
Do not attach a copy of Federal Form 1065 or copies of K-1s to 
Form D-403.  If copies are needed, the Department will request 
them at a later date. 

A.  Who must file Form D-403. - Every partnership doing business 
in North Carolina must file a partnership income tax return, Form D-
403, for the taxable year if a federal partnership return was required 
to be filed.  (Exception:   A partnership whose only activity is as 
an investment partnership is not considered to be doing business 
in North Carolina.  Consequently, an investment partnership is not 
required to file an income tax return in North Carolina nor pay income 
tax to North Carolina on behalf of its nonresident partners.)  A limited 
liability company classified as a partnership for federal income tax 
purposes is also classified as a partnership for State income tax 
purposes and is required to file a partnership income tax return if a 
federal partnership return is required to be filed.  A partnership which 
elects to be taxed as a corporation for federal income tax purposes 
will also be taxed as a corporation for North Carolina income tax 
purposes.  The partnership must file a corporation income tax return, 
Form CD-405, in lieu of filing Form D-403.

B.  Time and place for filing. -  The return of a partnership on a 
calendar year basis must be filed with the North Carolina Department 
of Revenue on or before April 15 following the close of the calendar 
year.  If on a fiscal basis, the return must be filed on or before the 
15th day of the fourth month following the close of the fiscal year.  
A fiscal year return should be filed on a form for the year in which 
the fiscal year begins. (For example, a 2012 form should be used 
for a fiscal year beginning in 2012.)

C.  Signature. - The partnership return must be signed by the 
managing partner.  If the return is prepared by a person or firm other 
than  a  partner, it must be signed also by the one preparing the 
return.  If the partnership is a limited partnership, the return must be 
signed by a general partner.  The managing partner should provide 
a telephone number where he may be reached during the day if we 
need additional information to process the return.

D.  Extensions. -  If the partnership return cannot be filed by the 
due date, the partnership may apply for an automatic 6-month 
extension of time to file the return.  To receive the extension, the 
partnership must file Form D-410P, Application for Extension 
for Filing Partnership, Estate, or Trust Tax Return, by the 
original due date of the return.  

A partnership is not required to send a payment of tax it estimates as 
due to receive the extension; however, it will benefit the partnership 
to pay as much as it can with the extension request.  An extension 
of time for filing the partnership return does not extend the time for 
paying the tax due.  A partnership may file the return at any time 
within the extension period but it must be filed on or before the end 
of the extension period to avoid the late filing penalty.

E.  Penalties. - If a partnership return on which tax is due is not 
filed by the due date, the partnership will have to pay a penalty of 
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5 percent of the tax for each month, or part of a month, the return 
is late.  The minimum penalty is $5.00; the maximum penalty is 25 
percent of the unpaid tax.  A 10 percent late payment penalty will 
apply on the remaining balance due if  the tax paid by the due date 
of the return is less than 90 percent of the total amount of tax due.  
If the 90 percent rule is met, any remaining balance due must be 
paid with the partnership return on or before the expiration of the 
extension period to avoid the late payment penalty.  Returns filed 
after April 15 without a valid extension are subject to a late payment 
penalty of 10 percent of the unpaid tax (minimum $5.00).  In addition, 
penalties are provided by law for willful failure to file a return on time 
and for willful attempt to evade or defeat the tax.

