set at $25,000 
and $200,000, 
respectively.  Addition 
required for 85% of the 
difference between the 
deduction using federal 
limitations and the 
deduction using NC 
limitations. 

Include addition 
on Form CD-405, 
Schedule H, Line 
1.g. 

Include addition on 
Form D-400 
Schedule S, Part 
A, Line 3. 

3 Mortgage insurance 
premiums are treated as 
qualified residence 
interest for 2014. 

Mortgage insurance 
premiums are not treated 
as qualified residence 
interest. 

Not applicable Do not include 
mortgage 
insurance 
premiums in the 
amount of 
mortgage interest 
deducted on Form 
D-400 Schedule S, 
Part C, Line 13. 

4 Cancellation of qualified 
principal residence debt 
is excluded from gross 
income.  

Addition required for 
amount of cancellation of 
qualified principal 
residence debt excluded 
from gross income on the 
federal return. 

Not applicable Include addition on 
Form D-400 
Schedule S, Part 
A, Line 3. 
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 Federal Provision State Provision NC  C Corporate 
Return 

NC Individual 
Return 

5 Qualified tuition and 
related expenses are 
deductible for 2014. 

Addition required for 
qualified tuition and 
related expenses deducted 
on the federal return. 

Not applicable Include addition on 
Form D-400 
Schedule S, Part 
A, Line 3. 

6 Qualified charitable 
distributions from an 
IRA by a person who 
has attained age 70 ½ 
are excluded from gross 
income. 

Addition required for 
qualified charitable 
distributions from an IRA 
by a person who has 
attained age 70 ½ that are 
excluded from gross 
income on the federal 
return.  The distributions 
are allowable as a 
charitable contribution. 

Not applicable Include addition on 
Form D-400 
Schedule S, Part 
A, Line 3. 
Deduct 
contribution on 
Form D-400 
Schedule S, Part C, 
Line 18 if 
itemizing 

 
Any person who has already filed a 2014 North Carolina income tax return and whose federal taxable 
income (C corporation) or federal adjusted gross income (individual) is impacted by the amendments to 
federal law included in TIPA or by the provisions of TIPA from which North Carolina has decoupled must 
file an amended North Carolina return.  If the amended return reflects additional tax due, the taxpayer will 
avoid interest if the additional tax is paid by the original due date of the return (April 15 for calendar-year 
taxpayers).   The taxpayer will also avoid a late-payment penalty if the additional tax reflected on the 
amended return is paid when the amended return is filed or April 15, whichever is later.   
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Join over 3.5 million taxpayers that 
filed their North Carolina income 
taxes electronically last year – it 
improves processing, saves time, 
and reduces cost.

Our website offers e-file options 
and a list of approved e-file vendors.  
The list is located at www.dornc.
com/electronic/e-file.html.
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Make it easy on yourself... File your return electronically!
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Electronic filing offers the option of having your refund deposited 
directly into your bank account, thereby, eliminating the possibility 
of your refund check being lost, stolen, or returned due to an 
incomplete/incorrect address. The direct deposit option is available 
only if you e-file your return. (Please be sure to verify that your 
bank account information is accurate prior to submitting your 
return.  Incorrect banking information may delay your refund 
and/or result in you receiving a paper check)

Convenience of Direct Deposit Safe and Confidential
The Department complies with IRS 
security standards to safeguard 
your tax data.

New E-File Payment Options for 
Taxpayers!
Individual income taxpayers can e-file returns and pay taxes 
electronically with an approved e-file vendor product.  Bank draft 
payments for D-400V can now be made when you e-file your return. 
You also have the ability to schedule NC-40 estimated payments and 
file and/or pay D-410 extensions.

Friendly and Confidential 
Customer Service
For assistance in e-filing your 
returns, utilize the “Help” 
features that are provided by 
each software product.

Avoid Long Lines at the 
Post Office
Why wait in long lines at the post office?  If you 
e-file your return, you will receive electronic 
confirmation that your return has been received.

More Accurate than
Paper Returns
Computerized calculations are 
automatic and lower the chance of 
errors on the return.

  to N.C. Education Endowment
  Fund ..........................................11
 Line Instructions for Form
  D-400 Schedule S, North
  Carolina Supplemental
  Schedule ...................................12
General Information for Claiming 
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Important Reminders .......................17
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 For Mailing ...................................17
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“Where’s My Refund?” and Other E-Services

www.dornc.com         Click E-Services and select Individuals.

Where’s My Refund?
Track the status of your current individual income tax refund, 
amended returns and prior year returns filed late. 
D-400V Individual Income Payment Voucher
Pay your current year individual income tax.
Bills and Notices
Make a payment on a bill or notice that you received from the 
Department of Revenue.
NC-40 Individual Estimated Income Tax
Pay your individual estimated income tax payments online.

D-410 Application for Extension for Filing Individual Income 
Tax Return 
File your individual income tax extension and pay the tax 
electronically. 
D-400V Amended Individual Income Payment Voucher
Pay the tax on your individual income tax amended return.
E-Alerts
Join our Tax Updates Mailing List. Mailings through this list will 
include bulletins, directives, and other important notices about 
law changes and related tax matters.
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      Safe and Secure E-Filing Options for Individuals:

Free File... You may be eligible to e-file for FREE!!!
To find out if you qualify for Free File, please review the Quick Guide 
to Eligibility Requirements for Free File and Low Cost by clicking on 
the NCfreefile logo located on our website at http://www.dornc.com/
electronic/e-file.html

Low Cost
If you do not qualify for free electronic filing, you may be eligible to 
electronically file your Federal and State returns at a low cost. The software 
prices are listed from lowest to highest on our website.  To access the list 
of Low Cost options, click on the NCfreefile logo located on our website at 
http://www.dornc.com/electronic/e-file.html 

VITA/TCE
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance/Tax Counseling for the Elderly (VITA/TCE) 
programs offer free Federal and State tax preparation and electronic filing for 
taxpayers with low or moderate income, disabilities, non-English speaking, 
or the elderly.  Call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040 for a location.

How Do I E-File?
Use Your Computer
Visit our website at www.dornc.com to 
access E-File services available at no cost 
to eligible taxpayers or use a commercial 
tax preparation software for a modest fee.  
A link to approved software products sites 
is located on our website.

Ask Your Tax Preparer to File Your 
Federal and State Returns Electronically

N.C. income tax filers are encouraged to file returns and pay 
taxes electronically through approved tax software or online at

www.dornc.com 

Before You Begin

The forms in this booklet are designed for electronic scanning that permits faster processing with fewer errors.  To avoid unnecessary 
delays caused by manual processing, please follow the guidelines below:

Important:  You must enter your social security number(s) in the appropriate boxes on the forms. Otherwise, we may be unable 
to process your return.

 
 Be sure to enter your complete address on your return, including your apartment number, if applicable.
 Make sure you have received all of your W-2s, 1099s, and other tax documents that you need to prepare your return.
 Do not submit photocopies of the return.  Submit original forms only.  Do not use any prior year forms.
 Use black or blue ink only.  Do not use red ink or pencil.  
 Write your numbers in the boxes like this:
 Do not use dollar signs ($), commas, decimal points, or other punctuation marks like this:
      Do not use brackets to indicate negative numbers.  Negative numbers are indicated by filling in the circle next to the 

number.
 Do not enter zeros or draw lines in boxes where no data is required.
 Round off to the nearest whole dollar.  Drop amounts under 50 cents and increase amounts from 50 cents to 99 cents to the 

next whole dollar.
 Use capital letters.
 Print letters and numbers like this:  
 

 Fill in applicable circles completely.  Example: 
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What’s New 
For information about any additional changes to the 2014 tax law or any other developments affecting 
Form D-400 or its instructions, go to www.dornc.com.

Session Law 2013-316, House Bill 998, An Act to Simplify the North Carolina 
Tax Structure and to Reduce Individual and Business Tax Rates, was signed 
into law on July 23, 2013. The individual income tax rate was reduced, the 
N.C. standard deduction was increased, and many deductions and tax credits 
are no longer available for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014.

Change in tax rate. The individual income tax rate is reduced to a flat 5.8 percent 
for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2014 and to 5.75 percent for tax 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2015.

N.C. Standard Deduction or N.C. Itemized Deductions. You may continue to 
claim either the N.C. standard deduction or N.C. itemized deductions, however, 
both have changed.  (See Page 8)

 • N.C. standard deduction has increased for each filing status, 
 • No additional standard deduction is available for taxpayers age 65 or older, 

or blind.
 • N.C. itemized deductions are no longer identical to federal itemized deductions 

and are subject to certain limitations.

N.C. Itemized Deductions.

 • Qualified home mortgage interest and real estate property taxes are allowed 
as deductions. The sum of those deductions cannot exceed $20,000,

 • Charitable contributions allowed as a deduction on the federal return are 
allowed without limitation.

Deduction for Other Retirement Benefits. There are no longer deductions 
available to certain taxpayers for up to $4,000 for federal, state, or local 
government retirement benefits or up to $2,000 for private retirement benefits.

Deduction for Net Business Income that is Not Considered Passive Income. 
There is no longer a deduction available to certain taxpayers for up to $50,000 of 
net business income included in federal adjusted gross income.

Deduction for Contributions to N.C. College Savings Program. There is no 
longer a deduction for contributions made during the taxable year to an account 
in the Parental Savings Trust Fund of the State Education Assistance Authority 
(North Carolina’s National College Savings Program - N.C. 529 Plan).

N.C. Standard Deduction Amounts for Most Taxpayers:

Filing Status Standard Deduction
Single $ 7,500
Married Filing Jointly/Qualifying Widow(er) $15,000
Married Filing Separately $ 7,500
Head of Household $12,000 

(See Page 8 for exceptions)

N.C. Personal Exemption Allowance. 
You may no longer claim a personal 
exemption for yourself, your spouse, 
children, or any other qualifying 
dependents.

