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CAUTION

The NC Department of Revenue provides this
information as a courtesy to help keep you informed. As
tax laws change, the application of the information
provided may change as well. This information is
general and summary in nature, and should not be
construed as advice for your specific situation. If you
would like to obtain specific tax advice which is binding
on the Department, you may follow the procedure for
requesting a letter ruling, which is located at
www.dornc.com.
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NCD®R Nonprofit Organizations

Refunds of North Carolina Sale & Use Taxes

http://www.dornc.com/publications/nonprofit2008.pdf




NCD®R Purchases for Use

Generally, nonprofit organizations making
purchases for use are subject to the 4.75%
general State and applicable local and transit
rates of sales and use tax unless specifically
exempt by law.

G. S. 105-164.14(b) provides certain nonprofit
entities semiannual refunds of sales and use tax
paid directly by them on purchases of tangible
personal property and services that are used to
carry on the work of the nonprofit.




NCD®R Purchases for Use (continued)

Effective July 1, 2014, the State sales and use tax
aggregate annual refund amount for a fiscal year
for a nonprofit entity must not exceed
$31,700,000 (total for both six month periods).

Effective July 1, 2014, the Food, County, and
Transit sales and use tax aggregate annual
refund amount for a fiscal year for a nonprofit
entity must not exceed $13,300,000 (total for
both six month periods). Each cap applies
separately.



NCD®R Who's eligible for a refund?

Nonprofit organizations that meet the
requirements of G. S. 105-164.14(b) and
that have been issued a nonprofit sales
and use tax refund account number by the
N.C. Department of Revenue.

Currently, nonprofit sales and use tax refund
account numbers begin with the numbers

72.



NCD®R Obtaining a refun.d account
number (continued)

 IRS/NTEE Code Information:

* Organizations needing a copy of an IRS determination
letter should contact the IRS Tax Exempt and
Government Entities Customer Account Services
section at 1-877-829-5500.

* Additional information about the NTEE Core Codes
Classification System can be found at
http://nccs.urban.org/classification/NTEE.cfm




NCD@R Obtaining a Nonprofit Sales & Use Tax Refund
Account Number

Furnish the N.C. Department of Revenue with
the following:

* Federal Employer Identification number (EIN).

« Copy of organization’s IRS determination letter (if
applicable)

« Organization’s National Taxonomy of Exempt
Entities Code (if applicable).

« Copy of documents used to create the
organization (i.e. Articles of Incorporation,
Bylaws, Constitution, etc.)



NCD®R Obtaining a refund account
number (continued)

Mail to:
North Carolina Department of Revenue
Taxpayer Assistance Division
Nonprofit Sales and Use Tax
PO Box 25000

Raleigh, NC 27640-0640




NCD®R Some Examples

Qualified nonprofit hospitals
Qualified nonprofit educational institutions

Qualified churches, orphanages, and other
charitable or religious organizations not operated
for profit

Qualified retirement facilities whose property is
excluded from property tax

Qualified volunteer fire departments or volunteer
emergency medical squads



NCD®R What form is used to request a refund?

 Form E-585, Nonprofit and Governmental Entity
Claim for Refund

« State, County, and Transit Sales and Use Taxes

e Due Dates

« Claims for refund of taxes paid during the first six
months of a calendar year (January 1 through June
30) should be filed by October 15 of that year.

« Claims for refund of taxes paid during the last six
months of a calendar year (July 1 through December
31) should be filed by April 15 of the following year.

« Refund claims applied for more than three years after
the due date are barred.



