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PREFACE

This publication was prepared for the purpose of presenting the 
administrative interpretation and application of North Carolina income 
tax laws relating to individuals, partnerships, estates, trusts, and gifts 
in effect at the time of publication for income years beginning on and 
after January 1, 2009.  This publication does not cover all provisions of 
the law.

Taxpayers are cautioned that this publication is intended merely 
as a guide and that consideration must be given to all the facts and 
circumstances in applying these bulletins to particular situations. 
Taxpayers using this publication should be aware that additional changes 
may result from legislative action, court decisions, and rules adopted or 
amended under the Administrative Procedure Act, Chapter 150B of the 
General Statutes. In no case should these bulletins be relied upon for 
years other than the taxable years 2009 and 2010.

Revised December 2009

200 copies of this publication were printed at a cost of  
$325.82 or approximately $1.63 per copy.





TAXPAYERS’ BILL OF RIGHTS
The North Carolina Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights explains  

your rights as a taxpayer.

This Bill of Rights explains your rights as a taxpayer. It gives information about:

• Protection of Privacy • Final Determination after
• Examinations  Departmental Review
• Representation • Hearings
• Penalties and Interest • Collections
• Request for Review • Refund of  Overpaid Tax

• Taxpayer Assistance

 As a taxpayer, you are always entitled to fair, professional, prompt, and courteous service. Our goal is to apply the tax laws consistently and fairly so that 
your rights are protected and that you pay only your fair share of North Carolina tax.
 Protection of Privacy:  It is your right to have information about your tax history, financial situation, and assessments or reviews kept in strict confidence.  
Any return information, correspondence, or departmental discussions concerning your tax situation are confidential. Employees or former employees who violate 
this confidentiality are subject to criminal prosecution and possible fines.  An employee who willfully discloses tax information is also subject to dismissal.
 Examinations:  The Department of Revenue routinely examines returns to ensure that taxpayers comply with tax statutes. If we examine your return, we 
may ask you to provide information to verify items on your return.
 Examinations are done by mail or through personal interviews with auditors. You have the right to ask that the examination be held at a time and place 
convenient for you and the auditor.
 You are entitled to a fair examination and an explanation of any changes we propose to your return. Examinations do not necessarily mean additional taxes. 
Your case could be closed without any changes or you could receive a refund.
 Representation:  During any examination or conference, you may have an attorney, accountant, or designated agent present. You can authorize another 
person to represent you if you execute a written power of attorney.  Form Gen. 58, Power of Attorney and Declaration of Representative, is on the Department’s 
website at http://www.dornc.com/downloads/fillin/Gen58_webfill.pdf.

If you wish, the Department will suspend the proceedings at any time to permit you to consult with your authorized representative.
 You may make an audio recording of the proceedings at your own expense with your own equipment. The Department may also audio record the proceedings. 
If we do so, you can get a copy of the transcript for a nominal charge.

Penalties and Interest:  By law, the Department of Revenue is required to assess penalties for the following:
• Late Filing of Returns • Fraud
• Late Payment of Tax • Bad Checks or Bad  EFT
• Negligence  Payments 

 You have the right to request that penalties be waived.  The Department waives penalties in accordance with its Penalty Waiver Policy, which is on the 
Department’s website at www.dornc.com/practitioner/waiverpolicy.pdf.  Interest accrues on unpaid taxes from the date the tax was due until the date it is 
paid. The law does not permit the Department to waive interest that accrues on unpaid taxes.  To request penalty waiver, you should pay the tax and interest due 
and submit Form NC-5500, Request to Waive Penalties, located on the Department’s website at www.dornc.com/downloads/penalty.html or by calling 
1-877-252-3052.  Your request for penalty waiver should be mailed to North Carolina Department of Revenue, Correspondence Unit, P.O. Box 1168, Raleigh, 
NC 27602-1168.
 Request for Review:  If you object to a proposed denial of a refund or a proposed assessment, you may request a Departmental review of the action if the 
request is made in writing and received by the Department within 45 days after the date the notice was mailed to you.  If a request for a Departmental review is 
not filed in a timely manner, the proposed action is final and is not subject to further administrative or judicial review.  An assessment for an amount shown due 
on the return but not paid or the application of a refund against debts owed to State or local agencies or to the Internal Revenue Service is not subject to review.  
To request a review, submit Form NC-242, Objection and Request for Departmental Review.  The form is available at www.dornc.com/downloads/nc242.
pdf or by calling 1-877-252-3052.  Your request for a review should be mailed to North Carolina Department of Revenue, Correspondence Unit, P.O. Box 
471, Raleigh, NC 27602-0471.
 Upon receipt of a timely request for review, the Department will take one of the following actions: (1) make the refund or cancel the assessment; (2) schedule 
a conference; or (3) request additional information.  A conference is an informal proceeding at which you and the Department attempt to resolve the case.  If a 
conference is necessary, the Department will set the time and date and notify you at least 30 days prior to the date set for the conference.  The date set for the 
conference may be changed by mutual agreement.  
 Final Determination after Departmental Review:  If the issues cannot be resolved, the Department will issue a notice of final determination within nine 
months of the date that you filed the request for review.  The final determination will state the basis of the determination.  The final determination issued for 
a proposed assessment will also show the amount of tax, penalties, and interest you owe and the collection options available to the Department if the amount 
shown due is not paid and you do not contest the final determination.  Final determinations issued for a denied refund or proposed assessment will explain the 
procedure you must follow to contest the final determination.
 Hearings:  If you disagree with the notice of final determination regarding a proposed assessment or denied refund, you may file a petition for a contested 
tax case hearing at the Office of Administrative Hearings.  The petition for a contested tax case hearing may be filed only after the Department has issued the 
notice of final determination.  You must file the petition with the Office of Administrative Hearings within 60 days of the date the final determination is mailed 
to you by the Department.  You do not have to pay the tax, penalty, and interest due before proceeding to a hearing at the Office of Administrative Hearings.  
If you disagree with the final decision in the contested tax case before the Office of Administrative Hearings, you may file a petition in the Superior Court of 
Wake County for further judicial review of your case.  However in the case of a proposed assessment, you must pay the tax, penalty, and interest due before 
the petition will be considered.  (The appeal information given here is a general description of your appeal rights and does not cover all situations.  You 
should visit the Office of Administrative Hearings website at www.ncoah.com for further information.)
 Collections:  You are responsible for the full amount of tax you owe, but we will not take action to collect from you until you have had an opportunity to 
pay voluntarily. It is important that you respond promptly if we contact you for payment.  If you do not pay the amount of tax, penalty, and interest you 
owe within 90 days after a notice of collection was mailed to you, the law requires the Department to add a 20% collection assistance fee to your debt.  The 
fee does not apply if you enter into an installment payment agreement with the Department before the fee is imposed.
 If you do not pay in full, the Department of Revenue may garnish your wages, bank account, or other funds, seize and sell personal property, issue a tax 
warrant to your sheriff, or record a certificate of tax liability against you.  If you willfully fail to pay the tax, you may be subject  to criminal charges.  If we 
believe that you owe tax and collecting that tax is in jeopardy, the Department can immediately assess and collect the tax. You are entitled to a Departmental 
review of the actions taken on the jeopardy assessment. If you disagree with the review findings, you have the right to bring civil action in Superior Court.
 Refund of Overpaid Tax:  If you believe you have overpaid your taxes, you have the right to file a claim for refund.  Generally, you can apply for a refund 
of tax paid at any time within three years after the due date of the return or within two years of paying the tax, whichever is later.  When you file a claim for 
refund, the Department will take one of the following actions within six months after the date the claim is filed:  (1) send the requested refund to you; (2) adjust 
the amount of the refund; (3) deny the refund; or (4) request additional information.  If the Department does not take one of the actions within six months, the 
inaction is considered a proposed denial of the requested refund. If we select your claim for examination, you have the same rights you would have during an 
examination of your return.

Taxpayer Assistance:  You can check the status of your individual income tax refund 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 1-877-252-4052.
 If you need tax forms or other assistance with individual income, withholding, sales and use or corporate and franchise taxes, please call 1-877-252-3052.  For assistance 
with motor fuels, please call 1-877-308-9092.  For assistance with all other taxes administered by the Department of Revenue, please call 1-877-308-9103.  You may also 
access the Department’s website at www.dornc.com, or you may write to the Department at

N. C. Department of Revenue
P. O. Box 1168
Raleigh, NC 27602

 Recorded information on commonly asked individual income, withholding, sales and use and corporate and franchise  tax questions is also available.  You 
can call us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at 1-877-252-3052.

The hearing impaired with TDD service can contact Relay North Carolina at 1-800-735-2962 for assistance.
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IMPORTANT TOLL FREE TELEPHONE NUMBERS

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE AND FORMS 1-877-252-3052

AUTOMATED REFUND INQUIRY LINE 1-877-252-4052
(Available	24	hours	a	day,	
7	days	a	week.)

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS	 1-877-252-3052

INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE			 1-800-829-1040 (Toll	free
within	North	Carolina.)

TAX FRAUD HOTLINE	 1-800-232-4939
(733-6354	in	Wake
County.		Toll	free	from
8:00	a.m.	to	5:00	p.m.,
Monday	through	Friday,
except	holidays.)

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE WEBSITE											

www.dornc.com
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I. Subject:  Filing Individual Income Tax Returns

1. Forms
The individual income tax return, Form D-400, is available from the

Department of Revenue in Raleigh or from any of the Department’s 
Service Centers located throughout the State. The return and other related 
schedules are also available from the Department’s website at  www.
dornc.com.  

2. Electronic Tax Filing
The North Carolina Department of Revenue participates in the Federal/

State e-file program. This program allows residents, nonresidents, and 
part-year residents to file their federal and State individual income 
tax returns in a single electronic transmission or file their State return 
separately.  E-file is the fastest, safest, and most accurate way to file 
income tax returns. Taxpayers who e-file can have their refunds direct 
deposited into a checking or savings account.  E-file is offered by a rapidly 
growing number of tax practitioners.  A list of tax practitioners that offer 
electronic filing is on the Department’s website, www.dornc.com.  The 
State return can be a refund, zero tax due, or balance due return.  

To participate in the Federal/State e-file Program, a tax practitioner must 
complete IRS Form 8633, Application to Participate in the E-file Program, 
and submit it to the IRS.  The practitioner must have been accepted into 
the program and received an Electronic Filing Identification Number 
(EFIN) in order to participate in State e-file.  The Department will have 
access to the Federal Applicant Database that enables the Department 
to reference pertinent information regarding the tax practitioner.  The 
tax practitioner must use computer software that has been approved by 
the IRS and the Department of Revenue for filing.  The Department 
of Revenue maintains a list of approved software developers on its 
website. 

The Department of Revenue also participates in the Federal/State 
Online Filing Program.  A taxpayer with a personal computer and modem 
can file their federal and State returns in one transmission or the State 
return separately.  A taxpayer must use approved online software to e-file 
the federal and State returns.  A list of approved online software products 
is on the Department’s website.

3. Items Requiring Special Attention
The individual taxpayer or his agent should give special attention to

the following items when preparing an individual income tax return:
a. The Form D-400 for the proper year should be used. For example,

a 2009 form should be used by a taxpayer whose calendar year
ends December 31, 2009. A taxpayer filing on a fiscal year basis
whose fiscal year begins in 2009 should also use a 2009 form.

b. The first name, middle initial, last name and the current mailing
address of the taxpayer (taxpayers; if joint) should be printed in
the applicable boxes on the tax return.  Do not use the name or
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address shown on a wage and tax statement if incorrect.  Enter the 
social security number(s) in the applicable boxes.

 c. When filing an income tax return for an unmarried individual who 
died during the taxable year, enter the date of death in the applicable 
box.

 d. When filing a separate return of a decedent who was married at the 
time of death, enter the date of death in the applicable box and enter 
the address of the surviving spouse or personal representative. 

 e. The taxpayer is required to furnish his social security number with 
the return. This number is necessary to verify the identity of the 
taxpayer, since the Department identifies taxpayers and credits 
refunds and payments by social security number.

  Separate returns of spouses are often interrelated whether they are 
living together or apart; therefore, the taxpayer is asked to furnish the 
name and social security number of the spouse if they file on separate 
forms, but not if they are divorced. This information can save time, 
correspondence, and difficulty for the taxpayer and the Department.

 f. The same filing status claimed on the federal income tax return must 
also be claimed on the North Carolina income tax return. However, 
if either the taxpayer or the taxpayer’s spouse is a nonresident and 
had no North Carolina taxable income for the taxable year, the 
filing status Married Filing Separately may be claimed.  Once a 
joint return is filed, separate returns may not be filed for that year 
after the due date of the return.

 g. The tax must be computed accurately and any penalty and interest 
prescribed by statute should be included on the return.

 h. If additional tax is due on the income tax return, it can be paid by 
check or money order with the return, or it can be paid online by 
bank draft or credit or debit card using Visa or MasterCard.  Note:  
The Department will not accept a check, money order, or cashier’s 
check unless it is drawn on a U.S. (domestic) bank and the funds 
are payable in U.S. dollars.

 i. If an individual has moved into or out of North Carolina during the 
tax year or is a nonresident with income from sources within North 
Carolina, the section on page 4 of Form D-400, “Computation 
of North Carolina Taxable Income for Part-Year Residents and 
Nonresidents” must be completed. Credit for tax paid to another 
state is not allowed to an individual moving into or out of this 
state unless the individual has income derived from and taxed by 
another state or country while a resident of this State. (See Credit 
for Tax Paid to Another State or Country on page 56.)

 j. If a tax credit is claimed for tax paid to another state or country, 
there must be attached to the return a true copy of the return filed 
with the other state or country and a cancelled check, receipt, or 
other proof of payment of tax.
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 k. Every return must be signed and dated by the taxpayer or the 
taxpayer’s authorized agent, and joint returns should be signed and 
dated by both spouses. A refund may be delayed by an unsigned 
return.

 l. Where tax has been withheld, the original or copy of the original 
State wage and tax statement that was received from an employer 
must be attached to the return.  Wage and tax statements or �099 
statements generated by tax software programs cannot be used to 
verify North Carolina tax withheld.

 m. Any additional information that will assist in the processing and 
auditing of a return should be attached to the return.

 n. Anyone who is paid to prepare a return must sign and date the return 
in the space provided. When more than one person prepares a return, 
the preparer with primary responsibility for the overall accuracy of 
the return must sign as the preparer. The preparer must manually 
sign and date the prepared return. Preparers may use the practitioner 
ID number (PTIN) in lieu of their social security number.  Preparers 
should also include their phone numbers in the space provided.

 o. Nonresident aliens are required to file income tax returns at the same 
time they are required to file their federal returns.

4.  Substitute Returns
Any facsimile or substitute form must be approved by the Department of 

Revenue prior to its use.  The guidelines for producing substitute forms are 
available in the publication, “Requirements for the Approval of Substitute 
Tax Forms.”  The publication is available on the Department’s Website, or 
it can be obtained by contacting the Department’s forms coordinator.  If you 
use computer generated returns, the software company is responsible for 
requesting and receiving an assigned barcode.   The Department publishes 
a list of software developers who have received approval on it’s website.   
Photocopies of the return are not acceptable.   Returns that cannot be 
processed by the Department’s imaging and scanning equipment may be 
returned to the taxpayer with instructions to refile on an acceptable form.

5. Federal Forms
Taxpayers must include a copy of their federal return with the North Carolina 

return unless their federal return reflects a North Carolina address.

6. Extensions
If an income tax return cannot be filed by the due date, an individual 

may apply for an automatic six-month extension of time to file the return. 
To receive the extension, an individual must file Form D-410, Application 
for Extension for Filing Individual Income Tax Return, by the original 
due date of the return.  A copy of the individual’s federal extension is 
not acceptable.  Partnerships, estates, or trusts must file Form D-410P, 
Application for Extension for Filing Partnership, Estate, or Trust Tax 
Return, to apply for an extension of time to file a return.  
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Although a taxpayer is not required to send a payment of the tax 
estimated to be due, it will benefit the taxpayer to pay as much as possible 
with the extension request. An extension of time for filing the return 
does not extend the time for paying the tax. If the tax due is not paid by 
the original due date, interest will be due on the unpaid amount.  The 
�0 percent late payment penalty will not be due if the taxpayer pays at 
least 90 percent of the tax liability through withholding, estimated tax 
payments, or with Form D-4�0 by the original due date.

A late filing penalty may be assessed if the return is filed after the 
due date (including extensions). The penalty is 5 percent per month ($5 
minimum; 25 percent maximum) on the remaining tax due. 

If the application for extension is not filed by the original due date of 
the return, the taxpayer is subject to both a late filing penalty and a late 
payment penalty. 

An individual who is an U. S. citizen or resident and is “out of the 
country” on the regular due date of the return (April �5) is granted an 
automatic 4-month extension for filing a North Carolina income tax 
return if the individual marks the “out of the country” indicator on page 
� of Form D-400.  The extension application, Form D-4�0, does not have 
to be filed.  The time for payment of the tax is also extended; however, 
interest is due on any unpaid tax from the original due date of the return 
until the tax is paid. If an individual is unable to file the return within the 
automatic 4-month extension period, an additional 2-month extension 
may be obtained by filing Form D-410 by August 15 and marking the 
“out of country” indicator on the form.

For this purpose, “Out of the Country” means  (�) you live outside the 
United States and Puerto Rico, and your main place of work is outside the 
United States and Puerto Rico, or (2) you are in military service outside 
the United States and Puerto Rico.

A return may be filed at any time within the extension period but it 
must be filed before the end of the extension period to avoid the late 
filing penalty.

If the Internal Revenue Service authorizes an extension of time for 
federal tax-related deadlines for persons determined to be affected by 
a Presidentially declared disaster, North Carolina will grant a similar 
extension of time to file a return or report.  For North Carolina income tax 
purposes, the extension of time does not abate the payment of interest.

7. Amended Returns
For tax years prior to 2009:  Use From D-400X, Amended North 

Carolina Income Tax Return, to file an amended return.
For tax years after 2008:  Use Form D-400, Individual Income Tax 

Return and instructions for the tax year that is being amended.  Form D-
400X-WS, Worksheet for Amending Individual Income Tax Return, 
must also be completed and attached to the amended return.
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8. Tax Liability
If North Carolina taxable income is less than $68,000, the tax liability 

must be determined by using the Tax Table in the individual income tax 
instructions. If taxable income is $68,000 or more, use the Tax Rate 
Schedule on below to compute the tax. 

9. Income Tax Surtax
Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January �, 2009 and 

before January �, 20��, a surtax is due if North Carolina taxable income is 
greater than the amount shown below for the taxpayer’s filing status:

Married filing jointly/qualifying widow(er) $100,000
Head of Household $80,000
Single $60,000
Married filing separately $50,000 

The surtax is in addition to the income tax imposed and is computed 
by multiplying North Carolina income tax by the applicable percentage 
shown in the table below.

Surtax Percentage Table   Applicable 
 Filing Status NC Taxable Income Percentage 
 

Married Filing Jointly/ Greater than $100,000 but does not exceed $250,000 2%
Qualifying Widow(er) Greater than $250,000 3%

Head of Household Greater than $80,000 but does not exceed $200,00 2% 
 Greater than $200,000 3%

Single Greater than $60,000 but does not exceed $150,000 2%
 Greater than $150,000 3%

Married Filing Separately Greater than $50,000 but does not exceed $125,000 2% 
 Greater than $125,000 3%

If additional tax is due because of the surtax, there is no interest on the 
underpayment of estimated tax on that portion of the tax.

TAX  RATE  SCHEDULE
  And your
  taxable   
	 If	your	filing	 income	is	 But	not
 status is more than over The Tax is
 Single $ 0 $  �2,750 6% of the taxable income 
  $ �2,750 $  60,000 $765 + 7% of the amount over $�2,750
  $ 60,000  ---------- $4,072.50 + 7.75% of the amount over $60,000 
 
 Head of $ 0 $ �7,000 6% of the taxable income 
 Household $ �7,000 $ 80,000 $�,020 + 7% of the amount over $�7,000
  $ 80,000  ---------- $5,430 + 7.75% of the amount over $80,000
  
 Married filing $ 0 $ 21,250 6% of the taxable income
  Jointly or $ 2�,250 $ �00,000 $�,275 + 7% of the amount over $2�,250
 Qualifying $ �00,000  ---------- $6,787.50 + 7.75% of the amount over $�00,000
 Widow(er) 
    
 Married filing $ 0 $ 10,625 6% of the taxable income
 Separately $ �0,625 $ 50,000 $637.50 + 7% of the amount over $�0,625
  $ 50,000  ---------- $3,393.75 + 7.75% of the amount over $50,000
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II.  Subject:  Filing Requirements (G.S. 105-152)

1. General
The minimum gross income filing requirements under North Carolina 

law are different from the filing requirements under the Internal Revenue 
Code because North Carolina law does not adjust the standard deduction 
and personal exemption for inflation as required by the Internal Revenue 
Code.  See pages 11 and 12 for the North Carolina standard deduction 
and personal exemption amounts.  The amounts are reflected in the 
charts for minimum gross income filing requirements on pages 7 and 8 
that follow.  

2. Individuals Required to File a North Carolina Individual Income 
Tax Return

The following individuals are required to file a North Carolina 
individual income tax return:
 a. Every resident of North Carolina whose income for the taxable 

year equals or exceeds the amount for the individual’s filing status 
shown in Chart A or B which follows.

 b. Every part-year resident who received income while a resident 
of North Carolina or who received income while a nonresident 
attributable to the ownership of any interest in real or tangible 
personal property in North Carolina or derived from a business, 
trade, profession, or occupation carried on in North Carolina, or  
derived from gambling activities in North Carolina and whose total 
income for the taxable year exceeds the amount for the individual’s 
filing status shown in Chart A or B which follows.

 c. Every nonresident who received income for the taxable year from 
North Carolina sources that was attributable to the ownership of 
any interest in real or tangible personal property in North Carolina 
or derived from a business, trade, profession, or occupation carried 
on in North Carolina, or derived from gambling activities in North  
Carolina and whose total income for the taxable year exceeds the 
amount for the individual’s filing status shown in Chart A or B 
which follows.

3. Minimum Gross Income Filing Requirements
The minimum gross income filing requirements for most people are 

shown in Chart A, on the following page:
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CHART A—FOR MOST TAXPAYERS

	 	 A	Return	is	Required	if	
	 Filing	Status	 Federal	Gross	Income	Exceeds
	 	 	
	 (1) Single       $5,500
  Single (age 65 or older)  $6,250

 (2) Married—Filing Joint Return  $11,000
  Married—Filing Joint Return,   
  (one age 65 or older)  $11,600    
  Married—Filing Joint Return,
  (both age 65 or older)  $12,200

 (3) Married—Filing Separate Return  $2,500

 (4) Head of Household  $6,900
  Head of Household
  (age 65 or older)  $7,650

 (5) Qualifying Widow(er)
  with dependent child   $8,500
  Qualifying Widow(er)
  (age 65 or older)       $9,100

If an individual was not required to file a federal income tax return 
but had gross income inside and outside North Carolina that exceeds the 
amount for the individual’s filing status in Chart A, a federal return must 
be completed and attached to the North Carolina return to show how the 
negative federal taxable income was determined.

The minimum gross income filing requirements for children and other 
dependents are shown in Chart B on the following page. The filing 
requirements in Chart B generally are applicable to those individuals who 
can be claimed as a dependent by another person (such as a parent).
Note:	 Earned	 income includes salaries, wages, tips, professional 

fees, scholarships that must be included in income, and other 
compensation received for personal services.

	 Unearned	income includes taxable interest, dividends, capital 
gains, pensions, annuities, and social security benefits. 
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Chart B—FOR CHILDREN AND OTHER DEPENDENTS

Single dependents.  Were you either age 65 or older or blind?

  No.  You must file a return if any of the following apply to you.
  • Unearned income was over $500
  • Earned income was over $3,000
  • Gross income was more
   than the larger of-
   • $500, or
   • Earned income (up to $2,750) plus $250
 Yes.  You must file a return if any of the following apply to you.
  • Earned income was over $3,750 ($4,500 if 65 or older and blind)
  • Unearned income was over $1,250 ($2,000 if 65 or older and blind)
  • Gross income was more than-
   The larger of- Plus This amount:
   • $500, or  $750 ($1,500 if 65
   • Earned income (up to $2,750) or older and blind)
    plus $250

Unearned income includes taxable interest, dividends, capital gains, pensions, 
annuities, and social security benefits.  Earned Income includes salaries, wages, tips, 
professional fees, scholarships that must be included in income, and other compensation 
received for personal services.

Married dependents.  Were you either age 65 or older or blind?

  No.  You must file a return if any of the following apply to you.
  • Gross income was at least $10 and your spouse files a    

  separate return and itemizes deductions.
  • Unearned income was over $500
  • Earned income was over $3,000
  • Gross income was more
   than the larger of-
   • $500, or  
   • Earned income up to $2,750 plus $250
 Yes.  You must file a return if any of the following apply.
  • Earned income was over $3,600 ($4,200 if 65 or older and blind)
  • Unearned income was over $1,100 ($1,700 if 65 or older and blind)
  • Gross income was at least $10 and your spouse files a separate  

  return and itemizes deductions
  • Gross income was more than-
   The larger of- Plus This amount:
   • $500, or  $600 ($1,200 if 65
   • Earned income up to 2,750 or older and blind)
      plus $250
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4. Joint Returns (G.S. 105-152)
G.S. 105-152 requires that a husband and wife file a joint State return if:

 a. They file a joint federal income tax return and
 b. Both spouses are residents of North Carolina or both spouses had 

North Carolina taxable income.
Generally, all other individuals must file separate returns.
On joint returns, both spouses are jointly and severally liable for the tax 

due. However, if a spouse has been relieved of any liability for federal 
income tax under Internal Revenue Code Section 6015, that spouse would 
not be liable for the corresponding State income tax liability.

A husband and wife who file a joint federal income tax return may 
file a joint State return even if one spouse is a nonresident and had no 
North Carolina income.  However, the spouse required to file a North 
Carolina return has the option of filing the State return as married filing 
separately.  If an individual files a joint federal return but files a separate 
North Carolina return, the individual must complete a separate federal 
return and attach it to the North Carolina income tax return to show how 
the  federal taxable income would be determined on a separate federal 
return. In lieu of completing a separate federal return, an individual may 
submit a schedule showing the computation of the separate federal taxable 
income. In this case, an individual must attach a copy of the joint federal 
return unless the federal return reflects a North Carolina address.

In determining the federal taxable income on the separate federal return, 
deductions are allowable only to the spouse responsible for payment of 
the item and who actually paid the amount during the tax year.  In the 
case of a joint obligation, nonbusiness deductions (except for medical 
expenses) are allowable to the spouse who actually paid the item; or if a 
joint obligation is paid from a joint checking account, the deductions must 
be allocated between the spouses according to their respective adjusted 
gross income.  In determining the amount of medical expenses paid by 
each spouse from a joint checking account, each spouse is considered 
to have paid their own medical expenses. 
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III.  Subject:  Computation of Taxable Income (G.S. 105-134.2 -  
      G.S. 105-134.5)

1. General
The starting point in determining North Carolina taxable income is 

taxable income for federal income tax purposes, subject to the following 
additions, deductions and transitional adjustments.  These adjustments 
do not apply to all individuals. Each individual should determine if any 
of the adjustments apply to his or her return.

2. Additions to Federal Taxable Income (G.S. 105-134.6)
Federal taxable income must be increased by the following additions 

to the extent the amounts are not included in federal taxable income:
 a. Interest received upon obligations of states other than North 

Carolina and their political subdivisions;
  This addition includes that portion of an exempt interest dividend 

from a regulated investment company (mutual fund) that 
represents interest on direct obligations of states and their political 
subdivisions other than North Carolina. (See page 54 for additional 
information on regulated investment companies.)

 b. Any amount allowed as a deduction from gross income that is taxed 
by a separate tax under the Internal Revenue Code. This includes 
lump-sum distributions from certain employees’ retirement plans 
which a taxpayer may elect to exclude from taxable income in the 
regular tax computation and compute the tax separately.

 c. State and local taxes and any foreign income taxes deducted on 
the federal return.   

 d. The amount claimed for domestic production activities income.  
The federal Jobs Creation Act of 2004 allows a deduction equal 
to a portion of the qualified production activities income.  North 
Carolina did not adopt the federal provision allowing the deduction 
for domestic production activities income. 

 e. Real property taxes claimed as an addition to the federal standard 
deduction and deducted on the federal return.

 f. New motor vehicle taxes claimed as an addition to the federal 
standard deduction or as an itemized deduction and deducted on 
the federal return.

   g.       An amount equal to 85 percent of the first-year bonus depreciation 
deducted on the 2009 federal return.  The federal Economic 
Stimulus Act of 2008 allowed the 50 percent bonus depreciation 
to certain property acquired and placed in service on or after 
January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2009.  The federal American 
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 extended the 50 percent 
bonus depreciation available to certain prorperty an additional year, 
through December 31, 2009.  North Carolina law did not adopt 
the bonus depreciation provisions under IRC sections 168(k) and 
168(n).  Therefore, if the 50 percent bonus depreciation under these 
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sections was deducted on the 2009 federal return, an individual 
must add to federal taxable income 85 percent of the amount 
deducted.  This adjustment does not result in a difference in basis 
of the affected assets for State and federal income tax purposes.

 Note:  Any amount of bonus depreciation added to federal taxable 
income on the 2009 State return may be deducted in five equal 
installments over the first five taxable years beginning with the tax 
return for taxable year 2010.

 h. The market price of donated gleaned crops for which a tax credit  
was claimed on the North Carolina individual income tax return.

 i. The difference in the standard deduction for federal and State 
income tax purposes and the difference in the personal exemption 
for federal and State income tax purposes. These adjustments are 
necessary because the federal standard deduction amounts and 
personal exemption amounts will be adjusted each year, if necessary, 
for inflation. North Carolina does not have a similar provision.

Standard Deduction Chart for Most People
Do Not use this chart if you or your spouse were 65 or older or blind,

Or if someone can claim you as a dependent. 

 If your filing status is:              Your standard deduction is: 
  Single $3,000
  Married filing jointly/Qualifying widow(er) $6,000
  Married filing separately
   If spouse does not claim itemized deductions $3,000       
   If spouse claims itemized deductions 0
  Head of household $4,400

The charts that follow show the North Carolina standard deduction for 
individuals who are not claimed as dependents by another taxpayer.

[See Standard Deduction Chart for People Age 65 or Older or Blind on 
the following page.]
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Standard Deduction Chart for 
People Age 65 or Older or Blind

If someone can claim you as a dependent, use the worksheet for dependents instead.

	 If your filing status is:

 Single 1                            $3,750
  2                          $4,500

 Head of household 1                          $5,150
   2                          $5,900

 Married filing separately 1                         $3,600
  2                         $4,200
  3                         $4,800
  4                         $5,400

	
	 Check if: You were 65 or Older  Blind
  
  Your spouse was  65 or Older  Blind

  Enter the number of boxes checked above

 Married filing jointly/ 1                         $6,600
 Qualifying widow(er) 2                         $7,200
  3                         $7,800
  4                         $8,400

And the
total number of 

boxes
you have 

checked is:
Your standard deduction is: 

Note: If married filing separately, include the number of  boxes checked for your spouse 
in the total number only if your spouse had no gross income and was not claimed as 
a dependent by another taxpayer.