Credit for Children. Amounts are 
increased from $100 to $125 per 
qualifying child for some taxpayers. 
If you are allowed a federal child tax 
credit under section 24 of the Code 
you are allowed a tax credit for each 
dependent child for whom a federal 
credit was allowed. The credit amount 
is based on your filing status and 
adjusted gross income, as calculated 
under the Code. (See Page 15)

Child and Dependent Care Credit. 
North Carolina no longer allows a tax 
credit for child and dependent care 
expenses.

Earned Income Tax Credit. North 
Carolina no longer has a State earned 
income tax credit.

N.C. Education Endowment Fund: 
Contribute to the N.C. Education 
Endowment Fund by making a 
contribution or designating some or all 
of your overpayment to the Fund. (See 
instructions for information about the 
Fund on Pages 7 and 11.)
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The information contained in this booklet is 
to be used as a guide in the preparation of a 
North Carolina individual income tax return 
and is not intended to cover all provisions 
of the law.

Filing Requirements

 The minimum gross income filing requirements 
under North Carolina law are different from the 
filing requirements under the Internal Revenue 
Code because North Carolina has its own 
standard deduction and no longer allows a 
personal exemption allowance.

Who is required to file a North Carolina 
individual income tax return?

• Every resident of North Carolina whose income 
for the taxable year exceeds the amount for his 
filing status shown in the Filing Requirements 
Chart.

• Every part-year resident who received 
income while a resident of North Carolina 
or who received income while a nonresident 
attributable to the  ownership of any interest 
in real or tangible personal property in North 
Carolina or derived from a business, trade, 
profession or occupation carried on in North 
Carolina, or is derived from gambling activities 
in North Carolina and whose total income for 

Filing Status
A Return is  Required if Federal

Gross Income Exceeds

(1) Single ..................................................................................................................................$ 7,500

(2) Married - Filing Joint Return ...............................................................................................$ 15,000
 
(3) Married - Filing Separate Return  .......................................................................................$ 7,500
  If spouse does not claim itemized deductions ...............................................................$ 7,500  
      If spouse claims itemized deductions ............................................................................ 0

(4) Head of Household .............................................................................................................$ 12,000

(5) Qualifying Widow(er) with dependent child.........................................................................$ 15,000

(6) Nonresident alien ................................................................................................................$ 0

the taxable year exceeds the amount for his 
filing status shown in the Filing Requirements 
Chart.

• Every nonresident who received income for 
the taxable year from North Carolina sources 
that was attributable to the ownership of any 
interest in real or tangible personal property 
in North Carolina or derived from a business, 
trade, profession, or occupation carried on in 
North Carolina, or is derived from gambling 
activities in North Carolina and whose total 
income from all sources both inside and 
outside of North Carolina equals or exceeds 
the amount for his filing status shown in the 
filing requirements.

• If you had North Carolina income tax withheld 
during the year but your income is below the 
amount required for filing, as shown in the 
Filing Requirements Chart, you must still file 
a return to receive a refund.

 If you were not required to file a federal income 
tax return but your gross income from all sources 
both inside and outside of North Carolina equals 
or exceeds the amount for your filing status 
shown in the filing requirements, you must 
complete a federal return and attach it to your 
North Carolina income tax return to show how 
your federal adjusted gross income, deductions, 
and exemptions were determined.

 You and your spouse must file a joint North 
Carolina return if you file a joint federal income 
tax return, and both of you were residents of 
North Carolina or both of you had North Carolina 
taxable income. 

 If you file a joint federal return and your spouse 
is a nonresident of North Carolina and had no 
North Carolina taxable income, you may file a 
joint State return.  Once you file a joint return, 
you cannot choose to file separate returns 
for that year after the due date of the return.  
However, you still have the option of filing your 
State return as married filing separately.  If you 
choose to file a separate North Carolina return, 
you must complete either a federal return as 
married filing separately reporting only your 
income and deductions or a schedule showing 
the computation of your separate income and 
deductions and attach it to your North Carolina 
return.  You must also include a copy of your joint 
federal return unless your federal return reflects 
a North Carolina address.

When filing a joint return, include the name and 
social security number of each spouse on the 
return. Both spouses are jointly and severally 
liable for the tax due on a joint return unless one 
spouse qualifies for innocent spouse relief for 
federal income tax purposes as a result of the 
“innocent spouse” rules provided under Internal 
Revenue Code Section 6015.

Filing Requirements Chart

Note:  There is no addtional standard deduction available for taxpayers age 65 or older or blind.  Also, there is no longer a 
separate chart for children and other dependents.
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the tax is also extended; however, interest is due 
on any unpaid tax from the original due date of the 
return until the tax is paid. If you are unable to file 
the return within the automatic 4-month extension 
period, an additional 2-month extension may be 
obtained by following the provisions in the first 
paragraph of this section; however, Form D-410 
must be filed by the automatic 4-month extended 
date of August 15.

General Refund Information

If you owe another State or local agency, 
the amount you owe may be deducted from 
your refund.  If you have an outstanding federal 
income tax liability, the Internal Revenue Service 
may claim your North Carolina refund.

Need to Call Us About Your 
Refund?

You can check the status of your refund at 
www.dornc.com.  The automated refund inquiry 
line 1-877-252-4052 (toll-free) will also give 
you the status of your current refund.  You can 
also obtain amended return refund information.   
Service is available 24 hours a day seven days 
a week.  You will need the first social security 
number and the amount of refund shown on your 
return when you call.

How to Pay Your Tax

 If you owe additional tax, you can pay online 
by bank draft or credit or debit card using 
Visa or MasterCard.  To pay online, go to the 
Department’s website at www.dornc.com and 
click on E-Services.  

 You can also pay by check or money order.  
Do not send cash.  The Department will not 
accept a check, money order, or cashier’s check 
unless it is drawn on a U.S. (domestic) bank 
and the funds are payable in U.S. dollars.  Make 
your check or money order payable  to the N.C. 
Department of Revenue for the full amount due.   
Write “2014 D-400” and your name, address, and 
social security number on your payment.  If you 
are filing a joint return, write both social security 
numbers on your payment in the order that they 
appear on the return.  If you do not pay your tax 
online, you may go to our website and generate a 
personalized Form D-400V.  Enclose the voucher 
with your return and payment, and mail to the 
address listed on page 2 of Form D-400.  If you 
use tax software to prepare your return, be sure 
to include with your return and payment the Form 
D-400V generated by the software package.

Estimated Income Tax

You are required to pay estimated income tax 
if the tax shown due on your return, reduced by 
your North Carolina tax withheld and allowable 
tax credits, is $1,000 or more regardless of the 
amount of income you have that is not subject 
to withholding. Each payment of estimated tax 
must be accompanied by Form NC-40, North 
Carolina Individual Estimated Income Tax.  
If you are filing estimated tax for the first time, 

contact any of our offices so that appropriate 
forms can be mailed to you.  You can also pay 
your estimated tax online at www.dornc.com.  
Click on E-Services.

You should prepare your estimated tax 
carefully, both to avoid having to pay a large 
amount of tax when you file your return, and 
to avoid owing interest for underpayment of 
estimated income tax. Payment of estimated tax 
does not relieve you of your responsibility for filing 
a return if one is due.

Statute of Limitations 

Generally, to receive a refund, your return 
must be filed within three years from the date 
the original return was due or within two years 
after the tax was paid, whichever date is later. 
However, special rules extending the time for 
filing refund claims beyond the normal three 
year statute of limitations apply to overpayments 
attributable to (1) worthless debts or securities, 
(2) capital loss carrybacks, (3) net operating 
loss carrybacks, or (4) a contingent event. For 
overpayments resulting from worthless debts or 
securities, the period of time for demanding an 
overpayment is seven years; for overpayments 
resulting from capital loss or net operating loss 
carrybacks, the period of time is three years from 
the due date of the return for the year in which 
the loss was incurred rather than three years 
from the due date of the return for the year to 
which the loss is carried back. If you are subject 
to a contingent event and file notice with the 
Secretary of Revenue, the period to request a 
refund of an overpayment is six months after the 
contingent event concludes. For more specific 
guidance regarding a contingent event, please 
refer to our website http://www.dornc.com/
taxes/certainevents.html.

Amended Returns

You may amend your return by filing Form 
D-400X, Amended North Carolina Individual 
Income Tax Return for 2014. Amended returns 
on which you owe additional tax are required to 
be filed and the tax paid within three years after 
the date on which the original return was filed or 
within three years from the date required by law 
for filing the return, whichever is later. 

If changes are made to your federal return by 
the Internal Revenue Service, you must report the 
changes to the State by filing an amended return 
within six months from the date you receive the 
report from the Internal Revenue Service. If you do 
not amend your State return to reflect the federal 
changes and the Department of Revenue receives 
the report from the Internal Revenue Service, an 
assessment may be made by the Department 
within three years from the date of receipt of the 
report, and you forfeit your right to any refund which 
might have been due by reason of the changes.

Penalties and Interest

Failure to file penalty. Returns filed after the 
due date are subject to a penalty of 5 percent of the 
tax for each month, or part of a  month, the return 

The Income Tax Return 

All individuals (including part-year residents 
and nonresidents) must file their income tax 
return on Form D-400.  If applicable, be sure to 
read the section entitled Information for Part-
Year Residents and Nonresidents.

When to File

If you file your return on a calendar year basis, 
it is due on or before April 15 of the following year. 
A fiscal year return is due on the 15th day of the 
4th month following the end of the taxable year. 
When the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, 
or holiday, the return is due on or before the next 
business day. A fiscal year return should be filed 
on a tax form for the year in which the fiscal year 
begins (For example:  A  2014 tax form should be 
used for a fiscal year beginning in 2014).

Nonresident Aliens:  Nonresident aliens are 
required to file returns at the same time they are 
required to file their federal returns.

Extensions

If you cannot file your return by the due date, 
you may apply for an automatic 6-month extension 
of time to file the return. To receive the extension, 
you must file Form D-410, Application for 
Extension for Filing Individual Income Tax 
Return, by the original due date of the return. 
You can file Form D-410 online at www.dornc.
com.  Click on E-Services.  You should apply for 
an extension even if you believe you will be due 
a refund but cannot file by the due date. 