Form E-585

E-585 Nonprofit and Governmental Entity Claim for Refund X
el State, County, and Transit Sales and Use Taxes PRINT | | cLEAR
2t Marth Carofina Department of Revenue
Compiefe ail of the informafion in this secton.
Lagal Kams (P 37 Charscten) LSS CAMTAL LETTERS FOR YOLUE WA W AND ADCRES 5 Accound D
Mading hadrey Federsl Empiopsr © Mumbs:
City Sam Tip Code County Puricd Deginming MM V7]
=1 =1
Karme of Parsan We Should Contect F e Haws Questicns About This Clam Corted Tesphone Paricd Ending AW-00-177
Frroecimena Nonprofit entity as defined in G_5. 105-164.14[b) [Semiannuaglly) | T = Eomp i R
crganization Gowernmental entity as defined in G.5. 105-164.14(c) /Annuaily) | ® (Rerpre sy Oty
1. Name of Taxing County
[ more fhan one county, see instroctons an Page 2 and attach Fovm E-536R.) j

2. Todal Purchacac of Tangible Perconal Property and [
Zerviosc for Uss.on Whish Horth Caroline Stade or
Food, County & Trancl Sales or Uce Tax Has Been
Faid Dirsatty to Retallers (Do nof inclwde fx paid, >
purchases for resale, or fems described In box beiow]

State ] [ Food. County & Transit |

Electricity, plped natural gas, telecommunications and ancliary services, video programming, prepald meal plans;
the pLrCAEse, Iesse, or FeNtal of Mator venicles; incal DCCupancy orinca! [TEpared fod and DEVErSgE faxes; S/ap e
tispasal or white goods dI5p0SE) tSNes; MEMbLTSEmMENts for TEvel EXPEnsEs; aiconolic DEVErages, digial propery

3. Amount of 3alec and Use Tax Pald Direotly >
to Retallsrs on Purchaces for Use

4. Amount of Salec and Use Tax Pald Indineotly
on Bullding Materiale and Suppliss 3¢ &hown »
on Centrastors' statsmends

5. AmountafUcs Tax Pald Dirsstly o the Dapartmant
of Risvenus by the sntiy (Do norincuge i cooecreg W
and remitt=d on sak=s made by e enty.)

8. Total Tax (AsdLines 3 4 and 5 Food, Coun'y 8 Transt
fax must be ideniied by rafe on Line 3) (For ronprodt
eniTy only; annudl cap apples, see Seneral insrucons.)

7. Toial Refund Requested 5
[Acd State and Food, Couwty & Trans tav o Live £

B. Alcoation of Food, County & Trancs Tax on Line 8 (Enferthe foog, soondy & fanse tax
\paid af each apolicable rate. i you pald mone than one coundys fax, see the Insiruciions on
Page 2 and aftach Form E-538R.)

Trancit 0.60% Tax

Food 2.00% Tax County 2.00% Tax County 2 26% Tax Dethast. Mackiantisyg, CNangs

>
Bugnahars: Date:

| ety thiat, do the bt of my knowledpe, This claim & scounaie and complsie
Titss: Telsphiona:
For Dapartmental Liaa Only
Food Tax County 2.00% Tax County 2 26% Tax Tramch Tax
w . . w
Siabe Tax Todal Tax
Refund Approved: Az Flied As Corrected
By: Date:

MAIL TO: NC Department of Revenues, P.O. Box 25000, Rakeigh, NC 27e40-0001




NCD®R How to complete Form E-585

¢ Header Information must be fully completed.

e Must have account ID and Federal ID to be processed.
e Currently account ID starts with a 72******* and is 9 digits long.

Complete all of the information in this section.

Legal Name (First 32 Characters) (USE CAPITAL LETTERS FOR YOUR NAME AND ADDRESS) Account 1D

Mailing Address Federal Employer 1D Number

City State Zip Code County Period Beginning (MM-DD-YY)

Name of Person We Should Contact if We Have Questions About This Claim Contact Telephone Period Ending (MM-DD-YY)

Fillin the circle that - - - - - Mational Taxonomy of Exempt Entities Number
desribas your Nonprofit entity as defined in G.S. 105-164.14(b) (Semiannually)

organization. Governmental entity as defined in G.S. 105-164.14(c) (Annually) > (Nonprofit Entity Only)




NCD®OR Completing form continued

Line 1 - If all tax was paid to one county,
enter county where tax was paid. If tax
was paid to multiple counties, skip line 1
and complete Form E-536R, Schedule of
County Sales and Use Taxes for Claims
for Refund

Line 2 Enter total amount of taxable
purchases, not including the tax
paid to retailers, in the State
and/or Food, County & Transit
columns that qualifies for refund.