The worksheet on the following page is used to calculate the North Carolina 
standard deduction for individuals who can be claimed as dependents by 
another taxpayer.
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The standard deduction is zero for a married individual filing 
separately for federal income tax purposes whose spouse claims itemized 
deductions.

The standard deduction for nonresident aliens and individuals filing a 
short year return due to a change of accounting period is zero.

The personal exemption for North Carolina purposes is $2,500 for a 
taxpayer whose federal adjusted gross income is less than the amount 
shown for his filing status in the chart that follows. For a taxpayer with 
federal adjusted gross income equal to or more than the threshold amount, 
the personal exemption is $2,000.

	 Filing	Status	 Adjusted	Gross	Income
 Married filing jointly $100,000
 Head of household $80,000
 Single $60,000
 Married filing separately $50,000
 

	
	 1. Enter amount of earned income     
  (Earned income defined below)         +         $250        Enter total  1. ______________

 2. Minimum amount........................................................................................... 2. ______________

 3. Enter the larger of line 1 or line 2. ................................................................. 3. ______________

 4. Enter on line 4 the amount shown for your filing status 

   • Single, enter $3,000 
   • Married filing jointly/   
    Qualifying widow(er), enter $6,000
   • Married filing separately, enter $3,000
   • Head of household, enter $4,400 ..............................................................4. ______________

 5. Enter the smaller of lines 3 or 4. If under 65 and not blind,
  Stop Here and enter this amount on the appropriate line of
  Form D-400  ....................................................................................................5. ______________
 
 6.  a. Check if: You were 65 or Older  Blind
  
  Your spouse was  65 or Older  Blind

       b. Enter the number of boxes you have checked 
         Note: If married filing separately, include the number of boxes checked for
     your spouse in the total number checked only if your spouse had no gross income
     and was not claimed as a dependent by another taxpayer.

    c. Multiply $750 ($600 if married filing jointly or separately,
     or qualifying widow(er)) by the number of boxes you
     entered on line 6b above and enter the result ........................................ 6c. _____________

 7. Add lines 5 and 6c. Enter the total here and on the appropriate line
     of Form D-400  ...............................................................................................7. ______________
  Earned income includes salaries, wages, tips, professional fees, and other compensation received
  for personal services you performed. It also includes any amount received as a scholarship that you
  must report in income.

Standard Deduction Worksheet for Dependents
Use this worksheet only if someone can claim you as a dependent

$500
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 j. The amount of federal estate tax that is attributable to income in 
respect of a decedent and that is deducted under Section 691 (c) 
of the Internal Revenue Code.

 k. The amount by which the basis of property for federal purposes exceeds 
the basis for State purposes upon disposition of the property.

 l. The amount of net operating loss carried over to a taxable year to 
the extent the loss is not absorbed and will be carried forward to 
subsequent years.

 m. With respect to a child’s unearned income reported by a parent, 
the amount of the child’s unearned income in excess of $500 but 
not exceeding $1,900.  When a parent elects to report a child’s 
unearned income, the child is treated as having no gross income 
for the year and is not required to file a federal income tax return. A 
parent electing to report a child’s unearned income for federal tax 
purposes must add to federal taxable income the amount of the child’s 
unearned income in excess of $500 but not exceeding $1,900.

 n. The market price of oyster shells for which a tax credit was claimed 
on the North Carolina individual income tax return.

 o. The amount of a shareholder’s share of an S-corporation’s built-in 
gains tax deducted by the shareholder in determining federal taxable 
income.  A shareholder of an S corporation is required to make an 
addition to federal taxable income for the shareholder’s share of 
built-in gains tax that the S corporation paid for federal income tax 
purposes.  Because the income subject to the built-in gains tax is taxed 
at both the S corporation and shareholder level for federal income tax 
purposes, federal law allows the shareholder to deduct his pro rata 
share of the built-in gains tax to provide relief from double taxation.  
North Carolina does not impose a built-in gains tax; therefore, there 
is no double taxation for State income tax purposes.

 p.  Any amount that was contributed to the Parental Savings Trust Fund 
(North Carolina’s 529 college savings plan) of the State Education 
Assistance Authority and deducted in a prior year that was later withdrawn 
and used for purposes other than the qualified higher education expenses 
of the designated beneficiary unless the withdrawal was due to the death 
or permanent disability of the designated beneficiary.  

 q. Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2008, 
the amount of a donation made to a nonprofit organization or 
a unit of state and local government to enable the nonprofit or 
governmental unit to acquire renewable energy property.  G.S. 
105-129.16H provides tax credits to taxpayers who donate money 
to a tax-exempt nonprofit organization or governmental unit for 
the purpose of providing funds for the organization to construct, 
purchase, or lease renewable energy property.

 r. The amount of income deferred under IRC section 108(i)(I) from 
the discharge of indebtedness in connection with a reacquisition 
of an applicable debt instrument.
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 s. The amount allowed as a deduction on the federal return under IRC 
section 163(e)(5)(F) for an original issue discount on an applicable 
high yield discount obligation.

3. Deductions from Federal Taxable Income (G.S. 105-134.6)
Federal taxable income must be decreased by the following deductions 

to the extent the amounts are included in federal taxable income:
 a. Interest upon direct obligations of the United States or its 

possessions; 
  Interest earned from obligations that are merely backed or guaranteed 

by the United States Government will not qualify for deduction from 
an individual’s income. The deduction from income will not apply to 
distributions which represent gain from the sale or other disposition 
of the securities, nor to interest paid in connection with repurchase 
agreements issued by banks and savings and loan associations. The 
deduction will not apply to any portion of a distribution from an 
individual retirement account (IRA).

  The following are examples of interest on bonds, notes, or other 
obligations that must be deducted from federal taxable income, if 
such bonds, notes, or other obligations are direct obligations of:

 (1) Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands and Guam
 (2) A Federal Land Bank
 (3) A Federal Home Loan Bank
 (4) A Federal Intermediate Bank
 (5) Farm Home Administration
 (6) Export-Import Bank of the United States
 (7) Tennessee Valley Authority
 (8) Banks for Cooperatives
 (9) U.S. Treasury bonds, notes, bills, certificates and savings bonds
 (10) Production Credit Association
 (11) Student Loan Marketing Association
 (12) Commodity Credit Corporation
 (13) Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
 (14) A Federal Farm Credit Bank
 (15) Federal Financing Bank
 (16) Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation
 (17) General Insurance Fund
 (18) United States Postal Service
 (19) Resolution Funding Corporation
 (20) Financing Corporation (chartered by the Federal Housing 

Finance Board — 12 USCS 12-1441) 
 b. Interest on bonds, notes, and other obligations of the State of North 

Carolina or any of its political subdivisions;
 c. Interest on obligations and gain from the sale or disposition of 

obligations issued before July 1, 1995 if North Carolina law under 
which the obligations were issued specifically exempts the interest or 
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gain (With respect to North Carolina obligations issued after July 1, 
1995, the income tax treatment of gains from the sale or disposition 
of such obligations is the same for federal and State purposes.);

  Examples:
 (1) Interest on bonds, notes, debentures, or other evidence of 

the indebtedness issued under G.S. 131E-28 by the North 
Carolina Hospital Authorities, including gain from the sale 
or exchange of these obligations. 

 (2) Interest on bonds, notes, debentures, or other evidence of 
indebtedness issued by the North Carolina Medical Care 
Commission under the Health Care Facilities Finance Act 
under the provisions of G.S. 131A-21. Gain from the sale or 
exchange of these obligations may also be deducted.

 (3) Interest and gain derived from obligations issued by the North 
Carolina Housing Finance Agency under G.S. 122A-19.

 (4) Interest and gain on bonds issued by the North Carolina State 
Ports Authority under G.S. 143B-456(g).

 (5) Interest on bonds, notes, debentures, and any other evidence 
of indebtedness issued by a North Carolina Housing Authority 
(including any corporate agent authorized by Article 1 of 
Chapter 157 of the General Statutes to exercise the powers of 
the authority) under the provisions of G.S. 157-26. Gain from 
the sale or exchange of these obligations is not deductible.

 (6) Interest and gain derived from bonds issued under the Joint 
Municipal Electric Power and Energy Act under G.S. 159B-26.

 (7) Income from bonds issued by boards of trustees of State 
supported colleges and universities in North Carolina 
including any gain from the sale or exchange of them under 
G.S. 116-183 and 116-196.

 (8) Interest and gain received from bonds and notes issued under 
the provision of the Higher Education Facilities Finance Act 
by the North Carolina Educational Facilities Finance Agency 
under G.S. 159D-55.

 (9) Interest and gain received on obligations issued under 
Chapter 122D (The North Carolina Agriculture Finance Act) 
by the North Carolina Agriculture Finance Authority under 
G.S. 122D-14. 

 d. Taxable portion of social security benefits received under Title II of 
the Social Security Act and any Tier I or Tier II Railroad Retirement 
benefits received under the Railroad Retirement Act of 1937;

 e. An amount by which any federal income tax deduction is disallowed 
because of the allowance of a federal income tax credit for part 
or all of the expense comprising the deduction to the extent that a 
similar State income tax credit is not allowed;



17

  Example 1: If an individual itemizes deductions and claims the 
mortgage interest tax credit on the federal tax return because of 
participating in the mortgage credit certificate program (MCC), 
the individual may reduce North Carolina taxable income by the 
amount that the mortgage interest deduction was reduced due to 
claiming the mortgage interest credit on the federal tax return.

  Example 2:  If an individual claimed the American Opportunity, 
Hope, or Lifetime Learning tax credit on the federal return in lieu of 
the deduction for higher education expenses allowed under Section 
222 of the Internal Revenue Code, the individual may claim a 
deduction of up to $4,000 for such expenses on the State return.

 f. Refunds of state, local, and foreign income taxes; 
 g. Up to $4,000 in retirement benefits from one or more federal, state, 

or local government retirement plans (See IV.  Bailey Settlement on 
page 24 to determine if more than $4,000 of government retirement 
benefits may be deducted.) 

 h. Up to $2,000 in retirement benefits from one or more private 
retirement plans; If an individual receives federal, state, or local 
government retirement benefits and also receives other qualified 
retirement benefits, the total deduction is limited to $4,000. For 
married couples filing a joint return, the maximum dollar amount 
of retirement benefits that may be deducted from federal taxable 
income applies separately to the benefits received by each spouse, 
so that the maximum deduction on a joint return is $8,000.

  The $4,000 deduction is applicable to retirement benefits received from 
the governments of territories and possessions of the United States.

  If an individual received retirement benefits during the year from one 
or more private retirement plans other than state, local, or federal 
government retirement plans, the individual may deduct the amount 
received or $2,000, whichever is less. Married individuals filing a 
joint return where both received such retirement benefits may each 
deduct up to $2,000 for a potential total deduction of $4,000.

  “Retirement benefits” are amounts paid to a former employee or to 
a beneficiary of a former employee under a written retirement plan 
established by the employer to provide payments to an employee 
or beneficiary after the end of the employee’s employment with 
the employer where the right to receive the payment is based 
upon the employment relationship. For self-employed individuals, 
retirement benefits are amounts paid to an individual, or beneficiary 
under a written retirement plan established by the individual to 
provide payments after self-employment ends. Retirement benefits 
also include amounts received from an individual retirement 
account or from an individual retirement annuity (IRA).

  An individual is not required to have ceased employment to qualify 
for the $2,000 deduction for distributions from an individual 
retirement account or an individual retirement annuity.
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  The deduction for retirement benefits is allowed only to the extent 
the benefits are included in federal taxable income. If an individual 
elects to roll-over the distribution from an employer’s plan or from 
an individual retirement account, no deduction is allowed since 
the amount rolled over is not included in taxable income.

  A change in the structure of a corporate employer which causes 
a distribution to be paid to the employee from the employer’s 
retirement plan does not entitle the employee to claim the 
deduction for retirement benefits from such distribution. For 
example, Company A is merged with Company B. An employee 
of A continues to work for the merged company. During 
the tax year, the employee received a distribution of $5,000 
representing the employee’s total credit in the non-contributory 
retirement plan of Company A. The employee would not be 
entitled to the $2,000 deduction since the employee had not 
ceased employment.

  Since short-term disability benefits from the Disability Income Plan 
of North Carolina administered for the benefit of North Carolina 
teachers and state employees are not paid to a former employee 
under a retirement plan after the end of the employee’s employment, 
the benefits are not subject to the $4,000 deduction from federal 
taxable income. Long-term disability benefits are payable after 
the conclusion of the short-term disability period or after salary 
continuation payments cease, whichever is later. Recipients of long-
term disability benefits under the Disability Income Plan of North 
Carolina are former employees and they are entitled to the $4,000 
deduction from federal taxable income.

  Benefits paid to federal civil service employees who become disabled 
prior to becoming age 60 upon separation from service are paid 
to a former employee under a retirement plan after the end of the 
employee’s employment and are subject to the $4,000 deduction 
from federal taxable income.

  Survivors of a member of the armed forces who receive benefits from 
the Retired Serviceman’s Family Protection Plan or the Survivor’s 
Benefits Plan as the result of taking a reduction in retirement pay 
are subject to the deduction of up to $4,000 from federal taxable 
income. 

 i. The amount of North Carolina inheritance or estate tax paid that is 
attributable to an item of income in respect of a decedent;

  The deduction from federal taxable income is determined by 
multiplying the amount of North Carolina inheritance or estate 
tax paid on all property transferred to the particular beneficiary, 
less the North Carolina inheritance or estate tax which would have 
been paid if the item of income in respect of a decedent had not 
been included, by a fraction, the numerator of which is the income 
in respect of a decedent the beneficiary included in federal taxable 
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income, as adjusted, and the denominator of which is the total 
income in respect of a decedent transferred to the beneficiary. The 
deduction is allowable in the year the item of income is included 
in federal taxable income. 

 j. Income earned or received by an enrolled member of a federally 
recognized Indian tribe if such income is derived from activities 
on a federally recognized Indian reservation while the member 
resided on the reservation. Intangible income having a situs on 
the reservation and retirement income associated with activities 
on the reservation are considered income derived from activities 
on the reservation.

 k. Repayments of items of income included in gross income in a prior 
year under the claim-of-right doctrine for which the taxpayer reduces 
his tax under Section 1341 of the Internal Revenue Code in the year 
of repayment;

  For federal income tax purposes, if the repayment claimed under 
a claim of right is substantial (more than $3,000) and there is 
insufficient income in the later year to offset the deduction, an 
individual may claim a credit if the benefit received by claiming 
the credit is greater than that received by claiming a deduction 
for the repayment.  A taxpayer who qualifies for the credit on 
the federal return is still entitled to the deduction for the amount 
repaid on the State return. The taxpayer is also considered to have 
made a payment of North Carolina income tax on the repayment. 
The payment, which is applied against the tax liability for the 
year in which the repayment was made, is the amount the tax was 
increased in the earlier year because the income was included in 
gross income minus the amount the tax for the current year was 
decreased because the repayment was deductible. Individuals may 
claim the payment on the individual income tax return by including 
the payment on the same line as S corporation payments.

  Example:  In 2008, a single taxpayer reported North Carolina 
taxable income of $25,000 on which he paid tax of $1,624. The 
taxpayer’s only income was sales commissions. In 2009, it is 
determined that the commissions were erroneously computed 
for  2008. Accordingly, the taxpayer pays back $8,000 of the 
commissions. The North Carolina taxable income for 2009 without 
regard to the $8,000 repayment is $4,000. The taxpayer qualifies for 
a credit on the federal return for the amount repaid. The tax payment 
to be claimed on the 2009 North Carolina return is determined as 
follows:
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  2008
  Tax on $25,000 = $ 1,624
  Tax on $17,000 ($25,000-$8,000) =  1,064
      $ 560
  2009
  Tax on $4,000 = $ 242
  Tax after deducting $8,000 payment =  0
      $ 242
  Payment to be claimed on the 2009
       North Carolina return    $ 318

 l. The amount by which the basis of property for State purposes exceeds the 
basis for federal purposes upon disposition of the property. The deduction 
can be claimed only in the year in which the property is disposed.

 m. Up to $35,000 of any severance wages received as a result of a taxpayer’s 
permanent, involuntary termination from employment through no 
fault of the employee is deductible from federal taxable income. The 
severance wages deducted as a result of the same termination may 
not exceed $35,000 for all taxable years in which the wages were 
received.  “Stay on pay” does not qualify for the deduction.

  Severance wages do not include payments that represent compensation 
for past or future services.  Compensation for past or future services 
includes payment for any of the following:
(1)  Accumulated sick leave, vacation time, or other unused benefits; 
(2)  Bonuses based on job performance; and 
(3)  Payments in consideration of any agreement not to compete with 

the employer or in consideration of a contractual or legal claim.
 n. See  IV.  Bailey Settlement.
 o.  Interest, investment earnings, and gains of a trust established by two 

or more manufacturers that signed a settlement agreement with the 
State to settle claims for damages attributable to a product of the 
manufacturers.

 p. The amount paid to an individual from the Disaster Relief Reserve Fund 
in the Office of State Budget, Planning, and Management for hurricane 
relief or assistance, but not including payments received for goods or 
services.

 q. An amount equal to 20 percent of the total additional first-year 
depreciation an individual added back on the 2002, 2003, and 2004 
State returns.  North Carolina did not adopt the additional first-year 
depreciation provisions in the federal Jobs Creation and Worker Assistance 
Act of 2002 or the federal Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation 
Act of 2003.  Instead, an adjustment was required on the 2002, 2003, and 
2004 returns for a certain percentage of the first-year depreciation claimed 
on the federal return for the applicable year.  Any amount of additional 
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first-year depreciation that an individual added to federal taxable income 
on the 2002, 2003, or 2004 State returns may be deducted in five equal 
installments beginning with the State tax return for 2005.  The final 20 
percent installment must be claimed on the 2009 State return.

  If a taxpayer disposes of an asset on which additional first-year 
depreciation was added back on the 2002, 2003, or 2004 State return, 
the taxpayer is entitled to claim the 20 percent deduction over the five 
year period even though the taxpayer no longer owns the asset.

  If a taxpaying entity that added back additional first-year depreciation 
on the State return merges with another entity, the new entity is not 
entitled to claim the 20 percent deduction. 

 r. An amount equal to 20 percent of the additional first-year bonus 
depreciation deduction that was added to federal taxable income on 
the 2008 State return.  North Carolina did not adopt the 50 percent 
bonus depreciation provisions in IRC section 168(k) for tax year 
2008.  Therefore, any amount added to federal taxable income on 
the 2008 State return may be deducted in five equal installments 
beginning with the 2009 State return. 

 s. A deduction up to $2,500 ($5,000 on a joint return) is allowed for 
contributions made to an account in the Parental Savings Trust Fund 
(North Carolina’s 529 college savings plan) of the State Education 
Assistance Authority.

  Amounts rolled over to North Carolina’s 529 plan from another state’s 
529 plan are considered contributions to the North Carolina plan.

 t. A $250 deduction is allowed to a taxpayer who is an eligible 
firefighter or rescue squad worker.  An eligible firefighter is 
defined as an unpaid member of a volunteer fire department 
who attended at least 36 hours of fire department drills and 
meetings during the taxable year.  An eligible rescue squad 
worker is defined as an unpaid member of a volunteer rescue or 
emergency medical services squad who attended at least 36 hours 
of rescue squad training and meetings during the taxable year.  
An individual may not claim a deduction as both a volunteer 
firefighter and a volunteer rescue squad worker.  In the case of 
a married couple filing a joint return, each spouse may qualify 
separately for the deduction.

4.    Transitional Adjustments (G.S. 105-134.7)
The following transitional adjustments are required because of differences 

in the way State and federal law treated certain tax transactions prior to 
January 1, 1989.
 a. Amounts that were included in the basis of property under federal 

law but not under State law prior to January 1, 1989, must be 
added to taxable income in the year of disposition of the property. 
These adjustments include the increase in basis for federal gift tax 
paid on property received as a gift and in certain cases where the 
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individual was permitted under federal law to capitalize certain 
expenditures for interest and taxes.

 b. Amounts that were included in the basis of property under State law 
but not under federal law prior to January 1, 1989, must be deducted 
from an individual’s taxable income in the year of disposition of 
the property. Deductions of this type include the increase in basis 
for State gift tax paid on property received as a gift and certain 
business expenditures that an individual elected to expense under 
Section 179 of the Internal Revenue Code but which were required 
to be capitalized for State income tax purposes.

 c. A loss or deduction that was incurred or paid and deducted in full for 
North Carolina income tax purposes under prior State law in a taxable 
year beginning before January 1, 1989, but was carried forward and 
deducted from federal taxable income in a taxable year beginning on 
or after January 1, 1989, must be added to taxable income.

  Example: The full amount of a capital loss incurred in 1988 would 
have been deductible on an individual’s 1988 State income tax return 
but on his federal income tax return the amount of the deductible loss 
would have been limited to his capital gains plus $3,000 ($1,500 if 
married and filing a separate return). Any remaining loss could be 
carried forward to subsequent tax years and deducted on his federal 
income tax return in computing his federal taxable income. In this 
instance, the individual must add back each year that portion of the 
1988 loss deducted from his federal taxable income in arriving at the 
amount of his North Carolina taxable income.

  In determining the amount of a capital loss to add back, short-term 
capital losses from taxable years beginning prior to January 1, 1989, 
must be applied before applying short-term capital losses incurred 
in taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1989, and before 
applying long-term capital losses from any year. Long-term capital 
losses from taxable years beginning prior to January 1, 1989, must be 
applied before applying long-term capital losses incurred in taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 1989.

  Example: An individual carries over $6,000 of capital losses from 
years beginning prior to January 1, 1989, consisting of $4,000 of 
short-term losses and $2,000 of long-term losses. In 1989, the 
individual incurs additional capital losses of $2,500, consisting 
of $1,500 of short-term losses and $1,000 of long-term losses. 
The individual claims a capital loss deduction of $3,000 on his 
federal income tax return. In 1990 and 1991 the individual has no 
additional capital gains or losses and claims a $3,000 capital loss 
carry-over on his 1990 federal income tax return and the balance 
of $2,500 capital loss carry-over on his 1991 federal income tax 
return. The taxpayer would be required to add back the following 
amounts as transitional adjustments: 1989 — $3,000 (a portion of 
the short-term capital loss from 1988); 1990 — $1,500 consisting 
of the $1,000 balance of the 1988 short-term loss and $500 of the 
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1988 long-term loss; 1991 — $1,500 consisting of the remaining 
1988 long-term loss carry-over.

  Example: Generally, for federal income tax purposes for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 1987, to the extent that the total 
deductions from passive activities exceed the total income from 
such activities for the tax year, the excess (passive activity loss) is 
not allowed as a deduction for that year. A disallowed passive loss 
is allowed to be carried forward as a deduction from passive activity 
income in the next succeeding tax year. Generally, losses from passive 
activities may not be deducted from other types of income (e.g. 
wages, interest, or dividends). A passive activity is one that involves 
the conduct of any trade or business in which the taxpayer does not 
materially participate. Any rental activity is a passive activity regardless 
of whether the taxpayer materially participates. Special rules apply to 
rental activities. Under State law, a passive loss carried forward from 
a tax year beginning prior to January 1, 1989, must be added back 
to federal taxable income since the entire loss was deductible on the 
taxpayer’s return for the year the loss was incurred. 

 d. Amounts deducted on an individual’s federal income tax return as 
net operating losses brought forward from tax years beginning prior 
to January 1, 1989, must be added to federal taxable income. For tax 
years prior to January 1, 1989, State law allowed a net economic loss 
to be carried forward to subsequent years but was computed differently 
from the federal net operating loss. Prior State law did not permit the 
loss to be carried back to prior tax years as did federal law. See V.  Net 
Operating Losses for additional information.

  Example: An individual sustains a business loss of $100,000 in 
1988, had no other business income or business expenses for that 
year, and received interest income of $82,000 from City of Raleigh 
bonds during the taxable year. For federal income tax purposes, the 
individual would have sustained a net operating loss of $100,000. If 
the individual had no income in the prior three tax years to offset the 
net operating loss, he could carry the $100,000 loss forward for up to 
15 years and deduct it as a net operating loss on his subsequent federal 
income tax returns. Under prior State law, the individual would have 
incurred a net economic loss of $18,000 (business loss of $100,000 
less nontaxable income of $82,000) that could be carried forward to up 
to five years after reducing it by both taxable and nontaxable income. 
In this situation, the individual must add back the net operating loss 
deduction claimed on his federal income tax return. 

 e. Adjustments must also be made in the taxable income of a shareholder 
of an S corporation. For a discussion of the tax status of distributions 
from S corporations to shareholders in tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 1989, see VII. S Corporations. 

 f. Under the “tax benefit rule,” the recovery of an amount deducted 
or credited in an earlier year is included in federal taxable income 
in the current (recovery) year, except to the extent the earlier year’s 
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deduction or credit did not reduce federal income tax imposed in 
that year. Income attributable to such recovery items which did not 
provide a tax benefit for federal income tax purposes but did provide 
a tax benefit for State purposes for taxable years beginning prior to 
January 1, 1989, must be added to federal taxable income. 

Other additions and deductions to federal taxable income may be 
required to ensure that the transition to the tax changes effective January 
1, 1989, does not result in the double taxation of income, the exemption 
of otherwise taxable income or double allowance of deductions.
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IV.  Subject:  Bailey Settlement

 As a result of the North Carolina Supreme Court’s decision in Bailey 
v. State of North Carolina and the settlement subsequently reached in that 
case, North Carolina may not tax retirement benefits received by a retiree 
(or by a beneficiary of a retiree) from qualifying State, local, or federal 
retirement systems if the retiree was vested in the retirement system as 
of August 12, 1989.  For most government retirement systems, a person 
is vested if the person had five or more years of creditable service in 
a qualifying State, local or federal retirement system as of August 12, 
1989.  For certain retirement systems, the vesting period is less.

1. Qualifying State or Local Retirement System
 The following retirement systems were designated as a North Carolina 

state or local governmental retirement system:

System Law Creating the System 

North Carolina Teachers’ and State Employees’ G.S. 135, Article 1
Retirement System (TSERS)
  
Optional Retirement Program available to G.S. 105-135-5.1
administrators and faculty of the University of North
Carolina system in lieu of TSERS 
 
North Carolina Local Governmental Employees’ G.S. 128, Article 3
Retirement System 
 
North Carolina Consolidated Judicial Retirement G.S. 135, Article 4
System 
 
North Carolina Legislative Retirement System G.S. 120, Article 1A
 
North Carolina Disability Income Plan (both short- G.S. 135, Article 6
term and long-term disability benefits) 
 
North Carolina Supplemental Retirement Income Plan G.S. 135, Article 5 

North Carolina Supplemental Retirement Income Plan G.S. 143-166.30(d)
for State Law Enforcement Officers 
 
North Carolina Deferred Compensation Plan G.S. 143B, Article 9
 
North Carolina National Guard Pension Fund G.S. 127A-40
 
North Carolina Sheriffs’ Supplemental Pension Fund G.S. 143, Article 12H

North Carolina Registers of Deeds’ Supplemental G.S. 161, Article 3
Pension Fund
  
North Carolina Supplemental Retirement Plan for G.S. 143-166.50(e) 
Local Governmental Law Enforcement Officers 
Separate Insurance Benefits Plan for State and Local

Governmental Law Enforcement Officers G.S. 143-166.60
 
North Carolina Firemen’s and Rescue Squad Workers’
Pension Fund G.S. 58, Article 86
 



26

 
 

 No local government optional contribution plans, similar to the State’s 
Supplemental Retirement Income Plan and Deferred Compensation 
Plan, were afforded tax exemption prior to August 12, 1989. Therefore, 
retirement benefits from local government optional contribution plans (such 
as local government 457 plans) are not subject to future tax exemption.
 Teachers and other employees of North Carolina’s public schools 
have the option of contributing to optional contribution plans established 
pursuant to section 403(b) of the Code.  Distributions from these plans 
may not be excluded from taxable income under the settlement.
 The “special separation allowance” paid to retired law enforcement 
officers pursuant to G.S. 143-166.41 and reported on Form W-2 does 
not qualify for exclusion under Bailey.  However, the special separation 
allowance is subject to the $4,000 retirement benefits deduction.

2.   Vesting Period for Qualifying State or Local Retirement Systems
  The general rule is that a participant in a qualifying State or local 

retirement system is vested if the participant had five or more years of 
creditable service as of August 12, 1989.  The general rule does not apply 
to qualifying optional contribution plans, however, or to certain other 
qualifying plans.
 Participants in the State’s Supplemental Retirement Income Plan 
(Internal Revenue Code § 401(k)) or the State’s Deferred Compensation 
Plan (Code § 457) are vested in the plan as of August 12, 1989, if they 
contributed or contracted to contribute to the plan by August 12, 1989.  If 
the participant contributed any money to a plan before August 12, 1989, all 
future withdrawals from that plan are excludable from tax.  Contributions 
to one plan prior to August 12, 1989, do not qualify contributions to the 
other plan as vested.  If a State employee began contributing to the §401(k) 
plan in June 1989, and to the §457 plan in October 1989, the employee is 
vested only in the §401(k) plan.  Participants in the State’s Supplemental 
Retirement Income Plan or the State’s Deferred Compensation Plan may 
have chosen an annuity as an investment option.  In some cases, they receive 
the annuity payments and the subsequent tax information statement from 
the annuity company instead of the plan administrator.  These amounts 
also qualify for future tax exemption if the retiree was vested.  
 Participants in the North Carolina Firemen’s and Rescue Workers’ 

  Charlotte Firefighters’ Retirement System Session Laws 1947, Chapter 926, § 6(c)
 
  Firemen’s Supplemental Fund of Hickory Session Laws 1971, Chapter 65
 
  Winston-Salem Police Officers’ Retirement System Session Laws 1939, Chapter 296

  Separate Insurance Benefits Plan for State and G. S. 143-166.60 
  Local Government Law Enforcement Officers 

  New Hanover County School Employees’ 1979 Session Laws, Chapter 1307
  Retirement Plan
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Pension Plan are vested as of August 12, 1989, only if the individual had 
both five years of service and had paid five years of contributions to the plan 
by August 12, 1989.  Sheriffs receiving benefits from the North Carolina 
Sheriffs’ Supplemental Pension Fund and Registers of Deeds receiving 
benefits from the North Carolina Registers of Deeds’ Supplemental 
Pension Fund are vested as of August 12, 1989, only if the sheriff or the 
register of deeds (not a deputy or assistant) had five years of service as a 
sheriff or a register of deeds and five years of participation in the Local 
Government Employees’ Retirement System (or equivalent local plan) by 
August 12, 1989. 
 An employee in a qualifying State or local government retirement system 
who was vested prior to August 12, 1989, and who leaves employment 
remains vested if the employee later returns to work, provided the employee 
did not withdraw his or her contributions to the retirement system.  If the 
employee withdrew his or her contributions, the employee is no longer 
vested in the retirement system, even if the employee subsequently buys 
back the service time, unless the employee returned to employment in time 
to become vested again before August 12, 1989.