F.  Manager’s Responsibility. - In a partnership having one or 
more nonresident partners, the managing partner is responsible 
for reporting the share of the income of nonresident partners and 
is required to compute and pay the tax due for each nonresident 
partner. See the Tax Rate Schedule on Page 4 of Form D-403.  If 
the nonresident partner is a corporation, partnership, trust or estate, 
the managing partner is not required to pay the tax on that partner’s 
share of the partnership income provided the partner files Form NC-
NPA, Nonresident Partner Affirmation.  Form NC-NPA affirms that 
the partner will pay the tax with its corporation, partnership, trust or 
estate income tax return.   (Note:  This provision does not extend to 
grantor trusts because no tax is paid on  grantor  trust returns.) In 
such cases, a copy of NC-NPA  must be attached to the partnership 
return when it is filed.   Important:  A nonresident individual partner 
is not required to file a North Carolina income tax return when the 
only income from North Carolina sources is the nonresident’s share 
of income from a partnership doing business in North Carolina, and 
the manager of the partnership pays the tax due for the nonresident 
partner.  Payment of the tax due by the managing partner on behalf 
of corporations, partnerships, trusts or estates that are partners 
does not relieve the partner from filing a North Carolina tax return.  
Credit for the tax paid by the managing partner may be claimed 
on the partner’s income tax return.  The manager is authorized 
by statute to withhold the tax due from each nonresident partner’s 
share of the partnership income.  Note:  If a nonresident partner is a 
tax-exempt organization as described in Section 501 of the Internal 
Revenue Code, the managing partner is not required to pay the tax 
unless the income of the organization is from a business enterprise 
not related to its tax-exempt purpose.  Also, the managing partner 
is not required to pay the tax for nonresident partners who serve 
as investment vehicles for investing in IRAs and other qualified 
retirement plans.

Publicly Traded Partnerships -  Effective for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2008, a publicly traded partnership 
that is described in section 7704(c) of the Code is exempt from 
the payment and filing requirements under G.S. 105-154(c) and 
(d).  The filing requirement is limited to partners whose distributive 
share of the partnership’s net income during the tax year was more 
than five hundred dollars ($500.00) and the payment requirements 
do not apply.
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G.  Estimated income tax. -  No estimated income tax 
payment is required of a partnership; however, if the partnership 
makes any prepayments of tax, include the prepayment 
on Line 14.  A resident individual partner who meets the 
statutory requirements must file estimated tax on Form NC-40. 
(See Individual Income Tax Instructions for Form D-400 for 
information on the requirements for paying estimated income 
tax.)   A nonresident individual partner is not required to pay 
estimated tax on his distributive share of partnership income.

H.  Tax Credits. -  All tax credits allowed to individuals are allowed 
to partnerships with the following exceptions:

(1) Credit for childcare and certain employment-related 
expenses

(2) Credit for the disabled
(3) Credit for children 
(4) Credit for contributions by nonitemizers
(5) Credit for long-term care insurance
(6) Credit for adoption expenses
(7) Earned Income Tax Credit
(8) Credit for children with disabilities who require special 

education

A partnership may pass through  to each of its partners the partner’s 
distributive share of an income tax credit for which the partnership 
qualifies.   Any dollar limit on the amount of a tax credit applies to 
the partnership as a whole instead of to the individual partners.  
Maximum dollar limits and other limitations that apply in determining 
the amount of tax credit available to a taxpayer apply to the same 
extent in determining the amount of tax credit for which a partnership 
qualifies, with one exception.  The exception is a limitation that the 
tax credit cannot exceed the tax liability of the taxpayer. 

If there are nonresident partners whose share of tax is being paid 
by the manager of the partnership, and the partnership claims a tax 
credit, complete Form D-403TC, Partnership Tax Credit Summary, 
and include the form with the partnership return.  Attach a separate 
schedule showing the computation of any tax credits and the 
allocation  of the credits among the partners.   If claiming any credit 
that is limited to 50 percent of the partnership’s tax, less the sum 
of all other credits claimed, complete Form NC-478 and attach it to 
the front of the partnership return.  The partnership must provide 
sufficient information about the tax credits to allow the partner to 
complete the Form NC-478 series.

I.  Attachments. -  Attachments may be used in preparing the 
partnership return.  The attachments must contain all required 
information, follow the format of the official schedules, and must 
be attached in the same sequence as the schedules appear on 
the partnership return.  List the partnership’s federal identification 
number on each attachment.

J.  Specific instructions for Schedule NC K-1. -  Schedule NC 
K-1 is used by the partnership to report each partner’s share of 
the partnership’s income, adjustments, tax credits, etc.  The NC 
K-1 must reflect the net tax paid by the partnership.  Prepare 
and give a Schedule NC K-1 to each person who was a partner 
in the partnership at any time during the year.  Schedule NC K-1 
must be provided to each partner on or before the day on which 
the partnership return is required to be filed.  When reporting the 
distributive share of tax credits, provide a list of the amount and type 
of tax credits.  Any amount reported as tax paid by the manager of 
the partnership should include amounts paid with extension and by 
other partnerships, if applicable.