-

{(If more than one county, see instructions on reverse and atfach Form E-336R)

1. Name of Taxing County T /

VA

| State | |/ County |

2. Total Purchases of Tangible Personal Property for Use on
Which Morth Carolina State or County Sales or Use Tax
Has Been Paid Directly to Retailers (Do nof include tax
paid, purchases for resale, or items descrbed in Line 3)

3. Amount of Sales and Use Tax Paid Directly
to Retailers on Purchases for Use >
(Do nat include tax paid on any of the faliowing:
- electricity, piped natural gas, or felecommunications
and ancillary services
- the purchase, lease, or rental of motor vehicles
- local occupancy or local prepared food and beverage taxes Line 3 - Enter total amount of tax

- scrap tire disposal or white goods disposal taxes . . .
- reimbursements for travel expenses paid to retailers in the State

- alconolic beverages) and/or Food, County & Transit
columns that qualifies for refund.

ILES
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NCD®R Completing form continued

E-536R Schedule of County Sales and Use Taxes for Claims for Refund
Web-=l Morth Carolina Department of Revenue

e Parind Ending [WA-D0-5T] Lagal Same

(| X
PPPPPP LEAR

County and Code County 2.00% Tax County 2.26% Tax Trancit 0.60% Tax

Alamance 1 0.00

Alexand 2 0.00 0.00
Alleghany 3 0.00
Anson 4 0.00
I f I d Ashe 5 0.00
S a eS a n Avery 6 0.00
Beaufort T 0.00
use tax was —
Bladen 9 0.00
. . . Brunswick 10 0.00

pald In multlple Buncombe " 0.00 0.00
Burke 12 0.00

t. Cabarrus 13 0.00 0.00
CO u n I eS yo u Caldwell 14 0.00
Camden 15 0.00

must include S
Form E-536R e

Cherokee 20 0.00
1 Chowan 21 0.00
a Ong WI Clay 22 0.00
Cleveland 23 0.00
F E 5 8 5 Columbus 24 0.00
O rm - L ] Craven 25 0.00
Cumberland 26 0.00 0.00
Currituck 27 0.00
Dare 28 0.00
Davidson 29 0.00 0.00
Davie 30 0.00

Note: Total amount of 2% local food tax is listed on page 4
16



NCD®R Completing form continued

Line 4 - Enter total amount of tax
paid indirectly by contractors in
the State and Food, County &
Transit columns that qualifiesfo\r

refund ] State County

4. Amount of Sales and Use Tax Paid Indirectly > \

on Building Materials and Supplies as Shown
on Contractors’ Statements

5. Amount of Use Tax Paid Directly to the Department of
Revenue by Your Organization (Do nof include tax collectad
and remitted on safes made by your organization)

6. Total Tax (Add Lines 3, 4, and 3. County tax must be
identified by rafe on Line 8)

7. Total Refund Requested
{Add State and county tax on Line 6) $

Line 5 - Enter total amount of use tax paid by the organization
directly to the Department in the State and/or Food, County &
Transit columns that qualifies for refund. Would be zero unless
your organization has a sales and use tax account and paid
use tax directly to the Department of Revenue.

17




NCD®R Completing form continued

® The county portion of tax from line 6 must be allocated on
line 8.

8. Allocation of County Tax on Line® (Enter the county tax paid at eac
paid more than one county's taX, see the instructions on reverse and attac

Food 2% T County 2.0% Tax Couaty 2.25% Tax

Transit
0.5% Tax

18



NCD®R Completing form continued

« Be sure to sign your name and date the refund claim before

mailing it in. /

Signature: Jﬂé/{ 006 Date: 8/2 9/74

| certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this claim is accurate and complete.