3. Qualifying Federal Retirement Systems
 The following retirement systems were designated as a federal 

governmental retirement system:
•	 Federal Civil Service Retirement System
•	 Federal Employees’ Retirement System
•	 Lighthouse Retirement System
•	 Thrift Savings Plan
•	 Foreign Service Retirement and Disability System and Pension System
•	 Military Retirement System
•	 Coast Guard Retirement System
•	 Central Intelligence Agency Retirement System
•	 Commissioned Corps of the Public Health Service Retirement System
•	 Comptrollers’ General Retirement Plan
•	 Judicial Plans & Pay for Federal Judges Treated as Retirement Pay by Federal Law, including:

- Judicial Retirement System
- Judicial Survivors’ Annuities System
- Court of Federal Claims Judges’ Retirement System
- Court of Veterans Appeals Judges’ Retirement Plan
- Judicial Officers’ Retirement System (for Bankruptcy Judges and Magistrates)
- United States Tax Court Retirement Plan
- United States Tax Court Survivors’ Annuity Plan
- Retirement Plans for District Court Judges for the Northern Mariana Islands,   
 the Virgin Islands, and Guam
- Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces Judges Retirement System

•	 National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Retirement System
•	 Tennessee Valley Authority Retirement System and TVA Savings and Deferral   
 Retirement Plan
•	 Financial Institutions Retirement Fund (Office of Thrift Supervision Employees)
•	 Federal Home Loan Bank Board Retirement Systems
•	 Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation Plan
•	 Federal Reserve Employees Retirement Plans and Thrift Plan
•	 Nonappropriated fund plans, including:

- Retirement Annuity Plan for Employees of Army and Air Force Exchange Service
- Supplemental Deferred Compensation Plan for Members of the    
 Executive Management Program (Army and Air Force Exchange Service)
- Nonappropriated Fund Retirement Plan for Civilian Employees
- United States Army Nonappropriated Fund Retirement Plan
- Retirement Plan for Civilian Employees of United States Marine Corps Morale,   
 Welfare, and Recreation Activities and Miscellaneous Nonappropriated Fund 
 Instrumentalities
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- Navy Exchange Service Command Retirement Plan
- Navy Nonappropriated Fund Retirement Plan for Employees of Civilian Morale,  
 Welfare, and Recreation Activities
- Norfolk Naval Shipyard Pension Plan
- Retirement Savings Plan and Trust for Employees of the Army and Air Force   
 Exchange Service
- Coast Guard Nonappropriated Fund Retirement Plan

•	 District of Columbia Police Officers and Fire Fighters’ Retirement Fund and   
 Related Funds (including payments to Secret Service and U.S. Park Police   
 covered by the Fund)
•	 District of Columbia Teachers’ Retirement Fund and Related Funds
•	 District of Columbia Judges’ Retirement Fund and Related Funds
•	 Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences Plan
•	 Smithsonian Institution Defined Contribution Retirement Plan
•	 USDA Graduate School Plan

4.    Vesting Period for Qualifying Federal Retirement Systems 
 Generally, participants in the qualifying federal retirement systems listed 

above, including military retirees, are vested for purposes of the settlement 
if they had five or more years of creditable service as of August 12, 1989.  
The general rule, however, does not apply to the Thrift Savings Plan.
 The Thrift Savings Plan has both an employee and an employer 
component.  The employee component is similar to the State’s § 401(k) and 
§ 457 plans and allows the employee to voluntarily contribute to the Plan.  
The employee is vested in the employee component if the employee first 
made a contribution to the plan prior to August 12, 1989.  The employer 
component includes both contributions by the employer of a fixed 
percentage of the employee’s salary and contributions by the employer 
that match the employee’s voluntary contributions.  The employee is also 
vested in the employer matching contributions if the employer first made 
a matching contribution prior to August 12, 1989.  An employee is vested 
in the employer fixed component only if the employee had three years of 
service (two years of service for certain highly ranked employees) as of 
August 12, 1989.  One exception to the three-year rule is that an employee 
who died prior to completing the mandatory three years is still considered 
vested if the date of death was on or before August 12, 1989.  
 As explained above, it is possible for a participant in the Federal Thrift 
Savings Plan to be vested as of August 12, 1989, in some components of 
the plan while at the same time not being vested in other components.  
The annual tax information statement (Form 1099-R) does not distinguish 
between the various components when reporting the amount distributed 
during the year; therefore, the recipient cannot readily determine the amount 
to exclude from North Carolina income tax.  When a participant in the plan 
ceases employment, the recipient is provided a Form TSP-8, Thrift Savings 
Plan Participant Statement, that identifies the cash balances in the various 
components.  To determine the proper amount to exclude, the recipient 
should multiply the annual distribution by a fraction, the numerator of 
which is the balance of the components in which the recipient is vested 
as of August 12, 1989.  The denominator of the fraction is the total cash 
balance of all components.  That same fraction will be used for each year 
the recipient receives distributions from the plan.
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5. Rollover Distributions with Respect to Bailey Retirement Plans 
   The Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001 made 
numerous changes with respect of pension portability.  Beginning in 2002, 
distributions from most types of retirement plans may be rolled over into 
another retirement plan or into an IRA. Because rollover distributions 
lose their character upon rollover, all distributions from a qualifying 
Bailey retirement account in which the employee/retiree was “vested” 
as of August 12, 1989, are exempt from State income tax regardless of 
the source of the funds contained in the account.  Conversely, qualifying 
tax-exempt Bailey benefits rolled over into another retirement plan lose 
their character and would not be exempt upon distribution from the other 
plan unless that plan is a qualifying Bailey retirement account in which 
the employee was vested as of August 12, 1989.  (Rollovers to IRAs will 
always result in a loss of tax-exempt status since IRAs do not qualify 
under the Bailey settlement.)

6.	 Benefits	from	Other	Retirement	Plans
 Retirees receiving benefits from government retirement plans of 

other states or territories were not class members in Bailey and are not 
entitled to recovery of taxes paid in earlier years or to tax exemption 
in future years, except for the $4,000 deduction provided by G.S. 105-
134.6(b)(6).  Private retirement benefits remain taxable except for the 
$2,000 deduction.
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V.  Subject:  Net Operating Losses (G.S. 105-134.7)

Prior to 1989, North Carolina law provided a measure of relief to 
individual income taxpayers who incurred economic misfortune by 
allowing losses qualifying as net economic losses as defined by G.S. 
105-147(9)(d)(2) to be carried forward and deducted from future gross 
income. With the adoption of federal taxable income as the starting point 
in determining North Carolina taxable income in 1989, net operating 
losses were recognized for State individual income tax purposes. The 
primary differences between net operating losses and net economic losses 
are (1) nontaxable income is used to reduce the amount of a net economic 
loss but is not used to reduce the amount of net operating loss, and (2) net 
economic losses can only be carried forward while net operating losses 
can be carried back and/or forward.

1. Determining Net Operating Losses
Since federal taxable income is the starting point for determining North 

Carolina taxable income, the amount of net operating loss determined 
for federal income tax purposes is also the net operating loss for State 
income tax purposes. Although adjustments to federal taxable income 
may be required which cause North Carolina taxable income to be 
different than federal taxable income in the year the loss is incurred, the 
law does not require or permit a separate calculation of a net operating 
loss for State purposes. The amount of net operating loss is the same for 
State and federal purposes. However, a nonresident or part-year resident 
must make an additional calculation to determine the portion of the total 
net operating loss that is from North Carolina sources.

2. Net Operating Loss Carryovers
 a. Since federal taxable income is the starting point for determining 

North Carolina taxable income, the amount of net operating loss 
carried over and absorbed for federal purposes is the same amount 
carried over and deducted for State purposes.  “Absorbed” means 
the amount of net operating loss carried to a year less the amount 
of net operating loss carried forward from that year. If, in the year 
to which the loss is carried, adjustments are required to the State 
return which result in the taxpayer not receiving full benefit of the 
carryover, no additional carryover of the portion of the loss not 
resulting in a benefit is permitted.

 b. For any year in which a net operating loss is carried over but not 
completely absorbed for federal purposes, an addition to federal 
taxable income is required on the State return for the amount of 
net operating loss carried forward from that year.

Example: A taxpayer incurs a net operating loss of $75,000 
in 2009.  The taxpayer amends his 2007 federal return to 
carry back the net operating loss and deducts the entire loss 
in arriving at federal taxable income.  Only $50,000 of the 
loss is absorbed and $25,000 is carried forward to the 2008 
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federal return.  To determine North Carolina taxable income, 
the taxpayer must make an addition to federal taxable income, 
as amended, of $25,000 on his amended 2007 State return.

 c. Because North Carolina did not recognize net operating losses before 
1989, a taxpayer may not carry forward a loss incurred prior to 1989. 
G.S. 105-134.7(a)(6) requires an addition to federal taxable income 
for the amount of net operating loss carried forward from a tax year 
prior to 1989 and deducted in arriving at federal taxable income.

3. Effect of Residency Status on Net Operating Losses
As stated earlier, the amount of net operating loss carried over and 

absorbed for federal tax purposes is also the amount carried over and 
deducted for State tax purposes. If the taxpayer is a nonresident or a part-
year resident in the year the net operating loss is incurred and a resident in 
the year to which the loss is carried, the taxpayer receives the full benefit 
of the deduction, regardless of whether the net operating loss resulted 
from North Carolina source activities. If the taxpayer is a resident in 
the year the net operating loss is incurred and a nonresident or part-year 
resident in the year to which the loss is carried, the taxpayer may subtract 
the entire portion of the net operating loss carried over and absorbed for 
federal purposes that year from North Carolina source income in the 
numerator of the fraction used to calculate North Carolina taxable income 
for nonresidents and part-year residents. If the taxpayer is a nonresident 
or a part-year resident in both the year the net operating loss is incurred 
and the year to which the loss is carried, the taxpayer must determine the 
portion of the net operating loss that was from North Carolina sources. 
The numerator of the fraction is reduced by the attributable portion of the 
North Carolina source net operating loss while the denominator is reduced 
by the portion of the total net operating loss carried over and absorbed in 
that year for federal purposes.
  Example: A nonresident taxpayer incurs a net operating loss of 

$10,000 in 2009, $7,000 of which is from North Carolina sources. 
The portion of the net operating loss that is from North Carolina 
sources is .70 ($7,000 divided by $10,000). If the taxpayer carries 
the loss back to  2007 and deducts $4,000 in that year, the portion of 
that loss deemed to be from North Carolina sources and subtracted in 
determining the numerator of the fraction is $2,800 ($4,000 multiplied 
by .70). The denominator is reduced by the entire $4,000.

The North Carolina source net operating loss is apportioned to all years 
to which the total net operating loss is carried even if the taxpayer has 
no other North Carolina source income in those years to which the net 
operating loss may be applied.

4. Claiming a Net Operating Loss
 a. Carrying back a net operating loss. – For federal tax purposes, a 

taxpayer carrying back a net operating loss may use Federal Form 
1040X or, if a refund is due, Federal Form 1045.  North Carolina 
does not have a form similar to Federal Form 1045; therefore, the 
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taxpayer must use Form D-400X to carry back the loss.  A copy of 
Federal Form 1045, including Schedule A, must be provided for 
each year to which the loss is carried back.  For any year in which 
the loss is carried back but not completely absorbed, a copy of 
Schedule B of Federal Form 1045 must also be provided.  In lieu of 
Federal Form 1045, a worksheet containing the same information 
as Federal Form 1045 is acceptable.

 b. Carrying a net operating loss forward. – For federal tax purposes, 
a taxpayer carrying  a net operating loss forward reports the loss 
as “Other Income” on the federal return.  A copy of Federal Form 
1045, Schedule A, or similar worksheet identifying the year in 
which the net operating loss was incurred and showing how the 
net operating loss was calculated must be attached to each State 
return to which the loss is carried forward.  For any year in which 
the loss is carried forward but not completely absorbed, a copy of 
the Worksheet for NOL Carryover included in Federal Publication 
536 or a similar worksheet must also be provided.

 c. Nonresidents and part-year residents. – A taxpayer who is a 
nonresident or part-year resident in the year to which a net 
operating loss is carried over must include a schedule showing the 
calculation of the amount subtracted in arriving at the numerator 
of the fraction used to determine North Carolina taxable income.

5. Statute of Limitations
For both State and federal tax purposes, the period of time in which 

a taxpayer may claim a refund resulting from the carryback of a net 
operating loss is extended beyond the general period of limitations for 
claiming a refund. The period of time for claiming a refund from the 
carryback of a net operating loss expires three years after the date the 
return is due, including extensions, for the year in which the loss is 
incurred, not the year to which the loss is carried. For example, a calendar 
year taxpayer who incurs a net operating loss in tax year 2009 and files 
the 2009 return by April 15, 2010, has until April 15, 2013 to file a claim 
for refund of taxes paid for the tax year 2007 because of the carryback 
of the net operating loss.

6. Calculation of Interest on Overpayments
Interest accrues on an overpayment of individual income tax from a 

date 45 days after the latest of the following dates: (1) the date the final 
return is filed; (2) the original due date of the return; or (3) the date of 
the overpayment, until the refund is paid. An overpayment resulting from 
the carryback of a net operating loss is considered to have occurred on 
the date the income tax return for the year in which the loss was incurred 
is filed or due to be filed, whichever is the later. Therefore, no interest 
accrues on the overpayment if refunded within 45 days of the date the 
tax return for the loss year is filed.
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VI.  Subject:  Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents 
(G.S. 105-134.5(b)(c)(d))

1.	 Definition	of	Resident
G.S. 105-134.1(12) defines a resident as “an individual who is 

domiciled in this State at any time during the taxable year or who 
resides in this State during the taxable year for other than a temporary 
or transitory purpose.”

Domicile is the place where an individual has a true, fixed permanent 
home and principal establishment, and to which place, whenever he is 
absent, he has the intention of returning. There are other definitions of 
domicile, and this definition is presented solely to be used as a guide in 
determining residency.

If an individual lives in North Carolina for more than 183 days of a 
tax year, he is presumed to be a resident for income tax purposes in the 
absence of factual proof to the contrary; but the absence of an individual 
from the State for more than 183 days raises no presumption that he is 
not a resident. 

In many cases, a determination must be made as to when or whether 
a domicile has been abandoned. A long standing principle in tax 
administration, repeatedly upheld by the courts, is that an individual can 
have but one domicile; and, once established, it is not legally abandoned 
until a new one is established. A taxpayer may have several places of 
abode in a year, but at no time can an individual have more than one 
domicile. A mere intent or desire to make a change in domicile is not 
enough; voluntary and positive action must be taken.

Listed below are some of the tests or factors to be considered in 
determining the legal residence of an individual for income tax purposes.  
Some factors are more important than others, and fulfilling a few does not 
necessarily mean a change in domicile has occurred.  As implied by the 
list of factors below, an individual’s legal state of residence is reflected 
more by the routine events of life rather than events such as voting or 
obtaining a driver’s license which may occur every four or five years.
   a.   Place of birth of the taxpayer, the taxpayer’s spouse, and the  

 taxpayer’s children.
b. Permanent residence of the taxpayer’s parents.
c. Family connections and close friends.
d. Address used for federal tax returns, military purposes, 

passports, driver’s license, vehicle registrations, insurance 
policies, professional licenses or certificates, subscriptions for 
newspapers, magazines, and other publications, and monthly 
statements for credit cards, utilities, bank accounts, loans, 
insurance, or any other bill or item that requires a response. 

e. Civic ties, such as church membership, club membership, or 
lodge membership.
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f. Professional ties, such as licensure by a licensing agency or 
membership in a business association.

g. Payment of state income taxes.
h. Place of employment or, if self-employed, place where 

business is conducted.
i. Location of healthcare providers, such as doctors, dentists, 

veterinarians, and pharmacists.
j. Voter registration and ballots cast, whether in person or by 

absentee ballot.
k. Occasional visits or spending one’s leave “at home” if a 

member of the armed services.
l. Ownership of a home, insuring a home as a primary residence, 

or deferring gain on the sale of a home as a primary residence.
m. Location of pets.
n. Attendance of the taxpayer or the taxpayer’s children at State 

supported colleges or universities on a basis of residence–
taking advantage of lower tuition fees.

o. Location of activities for everyday “hometown” living, such 
as grocery shopping, haircuts, video rentals, dry cleaning, 
fueling vehicles, and automated banking transactions.

p. Utility usage, including electricity, gas, telecommunications, 
and cable television.

Listed below are some of the events indicating when residency may 
have changed:
 1. Selling a house and buying a new one.
 2. Directing U.S. Postal Service to forward mail to a new address.
 3. Transferring  family medical records to a new health care 

provider.
 4. Notifying senders of statements, bills, subscriptions, and similar 

items of new address.
 5. Registering a vehicle in a new jurisdiction.
 6. Transferring memberships for church, health club, lodge, or similar 

activity.
 7. Applying for professional certifications in a jurisdiction.

A legal resident of North Carolina serving in the United States Armed 
Forces is liable for North Carolina income tax and North Carolina income 
tax should be withheld from his military pay whether he is stationed in 
this State or in some other state or country.

An individual who enters military service while a resident of North 
Carolina is presumed to be a resident of this State for income tax purposes. 
Residency in this State is not abandoned until a definite residence is 
established elsewhere.

To change residency, the serviceman must not only be present in the 
new location with the intention of making it his domicile, but must also 
factually establish that he has done so.
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2. Nonresidents
The term “nonresident” includes an individual:

 a. Who resides in North Carolina for a temporary or transitory purpose 
and is, in fact, a domiciliary resident of another state or country; 
or

 b. Who does not reside in North Carolina but has income from sources 
within North Carolina and is, in fact, a domiciliary resident of 
another state or country.

   Under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, a member of the Armed  
Services who is a legal resident of another state stationed in North Carolina 
by virtue of military orders, is not subject to North Carolina income tax 
on service pay but other income from employment, a business, or tangible 
property in North Carolina is subject to North Carolina income tax.
    Military Spouses.  The Military Spouses Residency Relief Act of 2009 
amended the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act to provide that a spouse 
shall neither lose nor acquire domicile or residence in a state when the 
spouse is present in the state solely to be with the servicemember in 
compliance with the servicemember’s military orders if the residence or 
domicile is the same for both the servicemember and the spouse. 
  Therefore, effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2009, the income earned for services performed in North Carolina by 
a spouse of a servicemember who is legally domiciled in a state other 
than North Carolina is not subject to North Carolina income tax if (1) the 
servicemember is present in North Carolina solely in compliance with 
military orders; (2) the spouse is in North Carolina solely to be with the 
servicemember; and (3) the spouse is domiciled in the same state as the 
servicemember.  All three of the conditions must be met to qualify for 
the exemption.
    There is no presumption as to the residence of a spouse of a member of 
the armed forces because of marriage. Legal residence will be determined 
based on the facts in each case.

3. Part-Year Residents
An individual who moves his domicile (legal residence) into or out of 

North Carolina during the tax year, is a part-year resident.

4. Taxable Income of Nonresidents and Part-Year Residents
Nonresidents and part-year residents are required to prorate their federal 

taxable income to determine the portion that is subject to North Carolina 
tax.

The taxable income of a nonresident subject to North Carolina income 
tax is determined by multiplying federal taxable income as calculated 
under the Internal Revenue Code, as adjusted, by the percentage obtained 
when dividing the portion of total federal gross income, as adjusted, 
derived from North Carolina sources, by the total federal gross income, 
as adjusted.
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The taxable income of a part-year resident subject to North Carolina tax 
is determined by multiplying the total federal taxable income as calculated 
under the Internal Revenue Code, as adjusted, by the percentage obtained 
when dividing the portion of total federal gross income received from all 
sources during the period the individual was a resident of North Carolina, 
plus any gross income received from North Carolina sources while a 
nonresident, by the total federal gross income, as adjusted.

A husband and wife who file a joint federal income tax return may file 
a joint State return even if one spouse is a nonresident and had no North 
Carolina income.  However, the spouse required to file a North Carolina 
return has the option of filing the State return as married filing separately.  
If an individual chooses to file a separate North Carolina return, they must 
complete either a federal return as married filing separately reporting 
only their income, deductions, and exemptions, or a schedule showing 
the computation of their separate federal taxable income and attach it 
to their North Carolina return.  In addition, a copy of the complete joint 
federal return must be included unless the federal return reflects a North 
Carolina address.

If an individual has income from sources within another state or country 
while a resident of North Carolina and the other state or country taxes 
the individual on such income, the individual may be eligible to claim a 
tax credit on the North Carolina income tax return.

A nonresident is not entitled to the tax credit for tax paid to another 
state or country.

5. Nonresident Members of Professional Athletic Teams
The North Carolina source income of a nonresident individual who is 

a member of a professional athletic team is determined by multiplying 
the individual’s total compensation for services rendered as a member 
of a professional athletic team during the taxable year by a fraction, the 
numerator of which is the number of duty days spent in North Carolina 
rendering services for the team in any manner during the taxable year. 
The denominator is the total number of duty days spent both within and 
without North Carolina during the taxable year.

Travel days that do not involve either a game, practice, team meeting, 
promotional caravan or other similar team event are not considered duty 
days spent in North Carolina. However, such travel days are considered 
duty days spent within and without North Carolina.

In determining the North Carolina source income of a nonresident 
member of a professional athletic team, the following definitions apply:
 a. The term “professional athletic team” includes, but is not limited 

to, any professional baseball, basketball, football, soccer or hockey 
team.

 b. The term “member of a professional athletic team” includes those 
employees who are active players, players on the disabled list and 
any other persons required to travel and who do travel with and 
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perform services on behalf of a professional athletic team on a 
regular basis. This includes, but is not limited to, coaches, managers 
and trainers.

 c. The term “duty days” means all days during the taxable year from 
the beginning of the professional athletic team’s official preseason 
training period through the last game in which the team competes 
or is scheduled to compete.

  Duty days also include days on which a member of a professional 
athletic team renders a service for a team on a date which 
does not fall within the aforementioned period. Such services 
include participation in instructional leagues, the “Pro Bowl” or 
promotional caravans. This includes days during the member’s 
off-season where the member conducts training activities at the 
facilities of the team.

  Duty days include game days, practice days, days spent at team 
meetings, promotional caravans and preseason training camps, and 
days served with the team through all post-season games in which 
the team competes or is scheduled to compete.

  Duty days for any person who joins a team during the season begins 
on the day the person joins the team, and for any person who leaves 
a team ends on the day the person leaves the team. Where a person 
switches teams during the taxable year, a separate duty day calculation 
will be made for the period the person was with each team.

  Days for which a member of a professional athletic team is not 
compensated and is not rendering services for the team in any 
manner, including days when the person has been suspended 
without pay and prohibited from performing any services for the 
team, are not treated as duty days.

  Days for which a player is on the disabled list are presumed not 
to be duty days spent in North Carolina. However, such days are 
considered to be included in total duty days spent within and 
without North Carolina.

 d. The term “total compensation for services rendered as a member 
of a professional athletic team” means the total compensation 
received during the taxable year for services rendered:

 (1) from the beginning of the official preseason training period 
through the last game in which the team competes or is 
scheduled to compete during that taxable year; and

 (2) for an event during the taxable year which occurs on a date 
which does not fall within the aforementioned period such 
as participation in instructional leagues, the “Pro Bowl” or 
promotional “caravans.”

  Such compensation includes, but is not limited to, salaries, wages, 
bonuses, and any other type of compensation paid during the taxable 
year for services performed in that year. Such compensation does not 
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include strike benefits, severance pay, termination pay, contract or 
option year buy-out payments, expansion or relocation payments, or 
any other payments not related to services rendered to the team.

 e. “Bonuses” are included in “total compensation for services 
rendered as a member of a professional athletic team” and subject 
to allocation if they are:

 (1) earned as a result of play, such as performance bonuses, 
during the season, including bonuses paid for championship, 
playoff or “bowl” games played by a team, or for selection 
to all-star league or other honorary positions; and

 (2) paid for signing a contract, unless all of the following 
conditions are met:

 a. the payment of the signing bonus is not conditional upon 
the signee playing any games for the team, or performing 
any subsequent services for the team, or even making the 
team;

 b. the signing bonus is payable separately from the salary 
and any other compensation; and

 c. the signing bonus in nonrefundable.
Where the method for determining North Carolina source income 

does not fairly and equitably apportion and allocate the compensation 
of a nonresident member of a professional athletic team for services 
rendered in North Carolina, the Secretary of Revenue may require the 
person to apportion and allocate the compensation under another method 
prescribed by the Secretary as long as the prescribed method results in a 
fair and equitable apportionment and allocation. A nonresident member 
of a professional athletic team may submit a proposal for an alternative 
method to apportion and allocate the compensation, demonstrating that 
the method provided under this section does not fairly and equitably 
apportion and allocate the compensation. If approved, the proposed 
method must be fully explained in the North Carolina income tax return 
filed by the nonresident member.

See page 99 for the withholding requirements of professional athletic 
teams.
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VII.  Subject:  S Corporations (G.S. 105-131 - G.S. 105-131.8)

1. Reporting Income _ In General
An individual shareholder of an S corporation is required to take into 

account his pro rata share of an S corporation’s net income in the manner 
provided under Section 1366 of the Internal Revenue Code subject to 
certain adjustments.

2. Resident Shareholders
Since 100 percent of the S corporation’s income is included in the 

federal taxable income starting point, no adjustment because of doing 
business outside of North Carolina is required by a resident.

3. Nonresident Shareholders
A nonresident shareholder of an S corporation takes into account only 

his share of the S corporation’s income attributable to North Carolina 
in the numerator of the fraction in determining that portion of federal 
taxable income that is taxable to North Carolina. If an S corporation 
does business in North Carolina and one or more other states, the income 
attributable to North Carolina is determined by the same apportionment 
formula as used for other corporations.

All nonresident shareholders must include an agreement with the 
first S corporation return filed with North Carolina agreeing to be liable 
and subject to the laws of North Carolina for individual income tax 
purposes; otherwise, the S corporation becomes liable for the tax on 
the income attributable to such nonresident shareholders at the rate for 
single individuals.

A nonresident shareholder in an S corporation may claim the 
proportionate share of the tax paid on his behalf by the S corporation to 
North Carolina on his share of the S corporation income.

4. Tax Credits
If part of the S corporation’s income is earned within and taxed by 

another state or country, either to the individual or to the corporation, a 
resident shareholder is entitled to a tax credit on his individual income 
tax return for his share of the tax paid to the other state or country. A 
shareholder claiming the tax credit must attach a schedule to his income 
tax return reflecting the total amount of tax paid to the other state or 
country by the S corporation, and explaining how his pro rata share of the 
tax was determined. A separate tax credit must be calculated for each state 
or country to which the S corporation paid tax. Nonresident shareholders 
are not allowed credit for tax paid to another state or country.

A shareholder is subject to adjustments under G.S. 105-134.6 rather than 
being subject to both individual and corporate income tax adjustments, 
regardless of the shareholder’s residency status or whether the income 
is attributable to North Carolina. 
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5. Basis in Stock
Due to different tax treatment of an S corporation’s income for State 

and federal purposes for taxable years beginning before January 1, 1989, 
a shareholder’s basis in the stock of an S corporation for State tax purposes 
may be different than for federal tax purposes; thereby requiring transitional 
adjustments in determining North Carolina taxable income upon receipt by 
the shareholder of distributions from the S corporation and upon disposition 
of the S corporation stock.

The initial basis of the stock in an S corporation to a nonresident of North 
Carolina is zero, and the nonresident shareholder is not taxed on distributions 
from the corporation and recognizes no income or loss upon disposition of 
the stock. A nonresident shareholder’s basis in the S corporation stock is 
adjusted for his pro rata share of the income or loss of the corporation.

A resident shareholder’s initial basis in the stock of an S corporation is 
determined as of the later of the date the stock is acquired, the effective 
date of the S corporation election, or the date the shareholder became a 
resident of North Carolina. A resident shareholder’s basis in the stock 
is increased by his pro rata share of the corporation’s income adjusted 
pursuant to G.S. 105-131.2 except for income exempt from federal or State 
income taxes and deductions for depletion in excess of the basis of the 
property being depleted. The basis is decreased by distributions to the extent 
deemed a return of basis; a pro rata share of the losses of the corporation 
as adjusted; nondeductible expenses of the corporation; and the amount of 
the shareholder’s deduction for depletion of oil and gas wells to the extent 
the deduction does not exceed the proportionate share of the adjusted basis 
of that property allocated to the shareholder. The adjustments to the basis 
do not apply to tax periods beginning prior to January 1, 1989.

The aggregate amount of losses taken into account by the shareholder 
of an S corporation may not exceed the combined adjusted basis of the 
shareholder’s stock and indebtedness of the corporation to the shareholder.

Example:
  A is a resident of North Carolina and his share of the loss of an S 

corporation for the tax year 1989 is $50,000. On January 1, 1989, 
A’s basis in the S corporation stock for federal income tax purposes 
was $110,000, comprised of $40,000 initial cost plus his share of the 
undistributed income of the S corporation of $70,000. Since for 
federal tax purposes the loss does not exceed his basis, the $50,000 
is allowed as a deduction in computing federal taxable income. For 
State tax purposes, his basis is the $40,000 initial cost since the 
prior year undistributed income is not included in his basis due to 
being for tax years prior to January 1, 1989. Therefore, the loss that 
A may take into account in determining his North Carolina taxable 
income is $40,000 and he is required to adjust federal taxable 
income by $10,000 ($50,000 total loss less $40,000 basis).
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6. Distributions
 A resident shareholder must take into account distributions from an S 
corporation in computing North Carolina taxable income to the extent 
the distributions are characterized as dividends or as gains pursuant to 
Section 1368 of the Internal Revenue Code. Section 1368 of the Code 
provides that if the S corporation has no accumulated earnings and profits, 
the amount distributed to a shareholder reduces the adjusted basis in 
his stock. If the distribution exceeds his basis, the excess is treated as a 
capital gain. If the S corporation has earnings and profits, the distribution 
is applied in the following order:
 (1) To the Accumulated Adjustments Account (AAA) which basically 

includes the income during the period the corporation has been an 
S corporation reduced by its losses and distributions during that 
period. The AAA for State income tax purposes does not include 
the federal AAA for tax years beginning prior to January 1, 1989. 
The shareholder does not take into account distributions from the 
AAA in determining taxable income but such distributions reduce 
the adjusted basis of his stock.

 (2) To Earnings and Profits (E and P): An S corporation is not considered 
to have earnings and profits for State tax purposes for years in 
which it operates as an S corporation after January 1, 1989. The E 
and P account basically includes the earnings and profits on hand 
from the period the corporation was a C corporation; and for State 
tax purposes, the E and P account also includes the undistributed 
earnings and profits of the S corporation from tax years beginning 
before January 1, 1989, (the federal AAA that existed on the day 
North Carolina began to measure the S corporation shareholder’s 
income by reference to the income of the S corporation). The amount 
distributed to the shareholder from the E and P account is taxed to the 
shareholder as a dividend. Since the State E and P account includes 
the federal AAA that existed prior to the change in State law taxing 
the S corporation income to the shareholders, federal taxable income 
must be increased for any distributions from the federal AAA that 
existed prior to the law change.

 (3) To the basis of the shareholder’s stock. Any excess over the 
shareholder’s basis is taxed as a capital gain.

A shareholder who makes an election for federal tax purposes to treat 
distributions from the S corporation as being paid first from earnings and 
profits may not make a different election for State purposes.

The following examples illustrate transitional adjustments required 
in determining North Carolina taxable income of a shareholder from 
distributions of S corporations:
 (1) A North Carolina corporation chartered on January 1, 1986, elected 

to be taxed as an S corporation for federal income tax purposes. 
Taxpayer A invested $100,000 in the corporation; and at the end 
of the tax year 1988, A’s pro rata share of the S corporation’s 
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accumulated adjustments account for federal income tax purposes 
was $50,000. A’s pro rata share of the S corporation’s net income 
for the tax year 1989 was $20,000. The S corporation distributed 
$100,000 to A during the tax year 1989. In this case, A would 
include his $20,000 share of the S corporation’s net income in his 
federal taxable income. For federal income tax purposes, A would 
not be taxed on any part of the $100,000 distribution since it is 
considered to have been paid from his accumulated adjustments 
account and reduces the basis of his stock.