You are not required to send a payment of the 
tax you estimate as due to receive the extension; 
however, it will benefit you to pay as much as you 
can with the extension request.  An extension 
of time for filing the return does not extend 
the time for paying the tax.  If you do not pay 
the amount due by the original due date, you 
will owe a 10 percent late-payment penalty and 
interest.  The late-payment penalty will not be due 
if you pay at least 90 percent of your tax liability 
through withholding, estimated tax payments, or 
with Form D-410 by the original due date.

A late-filing penalty may be assessed if your 
return is filed after the due date (including 
extensions).  The penalty is 5 percent per month 
(25 percent maximum) on the remaining tax due.

If you do not file the application for extension 
by the original due date of the return, you are 
subject to both a late-filing penalty and a late-
payment penalty.  

Out of the Country:  If you were a U.S. citizen 
or resident and were out of the country on the 
regular due date of your return (April 15), you are 
granted an automatic 4-month extension for filing 
your North Carolina return if you fill in the “Out of 
the Country” circle on Page 1 of your return. ”Out 
of the Country” means you live outside the United 
States and Puerto Rico and your main place of 
work is outside the United States and Puerto Rico, 
or you are in military service outside the United 
States and Puerto Rico.  The time for payment of 
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you file your return. Additional contributions to the 
Fund may be made by mailing your contribution 
directly to the North Carolina Department of 
Public Instruction, Cash Collections, 6331 Mail 
Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-
6331. Checks should be made payable to “North 
Carolina Department of Public Instruction” with an 
indication either on the check or in an attached 
note that it is a contribution for the NC Education 
Endowment Fund.

United States Armed Forces Pay

If you are serving in the United States Armed 
Forces and your legal residence is North 
Carolina, you are liable for North Carolina income 
tax and North Carolina income tax should be 
withheld from your pay regardless of where you 
may be stationed. If you are a legal resident 
of another state stationed in North Carolina 
on military orders, you are not liable for North 
Carolina income tax on your military pay, but 
income from other employment, a business, or 
tangible property in North Carolina is subject to 
North Carolina income tax. 

Military Spouses 

The Military Spouses Residency Relief Act 
of 2009 prohibits North Carolina from taxing the 
income earned for services performed in North 
Carolina by a spouse of a servicemember stationed 
in North Carolina if (1) the servicemember is 
present in North Carolina solely in compliance with 
military orders; (2) the spouse is in North Carolina 
solely to be with the servicemember; and (3) the 
spouse is domiciled in the same state as the 
servicemember. If all three of the conditions are 
met, an employer is not required to withhold North 
Carolina tax from wages paid to the military spouse. 
A spouse who does not meet these requirements 
should see “Information for Part-Year Residents 
and Nonresidents.” The Act does not apply to 
military spouses who are domiciled in North 
Carolina. Withholding from wages paid to military 
spouses domiciled in North Carolina is still required.

Death of the Taxpayer

 If you are the spouse or personal representative 
of an individual who died prior to filing a return, you 
may be required to file a return on the decedent’s 
behalf.   If so, enter the date of death in the 
applicable box on Page 1 of Form D-400 to indicate 
the return is being filed for a deceased individual.

 An Income Tax Return for Estates and Trusts, 
Form D-407, must be filed for an estate for the 
period from the date of death to the end of the 
taxable year if the estate had taxable income 
from North Carolina sources or income which 
was for the benefit of a North Carolina resident, 
and the estate is required to file a federal return 
for estates and trusts.

 If you are filing a return for an unmarried 
individual who died during the year, enter the 
date of death in the applicable box and enter 
the name of the deceased and the address of 
the executor, administrator, or court-appointed 

representative.  The executor, administrator, or 
court-appointed representative should fill in the 
circle above the deceased taxpayer information 
on Page 1 and sign the return.  When filing a 
separate return for a decedent who was married 
at the time of death, enter the date of death, the 
name of the deceased, and the address of the 
surviving spouse.  The surviving spouse should 
sign the return.  In either case, be sure to enter 
the date of death in the space provided.

 If you are a court-appointed representative, 
attach to the return a copy of the certificate 
that shows your appointment.   A refund due 
on a return filed for a deceased taxpayer by a 
person other than a surviving spouse, executor, 
administrator or a court-appointed representative 
will be mailed to the Clerk of Superior Court of 
the county in which the taxpayer resided.

Information for Part-Year 
Residents and
Nonresidents

If you move your legal residence into or out 
of North Carolina during the tax year, you are a 
resident of two different states during two different 
periods of the tax year.

You are a nonresident if you maintain your legal 
residence in another state or country even though 
you may temporarily reside in North Carolina. If 
you reside in North Carolina for more than 183 
days of a tax year, you are presumed to be a 
resident for income tax purposes in the absence 
of factual proof of residence in another state. 
However, your absence from North Carolina for 
more than 183 days raises no presumption that 
you are not a resident.

If you file a joint federal return and your spouse 
is a nonresident of North Carolina and had no 
North Carolina taxable income, you may file a joint 
State return. However, you still have the option of 
filing your State return as married filing separately. 
If you choose to file a separate North Carolina 
return, you must complete either a federal return 
as married filing separately reporting only your 
income and deductions or a schedule showing 
the computation of your separate income and 
deductions and attach it to your North Carolina 
return. You must also include a copy of your 
joint federal return unless your federal return 
reflects a North Carolina address. Note: Itemized 
nonbusiness deductions of a married couple may 
be claimed by a spouse only if that spouse was 
obligated to pay the items and actually paid the 
amount during the year. In the case of a joint 
obligation (such as mortgage interest and real 
estate taxes), the deduction is allowable to the 
spouse who actually paid the item.

Part-year residents and nonresidents receiving 
income from North Carolina sources must 
determine the portion of their federal gross income, 
as adjusted, that is subject to North Carolina income 
tax by completing Lines 20 through 22 on Form 
D-400 Schedule S, Part D. See the instructions 
for Lines 20 and 21 on Page 13.

A part-year resident receiving partnership 
income from a partnership doing business in 
North Carolina and in one or more other states 

is late (maximum 25 percent of the additional tax). 
If you file your return late, include this penalty on 
Line 23b of Form D-400.

Failure to pay penalty. Returns filed after 
April 15 without a valid extension are subject 
to a late-payment penalty of 10 percent of the 
unpaid tax. If you have an extension of time for 
filing your return, the 10 percent penalty will apply 
on the remaining balance due if the tax paid by 
the original due date of the return is less than 90 
percent of the total amount of tax due. If the 90 
percent rule is met, any remaining balance due, 
including interest, must be paid with the  income 
tax return on or before the extended due date to 
avoid the late-payment penalty.  If your payment is 
late, figure the amount of the penalty and include 
on Line 23b of Form D-400.  The late-payment 
penalty will not be assessed if the amount shown 
due on an amended return is paid with the return. 
Proposed assessments of additional tax due are 
subject to the 10 percent late-payment penalty if 
payment of the tax is not received within 45 days 
of the assessment.

Other penalties. There are other  penalties 
for negligence, filing a frivolous return, and fraud. 
Criminal penalties also apply for fraud with intent 
to evade or defeat the tax and for willful failure to 
file a return, supply information, or pay the tax. 

  Collection Assistance Fee.  Any tax, penalty, 
and interest not paid within 90 days after the debt 
becomes collectible is subject to a 20 percent 
collection assistance fee.   

   Interest. Interest is due on tax not paid by April 
15, even though you may have an extension of 
time for filing your return.   You may obtain the 
current interest rate from any of the Department’s 
offices.  If you pay your tax late, figure the amount 
of interest due and include it on Line 23c of Form 
D-400.

 Interest on the underpayment of estimated 
tax.  Compute interest on any underpayment 
of estimated income tax on Form D-422, 
Underpayment of  Est imated Tax by 
Individuals.   Interest is not due if each payment 
equals 25 percent of the lesser of 90 percent (66 
2/3 percent for farmers and fishermen) of the tax 
due on your current year’s return or 100 percent 
of the tax due on your previous year’s return.  
If interest is applicable, add the interest to the 
tax due, and include the full payment with your 
return.   If a refund is due, subtract the amount 
of the interest from the refund.  

N. C. Education Endowment 
Fund Contribution

You may contribute to the N.C. 
Education Endowment Fund by 
making a contribution or designating 
some or all of your overpayment 
to the Fund (to designate your 
overpayment, see Page 11, Line 28). To make 
a contribution, simply enclose Form NC-EDU 
and your payment. If you owe additional tax 
due on your return and would also like to make 
a contribution to the fund, you may write one 
check and enclose the check with both Form 
NC-EDU and Form D-400V. Your election to 
contribute to the Fund cannot be changed after 
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must prorate his share of the partnership’s 
income attributable and not attributable to North 
Carolina between his periods of residence and 
nonresidence in accordance with the number 
of days in each period. Include on Line 20 of 
Form D-400 Schedule S, Part D your share of 
partnership income determined for the period 
of residence and your share of the partnership 
income attributable to North Carolina during the 
period of nonresidence.

If you have income from sources within another 
state or country while you are a resident of North 
Carolina and the other state or country taxes you 
on such income, you may be eligible to claim a 
tax credit on your North Carolina return. See 
“Credit for Tax Paid to Another State or Country” 
on Page 14 for additional information.

Line Instructions for 
Filing Form D-400

The references to line numbers on federal 
income tax forms were correct at the time of 
printing.  If they have changed and you are 
unable to determine the proper line to use, 
please contact the Department of Revenue.

Lines 1 through 5 - Filing 
Status

Check the same filing status you checked on 
your federal return. Important: If either you or 
your spouse is a nonresident and had no North 
Carolina taxable income for the tax year, see 
Page 5.

Line 6 - Federal Adjusted 
Gross Income

Enter your federal adjusted gross income from 
your federal return. If federal adjusted gross 
income is a negative number, enter the negative 
amount and fill in the circle to indicate that the 
amount is negative.  (Note: If you are completing 
a web fill-in form on the Department’s website, 
enter a minus sign to indicate a negative number.)