Part 1 - Computation of Income Tax Due or Refund 

Line Instructions

Important:  If the partnership operated only in North Carolina and 
had no nonresident partners, complete only Lines 4 and 6, Part 
1 (and Lines 13 or 14 if any payments were made), Part 3A, and 
Part 4.

Line 1 - Enter  on  Line 1 the  total   income  or   loss  from   Schedule 
K,  Federal  Form 1065.  The total income or  loss is  the combined  
total of  lines  1  through 11 of Schedule K.

Line 2 - Enter the amount of salaries, interest, or other “guaranteed 
payments” made to a partner for services or for the use of capital.  
Salaries to partners and retirement payments to partners who are 
not active are treated as part of a partner’s distributive share of 
ordinary income and must be apportioned to North Carolina on the 
same basis as other partnership distributive income.  

Line 4 - The following additions to income are required in calculating 
North Carolina partnership income to the extent the additions are not 
included in income.  Complete Part 4, Lines 1 through 5 and enter 
the total additions on Part 1, Line 4.  Allocate the total additions on 
Line 4 to the individual partners in Part 3, Line 6.

Additions to income:

(1) Interest on bonds and other obligations of states and political 
subdivisions other than North Carolina, if not included in 
income

(2) Any state, local, or foreign income tax deducted on the federal 
partnership return

(3) The federal Small Business Jobs Act of 2010 extended the 
50 percent bonus depreciation through 2011. Subsequent 
to this Act, the federal Tax Relief Act of 2010 extended 
the bonus depreciation from 50 percent to 100 percent 
for qualified property acquired and placed in service after 
September 8, 2010 and before January 1, 2012.  The Tax 
Relief Act of 2010 also provides 50% bonus depreciation 
for qualified property placed in service after December 31, 
2011 and before January 1, 2013.  Certain long-lived property 
and transportation property is eligible for 100% expensing if 
placed in service before January 1, 2013.  North Carolina 
did not adopt the bonus depreciation provisions under IRC 
sections 168(k) and 168(n) of these Acts. Therefore, if you 
deducted the bonus depreciation under IRC sections 168(k) 
or 168(n) on your 2012 federal partnership return, you must 
add to income 85% of the amount deducted. This adjustment 
does not result in a difference in basis of the affected assets 
for State and tax purposes.  Note: Any amount of the bonus 
depreciation added to income on your 2012 State return may 
be deducted in five equal installments over your first five 
taxable years beginning with the tax return for taxable year 
2013.

(4) Other additions to income 

Line  6 - The following deductions from income are required in 
calculating North Carolina partnership income to the extent the 
deductions are included in income.  The total deductions from Part 
4, Line 10 should be entered on Part 1, Line 6 and allocated to the 
individual partners in Part 3, Line 7. 
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Deductions from income: 

(1)   Interest from obligations of the United States or United States’ 
possessions

(2)   State, local, or foreign income tax refunds included on the 
federal return

(3) North Carolina law did not adopt the 50 percent bonus 
depreciation provisions in IRC section 168(k) for the tax 
year 2008 or in IRC sections 168(k) or 168(n) for tax years 
2009 and 2010.  Similarly, North Carolina did not adopt the 
provisions of the Small Business Jobs Act of 2010 which 
extended the 50 percent bonus depreciation through 2011 
and the Tax Relief Act of 2010 which doubled and extended 
bonus depreciation from 50 percent to 100 percent for qualified 
property acquired and placed in service after September 8, 
2010 and before January 1, 2012.  The Tax Relief Act of 2010 
also provides 50% bonus depreciation for qualified property 
placed in service after December 31, 2011 and before January 
1, 2013.  Certain long-lived property and transportation 
property is eligible for 100% expensing if placed in service 
before January 1, 2013.  Because North Carolina did not adopt 
the bonus depreciation provisions under IRC sections 168(k) 
and 168(n) of these Acts, an adjustment is required to add to 
income 85% of the amount deducted.  Any amount added to 
income on the 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011 State partnership 
returns may be deducted in five equal installments beginning 
with the 2009, 2010, 2011, and 2012 State partnership returns, 
respectively.  Enter 20 percent of the bonus depreciation 
added back on the 2008 State partnership return on Part 4, 
Line 8a, 20 percent of the amount added back on the 2009 
State partnership return on Part 4, Line 8b, 20 percent of the 
amount added back on the 2010 State partnership return on 
Part 4, Line 8c, and 20 percent of the amount added back on 
the 2011 State partnership return on Part 4, Line 8d. Note:  
When there is a change in ownership at the partner level in 
tax years subsequent to 2008, a new partner is not entitled to 
share in the depreciation deduction claimed on the partnership 
return because the new partner would not have added back 
the depreciation in 2009, 2010, or 2011.  Therefore, the total 
deductions attributable to the special bonus depreciation for 
each individual partner included on Line 7, Part 3 of Form 
D-403 and on Line 3 of Form NC K-1 will not equal the total 
deduction attributable to the special depreciation claimed on 
Line 8, Part 4 of Form D-403.