  Original investment .....................................................$ 100,000
  Accumulated adjustments account at the end of 1989
      ($50,000  plus $20,000) ..........................................   70,000
  Adjusted basis of stock at end of year ........................$ 170,000
  Less: Distribution ........................................................ 100,000
  Adjusted basis of stock as of January 1, 1990 ............$ 70,000

For State income tax purposes, the $50,000 accumulated adjustments 
account balance on December 31, 1988, is treated as additional earnings 
and profits and A’s federal taxable income must be increased for any part 
of the distribution attributable to earnings and profits in determining North 
Carolina taxable income. The amount is determined as follows:
 Investment in the corporation....................................  $ 100,000
 Pro rata share of 1989 earnings — 

accumulated adjustments account ..........................   20,000
 Adjusted basis in stock at end of tax year .................  $ 120,000
 Distributions ..............................................  $ 100,000
 Applied to accumulated adjustments  

account ...................................................   (20,000 ) (20,000)
 Balance of distribution ..............................  $ 80,000
 Earnings and profits ..................................   (50,000 )
 Balance of distribution ..............................  $ 30,000  (30,000)
 Basis in stock as of January 1, 1990 .........................  $ 70,000

The $50,000 from earnings and profits is a transitional adjustment and 
represents a dividend to the shareholder. 
 (2) Shareholders of a North Carolina C corporation elect to be taxed 

as an S corporation effective for the tax year beginning January 
1, 1989. Taxpayer B, a resident of North Carolina, owned 4,000 
shares of the corporate stock with a basis of $500,000 at the time of 
the election. At that time, B’s pro rata share of the C corporation’s 
undistributed earnings and profits was $800,000. During the tax 
year 1989, his pro rata share of the S corporation’s earnings was 
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$50,000 and the corporation distributed $1,000,000 to B in 1989. 
In this case, B would include in federal taxable income his $50,000 
pro rata share of the S corporation’s net income and dividends of 
$800,000 representing his share of the undistributed earnings and 
profits accumulated during the period the corporation operated as 
a C corporation. His basis in the corporate stock for federal tax 
purposes would be reduced to $350,000 determined as follows:

 
 Cost of stock ..............................................................       $500,000
 1989 earnings — added to accumulated 

adjustments account ...............................................   50,000
 Basis before deductions.............................................  $ 550,000
 Distributions ......................................... $ 1,000,000
 Applied to accumulated adjustments  

account ..............................................  (50,000 ) (50,000)
 Balance  ................................................ $ 950,000
 Applied to earnings and profits ............  (800,000 )
 Balance of distribution ......................... $ 150,000  (150,000)
 Basis in stock as adjusted as 

of January 1, 1990 ..................................................  $350,000

No adjustment would be necessary in determining North Carolina 
taxable income since the State and federal accumulated adjustment 
account and the accumulated earnings and profit account are the same. 
 (3) Shareholders of a North Carolina C corporation elected to be 

taxed as an S corporation for federal income tax purposes effective 
January 1, 1986. At that time, taxpayer X owned 200 shares of 
the stock with a cost basis of $50,000. X’s pro rata share of the C 
corporation’s undistributed earnings and profits on January 1, 1986, 
was $20,000. His pro rata share of the earnings of the S corporation 
was $10,000; $5,000; ($10,000); and $15,000, respectively, for the 
tax years 1986, 1987, 1988 and 1989. No distributions were made to 
X in the tax years 1986 and 1988. Distributions were made to X of 
$10,000 in 1987 and $35,000 in 1989. In this case, X must include 
his pro rata share of the 1989 earnings of $15,000 in his 1989 
federal taxable income. The part of the $35,000 distribution that 
is included in federal taxable income as a dividend is determined 
as follows:
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 Distributions in 1989 ..................................................  $ 35,000
 Accumulated adjustments account — 

1986 share of income .............................  $ 10,000
  1987 share of income .............................   5,000 
  1987 distribution ....................................   (10,000 )
  1988 share of income (loss) ...................   (10,000 )
  Balance as of 12/31/88 ...........................   (  5,000 )
  1989 share of income .............................    15,000 
  Total .......................................................................    10,000
 Balance of distribution ..............................................   $ 25,000
 Applied to undistributed earnings while a  

C corporation (dividend) ........................................    20,000
 Excess distribution applied to reduce basis ...............   $ 5,000

For federal tax purposes, X must include the $20,000 distribution 
of earnings and profits in his federal taxable income as dividends. The 
adjustment required in computing his North Carolina taxable income is 
determined as follows:
 Distributions in 1989 .................................................   $ 35,000
 Applied to accumulated adjustments account — 

(1989 share of income) ..........................................    15,000
 Balance of distribution ..............................................   $ 20,000
 Undistributed earnings and profits:
 Balance January 1, 1986 ...........................  $ 20,000
 Federal accumulated adjustments 

account as of December 31, 1988 ..........     (5,000 )
 Earnings and profits as adjusted  

for State tax purposes (treated 
as dividend) ............................................     15,000   (15,000)

 Excess distribution applied to  
reduce basis ............................................................   $ 5,000

X would be entitled to deduct $5,000 ($20,000 less $15,000) from 
his federal taxable income as a transitional adjustment in computing his 
North Carolina taxable income. 

7. Losses
The amount of loss a shareholder may deduct is limited to the adjusted 

basis of the shareholder’s stock, plus the adjusted basis of any loans 
owed to the shareholder by the corporation. The amount of the loss for 
the taxable period is figured before the shareholder’s basis in the stock 
is adjusted for any distributions during the tax year. If the amount of the 
loss of a shareholder is limited because it exceeds the adjusted basis, the 
excess is treated as incurred by the corporation in the next tax year.
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8. Foreign S Corporations
North Carolina income tax is required to be withheld from compensation 

paid to foreign S corporations for certain personal services performed 
in North Carolina. (See XVI.  Withholding From Nonresidents for 
Certain Personal Services.) If the S corporation has obtained a certificate 
of authority from the Secretary of State, no tax is required to be withheld 
if the S corporation provides to the payer the S corporation’s corporate 
identification number issued by the Secretary of State.

S Corporations may claim credit on the S corporation franchise and 
income tax return, Form CD-401S, for the portion of the tax withheld 
attributable to shareholders on whose behalf the corporation files 
a composite return. The portion of the tax withheld attributable to 
shareholders who are not part of a composite return must be allocated to 
those shareholders on Schedule K of the S corporation return.
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VIII.  Subject: Estates and Trusts (G.S. 105-160 - G.S. 105-160.8)

1. General
All income of an estate or trust is taxed to the fiduciary or the beneficiary. 

The conduit rules for taxing estates and trusts are applicable for North 
Carolina income tax purposes. Under the conduit rules, regardless of 
who is taxed, the income retains its same character as when received by 
the estate or trust.  

A trust is neither a resident nor a nonresident.  A trust’s North Carolina 
income tax liability is determined based, in part, on the situs of the 
income beneficiaries, not where the trust was established or where the 
trustee lives.  North Carolina law requires the tax to be computed on the 
taxable income of the estate or trust that is for the benefit of a resident 
of this State, or for the benefit of a nonresident to the extent that the 
income (1) is derived from North Carolina sources and is attributable to 
the ownership of any interest in real or tangible personal property in this 
State or (2) is derived from a business, trade, profession, or occupation 
carried on in this State.

2. Estates and Trusts Returns
The federal taxable income of the fiduciary is the starting point for 

preparing a North Carolina Income Tax Return for Estates and Trusts, 
Form D-407 and requires the same additions, deductions, and transitional 
adjustments to federal taxable income as required for individuals.

The fiduciary responsible for administering the estate or trust is 
responsible for filing the return and paying the tax. The fiduciary must 
file an income tax return for the estate or trust for which he acts if he is 
required to file a federal return for estates and trusts and (1) the estate 
or trust derives income from North Carolina sources or (2) the estate or 
trust derives any income which is for the benefit of a resident of North 
Carolina.  Exception:  With respect to grantor trust returns, North 
Carolina has access to the federal information contained in the federal 
grantor trust returns.  Therefore, a State grantor trust return is not required 
to be filed when the entire trust is treated as a grantor trust for federal 
tax purposes.

The return is required to be filed on or before April 15 if on a calendar 
year basis and on or before the 15th day of the fourth month following 
the end of the fiscal year if on a fiscal year basis.  If the return cannot be 
filed by the due date, the fiduciary may apply for an automatic six month 
extension of time to file the return.  To receive the extension, the fiduciary 
must file Form D-410P, Application for Extension for Filing Partnership, 
Estate, or Trust Return, by the original due date of the return.

3. Payment of Tax
The tax rate for estates and trusts is the same as the tax rates for single 

individuals. (See the Tax Rate Schedule on page 5.)
The tax due on the estate and trust return is payable in full by the due 

date of the return. 
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4. Penalties
The penalty for failure to file an estate or trust return by the due date is 

5 percent of the tax per month with a minimum of $5.00 and a maximum 
of 25 percent of the tax. 

The penalty for failure to pay the tax by the due date is 10 percent of 
the tax with a minimum penalty of $5.00.

Other penalties for fraud, negligence, and criminal penalties for willful 
failure to comply with the income tax laws are similar to those applicable 
to individuals.

5. Allocation of Adjustments
The additions and deductions to federal taxable income of an estate or 

trust must be apportioned between the estate or trust and the beneficiaries 
based on the distributions of income made during the taxable year. Unless 
the trust instrument or will that created the estate or trust specifically 
provides for the distribution of certain classes of income to different 
beneficiaries, the apportionment of additions and deductions to the 
beneficiaries is determined on the basis that each beneficiary’s share 
of the income for regular tax purposes from Schedule K-1, Federal 
Form 1041 relates to adjusted total income from Federal Form 1041. 
If the trust instrument or will specifically provides for the distribution 
of certain classes of income to different beneficiaries, any addition or 
deduction directly attributable to a particular class of income must be 
apportioned to the beneficiary to which that class of income is distributed. 
In allocating the adjustments, for State purposes the amount of income 
for regular tax purposes on Federal Schedule K-1 must be adjusted for 
distributions to the beneficiary which are not reflected in income for 
regular tax purposes. The adjusted total income on Federal Form 1041 
must be adjusted (1) to exclude classes of income that are not part of 
the distribution to the beneficiary; (2) to include classes of income that 
are a part of the distribution to the beneficiary which are not included 
in adjusted total income; and (3) by any deduction treated differently 
for State and federal tax purposes that adjust federal taxable income 
pursuant to G.S. 105-134.6 and G.S. 105-134.7. After apportioning the 
additions and deductions to the beneficiaries, the balance is apportioned 
to the fiduciary. 

6. Allocation of Income Attributable to Nonresidents
If the estate or trust has income from sources outside of North Carolina 

and if any of the beneficiaries are nonresidents of North Carolina, the 
portion of federal taxable income of the fiduciary that is subject to 
North Carolina tax must be determined. If there is no gross income 
from dividends, interest, other intangibles or from sources outside North 
Carolina for the benefit of a nonresident beneficiary, the total income of 
the estate or trust is taxable to the fiduciary.

The determination of the amount of undistributed income from intangible 
property which is for the benefit of a resident is based on the beneficiary’s 
state of residence on the last day of the taxable year of the trust. In the 
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case of both resident and nonresident beneficiaries, the determination of 
the amount of undistributed income from intangible property which is for 
the benefit of a resident is made on the basis that the resident beneficiary’s 
interest for the taxable year relates to the interest of both resident and 
nonresident income beneficiaries for the taxable year.

7. Tax Credits
Estates and trusts are allowed all tax credits allowed to individuals 

except for:
 a. Tax credit for income taxes paid by individuals to other states  

   or countries,
 b. Tax credit for child and dependent care, 
 c. Tax credit for the disabled, 
 d. Tax credit for children, 
 e. Tax credit for charitable contributions by nonitemizers,
 f. Tax credit for recycling oyster shells,
 g. Tax credit for premiums paid on long-term care insurance  contracts, 

  h. Tax credit for adoption expenses, and
 i. Refundable earned income tax credit
 
Form D-407TC is used to report any tax credits claimed on an estate or 

trust return.  The amounts reflected on Form D-407TC are the portions 
of the tax credits allocated to the trust or estate.   A fiduciary required to 
pay an income tax to North Carolina for a trust for which he acts may 
claim a credit for tax imposed and paid to another state or country on 
income from sources within that state or country under the provisions 
of G.S. 105-160.4(a). 

A resident beneficiary of an estate or trust, the fiduciary of which 
pays an income tax to another state or country on distributable income 
reportable to North Carolina which is derived from sources in the other 
state or country may claim a credit against his North Carolina income tax 
for his share of tax paid the other state or country under the provisions 
of G.S. 105-160.4(e).

Part 5 of Form D-407TC is to be used in computing the tax credit 
allowable to the estate or trust. Before this schedule may be completed 
however, there must be an allocation between the estate or trust and its 
beneficiaries of the tax paid and the gross income on which such tax was 
paid to the other state or country.

The fiduciary’s share and each beneficiary’s share of the gross income 
on which tax has been paid to another state or country is determined 
by the governing instrument and should be entered in the appropriate 
schedule on the return. The fiduciary’s share of total gross income to 
be used in the tax credit computation schedule is the total gross income 
from Federal Form 1041.
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IX.  Subject:  Partnerships (G.S. 105-154)

1. General
The partnership’s taxable income determined under the Internal 

Revenue Code is the starting point for preparing the North Carolina 
partnership income tax returns. The same additions, deductions, and 
transitional adjustments to federal taxable income required for individuals 
apply to partnerships.

2. Partnership Returns
A North Carolina partnership return (Form D-403), must be filed by 

every partnership doing business in North Carolina if a federal partnership 
return was required to be filed. The return of a partnership on a calendar 
year basis is due on or before April 15 following the close of the calendar 
year.  If on a fiscal year basis, the return must be filed on or before the 
15th day of the fourth month following the close of the fiscal year.  If the 
partnership return cannot be filed by the due date, the partnership may 
apply for an automatic six month extension of time to file the return.   To 
receive the extension, the partnership must file Form D-410P, Application 
for Extension for Filing Partnership, Estate, or Trust Tax Return, by the 
original due date of the return. 

 The return should include the names and addresses of the individuals 
entitled to share in the net income of the partnership and should be 
signed by the managing partner and the individual preparing the return. 
For individual income tax purposes, the term “business carried on in 
this State” means the operation of any activity within North Carolina 
regularly, continuously, and systematically for the purpose of income or 
profit. A sporadic activity, a hobby, or an amusement diversion does not 
come within the definition of a business operation in this State. Income 
from an intangible source which is received in the course of a business 
operation in this State so as to have a taxable situs here (including such 
income which is included in the distributive share of partnership income, 
whether distributed or not) is included in the numerator of the fraction 
used in determining the portion of federal taxable income that is taxable 
to North Carolina by a nonresident.

3. Schedule NC K-1
Schedule NC K-1 is used by the partnership to report each partner’s 

share of the partnership’s income, adjustments, tax credits, tax paid, 
etc. The NC K-1 must reflect the net tax paid by the partnership. The 
partnership must provide a completed Schedule NC K-1, or other schedule 
containing the same information, to each entity or person who was a 
partner in the partnership at any time during the year. This schedule must 
be provided to each partner on or before the day on which the partnership 
return is required to be filed.  When reporting the distributive share of tax 
credits, a list of the amount and type of tax credits should be provided 
each partner.
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4. Penalties
The penalty for failure to file a partnership return on which tax is 

due on or before the due date is 5 percent of the tax for each month, or 
part of a month, the return is late.  The minimum penalty is $5.00;  the 
maximum penalty is 25 percent of the unpaid tax.  If a partnership does 
not pay the tax due on or before the original due date of the return, a late 
payment penalty of 10 percent of the unpaid tax (minimum $5.00) is due. 
If the partnership has a valid extension of time for filing the return, a 10 
percent late payment penalty will apply on the remaining balance due if 
the tax paid by the original due date is less than 90 percent of the total 
tax due. In addition, penalties are provided by law for willful failure to 
file a return on time and for willful attempt to evade or defeat the tax.

5. Nonresident Partners
When an established business in North Carolina is owned by a partnership 

having one or more nonresident members, the managing partner is 
responsible for reporting the share of the income of each nonresident partner 
and is required to compute and pay the tax due, including any surtax due, 
on behalf of those partners. If the nonresident partner is a corporation, 
partnership, trust or estate, the managing partner is not required to pay 
the tax on that partner’s share of the partnership income provided the 
partner files Form NC-NPA, Nonresident Partner Affirmation.  Form 
NC-NPA affirms that the partner will pay the tax with its corporation, 
partnership, trust or estate income tax return.  In such cases, a copy of 
Form NC-NPA must be attached to the partnership return when it is filed. 
(Note:  This provision does not extend to grantor trusts because no tax is 
paid on grantor trust returns.)  The tax rate is the same as the tax rate for 
single individuals. (See the Tax Rate Schedule on page 5.)  Payment of the 
tax due by the managing partner on behalf of corporations, partnerships, 
trusts and estates that are partners does not relieve the partner from filing 
a North Carolina income tax return; however, credit for the tax paid by 
the managing partner may be claimed on the income tax return. Although 
a partnership may treat guaranteed payments to a partner for services or 
for use of capital as if they were paid to a person who is not a partner, 
such treatment is only for purposes of determining its gross income and 
deductible business expenses. For other tax purposes, such guaranteed 
payments are treated as a partner’s distributive share of ordinary income. In 
determining the allowable North Carolina deductions from federal taxable 
income, do not include a partner’s salary, interest on a partner’s capital 
account, partner relocation and mortgage interest differential payments, or 
payments to a retired partner regardless of whether they were determined 
without regard to current profits. These types of payments are treated as 
part of the partner’s share of the partnership income.

A nonresident individual partner is not required to file a North Carolina 
individual income tax return when the only income from North Carolina 
sources is the nonresident’s share of income from a partnership doing 
business in North Carolina and the manager of the partnership has paid the 
tax due for the nonresident individual partner.  A nonresident individual 



51

partner may file an individual income tax return and claim credit for the 
tax paid by the manager of the partnership if the payment is properly 
identified on the individual income tax return.

In determining the tax due for nonresident partners, a partnership must 
apportion to North Carolina the income derived from its activities carried 
on within and outside North Carolina that are not segregated from its other 
business activities. A partnership’s business activities are not segregated 
if it does not employ a method of accounting that clearly reflects the 
income or loss of its separate activities. A partnership must allocate to 
North Carolina the income derived from business activities in North 
Carolina that are segregated from its other business activities. Income 
derived from a partnership’s business activities outside of North Carolina 
that are segregated from its other business activities are not includable in 
determining the tax due for nonresident partners. This allocation of income 
does not affect the partnership income of a resident partner because each 
partner is taxed on the share of the net income of the partnership whether 
or not any portion of it is attributable to another state or country.

Publicly Traded Partnerships:  Effective for tax years beginning 
on or after January 1, 2008, a publicly traded partnership as described 
in Section 7704 of the Internal Revenue Code is required to file an 
information return only for those nonresident partners whose distributive 
share of the partnership net income for the tax year is more $500.  The 
return should list the partner’s name, address, taxpayer identification 
number, and the partner’s share of income from the partnership for the 
tax year.  A publicly traded partnership is not required to pay the tax on 
behalf of the nonresident partners.

6. Disposition of Partner’s Interest
An interest in a partnership is intangible personal property.  Nonresident 

partners do not include the gain from the sale of their interest in a 
partnership in the numerator of the fraction unless the sale of the 
partnership interest conveys title to specific partnership property. If a 
partnership owning an interest in another partnership sells its interest in 
that partnership, the nonresident partners do not include their distributive 
shares of the gain realized by the partnership from the sale of its 
partnership interest in the numerator unless the partnership selling its 
interest is carrying on a trade or business in this State.

Nonresident partners must include their distributive shares of the gains 
or losses from the sale or other disposition of the partnership’s assets 
in the numerator of the fraction in determining North Carolina taxable 
income. If the sale of partnership interests conveys title to specific 
partnership property instead of to limited interests in the partnership, the 
transaction will be considered as a sale of partnership assets for purposes 
of determining North Carolina taxable income. 

7. Part-Year Residents
Part-year residents with distributive income from a partnership doing 

business in North Carolina and in one or more other states must prorate 
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their shares of the partnership’s income attributable and not attributable 
to North Carolina between their periods of residence and nonresidence in 
accordance with the number of days in each period. The amount required 
to be included in the numerator of the fraction for determining taxable 
income is the taxpayer’s share of partnership income determined for the 
period of residence plus the taxpayer’s share of the partnership income 
attributable to North Carolina during the period of nonresidence.

8. Estimated Income Tax
No estimated income tax is required of a partnership. Resident individual 

partners who meet statutory requirements must pay estimated income tax 
on Form NC-40. Nonresident individual partners are not required to pay 
estimated tax on their distributive share of partnership income.

9.    Interest Income Passed Through to Partners
 Although the interest income passed through to a partner in a 

partnership retains its same character as when received by the partnership, 
the expenses incurred in earning such income are deductible by the 
partnership and net interest income after expenses is reflected in the 
partner’s pro rata share of the income of the partnership.   For interest 
income subject to federal income tax, the partner’s federal gross income 
reflects the net interest income after expenses incurred in earning 
the income.   Interest income not subject to federal income tax is not 
reflected in the partner’s federal taxable income.   In these cases, a partner 
must adjust federal taxable income as required by G.S. 105-134.6(b) 
or G.S. 105-134.6(c), for the net amount of interest attributable to the 
partnership.

10.  Income Tax Credits of Partnerships
  A partnership may pass through to each of its partners the partner’s 

distributive share of an income tax credit for which the partnership 
qualifies.  Any dollar limit on the amount of a tax credit applies to 
the partnership as a whole instead of to the individual partners.  The 
maximum dollar limits and other limitations that apply in determining the 
amount of tax credit available to a taxpayer apply to the same extent in 
determining the amount of tax credit for which the partnership qualifies, 
except the limitation that the tax credit cannot exceed the tax liability 
of the taxpayer.

11.  Limited Liability Companies
The “North Carolina Limited Liability Company Act” (Chapter 57C 

of the North Carolina General Statutes) permits the organization and 
operation of limited liability companies. A limited liability company is a 
business entity that combines the S corporation characteristic of limited 
liability with the flow-through features of a partnership. Limited liability 
companies are subject to State taxation according to their classification for 
federal income tax purposes; therefore, if a limited liability company is 
classified as a partnership for federal income tax purposes, the company 
and its members are subject to tax to the same extent as a partnership and 
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its partners and is required to file a North Carolina partnership return.
A limited liability company may be organized by a single member by 

delivering executed articles of organization to the Secretary of State. 

12.   Foreign Partnerships
North Carolina income tax is required to be withheld from compensation 

paid to foreign partnerships for certain personal services performed in 
North Carolina. (See XVI.  Withholding From Nonresidents for 
Certain Personal Services.) If the partnership has a permanent place 
of business in North Carolina, no tax is required to be withheld if the 
partnership provides to the payer the partnership’s address and taxpayer 
identification number.

Partnerships may claim credit on the partnership income tax return, 
Form D-403, for the portion of the tax withheld attributable to nonresident 
partners on whose behalf the managing partner pays tax. The portion 
of the tax withheld attributable to resident partners or nonresident 
partners that have provided an affirmation to the managing partner (see 
Nonresident Partners on page 49) must be allocated to those partners on 
Schedule NC K-1.

13.    Investment Partnerships
A partnership whose only activity is as an investment partnership is 

not considered to be doing business in North Carolina.   An investment 
partnership is a partnership that is not a dealer in securities, as defined 
in section 475(c)(1) of the Internal Revenue Code, and that derives 
income exclusively from buying, holding, and selling securities for its 
own account.  If any of the partnership’s income consists of ordinary 
operating income whether from direct activities or flowing through 
from other partnerships, the partnership is not considered an investment 
partnership for North Carolina tax purposes.  

An investment partnership is not required to file an income tax return 
in North Carolina or pay income tax to North Carolina on behalf of its 
nonresident partners.
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X.  Subject: Taxable Status of Distributions from Regulated 
Investment Companies                                   

1. General
Distributions received from regulated investment companies (mutual 

funds) by a shareholder who was a North Carolina resident must be 
included in North Carolina taxable income to the same extent included in 
the shareholder’s federal taxable income; except that (1) an amount not 
included in federal gross income which was determined to be an “exempt 
interest dividend” for federal income tax purposes, must be added to 
federal taxable income to the extent it represents interest on obligations 
of states other than North Carolina and their political subdivisions, and 
(2) an amount included in federal gross income which represents interest 
received from direct obligations of the United States or its possessions 
must be deducted from federal taxable income.

Distributions from a regulated investment company other than “capital 
gain distributions” and “exempt interest dividends” are included in federal 
taxable income in the same manner as distributions of other corporations. 
Distributions from earnings and profits are ordinary dividends (taxable 
dividends) unless the mutual fund notifies the taxpayer to the contrary.

Capital gain distributions are paid by mutual funds from their net 
realized long-term capital gains. Individuals receiving a capital gain 
distribution must report the distribution as a long-term capital gain on 
their federal income tax return.

2. Exempt Interest Dividends
A mutual fund is qualified to pay exempt interest dividends only if 

at the close of each quarter of its taxable year at least 50 percent of the 
value of the total assets of the company consisted of state and local bonds, 
the interest from which is exempt from federal income tax and certain 
other obligations on which the interest is exempt from federal income tax 
under provisions of federal law other than the Internal Revenue Code, as 
those provisions of the law were in effect on January 6, 1983. A mutual 
fund paying exempt interest dividends to its shareholders must send its 
shareholders a statement within 60 days after the close of the taxable year 
showing the amount of exempt interest dividends. The exempt interest 
dividends are not required to be included in federal taxable income.

Since interest from states other than North Carolina and their political 
subdivisions is required to be added to federal taxable income in 
calculating North Carolina taxable income, the exempt interest dividends 
received from mutual funds must be added to federal taxable income to 
the extent such dividends do not represent interest from bonds issued by 
North Carolina and political subdivisions of North Carolina, Guam, Puerto 
Rico, and the United States Virgin Islands, including the governments 
thereof and their agencies, instrumentalities and authorities, provided 
the mutual fund furnishes a supporting statement to the taxpayer. In the 
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absence of such statement, the total amount designated as exempt interest 
must be added to federal taxable income in computing the taxpayer’s 
North Carolina taxable income.

3. Ordinary Dividends
Interest in the form of dividends from regulated investment companies 

(mutual funds, investments, etc.) is deductible from an individual’s 
federal taxable income to the extent the distributions represent interest 
on direct obligations of the United States Government. The fund must 
furnish the taxpayer a statement verifying the amount of interest paid 
to him which accrued from direct obligations of the United States 
Government. Interest earned on obligations that are merely backed or 
guaranteed by the United States Government will not qualify for the 
deduction. Further, this deduction does not apply to distributions which 
represent gain from the sale or other disposition of the securities nor to 
interest paid in connection with repurchase agreements issued by banks 
and savings and loan associations.

The taxpayer may not deduct mutual fund dividends on the basis of a 
percentage of investments held by the fund (i.e., a fund has 75 percent 
of its investments in United States Treasury Notes). The statement to 
support the deduction must specify the amount received by the taxpayer 
which represents interest on direct obligations of the United States 
Government.

This procedure will also apply with respect to interest on obligations 
of the State of North Carolina and any of its political subdivisions to the 
extent included in federal taxable income.

 4. Capital Gain Distributions
The portion of distributions from a regulated investment company that 

represents capital gain is reportable on the federal income tax return as 
capital gain income and not dividend income. Therefore, under G.S. 105-
134.6(b)(2) capital gain distributable to a shareholder who is a resident 
of North Carolina and attributable to the sale of an obligation issued 
before July 1, 1995, the profit from which is exempt by North Carolina 
statute is deductible from federal taxable income in determining the North 
Carolina taxable income of an individual, trust or estate.
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XI.  Subject:  Tax Credits

1. Credit for Corporate Tax Paid by S Corporation to Another  
 State or Country (G.S. 105-131.8) 

Credit is allowed to a resident shareholder for his share of the corporate 
tax paid by an S corporation to another state or country that taxes the 
corporation rather than the shareholder on the S corporation’s income, 
or the computed credit, whichever is less.

If credit is claimed for the shareholder’s part of the corporate tax paid, 
a schedule must be attached to the North Carolina return showing the 
total tax paid by the S corporation and how the pro rata share of the tax 
was determined. A separate tax credit must be calculated for each state 
or country to which the S corporation paid tax.

2. Credit for Income Tax Paid to Another State or Country (G.S.  
 105-151)

A tax credit is allowed to an individual who is a resident of North 
Carolina for tax imposed by and paid to another state or country on 
income that is also taxed by North Carolina, subject to the following 
conditions:
 a. The income must have been derived from sources in the other state 

or country and must have been taxed under the laws of that state 
or country, regardless of the legal residence of the taxpayer.

 b. The credit allowable is the smaller of either the net tax paid the 
other state or country on income also taxed by North Carolina 
or the product obtained by multiplying the North Carolina tax 
computed before credit by a fraction in which the numerator is the 
part of the North Carolina income, as adjusted, which is taxed in 
the other state or country and the denominator is the total income 
as adjusted, received while a resident of North Carolina. If credits 
are claimed for taxes paid to more than one state or country, a 
separate computation must be made for each state or country and 
the separate credits combined to determine the total credit.

 c. Receipt or other proof showing payment of income tax to the 
other state or country and a true copy of the return filed with the 
other state or country must be submitted with the North Carolina 
return. No credit is allowed for income taxes paid to a city, county, 
or other political subdivision of a state or country or to the federal 
government.

 d. If any tax for which a resident has claimed a tax credit on the North 
Carolina income tax return is refunded at any time by the other 
state or country, a tax equal to that portion of the credit allowed 
for the taxes credited or refunded must be paid to North Carolina 
within thirty days of the date of receipt of this refund or notice of 
the credit.
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The tax credit allowed to a North Carolina resident is determined as 
follows:

Portion of total federal income while
a resident of N.C., as adjusted, that 
was taxed by another state or country   x  N.C. income tax  =  Tax credit
Total federal income while a
resident of N.C., as adjusted

 After making the computation by use of this formula, the 
tax credit allowed is either the credit obtained by use of the 
formula or the actual amount of net income tax paid to the 
other state or country, whichever is the smaller.

Example 1: A full-year resident of North Carolina files a 2009 North 
Carolina return as a single individual. His total income 
is $37,000. He worked temporarily in South Carolina, 
earning $5,000 on which he paid tax of $131 to South 
Carolina. The taxpayer claimed the standard deduction 
in computing his federal taxable income of $27,650. The 
credit against his North Carolina income tax is determined 
as follows:

 Federal taxable income ...........................  $ 27,650 
State standard deduction and  
     personal exemption adjustment ..........    3,850 
North Carolina taxable income ...............  $ 31,500

 North Carolina tax due ............................  $ 2,079
 Less tax credit:
 Portion of total federal income,
   while a resident of N.C., as
   adjusted, taxed by   

  another state            $ 5,000    x   2,079 = $ 281
 Total federal income,  $37,000 

   as adjusted, while     
   a resident of N.C.