Line 7 - Additions to Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income

See Page 12, Instructions for Form D-400 
Schedule S for information about additions to 
federal adjusted gross income.

Line 9 - Deductions from 
Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income

See Page 12, Instructions for Form D-400 
Schedule S for information about deductions from 
federal adjusted gross income.

Line 11 - N.C. Standard Deduction or N.C. Itemized Deductions

IMPORTANT: Do not enter your federal standard deduction or federal itemized deduction on 
Line 11, Form D-400.

 You may deduct from federal adjusted gross income either the N.C. standard deduction or N.C. 
itemized deductions.  It is important to note that both have changed. The N.C. standard deduction 
has increased for each filing status. However, there is no longer an additional standard deduction 
available for taxpayers age 65 or older, or blind. If you are (1) married filing a separate return for 
North Carolina income tax purposes and your spouse itemizes deductions, (2) a nonresident 
alien, or (3) filing a short-year return because of a change in your accounting period, you are 
not entitled to the standard deduction. Note: A short-year return does not relate to a taxpayer who 
files a return as a part-year resident. The N.C. itemized deductions no longer include all itemized 
deductions reported on your federal return.

N.C. Standard Deduction

Use the following chart to determine the amount of your N. C. standard deduction to enter on line 11.

N.C. Itemized Deductions (See Form D-400 Schedule S, Part C, Page 13)

 No itemized deductions included on federal Form 1040 (Schedule A) are allowed as N.C. itemized 
deductions except qualified home mortgage interest, real estate property taxes, and charitable 
contributions.

 The sum of qualified home mortgage interest and real estate property taxes claimed, under sections 
163(h) and 164 of the Code, respectively, may not exceed twenty thousand dollars ($20,000). For 
spouses filing as married filing separately or married filing jointly, the total home mortgage interest 
and real estate taxes claimed by both spouses combined may not exceed twenty thousand dollars 
($20,000). For spouses filing as married filing separately with a joint obligation for home mortgage 
interest and real estate taxes, the deduction for these items is allowable to the spouse who actually 
paid them. If the amount of the home mortgage interest and real estate taxes paid by both spouses 
exceeds twenty thousand dollars ($20,000), these deductions must be prorated based on the 
percentage paid by each spouse. For joint obligations paid from joint accounts, the proration is based 
on the income reported by each spouse for that taxable year.” Charitable contributions allowed as 
a deduction under section 170 of the Code are allowed without limitation. 

 The N.C. itemized deductions are not subject to the overall limitation on itemized deductions under 
section 68 of the Code.  

Line 14 - North Carolina Taxable Income

• If you were a resident of North Carolina for the entire year, enter the amount from Line 12 on Line 14.

• If you were a part-year resident or a nonresident you must complete Form D-400 Schedule 
S, North Carolina Supplemental Schedule, Part D Lines 20 through 22 (See Page 13) and 
enter on Line 13 the decimal amount from Line 22. Multiply the amount on Line 12 by the decimal 
amount on Line 13 and enter the result on Line 14.

 Part-year residents and nonresidents should read the instructions listed on Page 13 for 
additional information and complete the worksheet for Lines 20 and 21 on Page 14.

Line 15 - North Carolina Income Tax

To calculate your tax, multiply your North Carolina Taxable Income, Line 14 by 5.8% (0.058):

Line 16 - Tax Credits

See Page 14 for information about tax credits. Complete Form D-400TC, Individual Tax Credits, 
if you are entitled to one or more of the credits.

 

 If your filing status is: Your standard deduction is: 
  Single  $ 7,500
  Married filing jointly/Qualifying widow(er)  $ 15,000
  Married filing separately
   If spouse does not claim itemized deductions  $ 7,500       
   If spouse claims itemized deductions   0
  Head of household  $ 12,000

N.C. Standard Deduction Chart
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               NC Taxable Income                                                                                                   NC Taxable Income
                                (D-400, Line 14)                                                                                                  (D-400, Line 14)    
   Use Tax   Use Tax
 At Least But Less Than Amount At Least    But Less Than   Amount      
   $ 0 2,200 $ 1 $ 23,000 24,400  $ 16
 2,200 3,700 2 24,400 25,900 17
 3,700 5,200 3 25,900 27,400 18
 5,200 6,700 4 27,400 28,900 19
 6,700 8,100 5 28,900 30,400 20
 8,100 9,600 6 30,400 31,900 21
 9,600 11,100 7 31,900 33,300 22
 11,100 12,600 8 33,300 34,800 23
 12,600 14,100 9 34,800 36,300 24
 14,100 15,600 10 36,300 37,800 25
 15,600 17,000 11 37,800 39,300 26
 17,000 18,500 12 39,300 40,700 27
 18,500 20,000 13 40,700 42,200 28
 20,000 21,500 14 42,200 43,700 29
 21,500 23,000 15 43,700 45,200 30 
    45,200 and over               Multiply NC 
                     Taxable Income  
             by .0675% (.000675)

Use Tax Table

The estimated amount is .0675% (.000675) of North Carolina taxable income.  If you 
believe the estimate from the table is too high for your out-of-state purchases, you  
may estimate what you think you owe.

Line 18 – Consumer Use Tax
(If you certify that no Consumer Use Tax is due you must fill in circle on Line 18, Form D-400.)

  
 North Carolina use tax is due by individuals on tangible personal property and certain digital property purchased, leased or rented inside or outside this 
State for storage, use, or consumption in North Carolina.  Use tax is due on taxable services sourced to North Carolina.  Individuals must pay use tax when 
retailers or facilitators do not collect tax on taxable transactions.  Retailers or facilitators that are not “engaged in business” in this State are not required to 
collect North Carolina’s tax.  Some out-of-state retailers or facilitators voluntarily collect North Carolina tax as a convenience to their customers.  Retailers 
or facilitators that are not “engaged in business” may include mail-order companies, television shopping networks, and firms selling over the internet.  

Items subject to sales and use tax include but are not limited to the following:

•  Computers and other electronic equipment,
•  Prewritten software including electronic downloads of software,
•  Books, books on tape, and digital books delivered or accessed electronically,
•  Audio compact discs, tapes, and records,
•  Digital music delivered or accessed electronically,
•  Magazines and newspapers including those delivered or accessed electronically,
•  Clothing, appliances, furniture, home furnishings, sporting goods, and jewelry,
•  Ringtones,
•  Movies delivered or accessed electronically,
•  Sales or recharges of prepaid telephone calling cards and phones,
•  Service contracts to maintain or repair tangible personal property or a motor vehicle,
• Admission tickets to an entertainment activity purchased outside the state where admission to the activity may be gained in the state.

 The use tax is calculated and due at the same rate as the sales tax.  For January 1, 2014 through March 31, 2014, the rate was 7.5% in Durham and 
Orange Counties, 7.25% in Mecklenburg County, 7% in Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, 
Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties, and 6.75% 
in all other counties.  For April 1, 2014 through September 30, 2014, the rate was 7.5% in Durham and Orange Counties, 7.25% in Mecklenburg County, 7% 
in Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, 
New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties, and 6.75% in all other counties.  For October 1, 2014 
through December 31, 2014, the rate was 7.5% in Durham and Orange Counties, 7.25% in Mecklenburg County, 7% in Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, 
Catawba, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, 
Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties, and 6.75% in all other counties.  If you paid another state’s sales or use tax that 
was legally due on out-of-state purchases, that amount may be credited against the North Carolina use tax due.  Credit is allowed for another state’s sales 
tax paid against the 4.75% North Carolina sales tax due.  Separate credit is allowed for another state’s local tax paid against the North Carolina local and 
transit sales and use tax due.  You may not claim a credit for sales tax or value-added tax paid to another country.

You should report use tax on purchases of food subject to the reduced rate of tax on Form E-554 and use tax on purchases of boats and aircraft on Form 
E-555.  Businesses should report and remit sales and use tax on Form E-500.
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Use Tax Worksheet 2 - Taxpayers Who Do Not Have Records of All Out-of-State Purchases

1. For purchases of items that cost less than $1,000, see the Use Tax Table on the previous page to estimate the use
 tax due based on your North Carolina taxable income shown on Form D-400, Line 14 and enter the amount .................  1. ___________

2.  For purchases of items that cost $1,000 or more:

  2a - Enter the total amount of purchases, including delivery charges, of $1,000 or more for 1/1/14 through
   3/31/14 ................................................................................................................................................................  2a. ___________

  2b - Multiply Line 2a by 7.5% (.075) in Durham and Orange Counties; 7.25% (.0725) in Mecklenburg County;
   7% (.07) in Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax,
   Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan,
   Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties; and 6.75% (.0675) in all other counties, and enter the amount .............  2b. ___________

  2c - Enter the total amount of purchases, including delivery charges, of $1,000 or more for 4/1/14 through
   9/30/14 ................................................................................................................................................................  2c. ___________

  2d - Multiply Line 2c by 7.5% (.075) in Durham and Orange Counties; 7.25% (.0725) in Mecklenburg County;
   7% (.07) in Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax,
   Harnett, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson,
   Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties; and 6.75% (.0675) in all other counties, and enter the amount ........  2d. ___________

  2e - Enter the total amount of purchases, including delivery charges, of $1,000 or more for 10/1/14 through
   12/31/14 ..............................................................................................................................................................  2e. ___________
.
  2f - Multiply Line 2e by 7.5% (.075) in Durham and Orange Counties; 7.25% (.0725) in Mecklenburg County;
   7% (.07) in Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Edgecombe,
   Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt,
   Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties; and 6.75% (.0675) in all other
   counties, and enter the amount ...........................................................................................................................  2f. ___________

3.  Add Lines 1, 2b, 2d and 2f and enter the total amount of use tax due ...........................................................................  3. ___________

4. Enter the tax legally due and paid to another state on the purchases. This amount may not exceed the amount
 on Line 3 .........................................................................................................................................................................  4. ___________

5. Subtract Line 4 from Line 3 and enter the result, rounded to the nearest whole dollar, here and on Form
 D-400, Line 18 ................................................................................................................................................................  5. ___________