Title: /0/"&6’/'&/6/(5 Telephone: 979-754-2356

19



NCD®R

Do not include tax paid on the following:

» Electricity

* Piped natural gas

« Telecommunications and ancillary services

* Video programming

* Prepaid meal plans

« The purchase, lease, or rental of motor vehicles
« Local occupancy or local prepared food and beverage taxes
« Scrap tire disposal or white goods disposal taxes
« Reimbursements for travel expenses

* Alcoholic beverages

« Digital property



NCD®R Sample problem

* A church will be sending in their refund
claim for the period of 01/01/14 -06/30/14.
All items were purchased and received in
Wake County. They paid $500.00 for
hymnals subject to the 6.75% tax rate and
$100.00 for food items subject to the 2%

local food tax rate. Complete the E-585
form for the church.



NCD®R

Answer

Eﬂg’ﬂi‘;’?}eg’ﬁﬁ @ Nonprofit entity as defined in G.S. 105-164.14(b) (Semiannually)
orgam‘zaﬁon,y Governmental entity as defined in G.S. 105-164.14(c) (Annually)

E-585 Nonprofit and Governmental Entity Claim for Refund EF X
Web Eil State, County, and Transit Sales and Use Taxes PRINT | | CLEAR
Complete all of the information in this section. North Carolina Depanment of Revenue

Legal Mame (Firsf 32 Characters) (LISE CAPITAL LETTERS FOR YOUR NAME AND ADDRESE) Account ID

CHURCH 720000000

Mailing Address Federal Employer 1D Number

STREET 561234567

City State Zip Code County Period Beginning (MM-DD-¥Y)

RALEIGH NC | 27714 WAKE | 01-01-14

Name of Person We Should Contact if We Have Guestions About This Claim Contact Telephone Period Ending (MM-DC-YY)

JOHN SMITH (123) 456-7890 06-30-14

Mational Taxonomy of Exempt Entities Mumber

p X271  [Monprofit Entity Oniy)

1. Name of Taxing County
{if more than one county, see instructions on reverse and attach Form E-536R.)

WAKE

-
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NCD®R

Answer Continued

oLER

LO%w0

4 L

State |

County & Transit |

Total Purchases of Tangible Personal Pmplg;n},r for Use on |
Which North Carolina State or County & Transit Sales or
Use Tax Has Been Paid Directly to Retailers (Do notinclude
tax paid, purchases for resale, or items described in Line 3.)

Amount of Sales and Use Tax Paid Directly
to Retailers on Purchases for Use >
(Do not include tax paid on any of the following:
- electricity, piped natural gas, or telecommunications
and ancillary services
- the purchase, lease, or rental of motor vehicles
- local occupancy or local ﬁ(ﬁpared food and beverage faxes
- scrap tire disposal or white goods disposal taxes
- reimbursements for travel expenses
- alcoholic beverages)

Amount of Sales and Use Tax Paid Indirectly
on Building Materials and Supplies as Shown >
on Contractors’ Statements

Amount of Use Tax Paid Directly to the Department of
Revenue by the entity (Do not include tax collected and >
remitted on sales made by the entity.)

Total Tax (Add Lines 3, 4, and 5. County & Transit tax
must be identified by rate on Line 8.)

Total Refund Requested
(Add State and County & Transit tax on Line 6))

500.00

23115

23.75

$

Allocation of County & Transit Tax on Line 6 (Enferthe county & fransil tax paid at each aEpJ'.fcab.fe

rate. If you pard moare than one county’s tax, see the insiructions on Page 2 and attach MNorm

Food 2.00% Tax County 2.00% Tax
> 2.00 10.00

-536R.)
County 2.25% Tax

0.00

600.00

12.00

12.00

Do e

Transit 0.50% Tax
0.00

23



NCD®R Answer Continued

Signature: (]-ﬂé/( fﬂ(/té Date: D8-30-14

| certify that, to the best of my knowledge, this claim is accurate and complete.