 Since the $131 tax paid to South Carolina is 
less than the computed tax credit of $281, 
the allowable tax credit is the actual tax 
paid to South Carolina .............................  $ 131 
N.C. tax due .............................................  $ 1,948

Example 2: A husband and wife are both residents of North Carolina 
and file a joint 2009 North Carolina income tax return. Their 
total income is $40,000, $5,500 of which was received from 
rental property, owned jointly, in Virginia. A total of $2,000  
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was received by the husband for temporary employment 
in South Carolina. The taxpayers claimed the standard 
deduction in computing their federal taxable income of 
$21,300. They paid tax of $290 on the income earned in 
Virginia and the husband paid tax of $102 on the income 
reported to South Carolina. The credit against their North 
Carolina income tax is determined as follows:

 
 Federal taxable income ...........................   $21,300 

State standard deduction and  
     personal exemption adjustment ..........   7,700 
North Carolina taxable income ...............   $29,000 

 North Carolina tax due ............................   $1,819 

 Less tax credit:
 Portion of total  

   federal income while
    a resident of N.C., as  

   adjusted, taxed by  
   Virginia                    $5,500   x 1,819 = $ 250

 Total federal income,  $40,000 
   as adjusted, while a   
   resident of N.C.

 Portion of total  
  federal income while

   a resident of N.C.,
   as adjusted, taxed by  

  South Carolina           $2,000   x  1,819 = $ 91
 Total federal income,  $40,000 

  while a resident of
   N.C., as adjusted
 Total credit ...............................................  $ 341   

Net North Carolina tax due .....................  $ 1,478

The computed credits are allowed since each is less than the amount 
paid to the other state.

Example 3: Taxpayer, a single man, became a North Carolina resident on 
June 1. Prior to moving to North Carolina, he earned $4,000 in 
South Carolina. From June 1 through December 31, he earned 
$6,000 in South Carolina and $10,000 in North Carolina. He 
paid income tax to South Carolina of $400 on the $10,000 
South Carolina income. The taxpayer claimed the standard 
deduction in computing his 2009 federal taxable income of 
$10,650. His tax credit is determined as follows:
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 Federal taxable income ...........................  $ 10,650
 State standard deduction and  

  personal exemption adjustment .............   3,850
 North Carolina taxable income before part-year  

  resident adjustment ................................  $ 14,500
 Total federal income, as adjusted, while a 
   N.C.  resident plus total income from N.C. 
   sources while a nonresident     

  as adjusted                $16,000   x   $14,500 = $11,600 
Total federal income   $20,000  N.C. taxable 
  from all sources,         income 
  as adjusted

 North Carolina taxable income ....................  $     11,600
 North Carolina tax on $11,600 taxable  

income .....................................................  $ 698
 Less tax credit:
 Portion of total federal  

  income, while a N.C. 
  resident, as adjusted,   

   taxed by S.C.             $ 6,000  x   $698 = $262*
 Total federal income   $16,000           N.C. tax      

  while a N.C.                 
  resident, as adjusted

 (*The computed credit is determined only with 
respect to income while taxpayer is a resident 
of North Carolina.)

 S.C. income                    
  taxed by N.C.            $  6,000  x   $400 = $240**

 Total S.C. income       $10,000          S.C. tax 
                                     

 Since the $240 tax paid to South Carolina on 
income also taxed by North Carolina is less 
than the $262 computed credit, the allowable 
credit is ....................................................  $ 240

 Net tax due North Carolina .....................  $ 458
  (**Since a part of the tax paid South Carolina was on income 

not taxed by North Carolina, this computation is necessary 
to determine that portion of the South Carolina tax that was 
paid on income also taxed by North Carolina.)

3. Handicapped Dwelling Units (G.S. 105-151.1)
A tax credit of $550.00 for each dwelling unit completed during the 

taxable year is allowable to an owner who constructs multi-family rental 
units located in North Carolina which conform to Volume I-C of the 
North Carolina Building Code.  To receive the credit the taxpayer must 
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attach a copy of the occupancy permit on which the building inspector 
has recorded the number of units completed during the year.  If the credit 
exceeds the tax liability for the year reduced by all other credits, the 
excess may be carried over only to the succeeding tax year. 

4. Child and Dependent Care Expenses (G.S. 105-151.11)
A tax credit is allowable for the employment-related expenses for 

child and dependent care if an individual is entitled to claim an income 
tax credit for child and dependent care expense on their federal return. 
The credit is calculated on the net qualified federal employment-related 
expenses after reduction for any employer-paid dependent care assistance 
that is excluded from federal gross income.  The maximum employment 
related expenses on which the credit is based is equal to the expenses 
allowed for federal purposes:  $3,000 for one dependent and $6,000 for 
two or more dependents.

In the case of a married couple that file a joint federal return when only 
one spouse files a North Carolina return, that spouse calculates the amount 
of expenses used to determine the credit by multiplying total qualified 
expenses by the ratio of that spouse’s total income to the total income 
of both spouses.  For dependents who were seven years old or older and 
not physically or mentally incapable of caring for themselves, the credit 
is from 7 percent to 9 percent of the net qualified federal employment-
related expenses depending on filing status and federal adjusted gross 
income as shown in the following table.

For dependents who were under the age of seven and dependents who 
were physically or mentally incapable of caring for themselves, the credit 
is from 10 percent to 13 percent of the net qualified federal employment-
related expenses depending on filing status and federal adjusted gross 
income as shown in the following table. An individual who is not able 
to dress, clean, or feed himself because of a physical or mental condition 
is not able to care for himself. Individuals with mental conditions who 
require constant attention to prevent them from injuring themselves or 
others are considered to be unable to care for themselves.

For a dependent who reaches age 7 during the taxable year and who is 
not physically or mentally incapable of caring for himself, the tax credit 
for employment-related expenses incurred prior to the dependent’s 7th 
birthday will be calculated by using the applicable percentage in column 
A, and the tax credit for employment-related expenses incurred after 
the dependent becomes age 7 will be calculated by using the applicable 
percentage in column B.

A nonresident or part-year resident is allowed a prorated credit based 
on the percentage of the taxpayer’s total income that is taxable for North 
Carolina income tax purposes. 
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 Filing Status Federal AGI Column A Column B

   Head of Household Up to $20,000 13% 9% 
  Over $20,000 up to $32,000 11.5% 8% 
  Over $32,000 10% 7% 

  Married Filing Jointly or Up to $25,000 13% 9% 
   Qualifying Widow(er) Over $25,000 up to $40,000 11.5% 8% 
  Over $40,000 10% 7% 

 Single Up to $15,000 13% 9% 
  Over $15,000 up to $24,000 11.5% 8% 
  Over $24,000 10% 7% 

 Married Filing  Up to $12,500 13% 9% 
 Separately Over $12,500 up to $20,000 11.5% 8% 
  Over $20,000 10% 7%

5.  Real Property Donated for Public Purposes (G.S. 105-151.12)
A credit is allowed for donating interests in real property located 

in North Carolina to the State, local government, or other qualified 
organization. To qualify for the credit the property must be certified by 
the Department of Environment and Natural Resources as useful for  
public beach access or use, public access to public waters or trails, fish 
and wildlife conservation, forestland or farmland conservation, watershed 
protection, conservation of natural areas, conservation of natural and 
scenic river areas, conservation of predominately natural parkland, or 
historic landscape conservation. An individual is allowed a credit of 
25 percent of the fair market value of the interest donated but may not 
exceed $250,000.  In the case of property owned by a married couple 
filing a joint return, the maximum credit for real property donations is 
$500,000.  An individual who donates   multiple properties in the same 
year is entitled to a separate credit for each donation.  However, all 
donations in one year are combined into one credit calculation for that 
tax year and may not exceed $250,000 ($500,000 in the case of property 
owned by a married couple filing a joint return).  The tax credit may not 
exceed the tax liability for the tax year, reduced by other tax credits.  Any 
unused credit can be carried forward for the next succeeding five years.  
Although $250,000 is the maximum credit allowable for all donations in 
one year ($500,000 in the case of property owned by a married couple 
filing a joint return), an individual may claim more than $250,000 if the 
amount in excess of $250,000 is an unused credit carried over from a 
previous year.  For example, an individual is entitled to the maximum 
credit of $250,000 and is also entitled to carry over an unused credit of 
$30,000 from the previous year.  Therefore, the allowable credit for the 
current tax year is $280,000. 

To be eligible for the credit, the interest in the property must be donated 
in perpetuity to and accepted by the State, a local government, or a body 
that is both organized to receive and administer lands for conservation 
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purposes and qualified to receive charitable contributions under the 
Internal Revenue Code.  To support the credit, a certification by the 
Department of Environment and Natural Resources that the donated 
property is suitable for one or more of the valid public benefits described 
above and a self-contained or summary appraisal report must be filed with 
the individual income tax return.  For fee simple absolute donations of 
real property, the taxpayer may provide documentation of the county’s 
appraised value of the property, as adjusted by the sales assessment ratio, 
in lieu of an appraisal report.

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, with respect 
to a credit claimed by a partnership, a $500,000 maximum credit limitation 
applies to the partnership as a whole instead of each partner.  Consequently, 
each partner is allowed a credit equal to the partner’s allocated share of 
the credit, not to exceed $250,000.  Prior to January 1, 2007, the $250,000 
limitation applied to each partner instead of the partnership as a whole.  

 If an owner’s share of pass-through entities credit is limited due to the 
maximum allowable credit for a taxable year, the pass-through and its 
owners may not reallocate the unused credit among the owners.
Example: In 2007, a partnership consisting of five partners (each a 20% 

partner) donated qualifying North Carolina real property to 
the State with a fair market value of $6,000,000.  The total 
credit allowed to the partnership is allocated as follows:

 Total tax credit before limitation $ 1,500,000  ($6,000,000 x 25%)
 Maximum total tax credit $ 500,000
 Tax credit allocated to each partner $ 100,000  ($500,000 x 20%)

Marshland for which a claim has been filed pursuant to G.S. 113-205 
pertaining to grants in navigable waters of coastal counties of North 
Carolina, will not qualify for this credit unless the offer of donation was 
made before December 31, 2003.

In the case of property owned by a married couple where both spouses 
are required to file North Carolina income tax returns, the credit is allowed 
only if the couple files a joint return.  If only one spouse is required to file a 
North Carolina return, that spouse may claim the credit on a separate return.

6.  Conservation Tillage Equipment (G.S. 105-151.13)
A credit is allowable for the purchase of certain conservation tillage 

equipment for use in a farming business, including tree farming, for 25 
percent of the cost of the equipment up to a maximum credit of $2,500 for 
any income year. Qualifying conservation tillage equipment is (1) a planter 
designed to minimize disturbance of the soil in planting crops or trees, 
including equipment that may be attached to equipment already owned 
by the taxpayer, or (2) equipment designed to minimize disturbance of 
the soil in reforestation site preparation, including equipment that may be 
attached to equipment already owned by the taxpayer; provided, however, 
this shall include only those items of equipment generally known as a 
‘KG-Blade’, and ‘drumchopper’, or a ‘V-Blade’.
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The credit may be claimed only by the first purchaser of the equipment 
and may not be claimed by a person who purchases the equipment for 
use outside of North Carolina. Any excess credit may be carried forward 
for the next succeeding five years. The basis in any equipment for which 
a credit is allowed must be reduced by the amount of credit.

7.  Gleaned Crops (G.S. 105-151.14)
A credit is allowable for unharvested crops which are donated by a 

grower to a qualified charitable organization. The credit is 10 percent of 
the season average price of the crop as determined by the North Carolina 
Crop and Livestock Reporting Service in the North Carolina Department 
of Agriculture and Consumer Services or the average price of the crop 
in the nearest local market for the month in which the crop is gleaned if 
the Crop and Livestock Reporting Service does not determine the season 
average price.  Any unused portion of the credit can be carried forward 
to the next succeeding five years.

If the tax credit is claimed, the amount of the market price of the 
donated crops must be added to federal taxable income in determining 
North Carolina taxable income.

8. Credit for Disabled Taxpayer, Dependent or Spouse (G.S. 105-151.18)
A tax credit equal to one-third of the amount of the federal tax credit 

allowed under the Internal Revenue Code is allowed to an individual 
who is permanently and totally disabled. Although the federal tax credit 
is allowed for being 65 or older, no portion of the tax credit is allowed 
on the North Carolina return for being 65 or older.

A tax credit is also allowed to a taxpayer who is allowed an exemption 
under the Internal Revenue Code for a totally and permanently disabled 
dependent or spouse. To claim the credit, a statement from a physician 
or local health department must be attached to the return certifying that 
the dependent was unable to engage in any substantial gainful activity by 
reason of a physical or mental impairment that can be expected to result 
in death or that has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous 
period of not less than 12 months. The allowable credit is determined by 
completing Form D-429, “Worksheet for Determining the Credit for the 
Disabled Taxpayer, Dependent, or Spouse.”

A taxpayer who claims the tax credit for being permanently and totally 
disabled may also be eligible to claim the tax credit for a permanently and 
totally disabled dependent or spouse for whom the taxpayer claimed an 
exemption under the Internal Revenue Code.

A nonresident or part-year resident is allowed the tax credit for a 
disabled taxpayer and the tax credit for a disabled dependent or spouse 
in the proportion that federal taxable income (as adjusted) is taxable to 
North Carolina.

9.  Farm Machinery (G.S. 105-151.21)
A credit of up to $1,000 is allowable to an individual engaged in 

the business of farming for the amount of property tax paid during the 
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taxable year on farm machinery or attachments and repair parts for farm 
machinery. Farm machinery is defined as machinery that is exempt from 
State sales tax under G.S. 105-164.13(1b).  The credit may not exceed 
the tax liability for the year, reduced by other tax credits.  To support the 
credit, you must attach a copy of the tax receipt for the property taxes 
for which the credit is claimed.
10.  Credit for the Use of North Carolina Ports (G.S. 105-151.22)

A tax credit is allowed for a portion of the wharfage, handling, and through-
put charges for importing goods to and exporting goods from the North 
Carolina ports of Morehead City and/or Wilmington. The credit is equal to 
the amount of increase in charges in the current year over the average of 
charges paid in the current and previous two years without consideration of 
the free-on-board cargo terms under which the cargo is moved. The credit 
is limited to 50 percent of the current year’s tax and any unused credit can 
be carried over for the next five years. A taxpayer’s maximum accumulated 
credit is $2,000,000. To obtain the credit, the taxpayer must include with 
the return a statement from the State Ports Authority certifying the amount 
of charges paid by the taxpayer for which the credit is claimed. The credit 
expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2014.

11. Credit for Children (G.S. 105-151.24)
A tax credit of $100 for each dependent child is allowable to an individual 

who is entitled to claim a child tax credit on the federal return if the 
individual’s federal adjusted gross income is less than the amount shown 
in the chart below.
 Filing Status Adjusted Gross Income
 Married filing jointly $ 100,000
 Head of household $ 80,000
 Single $ 60,000
 Married filing separately $ 50,000

The credit for children can be claimed only for a child who was under 
17 years of age on the last day of the tax year.

A nonresident or part-year resident is allowed the tax credit for children 
in the proportion that federal taxable income (as adjusted) is taxable to 
North Carolina.

12. Credit for Construction of a Poultry Composting Facility (G.S.  
 105-151.25)

A tax credit is allowed to a taxpayer for constructing a poultry composting 
facility in North Carolina for the composting of poultry carcasses from 
commercial poultry operations. The credit is equal to 25 percent of the 
installation, materials, and equipment costs of construction paid during the 
taxable year, not to exceed $1,000 for any single installation. That portion 
of construction costs represented by State or federal agency provided funds 
cannot be used in determining the credit.

The credit may not exceed the tax liability for the year, reduced by 
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other credits and any unused credit may not be carried over to another 
tax year.

13. Credit for Charitable Contributions by Nonitemizers (G.S. 105-
151.26) 

A tax credit for charitable contributions is allowed to an individual who 
elects the standard deduction on the federal income tax return. The credit is 
not allowed to an individual who claims itemized deductions on the federal 
return.  The credit equals 7 percent of the contributions for the taxable year 
which exceed 2 percent of the individual’s federal adjusted gross income. 
The credit may not be claimed for contributions for which credits for certain 
real property donations, gleaned crops, or recycling oyster shells are claimed. 
Nonresidents and part-year residents may claim a prorated credit equal to 
the percentage of income that is subject to North Carolina tax. 

The credit may not exceed the tax liability for the year, reduced by other 
credits.  Any unused credit may not be carried over to another tax year. 

14. Credit for Premiums Paid on Long-Term Care Insurance Contracts 
(G.S. 105-151.28)

A credit for premiums paid on long-term care insurance contracts was 
originally effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 1999 
and was repealed for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2004.  As 
originally enacted, there were no income limitations with respect to who 
could claim the credit.  The tax credit has been reenacted for tax years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2007, and income limitations have been 
added with respect to who can claim the credit.

Effective for the tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2007, a tax 
credit is allowed for the qualifying premiums paid during the taxable year 
on a qualified long-term care insurance contract (s) (as defined in section 
7702B of the Internal Revenue Code) that provides insurance coverage 
for an individual, the individual’s spouse, or a dependent for whom the 
individual was allowed to claim a personal exemption on the federal 
return if the individual’s federal adjusted gross income is less than the 
amount shown for the individual’s filing status in the chart below.

Filing Status Adjusted Gross Income
Married filing jointly/ $100,000
  Qualifying widow(er)
Head of household 80,000                                   

 Single 60,000
Married filing separately 50,000

The credit is 15 percent of the premiums paid but may not exceed 
$350 for each qualified long-term care insurance contract for which a 
credit is claimed.  Medical insurance premiums that an individual pays 
for general health care, hospitalization, or disability insurance do not 
qualify as premiums paid for a long-term care insurance contract.  A 
long-term care insurance contract is any insurance contract under which 
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the only insurance protection provided is for coverage of qualified long-
term care services as defined in section 7702B of the Internal Revenue 
Code.  Qualified long-term care services are those services required by 
a chronically ill individual and provided under a plan of care prescribed 
by a licensed health care practitioner.  

No credit is allowed for payments that are deducted from, or not includ-
ed in, federal gross income for the taxable year.  For example, payments 
that are not included in federal gross income are premiums paid through 
an employer-sponsored plan in which the payments are excluded from 
taxable wages (pre-taxed dollars).  Individuals who claim a deduction 
for medical expenses on Federal Schedule A, or individuals who claim 
a deduction for self-employed health insurance premiums on the federal 
return are not entitled to claim this credit.  However, individuals may 
claim this credit for any premiums paid for long-term care insurance that 
are not deductible on the federal return because of the age limitations 
contained in section 213(d)(10) of the Internal Revenue Code.

A part-year resident or nonresident is allowed a prorated tax credit based 
on the percentage of the individual’s total income that is taxable for North 
Carolina income tax purposes.  The credit many not exceed the individual’s 
tax for the year reduced by the sum of all other credits allowed.  Any unused 
portion of the credit may not be carried over to subsequent years.  The credit 
expires for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2013.

 15.  Credit for Qualifying Expenses of a Film or Television Production 
Company (G.S. 105-151.29)

A taxpayer that is a production company and has qualifying expenses of 
at least $250,000 with respect to a production is allowed a credit against 
individual income taxes.  The credit is equal to fifteen percent (15%) of the 
production company’s qualifying expenses.  The credit is claimed for the 
taxable year in which the production activities are completed but includes all 
of the taxpayer’s qualifying expenses incurred with respect to the production, 
including qualifying  expenses incurred in earlier years.  In the case of an 
episodic television series, an entire season of episodes is one production.

(Note:  In lieu of the existing 15% credit, a production company may 
choose to compute the credit at 25%. However, the company must forfeit 
the benefit of the special sales tax rate imposed on mill machinery under 
G.S. 105-187.51 by subtracting from the amount of credit computed at 25% 
the difference between the amount of tax paid on purchases subject to the 
mill machinery rate of 1% and the amount of sales or use tax that would 
have been due had the purchases been subject to the combined sales tax 
rate. The credit is based on all expenses incurred for the production, not 
just those incurred during the taxable year. The election is binding.)

The maximum credit for a production that is a feature film is limited to 
$7,500,000.  There is no maximum credit for other types of productions. 
The following productions do not qualify for the credit: political 
advertisements; television productions of a news program or live sporting 
event; productions that contain obscene material; or radio productions.
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Qualifying expenses includes the total amount spent in North Carolina 
for goods and services leased or purchased by the production company and 
compensation and wages paid by the production company, other than amounts 
paid to a highly compensated individual, on which the production company 
remitted North Carolina withholding payments.  A highly compensated 
individual is an individual who receives compensation in excess of one 
million dollars for personal services with respect to a single production, 
regardless of whether the individual receives compensation directly from 
the production company or indirectly from a personal services company or 
an employee leasing company and regardless of whether the compensation 
is considered wages or nonemployee compensation.  Qualifying expenses 
for compensation and wages paid to employees for services performed in 
North Carolina includes payments for per diem, living allowances, and fringe 
benefits to the extent they are included in the recipient’s taxable wages subject 
to federal income tax withholding.  The amount paid to an individual through 
a personal services corporation or through an employee-leasing organization 
is considered compensation and is subject to the “highly compensated 
individual” limitations in calculating the allowable credit.  

For goods with a purchase price of $25,000 or more, the amount 
included in qualifying expenses is the purchase price less the fair market 
value of the good at the time the production is completed.  Spending for 
goods purchased or leased from a North Carolina business is eligible for 
the tax credit.  This includes fuel, food, airline tickets and other goods if 
purchased or leased from a business located in North Carolina.  Spending 
for services is eligible for the credit regardless of whether paid to residents 
or nonresidents, as long as the services are performed in North Carolina. 

 A pass-through entity that qualifies for the credit does not allocate the credit 
among any of its owners.  Instead, the pass-through entity is considered the 
taxpayer for purposes of claiming this credit.  If the return filed by a pass-
through entity indicates that the entity is paying tax on behalf of the owners 
of the entity, the credit allowed does not affect the entity’s payment of tax 
on behalf of its owners and cannot be applied against that liability.

 The tax credit must be claimed on Form NC-415 for the taxable year 
in which the production activities are completed.  Processing of the credit 
cannot begin until after the income tax return for the taxable year in which 
the production activities are completed is filed.  A taxpayer must satisfy 
any tax liability for the tax year in which the tax credit is claimed before 
the credit will be refunded.  If the amount of credit exceeds the taxpayer’s 
income tax liability for the taxable year less the sum of all other credits, 
then the excess is refundable.  Nonrefundable credits are credited against 
the taxpayer’s tax liability before this refundable credit.

 A taxpayer allowed the credit must maintain and make available 
for inspection any information or records required by the Secretary of 
Revenue.  The taxpayer has the burden of proving eligibility for a credit 
and the amount of the credit.  The Secretary may consult with the North 
Carolina Film Office of the Department of Commerce and the regional film 
commissions to determine the amount of qualifying expenses.
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A taxpayer cannot claim both a tax credit and a deduction for the same 
expenses.  A taxpayer claiming the credit must add to federal taxable 
income the amount of the qualifying expenses used to calculate the 
credit as provided in G.S. 105-134.6(c)(9).  For example, a taxpayer 
that has $10,000,000 in qualifying expenses is eligible for a tax credit of 
$1,500,000.  Federal taxable income must be increased by $10,000,000 
in determining income taxable to North Carolina.
  This credit is repealed for qualifying expenses occurring on or after 
January 1, 2014.

16. Credit for Recycling Oyster Shells (G.S. 105-151.30)  
A tax credit is allowed to a taxpayer who donates oyster shells for recycling 

to the Division of Marine Fisheries of the Department of Environment and 
Natural Resources.  The credit is $1.00 per bushel of oyster shells donated.  
The credit is limited to the tax liability and any unused portion of the credit 
can be carried forward for the succeeding five years.

To support the credit, a taxpayer must obtain a certification by the 
Department of Environment and Natural Resources stating the number 
of bushels of oyster shells that were donated.  A taxpayer who claims the 
credit must add back to taxable income any amount deducted under the 
Code for the donation of the oyster shells.  The credit expires for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2011.

17.  Refundable Earned Income Tax Credit (G.S. 105-151.31)
A refundable earned income tax credit is allowed to an individual who 

claimed an earned income tax credit under section 32 of the Internal 
Revenue Code.  The credit is 5% of the amount of the earned income 
tax credit the individual qualified for on the federal return.

If the credit exceeds the tax liability reduced by the sum of all credits 
allowable, the excess is refunded to the individual.  Section 3507 of the 
Internal Revenue Code, Advanced Payment of Earned Income Credit, 
does not apply to the State earned income tax credit.

A part-year resident or nonresident is allowed a prorated tax credit 
based on the percentage of the individual’s total income that is taxable 
for North Carolina income tax purposes.  The credit expires for taxable 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2013.

18.  Tax Credit for Adoption Expenses (G.S. 105-151.32)
A tax credit is allowed to an individual who claimed an adoption tax credit on 

the federal income tax return.  The tax credit is equal to 50% of the allowable 
tax credit claimed under section 23 of the Internal Revenue Code.

A part-year resident or nonresident is allowed a prorated tax credit based 
on the percentage of the individual’s total income that is taxable for North 
Carolina income tax purposes.  The credit may not exceed the taxpayer’s tax 
for the year reduced by the sum of all other credits allowed.  Any unused 
credit may be carried forward for the next succeeding five years.
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19.	Qualified	Business	Investments	(G.S.	105-163.010	through		
 G.S. 105-163.015)

A tax credit is allowed to individuals, estates, and trusts that make 
qualified investments directly in equity securities or subordinated debt of 
a qualified business. These organizations are defined in G.S. 105-163.010 
and are required to register with the Secretary of State. The credit is also 
allowable to partnerships, S corporations, limited liability companies, and 
other pass-through entities that make qualifying investments. However, 
the credit is not allowed to a pass-through entity that has committed capital 
under management in excess of $5,000,000. Nor is the credit allowed if a 
broker’s fee or commission or other similar remuneration is paid or given 
directly or indirectly for soliciting the investment in a qualified business. 
A pass-through entity that is itself a qualified business is not entitled to 
the credit for an investment in another qualified business. 

The aggregate amount of credit allowed a taxpayer for one or more 
investments made in a single tax year is 25 percent of the amount invested 
or $50,000, whichever is less, regardless of whether the investments 
were made directly by the taxpayer or indirectly though a pass-through 
entity. The credit allowed a pass-through entity is 25 percent or $750,000, 
whichever is less. The $50,000 limitation for individuals does not apply 
to unused amounts carried forward from previous years. If the owner’s 
share of the pass-through entity’s credit is limited due to the maximum 
allowable credit, the pass-through entity and its owners may not reallocate 
the unused credit among the other owners.

A taxpayer’s basis in the equity securities or subordinated debt 
acquired as a result of an investment in a qualified business must be 
reduced by the amount of allowable credit. To be eligible for the credit 
a taxpayer must file an application (Form D-499) for the credit with 
the Secretary of Revenue.  The application should be filed on or before 
April 15 and no later than October 15 of the calendar year in which 
the investment was made and must include (1) copies of canceled 
check(s) or other documents which verify the investment, (2) copies 
of stock certificates or subordinated debt instrument(s) issued by the 
qualified business, and (3) the Certificate of Qualified Status for each 
organization for which credit is claimed. If an investment shown on 
an application was paid for other than in money (real estate, personal 
property, etc.), a taxpayer must include with the application a certified 
appraisal of the value of the property used to pay for the investment. 
The application for a credit for an investment made by a pass-through 
entity must be filed by the pass-through entity.  An application filed 
after October 15 will not be accepted.

The credit is allowable for the taxable year beginning during the 
calendar year following the calendar year in which the investment was 
made and any unused credit can be carried forward for the next succeeding 
five years.  A taxpayer must attach a copy of the qualified business tax 
credit approval letter from the Department of Revenue to verify the credit 
claimed on the return.
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 The total amount of the credits allowable to all taxpayers for each 
calendar year may not exceed $7,500,000.  If the total credits for which 
applications are received exceeds the threshold amount, the credits 
claimed will be allocated in proportion to the size of the credit claimed 
by each taxpayer.

If the credit is reduced, the taxpayer will be notified by the Department 
of Revenue of the amount of reduction of the credit on or before 
December 31 of the year following the calendar year in which the 
investment was made.

A taxpayer will forfeit the credit if:
 (1) Within three years after the investment was made, the taxpayer 

participates in the operation of the qualified business. A taxpayer 
participates in the operation of the qualified business if the 
taxpayer, the taxpayer’s spouse, parent, brother or sister, child, or 
an employee of any of these individuals or of a business controlled 
by any of these individuals provides services of any nature to the 
qualified business for compensation, whether as an employee, a 
contractor, or otherwise.

 (2) The registration of the qualified business is revoked because the 
qualified business provided false information to the Secretary of 
State on its registration application.

 (3) The taxpayer transfers the securities received in the investment to 
another person or entity within one year except in the case of (a) 
the death of the taxpayer, (b) a final distribution in liquidation, or 
(c) a merger, conversion, consolidation, or other similar transaction 
in which no cash or tangible property is received.

 (4) The organization in which the investment was made makes a 
redemption of the securities within five years.  Forfeiture does not 
occur if a redemption is made by a qualified business that engages 
primarily in motion picture film production if (1) the redemption 
occurred because the qualified business completed production of a 
film, sold the film, and was liquidated and (2) neither the qualified 
business nor a related person as described in Code section 267(b) or 
707(b), continues to engage in business with respect to that film. 

A taxpayer who forfeits any credit must repay the credit plus interest 30 
days after the date the credit is forfeited. The credit is repealed effective 
for investments made on or after January 1, 2011.

20.   Credit for Investing in Renewable Energy Property
        (G.S. 105-129.16A)

 A tax credit is allowed for 35% of the cost of renewable energy property 
constructed, purchased, or leased and placed into service in the State during 
the taxable year.  Renewable energy property includes biomass equipment, 
hydroelectric generators, solar energy equipment, wind equipment, 
geothermal heat pumps and geothermal equipment.  The credit is not 
allowable for renewable energy property leased from another person unless 
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the taxpayer has written certification from the lessor that he will not claim 
a credit with respect to the leased property.  
 If the renewable energy property serves a single-family dwelling, the credit 
is taken in the taxable year in which the property is placed in service.  For all 
other property, the credit is taken in five equal installments beginning with the 
year the property is placed in service.  The credit may not exceed 50% of the 
tax for the year, reduced by the sum of all other tax credits.  This limitation 
applies to the cumulative amount of credit, including carryforwards.  Any 
unused portion of the credit may be carried forward for the succeeding five 
years.  If the property is disposed of, taken out of service, or moved out of 
the State during the five-year installment period, the credit expires and any 
remaining installments of the credit may not be taken.
 The credit is subject to various ceilings.  For nonresidential property, the credit 
may not exceed $2,500,000 per installation.  For renewable energy property 
placed in service for residential purposes, the following ceilings apply:

· $1,400 per dwelling unit for solar energy equipment for domestic 
water heating, including pool heating;

· $3,500 per dwelling unit for solar energy equipment for active 
space heating, combined active space and domestic hot water 
systems, and passive space heating; and 

· $10,500 per installation for any other renewable energy property 
placed in service.

· $8,400 per installation for geothermal heat pump and geothermal 
equipment.

 The credit is repealed effective for renewable energy property placed in 
service on or after January 1, 2016.