Use Tax Worksheet - Taxpayers Who Have Records of All Out-of-State Purchases

1. Enter the total amount of out-of-state purchases, including delivery charges, for 1/1/14 through 3/31/14 .....................  1. ___________

2. Multiply Line 1 by 7.5% (.075) in Durham and Orange Counties; 7.25% (.0725) in Mecklenburg County; 7% (.07) in
 Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, Haywood, Hertford,
 Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson, Surry and Wilkes
 Counties; and 6.75% (.0675) in all other counties, and enter the amount ......................................................................  2. ___________

3. Enter the total amount of out-of-state purchases, including delivery charges, for 4/1/14 through 9/30/14 .....................  3. ___________

4. Multiply Line 3 by 7.5% (.075) in Durham and Orange Counties; 7.25% (.0725) in Mecklenburg County; 7% (.07)
 in Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, Harnett,
 Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan,
 Sampson, Surry and Wilkes Counties; and 6.75% (.0675) in all other counties, and enter the amount ........................  4. ___________

5.  Enter the total amount of out-of-state purchases, including delivery charges, for 10/1/14 through 12/31/14 .................  5. ___________

6. Multiply Line 5 by 7.5% (.075) in Durham and Orange Counties; 7.25% (.0725) in Mecklenburg County; 7% (.07) in
 Alexander, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cumberland, Davidson, Duplin, Edgecombe, Greene, Halifax, Harnett,
 Haywood, Hertford, Lee, Martin, Montgomery, New Hanover, Onslow, Pitt, Randolph, Robeson, Rowan, Sampson,
 Surry and Wilkes Counties; and 6.75% (.0675) in all other counties, and enter the amount ..........................................  6. ___________

7.  Enter the tax legally due and paid to another state on the purchases. This amount may not exceed the total of
 Lines 2, 4, and 6 .............................................................................................................................................................  7. ___________

8.  Add Lines 2, 4, and 6, then subtract Line 7 and enter the result, rounded to the nearest whole dollar, here and on
 Form D-400, Line 18 .......................................................................................................................................................  8. ___________
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Lines 20a and 20b -  N.C. 
Income Tax Withheld

Enter your North Carolina tax withheld on Line 
20a. If you are married and you file a joint return, 
enter your North Carolina withholding on Line 20a 
and your spouse’s withholding on Line 20b.  Do 
not include any income tax withheld by a state 
other than North Carolina or any other tax amounts 
that were withheld.

Be sure to attach your original or a copy of the 
original State wage and tax statements (Form 
W-2), 1099 statements, or other statements 
verifying North Carolina tax withheld to your return.  
It is not necessary to attach 1099 statements on 
which no North Carolina income tax withheld 
is reported unless you are claiming a Bailey 
retirement deduction (See Form D-400 Schedule 
S, Part B, Line 8).  Wage and tax statements 
or 1099 statements generated by tax software 
programs cannot be used to verify North Carolina 
tax withholding.

Line 21 - Other Tax Payments

a - 2014 Estimated Tax - Enter any estimated 
income tax payments for 2014 (including any 
portion of your 2013 refund that was applied 
to your 2014 estimated income tax). See Page 
6 for additional information about estimated 
income tax.

b - Paid with Extension - If you filed an automatic 
extension of time, enter the amount of North 
Carolina income tax paid with the extension.

c - Partnership - If you are a nonresident partner, 
enter your share of the tax paid to North 
Carolina by the manager of the partnership 
on your distributive share of the partnership 
income. Include with your return a copy of 
Form NC K-1 for Form D-403 provided by 
the partnership to verify the amount claimed.

d - S Corporation - If you are a nonresident 
shareholder of an S corporation, enter your 
share of the income tax paid to North Carolina 
by an S corporation on your distributive share 
of the S corporation income.  Include with your 
return a copy of Form NC K-1 for Form CD-
401S provided by the S corporation to verify 
the amount claimed.

Lines 23a through 23e - Tax, 
Penalties, and Interest

a - If Line 19 is more than Line 22, you owe  
additional tax.  Subtract Line 22 from Line 19 
and enter the result on Line 23a.

b - Penalties - See “Penalties and Interest” on 
Pages 6 and 7 to determine if any penalties 
apply to you.

c - Interest - See “Penalties and Interest” on Page 
7 to determine if you owe interest.

d - Total of penalties and interest.
e - Interest on the  Underpayment of Estimated 

Income Tax and Exceptions- You may owe 
interest if you underpaid  your estimated tax for 
any payment period.  You will not owe interest 
if you had no tax liability in the prior year or if 

from terns and pelicans to woodpeckers and 
warblers. Conserving these species and their 
habitats is important to our state, our economy, 
and our quality of life. If wildlife conservation is 
important to you, please give what you can and 
help conserve North Carolina’s wildlife for future 
generations to enjoy.

If you wish to contribute to the Fund, enter 
the amount of your contribution on Line 27. 
Your election to contribute to the Fund cannot 
be changed after you file your return. If you are 
not due a refund, you may still contribute to this 
Fund by donating online or mailing your donation 
directly to the North Carolina Wildlife Resources 
Commission, 1702 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, 
North Carolina 27699-1702. Checks should 
be made payable 
to the Nongame & 
Endangered Wildlife 
Fund .  Fo r  more 
information about the 
Fund or to donate 
online, check out 
www.ncwildlife.org/
give.

Line 28 - Contribution 
of Overpayment to N.C. 
Education Endowment Fund 

If you wish to contribute all or 
part of your refund to the N.C. 
Education Endowment Fund, enter 
the amount of your contribution on 
Line 28. Your election to contribute 
to the Fund cannot be changed after you file your 
return. Additional contributions to the Fund may 
be made by mailing your contribution directly 
to the North Carolina Department of Public 
Instruction, Cash Collections, 6331 Mail Service 
Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699-6331. 
Checks should be made payable to “North 
Carolina Department of Public Instruction” with 
an indication either on the check or in an attached 
note that it is a contribution for the NC Education 
Endowment Fund.

Line 30 -  Amount to be
Refunded

If you are due a refund, mail your return to the 
North Carolina Department of Revenue, P.O. 
Box R, Raleigh, North Carolina 27634-0001.  
Refunds of less than $1.00 are made only upon 
written request.

this year’s tax liability, less any amount withheld 
and  allowable tax credits, is less than $1,000.    
Complete Form D-422 to see if you owe 
interest.  Enter the interest on Line 23e.  The 
interest will increase your tax liability or reduce 
your overpayment.  You do not have to attach 
Form D-422 or Form D-422A to your return; 
however, maintain the form for your records.

Exception to Underpayment of Estimated Tax:

• Enter an “F” in the box if you are a farmer or 
fisherman.  You will not owe interest if you are 
a farmer or fisherman and pay the tax due by 
March 2, 2015.  You are a farmer or fisherman 
if you received at least two-thirds of your gross 
income for the year from farming and fishing.

• Enter an “A” in the box if you completed Form 
D-422A, Annualized Income Installment 
Worksheet, in determining the  amount to enter 
on Line 23e.

Line 24 - Pay This Amount

Add Lines 23a, 23d, and 23e and enter the 
total on Line 24.  This is the total tax, penalties, 
and interest due.  Mail your return and payment to 
the North Carolina Department of Revenue,  P. 
O. Box 25000, Raleigh, North Carolina 27640-
0640.  Make your check or money order payable 
to the NC Department of Revenue.  Important:  
The Department will not accept a check, money 
order, or cashier’s check unless it is drawn on a 
U.S. (domestic) bank and the funds are payable 
in U.S. dollars.  

You may also pay electronically or generate a 
personalized payment voucher Form D-400V by 
visiting www.dornc.com.

Line 25 - Overpayment 

If Line 22 is more than Line 19, you have 
overpaid your tax. Subtract Line 19 (and any 
amount shown on Line 23e) from Line 22 and 
enter the amount of the overpayment on Line 25.

Line 26 - Estimated Income Tax

If you have overpaid the tax, you may elect 
to have your refund applied to your estimated 
tax for the following year by entering the amount 
to be applied on Line 26.  The election cannot 
be changed after you file your return.  The last 
allowable date for making a 2015 estimated tax 
payment is January 15, 2016; therefore, to apply 
a portion of your refund to 2015 estimated tax, you 
must file your 2014 return by January 15, 2016.

Line 27 - N. C. Nongame and 
Endangered Wildlife Fund

Help keep North Carolina wild by contributing 
any portion of your refund to the N.C. Nongame 
and Endangered Wildlife Fund. Your tax 
deductible contributions are essential to 
monitoring and managing our wildlife populations, 
including turtles, flying squirrels, frogs, mussels, 
salamanders, and hundreds of bird species 
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from other State, local, and federal retirement 
plans may or may not be excluded depending on 
rulings in the Bailey case. The exclusion does 
not apply to retirement benefits paid to former 
teachers and state employees of other states 
and their political subdivisions.

A retiree entitled to exclude retirement benefits 
from North Carolina income tax should claim a 
deduction on Line 8 for the amount of excludable 
retirement benefits included in federal adjusted 
gross income. Even if all your retirement is 
excludable under Bailey, you must still file a North 
Carolina return if you meet the minimum gross 
filing requirements on Page 5. A copy of Form 
1099-R or W-2 received from the payer must be 
attached to the return to support the deduction.

Line 9 - Adjustment for Bonus 
Depreciation Added Back in 
2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 
2013

North Carolina did not adopt the 50 percent 
bonus depreciation provisions in IRC section 
168(k) for tax year 2008 or in IRC sections 168(k) 
or 168(n) for tax years 2009 and 2010. Similarly, 
North Carolina did not adopt the provisions of the 
Small Business Jobs Act of 2010 which extended 
the 50 percent bonus depreciation through 2011 
or the Tax Relief Act of 2010 which doubled and 
extended bonus depreciation from 50 percent 
to 100 percent for qualified property acquired 
and placed in service after September 8, 2010 
and before January 1, 2012. The Tax Relief Act 
makes 50 percent bonus depreciation available 
for qualified property placed in service after 
December 31, 2011 and before January 1, 2013. 
Certain long-lived property and transportation 
property is eligible for 100 percent expensing 
if placed in service before January 1, 2013. 
Any amount added to federal taxable income 
or federal adjusted gross income on the 2009, 
2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013 State returns may 
be deducted in five equal installments beginning 
with the 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 State 
returns, respectively. Therefore, enter 20 percent 
of the bonus depreciation added back on the 
2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013 State returns.