Title: TREASURER Telephone: (123) 456-78830

For Departmental Use Only
State Tax County Tax Transit Tax Total Tax

Refund Approved: As Filed As Comrected  By: Date:

MAIL TO: NC Department of Revenue, P.O. Box 25000, Raleigh, NC 27640-0001

24



NCD®R

Admission Charges

North Carolina Sales Tax and
Admission Charges




NCD®R Entertainment Activities

* Live Performance, Purpose of Which is for
Entertainment

* Live Event of Any Kind, Purpose of Which is for
Entertainment

* Movie, Motion Picture, or Film

* Museum

* Cultural Site

* Garden

e Exhibit

 Show

e Similar Attraction

* Guided Tour to Any Such Attractions




NCDOR Admission Charge

Gross receipts derived for the right to attend an
entertainment activity.

The term “Admission Charge”includes:

* Single Ticket

* Multi-occasion Ticket
e Seasonal Pass

* Annual Pass

« Membership Fee That Provides For Admission
* Cover Charge

* Convenience Fee

* Processing Fee

* Facility Charge

* Facilitation Fee

e Similar Charge

* Any Other Charges Included in Gross Receipts Derived From
Admissions



NCD®R Not an Admission Charge

« An amount paid for the right to participate in sporting
activities.

— Examples of these types of charges include bowling
fees, golf green fees, and gym memberships.

« Tuition, registration fees, or charges to attend
instructional seminars, conferences, or workshops for
educational purposes.

« A political contribution.

« Acharge for lifetime seat rights, lease, or rental of a suite
or box for an entertainment activity, provided the charge
IS separately stated on an invoice or similar billing
document given to the purchaser at the time of sale.

« An amount paid solely for transportation.



NCD®R Exemptions

 An event that is sponsored by an elementary or
secondary school. For purposes of this exemption, the

term "school" is an entity regulated under Chapter 115C
of the General Statutes.




NCD®R Exemptions

* An event sponsored solely by a nonprofit entity that is
exempt from tax under Article 4 of Chapter 105 if all of
the following conditions are met:

— The entire proceeds of the activity are used exclusively for the
entity's nonprofit purposes.

— The entity does not declare dividends, receive profits, or pay
salary or other compensation to any members or individuals.

— The entity does not compensate any person for participating in
the event, performing in the event, placing in the event, or
producing the event. For purposes of this subdivision, the term
"compensate”" means any remuneration included in a person's
gross income as defined in section 61 of the Code.



NCD®R Exemptions

e The portion of a membership charge that is deductible as a
charitable contribution under section 170 of the Code.

e A donation that is deductible as a charitable contribution
under section 170 of the Code.

e Charges for an amenity.

— If charges for amenities are separately stated on a billing
document given to the purchaser at the time of the sale,
then the tax does not apply to the separately stated
charges for amenities.

— |If charges for amenities are not separately stated on the
billing document given to the purchaser at the time of the
sale, then the transaction is a bundled transaction and
taxed in accordance with G.S. 105-164.4D except that G.S.
105-164.4D(a)(3) does not apply.



NCD®R Amenity

* Defined in part as “[a] feature that increases the value or
attractiveness of an entertainment activity that allows a
person access to items that are not subject to sales and
use tax and that are not available with the purchase of
admission to the same event without the feature.”

— Parking Privileges

— Special Entrances

— Access to Areas Other Than General Admission
— Mascot Visits

— Merchandise Discounts

« Does not include charges for food, prepared food, and
alcoholic beverages.




NCD®R Tax Rates for Admission Charges

e State Sales Tax —4.75%
* Local Sales Tax Levies (2%, 2.25%)
* Transit Sales Taxes (0.50% if applicable)

e Local rate based on:

— Location where person gains entry to
entertainment activity

— If location is unknown, sourced per G.S. 105-
164.4B



NCD®R Tax Rates for Admission Charges, Cont.