21. Credit for Small Business Employee Health Insurance (G.S. 105-
129.16E)

  A tax credit is allowable to a small business that provides health insurance 
for all of its eligible employees during the taxable year.  A taxpayer that 
employs no more that 25 eligible employees at any one time during the 
taxable year is considered a small business.  

A taxpayer provides health benefits if the taxpayer pays at least 50% of 
the premiums for health care coverage that equals or exceeds the minimum 
provisions of the basic health care plan of coverage recommended by 
the Small Employer Carrier Committee pursuant to G.S. 58-50-125 or 
its employees have qualifying existing coverage.  The amount of credit 
per eligible employee is the lesser of $250 or the taxpayer’s actual cost 
of providing health benefits for the taxable year.  The credit is limited to 
insurance paid for an eligible employee whose wages or salary from the 
business does not exceed $40,000 on an annual basis.

  A part-year resident or nonresident is allowed a prorated credit based 
on the percentage of the taxpayer’s total income that is taxable for North 
Carolina income tax purposes.  The credit expires for taxable years 
beginning on or after January 1, 2010.



72

22. Credit for Rehabilitating Income-Producing Historic Structure 
(G.S. 105-129.35) 

 Generally, a taxpayer who is allowed a federal income tax credit 
under section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code for making rehabilitation 
expenditures for a certified historic structure located in North Carolina 
is allowed a credit equal to 20% of the expenditures that qualify for the 
federal credit (40% of expenditures if the facility at one time served as a 
State training school for juvenile offenders).  A pass-through entity that 
qualifies for the credit may allocate the credit among any of its owners in 
its discretion as long as an owner’s adjusted basis is at least 40% of the 
amount of the credit allocated to that owner.
 To claim the credit, the taxpayer must provide a copy of the certification 
obtained from the State Historic Preservation Officer verifying that the 
historic structure has been rehabilitated in accordance with the Secretary 
of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation. 
 The credit for rehabilitating an income-producing historic structure 
must be claimed in five equal installments beginning with the taxable 
year in which the property is placed in service.  Any unused portion of 
the credit may be carried forward for the succeeding five years.

23. Credit for Rehabilitating Nonincome-Producing Historic 
Structure (G.S. 105-129.36)

Generally, a taxpayer who is not allowed a federal income tax 
credit under section 47 of the Internal Revenue Code and who makes 
rehabilitation expenses for a State-certified historic structure located in 
North Carolina is allowed a credit equal to 30% of the rehabilitation 
expenses (40% of qualifying expenditures if the certified historic structure 
is a facility that at one time served as a State training school for juvenile 
offenders).  To qualify for the credit, the rehabilitation expenses must 
exceed $25,000 within a 24-month period.  Rehabilitation expenses do 
not include the cost of acquiring the property, site work, personal property 
or cost attributable to the enlargement of the existing property.  To claim 
the credit the taxpayer must attach to the return a copy of the certification 
obtained from the State Historic Preservation Officer verifying that the 
historic structure has been rehabilitated in accordance with the Secretary 
of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation.  
   The credit for rehabilitating an historic structure must be claimed in 
five equal installments beginning with the taxable year in which the 
property is placed in service.  Any unused portion of the credit may be 
carried forward for the succeeding five years. 

24.  Credit for Income-Producing Rehabilitated Mill Property  
(G.S. 105-129.71)

A taxpayer that places eligible rehabilitated mill property into service 
and is allowed a federal income tax credit under Code section 47 for 
making qualified rehabilitation expenditures with respect to an eligible 
site is allowed a State credit equal to a percentage of the expenditures that 
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qualify for the federal credit.  The credit may be claimed in the year the 
eligible site is placed in service.  If the eligible site is placed in service 
in phases in different years, the credit may be claimed for each year 
based on the qualified expenditures associated with the phase placed in 
service during that year.  Any unused credit may be carried forward for 
the succeeding nine years. 

   To be eligible for the credit, the taxpayer must attach to the return a 
copy of the eligibility certification and the cost certification from the State 
Historic Preservation Officer.  The amount of the credit is 40% of the 
qualified expenditures if the eligible site is located in a tier one, two, or 
three area on the date of certification or 30% of the qualified expenditures 
if the eligible site is located in a tier four or five area.  

   A pass-through entity that qualifies for the credit is allowed to 
allocate the credit among any of its owners in its discretion as long as 
an owner’s adjusted basis in the pass-through entity at the end of the 
taxable year in which the eligible site is placed in service is at least 40% 
of the amount of credit allocated to that owner.  This differs from the 
allocation principles in G.S. 105-131.8 and G.S. 105-269.15 that apply 
to all other tax credits.  Under the general allocations provisions in 
G.S. 105-131.8 and G.S. 105-269.15, tax credits are allocated among S 
corporation shareholders in accordance with their pro rata share of the 
corporation, which is determined on the basis of stock ownership, and 
tax credits are allocated among partners in a partnership in accordance 
with the partnership agreement.  The allocation made by the partnership 
must have a substantial economic effect, which means that the allocation 
agreement must reflect the economic interests of the partners in the 
partnership and cannot be based solely on tax consequences.  A statement 
of the allocation made under the special provision for this credit and the 
allocation that would have been required if this provision were not law 
must be included with the tax returns filed by the pass-through entity and 
the owners for each year in which the allocated credit is claimed.

   The owner of a pass-through entity must forfeit a portion of the credit 
for rehabilitating income-producing mill property if the owner disposes 
of more than one-third of the owner’s interest in the pass-through entity 
within five years from the date the eligible site is placed in service.  The 
forfeiture amount is determined by multiplying the amount of the credit by 
the percentage reduction in ownership and then multiplying that product 
by the federal recapture percentage found in Code section 50(a)(1)(B).

   Forfeiture is not required if the change in ownership is the result of a 
death of the owner, or a merger, consolidation, or similar transaction requiring 
approval by the shareholders, partners or members of the taxpayer under 
applicable State law, to the extent the taxpayer does not receive cash or 
tangible property in the merger, consolidation, or other similar transaction.

   An owner of a pass-through entity that forfeits a credit for change 
in ownership is liable for all past taxes avoided as the result of claiming 
the credit, plus interest at the rate established under G.S. 105-241.1(i) 
computed from the date the taxes would have been due if the credit had 
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not been allowed.  The past taxes and interest are due thirty days after 
the date the credit is forfeited.  If the taxes and interest are not paid by 
the due date, the taxpayer is subject to the penalties in G.S. 105-236.

25.  Credit for Nonincome-Producing Rehabilitated Mill Property  
(G.S. 105-129.72)

A taxpayer that places eligible rehabilitated mill property into service 
and is not allowed a federal income tax credit under Code section 47 and 
that makes qualified rehabilitation expenses with respect to an eligible 
site is allowed a State tax credit equal to a percentage of the rehabilitation 
expenses.  The credit may be claimed in five equal installments beginning 
in the year the eligible site is placed in service.  If the eligible site is 
placed in service in phases in different years, the credit may be claimed 
for each year based on the qualified expenses associated with the phase 
placed in service during that year.  Any unused credit may be carried 
forward for the succeeding nine years.

   To be eligible for the credit, the taxpayer must attach to the return 
a copy of the eligibility certification and the cost certification from the 
State Historic Preservation Officer.  The amount of the credit is 40% of 
qualified expenditures if the eligible site is located in a tier one, two, or 
three area on the date of certification.  No credit is allowed if the eligible 
site is in a tier four or five area.

   A pass-through entity that qualifies for the credit is allowed to allocate 
the credit among any of its owners in its discretion as long as an owner’s 
adjusted basis in the pass-through entity at the end of the taxable year in 
which the eligible site is placed in service is at least 40% of the amount of 
credit allocated to that owner.  This differs from the allocation principles 
in G.S. 105-131.8 and G.S. 105-269.15 that apply to all other tax credits.  
Under the general allocation provisions, tax credits are allocated among 
S corporation shareholders in accordance with their pro rata share of the 
corporation, which is determined on the basis of stock ownership, and 
tax credits are allocated among partners in a partnership in accordance 
with the partnership agreement.  The allocation made by the partnership 
must have a substantial economic effect, which means that the allocation 
agreement must reflect the economic interests of the partners in the 
partnership and cannot be based solely on tax consequences.  A statement 
of the allocation made under the special provision for this credit and the 
allocation that would have been required if this provision were not law 
must be included with the tax returns filed by the pass-through entity and 
the owners for each year in which the allocated credit is claimed.

   A taxpayer will forfeit the credit if an owner of a pass-through entity 
disposes of more than one-third of the owner’s interest in the pass-through 
entity within five years from the date the eligible site is placed in service, 
the owner must forfeit a portion of the credit for rehabilitating nonincome-
producing mill property.  The forfeiture amount is determined by multiplying 
the amount of the credit by the percentage reduction in ownership and then 
multiplying that product by the federal recapture percentage found in Code 
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section 50(a)(1)(B).  The remaining allowable credit is allocated equally 
among the five years in which the credit is claimed.

   Forfeiture is not required if the change in ownership is the result of a 
death of the owner, or a merger, consolidation, or similar transaction requiring 
approval by the shareholders, partners or members of the taxpayer under 
applicable State law, to the extent the taxpayer does not receive cash or 
tangible property in the merger, consolidation, or other similar transaction.

   An owner of a pass-through entity that forfeits a credit for change in 
ownership is liable for all past taxes avoided as the result of claiming the 
credit, plus interest at the rate established under G.S. 105-241.1(i) computed 
from the date the taxes would have been due if the credit had not been 
allowed.  The past taxes and interest are due thirty days after the date the 
credit is forfeited.  If the taxes and interest are not paid by the due date, the 
taxpayer is subject to the penalties provided in G.S. 105-236.

26.  Business Targeted Tax Credits
Individuals, partnerships, trusts, and estates may be eligible to claim 

business targeted tax credits for:
 • Creating Jobs
 • Investing in Machinery and Equipment
 • Research and Development
 • Worker Training
 • Investing in Central Office or Aircraft Facility Property 
 • Contributions to Development Zone Projects 
 •  Technology Commercialization
 • Investing in Low-Income Housing 
 • Nonhazardous Dry-Cleaning Equipment
 • Work Opportunity
 • Constructing a Railroad Intermodal
 • Biodiesel Producers

 For information about these credits, see the Tax Credits subsection in 
the Corporate Income Tax section of the Franchise Tax and Corporate 
Tax Rules and Bulletins.
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XII.  Subject:  Statute of Limitations and Federal Determinations

1. General
The law contains certain time limitations, generally referred to as the 

“statute of limitations.”
An income tax return from which information required to calculate the 

taxpayer’s income tax liability has been omitted is not a return for the 
purpose of determining the applicable statute of limitations.  The date 
the return is filed which contains sufficient information upon which to 
determine the tax liability is the determining date.

2. Federal Determinations
If the amount of a taxpayer’s federal taxable income for any year is 

changed, corrected, or otherwise determined by the federal government, 
the taxpayer must file a North Carolina return or amended return to report 
the changes within six months from the date the report was received.

Under G.S. 105-241.10, the Department may assess additional tax that 
results only from adjustments related to the federal determination if the 
tax year is otherwise barred by statute.

3. Statue of Limitations for Refunds
The Department of Revenue will refund an overpayment of $1.00 or more 

if the statute of limitations has not expired.  A refund of less than $1.00 will 
not be made unless the taxpayer files a written request for a refund.  The 
general statute of limitations for filing a claim for refund of overpayment 
of taxes is three years after the due date of the return or two years after 
payment of the tax, whichever is later.  The following exceptions apply:

(a) If a taxpayer files a timely return reflecting a federal determination, 
the period of time for requesting a refund is one year after the return 
reflecting the federal determination is filed or three years after the 
original return was filed or due to be filed, whichever is later.

(b) A taxpayer’s waiver of the statute of limitations for making a 
proposed assessment extends the period in which the taxpayer can 
obtain a refund to the end of the period extended by the waiver.

(c) For overpayments attributable to worthless debts or securities, the 
period of time for demanding a refund is seven years.

(d) For overpayments attributable to capital loss and net operating 
loss carrybacks, the period of time for demanding a refund is three 
years from the due date of the return for the year in which the loss 
was incurred rather than three years from the due date of the return 
for the year to which the loss is carried back.

4. Statute of Limitations for Assessments
The general statute of limitations for proposing an assessment is three 

years after the due date of the return or three years after the return was 
filed, whichever is later.  The following exceptions apply:
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(a) If a taxpayer files a timely return reflecting a federal determination, 
the period of time for proposing an assessment of any tax due is 
one year after the return is filed or three years after the original 
return was filed or due to be filed, whichever is later.  If there is a 
federal determination and a timely return is not filed, the proposed 
assessment must be made within three years after the date the 
Department received the final report of the federal determination.

 (b) If a taxpayer did not file a return, filed a fraudulent return, or 
attempted to fraudulently evade or defeat the tax, there is no statute 
of limitations and an assessment may be proposed at any time.

 (c) If a taxpayer forfeits a tax credit or tax benefit, the period of time 
for proposing an assessment of any tax due resulting from the 
forfeiture is three years after the date of the forfeiture.

There is no statutory provision prohibiting an assessment for a given 
year after an assessment has already been proposed for that year.  
Subsequent assessments can be made upon the discovery of new facts.

5. Limit on Refunds and Assessments After a Federal Determination 
When a taxpayer files a timely return reflecting a federal determination 

that affects the amount of State tax payable and the general statute of 
limitations for requesting a refund or proposing an assessment of the 
State tax has expired, the taxpayer is entitled to a refund or is liable 
for additional tax only if the refund or additional tax is the result of 
adjustments related to the federal determination.  A federal determination 
is a correction or final determination by the federal government of the 
amount of a federal tax due.

6. Appeals Process
For details regarding the appeals process for a proposed assessment or 

denial of a refund, please refer to the Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights which 
is located near the beginning of this publication.  In addition, please 
refer to the 2007 Tax Law Changes, Section 6, beginning on page 70 
for additional information on the appeals process.

7. Federal Determinations and Fraud
When there is a federal determination and a fraud penalty is assessed by 

the federal government, the State may open the year on the basis of either 
fraud or the federal assessment; and if a State return has not been filed, the 
50 percent fraud penalty and the 5 percent per month ($5.00 minimum; 
25 percent maximum) delinquency penalty may be assessed.

8. Collection of Tax
The Department may collect a tax in the following circumstances:
(1) When a taxpayer files a return showing an amount due with the 

return and does not pay the amount shown due.
(2) When the Department sends a notice of collection after a taxpayer 

does not file a timely request for a Department review of a proposed 
assessment of tax.
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(3) When a taxpayer and the Department agree on a settlement
concerning the amount of tax due.

(4) When the Department sends a notice of final determination
concerning an assessment of tax and the taxpayer does not file a
timely petition for a contested case hearing on the assessment.

(5) When a final decision is issued on a proposed assessment of tax
after a contested case hearing.

(6) When the Office of Administrative Hearing dismisses a petition for
a contested case for lack of jurisdiction because the sole issue is the
constitutionality of a statute and not the application of a statute.

9. Protective Refund Claim
A protective refund claim is a claim filed to protect a taxpayer’s right to a

potential refund based on a contingent event for a taxable period for which 
the statute of limitations is about to expire.  A protective claim is usually 
based on contingencies such as pending litigation or a tax determination in 
another state.

The Department of Revenue will accept a protective claim for refund 
provided it (1) is filed before the expiration of the usual refund claim period; 
(2) identifies and describes the contingencies affecting the claim; (3) is
sufficiently clear and definite to alert the Department of Revenue as to the
essential nature of the claim; and (4) identifies a specific year or years for
which a refund is claimed.

 There is no special form for filing a protective claim.  The Department 
of Revenue will accept any written submission provided it contains all the 
required elements.  Upon conclusion of the contingency, a taxpayer may 
perfect the claim for refund by filing an amended return for the tax year at 
issue.  The six-month period within which the Department must take action 
on a claim for refund does not begin on a protective claim until the amended 
return perfecting the claim is filed.

It is not necessary for a taxpayer to file a protective refund claim for a year 
under examination by the Internal Revenue Service because, under North 
Carolina law, a taxpayer has six months to file an amended return to report 
federal changes. (See 2. Federal Determinations)

10. Servicemembers Civil Relief Act
Certain sections of the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (formerly the

Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act of 1940) are pertinent to matters 
of federal and state taxation.  With respect to payment of income tax, the 
act provides for the deferment of payment of income tax for a period of 
180 days after military service ends if the servicemember’s inability to 
pay the tax was caused by military service.  No penalty or interest shall 
accrue during the period of deferment. 

11. Combat Zone
An individual serving in the Armed Forces, or serving in support of

the Armed Forces, in an area designated by the President as a combat 
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zone who receives an extension of time to file his or her federal income 
tax return and receives relief from the accrual of penalty and interest 
as a result of serving in a combat zone or for being hospitalized as a 
result of wounds, disease, or injury sustained while serving in a combat 
zone, will receive the same extension of time for filing and the same 
relief from the accrual of penalty and interest for State income tax  
purposes.

The compensation of a military or civilian employee of the United 
States who dies as a result of terroristic or military action is exempt from 
State income tax for the same periods for which his income is exempt 
for federal income tax purposes.

12. Waiver of Time Limitation
A taxpayer may make a written waiver of the limitations of time

specified by law for assessing any tax or additional tax, for either a 
definite or indefinite period of time, and if such waiver is accepted, the 
Secretary of Revenue may propose an assessment at any time within the 
extended period.  An agreement by a taxpayer to extend the time in which 
the Secretary of Revenue can assess the taxpayer automatically extends 
the period of time for refunds of overpayments by the taxpayer. 
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XIII. Subject: Penalties, Interest, and Required Filing of
Information Returns

1. General
The North Carolina Statutes provide both civil and criminal penalties for

failure to comply with the income tax laws.
In addition to any applicable penalty, all assessments of taxes or additional taxes 

bear interest at the applicable rate from the due date until date of payment.

2. Failure To File and Failure To Pay Penalties
Under the provisions of G.S. 105-236, both the late filing and late payment

penalties can be applied for the same month. If the return is filed late without 
payment of the tax shown due, both the late filing and late payment penalties 
will be assessed at the same time.

If the return is filed under an extension, the late filing penalty will be 
assessed from the extended filing date rather than from the original due date. 
The late payment penalty is 10 percent of the tax not paid by the original 
due date of the return and will apply on any remaining balance due if the tax 
paid by the original due date of the return is less than 90 percent of the total 
amount of tax due. If the 90 percent rule is met, any remaining balance due, 
including interest, must be paid with the income tax return on or before the 
expiration of the extension period to avoid the late payment penalty. Interest 
is due from the original due date to the date paid.

The late-payment penalty will not be assessed if the amount shown due on 
an amended return is paid with the return. Proposed assessments of additional 
tax due are subject to the 10 percent late-payment penalty if payment of the 
tax is not received within 45 days of the assessment.

3. Negligence Penalties
When there is an understatement of taxable income equal to 25 percent or

more of gross income, the 25 percent negligence penalty will be assessed. 
When the percentage of understatement of taxable income is less than 25 
percent, the 10 percent negligence penalty may be applied. The application 
of the 10 percent negligence penalty is based on the understatement of tax 
and will be made on the basis of the facts in each case. When the accuracy 
penalty has been assessed for federal income tax purposes, the 10 percent 
negligence penalty will be assessed for State income tax purposes, unless 
the 25 percent negligence penalty applies.

A negligence penalty cannot be assessed when the fraud penalty has been 
assessed with respect to the same deficiency. There is no minimum dollar 
amount of negligence penalty.

4. Failure To Report Federal Changes
When a taxpayer fails to report federal changes within six months from

the date the Internal Revenue Agent’s report was received, the taxpayer is 
subject to the failure to file penalty and forfeits the right to any refund as 
the result of the federal changes. The failure to file penalty begins at the 
expiration of the six month period. 
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5. Fraud
When an examination of an income tax return is based on a federal audit 

report and the fraud penalty has been assessed for federal purposes, the 50 
percent fraud penalty will be assessed for State purposes. When the fraud 
penalty is assessed, no penalty for negligence or failure to pay shall be 
assessed with respect to the same deficiency; however, other penalties that 
apply, such as failure to file, will be assessed.

6. Collection Assistance Fee   
   Any tax, penalty, and interest not paid within 90 days after the tax debt 
becomes collectible is subject to a 20 percent collection assistance fee.   The 
fee will not apply if payments are being made pursuant to an installment 
agreement that became effective within 90 days after the debt became 
collectible.

7. Interest 
Interest accrues on tax not paid by the original due date even though a 

taxpayer may have an extension of time for filing the return. Interest accrues 
on overpayments beginning 45 days after the latest of (1) the date  the final 
return was filed, (2) the date the final return was due to be filed, or (3) the 
date of the overpayment. The law requires the Secretary of Revenue to 
establish the interest rate on or before June 1 for the following six-month 
period beginning on July 1, and on or before December 1 for the following 
six-month period beginning on January 1. The rate set by the Secretary may 
not be less than 5 percent per year or greater than 16 percent per year.  The 
current rate of interest may be obtained by calling the Department of Revenue 
or from the Department’s website.

8. Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax
Interest on the underpayment of estimated income tax is computed on 

Form D-422, Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax by Individuals.  If  
interest on the underpayment is applicable, add the amount of the interest to 
the tax due and include the full payment with the return.  (See XX. Interest 
on Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax for explanation.)

9. Waiver of Penalty
Any penalty may be waived by the Secretary of Revenue pursuant 

to the Department of Revenue penalty policy. A request for waiver or 
reduction of penalty must be in writing and must include an explanation 
for the request. Interest cannot be waived or reduced.
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XIV.  Subject: Miscellaneous Rules

 1.  When a payment is received by the Department of Revenue for less 
than the correct tax, penalty, and interest due under the law and the facts 
and the payment includes the statement, “paid in full” or other similar 
statements, the payment will be deposited as required by G.S. 147-77. 
The endorsement and deposit of the payment with such statement will 
not make the statement binding on the Department of Revenue and 
will not prevent the collection of the correct balance due.

 2.  The Department of Revenue is authorized by law to photograph, 
photocopy, or microphotocopy all records of the Department, 
including tax returns, and such copies, when certified by the 
Department as true and correct copies, shall be admissible in 
evidence in all actions, proceedings, and matters as the original 
would have been. (G.S. 8-45.3)

 3.  In some cases debts owed to certain State, local, and county 
agencies will be collected from an individual’s income tax refund. 
If the agency files a claim with the Department for a debt of at least 
$50.00 and the refund is at least $50.00, the debt will be set off and 
paid from the refund.  The Department will notify the debtor of the 
set-off and will refund any balance which may be due. The agency 
receiving the amount set-off will also notify the debtor and give 
the debtor an opportunity to contest the debt.  If an individual has 
an outstanding federal income tax liability of at least $50.00, the 
Internal Revenue Service may claim the individual’s North Carolina 
income tax refund.

 4.  An individual may elect to contribute all or any portion of an income 
tax refund (at least $1.00 or more) to the North Carolina Nongame and 
Endangered Wildlife Fund. Once the election is made to contribute, 
the election cannot be revoked after the return has been filed.

   Your tax deductible contributions are essential to match private 
and federal grants to pay for conservation projects for sea turtles to 
songbirds, from native fish to bats.  Conserving these species and their 
habitat is made possible by your contributions.  If you are not due a 
refund, you may still contribute to the Fund by mailing your donation 
directly to the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, 1722 
Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina.  Checks may be made 
payable to the Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Fund.

 5.  A taxpayer may designate $3.00 of the tax paid for use by the 
Democratic or Republican Parties.  If the taxpayer does not specify 
a party, the amount designated will be distributed to political parties 
in North Carolina on a pro rata basis according to voter registrations. 
No political party with less than one percent of the total number 
of registered voters in the State will receive any of the designated 
funds.  Married couples filing a joint return may make a designation 
only if their income tax liability is $6.00 or more. The designation 
will neither increase the tax nor reduce the refund.
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 6.  A taxpayer may designate $3.00 of the tax paid to the North 
Carolina Public Campaign Fund.  On a joint return, each spouse 
may designate $3.00 to the Fund.   The designation will neither 
increase the tax nor reduce the refund.  The Fund provides  an 
alternative source of campaign money to qualified candidates who 
accept strict campaign spending and fund-raising limits.  The Fund 
also helps finance a Voter Guide with educational materials about 
voter registration, the role of the appellate courts, and the candidates 
seeking election as appellate judges in North Carolina.

 7.  Tenancy by the Entirety: When filing separate returns, a 
determination must be made as to that portion of the income or loss 
from real property that must be reported by each spouse. Under 
G.S. 39-13.6, a husband and wife have equal right to the control, 
use, possession, rents, income, and profit from real property held 
as tenants by the entirety and each spouse is taxed on one-half of 
the income or loss from such property located in North Carolina.

   When real property conveyed jointly in the name of husband and 
wife is located in another state and the share of ownership of each is 
not fixed in the deed or other instrument creating the co-tenancy, each 
spouse is considered as having received one-half of the income or 
loss from the real property unless they can demonstrate that the laws 
of that particular state with respect to the right to the income from 
the property allocate the income or losses in a different manner.

 8.  An individual may elect to have an income tax refund applied 
to estimated income tax for the following year. For example, an 
individual due a refund on the 2009 income tax return may have all 
or any portion of the refund applied to his estimated tax for 2010. 
The individual may not, however, file a 2009 tax return in 2011 and 
request the refund be applied to 2011 estimated tax since the refund 
can only be applied to the tax year which follows the year for which 
the request for refund is made. The last allowable date for making 
a 2008 estimated tax payment is January 15, 2011; therefore, you 
must file your 2009 income tax return by January 15, 2011, to elect 
to apply a portion of your refund to 2010 estimated tax.

   If an individual makes a valid election, that individual may not 
revoke the election in order to have the amount refunded or applied 
in any other manner, such as an offset against any subsequently 
determined tax liability.

 9.  Cancelled checks, receipts, or other evidence to substantiate 
deductions on the tax return should be kept for a period of at least 
three years from the due date of the return or three years from the date 
the return is filed, whichever is later. Lack of adequate records could 
result in the disallowance of all or part of the deductions claimed.

   A cancelled check, money order stub, or Departmental receipt 
showing payment of tax should be kept for at least five years from 
the due date of the tax return.
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 10.  In determining North Carolina taxable income, G.S. 105-134.6(b) 
allows an individual to deduct from federal taxable income interest 
received from obligations of the United States or its possessions, the 
State of North Carolina or its political subdivisions, and nonprofit 
educational institutions located in North Carolina, to the extent 
the interest is included in the individual’s federal gross income. 
Under this statute, an individual is allowed to deduct the total of 
such interest included in federal gross income even though certain 
expenses incurred in earning the interest are allowed as deductions 
on the federal income tax return.

   G.S. 105-134.6(c) requires an individual to add interest income 
received from obligations of states other than North Carolina and 
their political subdivisions to federal taxable income in calculating  
North Carolina taxable income, to the extent the interest is not 
included in federal gross income. Under this statute, an individual 
is required to add the total of such interest to federal taxable income 
even though the individual may have incurred expenses in earning 
the interest. 

 11.  Every individual, fiduciary, partnership, corporation, or unit of 
government buying real property located in North Carolina from 
a nonresident individual, partnership, estate or trust is required to 
complete Form NC-1099NRS, Report of Sale of Real Property 
by Nonresidents, reporting the seller’s name, address, and social 
security number, or federal employer identification number; the 
location of the property; the date of closing; and the gross sales price 
of the real property and its associated tangible personal property. 
Within fifteen days of the closing date of the sale, the buyer must 
file the report with the Department of Revenue and furnish a copy 
of the report to the seller.

 12.    Like all states that have a sales tax, North Carolina has a use tax 
on out-of-state purchases.  The use tax applies to purchases made 
outside the State for use inside the State.  North Carolina residents are 
responsible for paying use tax on their out-of-state purchases.  The 
use tax should be reported on the individual income tax return.

   A North Carolina resident owes use tax on an out-of-state 
purchase when the item purchased is subject to the North Carolina 
sales tax and the retailer making the sale does not collect sales tax 
on the sale or the state and local sales tax imposed by the other 
state is less than the state and local sales tax imposed by North 
Carolina.  Items that are subject to sales tax include computers and 
other electronic equipment, software, books, audio and video tapes, 
compact discs, records, clothing, appliances, furniture and other 
home furnishings, sporting goods, and jewelry. Out-of-state retailers 
include mail-order companies, television shopping networks, 
firms selling over the internet, and retailers located outside North 
Carolina.  When an out-of-state retailer does not collect sales tax, 
or the tax collected is less than the state and local sales tax imposed 
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by North Carolina, the responsibility of paying the tax falls on the 
purchaser.  North Carolina residents are responsible for paying use 
tax on the following purchases when the applicable sales tax is not 
collected and the purchases are for use in this State:

 · Catalog, internet, or  mail-order purchases from out-of-state 
vendors.

 · Purchases from other states or countries.
 · Purchases from television shopping networks or clubs.
 · Vacation or other travel purchases, whether delivered to you in 

another state or shipped to you in North Carolina.
 · Any other purchases subject to tax on which the applicable tax was 

not paid.
   The use tax is calculated at the same rate as the sales tax.   

Taxpayers who paid another state’s sales or use tax on out-of-state 
purchases may credit that amount against the North Carolina use 
tax due.  Taxpayers may not claim a credit for sales tax or value-
added tax paid to another country.  

   Worksheets for determining the North Carolina use tax are 
available in the individual income tax instructions.
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XV. Subject: Withholding from Pensions, Annuities, and Deferred 
Compensation (G.S. 105-163.2A)

1.   General 
 A pension payer required to withhold federal tax under section 3405 
of the Code on a pension payment to a North Carolina resident must 
also withhold State income tax from the pension payment.  If a payee 
has provided a North Carolina address to a pension payer, the payee is 
presumed to be a North Carolina resident and the payer is required to 
withhold State tax unless the payee elects no withholding.  A pension 
payer that either fails to withhold or to remit tax that is withheld is liable 
for the tax.
     A pension payer must treat a pension payment paid to an individual as 
if it were an employer’s payment of wages to an employee.  If the pension 
payer has more than one arrangement under which distributions may be 
made to an individual, each arrangement must be treated separately.

2.			Definitions.  
  Unless otherwise specified below, the definitions, provisions, and 
requirements of section 3405 of the Internal Revenue Code with respect 
to federal withholding on pensions are applicable to State withholding 
on pensions.
a. Pension payer – A payer or a plan administrator with respect to a 

pension payment under section 3405 of the Code.
b. Pension payment – A periodic payment or a nonperiodic distribution, 

as those terms are defined in section 3405 of the Code.  