Line 10 - Adjustment for 
Section 179 Expense Added 
Back in 2010, 2011, 2012, and 
2013

North Carolina did not conform to the increased 
expense deduction or increased investment limit 
for section 179 property but rather maintained the 
expense deduction and investment limit allowed 
under the Internal Revenue Code as of May 
1, 2010. Any amount added to federal taxable 
income or federal adjusted gross income on 
your 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013 returns may be 
deducted in five equal installments beginning with 
the 2011, 2012, 2013, and 2014 State returns, 
respectively. Therefore, enter 20 percent of the 
section 179 expense deduction added back on 
your 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013 State returns.

Part B - Deductions from 
Federal Adjusted

Gross Income

Line 5 - State Income Tax 
Refund

Enter the amount of any state or local income 
tax refund included on Line 10 of your federal 
return, Form 1040.

Line 6 - Interest From United 
States Obligations

Enter the amount of interest received from 
notes, bonds, and other obligations of the United 
States (such as U.S. savings bonds, treasury 
notes and bills, etc.) or United States possessions.

Line 7 - Taxable Portion of 
Social Security and Railroad 
Retirement Benefits

Social security and railroad retirement benefits 
are not subject to State income tax. Enter 
any Title 2 social security benefits received 
under the Social Security Act and any Tier 1 
or Tier 2 railroad retirement benefits received 
under the Railroad Retirement Act that were 
included in federal adjusted gross income. 
Railroad Retirement Act benefits include railroad 
unemployment insurance benefits and railroad 
sickness benefits.

Line 8 - Retirement Benefits 
Received by Vested 
Government Retirees (Bailey 
Settlement)

As a result of the North Carolina Supreme 
Court’s decision in Bailey v. State of North 
Carolina, North Carolina may not tax certain 
retirement benefits received by retirees (or by 
beneficiaries of retirees) of the State of North 
Carolina and its local governments or by United 
States government retirees (including military). 
The exclusion applies to retirement benefits 
received from certain defined benefit plans, 
such as the North Carolina Teachers’ and State 
Employees’ Retirement System, the North 
Carolina Local Governmental Employees’ 
Retirement System, the North Carolina 
Consolidated Judicial Retirement System, the 
Federal Employees’ Retirement System, or the 
United States Civil Service Retirement System, if 
the retiree had five or more years of creditable 
service as of August 12, 1989. The exclusion 
also applies to retirement benefits received from 
the State’s§401(k) and §457 plans if the retiree 
had contributed or contracted to contribute to the 
plan prior to August 12, 1989. The exclusion 
does not apply to local government §457 
plans or to §403(b) annuity plans. Benefits 

The references to line numbers 
on federal income tax forms were 
correct at the time of printing. If they 
have changed and you are unable 
to determine the proper line to use, 
please contact the Department of 
Revenue.

If you do not have additions to or 
deductions from federal adjusted 
gross income, you are not claiming 
N.C. itemized deductions and you 
are not computing North Carolina 
taxable income for part-year residents 
and nonresidents, do not complete or 
attach Schedule S.

Important: If you enter an amount 
on Line 7, 9, 11 (if claiming N.C. 
itemized deductions), or 13, you 
must attach Form D-400 Schedule 
S to Form D-400, Individual Income 
Tax Return, otherwise, we may be 
unable to process your return.

Part A - Additions to Federal 
Adjusted Gross Income

Line 1 - Interest Income

Enter the amount of interest received from 
notes, bonds, and other obligations of states 
and political subdivisions other than North 
Carolina if not included in federal adjusted gross 
income. This includes exempt interest dividends 
received from regulated investment companies 
(mutual funds) to the extent such dividends do 
not represent interest from obligations of North 
Carolina or its political subdivisions.

Line 2 - Adjustment for 
Domestic Production Activities

North Carolina does not allow the domestic 
production activities deduction. Therefore, if 
you claimed the deduction on Line 35 of federal 
Form 1040, the amount claimed must be added 
to federal adjusted gross income.

Line 3 - Other Additions to 
Federal Adjusted Gross Income

 The amount by which your basis of property 
under federal law exceeds your basis of 
property for State purposes must be added to 
your adjusted gross income in the year that you 
dispose of the property.

Line 4 - Total Additions 

 Add Lines 1 through 3.  Enter the total on Line 
4 and on Form D-400, Line 7.
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Line 11 - Other Deductions 
From Federal Adjusted Gross 
Income

•  The gain from the sale or disposition of North 
Carolina obligations issued before July 1, 1995, 
is deducted from adjusted gross income if the 
law under which the obligations were issued 
specifically exempts the gain.

•  The amount by which your basis of property 
for State purposes exceeds your basis of property 
for federal purposes must be deducted from 
your adjusted gross income in the year that you 
dispose of the property.

• Income that meets both of the following 
requirements:

a. Is earned or received by an enrolled member 
of a federally recognized Indian tribe.

b. Is derived from activities on a federally 
recognized Indian reservation while the 
member resides on the reservation. 
Income from intangibles having a situs 
on the reservation and retirement 
income associated with activities on the 
reservation are considered income derived 
from activities on the reservation.

Line 12 - Total Deductions 

Add Lines 5 through 8 and Lines 9f, 10e, 
and 11.  Enter the total on Line 12 and on Form 
D-400, Line 9.

Part C - N.C. Itemized 
Deductions 

No itemized deductions included on federal 
Schedule A (Form 1040) are allowed as N.C. 
Itemized Deductions except qualified home 
mortgage interest, real estate property taxes, 
and charitable contributions.

The sum of qualif ied home mortgage 
interest and real estate property taxes claimed, 
respectively, under sections 163(h) and 164 
of the Code may not exceed twenty thousand 
dollars ($20,000). For spouses filing as married 
filing separately or married filing jointly, the total 
home mortgage interest and real estate property 
taxes claimed by both spouses combined may not 
exceed twenty thousand dollars ($20,000). For 
spouses filing as married filing separately with a 
joint obligation for home mortgage interest and 
real estate property taxes, the deduction for these 
items is allowable to the spouse who actually 
paid them. If the amount of home mortgage 
interest and real estate property taxes paid by 
both spouses exceeds twenty thousand dollars 
($20,000), the deductions must be prorated 
based on the percentage paid by each spouse. 
For joint obligations paid from joint accounts, 
the proration is based on the income reported 
by each spouse for tax year 2014.

Charitable contributions allowed as a deduction 
under section 170 of the Code are allowed 

without limitation.

The itemized deductions are not subject to the 
overall limitation on itemized deductions under 
section 68 of the Code.

Line 13 - Qualifying Home 
Mortgage Interest 

Enter the amount allowed as a deduction for 
interest paid or accrued during the taxable year 
under section 163(h) of the Code with respect to 
any qualified residence.

Line 14 - Real Estate Property 
Taxes

Enter the amount allowed as a deduction for 
property taxes paid or accrued on real estate 
under section 164 of the Code.

Line 15 - Total Home Mortgage 
Interest and Real Estate 
Property Taxes

Add Lines 13 and 14 and enter the amount.

Line 16 - Qualifying Home 
Mortgage Interest and Real 
Estate Property Taxes Limitation

Total home mortgage interest and real estate 
property taxes may not exceed $20,000.  For 
spouses filing as married filing separately or 
married filing jointly, the sum of home mortgage 
interest and real estate property tax deductions 
claimed by both spouses combined may not 
exceed twenty thousand dollars ($20,000).

Line 17 - Allowable North 
Carolina Home Mortgage 
Interest and Real Estate 
Property Taxes

Compare Line 15 and Line 16.  Enter whichever 
is less.

Line 18 - Charitable 
Contributions

Enter the amount of charitable contributions 
allowed as a deduction under section 170 of 
the Code.

Line 19 - N.C. Itemized 
Deductions

 Add Lines 17 and 18.  Enter the amount on 
LIne 19 and Form D-400, Line 11.

Line Instructions for Form D-400 Schedule S,
North Carolina Supplemental Schedule

Part D - Computation of North 
Carolina Taxable Income 

for Part-Year Residents and 
Nonresidents

Lines 20 and 21 - Part- Year 
Resident/Nonresident Worksheet

Important: You must fill in applicable 
circles.

• Fill in circle(s) if you or your spouse moved 
into or out of North Carolina during the year and 
enter the dates of residency in the boxes.

• Fill in circle(s) if you or your spouse were 
nonresidents of North Carolina for the entire year.

If you were a part-year resident of North Carolina 
during the taxable year 2014 OR if you were 
a nonresident and you received income from 
North Carolina sources, you must complete the 
worksheet on Page 14 to determine the portion 
of federal gross income, as adjusted, that is 
subject to North Carolina income tax. After you 
complete the worksheet, enter the amount from 
Column B, Line 28 on Form D-400 Schedule S, 
Line 20. Enter the amount from Column A, Line 28 
on Form D-400 Schedule S, Line 21. In Column 
B, enter only the portion of the North Carolina 
additions and deductions shown in Column A that 
are applicable to North Carolina. For example, if 
you received interest income from United States 
obligations of $1,200 evenly during the year and 
you became a North Carolina resident on July 1, 
you should enter $1,200 on Line 21 of Column A 
and $600 on Line 21 of Column B.

Line 20

Enter the amount from Column B, Line 
28 of the Part-Year Resident/Nonresident 
Worksheet on Page 14 of the Instructions.

Line 21

Enter the amount from Column A, Line 
28 of the Part-Year Resident/Nonresident 
Worksheet on Page 14 of the Instructions

Line 22 

Divide Line 20 by Line 21.  Enter the result as 
a decimal amount here and on Form D-400, Line 
13; round to four decimal places.