County

Pamlico
Pasquotank
Pender
Perquimans
Person

Pitt

Polk
Randolph
Richmond
Robeson
Rockingham
Rowan
Rutherford

6.75%
6.75%
68.75%
68.75%
6.75%
7o
6.75%
P
6.75%
7%
68.75%
7%
68.75%

Sales and Use Tax Rates Effective April 1, 2015
Listed below by county are the total (4.75% State rate plus applicable local rates)
sales and use tax rates in effect:

County Rate County Rate

Alamance 6.75% Franklin 6.75%

Alexander 7% Gaston 6.75%

Alleghany 6.75% Gates 6.75%

Anson 7% Graham 6.75%

Ashe 7% Granville 6.75%

Boveary 6.75%: Greans 7%

Beaufort 6.75% Guilford 6.75%

Bertie 6.75% Halifax 7%

Bladen 6.75% Harnett 7%

Brunswick 6.75% Haywood 7%

Buncombe 7% Henderson 6.75%

Burke 6.75% Hertford 7%

Cabarrus 7% Hoke 6.75%
- Caddwell

o=

PR O bW

T r,
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NCD®R Frequently Asked Questions

When is sales and use tax due on a taxable
admission charge?

* At the time the admission charge is received
even when the entertainment activity is for a
future date.

 For season tickets sold in advance, sales and

use tax is due when payment is rendered by
the purchaser.

35



NCD®R Frequently Asked Questions

« Who is the retailer?

» Operator of the venue where the
entertainment activity occurs.
Exception: Contract between retailer and facilitator
allows for dual remittance.
* The person that provides the entertainment
activity receives the admission charges
directly.




NCD®R Frequently Asked Questions

Who is a facilitator?

* Person who accepts payment for
admission charges to an entertainment

activity and is not the operator of the
venue.

37



NCD®R Frequently Asked Questions

Facilitator responsibilities where dual remittance
option is not Elected?

* Facilitator must report gross receipts it receives
from a consumer to the retailer

* Facilitator must send the sales and use tax due on
the gross receipts to the retailer by 10th day
following the end of each calendar month.

 Facilitator liable for the sales and use tax due that
It fails to send to retailer.

38



NCD®R Frequently Asked Questions

Can the gross receipts derived from an admission
charge include the sales tax or must the sales tax
be separately charged and accounted for?

e Yes, the gross receipts derived from the
admission charge may include the sales tax,
provided the retailer displays a statement that
the price includes tax.

39



NCD®R Frequently Asked Questions

Where should such a statement be located?
e Sign at any ticket box office

e On any online purchase portal

e On the actual admission ticket

e On an invoice or other documentation provided
at the time of the sale

40



NCD®R Frequently Asked Questions

Memberships

Is a membership fee for a museum that includes
admission subject to sales and use tax?

* The portion of each membership fee that is attributable
to a taxable admission charge to an entertainment
activity is the amount subject to sales and use tax.

* The portion of a membership charge that is deductible as
a charitable contribution under IRC §170 is exempt from
tax.

41



NCD®R Frequently Asked Questions

Memberships, cont.

* For example, an individual pays a $40.00 annual
membership fee to a museum operated by a
nonprofit entity. Of the $40.00 annual membership
fee, $8.00 is for a single admission to the
museum(same amount other attendees must pay for
admission to the museum) and $10.00 is for a ticket
to a concert. No portion is deductible as a charitable
contribution under IRC § 170. The amount of the
annual membership fee subject to sales and use tax
as admissions charges is $18.00.



NCD®OR Frequently Asked Questions

Donations to Attend Concert

If a museum sponsors a concert where no stated admission fee is
charged, but “donations” of a certain amount are suggested, are the
“donations” subject to sales and use tax?

* If any person can attend the concert for free and no donation or other
consideration is required to attend, then any amounts donated to the
museum for the concert are exempt from sales and use tax.

Reminder: A donation that is deductible as a charitable contribution
under IRC § 170 is exempt.
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NCD®R Admission Charges - Publications

* Directive SD-13-4 dated December 18, 2013

http://www.dornc.com/practitioner/sales/directives/SD-13-4.pdf

 Important Notice dated June 25, 2014
http://www.dornc.com/taxes/sales/impnotice062514.pdf
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NCD®R

Questions?