 3.   Amount to Withhold 
   In the case of a periodic payment, as defined in Code section 
3405(e)(2), the payer must withhold as if the recipient were a married 
person with three allowances unless the recipient provides an exemption 
certificate (Form NC-4P) reflecting a different filing status or number 
of allowances.  Form NC-4P, Withholding Certificate for Pension or 
Annuity Payments, is used by a recipient of pension payments who is 
a North Carolina resident to report the correct filing status, number of 
allowances, and any additional amount the recipient wants withheld 
from the pension payment.  It may also be used to elect not to have State 
income tax withheld.  In lieu of Form NC-4P, payers may use a substitute 
form if it contains all the provisions included on Form NC-4P.
 For a nonperiodic distribution, as defined in Code section 3405(e)(3),  
four percent (4%) of the distribution must be withheld. A nonperiodic 
distribution includes an eligible rollover distribution as defined in Code 
section 3405(c)(3).  State law differs from federal law with respect to 
eligible rollover distributions.  Federal law imposes a higher rate of 
withholding on eligible rollover distributions than on other nonperiodic 
distributions.  State law imposes the same rate of withholding on all 
nonperiodic distributions.
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4.   Election Not to Have Income Tax Withheld  
    A recipient may elect not to have income tax withheld from a pension 
payment unless the pension payment is an eligible rollover distribution.    
A recipient of a pension payment that is an eligible rollover distribution 
does not have the option of electing not to have State tax withheld from 
the distribution.
  Except for eligible rollovers, a recipient of a pension payment who 
has federal income tax withheld can elect not to have State income tax 
withheld.  Conversely, a recipient who has State income tax withheld 
can elect not to have federal income tax withheld.
 An election not to have tax withheld from a pension payment remains 
in effect until revoked by the recipient.  An election not to have tax 
withheld is void if the recipient does not furnish the recipient’s tax 
identification number to the payer or furnishes an incorrect identification 
number.   In such cases, the payer will withhold on periodic payments as 
if the recipient is married claiming three allowances and on nonperiodic 
distributions at the rate of 4 percent.
    A nonresident with a North Carolina address should also use Form 
NC-4P to elect not to have State income tax withheld.   Completing Form 
NC-4P and electing not to have State tax withheld does not infer that the 
recipient is a resident of North Carolina.

5.   Exceptions to Withholding  
    Tax is not required to be withheld from the following pension payments: 
  a.  A pension payment that is wages.

b.   Any portion of a pension payment that meets both of the 
following conditions:
(1)  It is not a distribution or payment from an individual 

retirement plan as defined in section 7701 of the Code.
(2)  The pension payer reasonably believes it is not taxable to 

the recipient.
c.  A distribution described in section 404(k)(2) of the Code, relating 

to dividends on corporate securities.
d.  A pension payment that consists only of securities of the 

recipient’s employer corporation plus cash not in excess of $200 
in lieu of securities of the employer corporation.

e.  Distributions of retirement benefits received from North Carolina 
State and local government retirement systems and federal 
retirement systems identified as qualifying retirement systems 
under the terms of the Bailey/Emory/Patton settlement that are 
paid to retirees who were vested in the retirement systems as of 
August 12, 1989.

6.			Notification	Procedures	for	Pension	Payers	
    A pension payer is required to provide each recipient with notice of 
the right not to have State withholding apply and of the right to revoke 
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the election.  The notice requirements for North Carolina purposes are the 
same as the federal notice requirements, which are provided in section 
3405(e)(10) of the Code.  Section D of Federal Regulation 35.3405-1 
contains sample notices that may be modified for State purposes to satisfy 
the notice and election requirements for periodic payments and nonperiodic 
distributions.
 Instead of notification that tax will be withheld unless the recipient 
chooses not to have tax withheld, pension payers may notify recipients 
whose annual payments are less than $10,560 that no State tax will be 
withheld unless the recipient chooses to have State withholding apply.  
Such notice may be provided when making the first payment.  

7.   Reporting and Paying the Withheld Tax 
    A pension payer required to withhold State tax from a pension payment 
but is not already registered with the Department of Revenue for wage 
withholding must register by completing Form NC-BR, Business 
Registration Application for Income Tax Withholding, Sales and Use Tax, 
and Machinery, Equipment, and Manufacturing Fuel Tax.  The completed 
form should be mailed to the N.C. Department of Revenue, Business 
Registration Unit, P.O. Box 25000, Raleigh, North Carolina 27640-0100.  
The payer will be assigned an account identification number and will 
receive forms for paying the State tax withheld.  The payer will initially 
be classified as a quarterly filer.  The filing frequency may change after 
the first year depending on the amount of tax withheld during the first 
year.
 A payer that withholds tax from pensions and also withholds tax 
from wages must report the withholding from pensions with the wage 
withholding unless the payer chooses to report the withholding from 
pensions separately.  For those payers that do not choose to report the 
two types of withholding separately, the payment of tax withheld from 
pensions is due at the time the withholding from wages is due and the 
payer will be subject to penalties and interest on both types of withholding 
based on that due date.  Payers that also withhold from wages but choose 
to report the withholding from pensions separately must file Form NC-BR 
to receive a separate account identification number.  They will receive 
separate forms for paying the tax withheld from pensions.
 A payer that initially chooses to report withholding from pensions 
separately may, at any time, begin reporting the two types of withholding 
together.  If combined reporting is preferred, a payer should report the 
combined withholding under the account  number for reporting wages.  
The payer should complete the Out of Business Notification for the 
separate pension withholding account and file it with the Department.  
The separate withholding account will be closed.  A payer that initially 
reports the two types of withholding at the same time may choose to 
begin reporting the withholding on pensions separately by notifying 
the Business Registration Unit.  The payer must continue to report the 
two types of withholding together until the payer receives the separate 
account identification number and remittance forms from the Department.  
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In either case, the payer must file separate annual reconciliations for the 
year in which the choice is changed.

8. Annual Statements
Payers must report pension income and State tax withheld on Federal

Form 1099-R, Distributions From Pensions, Annuities, Retirement or 
Profit-sharing Plans, IRAs, Insurance Contracts, etc.  Form 1099-R must 
be given to the recipient on or before January 31 following the calendar 
year in which the pension payments were made.  The payer must file an 
annual reconciliation with the Department of Revenue that reconciles the 
amounts withheld from each recipient.  Payers choosing to report pension 
withholding with wage withholding must file one annual reconciliation 
report that includes the two types of withholding.  Payers subject to both 
wage withholding and pension withholding that report the two types of 
withholding separately must file separate annual reconciliations for each 
type of withholding. The annual reconciliation for withholding from 
pensions is due on or before February 28.
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XVl. Subject: Withholding From Nonresidents for Certain Personal 
Services	and	Withholding	on	Contractors	Identified	
by	an	Individual	Taxpayer	Identification	Number	(ITIN)	
(G.S. 105-163.1 through G.S. 105-163.24)

1. General
North Carolina income tax is required to be withheld from non-wage 

compensation paid to nonresidents for certain personal services rendered 
in this State.   Effective January 1, 2010, North Carolina tax is also 
required to be withheld from non-wage compensation paid to an ITIN 
holder for services performed in this State. The requirement to withhold 
applies to payers who, in the course of a trade or business, pay more than 
$1,500 of non-wage compensation to:

a. A nonresident individual or to a nonresident entity for services 
performed in this State in connection with a performance, an 
entertainment or athletic event, a speech, or the creation of a film, 
radio, or television program, or  

b. An ITIN holder for services performed in this State.
These payers must withhold North Carolina income tax at the rate of 
four percent (4%) from the compensation.

2.	Definitions
a. Compensation - Consideration a payer pays to any of the 

following:  
 (1) A nonresident individual or nonresident entity for personal  

 services performed in this State.                             
 (2)  An ITIN holder who is a contractor and not an employee
  for services performed in this State.  
b. ITIN contractor - An ITIN holder who performs services in this 

State for compensation other than wages. 
c. ITIN holder - A person whose taxpayer identification number is 

an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN).  An ITIN is 
issued by the IRS to a person who is required to have a taxpayer 
identification number but does not have and is not eligible to obtain 
a social security number.

d. Nonresident Contractor - Either of the following:
 (1)  A nonresident individual who performs in this State for 
  compensation other than wages any personal services in 
  connection with a performance, an entertainment or athletic 
  event, a speech, or the creation of a film, radio, or television 
  program.
 (2)  A nonresident entity that provides for the performance in this 
  State for compensation of any personal services in connection 
  with a performance, an entertainment or athletic event, a
  speech, or the creation of a film, radio, or television program.
e. Nonresident entity - Any of the following:
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	 (1) A foreign limited liability company that has not obtained 
  a certificate of authority from the Secretary of State
  pursuant to Article 7 of Chapter 57C of the General Statutes.
 (2) A foreign limited partnership or a general partnership
  formed under the laws of any jurisdiction other than this
  State, unless the partnership maintains a permanent place of  

 business in this State.
 (3) A foreign corporation that has not obtained a certificate of 
  authority from the Secretary of State pursuant to Article 15 
  of Chapter 55 of the General Statutes.
f. Payer - A person who, in the course of a trade or business, pays 

compensation to any of the following:
 (1) A nonresident individual or a nonresident entity
  compensation for personal services performed in this State.
 (2) An ITIN holder who is a contractor and not an employee
  for services performed in this State. 

3. Exceptions to Withholding 
Tax is not required to be withheld from compensation paid to a non-

resident entity if the entity meets certain requirements. No tax is required 
to be withheld if the entity is a corporation or a limited liability company 
that has obtained a certificate of authority from the Secretary of State. 
The payer must obtain from the entity and retain in its records the entity’s 
identification number issued by the Secretary of State. 

If the entity is a partnership, no tax is required to be withheld if the 
partnership has a permanent place of business in this State. The payer 
must obtain from the partnership and retain in its records the partnership’s 
address and taxpayer identification number.

No tax is required to be withheld from an entity that is exempt from 
North Carolina corporate income tax under G.S. 105-130.11. This in-
cludes any organization that is exempt from federal income tax under 
the Internal Revenue Code.  The entity must provide documentation 
of its tax exemption to the payer, such as a copy of the organization’s 
federal determination letter of tax exemption or a copy of a letter of tax 
exemption from the Department of Revenue.

Tax is not required to be withheld from personal services income paid 
to an individual who is an ordained or licensed member of the clergy 
or who is a resident of North Carolina. The payer must obtain from any 
individual from whom the payer does not withhold because the individual 
is a resident of this State the individual’s address and social security 
number and retain this information in its records.

4. Threshold
Withholding is required only if the nonresident contractor or ITIN 

contractor is paid or is expected to be paid more than $1,500 during 
the calendar year.  Tax is not required to be withheld from a payment 
of compensation to a contractor if the payment is $1,500 or less and, at 
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the time the payment is made, the payer does not believe that the total 
compensation to be paid to the contractor during the year will exceed 
$1,500.  If additional compensation paid to the contractor later in the 
year causes total compensation for the year to exceed $1,500, the payer 
is not required to withhold tax from the additional compensation to 
make up for the compensation from which no tax was withheld.  For 
example, the payer pays a nonresident contractor $900 in January, 2010. 
Since the compensation is $1,500 or less, no tax is withheld. Later in 
2010, the same nonresident is paid an additional $800. The payer must 
withhold $32 from the $800 compensation ($800 x 4%) because the total 
compensation paid to the contractor for the year now exceeds $1,500.  
If the payer makes regular payments to the contractor during the year, 
the total of which is expected to exceed $1,500, tax must be withheld 
from each payment.

5. Reporting and Paying the Withheld Tax
A payer who withholds tax from personal services income, or from 

income paid to an ITIN contractor, but who is not already registered 
with the Department of Revenue for wage withholding, must register by 
completing Form NC-BR, Business Registration Application for Income 
Tax Withholding, Sales and Use Tax, and Machinery, Equipment, and 
Manufacturing Fuel Tax, and returning the form to the North Carolina 
Department of Revenue at Post Office Box 25000, Raleigh, North Caro-
lina 27640. The payer will be assigned an account identification number, 
will receive forms for paying the tax withheld.

A payer who withholds tax from non-wage compensation paid to a 
nonresident contractor or an ITIN contractor and who also withholds 
tax from wages must report the non-wage withholding with the wage 
withholding.  The withheld tax must be reported and paid on a quarterly, 
monthly, or semiweekly basis depending on the average amount withheld 
during the month.  See XVIII.  Reporting and Paying Tax Withheld 
to determine when to report and pay the withholding.

6.   Annual Statements
A payer must give each contractor from whom tax was withheld duplicate 

copies of a written statement containing the following information: 
• the names, addresses, and taxpayer identification numbers of the 

payer and the contractor;
• the total amount of compensation paid to the contractor during the 

calendar year; 
• the total amount withheld from the amount paid to that contractor 

during the year.
Payers must report personal services income and the tax withheld on 

Form NC-1099PS.   Payers must report ITIN contractor compensation 
and the tax withheld on Form NC-1099-ITIN.   The payer may complete 
federal Form 1099-MISC in lieu of Forms NC-1099PS or NC-1099-ITIN.  
The statement must be given to the contractor on or before January 31 
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following the calendar year in which the compensation is paid. If the 
services are completed before the end of the year, the statement must 
be given within 45 days of the last payment of compensation only if the 
contractor requests the statement at that time. The payer must file an 
annual report (Form NC-3 or NC-3M) with the Department of Revenue 
reconciling the amounts withheld from each contractor. The annual rec-
onciliation for withholding is due on or before February 28.

7. Claiming Credit for Tax Withheld
Individuals having tax withheld from personal services income or from 

income paid to an ITIN holder should claim credit for the tax withheld on 
the same line on the individual income tax return, Form D-400, as credit 
is claimed for wage withholding. Partnerships (including limited liability 
companies filing as partnerships) may claim credit on the partnership 
income tax return, Form D-403, for the portion of the tax withheld that is 
attributable to nonresident partners on whose behalf the managing partner 
is required to pay tax. The portion of the tax withheld that is attributable 
to resident partners must be allocated to those partners on Schedule NC 
K-1. S corporations may claim credit on the S corporation franchise and 
income tax return, Form CD-401S, for the portion of the tax withheld that 
is attributable to shareholders on whose behalf the corporation files a com-
posite income tax return. The portion of the tax withheld that is attributable 
to shareholders who are not part of a composite return must be allocated 
to those shareholders on Schedule K of the S corporation return.

8. Refund of Tax Withheld in Error
A payer who improperly withholds tax from a nonresident contractor 

or an ITIN contractor may refund the contractor the amount withheld in 
error if the refund is made before the end of the calendar year and before 
the payer furnishes the person the annual statement of tax withheld. A 
payer who makes a refund should not report the amount refunded on the 
annual statement nor remit the amount refunded to the Department. If the 
amount refunded has already been remitted, the payer must reduce the 
next payment of tax withheld from compensation paid to that person by 
the amount refunded. If no additional compensation is due to be paid to 
that person, and the amount withheld in error has already been remitted, 
the payer may not refund the tax withheld in error. The contractor must 
file an income tax return and claim credit for the tax withheld.

9.  Examples of Required Withholding
Following are examples of when State taxes should be withheld from 

compensation paid of nonresidents for personal services performed in 
North Carolina.

Example 1:  A nightclub owner enters into a contract with a nonresi-
dent agent to provide entertainment at the owner’s club.  Compensation 
is paid directly to the agent.  

Requirement:  If the agent is an individual, tax is required to be with-
held from the payment only to the extent the agent performed services 
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in North Carolina.  If the agent is a nonresident entity (LLC, partnership, 
corporation, etc.), tax must be withheld because the entity is deemed to 
be doing business in North Carolina through the entertainer.  In either 
case, the agent is responsible for withholding four percent from the 
compensation paid to the entertainer because the entertainer is providing 
a personal service for the agent.

Example 2:  The same nightclub owner enters into a contract with 
an agent to locate an entertainer and also enters into a separate contract 
with the entertainer.  

Requirement:  The compensation paid to the agent is not subject 
to withholding unless the agent performs services in North Carolina.  
However, the club owner must withhold from the compensation paid to 
the entertainer.

Example 3:  A coliseum rents its facility to a resident promoter who has 
contracted with a nonresident performer for a concert at the coliseum. The 
coliseum deducts rent and other fees and expenses from the gross ticket 
proceeds before payment to the promoter.  The promoter compensates 
the nonresident performer for the performance.  

Requirement:  No withholding is required from the ticket proceeds 
paid to the promoter because the promoter has not provided a personal 
service to the coliseum.  The promoter is required to withhold the tax 
from the compensation paid to the nonresident performer because the 
entertainer is providing a personal service for the promoter. 
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XVII.  Subject: Withholding of Income Tax (G.S. 105-163.1 - 105- 
 163.24)

1. General
G.S. 105-163.1 through G.S. 105-163.10 and G.S. 105-163.22 through 

G.S. 105-163.24 require employers to withhold income tax from 
compensation paid to their employees.

2. Withholding From Wages
Income tax must be withheld according to tables prepared by the 

North Carolina Department of Revenue or by using an acceptable 
alternate method and employers must pay over the amount withheld 
to the Department. These requirements are explained in the booklet, 
“Income Tax Withholding Tables and Instructions for Employers,” 
Form NC-30, which is available on the Department of Revenue website 
www.dornc.com.

3. Withholding from Pensions, Annuities, and Deferred
 Compensation (See page 86.)

4. Withholding from Nonresidents for Certain Personal Services 
and	Withholding	on	Contractors	 Identified	by	 an	 Individual	
Taxpayer	Identification	Number	(ITIN)	(See	page	90.)

5. Wages
For North Carolina income tax purposes, the term wages has the same 

meaning as in Section 3401 of the Internal Revenue Code, except that 
it does not include the amount of severance wages paid to an employee 
during the taxable year that is exempt from State income tax for that 
taxable year under G.S. 105-134.6(b)(11).

If an employer enters into a voluntary agreement to withhold North 
Carolina tax on income not requiring withholding, the amount withheld 
will be accepted and the employee will receive credit on the annual 
income tax return provided the rules which apply to withholding are 
followed. Since the agreement to withhold is voluntary between the 
employer and the employee and is not required by law, the employee  
cannot receive credit for any amount withheld that is not properly paid 
to the Department of Revenue.

6.	 Employee’s	Withholding	Allowance	Certificate
Each new employee, before beginning employment, must give the 

employer a signed North Carolina Employee’s Withholding Allowance 
Certificate, Form NC-4.  A certificate filed by a new employee is effective 
upon the first payment of wages thereafter and remains in effect until a 
new certificate is furnished unless the employee claimed total exemption 
from withholding  during the prior year.  An employee claiming exemption 
from withholding must provide the employer a new NC-4 by December 
1 for the following year. State and federal definitions of dependent, single 
person, married, head of household, and qualifying widow(er) are the same; 
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however, the number of allowances an individual is entitled to will differ. 
Federal Exemption Certificates are not acceptable. If an employee 
fails to furnish an exemption certificate, Form NC-4, the employer must 
withhold tax as if the employee is single with zero allowances.

The employer is not required to ascertain whether or not the total 
amount of allowances claimed is greater than the total number to  
which the employee is entitled. If, however, the employer has reason to  
believe that the number of allowances claimed by an employee is greater 
than the number to which such employee is entitled, the employer must 
notify the Department of Revenue immediately.

If an employee’s allowances should decrease, requiring more tax to 
be withheld, the employee must provide an amended certificate to the 
employer within 10 days after the change.  Should the allowances increase, 
requiring less tax to be withheld, the employee may provide an amended 
certificate to the employer at any time after the change occurs.

7. Additional Withholding Allowances
Additional withholding allowances may be claimed by taxpayers expecting 

to have allowable itemized deductions exceeding the standard deduction or 
allowable adjustments to income. One additional allowance may be claimed 
for each $2,500 that the itemized deductions are expected to exceed the 
standard deduction and for each $2,500 of adjustments reducing income 
($2,000 if the annual income equals or exceeds the following amounts for the 
employee’s filing status: single — $60,000; head of household — $80,000; or 
married or qualifying widow(er) — $50,000). If an employee will be entitled 
to a tax credit, he may claim one additional allowance for each $175 of tax 
credit ($140 if the annual income equals or exceeds the following amounts 
for the employee’s filing status: single — $60,000; head of household 
— $80,000; or married or qualifying widow(er) — $50,000).

8. Penalty
G.S. 105-163.5 provides a civil penalty against an employee who gives 

an employer an allowance certificate that contains information which has 
no reasonable basis and results in a lesser amount of tax being withheld than 
would have been withheld had the employee provided  reasonable information. 
The penalty is 50 percent of the amount not properly withheld.

9.	 Submission	of	Certain	Withholding	Allowance	Certificates
An employer is required to submit copies of any withholding allowance 

certificates on which the employee claims more than 10 withholding 
allowances or claims exemption from withholding and the employee’s 
wages would normally exceed $200 per week.

An employer filing a quarterly withholding report is required to submit 
copies of the certificates received during the quarter when the quarterly 
report if filed. An employer filing monthly withholding reports is required 
to submit copies of the certificates received during the quarter at the time 
for filing the monthly report for the third month of the calendar quarter. 
Copies may be submitted earlier and for shorter reporting periods.
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Copies of the certificates, along with a letter showing the employer’s 
name, address, withholding identification number, and the number of 
certificates submitted, should be mailed to: North Carolina Department 
of Revenue, Tax Compliance -Withholding Tax, P.O. Box 25000, Raleigh, 
North Carolina 27640-0001.

The employer shall withhold on the basis of the certificate until written 
notice is received from the Department that the certificate is defective. 
As part of that written notice, the Department will advise the employer 
to ignore the allowance certificate filed and to withhold on a number 
specified.  The employer shall promptly furnish the employee a copy of 
the written notice.

If the employee files a new certificate, the employer shall honor that 
certificate only if the employee does not claim exempt and claims a 
number smaller than the number allowed in the Department’s written 
notice. If the new certificate claims a number larger than the employee has 
been allowed and the employee specifies, in writing, any circumstances 
as justification to support the claims, the employer must forward a copy 
of the certificate and the employee’s written statement to the Department 
for review. The employer shall continue to withhold as specified in the 
Department’s written notice until written notice is received from the 
Department advising the employer to withhold on the basis of the new 
certificate.

To increase withholding, an employee may claim less than the 
employee’s allowable allowances or may enter into an agreement with the 
employer and request that an additional amount be withheld by entering 
the desired amount on Form NC-4.

An employee working for two or more employers should claim the 
employee’s allowable allowance with only one employer and claim zero 
allowances with the other employers.

10. Employers
An employer is any person or organization for whom an individual 

performs any service as an employee. The term includes federal, state, and 
local governmental agencies as well as religious, charitable, educational, 
and other nonprofit organizations even though they may be exempt for 
other tax purposes. Note: Compliance with any of the provisions of North 
Carolina withholding by a nonresident employer will not be deemed to 
be evidence that the nonresident is doing business in this state. (G.S. 
105-163.4).

11. Employees
For North Carolina income tax withholding purposes, an employee is 

either a resident individual legally domiciled in this State who performs 
services within or outside North Carolina for wages, or a nonresident of 
this State who performs services within the State for wages. To prevent 
double withholding and to anticipate any tax credits allowable to a North 
Carolina resident, withholding of North Carolina tax is not required from 
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wages paid to a resident for services performed in another state if that 
state requires withholding. This relief from double withholding does not 
relieve the resident of the obligation to file a North Carolina individual 
income tax return and pay any balance due after tax credit.

All wages received by a nonresident for services performed in this State are 
subject to withholding of North Carolina income tax. Any relief from double 
withholding must be granted by the nonresident’s state of residence.

12. Employer-Employee Relationship
Everyone who performs services subject to the will and control of an 

employer, both as to what shall be done and how it shall be done, is an 
employee. An employer-employee relationship exists when the person 
for whom the services are performed has the right to control and direct 
the individual performing the services. Managers and other supervisory 
personnel, officers of corporations, and elected public officials are 
employees. Whether the employer actually controls and directs the 
manner in which the services are performed does not matter if the 
employer has the right to do so, and it does not matter that the employee 
is called by some other name such as partner, agent, or independent 
contractor; nor whether the individual works full or part time; nor how 
the payments are measured, paid, or what they are called.

Lawyers, physicians, contractors, and others who follow an independent 
trade, business, or profession in which they offer their services to the 
public, generally are not employees. If an individual is subject to the 
control and direction of another only as to the results of the individual’s 
work and not as to the methods of accomplishing the results, the individual 
is generally an independent contractor and not an employee.

13. Ministers
An ordained or licensed clergyman who performs services for a church 

of any religious denomination may file an election with the Secretary of 
Revenue and the church he serves to be considered an employee of the 
church instead of self-employed. Until a clergyman files the election, 
amounts paid by a church to a clergyman are not subject to withholding.

14. Common Carriers
The Amtrak Reauthorization and Improvement Act of 1990 provides 

that no part of the compensation paid to an employee of an interstate 
railroad subject to the jurisdiction of the Surface Transportation Board 
(STB) may be subject to income tax, or income tax withholding, in any 
state except the state of the employee’s residence when such employee 
performs regular assigned duties in more than one state. The Act also 
precludes the taxation of compensation paid by an interstate motor carrier 
subject to the jurisdiction of the STB or to an employee of a private motor 
carrier performing services in two or more states except by the state of 
the employee’s residence. Therefore, the compensation received by such 
nonresident employees for services performed in this State will not be 
subject to North Carolina income tax or income tax withholding.
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Under the Federal Aviation Act (49 USCS-40116), a nonresident airline 
employee rendering service on an aircraft would not be liable for North 
Carolina income tax unless the scheduled flight time in North Carolina is 
more than 50 percent of the total scheduled flight time during the calendar 
year. If the employee’s flight logs show that more than 50 percent of the 
scheduled flight time is in North Carolina, the amount of income reportable 
to this state would be based on the percentage that the North Carolina flight 
time is to the total flight time for the year.

15. Federal Employees
Under an agreement with this State, federal agencies withhold North 

Carolina income tax from the military pay of members of the Armed 
Forces designated as legal residents of North Carolina, and from the 
pay of civilian federal employees whose regular place of employment 
is in North Carolina.

16.  Military Spouses
Under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, as amended by the Military 

Spouses Residency Relief Act of 2009, the wages of a spouse of a military 
servicemember who is legally domiciled in a state other than North Carolina 
are exempt from North Carolina income tax if (1) the servicemember is 
present in North Carolina solely in compliance with military orders; (2) the 
spouse is in North Carolina solely to be with the servicemember; and (3) the 
spouse is domiciled in the same state as the servicemember. Therefore, if a 
military spouse meets all three of the preceding conditions, an employer is 
not required to withhold North Carolina tax from wages paid to such military 
spouses.  The Act does not apply to military spouses who are domiciled in 
North Carolina.  Withholding from wages paid to military spouses domiciled 
in North Carolina is still required. 

 17. Seamen
The Vessel Worker Tax Fairness Act, 46 U.S.C. § 11108, prohibits 

withholding of state income tax from the wages of a seaman on a vessel 
engaged in foreign, coastwise, intercoastal, interstate, or noncontiguous 
trade or an individual employed on a fishing vessel or any fish processing 
vessel. Vessels engaged in other activity do not come under the restriction; 
however, any seaman who is employed in coastwide trade between ports 
in this State may have tax withheld if such withholding is pursuant to a 
voluntary agreement between such seaman and his employer.

With respect to income obtained while: (1) engaged as a pilot (licensed 
under section 7101 of Title 46 of the Code or under the laws of a state) on a 
vessel performing duties in more than one state; or (2) performing regularly 
assigned duties as a master, officer or crewman on a vessel operating on the 
navigable waters of more than one state, an individual is subject to income tax 
only in the state and political subdivision in which the individual resides.

Seamen who are exempt from withholding as specified above, should 
determine whether they meet the requirements for making payments of 
estimated income tax.
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18. Professional Athletes
Professional athletic teams must withhold income tax from the North 

Carolina source income of a nonresident member of the team at the 
highest  rate for  individuals with no allowance for any withholding 
exemption. (The highest rate in effect for 2009 is 7.75 percent.) Taxes 
shall be withheld from the income of a resident member of the team in 
the same manner as taxes are withheld from other residents.

Professional athletic teams not domiciled in this State are classified as 
quarterly employers and must file returns reporting the amount of taxes 
withheld and pay the amounts withheld on a quarterly basis.

Professional athletic teams that are domiciled in this State shall 
determine their filing and paying requirements in the same manner as 
all employers domiciled in this State.

A professional athletic team must include with its annual reconciliation 
a list of all employees who received North Carolina source income during 
the year. The list must include the following information:
 a. The name, social security number, and mailing address of each 

employee;
 b. Whether the employee is a resident of this State;
 c. The total amount of income;
 d. The amount of North Carolina source income;
 e. The total amount deducted and withheld.

A nonresident member of a professional athletic team is not required to 
file a North Carolina individual income tax return when the only income 
from North Carolina sources is the compensation received for services 
rendered as a member of the team and the team has met the withholding 
requirements above. The individual may file an individual income tax 
return and claim credit for the tax withheld.

An individual is liable for any additional tax, penalty, or interest due 
if the team does not properly determine the individual’s North Carolina 
source income or properly withhold tax from that income.

19. Domestic Employees
Employers are not required to withhold State income tax from the wages 

of domestic employees; however, the employer and employee may enter 
into a voluntary agreement to withhold from the employee’s wages. The 
amount  to withhold is based on the employee information shown on 
Form NC-4. Employers may wish to contact the Employment Security 
Commission regarding any employment insurance liability.

20. Farm Labor
Compensation paid by a farmer for services performed on the farmer’s 

farm in producing or harvesting agricultural products or in transporting 
the agricultural products to market is subject to North Carolina 
withholding if the compensation is subject to withholding of federal 
income taxes. Generally, wages paid to agricultural workers are subject 
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to federal income tax withholding if the worker is paid $150 or more 
during the year or the employer pays $2,500 or more to all agricultural 
workers during the year.

21. North Carolina State Lottery Winnings
Winnings of $600 or more paid by the North Carolina State Lottery 

Commission are subject to State withholding at the rate of 7 percent.

22. Severance Wages
The first $35,000 of severance wages paid to an employee (whether 

paid in one year or over several years) as a result of the employee‘s 
permanent, involuntary termination from employment through no fault of 
the employee is exempt from withholding.  “Stay on pay” does not qualify 
as severance wages; therefore, “stay on pay” is subject to withholding.

23. Supplemental Wage Payments
If an employer pays supplemental wages separately (or combines them 

in a single payment and specifies the amount of each), the income tax 
withholding method depends partly on whether the employer withholds 
income tax from the employee’s regular wages.

If tax has been withheld on the regular wages and the supplemental 
amount is not paid in a single payment together with regular wages, the 
employer may treat the supplemental wages as wholly separate from the 
regular wages and apply a flat rate of 6 percent to the supplemental wage 
payment without making any allowance for exemptions. Otherwise, the 
supplemental wages are added to the regular wages for the most recent 
payroll period. The income tax is figured as if the regular wages and 
supplemental wages constitute a single payment. The tax already withheld 
from the regular wages is subtracted from this amount. The remaining tax 
is then withheld from the supplemental wages. If the employer did not 
withhold income tax from the employee’s regular wages, the employer 
must add the supplemental wages to the employee’s regular wages paid 
for the current or last preceding payroll period and withhold tax as though 
the supplemental wages and regular wages were one payment.

Tips treated as supplemental wages. The employer withholds the 
income tax on tips from wages or from funds the employee makes 
available. If an employee receives regular wages and reports tips, the 
employer figures income tax as if the tips were supplemental wages. If 
the employer has not withheld income tax from the regular wages, the 
employer adds the tips to the regular wages and withholds income tax on 
the total. If the employer withheld income tax from the regular wages, 
the employer can withhold on the tips as explained above.

24. Wage and Tax Statements
 An employer should use the six-part Federal Form W-2 or any other 

alternate forms which have been designed for payroll equipment if they 
provide the same information and the same number of copies as the 
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official form. When completed, the state copies must show the employer’s 
North Carolina withholding identification number and must clearly 
designate the state tax as North Carolina tax. Statements which do not 
meet the above requirements will not be accepted and employees cannot 
be given credit for the tax withheld.

25. Reciprocity Of Tax Credits
North Carolina does not allow income tax credit to nonresidents; 

therefore, any relief from double taxation must be granted by the state 
of residence. North Carolina provides such relief to its residents as 
explained in number 11.