Page 14 Line Instructions for Filing Form D-400 Schedule S, Part D

             Column A
Income as Shown on 

Federal Return

Column B
Income Subject to 
North Carolina Tax Income

 1. Wages ..................................................................................................................... 1.  __________________  __________________
 2. Taxable interest ....................................................................................................... 2.  __________________  __________________
 3.  Taxable dividends .................................................................................................... 3.  __________________  __________________
 4. State and local income tax refunds ......................................................................... 4.  __________________  __________________
 5. Alimony received ..................................................................................................... 5.  __________________  __________________
 6. Schedule C or C-EZ business income or (loss) ...................................................... 6.  __________________  __________________
 7. Schedule D capital gain or (loss)............................................................................. 7.  __________________  __________________
 8. Other gains or (losses) ............................................................................................ 8.  __________________  __________________
 9. Taxable amount of IRA distributions ........................................................................ 9.  __________________  __________________
10. Taxable amount of pensions and annuities ........................................................... 10.  __________________  __________________
 11. Schedule E - Rents, royalties, partnerships, S-Corps estates, trusts, etc ..............11.  __________________  __________________
12. Schedule F - Farm income or (loss) ...................................................................... 12.  __________________  __________________
13. Unemployment compensation ............................................................................... 13.  __________________  __________________
14. Taxable amount of Social Security or Railroad Retirement benefits ..................... 14.  __________________  __________________
 15. Other income ......................................................................................................... 15.  __________________  __________________
 16. Add lines 1 through 15 ........................................................................................ 16.  __________________  __________________

North Carolina Additions To Federal Adjusted Gross Income
(See Form D-400 Schedule S, Part A)
 17. Interest income from obligations of states other than NC ..................................... 17.  __________________  __________________
18. Other additions to federal adjusted gross income that relate to gross income...... 18.  __________________  __________________
19. Add Lines 16, 17, and 18..................................................................................... 19.  __________________  __________________

North Carolina Deductions From Federal Adjusted Gross Income
(See Form D-400 Schedule S, Part B)
20. State and local income tax refund  (from Line 4 above) ............................................. 20.  __________________  __________________
 21. Interest from obligations of  the United States or United States’ possessions ...... 21.  __________________  __________________
22. Taxable portion of Social Security or Railroad Retirement benefits ...................... 22.  __________________  __________________
 23. Bailey retirement benefits
  (Enter in Col. A the total of the amount on Line 8, Form D-400 Schedule S). ...............................................23.  __________________  __________________
 24. Adjustment for bonus depreciation
  (Enter in Col. A the total of the amount on Line 9f, Form D-400 Schedule S). ......................................................24.  __________________  __________________
25. Adjustment for 179 expense deduction
  (Enter in Col. A the amount from Line10e, Form D-400 Schedule S) ...................................................................25.  __________________  __________________
26. Other deductions from federal adjusted gross income that relate to gross income ...26.  _________________   __________________
27. Add lines 20 through 26 ...................................................................................... 27.  __________________  __________________
28. Line 19 minus line 27 .......................................................................................... 28.  __________________  __________________

(Enter this amount on Form D400 
Schedule S, Part D, Line 21)

(Enter this amount on Form D400 
Schedule S, Part D, Line 20)

Please retain this worksheet with your records.
Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Worksheet

Credit for Tax Paid to Another State or Country

When income is taxed by North Carolina for a period during which you were a legal resident of North Carolina and the same income is also taxed by another 
state or country because it was earned in or derived from sources within that state or country, a tax credit may be claimed, but not on the basis of a withholding 
statement alone.  Attach a copy of the return filed with the other state or country and a copy of the check or receipt if a balance of tax was paid with the return. 

Complete the North Carolina return and include all income both within and outside the State. Compute the tax as though no credit is to be claimed. 
Complete Part 1 of Form D-400TC to determine the allowable tax credit. The amount entered on Line 1, Part 1 of Form D–400TC is total income from 
all sources received while a resident of North Carolina, adjusted by the applicable additions and/or deductions to federal adjusted gross income that 
relate to gross income that you listed on Form D–400 Schedule S, Parts A and B.  The amount of net tax paid on Line 6 is any prepayment of tax (tax 
withheld, estimated tax payments, amount paid with extension, etc.) plus any additional tax paid or less any refunds received or expected to be received.  
Attach a copy of the tax return filed with the other state and proof of the payment.  

Include on Line 2, Part 1 of Form D–400TC your share of any S Corporation income that is attributable to and taxed by another state, whether or not 
the other state taxed the income at the individual or corporate level. Include on Line 6, Part 1, Form D–400TC the net tax you paid another state on your  
share of S Corporation income or your pro rata share of the net corporate tax paid by the S Corporation to another state that taxes the corporation rather 
than the shareholder.  Attach a schedule to your return showing the total amount of tax paid to the other state by the S Corporation, and how your pro rata 
share of the tax was determined.

If you claim credit for tax paid to more than one state or country, use the worksheet on Page 15 to determine the tax credit allowable for each state 
or country.  Determine the total credits for all states by adding the amount on Line 7 of each worksheet and enter the total on Form D-400TC, Line 7a.  Be 
sure to use separate worksheets to determine the separate credits for each state or country.

Nonresidents are not entitled to this tax credit. 

General Information for Claiming Tax Credits - Form D-400TC

●  Enter the amount from Column B, Line 28 on Form D-400 Schedule S, Part D, Line 20.
●  Enter the amount from Column A, Line 28 on Form D-400 Schedule S, Part D, Line 21.
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Part-Year Resident/Nonresident Worksheet
1. Total income from all sources (combined for joint filers) from Federal Form 1040, Line 22; 1040A, Line 15;
 or 1040EZ, Line 4, while a resident of North Carolina, adjusted by the applicable additions shown on Line 1 and
 deductions shown on Lines 5 through 10e of Form D-400 Schedule S, Parts A and B. Do not make any adjustment
 for any portion of Lines 3 or 11 of Form D-400 Schedule S, Parts A and B that does not relate to gross income.  ..........1. _____________

2. The portion of Line 1 that was taxed by the other state or country ...................................................................................2. _____________
 
3. Divide Line 2 by Line 1 and enter the result as a decimal amount (Round to four decimal places) .................................3. _____________

4. Enter total North Carolina income tax (From Form D-400, Line 15) .................................................................................4. _____________

5. Multiply Line 3 by Line 4 ...................................................................................................................................................5. _____________
 
6. Amount of net tax paid to the other state or country on the income shown on Line 2 (See instructions on 
 Page 14 for definition of net tax paid) ...............................................................................................................................6. _____________

7. Enter the lesser of Line 5 or Line 6 ...................................................................................................................................7. _____________

Out-of-State Tax Credit Worksheet

.

General Information for Claiming Tax Credits - Form D-400TC

Credit for Children

For tax year 2014, the amount of credit has increased from $100 to $125 per qualifying child for some taxpayers.

You may claim a child tax credit on your State return for each dependent child for whom a federal child tax credit was allowed under section 24 of the 
Code. The amount of credit allowed for the taxable year is equal to the amount listed in the table below based on your adjusted gross income, as calculated 
under the Code (Form D-400, Line 6). 

The credit for children can be claimed only for a child who was under 17 years of age on the last day of the year. A part-year resident or nonresident 
may claim a prorated credit based on the percentage of income that is subject to North Carolina tax.

Please refer to the chart below and complete the Credit for Children Worksheet to determine the amount of allowable credit.  You must enter the number 
of dependent children for whom you were allowed a federal tax credit and the amount of the credit on Form D–400TC, Part 2, Line 8.

Credit for Children
  Credit Amount
Filing Status AGI per Qualifying Child  
    
Married Filing Jointly/Qualifying Widow(er)  Up to $40,000 $125
 Over   $40,000 and up to $100,000 $100
 Over $100,000 $0

Head of Household                  Up to $32,000 $125
 Over   $32,000 and up to $80,000 $100
 Over $80,000 $0
Single or       
Married Filing Separately  Up to $20,000 $125
 Over   $20,000 and up to $50,000 $100
 Over $50,000 $0 

Credit for Children Worksheet

1. Multiply the number of children for whom you are entitled to claim the federal child tax credit by $100 or $125
 and enter the result here.  (Full-year residents enter this amount here and on Line 3 below.) ......................................1. _____________

2.  Part-year residents and nonresidents multiply the amount on Line 1 by the decimal amount from Form D-400,
 Line 13 and enter the result here and on Line 3 below. If Line 13 of Form D-400 is more than1.0000, enter the
 amount from Line 1 here and on Line 3 below. ................................................................................................................2. _____________

3. Credit for children (Include the amount on this line in the total on Form D-400TC, Part 2, Line 8.) .................................3. _____________

Credit for Qualified Business Investments  (Repealed effective for investments made on or after January 1, 2014)

A tax credit is allowed for qualifying investments in the equity securities or subordinated debt of a qualified business venture, qualified grantee business, 
or a qualified licensee business.  The credit is 25% of the amount invested or $50,000, whichever is less. The tax credit is not allowed for the year in which 
the investment is made but is allowed for the taxable year beginning during the calendar year following the calendar year in which the investment was 
made. Any unused credit may be carried forward for the next succeeding five years.  Your basis in the equity securities or subordinated debt acquired as 
a result of your investment must be reduced by the amount of allowable credit. 
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 •  Credit for investing in machinery and equipment *
 • Credit for creating jobs *  
 • Credit for business property *  
 • Credit for real property *  
 • Credit for research and development
 • Credit for interactive digital media *  
 • Credit for investing in central office or aircraft facility property *  
 • Credit for technology commercialization *  
 • Credit for renewable fuel facility

 • Credit for investing in low-income housing *  
 • Credit for use of North Carolina ports *  
 • Credit for investing in renewable energy property
 • Credit for work opportunity *  
 • Credit for constructing a railroad intermodal facility
 • Credit for small business employee health benefits *  
 • Credit for biodiesel producers *  
 • Credit for donating funds to a nonprofit organization
  to enable the nonprofit to acquire renewable energy property.
 •  Credit for renewable energy property facility *

Business Incentive and Energy Tax Credits (Limited to 50% of Tax Liability)

The following tax credits are available as incentives to new and expanding businesses or for investing in renewable energy property or low-income 
housing.  If you believe you are entitled to one or more of the tax credits, contact the Department for Form NC-478 Series or you may download the forms 
from our website at www.dornc.com.   Form NC-478 Series is used to calculate and report tax credits that are limited to 50% of your tax less the sum of 
all other tax credits that you claim.  Complete the form and attach it to the front of your income tax return. 