 
(4)  Other deductions from income 

Line 8 -  In determining the tax due for nonresident partners, a 
partnership must apportion to North Carolina the income derived 
from activities carried on  within and outside North Carolina that are 
not segregated from its other business activities.   A partnership’s 
business activities are not segregated if it does not employ a method 
of accounting that clearly reflects the income or loss of its separate 
activities.  If the partnership’s business activities in North Carolina 
are not segregated from its business activities in other states, enter 
on Line 8 the income on Line 7 that is to be apportioned to North 
Carolina.  If all of the partnership’s business activities are integrated, 
enter on Line 8 the amount from Line 7.  Income derived as a partner 
in another partnership or as a shareholder in an S corporation must 
be allocated instead of apportioned to North Carolina.

Line 9 -  In determining the tax due for nonresident partners, a 
partnership must allocate to North Carolina the income derived 

from business activities in North Carolina that are segregated from 
its other business activities.  Income derived from a partnership’s 
business activities outside of North Carolina that are segregated 
from its other business activities are not includable in determining 
the tax due for nonresident partners.  If the partnership’s business 
activities in North Carolina are segregated from its business activities 
in other states, enter on Line 9  the income on Line 7 that is solely 
from the partnership’s business activities in North Carolina.  If all 
of the partnership’s business activities are solely in North Carolina, 
enter on Line 9  the amount from Line 7. 

Line 10 - Complete Parts 2 and 3 to determine the tax for 
nonresident partners. 

Line 11 - Enter the total tax credits allocated to nonresident 
partners.

Line 12 - Enter the net tax due for nonresident partners. 

Line 13 - If Form D-410P was filed to request an extension of time 
to file the partnership return, enter any tax paid with the extension 
form. 

Line 14 - Enter any other prepayments of tax that were made prior 
to filing this partnership return.  If filing an amended return, include 
on Line 14 any amount paid with the original partnership return.

Line 15 - If tax was paid by other partnerships or by S corporations, 
enter the amount paid.  Include with the return a copy of the 
information furnished by the partnership(s) or S corporation(s) to 
verify the amount claimed.  North Carolina income tax is required to 
be withheld from the compensation paid to a nonresident partnership 
or limited liability company for services performed in North Carolina 
in connection with a performance, an entertainment or athletic event, 
a speech, or the creation of a film, radio, or television program.  In 
addition to any tax paid by other partnerships or S corporations, 
include on Line 15 only the portion of tax withheld that is attributable 
to nonresident partners on whose behalf the managing partner is 
required to pay the tax.  Attach Form NC-1099PS to the front of the 
return to verify the North Carolina income tax withheld. 

Line 19 - Total due for nonresident partners.  (Add Lines 17 and 
18c - The manager of the partnership must pay this amount with the 
return.  The tax may be paid by check or money order payable in U.S. 
dollars to the North Carolina Department of Revenue. Important:  
The Department will not accept a check,  money order, or cashier’s 
check unless it is drawn on a U.S. (domestic) bank and the funds 
are payable in U.S. dollars.

Line 20 - If total payments on Line 16 exceed the net tax due for 
nonresident partners on Line 12, subtract and enter the amount to 
be refunded.