26. Credit For Income Tax Withheld
G.S. 105-163.10 provides that the amount deducted and withheld 

during any calendar year from the compensation of any individual shall 
be allowed as a credit to that individual against the tax imposed under 
G.S. 105-134.2 for taxable years beginning in such calendar year. For 
example, a taxpayer filing his return for a fiscal year ending September 
30, 2009, will be allowed credit for tax withheld from wages for the 
calendar year ending December 31, 2008. This is the case even though 
the taxpayer must report the income on the return for the fiscal year 
ending September 30, 2009.
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XVIII.  Subject:  Reporting and Paying Tax Withheld

1. New Employers
Each new employer required to withhold North Carolina income tax must 

complete and file Form NC-BR, Business Registration Application for 
Income Tax Withholding, Sales and Use Tax, and Machinery, Equipment, 
and Manufacturing Fuel Tax, with the Department. The Department will 
assign a State withholding identification number which should be recorded 
in a permanent place and used on all reports, returns, and correspondence 
concerning withholding.  In most cases, the identification number will be 
assigned within four weeks of filing Form NC-BR.  Do not use the number 
of another employer from whom a business was acquired. 

2. Reports and Payments
North Carolina does not use a deposit system for income tax withheld 

similar to the federal system. Withheld taxes are paid quarterly, monthly, 
or semiweekly. Employers who withhold an average of less than $250 
from wages each month must file a quarterly return and pay the withheld 
taxes on a quarterly basis. The quarterly return and payment are due by 
the last day of the month following the end of the calendar quarter.

Employers who withhold an average of at least $250 but less than 
$2,000 from wages each month must file a monthly return and pay the 
withheld taxes on a monthly basis. All monthly returns and payments 
are due by the fifteenth day of the month following the month in which 
the tax was withheld; except the return and payment for the month of 
December are due by the thirty-first day of January.

Employers who withhold an average of at least $2,000 from wages each 
month must file a report and pay the withheld taxes at the same times they 
are required to file reports and pay the tax withheld on the same wages 
for federal income tax purposes. The due dates for reporting and paying 
North Carolina income tax withheld is determined by the due dates for 
depositing federal employment taxes (income tax withheld and FICA). 
Each time an employer is required to deposit federal employment taxes, 
the employer must remit the North Carolina income tax withheld on those 
same wages, regardless of the amount of State tax withheld.
Exception: For federal tax purposes, if an employer withholds $100,000 
or more, the deposit is required on the next banking day. North Carolina 
law does not adopt this provision of federal law, and the State income tax 
withholding on the same wages is due on or before the normal federal 
semiweekly due date for those wages. The employer must mail or deliver 
payment of the North Carolina income tax withheld by the due date.

Semiweekly filers are required to reconcile the tax paid with the tax 
withheld for the quarter on Form NC-5Q, North Carolina Income Tax 
Withholding Return.  The due dates for Form NC-5Q are the same as 
for the federal quarterly return (Federal Form 941); on or before the last 
day of the month following the close of the quarter. An employer has 10 
additional days to file the return if all required payments were made during 
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the quarter and no additional tax is due.  Quarterly and semiweekly filers 
also reconcile the tax paid and the tax withheld for the year by filing Form 
NC-3, Annual Withholding Reconciliation.  Monthly filers reconcile the 
tax paid and the tax withheld for the year by filing Form NC-3M, Annual 
Withholding Reconciliation.  Forms NC-3 and NC-3M are due to be filed 
on or before February 28 following the end of the tax year.

(Important:  The Department of Revenue is currently developing a new 
electronic process for submitting the annual withholding reconciliation 
(Form NC-3 and Form NC-3M) information.  The new process will affect 
the annual reconciliation information that is due on February 28, 2011.  
Please review our website after January 1, 2011 for further information 
regarding the new electronic submission process.)  
3.  E-File   

Employers can file their North Carolina withholding returns and pay  
their taxes online by using the Department’s E-file system at www.dornc.
com.  The E-file system is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  
Payments can be made by bank draft or credit or debit card using Visa 
or MasterCard.

          
4.   Electronic Funds Transfer                                                          

The Department of Revenue requires certain employers remitting an 
average of $20,000 per month per tax type to pay taxes by electronic funds 
transfer (EFT). Employers required to remit payments by this method 
will be notified in writing at least 60 days prior to the first month that 
an EFT payment is due. Voluntary participation is offered for all filing 
frequencies for nonmandated employers who are interested in paying 
electronically. For questions concerning electronic funds transfer, contact 
the EFT Section at (919)733-7307.

5.   Reporting and Paying Tax Withheld from Pensions,   
 Annuities, and Deferred Compensation (See page 86.)

6. Reporting and Paying Tax Withheld from Nonresidents for  
	 Certain	Personal	Services		and	on	Contractors	Identified	by			
	 an	Individual	Taxpayer	Identification	Number	(ITIN)	(See	page	90.)

7. Amounts Withheld Are Held In Trust For The Secretary Of  
 Revenue.

Any amount withheld by an employer is deemed to be held in trust for 
the Secretary of Revenue.

A penalty of 10 percent of the amount due is imposed for failure to 
withhold or to pay the tax when due. The penalty for failure to timely file 
a withholding return is 5 percent of the tax due per month (maximum 25 
percent).  In addition, criminal penalties are provided for willful failure 
to comply with the withholding statutes.

An employer who fails to withhold or pay the amount required to be 
withheld is personally and individually liable for the tax. If an employer has 
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failed to withhold or to pay over income tax withheld or required to have 
been withheld, the tax not deducted or paid may be assessed against the 
responsible officers. The liability includes the tax not deducted or paid and 
any penalties and interest previously assessed against the employer. More 
than one person may be liable as an officer responsible for the payment 
of withholding taxes; however, the amount of the income tax withheld or 
required to have been withheld will be collected only once, whether from 
the employer or one or more responsible officers. The term “responsible 
officer”  means the president and the treasurer of a corporation, the manager 
of a limited liability company, and any officer of a corporation or member 
of a limited liability company who has a duty to deduct, account for, or 
pay over income tax withheld. It is not necessary that the failure to collect 
and pay the withholding amounts was willful; it is only necessary that the 
responsible officer failed to pay the tax withheld or required to have been 
withheld to the Secretary of Revenue.

When the Department of Revenue determines that collection of the tax 
is in jeopardy, an employer may be required to report and pay the tax at 
any time after payment of the wages.

8. Annual Reports
At the end of each calendar year employers are required to furnish wage 

and tax statements to employees. Two copies must be furnished to the 
employee and one copy must be furnished to the Department. The Internal 
Revenue Service supplies a six-part Form W-2 which will produce the 
required federal and North Carolina statements in one packet.

The copies of the wage and tax statements for the Department of 
Revenue must be filed with the Annual Withholding Reconciliation, 
Form NC-3 or NC-3M.  (See Number 2 regarding future submissions 
of annual withholding reconciliation information.)

A payer who withholds from compensation paid to a nonresident 
contractor or ITIN contractor must provide the contractor a statement 
showing the total compensation paid and the amount withheld during 
the calendar year. The payer must give Form NC-1099PS, Personal 
Services Income Paid To A Nonresident, or Form NC-1099-ITIN, 
Compensation Paid to an ITIN Contractor, to the contractor on 
or before January 31 following the calendar year, or if the contractor 
requests the statement before then, within 45 days after the last payment 
of compensation to the contractor. Federal Form 1099-MISC may be filed 
in lieu of Form NC-1099PS or Form NC-1099-ITIN.

Form NC-1099NRS, Report of Sale of Real Property by 
Nonresidents, is required to be filed by any person buying real property 
located in North Carolina from a nonresident. The form must be filed 
within 15 days of the closing date of the sale.

A payer who withholds from pension income must give the recipient 
Federal Form 1099-R, showing the pension amount paid and the North 
Carolina tax withheld on or before January 31 following the year in 
which the pension payments were made.
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Forms NC-1099PS, NC-1099-ITIN, NC-1099NRS, and Federal Form 
1099-R must be filed with North Carolina; however, other reports of 1099 
information (interest, rents, premium, dividends, etc.) are not required to 
be reported to North Carolina unless the payments have not been reported 
to the Internal Revenue Service.
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XIX.  Subject:   Estimated Income Tax (G.S. 105-163.15)

1. Forms
The form for payment of estimated individual income tax, Form NC-40, 

is available from the Department of Revenue in the form of personalized 
payment vouchers or a four-part nonpersonalized payment form. Both 
types of forms include the necessary vouchers and instructions for 
making payments.  An individual can also pay estimated tax online at 
www.dornc.com.

2. Requirements for Filing
An individual is required to pay estimated income tax if the tax shown 

due on the income tax return for the taxable year, reduced by the North 
Carolina tax withheld and allowable tax credits, is $1,000 or more 
regardless of the amount of income the individual has that is not subject 
to withholding. Married individuals can make joint payments of estimated 
income tax even if they are not living together; however, they are not 
entitled to make joint estimated tax payments if they are separated under 
a decree of divorce or of separate maintenance. Also, they may not make 
joint estimated tax payments if either of them is a nonresident alien or if 
either of them have different tax years.

Whether a husband and wife make joint estimated tax payments or 
separate payments will not affect their choice of filing a joint income 
tax return or separate return. If they make joint payments and then file 
separate returns, they may divide the estimated tax payments between 
them.

A taxpayer filing a short period return because of changing his income 
year is required to make estimated income tax payments on the installment 
dates which fall within the short period and 15 days after the close of 
the short period which would have been due had he not changed his 
income year. Interest on the underpayment of estimated income tax for 
a short period will be computed for the period of underpayment based on 
the tax shown due on the short period return and computed in the same 
manner as it would have been computed had the taxpayer not changed 
his income year.

3. Applying Prior Year’s Income Tax Refund to Current Year’s  
 Estimated Income Tax

An individual may elect to have his income tax refund applied to 
estimated income tax for the following year. For example, an individual 
due a refund on his 2009 income tax return may have all or any portion 
of the refund applied to his estimated tax for 2010. The individual may 
not however, file a 2009 tax return in 2011 and request the refund be 
applied to his 2011 estimated tax since the refund can only be applied to 
the tax year which follows the year for which the request for refund is 
made. The last allowable date for making a 2010 estimated tax payment 
is January 15, 2011; therefore, you must file your 2009 income tax return 
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by January 15, 2011, to elect to apply a portion of your refund to 2010 
estimated tax. If an individual makes a valid election, that individual may 
not revoke the election after the return has been filed in order to have 
the amount refunded or applied in any other manner, such as an offset 
against any subsequent determined tax liability.
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XX.  Subject:  Interest on the Underpayment of Estimated Income 
Tax (G.S. 105-163.15)

1. General
 Interest may be due on the underpayment of estimated income tax. 

The interest is computed separately for each payment period, therefore 
an individual may owe interest for an early period even if that individual 
later paid enough to make up the underpayment.  An individual who did 
not pay enough tax by the due date of each of the payment periods may 
owe interest even if a refund is due when the return is filed.

2. Avoiding Interest on the Underpayment
 Interest on the underpayment of estimated income tax will not apply 

if the individual makes payments of estimated income tax on each 
installment date for 25 percent of the lesser of (1) 90 percent (66.67 
percent for farmers and fishermen) of the tax (after tax credits) on the 
current year’s return, (2) 100 percent of the tax on the preceding year’s 
return (provided it was a taxable year of 12 months and the individual 
filed a return for that year), or (3) 90 percent (66.67 percent for farmers 
and fishermen) of the tax determined by annualizing the income received 
during the year up to the month in which the installment is due. Also, 
no  interest on an underpayment will be due if an individual had no tax 
liability for the preceding year or if the total tax shown on the current 
year return minus tax credits and the amount paid through withholding 
is less than $1,000. 

3. Underpayments
An underpayment is the excess of the required installment (or, if lower, 

the annualized income installment) for a payment period over the portion 
of the amount paid by the due date that is not applied to an underpayment 
for an earlier payment period.

Payments include income tax withheld and are considered payments 
of estimated tax in equal installments on the required installment dates 
(usually four), unless the individual can prove otherwise. A payment of 
estimated tax is credited against unpaid installments in the order in which 
the installments are required to be paid.

4. Overpayments
An overpayment for any period occurs when the withholding and 

estimated tax payments are more than the total of any underpayments 
for an earlier period plus the lesser of the required installment or the 
annualized income installment for the period. If there is an overpayment 
for a period, it should be carried to the next period and added to the 
withholding and estimated tax paid for that later period to determine any 
underpayment or overpayment for that later period.

5. Determining An Underpayment
No interest will be due if the estimated tax payments were made on 
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time and the payment for each period was at least as much as either the 
required installment or the annualized income installment for the period. 
Use Form D-422, Underpayment of Estimated Tax by Individuals, to 
determine any underpayment.

The required installment for any payment period is the lesser of 22.5 
percent of the tax shown on the current year return or 25 percent of the 
tax shown on the prior-year return (if the prior-year return covered all 12 
months of the year). However, if the annualized income installment for 
any period is less than the required installment for the same period and the 
annualized income installment is used in determining the underpayment, 
add the difference between the annualized income installment and the 
required installment to the required installment for the next period. If 
the annualized income installment for the next payment period is used, 
add the difference between the annualized income installment for that 
period and the required installment (as increased) for that period to the 
required installment for the following payment period.

There will be no underpayment for any payment period in which 
the estimated tax payments, reduced by any amounts applied to 
underpayments in earlier periods, were paid by the due date for the 
period and were at least as much as the annualized income installment 
for the period.

6. Period of Underpayment
Underpayment interest is applied to the number of days that the 

installment was not paid. For tax year 2009, for example, determine 
the period of the underpayment by counting the number of days after 
the due date of the installment to and including the date of payment, or 
April 15, 2010, whichever is earlier. Fiscal year taxpayers use the 15th 
day of the 4th month following the close of the fiscal year instead of 
April 15,  2010.

Calendar year taxpayers’ payments were due on April 15, June 15, 
and September 15, and January 15 of the following year. If the 15th of 
the month is on a weekend or holiday, the payment is due on the next 
business day.

Payments for fiscal year taxpayers were due on the 15th day of the 
4th month, the 15th day of the 6th month, and the 15th day of the 9th 
month of the fiscal year, and the 15th day of the 1st month after the end 
of the fiscal year.

Periods and amounts of underpayment are determined by applying 
estimated tax payments to any underpayments of earlier installments in 
the order in which such installments were required to be paid.

If a payment of estimated tax is applied to an underpayment for an 
earlier period, but the payment is less than the underpayment, there will 
be more than one period of underpayment for the earlier period.

The first period of underpayment for any payment period will be 
from the day after the due date for the payment period to the date of the 
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first applied payment. Later periods of underpayment for that payment  
period will be from the day after the due date for the payment period to 
the date of the next applied payment or April 15 of the following year, 
whichever is earlier.

To determine the interest for a payment period with more than one 
period of underpayment, compute interest separately for each of the 
periods of underpayment using the number of days in each period of 
underpayment, the correct underpayment balance, and the appropriate  
interest rates.

7. Farmers and Fishermen
The following special rules for underpayment of estimated tax apply 

to farmers and fishermen:
 a. Interest for underpaying 2009 estimated tax will not apply if the 

return was filed and all tax was paid by March 1, 2010.  For fiscal 
year taxpayers, interest will not apply if the return is filed and tax 
due is paid by the first day of the third month after the end of the 
tax year.

 b.  Any interest owed for underpaying 2009 estimated tax will be 
determined from one payment due date, January 15, 2010.

 c.  Underpayment interest for 2009 is computed on the difference 
between the amount of estimated tax paid by the due date and the 
lesser of 100 percent of the tax shown on the 2008 return or 66 2/3 
percent of the 2009 tax.

In addition to the special rules, farmers and fishermen will not have to 
pay  underpayment interest if the tax due (less withholding and tax credits) 
is less than $1,000 or if there was no tax liability for the prior year.
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XXI.  Subject:  Gift Tax (G.S. 105-188 - G.S. 105-197.1)

(Important:  The gift tax is repealed effective for gifts made on or 
after January 1, 2009.  Gifts made prior to the January 1, 2009 are 
subject to the provisions below.)    

1. General       
North Carolina gift tax is imposed on all transfers of North Carolina 

property by gift and is imposed on the fair market value of net gifts.  If 
property is transferred for less than an adequate and full consideration in 
money or money’s worth, the amount by which the value of the property 
exceeds the value of the consideration is deemed a gift. The tax rates are 
graduated and depend on the relationship of the donee to the donor.

2. Exempt Transfers
North Carolina gift tax does not apply to the following transfers:
a.  Gifts for state, county, or municipal purposes within North Carolina;
b.  Gifts for the exclusive benefit of charitable, educational, or religious 

organizations located in North Carolina if no part of the earnings benefit 
any private shareholder or individual;  

c. Gifts to or for the exclusive benefit of charitable, religious and 
educational corporations, foundations and trusts, not conducted for profit, 
incorporated or created or administered under the laws of any other state (i) 
when such other state levies no gift taxes upon property similarly passing 
from its residents to charitable, educational, or religious corporations, 
foundations, and trusts incorporated or created or administered under the 
laws of North Carolina, or (ii) when the corporation, foundation, or trust 
receives and disburses funds donated in North Carolina for religious, 
charitable, and educational purposes;

d. Gifts to one spouse from another spouse, including property exempt 
from federal estate and gift taxes because it is considered qualified terminable 
interest property under Section 2523(f) of the Internal Revenue Code;

e.  Tuition payments made on behalf of an individual to an educational 
institution.  The term “educational institution” includes only those 
institutions that normally maintain a regular faculty and curriculum 
and normally have a regularly organized body of students in attendance 
where the educational activities are conducted.  (With respect to qualified 
tuition programs, if a donor elects to take a contribution to a qualified 
tuition program into account ratably over a five-year period as provided 
under Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code, the contribution is not 
considered a taxable gift for North Carolina gift tax purposes.);

f.   Medical payments made on behalf of an individual to a provider of 
medical care as defined in the Internal Revenue Code; and 

g.  Gifts of property located outside the jurisdiction of North Carolina.     
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3.   Imposition of Tax
Gift tax is imposed on all transfers of property by gift, whether the gift 

is in trust or otherwise and whether the gift is direct or indirect.  The tax 
applies to all property (real, personal, or mixed) and property interests 
within the jurisdiction of North Carolina. With respect to gifts made by 
a nonresident, the gift taxes apply only if the property has a tax situs in 
North Carolina.

Gift tax does not apply to the transfer of property in trust where the 
donor has the power to revest in the donor title to the property.  However, 
the relinquishment or termination of such power (other than the donor’s 
death) is considered a transfer by gift from the donor, and any payment 
of income from the property to a beneficiary other than the donor is 
considered a transfer by gift from the donor.

4.   Rates of Tax
 The rates of tax are based on the relationship between the donor and 

the donee as follows:
a.  Class A donees:  Lineal issue, lineal ancestor, adopted child, 

or stepchild of the donor.  Although a stepchild is a class A donee, a 
stepparent is not.

b.  Class B donees:  Brother, sister, descendant of brother or sister, or 
uncle or aunt by blood of donor.

c.  Class C donees:  An individual in any other degree of relationship 
to the donor than those individuals in Classes A and B.

5.   Basis of Tax
North Carolina gift tax is based on the aggregate sum of the net gifts 

made by a donor to the same donee.  The term “net gifts” means the sum 
of the gifts made by a donor to the same donee during any stated period 
of time in excess of the annual exclusion and the applicable specific 
exemption.

6.   Annual Exclusion
The North Carolina annual exclusion amount is equal to the federal 

inflation-adjusted amount provided in section 2503(b) of the Internal 
Revenue Code.  The annual exclusion amount is $12,000.  Gifts not 
exceeding the total value of the annual exclusion  made to  any one donee 
in a calendar year are not subject to North Carolina gift tax.  Gifts to any 
one donee in a calendar year that exceed the total value of the annual 
exclusion are subject to gift tax.

Joint Gifts:  When a gift is made by one spouse to a person other than 
the donor’s spouse, the donor may elect to claim both the donor’s annual 
exclusion and the spouse’s annual exclusion provided both spouses 
consent to the election and both spouses are residents of North Carolina 
when the gift is made.  Consent to share annual gift tax exclusions must 
be made in writing on a timely filed gift tax return.  The election to share 
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gift tax exclusions is irrevocable.  The consent of both spouses must be 
shown on the return where the exclusions are claimed.

The personal representative for the estate of a deceased spouse, or the 
guardian of a legally incompetent spouse, may sign the consent.

Gift-splitting:  For federal gift tax purposes, a husband and wife may 
elect gift-splitting.  Consequently, if both spouses consent to gift-splitting,  
a gift made by a husband or wife to a third party is treated as made 
one-half by each. If gift-splitting is elected, the donor spouse must file 
a federal gift tax return if any gifts to any one donee exceed the amount 
of the annual gift tax exclusion.  However, the consenting spouse must 
file a federal return only if the spouse made gifts to any one donee in 
excess of the annual gift tax exclusion.  There is no provision in North 
Carolina gift tax law  for a husband and wife to elect gift-splitting.  
Therefore, the donor spouse must file a State gift tax return if the gift 
exceeds the donor’s annual exclusion pursuant to the provisions under 
Joint Gifts above.  

Gifts of Future Interest in Property:  The annual exclusion does not 
apply to gifts of future interest where the donee’s use, possession, 
enjoyment, or income of the property will not begin until some future 
time.  

Remainder Interests:  The annual exclusion also does not apply to a gift 
of a remainder interest which is considered a gift of future interest.  This 
is the case even when the donee holds a life estate in the same property 
and thus has immediate enjoyment of the donated remainder interest.

7.			Specific	Exemption
A donor is entitled to a total lifetime exemption of $100,000 to be 

deducted from gifts made to Class A donees.  The exemption does not 
apply to Class B or Class C donees.  The exemption may, at the option 
of the donor, be taken in its entirety in a single year or may be spread 
over a number of years and, when it is exhausted, no further exemption 
is allowable.  

When the exemption or any part of the exemption is applied to gifts 
to more than one donee in any one calendar year, it must be apportioned 
among the donees in the same ratio as the gross gifts after exclusion to 
each donee is to the total value of all gifts made in the calendar year.

8.   Valuation of Property
 If a gift is made in property, the amount of the gift is the fair market 

value of the property on the date of the gift.  When a gift of real estate is 
made to a husband and wife, creating an estate by the entirety, the value 
of the transfer is equally divided between the donees.

If property is transferred for less than an adequate and full consideration, 
the amount by which the value of the property exceeds the value of the 
consideration is considered a gift and must be included in computing the 
amounts of gifts made during the calendar year. 



115

The value of donated property that is encumbered by a mortgage is 
measured by the equity in the property remaining after deducting the 
mortgage indebtedness.    

9.    Gift Tax Returns and Payment of Tax
The donor is responsible for filing a gift tax return and paying the 

gift tax.   A donor who gives a donee a gift of future interest or one or 
more taxable gifts whose total value exceeds the amount of the annual 
exclusion is required to file a gift tax return and pay the tax due by April 
15 following the end of the calendar year in which the gift was made.  

If a gift tax return cannot be filed by April 15, a donor may apply for 
an automatic six-month extension of time to file the return by filing Form  
D-410G, Application for Extension for Filing Gift Tax Return.  Form     
D-410G must be filed by April 15.  

Donors (including military personnel) who live outside the United 
States and Puerto Rico are granted an automatic four-month extension 
for filing a North Carolina gift tax return.  No extension application 
is required to receive the extension. However, a statement must be 
attached to the donor’s gift tax return explaining that the donor was 
out of the country on the due date of the return.  If an additional two 
months is needed to file the gift tax return, the donor should fill in the 
circle located at the bottom right of Form D-410G and file the form on 
or before August 15. 

Gift tax returns not filed by April 15 are subject to a late filing penalty of 
5 percent per month (maximum 25 percent).  If the full amount of gift tax 
is not paid by April 15, a late payment penalty of 10 percent of the unpaid 
tax is due (minimum $5.00).  An extension of time to file the return does 
not extend the time for payment of the tax.  Tax not paid by the original due 
date is subject to the 10 percent late payment penalty.  Interest on unpaid 
tax begins to accrue on April 16 of the year the return is due.

10.   Period of Limitation on Assessments
 If a donor dies within three years after filing a return, gift taxes may 

be assessed at any time within those three years, or on or before the date 
of final settlement of the donor’s North Carolina estates taxes, whichever 
is later.                                                                                                      

11.   Federal Corrections
 If the federal government corrects the amount of net gifts a taxpayer 

must report, a corrected North Carolina gift tax return must be filed 
within six months of the date the report was received.  Taxpayers who 
do not comply with these requirements are subject to the penalties 
provided in G.S. 105-236 and forfeit the right to any refund by reason 
of the determination.

12.			Qualified	Personal	Residence	Trust
 Federal and State gift tax provisions differ in determining the value of 
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gifts of remainder interests in a personal residence through the use of a 
Qualified Personal Residence Trust (QPRT).  With a QPRT, the grantor 
transfers ownership of a residence to an irrevocable trust, retaining the 
right to live rent-free in the residence for a term of years.  Upon the 
expiration of the term period, the residence generally is either transferred 
to the remainder beneficiaries, or retained in trust and rented (perhaps to 
the grantor), or retained for the rent-free-use of the grantor’s spouse.

 For federal gift tax purposes, the fair market value of the donated 
property is reduced by both the present value of the grantor’s retained 
income interest and the grantor’s retained contingent reversion interest in 
the property.  The value of the contingent reversion interest is determined 
based on the donor surviving a certain number of years and is calculated 
using a table based on national actuarial statistics.  For State gift tax 
purposes, the fair market value of the donated property is not reduced 
by the grantor’s retained contingent reversion interest.
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XXII.  Subject:  Estate Tax (G.S. 105-32.1 - G.S. 105-32.8)                   

1.   General
North Carolina estate tax is imposed when federal estate tax is imposed 

on the transfer of the taxable estate of a decedent under Section 2001 of 
the Internal Revenue Code and any of the following apply:

a.  The decedent was a resident of North Carolina at death.
b.  The decedent was not a resident of North Carolina at death and owned  

real property or tangible personal property that is located in North Carolina or 
intangible personal property that has a tax situs in North Carolina.

“Situs” means place or location.  For tax purposes, it is the place where 
something is held to be legally located and therefore where it is taxable.  
In general, tangible property has a tax situs where it is physically located, 
and intangible property has a tax situs at the domicile of the owner.  
However, when intangible property is used by a business at a location 
other than the domicile of the owner, it acquires a business situs where 
it is used and becomes taxable in the jurisdiction in which it is used.

2.    Amount of Tax
North Carolina estate tax is due on the estate when a federal estate tax 

would be payable if the federal estate tax was determined without regard 
to the deduction for state death taxes.  The North Carolina estate tax is 
equal to the state death tax credit that was allowable under section 2011 
of the Internal Revenue Code as it existed prior to 2002. The amount 
of the North Carolina estate tax is limited to the federal estate tax that 
would be payable if the federal estate tax was computed without regard 
to the deduction for state death taxes. 

 Determination of tax for resident decedent:  If the decedent was a 
North Carolina resident at death and owned property in another state, 
the tax due is reduced by the lesser of (a) the amount of the state death 
tax credit that would have been allowed against the federal taxable estate 
as of December 31, 2001 or (b) an amount computed by multiplying 
the credit by a fraction, the numerator of which is the gross value of the 
estate that has a tax situs in another state and the denominator of which 
is the value of the decedent’s gross estate. 

Determination of tax for nonresident decedents:  If the decedent was 
not a resident of North Carolina at the time of death and owned property 
in North Carolina, the amount of North Carolina estate tax is an amount 
computed by multiplying the credit by a fraction, the numerator of which 
is the gross value of real property that is located in North Carolina  plus the 
gross value of any personal property that has a tax situs in North Carolina 
and the denominator of which is the value of the decedent’s gross estate.

3.   Liability for Tax
Primary liability:  The estate tax is payable from the assets of the estate.  

A person who receives property from an estate is liable for the amount 
of tax attributable to that property.
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   Personal representative: A personal representative is the person 
appointed by the clerk of superior court to administer a decedent’s estate.  
If no one is appointed personal representative, the personal representative 
is the person required to file a federal estate tax return for the decedent’s 
estate.  The personal representative of an estate is liable for any estate 
tax that is not paid within two years after it was due.  This liability is 
limited to the value of the assets of the estate that were under the control 
of the personal representative.

Clerk of Court:  A clerk of court who allows a personal representative 
to make a final settlement of an estate without presenting required proof 
of payment of the estate tax is liable on the clerk’s bond for any estate 
tax due.  The personal representative must provide (a) an affirmation 
certifying that no tax is due because an estate tax return was not required 
to be filed or (b) a certificate issued by the Secretary of Revenue that the 
estate’s tax liability has been satisfied.
4.  Return and Payment of Tax

 Filing requirement:  The North Carolina Estate Tax Return (Form 
A-101) is required to be filed by the personal representative if a federal 
estate tax return is required to be filed and the decedent was domiciled in 
North Carolina at death or the decedent owned real property or tangible 
personal property located in North Carolina.  The return is due at the 
same time the federal return is due which is nine months from the date 
of death.  

  If the North Carolina estate return cannot be filed by the due date, 
and extension of time for filing the return and paying the tax may be 
granted.  A request for an extension must be submitted in writing to the 
Department of Revenue on or before the due date of the return.  In lieu 
of requesting an extension, proof of a federal extension may be submitted 
when the return is filed.

 Paying the tax:  Payment of the tax, including any penalty and 
interest,  is due at the same time the estate tax return is due.  The personal 
representative of an estate may sell estate assets to obtain money to pay 
the estate tax.

5.    Penalties and Interest
 If Form A-101 cannot be filed by the due date, a late filing penalty of 

five percent of the tax (maximum 25 percent) is due for each month, or 
part of a month, the return is late.   If the full amount of tax is not paid 
by the due date, a late payment penalty of ten percent of the unpaid tax 
(minimum $5.00) is due.  Interest accrues from the due date of the return 
and continues to accrue until the tax is paid. 

6.  Installment Payment of Tax     
The personal representative of an estate may elect to make installment 

payments of North Carolina estate tax in the same manner as elected for 
federal estate tax payments under section 6166 of the Internal Revenue 
Code.  Acceleration of the federal payments also accelerates the State 
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payments.  If the personal representative elects the same North Carolina 
installment payments, attach supporting documentation of the IRS 
acceptance of the election.

7. Estate Tax is a Lien on Real Property in the Estate
The North Carolina estate tax imposed on an estate is a lien on the 

real property.  An estate tax lien may be extinguished when one of the 
following occurs:

a. The personal representative certifies to the clerk of court that no tax 
is due because an estate return was not required to be filed.

b. The Department issues a certificate stating that the lax liability has 
been satisfied.

c. For specific property, when the Secretary issues a tax waiver for 
that property.

d. Ten years have elapsed since the date of the decedent’s death.

8. Federal Changes
If the Internal Revenue Service makes changes to the federal estate 

tax return, the personal representative must report the changes to the 
State by filing an amended North Carolina estate return with a copy 
of the changes.  The amended return must be filed within six months 
of the date the report was received.   Amended returns not filed within 
the applicable time period are subject to a penalty of five percent of the 
additional tax for each month or part of a month that the return is late 
(minimum $5.00; maximum 25 percent).  A person who fails to report a 
federal correction or determination forfeits the right to any refund due 
by reason of the determination.
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