Do not enter a qualified business investment tax credit on Line 19.   Tax credits for qualified business investments are claimed on Line 10.  If you 
are entitled to one of the following tax credits, enter the amount of the credit on Form D-400TC, Line 19.

Sunset for Tax Credits - Effect on Future Installments and Carryforwards 

For tax year 2014, various tax credits have been repealed. Taxpayers that qualified for these tax credits may continue to take any remaining installments 
and carryforwards of the tax credits after the sunset date if the taxpayer continues to meet the statutory eligibility requirements for each particular tax credit. 

For example, the Article 3J credit for creating jobs is repealed for business activities that occur on or after January 1, 2014. In tax year 2013, a taxpayer, 
who met all eligibility requirements set out in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-129.83 and satisfied the threshold requirement for job creation, created jobs in this 
State. The taxpayer claimed the jobs credit by filing Form NC-478A (the applicable NC-478 series form) and by paying the fee of $500.00 with the 2013 
tax return on April 15, 2014. The taxpayer is allowed to take the first installment of the 2013 jobs credit on its 2014 tax return. Any unused portion of the 
first installment may be carried forward for the succeeding five years. The taxpayer is allowed to continue to take remaining installments as long as the 
taxpayer continues to meet the requirements of N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-129.83 and N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-129.87. If the taxpayer fails to maintain eligibility 
requirements, remaining installments are forfeited and only the carryforward amount of a previously accrued installment may be taken, subject to the carry 
forward provisions of N.C. Gen. State § 105-129.84. 

These credits have expired and are only available for future installments and unused carryforwards. *  

To be eligible for the credit, you must file Form D-499, Application for Tax Credit for Qualified Business Investments, with the Secretary of Revenue.  The 
application should be filed on or before April 15 and no later than October 15 of the year following the calendar year in which the investment was made.  An 
application filed after October 15 will not be accepted.  See Page 2 of Form D–499 for additional rules and regulations for claiming the credit.  The allowable 
credit should be shown on Form D-400TC, Line 10.  You must attach a copy of the qualified business tax credit approval letter from the Department of 
Revenue to verify the credit claimed on the return. 

Credit for Rehabilitating Historic Structure

 Income-producing – Generally, a taxpayer who is allowed a federal income tax credit under section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code for making 
rehabilitation expenditures for a certified historic structure located in North Carolina is allowed a credit equal to 20% of the expenditures that qualify for the 
federal credit (40% of expenditures if the facility at one time served as a State training school for juvenile offenders).

 Nonincome-producing – Generally, a taxpayer who is not allowed a federal income tax credit under section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code and who 
makes rehabilitation expenses for a State-certified historic structure located in North Carolina is allowed a credit equal to 30% of the rehabilitation expenses 
(40% of expenditures if the facility at one time served as a State training school for juvenile offenders).  To qualify for the credit, the rehabilitation expenses 
must exceed $25,000 within a 24-month period.  You must attach to the return a copy of the certification obtained from the State Historic Preservation Officer 
verifying that the historic structure has been rehabilitated in accordance with the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation.

Important:  The credit for rehabilitating a historic structure must be claimed in five equal installments beginning with the taxable year in which the property 
is placed in service.  Any unused portion of the credit may be carried forward for the succeeding five years.

Credit for Rehabilitating Historic Mill Facility

 A tax credit is also allowed for rehabilitating a historic mill facility.  The amount of credit depends on the location of the facility and whether it was renovated 
as income producing or nonincome producing property.  Contact the Department of Revenue for additional information about the credit.

Important:  Unless otherwise stated, the tax credits described in these instructions may not exceed the tax liability for the 
tax year, reduced by other tax credits.

Tax Rate - 5.8% (.058)
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Do not submit photocopies of the return.  Submit original forms only.  Do not use any prior year forms to file a current  year 
return.

Double-check your figures, including your social security number.   Accuracy speeds processing of your tax return.

Claim the same filing status you claimed on your federal return.  (Nonresidents see instructions on Page 8.)   If you do not 
fill in the applicable circle to indicate your filing status, processing of your return will be delayed.

Sign and date your return on Page 2.  If you file a joint tax return, both you and your spouse must sign the return.  Staple 
the originals or copies of the original State wage and tax statements in the lower left-hand corner of the return.

You must include a copy of your federal return with your North Carolina return unless your federal return reflects a North 
Carolina address or you file electronically.

If you owe additional tax, you can now pay by bank draft using an approved e-file software product.  You may also pay 
your tax online by bank draft, credit or debit card (Visa or Mastercard) through the NCDOR website at www.dornc.com.   
Click on E-Services for details.  If you do not pay your tax online, go to our website and generate a personalized payment 
voucher Form D-400V. Enclose the voucher with your return and payment, and mail to the address listed on Page 2 of 
Form D-400. If you do not pay online or by payment voucher, mail a check or money order with your return for the full 
amount due. Please write “2014 D-400”, and your name, address, and social security number on the payment. If filing a 
joint return, write both social security numbers on your payment in the order that they appear on the return.  Note: The 
Department will not accept a check, money order, or cashier’s check unless it is drawn on a U.S. (domestic) bank and the 
funds are payable in U.S. dollars.

Other Supporting Schedules

What you should send us...
	 Your North Carolina income tax return (Form D-400) 
	 Form D-400 Schedule S if claiming additions to income on Line 7, deductions from income on Line 9, N.C. itemized deductions 

on Line 11 or computation of North Carolina taxable income for part-year residents and nonresidents on Line 13.
	 Form D-400TC if you claimed a tax credit
	 W-2s and 1099s showing North Carolina tax withheld and a 1099R if you claimed a Bailey retirement deduction
	  A check or money order payable to “N.C. Department of Revenue” if you have a balance due. (Note: The   Department will not 

accept a check, money order, or cashier’s check unless it is drawn on a U.S. (domestic) bank and the funds are payable 
in U.S. dollars.)

	 Other North Carolina forms or supporting schedules that are required according to the instructions (Please do not send copies 
of completed worksheets from the instruction booklet or other unnecessary attachments.)

	 A copy of the tax return you filed in the other state if you are claiming a tax credit for tax paid to another state

Important:  If you owe tax, do not staple, tape, or otherwise attach your check or 
voucher to your return or to each other.   Instead, just put them loose in the envelope.

Assemble your North Carolina return for mailing in the order shown

one staple

Note:  If you are filing 
Form NC-478 series, be 
sure to attach the form to 
the front of your income 
tax return.

Important Reminders

D-400 Sch S

D-400TC

W-2s

D-400 
Pgs. 1 & 2

(If required)

(If required)

(If required)
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If you are due
a refund: 

N.C. Department of Revenue
P.O. Box R
Raleigh, N.C. 27634-0001

If you are not
due a refund: 

N.C. Department of Revenue
P.O. Box 25000
Raleigh, N.C. 27640-0640

Mailing Addresses

Important Toll Free Telephone Numbers
Automated Refund Inquiry Line .............................................................. 1-877-252-4052
Taxpayer Assistance and Forms ............................................................. 1-877-252-3052

Assistance For Disabled, Low Income, and Senior Citizen Taxpayers
If you are disabled, have a low income, or are a senior citizen, income tax returns can be prepared free of charge through the VITA 
(Volunteer Income Tax Assistance)/TCE (Tax Counseling for the Elderly) programs. For locations and dates of assistance, taxpayers 
in North Carolina can call the Internal Revenue Service toll free, 1-800-829-1040, weekdays.

Tax Fraud Hotline   1-800-232-4939
(919) 707-7597 in Wake County

The Department of Revenue provides a toll free number for citizens who wish to report instances of tax fraud.  The number is 
1-800-232-4939 (8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays) and should be called only to report instances of fraud.  

Tax Assistance
Information about individual income tax and tax forms may be obtained from our website at www.dornc.com. You may also call the 
Taxpayer Assistance and Collection Center at 1-877-252-3052 (toll free) for additional assistance in completing your tax forms or to 
request forms.

Property for Sale
Looking for a bargain on good used vehicles, furniture, appliances, tools, and jewelry?  Go to www.dornc.com/taxes/usub/ and click 
on Items Available Through State Surplus Property Agency or call (919) 854-2160.

Maintaining Records
You should keep canceled checks, receipts, or other documentation, including a copy of your federal return, to verify any amount entered 
on your tax return for a period of at least three years from the due date of the return or three years from the date the return is filed, 
whichever is later. Lack of adequate records may result in the disallowance of all or part of the deductions. Your canceled check, money 
order stub, or Departmental receipt showing payment of tax should be kept for at least five years from the due date of the tax return.

Important Notice Regarding Substitute Returns
Any facsimile or substitute form must be approved by the Department of Revenue prior to its use. If you use computer generated 
returns, the software company is responsible for requesting approval and receiving an assigned identification number. The Department 
publishes a list on our website of software developers who have received approval. Photocopies of the return are not acceptable. 
Returns that cannot be processed by our imaging and scanning equipment will be returned to the taxpayer with instructions to refile 
on an acceptable form.

Federal Privacy Act Notice
Disclosing your social security number on your return is required by regulations issued by the Secretary of Revenue under G.S. 105-
152, 155, 251, and 252. Social security numbers are used in the administration of the State’s tax laws and to exchange tax information 
with other states and the Internal Revenue Service. Always list your social security number on any attachments to your return and on 
any correspondence to the Department of Revenue.