Part 2 - Apportionment Percentage For Partnerships Having 
One or More Nonresident Partners and Operating in North 
Carolina and in One or More Other States 

Method to be Used in Apportioning Partnership Income: 

A partnership with one or more nonresident partners whose 
business activities in North Carolina are unified and integrated 
with its business activities in other states is required to apportion 
its partnership income to North Carolina by multiplying the income 
by a fraction, the numerator of which is the property factor plus the 
payroll factor plus twice the sales factor, and the denominator of 

Page 3, D-403A, Web, 11-12



which is four.  If the sales factor does not exist, the denominator 
is the number of existing factors.  If the sales factor exists, but the 
payroll or the property factor does not exist, the denominator is  the 
number of existing factors plus one. 

Property Factor:  The property factor is the percentage determined 
by dividing the average value of the partnership’s real and tangible 
personal property owned or rented and used in this State during 
the year by the average value of all of the partnership’s real and 
tangible personal property owned or rented and used during the 
year.  With respect to rentals, assign values for property rented by 
the partnership at 8 times the net annual rental rate.  The net annual 
rental rate is the annual rental rate paid less any annual rental rate 
received by the partnership from subrentals. 

Payroll Factor:  The payroll factor is the percentage determined by 
dividing the total compensation paid by the partnership in this State 
during the income year by the total compensation paid everywhere 
during the income year. 

Sales Factor:  The sales factor is determined by dividing the total 
sales of the partnership in this State during the income year by the 
total sales of the partnership everywhere during the income year.  
For purposes of the formula used for apportioning partnership 
income to North Carolina, the sales factor is doubled.  For any 
partnership engaged in business as a building or construction 
contractor, a securities dealer, a loan company or for a partnership 
which receives more than 50 percent of its ordinary gross income 
from investments in and/or dealing in intangible property, the 
partnership’s income shall be apportioned by the use of only the 
sales factor. 

Part 3A - Partners’ Shares Of  Income, Adjustments, Tax Credits 
and Other Items

Line-by-Line Instructions: 

Line 4 - Enter the same percentage used for federal income tax 
purposes. 

Line 6 - Enter each partner’s share of the additions to income from 
Part 1, Line 4. 

Line 7 - Enter each partner’s share of the deductions from income 
from Part 1, Line 6. 

Line 8 - Enter each partner’s share of allowable tax credits.  See 
the individual income tax instructions for a detailed explanation of 
available tax credits and attach a separate schedule showing the 
computation of any tax credits claimed. 

Part 3B - Computation of North Carolina Taxable Income for 
Nonresident Partners 

Line 9 - Enter each nonresident partner’s distributive share of the 
guaranteed payments that are applicable to the income reported 
on Part 1, Line 8. 

Line 14 - Enter each nonresident partner’s distributive share of the 
guaranteed payments that are applicable to the income reported 
on Part 1, Line 9.

Line 16 - Special rules apply for gain from the sale, exchange, 
or disposition of Internal Revenue Code Section 1231 property 
on which a Code Section 179 expense deduction was previously 
claimed.  For federal purposes, the gain is no longer included at the 
entity level but instead is passed through separately to the individual 
partners.  As a result, the gain is included in income on the partner’s 
income tax return but is not included as part of the partner’s share 
of the partnership’s income.

Partnerships must identify each nonresident partner’s share of 
separately stated income items and enter that amount on Form 
D-403, Page 3, Part 3, Line 16.  

Part 3C - Computation of Tax Due for Nonresident Partners on 
Whose Behalf the Partnership Pays the Tax

Line 18 - Compute the tax due for each nonresident partner and 
enter the amounts for each partner on Line 18.  See the Tax Rate 
Schedule on Page 4.  

Line 20 - If the total amount of tax for each nonresident partner 
shown on Line 18 is more than each nonresident partner’s tax credits 
shown on Line 19, subtract and enter the result on Line 20, Net Tax 
Due.  Enter the net tax due for nonresident partners on Line 12, 
Page 1.  The manager of the partnership is responsible for payment 
of the total tax, penalties, and interest due for each nonresident 
partner and must furnish each nonresident partner information to be 
included with his individual income tax return verifying the tax paid 
on his share of the partnership earnings in North Carolina.
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